Eye Candy (Real Love, #1)
Jacqueline: As an adult woman--and the vice president of a marketing firm--I shouldn't be waiting by my office window to ogle the mystery man who jogs by every morning at 11:45. Sure, he's a gorgeous, perfect specimen of the human race, but I can't bring myself to hit on a total stranger. However, my best friend-slash-colleague Vince Carson thinks I should do more than talk to the guy. In fact, he's borderline obsessive about "getting me laid." (His words.) But the more time we spend together, the more it's clear: The one I'm falling for is Vince.Vince: Jackie Butler's got it bad for some pompous, over-pumped A-hole who struts his stuff past her window. That doesn't bother me. I know she deserves nice things. What does bother me is that she friend-zoned me big-time last year, so I can't ask her out myself. But what if I set her up with Mr. Steroids? Then, when he breaks her heart, I can swoop in and save her like the nice guy I am. Everything's going according to plan . . . until we share a ridiculously epic kiss. And suddenly anything is possible.

Eye Candy (Real Love, #1) Details

TitleEye Candy (Real Love, #1)
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherLoveswept
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance

Eye Candy (Real Love, #1) Review

  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    June 27, 2017
    Eye Candy is book one in the brand new series, Real Love, by Jessica Lemmon. This is a friends to lovers story, a story of two people that have been badly hurt in their previous relationships who came together as friends to support one another. But what happens when those friendly feelings start to change? When you realize that your best friend is the one you are supposed to be with? Do you risk your friendship and go for it? Or do you stay friends, ignoring your feelings, and possibly missing o Eye Candy is book one in the brand new series, Real Love, by Jessica Lemmon. This is a friends to lovers story, a story of two people that have been badly hurt in their previous relationships who came together as friends to support one another. But what happens when those friendly feelings start to change? When you realize that your best friend is the one you are supposed to be with? Do you risk your friendship and go for it? Or do you stay friends, ignoring your feelings, and possibly missing out on the best thing that ever happened to you.Vince Carson is VP of a marketing firm in Columbus, Ohio. He shares the position with his best friend, Jacqueline (Jackie) Butler. Vince is divorced. His wife left him because she wanted more than what Vince could offer her. He was devastated. If it weren’t for his best friends, Davis, and Jackie, he probably wouldn’t have made it through. He and Jackie are pretty much inseparable. It’s been awhile since Vince realized he thought of Jackie as more than just his best friend. But Jackie never did enter the dating world after her own divorce. Her husband had cheated on her. She’s not ready for what Vince wants. So he will help her to date someone else first. Then when it doesn’t work out, he’ll be the one to help her through it. He’ll be her knight in shining armor. “Our friendship is important. All I can hope is that I haven’t ruined what we have for a stab at what we could be.” Jackie has a perfect view of the street from her office. And every day at the very same time what should be an illegally sexy, shirtless man jogs past. She has conjured up all sorts of fantasies about him. Her co-workers and Vince have been pushing her to go down and talk to him and ask him out. So she finally does it. Only you know what usually happens when you have someone you don’t know built up in your mind. They rarely turn out as you imagined they would.Vince puts his plan into motion. Jackie goes out with J.T. (the jogger or jaundice as he calls him) and Vince is ready and willing to coach her, or even practice with her. The first time their lips touch, the world stops spinning, and everything changes. This was a cute, humorous, sexy story with plenty of steam. Vince and Jackie were obviously meant to be together. But their road was not an easy one. They both had trust issues and hearts that might not be completely healed from previous hurts. Vince definitely took the hard way around letting Jackie know that he had feelings for her. For a while there I was getting a little weary of his games. But I think Jackie might have suspected all along what was going on. Or maybe just hoped. Because when these two came together, it was a show stopper. I really did enjoy this. You will meet Davis, Vince’s best friend, who has some pretty serious issues of his own. The next book, Arm Candy, will be his story. This is a great start to this new series and I look forward to more.
    more
  • .Under the pages
    July 8, 2017
    Jacqueline Butler divorced three years ago and since then has refused to date. But there’s this guy she’s interested in and she doesn’t know how to make him notice her. Leave it to her best friend to help her.Unlike Jacqueline, Vince Carson has had a fair amount of dates since his marriage went out of the window. No dates per se, just some encounters between the sheets. So, giving his vast experience, he’s willing to hello Jacqueline, his best friend, get the dates she wants even though, on the Jacqueline Butler divorced three years ago and since then has refused to date. But there’s this guy she’s interested in and she doesn’t know how to make him notice her. Leave it to her best friend to help her.Unlike Jacqueline, Vince Carson has had a fair amount of dates since his marriage went out of the window. No dates per se, just some encounters between the sheets. So, giving his vast experience, he’s willing to hello Jacqueline, his best friend, get the dates she wants even though, on the inside, he’s dying to be the one dating her. Will his pretend-to-be-dating-me lessons turn into more than pretending?-----------------------------This was not my first book by Jessica Lemmon. I personally Jessica writes and this book was no exception. Her writing style is perfect: light, funny and without unnecessary ramblings. The storyline is a friends-to-lovers with a twist, they both went through divorces even though under different circumstances: Jacqueline was cheated on by her husband and Vince’s wife left him when he lost his business. In my opinion, two thumbs up for this storyline because I haven’t read one like this before.The characters are also a bit different from the usual: Jacqueline is lightly shy (not to the point of not knowing how good she looks in a tight red dress but to the point where she’s not showing off her assets to anyone who passes by), caring and really good at her job.They both share a vice-president position in a marketing firm. Regardless, Vince has no problem admitting that she’s more capable of the job than him and that’s where Jessica was remarkable to me. We all read about businessmen sure of themselves with the deepest pockets who do no wrong. Well, Vince is none of that: he’s good at his job but his job is not his life. He he’s playful, he has friends and tattoos as well as a great ass.Another thing that I thought was smart was the fact that, even though they both went through divorces and they were both the ones left behind by their partners, the author doesn’t describe them as the victims who have a dark past that left them with some deep scars and all that jazz. That contributed to a light read even though it is filled with real life experiences. They’re fun together, they have hot sex on the stairs and on the kitchen table so what more could you possibly ask for? I was really happy with the book and I wouldn’t change a thing about it.P.S.: I’m incredibly curious about Vince’s best friend’s story. I’m hoping there will be a book about him. I received an ARC from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Cristina | CristiinaReads
    April 11, 2017
    ➳A love story that is filled with second chances, doubts, and going from a friends to lovers relationship that will swoon you away through every word that Jessica has brought to the reader… ➳Friends that have known each other and made each other comfortable in the most comforts of ways, decide to move on from their friend zone to an intimate zone. As the vice presidents from the same company, Jacqueline and Vince has been friends through the thick and thin. Both are attractive parties that unfo ➳A love story that is filled with second chances, doubts, and going from a friends to lovers relationship that will swoon you away through every word that Jessica has brought to the reader… ➳Friends that have known each other and made each other comfortable in the most comforts of ways, decide to move on from their friend zone to an intimate zone. As the vice presidents from the same company, Jacqueline and Vince has been friends through the thick and thin. Both are attractive parties that unfortunately have not seen that aspect of themselves in a way to share towards each other. It came down to the final straw that Vince had to convince Jacqueline to go out with him, instead of that one guy whom Jacqueline has been googling over whenever he runs outside her window for his morning jogs. To her, Vince was the one divorcee friend whom she wanted to respect and keep as a friend, if not, sometimes wanting to be more. Unfortunately, her mind was all wrapped around the fact that she thinks it’s too early for Vince to be out in the world and explore with other women. what she did not know is that Vince had already taken that set forward, he had been exploring the waters with other women, however, his interest never spiked above and beyond as his interest spikes with Jacqueline. To him though, Jacqueline is someone who he really cares for and does not want to hurt her, but he feel possessive of their friendship, but of her in general; “She’s not the fucking type. She’s the main love type, and I’ve started wondering if Jackie might be a girl I’d like to make love to…” ➳After the first awkward attempt, and many other make out “sessions,” Vince and Jacqueline end up finding out they fit perfectly in everyday. They may have been friends that knew each other, but throughout time, and many other dates, they ended up knowing each other more and more. That is the sweet spot about this love story. The same message we hear all the time about not knowing someone as much as we think we do, and Jessica Lemmon has brought that message to above and beyond. ➳Overall I enjoyed this love story. The only factor that I did not like was the whole date me and date him as well scenario. I am not one who likes stories with the “sharing is fine” memo, so this was something that triggered a dislike from me.Though overall, the third party was needed in this love story to determine the passion Vince and Jacqueline actually have for each other.➳Hero rating: 4.5➳Heroine rating: 4.0➳Sexual tension rating: 4.0➳Sex scenes rating: 5.0➳Sex scenes frequency: 4.0➳Plot rating: 4.0➳Dialogue rating: 4.0➳Storytelling rating: 4.0➳Story ending rating: 4.0➳Order Links:Amazon ♕ B&N ♕ Kobo ➳ARC kindly provided by publisher, in exchange for an honest review… ➳Follow Me On:Blog ♕ Instagram ♕ Facebook ♕ Twitter
    more
  • Sabrina
    May 14, 2017
    NOW LIVE!Amazon * Barnes & NobleEye Candy is a fantastically written friends-to-lovers romance that will have you smiling the entire time you're reading. Jackie and Vince are co-workers that became close when he divorced and Jackie, already a divorcee, helped him get through it. But now Vince is stuck firmly in the friends-zone and he wants out something fierce. He comes up with a plan to get Jackie back in the dating field and then swoop in to save her from the horrible dates he thinks she' NOW LIVE!Amazon * Barnes & NobleEye Candy is a fantastically written friends-to-lovers romance that will have you smiling the entire time you're reading. Jackie and Vince are co-workers that became close when he divorced and Jackie, already a divorcee, helped him get through it. But now Vince is stuck firmly in the friends-zone and he wants out something fierce. He comes up with a plan to get Jackie back in the dating field and then swoop in to save her from the horrible dates he thinks she'll go on. He just wasn't expecting the insane jealously that takes over the second Jackie goes out with someone. I really liked the connection that Jackie and Vince had throughout their friendship and seeing how close they were. It was fun to see that they had so much trust in each other and when it turned to more and Vince acted on his true feelings it was even better. I found Vince's plan of helping Jackie with her dating skills very interesting and it kept me intrigued the whole time. I was waiting for that moment that Vince couldn't keep his feelings to himself, and I was not disappointed when that scene came. Vince was just really likable and I wanted to see him finally get the girl he wanted to desperately. I did have one issue near the end when I felt Jackie was being a little too hypocritical but it wasn't anything that made me hate the story. It frustrated me a little but once Jackie and Vince moved on from that I didn't let it bother me so I could finish the story on a happy note. Overall, if you like friends-to-lovers romances than this is a book you definitely want to pick up. The characters are all very intriguing and I think anyone that reads this book will love them as much as I did. ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Wendy'sThoughts
    May 29, 2017
    4 Moving On to Real Love Stars* * * * Spoiler Free It's Live!!Finding Trust is Hard. Holding on to it, knowing it is there and you will always be safe in giving it... is even harder....And if you have been betrayed, your trust with another broken...then Serious Damage is done. It can take any number of ways to work through it... and it ain't easy.This is where both Jacqueline and Vince are in there lives. They both have come through losing trust with their past spouses... Jackie's cheated on he 4 Moving On to Real Love Stars* * * * Spoiler Free It's Live!!Finding Trust is Hard. Holding on to it, knowing it is there and you will always be safe in giving it... is even harder....And if you have been betrayed, your trust with another broken...then Serious Damage is done. It can take any number of ways to work through it... and it ain't easy.This is where both Jacqueline and Vince are in there lives. They both have come through losing trust with their past spouses... Jackie's cheated on her... and Vince's no longer believed in him when his business collapsed during the recession. Both went through their major pain periods at different times and Vince was lucky because Jackie was there for him as a good friend and co-worker.Jackie's marriage ended when she was shocked to find out her husband was cheating on her. Cut her to the quick and she went through a very hard time. She felt insecure...thought there had been something wrong with her, when she was fantastic. Jackie came out of it and decided she was going to go it alone for a while-no dating or dealing with any of that stuff.Instead, good friends and hard work.Vince's divorce hit him equally as hard and since Jackie had been there, done that already.... she came to his house with Buckets of Fried Chicken, Beer and Movies to watch. Vince and Jackie had an easy relationship... a friendship.Solid, nothing fake...Authentic...We have these two smart people who have a bond of real friendship. Both have seen each other at their worst. Both know how hurt and insecure they were when their ex's did what they did. They also share the title of Co-VP where they work....each using their strengths on projects and working together.So that is good, right...Well, sort of...Because Vince has realized Jackie is someone he would really like to get to know...and get to know by kissing her and seeing where this could go.... because Vince has a thing for Jackie but she has stopped dating. That is not good. How is Vince supposed to start kissing Jackie and having her like it if she won't even think about dating someone...Which brings us to the daily Eye Candy which runs by Jackie's office everyday at 11:45 AM...He is this collective sigh all the women have when watching him... bare chested, muscles flexed and an ass hard as a rock. He has become this fantasy all of the women, especially Jackie, focus on...and he is in the way of Vince's plans...Vince has decided he will figure out a way for Jackie to date this fantasy guy who can't really be anything but an asshat and then be there for Jackie when she needs him... Opening up the opportunity for him to get out of the friend zone and be in the place he really wants to be...the boyfriend zone???? This has all the makings of a friends to lovers hit. It has Vince as a really good guy who has crossed over and wants to have a real relationship with Jackie... build on the friendship but also knows he doesn't want to scare her off. I liked Vince for the most part. His intentions were good and he only had a few hiccups - overall he was a winner. Jackie is a woman like many who have been done oh so wrong. Having an ex cheat on you can destroy one's self confidence... and be very hard to get over. Jackie was strong in many ways and very capable in work and friendship. These two together worked on many levels. Jessica Lemmon knows how to hit all of the bases and she has already set up the next book. Vince's best friend has a dark love past... lots of pain... and he has an interest in the opposite of what he has been drowning his sorrows in... lots of blondes. He is sure to be the next subject she tackles in Arm Candy in the Fall of 2017.A gifted copy was provided by LoveSwept via NetGalley for an honest review.For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • Beatrice Masaluñga
    June 11, 2017
    Thank you Loveswept for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest reviewEye Candy is an enjoyable friends-to-lovers romance but the miscommunication between the lead protagonists was a let down. I wish Vince Carson could have been more honest to Jacqueline Butler about his feelings instead of sending her mixed signals and encouraging her to date the Jogger she ogles. I like Jacqueline except for one part she tries to make Vince jealous. It's quite immature. I understand the issues they have sin Thank you Loveswept for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest reviewEye Candy is an enjoyable friends-to-lovers romance but the miscommunication between the lead protagonists was a let down. I wish Vince Carson could have been more honest to Jacqueline Butler about his feelings instead of sending her mixed signals and encouraging her to date the Jogger she ogles. I like Jacqueline except for one part she tries to make Vince jealous. It's quite immature. I understand the issues they have since they're both divorced from their partners and both are playing safe to preserve their friendship. If only they talk things out, these minor problems can be resolved earlier. Overall, it's not a bad start and I'm excited for the next book.
    more
  • Zoe
    July 5, 2017
    Sweet, sexy, and fun!This is a charming friends-to-more rom-com about moving on, learning to trust, taking some risks and remembering that games can often backfire and honesty is always the best policy.The writing is humorous and light. The characters, including the supporting characters, are winsome, cautious, endearing, and real. And the plot is a romantic tale filled with heartache, friendship, introspection, exquisite chemistry, steamy tension, witty banter, and true love.This is the first n Sweet, sexy, and fun!This is a charming friends-to-more rom-com about moving on, learning to trust, taking some risks and remembering that games can often backfire and honesty is always the best policy.The writing is humorous and light. The characters, including the supporting characters, are winsome, cautious, endearing, and real. And the plot is a romantic tale filled with heartache, friendship, introspection, exquisite chemistry, steamy tension, witty banter, and true love.This is the first novel in the “Real Love” series and what a great start. It’s enjoyable, frisky, and highly entertaining and I can’t wait to read and review Arm Candy the second book in the series publishing in early September.Thank you to NetGalley and Random House – Loveswept for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.All my reviews can be found on my blog at http://whatsbetterthanbooks.com
    more
  • Beth
    April 6, 2017
    Every once in a while, you run across one of those feel good stories with true friends falling in love. Eye Candy is the perfect example of best friends falling in love. Don't get me wrong, it isn't all roses and daisies and Lemmon added a couple of thorns in the way, but in the end Eye Candy was that HEA I crave.Full review to come.I received this ARC copy of Eye Candy from Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept. This is my honest and voluntary review. This book is set for publication July 2 Every once in a while, you run across one of those feel good stories with true friends falling in love. Eye Candy is the perfect example of best friends falling in love. Don't get me wrong, it isn't all roses and daisies and Lemmon added a couple of thorns in the way, but in the end Eye Candy was that HEA I crave.Full review to come.I received this ARC copy of Eye Candy from Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept. This is my honest and voluntary review. This book is set for publication July 25, 2017.My Rating: 4 starsWritten by: Jessica LemmonISBN-13:9781524796433Publisher:Random House Publishing GroupPublication date:07/25/2017Series: Real Love Sequence in Series: #1Sold by:Random HouseGenre: Romantic ComedyItunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/eye-...Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Candy-Real-Lov...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/eye-...For Reviews : http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • ~Mindy Lynn~
    May 24, 2017
    A sweet friends to lovers story.Jackie and Vince are co-VPs for the company they work for. They are also the best of friends. They found common ground from being divorced and have since grown extremely close. The problem is that recently Vince has noticed he's starting to have more sexual feelings for his BFF then one should. But Jackie is more focused on the shirtless hunk that jogs by her office everyday. Vince is convinced the man is a douche and comes up with a plan to get Jackie dating so h A sweet friends to lovers story.Jackie and Vince are co-VPs for the company they work for. They are also the best of friends. They found common ground from being divorced and have since grown extremely close. The problem is that recently Vince has noticed he's starting to have more sexual feelings for his BFF then one should. But Jackie is more focused on the shirtless hunk that jogs by her office everyday. Vince is convinced the man is a douche and comes up with a plan to get Jackie dating so he can date her. But of course this crazy plan doesn't work out the way he'd hoped. Now Jackie is dating Douche jogger and Vince is on the sidelines. But not for long because jogger messes up and Vince swoops in to save the day. But things get more complicated and past fears and ghosts come out to play putting their "relationship" in a funk. Jackie didn't want to date. She was happy living in her single world and watching her desires run by her office window everyday. But Vince convinced her to get out of her comfort zone and try again. But the hottie jogger was better to look at then to date. The fantasy was better and her bubble has been popped when he shows his true colors. She runs to Vince and they start something that she's unsure of what it is. Are they friends with benefits? Girlfriend and boyfriend? Lovers? She doesn't know because Vince continuously sends her mixed signals. Things go up and down for these two and it lasts throughout the entirety of the book. I guess that is why I didn't enjoy it as much.The humor was good and the book read like a funny rom-com that I could totally see my younger sister enjoying considering she loves those kinds of films. But I like mine with a bit more substance. Good but not great. Still I look forward to what is next. Davis sounds like a complicated character that I'd like to uncomplicated. And Jackie's sister Becca seems like a lot of fun. I can't wait for either book. Happy reading dolls! xx ***ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • Dali
    July 10, 2017
    If you’re looking for light, fun, sweet and sexy, Eye Candy is a great pick for your summer reading. Admiring beauty is part of human nature, right? Or at least that’s how Jacqueline Butler is justifying her mid-morning ogling of the dazzling man who jogs by her office every day at precisely 11:45am. And that’s all she intended to do until her best friend and coworker pushed her to ask the unidentified man to go out with her. The problem is that she hasn’t dated since her divorce and she’s out If you’re looking for light, fun, sweet and sexy, Eye Candy is a great pick for your summer reading. Admiring beauty is part of human nature, right? Or at least that’s how Jacqueline Butler is justifying her mid-morning ogling of the dazzling man who jogs by her office every day at precisely 11:45am. And that’s all she intended to do until her best friend and coworker pushed her to ask the unidentified man to go out with her. The problem is that she hasn’t dated since her divorce and she’s out of practice. So while she dates the running man she’s practicing and falling for her best friend. “Our friendship is important. All I can hope is that I haven’t ruined what we have for a stab at what we could be.” Vince Carson couldn’t have survived his divorce if it weren’t for his two best friends. His guy friend who he liked to go out for drinks with and his other friend who happened to be a girl and spent every Friday night watching old movies with him. She happily shares the vice president title with him, but she’s also happily slotted him in the dreaded friend zone. Which wasn’t terrible at first, but now he desperately wants out and if everything goes according to his plans he’ll soon be swooping. But you know what they say about the well laid out plans of mice and men… Two friends surrender to their desire and fall in love in this fun and steamy friends-to-lovers office romance. I’ve read several books by Jessica Lemmon and with Eye Candy she delivers another entertaining book and a wonderful start to her new series Real Love. Every page is made to draw the reader deeper into Jackie and Vince’s friendship, how good they are for each other, how they helped each other get through difficult moments in their lives and how for both of them, that friendship evolved into more. But for both of them the fear of being hurt again and loosing that bond had them going through an unconventional courtship. I loved the lightheartedness of the story. It was funny and sexy and easy to read. Both characters are very likeable. Jackie is smart and confident and yet a bit shy when it comes to the opposite sex, hence the practice dates with Vince who is easy going and playful. It’s truly fun watching them stumble their way through their road from friends to lovers. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series!Eye Candy is book #1 in the Real Love series by Jessica Lemmon. It is a standalone contemporary romance. Told from both points of view and has a happy ending. Amazon -> http://amzn.to/2tzQcVgAuthor's pinterest board -> https://www.pinterest.com/lemmony/eye...4.5 starsMore reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers
    more
  • Ashley
    April 15, 2017
    It was fun, but also SUPER frustrating.(view spoiler)[1) There’s this really hypocritical thing…Jackie starts dating the jogger guy ("J.T."). They haven't really defined what they are—they've just gone out on a few dates. Then Vince basically says, "Hey, Jackie! Date me too! Like... for practice..." And Jackie is like, "Hmm well J.T. and I are still new and haven't said we're exclusive... so okay!!" She starts dating both guys, but keeps Vince a secret from J.T. Then, a few days later, she catch It was fun, but also SUPER frustrating.(view spoiler)[1) There’s this really hypocritical thing…Jackie starts dating the jogger guy ("J.T."). They haven't really defined what they are—they've just gone out on a few dates. Then Vince basically says, "Hey, Jackie! Date me too! Like... for practice..." And Jackie is like, "Hmm well J.T. and I are still new and haven't said we're exclusive... so okay!!" She starts dating both guys, but keeps Vince a secret from J.T. Then, a few days later, she catches J.T. "cheating" on her (having sex with another woman) and becomes really really really upset and suddenly J.T. becomes the "cheating bastard". But why was what J.T. did so horrible if Jackie was also under the impression that they weren't exclusive? This whole cheating incident became a huge part of the book but it was so hypocritical...2) Then Vince does a really stupid thing...So Vince has this whole thing where he decides to become Jackie's "coach" to help her win over J.T., right? (Before he becomes "cheating bastard".) From the synopsis:"But what if I set her up with Mr. Steroids? Then, when he breaks her heart, I can swoop in and save her like the nice guy I am."But then, J.T. "cheats" on Jackie and Jackie goes running into Vince's arms. They have this awesome night, have sex, yada yada. They're obviously both crazy about each other. Vince has totally scored because he wanted Jackie, then he got Jackie, and J.T. was out of the picture. But instead of owning that, he's literally like, "The only way I know how to proceed is tell her it was all for teh lulz and I was just trying to coach her and I just want to be her coach again moving forward to help her score a better guy." What the fuck? So he got everything he wanted, then he freaks out and decides to brush it all off like it was no biggie and tells Jackie he just wants to be her coach... even though that isn't what he want. The idiot backtracked."I turned over the best way to proceed now that we had some seriously fun naked time, and the only answer I came up with was to keep up the ruse. I was her coach, and as long as I continue coaching her, she'll willingly overstep all sorts of boundary lines she's drawn for herself."3) Then there's another hypocritical thing at the endJackie sees Vince talking to his ex-wife and assumes the worst: that they hooked up. Vince is SUPER offended by her assumption. He's like, "OMG I can't believe you'd think so little of me! We're through!" He literally does break up with her over it. Then, a few days later, he sees Jackie talking to J.T. and LITERALLY does the exact same thing. He assumes the worst: that they got back together and turns into a prat over it. (hide spoiler)]The toughest thing about Eye Candy is that it’s built on one of the most frustrating things in romance books: characters who REFUSE to communicate with each other. Even when the other person’s feelings are so obvious, they both still refuse to talk about it and refuse to own up to anything. It’s all brushed off. This is even harder to deal with when you’re given both points of view and you can literally see how much both of them are obsessed with each other. It's even more exaggerated in Eye Candy because we practically have Vince saying, "I LOVE YOU! Oh wait I was actually JK. Just want to be your relationship coach. Yep."
    more
  • Jessica Lemmon
    April 12, 2017
    Dear Reader,Once upon a time . . . or, well, in June of 2016 . . . my husband and I were on a Tennessee vacation with a group of close friends. We’d just bellied up to the bar and ordered drinks when a man jogged by the huge glass windows. My husband pointed him out, watching me as I watched the runner—in his gorgeous, splendid, shirtless glory—dash by outside and disappear out of sight. My beloved wore a smirk when my eyes came back to his. Then he said, “You’re welcome,” because he knew he’d g Dear Reader,Once upon a time . . . or, well, in June of 2016 . . . my husband and I were on a Tennessee vacation with a group of close friends. We’d just bellied up to the bar and ordered drinks when a man jogged by the huge glass windows. My husband pointed him out, watching me as I watched the runner—in his gorgeous, splendid, shirtless glory—dash by outside and disappear out of sight. My beloved wore a smirk when my eyes came back to his. Then he said, “You’re welcome,” because he knew he’d gifted me the mother of all plot bunnies.I kept wondering what kind of heroine would be watching that golden god jog by. Who was she? Where did she work? At 4 AM that next morning, I jolted out of bed when I figured it out, and grabbed my laptop. The answer, as we now know, was Jacqueline Butler from her office window where she is Vice President of a marketing company. The even bigger surprise for me was when Vince, her coworker, uttered his first line mid-Chapter 1, and I realized that *he* was the hero, not the buff runner outside.(Oh, and guess what else? I was only going to write *one* book... until Vince's best friend Davis hit the page and then I decided I had to know more about him, too.) Arm CandyI hope you get swept off your feet by this book as much as I did while writing it. It's a lot of romantic fun, with that serious emotional punch you've come to expect from a Jessica Lemmon book.Enjoy!For more behind the scenes goodies, click here
    more
  • Chris Carroll
    July 20, 2017
    I love a hot steamy romance and this one has all of the earmarks of a yummy read. Thankfully, I was not wrong! Vince is a sweetheart who's good friend happens to be a girl. A girl he wants! But said girl happens to have the hot's for another. Stepping up to coach her sounds like a great idea.... until it's not.With plenty of action, some back and forth antics, steamy scenes, and a delicious hunk of a man, Eye Candy is a fun read that is right up any chick lit lover's alley. This is the first boo I love a hot steamy romance and this one has all of the earmarks of a yummy read. Thankfully, I was not wrong! Vince is a sweetheart who's good friend happens to be a girl. A girl he wants! But said girl happens to have the hot's for another. Stepping up to coach her sounds like a great idea.... until it's not.With plenty of action, some back and forth antics, steamy scenes, and a delicious hunk of a man, Eye Candy is a fun read that is right up any chick lit lover's alley. This is the first book I have read by Jessica Lemmon and I loved it! Amusing with the right amount of hot love to keep it all sweaty and interesting!* copy rec'd for review purposes
    more
  • Optimist ♰King's Wench♰ & MANTIES Champion
    June 8, 2017
    This book sounded SO CUTE when I read the blurb. Who doesn’t like a lil workplace swirl story? Unfortunately, I think it peaked in the blurb. It turned out to be largely frustrating.Jackie Butler has a crush on the Golden God who runs by her office everyday at the same time, but she just wants to look. You see, she’s given up on men and love since her ex-husband cheated on her but her friends keep pushing her to ask him out and she caves.Vince Carson is Jackie’s best guy friend and they share th This book sounded SO CUTE when I read the blurb. Who doesn’t like a lil workplace swirl story? Unfortunately, I think it peaked in the blurb. It turned out to be largely frustrating.Jackie Butler has a crush on the Golden God who runs by her office everyday at the same time, but she just wants to look. You see, she’s given up on men and love since her ex-husband cheated on her but her friends keep pushing her to ask him out and she caves.Vince Carson is Jackie’s best guy friend and they share the title of VP. Vince is also divorced, though not cheated upon and he’s harboring a crush on Jackie. Good love triangle thing happening here that I thought would be fruitful.Vince offers to “coach” Jackie in her efforts to ensnare J.T. a.k.a. Golden God. He makes a lot of assumptions about J.T. thinking he’ll be their to reap the Jackie rewards when J.T. inevitably disappoints her and it comes with the added bonus of spending more time with her. For wooing presumably.This actually was working for me until they had sex. Without a condom. I’ll come back to this shortly. After they do the deed he’s still perpetrating like he’s “coaching” her.Thus began this endless loop of them continuing to spend all this time together, him not wanting her anywhere near J.T. yet coaching her in all the ways that will have him coming back for more, Vince pushing her away, because baggage, Jackie pushing him away, because baggage leading up to big, contrived conflict that requires their friend’s interventions.Remember all those times when I said I didn’t have a problem with non-communication? Well, I’ve found my limit. I’m not sure if Hallmark makes a card for this or not but if ever one was warranted... Now is the time. They make so many assumptions about each other rather than just talking that I had trouble believing they were ever “best friends”. It was just asinine. Some game playing is cute and can add intrigue to a narrative, but this went on and on and on.Jackie's thing with J.T. is casual and it turns out he’s seeing others which she inexplicably equates to him cheating after like 2 dates?!?!? I appreciate sisterhood solidarity but what Bethany did to him is beyond comprehension.Now the sex. It is relatively hot, but sex without a condom in MF reads unless the people have discussed beforehand that that’s how it’s going to be is beyond stupid. I can overlook one in the heat of the moment time, but these two just take each other at their word that they’re clean, that she’s “covered” and without any sort of commitment? No. Just no. Not when there’s a 9 month bullet that doesn’t deserve to be caught in the middle of these two nincompoops. Seriously, what sort of idiots just believe what someone tells them? You know how many crazy trains are out there? Crazy trains that’ll lie to your face? By the time the story was over I was more relieved to be rid of the juvenile games they played than happy they'd finally decided to be together forever-n-ever. However, I can’t say that I hated the whole thing. There were cute moments and I am intrigued by Davis whose story is next in line, but I’m not sure I can take anymore statements like this: She’s not the fucking type. She’s the making love type, and I’ve started wondering if Jackie might be a girl I’d like to make love to. Is she gonna have to wear a girdle under her dress after she quits her job to stay at home and make sure dinner’s on the table by 6 o’clock after a day of bridge and day drinking with the girls wondering what the hell happened to her life too? Just wondering.Not recommended.An ARC was provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • ~Mandi~
    June 22, 2017
    Eye Candy Real Love #1 Jessica LemmonSuch a cute romance between Jackie and Vince. A friends turned lovers story. I really enjoyed this one. Can't wait to read Book 2 Arm Candy. I'm hoping this one Davis will find love. I would recommend this one to my romance book friends. Thanks NetGalley and Loveswept for the arc in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Dísir
    April 12, 2017
    Vince Carson tries to convince his best mate and colleague Jackie to go after some anonymous hot runner with the intention of swooping in when it falls apart. But the best laid plans go awry as always and somehow, Vince and Jackie find themselves in a position where their professional and personal boundaries start blurring. Aye-ay-ay. What a tangled mess this is. ‘Eye Candy’ is rom-com in full-steam, as adults (vice-presidents of a marketing company no less) plot, manipulate and go the excruciat Vince Carson tries to convince his best mate and colleague Jackie to go after some anonymous hot runner with the intention of swooping in when it falls apart. But the best laid plans go awry as always and somehow, Vince and Jackie find themselves in a position where their professional and personal boundaries start blurring. Aye-ay-ay. What a tangled mess this is. ‘Eye Candy’ is rom-com in full-steam, as adults (vice-presidents of a marketing company no less) plot, manipulate and go the excruciatingly painful, roundabout way of trying to get back into a kind of dating game that really should be banned from this age-group. But who knew that adults haven’t quite left this behind?I couldn’t quite believe that Vince would play such games, though it was admittedly snort-funny to see a man for once, taking on the characteristics of what is traditionally ascribed to the insecure, plotting female protagonist along with the bar-confiding moments with another equally broken friend—all because he was probably afraid to really figure out what he wanted. I felt sorry however, for Jackie, swept along as she was for the ride and not getting everything upfront as she should have been getting, when it appeared that the men in her life couldn’t well, man-up. I was frustrated more than entertained though, because of the lack of clarity that just didn’t seem to come in places where the sun doth shine. Getting exasperated with Jackie/Vince's lack of communication—and I mean about the topics that bother them and not of the unintelligible kind—when it was going to be the main form of conflict in the book was probably a sign that I could barely tolerate the vacillating indecisiveness of both parties towards the end. But those who like lighter reads, with the kind of tension and pacing found in rom-coms, ‘Eye Candy’ hits the mark. Jackie’s and Vince’s voices are distinctive enough to bridge the NA/adult contemporary gap, even though I’m not convinced that the whole dizzying set-up (that veers uncomfortably closely to issues like cheating and two-timing and getting back on the saddle to ‘use’ random women) is really suited for me. That said, I do enjoy Jessica Lemmon’s writing and well, even if ‘Eye Candy’ wasn’t exactly a story I could get into, it’s a series I’ll be keeping a sort-of-curious eye out for. *ARC by netgalley(always grateful, mind)
    more
  • Sissy's Romance Book Review
    July 26, 2017
    'EYE CANDY' by Jessica Lemmon is the First book in the New Series "Real Love". This is the story of Jacqueline 'Jackie 'Butler and Vince Carson. This was a cute, sometimes funny friends to lovers romance. Jackie was a divorcee who was helping her friend and coworker Vince help get over his divorce. But Vince would like to take their friendship to the next level with Jackie. Vince knows Jackie has been eyeing a runner that comes by and thinks to have her get back into the dating field maybe with 'EYE CANDY' by Jessica Lemmon is the First book in the New Series "Real Love". This is the story of Jacqueline 'Jackie 'Butler and Vince Carson. This was a cute, sometimes funny friends to lovers romance. Jackie was a divorcee who was helping her friend and coworker Vince help get over his divorce. But Vince would like to take their friendship to the next level with Jackie. Vince knows Jackie has been eyeing a runner that comes by and thinks to have her get back into the dating field maybe with this runner. In addition, most times the people you fantasize about aren't what they turn out to be. So this person could get her feet wet in the dating field again. Then when this person turns out not to be what she wanted, Vince could then swoop in to move forward with his plan to be come a love interest to her. This is my first book by Ms. Lemmon but I who to read more from her and this cute series!"My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."https://www.amazon.com/gp/profile/A2H...https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1... https://twitter.com/soapsrus68 https://www.facebook.com/RomanceBookR...http://sissymaereads.blogspot.com/ http://booklikes.com/bloghttps://romancebookreviewforyou.wordp... https://www.tumblr.com/blog/romancebo...
    more
  • Sheryl
    April 19, 2017
    *ARC courtesy of Netgalley and Random House Publishing*
  • Mindy Lou's Book Reviews
    July 4, 2017
    Vince and Jackie are both divorced and helped each other through it. By the time Vince realizes he's over his ex-wife and is falling for Jackie, she decides she's done dating. Vince realizes he needs to push her back out into the dating scene before he can pursue her himself. This story was cute, but also a bit frustrating. Both have been badly burned by their exes and it hampered both of them in moving forward. Instead of taking a direct approach, Vince felt the need to push Jackie towards some Vince and Jackie are both divorced and helped each other through it. By the time Vince realizes he's over his ex-wife and is falling for Jackie, she decides she's done dating. Vince realizes he needs to push her back out into the dating scene before he can pursue her himself. This story was cute, but also a bit frustrating. Both have been badly burned by their exes and it hampered both of them in moving forward. Instead of taking a direct approach, Vince felt the need to push Jackie towards someone else while trying to prove he was better for her, which caused more relationship angst than was necessary. Despite the angst, I liked all the characters. Davis and Grace is next up in Arm Candy. ARC provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • Julie
    May 31, 2017
    For the first time in my Jessica Lemmon reading history, I didn't give one of her books 5-Stars. Dude. I'm as shocked as you are. I know that it's really not that big of a deal, I gave this one 4-Stars. That's close to the same, right? It is but at the same time, it's no where near the same. I don't think that there was any ONE thing that made me shake my head and say nope to a five star rating. The concept of the book was interesting ... you have these two friends ... Jackie has hard-core frien For the first time in my Jessica Lemmon reading history, I didn't give one of her books 5-Stars. Dude. I'm as shocked as you are. I know that it's really not that big of a deal, I gave this one 4-Stars. That's close to the same, right? It is but at the same time, it's no where near the same. I don't think that there was any ONE thing that made me shake my head and say nope to a five star rating. The concept of the book was interesting ... you have these two friends ... Jackie has hard-core friend-zoned poor Vince and she's interested in this sweaty buff runner dude. Vince (being the genius that he is) decides that he is going to help Jackie get said sweaty buff runner dude and Vince thinks that he'll be there to pick up the pieces when Jackie's heart gets broken. Which, if we're being honest, is a depressing thought. Pretty sure it would just be easier to tell Jackie that he likes her rather than pushing her towards another dude but hey, who am I to say what would be easier ... I have ovaries and common sense. Most of the time. Anyway, so I don't need to tell you how things worked out with Jackie and sweaty buff runner dude.I liked the characters okay. I actually liked Vince more than I liked Jackie. I don't know if it's because I felt badly for Vince and his idiotic ideas or what. Come on, who doesn't love an underdog. I did find myself both rolling my eyes and rooting for Vince during each sentence. Jackie kind of annoyed me ... I just wanted her to make out with Vince and his sexy tattoos already. Maybe that's what my issue with the book was ... it wasn't the book itself, you know, the meat of the story ... no, not Vince's meat, you perv. The foundation of the story was amazing. Maybe it was my frustration towards Jackie and her tunnel vision for sweaty buff runner dude. Honestly, we've all been there, I'm sure. You have a close friend that you don't see as being a sexual entity who happens to be made for you and you only focus on the handsome shell of a man that for some reason, you just have to have but then you get it and you realize that you don't want it. Anyway ... if you could read between my random tangents, I liked the book. It was good. Because Jackie is a blind donkey, I didn't LOVE the book but it was one that I would read again. Maybe I just need to give it a couple of months and give this one a shot again. I don't want to break my 5-Star rating streak for all Lemmon books, right?* I received this novel in exchange for an honest review *Check out more of my reviews at Little Miss Bookmark!
    more
  • Rê
    July 18, 2017
    3 “Friends & Miscommunication” StarsARC via NetGalley.Thank you, Loveswept!Last year, I was introduced to Jessica Lemmon's writing and I truly enjoyed her Billionaire Bad Boy series. Unfortunately, the first title in her new series didn't have the same appeal.Eye Candy caught my eye--cheesy, I know--because of the best friend to lover's trope, and while there were good moments between Jackie and Vince, the divorced best friends and cowokers who discover they want a romantic relationship, the 3 “Friends & Miscommunication” StarsARC via NetGalley.Thank you, Loveswept!Last year, I was introduced to Jessica Lemmon's writing and I truly enjoyed her Billionaire Bad Boy series. Unfortunately, the first title in her new series didn't have the same appeal.Eye Candy caught my eye--cheesy, I know--because of the best friend to lover's trope, and while there were good moments between Jackie and Vince, the divorced best friends and cowokers who discover they want a romantic relationship, there were also some issues of the plotlines and characters' behaviours that kept this from being more than just an enjoyable read for me.I liked Jackie enough. She was independent and smart, and she was a good friend to Vince when he needed her most, right after he got his divorce. She also had my sympathy for the whole cheating drama with ex-girlfriend. Vince, on the other hand, wasn't my favorite character. I didn't dislike him, but he didn't do it for me. He acted a little too imature at times, and his plan to get Jackie to go out with him didn't make any sense. I didn't see how a man could think getting the woman you're interested in to ask someone else out would benefit him. The whole "she refuses to date thing" didn't even seem real enough to justify that approach.For me, Vince's games (including the whole coaching thing after they started going out) didn't make much sense, and was only there to create drama. It didn't feel genuine, and that kept me from fully enjoying this book.Having said that, I thought there were some good scenes between them before and after they started dating. I always enjoy reading about healthy friendships between female and male characters, where they simply get to enjoy each other's companies while watching a movie or sharing a pizza. I almost wish we'd seen more of them as just friends before jumping into kissing.I also enjoyed Jackie and Vince's friendship with other characters. I liked that they had other people to give them advice and cheer for their happiness.The chemistry between Vince and Jackie was another win. They shared some hot moments together.Overall, this was an good read with nice elements to it. Had Vince's motivations and their communication been a little better, it would've been another win for this author, as far as I was concerned.
    more
  • Christina
    July 21, 2017
    3.5 Stars - 3 Flames You know the story that, when you start out, think you know the direction it's going, but couldn't be more wrong? Yep, that's this book. Not in a bad way, just surprising.Jackie's addicted. To what? To the guy who runs by her office window every morning. Oh, he also lives in her complex. After her co workers convince her, she finally gets the courage to ask him out. Problem? Turns out he's not really the one she wants.Vince works with Jackie. Ok, they're a little more than c 3.5 Stars - 3 Flames You know the story that, when you start out, think you know the direction it's going, but couldn't be more wrong? Yep, that's this book. Not in a bad way, just surprising.Jackie's addicted. To what? To the guy who runs by her office window every morning. Oh, he also lives in her complex. After her co workers convince her, she finally gets the courage to ask him out. Problem? Turns out he's not really the one she wants.Vince works with Jackie. Ok, they're a little more than co workers. They've become best friends, hanging out every Friday night, able to discuss every and any thing. And yes, she helped him get over his divorce (she could relate). But he's not ready when she expressed interest in the running. So he comes up with a plan. A game. But will the game work in his favor?The idea of this story is very clever and cute. The game that's played didn't exactly work well with me though. Like I said, cute idea, great at first, but somewhere mid story, I started to lose interest. I was pulled back in, but I found that there was a roll reversal I wasn't expecting. All in all, cute story and happy with the HEA.Now give me Davis' story please :)*I received this book from the Jeep Diva in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • ❤Sana❤
    March 3, 2017
    4 stars!ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.The moment Eye Candy landed on my kindle!I'm a huge fan of author Jessica Lemmon. Billionaire Bad Boys series was great that I couldn't forget the stories especially that of Eli Crane. When I saw on Twitter that Ms. Jessica was coming with a new series and that it was inspired by her husband, I wanted badly to read it and see the Lemmony couple in action.Eye Candy is a friends to lovers story, and though some could see 4 stars!ARC kindly provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.The moment Eye Candy landed on my kindle!I'm a huge fan of author Jessica Lemmon. Billionaire Bad Boys series was great that I couldn't forget the stories especially that of Eli Crane. When I saw on Twitter that Ms. Jessica was coming with a new series and that it was inspired by her husband, I wanted badly to read it and see the Lemmony couple in action.Eye Candy is a friends to lovers story, and though some could see it as a cliché, I think that this kind of stories never gets old.Vince and Jacqueline were two co-workers (both divorced) who learned how to find peace and comfort in their platonic friendship.Jacqueline Butler swore off men, and though she never missed the hot stuff who runs in front of her office window every morning looking like an Adonis, dating wasn't on the menu for her.Hanging out with Vince was so enjoyable that she didn't need another man in her life until she decided to give the mysterious Adonis a shot.Something she soon regretted...Hurt from another betrayal, Jacqueline went back to her best friend Vince to lick her wounds but soon, things started to get messy and the man she always saw as a friend started to stirr some strange feeling in both her heart and body.“Let’s do this, Butler.” I mean it. It’s scary and big, but I mean it. “Do what?” she whispers. “Us.”Eye Candy is another winning, sexy and light-hearted story that would warm your heart and show you the real meaning of a happily ever after.“We’re friends. We’re lovers. And we’re together. What more do I need to know?”
    more
  • Nadine Bookaholic
    July 30, 2017
    Great start to the series Review to follow
  • Rebecca
    April 15, 2017
    ARC GENEROUSLY PROVIDED VIA NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW 3 sweet, more than friends stars!Eye Candy is a sweet, friends to more story... which just so happen to be my favorite books! Jackie and Vince are both divorced, both the VP of the marketing company, and are best friends. Jackie was there for Vince when he needed a friend the most. They are inseperable in and out of work. Jackie, still years later, is so hurt from her divorce and so tired of the dating game that she decides t ARC GENEROUSLY PROVIDED VIA NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW 3 sweet, more than friends stars!Eye Candy is a sweet, friends to more story... which just so happen to be my favorite books! Jackie and Vince are both divorced, both the VP of the marketing company, and are best friends. Jackie was there for Vince when he needed a friend the most. They are inseperable in and out of work. Jackie, still years later, is so hurt from her divorce and so tired of the dating game that she decides to give up men for good, until Vince notices her infatuation with runner boy. The super hot guy who runs by their office window every day. Being a good friend and trying to get Jackie back out there dating pushes her to make her move on the runner. However, Vince's motives aren't exactly pure, and he has a completely different game in mind. One that will hopefully end up with Jackie in his arms and no one else's. Unfortunately, plans rarely go as they are intended. This was a sweet book and I liked the characters a lot. It was an enjoyable and easy read. The problem is, I just didn't LOVE this book. I didn't dislike it, but I didn't love it. I felt like the first 90% of the book was slow going. We got to know Jackie and Vince, see their relationship as friends, and get a history of where they were both coming from. The problem is, there wasn't a whole lot happening. The story seemed to drag on for awhile with the same things happening page after page. For me, the best part of the book was the last 10%. In those pages we had angst, we had uncertainty, we had the on the edge of our seats waiting to see what was going to happen. All of that was wonderful.... I wish there was more like that throughout the rest of the story. Over all, this was a cute more than friends, second chances kind of story.
    more
  • Laura
    July 24, 2017
    ***ARC Provided by the Author via Tasty Book Tours***4.5 StarsI loved the premise of this book. The idea of a woman who sees someone, finds him appealing, and then wants to pursue him...all because he runs by her window at the same time almost every day.Jacqueline and Vince are friends, but Vince is starting to accept that he wants there to be more between them. The problem? They are friends, Jacqueline helped him through his divorce, and she has pretty firmly "Friend zoned" him. And, she doesn' ***ARC Provided by the Author via Tasty Book Tours***4.5 StarsI loved the premise of this book. The idea of a woman who sees someone, finds him appealing, and then wants to pursue him...all because he runs by her window at the same time almost every day.Jacqueline and Vince are friends, but Vince is starting to accept that he wants there to be more between them. The problem? They are friends, Jacqueline helped him through his divorce, and she has pretty firmly "Friend zoned" him. And, she doesn't date.Vince's idea around this? To set her up with the runner guy, so it "breaks the seal" so to speak on her dating, and he can move in when things don't work out. Vince is the only one who thinks this is a good idea. Does this backfire? Of course it does, and that was obvious from a mile away, that this was going to go wrong.The story itself, aside from the premise of the runner, is pretty much the standard friends to lovers. But, the difference here is Jessica Lemmon. As always, her writing is fresh, and it is fun. She takes what could be an ordinary story and gives it life through her characters, and the relationships they have with one another. You get to know them, and you connect with them.Friends to lovers is difficult, as there is a lot at risk in taking that leap, and I loved the way the author handled the anxiety of this, how it was mixed with the friendship, and the awkwardness of the change in the relationship.I also appreciate the use of stairs. Those worked well too...but to get that explanation, you are going to have to read the book, which I recommend.
    more
  • Lea ★
    May 23, 2017
    ARC kindly received from Netgalley and Random House Publishing.I can recommend this to anyone who loves a good friends to lovers romance. Just two really good friends who over time became something more. We can all relate to that, right?I enjoyed both Jessica's writing and characters she created. It is a funny and emotional book I read in one sitting.
    more
  • Minx -The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    April 11, 2017
    Eye Candy is a friends to lovers romance but from the start there is a spark between the two main characters. So, there is no awkwardness regarding “all of a sudden noticing that your friend is attractive” type of trope. Both Jackie and Vince had been through some heart-wrenching divorces where they were left by their significant others. This created some pretty deep wounds that they both slowly recovered from. Despite the main characters dealing with some heavy internal issues this was a light Eye Candy is a friends to lovers romance but from the start there is a spark between the two main characters. So, there is no awkwardness regarding “all of a sudden noticing that your friend is attractive” type of trope. Both Jackie and Vince had been through some heart-wrenching divorces where they were left by their significant others. This created some pretty deep wounds that they both slowly recovered from. Despite the main characters dealing with some heavy internal issues this was a light and hilarious story that had me swooning and cracking up throughout the book.Vince and Jackie work together but have been friends for a few years. At the start of Eye Candy Jackie has been lusting after J.T., a man who lives in her apartment complex but also happens to run by her office every day. In nothing but tight exercise shorts and he in an Adonis to look at. He is a real piece of eye candy that Jackie is most interested in devouring. Unfortunately, Jackie is a bit gun shy after her divorce and then string of dating “duds.” Vince decides that as a “friend” he would “coach” Jackie on how to get a date with J.T. but what Vince was really trying to do was to get Jackie to see him as something beyond a friend. No way that idea could go wrong, am I right? 😉I really enjoyed reading both the viewpoints from Jackie and Vince. Honestly Vince’s portion was just hilarious as he was fighting to get the girl, fighting against his desires, and fighting against reality. He just made things go from bad to “what the??” and it was most entertaining. Jackie was a cute character and I felt bad for her because she was like a ping pong ball with Vince’s waffling back and forth about how he was going to achieve his goals.In Eye Candy, I thought there was going to be the dreaded love triangle but it was underplayed and if anything, was used to add humor to this story. As far as a friends to lovers romance goes, I quite enjoyed this one. I was especially grateful that the characters did not go through that awkward phase of being uncomfortable about their desire for each other. Once they started with their epic kiss it was all heat and passion from there on out. They just had to keep it on the down low as they were also colleagues. Fun times and a heck of an entertaining read with all the high points you would hope for in a friends to lovers romance.This review is based on a complimentary book I received from NetGalley. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no way affected my review or rating.Find this review and more at The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    more
  • ☕ Kimberly
    June 11, 2017
    Told from dual perspectives Lemmon severed up a romance that had me laughing, rolling my eyes and wanting to lock this couple in a dark room to see what would happen!Jacqueline and Vince share the role of vice president at a local marketing firm. The two have become close friends, watching movies together, and sharing lunches but when Vince sees Jacqueline ogling a local runner, he suddenly begins to think of her as more than a friend. Guys are so silly. Vince has a million reasons why he cannot Told from dual perspectives Lemmon severed up a romance that had me laughing, rolling my eyes and wanting to lock this couple in a dark room to see what would happen!Jacqueline and Vince share the role of vice president at a local marketing firm. The two have become close friends, watching movies together, and sharing lunches but when Vince sees Jacqueline ogling a local runner, he suddenly begins to think of her as more than a friend. Guys are so silly. Vince has a million reasons why he cannot ask her out and instead decides to coach her on picking up the hot runner. He figures he can be her rebound guy, then Vince will sweep in and yeah..like I said, guys.I knew we were in for a fun ride and Lemmon delivered plenty of snark, delicious teasing and some hot as heck moments as these two sorted things out. The drama was minimal and the dual perspective really allowed me to understand the characters. As I said, at times I wanted to lock them in a dark room until they just came clean on their feelings. Miscommunication almost spoiled my good time but despite frustration, I enjoyed the ride.I adored their coworker and I am very curious about Vince's drinking buddy. Both meddled and added to the tale.Awkward, sexy and just plain fun EYE CANDY offered up a tasty afternoon treat. Fans of Lauren Blakely, Kate Meader, and Jennifer Probst will adore this one. Be sure to read the author's note in the back of the book. It shares how Lemmon got the inspiration for this tale and it will make you smile.Copy provided by the publisher. This review was originally posted at Caffeinated Book Reviewer
    more
  • Ayekah
    May 25, 2017
    I knew I was in for a sweet treat with this one, but wasn't prepared for all the antics between these two. They were hysterical. I like a good friends to lovers story and this one covers all the bases.Jackie and Vince work together, both VP's in a marketing firm, both divorced; Vince longer than Jackie. So Vince has played coach of sorts for Jackie and they grew to be great friends. Vince also grew himself a nice crush on Jackie, but he's a man with a plan. Jackie is fed up with the dating carou I knew I was in for a sweet treat with this one, but wasn't prepared for all the antics between these two. They were hysterical. I like a good friends to lovers story and this one covers all the bases.Jackie and Vince work together, both VP's in a marketing firm, both divorced; Vince longer than Jackie. So Vince has played coach of sorts for Jackie and they grew to be great friends. Vince also grew himself a nice crush on Jackie, but he's a man with a plan. Jackie is fed up with the dating carousel and her big thrill every day is watching this delectable piece of man meat jog by her window. She's in total lust. So Vince, in his infinite wisdom -NOT- comes up with a plan for Jackie to meet this runner and have a date or two and when things fall apart he'll be there to pick up the pieces and take care of her. Yup, he's a man. Pretzel logic.So she goes on a few dates with JT, sailing along and Vince says hey you can date me too. Omg. These two and they banter, they're relentless. Cute as hell and crazier than hoot owls. Yes they both annoyed me a couple times, I didn't think it was real bright of Vince to suggest she date them both. What man wants that? Nonetheless, readers know if these two yahoo's would have just had a little more communication and a little less run around they'd have solved their problem a lot faster. But hey, it's not my book. I also thought a couple times, wait...these two are adults. Not young kids. Old enough to know better. But then age has no limit on goofy.I loved the story, the premise was cute and as always Jessica delivers a great story.Bring on Arm Candy, I'm rubbing my hands together because I'm soooo ready for that one.**arc from NetGalley and publisher in exchange for a fair review**
    more
Write a review