Amber Green Takes Manhattan
Novice stylist Amber Green is taking on the glittering celebrity world of Manhattan one fashion disaster and wardrobe malfunction at a time! When her TV producer boyfriend Rob announces that he’s been offered a job in New York, filming with the infamous Angel Wear lingerie models, Amber knows its her perfect chance to take the New York fashion world by storm.But Amber wasn’t counting on unruly toddler photo shoots, clandestine designer handbag scams and a Hollywood star who is determined to wear as little as possible on the red carpet. Until she meets a disgraced former designer who could turn her career around…or leave it all in tatters.Fun, adventure, glamour and high-fashion make this is the perfect feel good women’s fiction read.

Amber Green Takes Manhattan Details

TitleAmber Green Takes Manhattan
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 29th, 2017
PublisherHQ
Rating
GenreWomens Fiction, Chick Lit, Fiction

Readers also enjoyed


Amber Green Takes Manhattan Review

  • Blodeuedd Finland
    June 23, 2017
    This is the second book about Amber Green, and yes I do feel like it could work as a stand alone. You meet Amber and her boyfriend Rob. They met in book 1 where Amber worked for this crazy stylist. And it's time for a new adventure.Amber is fun, sweet and yes she can get a bit too invested in what she does. She just loves fashion so much. And it does seem like she would be fun to spend time with.The story is about her going with Rob to Manhattan cos he got a job there for a few months, and who This is the second book about Amber Green, and yes I do feel like it could work as a stand alone. You meet Amber and her boyfriend Rob. They met in book 1 where Amber worked for this crazy stylist. And it's time for a new adventure.Amber is fun, sweet and yes she can get a bit too invested in what she does. She just loves fashion so much. And it does seem like she would be fun to spend time with.The story is about her going with Rob to Manhattan cos he got a job there for a few months, and who would say no to that! She also sees a chance to start working as a stylist again. And yes she really is the luckiest woman at times, things happen easy and by mistake. But this is a fun light book and things are meant to be like that.Of course there is some drama with besties, romance and work. We all need a bit of drama to work harder.I have missed some fun chic-litish short of book. It really is the perfect book for summer, and not to mention the beach.
    more
  • Elaine
    June 29, 2017
    Another great book starring Amber Green who seems to face one calamity after another yet these always seem to accidentally promote her role as stylist to the stars. It has plenty of laugh out loud moments - in my case, the sort that have me reading excerpts to my husband to show just why I’m laughing (and he usually joins in chuckling along, the moments are so hilarious!) Amber’s boyfriend, Rob, has been offered a job in New York that will necessitate him leaving London to work there for three m Another great book starring Amber Green who seems to face one calamity after another yet these always seem to accidentally promote her role as stylist to the stars. It has plenty of laugh out loud moments - in my case, the sort that have me reading excerpts to my husband to show just why I’m laughing (and he usually joins in chuckling along, the moments are so hilarious!) Amber’s boyfriend, Rob, has been offered a job in New York that will necessitate him leaving London to work there for three months filming lingerie models. He invites Amber to join him and their next adventurous escape begins! Get ready to read about their new home (tiny), the beefcake firemen working across the road who come to their rescue (hot), the models and stars, children and a disgraced designer ready to resume his career. It is a fun read, packed with glamour, high fashion and ‘stars’. It is a brilliant feel good read, with great characters and a plot filled with unanticipated twists and turns to keep you guessing and laughing!I requested and was lucky enough to be gifted a copy of this novel via NetGalley; this is my honest opinion after choosing to read it. I thoroughly enjoyed escaping into this novel and have no hesitation in highly recommending both this and the previous novel about Amber Green - 'The Stylist'.
    more
  • Agi
    June 28, 2017
    Ah, guys, "Amber Green Takes Manhattan" was probably one of my most anticipated books this summer. I've read and adored "The Stylist" last year and really, I couldn't be more excited for the sequel. After my review copy arrived I've immediately fell in love with the cover - it's fabulous, with those lovely embossed letters and gorgeous colours (personally I think it is much, much nicer that the cover of the first book, but it's just me, you know I am a sucker for such fairy - tale covers). But i Ah, guys, "Amber Green Takes Manhattan" was probably one of my most anticipated books this summer. I've read and adored "The Stylist" last year and really, I couldn't be more excited for the sequel. After my review copy arrived I've immediately fell in love with the cover - it's fabulous, with those lovely embossed letters and gorgeous colours (personally I think it is much, much nicer that the cover of the first book, but it's just me, you know I am a sucker for such fairy - tale covers). But it was not only the cover that made me love this book so much - it was simply the brilliant story of Amber Green literally taking Manhattan! This book has it all, there was a lot of laugh, embarrassing moments, jumping to conclusions, some little drama and a happy end - just what the doctor ordered!In this second part of Amber Green's adventures in the big world, Amber and her boyfriend Rob travel to New York, where Rob's new job is working on a documentary for a world - famous lingerie brand - think something like Victoria's Secret here - and Amber... well, Amber is tagging along, she doesn't want to let Rob travel alone as they're together only for a short while, but she also has great dreams and hopes to make her name in the styling world. And knowing Amber, you can be sure she's going to go high, with her ability to befriend the right people and to find herself in the most hilarious, unbelievable situations ever and yes, she soon manages to get her first job with a has been/to be child star. But taking Manhattan also means social media, and Amber's start to take over her life - is the fresh relationship with Rob going to survive? How much damage is Amber going to produce with accidentally snapped photos? And finally, is Amber REALLY able to conquest New York?Amber reminded me so much of the one and only Becky from the Shopaholic series - she's exactly as absent - minded and she has the ability to find herself in embarrassing situations that more than often she herself creates, mostly unintentionally. She's very accident - prone but also she has a heart in the right place and I think it is impossible not to like Amber. OK, yes, she annoyed me, as well as Rob, with her obsession with her Instagram account and collecting followers, but well, Rob also sometimes annoyed me, taking out his frustration on the poor Amber. Sometimes is bothered me that Amber was forgetting about the whole world and focused on her career only but on the other hand I could understand her, she was in a new place and she wanted to prove herself she can do it. The story abounds in some hilarious situations and even though there were moments they felt a little too far - fetched I still bought them, just as they were described, and they made me smile or cringe in disbelief. If the fashion world really looks like Rosie Nixon describes it then it's better that I am an absolute outsider to it, guys - and Ms Nixon brilliantly and spot - on captured the world of the models, designers and red carpets, with all the dramas, "bags dropping", jealousy and night life. Even though it is not so much my kind of world I totally adored to read about it.Truly, guys, I knew after reading "The Stylist" that the second book is also going to be pretty damn good, and it was! Let me tell you, it was this little bit better than the previous one - the writing style was so much more distinctive and bolder, the characters were strong, with their own personalities and voices, and the intrigue was not only clever but it also had a brilliant ending! There came a moment that I had my own "eureka" moment and I tied the facts and guessed who and why but it didn't spoil the read for me, not at all. I liked that the author has made Amber life not so easy, and that she had to solve some problems, both in her private and professional life. I also liked that every situation was well - rounded with the gorgeous and sharp Rosie Nixon's humour - it made the book's reception lighter. She also hasn't forgotten the star of the previous book - the mini pig Pinky, and guys, Amber's tactic of looking for a babysitter for him while she and Rob were in New York was hilarious - especially the outcome, no, Nora? Really, there were so many situations that made me laugh out loud that it's impossible to tell you about all of them but believe me, you're going to smile, to laugh, to cringe with embarrassment when reading this story - and I like it so much when a novel invokes so many emotions in me, because it means that it's brilliantly written. This book is so fast - paced and there is all the time something happening, but you don't have the feeling that it's too pace-y, that it's too forced or overwhelming. There are enough twists and turns and damp down emergencies involving dressing a celebrity for Coachella (or rather, un - dressing!) and A - listers or other babies, and I truly raced through this story wanting more, and more, and more. All the characters were so great and so easily brought to life by the author. You know, I am really impressed with the way Rosie Nixon has with words, it all flows so effortlessly and seamlessly and it's just a great joy to read. The characters are not flawless, they make mistake but they pay for them and get a chance to rehabilitate themselves, which is great."Amber Green Takes Manhattan" was a hilarious, fast - paced rollercoaster ride in Manhattan, full of laugh, small dramas and celebrities. It was relaxing, it was funny, but what's more important, it was not only about glitz and glamour. It was again about following your dream, about not feeling dispirited, about believing in yourself and your talents. Highly recommended for a holiday or for a lovely summer evening in the garden - I personally loved it!Copy provided by the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Jessica
    April 24, 2017
    A fabulous follow up to The Stylist. It was great to follow Amber on her journey taking on Manhattan and seeing what she got up to and how successful she can become. We also see her take her relationship with her boyfriend to the next level. This book is fun and so easy to read. I read this so quick it was so enjoyable.
    more
  •  Martin
    June 26, 2017
    Amber Green is back, this time taking Manhattan by storm. Gone are the hectic days of...http://sleaze-factor.blogspot.ca/2017...
  • Claire Mc Partlin
    June 2, 2017
    This was a another fun story in the Amber Green series. I loved the first one, 'The Stylist', and this one just continued on the mad adventure that is Amber's life!This time Amber and Rob, her boyfriend, are in New York for Rob's new job working on a documentary for a big lingerie brand, Angel Wear. As Amber and Rob have only been together a fairly short while she decides to go to New York with him as they didn't want time apart when their relationship was still so new. Amber didn't have a job i This was a another fun story in the Amber Green series. I loved the first one, 'The Stylist', and this one just continued on the mad adventure that is Amber's life!This time Amber and Rob, her boyfriend, are in New York for Rob's new job working on a documentary for a big lingerie brand, Angel Wear. As Amber and Rob have only been together a fairly short while she decides to go to New York with him as they didn't want time apart when their relationship was still so new. Amber didn't have a job initially, as she had taken a sabbatical from her job, but soon managed to fall in with certain well known celebrities, as she always seems to do, and starts off styling a has-been/newly resurrected wild child star and things just go from there.Unfortunately Amber's social media sites start taking over her life and Rob starts getting very put out about it, understandably as she is checking her 'followers' every 10 seconds, which causes a lot of hassle in their relationship. Amber's best friend (who has just left her big actor boyfriend) arrives to crash on their sofa and causes more trouble. She was a bit of a nuisance and very thoughtless at times to be honest, and I would have thrown her out of the apartment a lot sooner, but they sort their differences out eventually and Vicky did come up trumps in the end, so all is forgiven!Of course Amber does well in the end, fabulous catwalk show at the end - although not without a few hiccups along the way to keep things interesting! A really enjoyable, fun book, full of fashion and celebrity lifestyles.
    more
  • Linda Boa
    July 2, 2017
    Thoroughly enjoyed this break from crime fiction with a lighthearted read about the trials of British stylist Amber Green as she moves to New York with her boyfriend, cameraman Rob. Mostly consisting of Amber getting herself into (and eventually out of) various fashion-related scrapes, it makes for a fun fast read that's perfect for any holidays you have planned - or just for a lighter summer read. Rosie Nixon is adept at creating a perfect mix of fashion and chick-lit, and this is guaranteed to Thoroughly enjoyed this break from crime fiction with a lighthearted read about the trials of British stylist Amber Green as she moves to New York with her boyfriend, cameraman Rob. Mostly consisting of Amber getting herself into (and eventually out of) various fashion-related scrapes, it makes for a fun fast read that's perfect for any holidays you have planned - or just for a lighter summer read. Rosie Nixon is adept at creating a perfect mix of fashion and chick-lit, and this is guaranteed to please any fans of both (or either!) I'm surprised at how much I enjoyed it...maybe I should lighten up more often, eh? Full review at https://crimeworm.wordpress.com/2017/...
    more
  • Emma Ounsworth
    June 29, 2017
    Amber Green takes Manhattan is a cross between Sex and the City and The Devil wears Prada with a great and humorous storyline that I thoroughly enjoyed.It follows the adventures of Amber Green and her boyfriend Rob who take a three month trip to New York to pursue Robs career but end up boosting Ambers career too through a series of mishaps and unexpected successes that sometimes had me laughing out loud.The writing flows easily and the characters come to life in a likeable flurry of personality Amber Green takes Manhattan is a cross between Sex and the City and The Devil wears Prada with a great and humorous storyline that I thoroughly enjoyed.It follows the adventures of Amber Green and her boyfriend Rob who take a three month trip to New York to pursue Robs career but end up boosting Ambers career too through a series of mishaps and unexpected successes that sometimes had me laughing out loud.The writing flows easily and the characters come to life in a likeable flurry of personality, you really end up rooting for Amber.From the first couple of pages I was hooked and I would love to read a sequel to see what else the world has in store for Amber
    more
  • Ukgardenfiend
    June 28, 2017
    A novel for those who love, and know their high end fashion. There are allusions to names and brands that you really need to read your Style pages regularly for his novel to make sense. And Selfridges is mentioned too!Amber follows her boyfriend to New York when his job takes him there and sets herself up as a stylist to the stars and others. This novel is the second in a series but you don’t need to have the read the first, as for me at any rate, it stood alone.Great fun to read and good writin A novel for those who love, and know their high end fashion. There are allusions to names and brands that you really need to read your Style pages regularly for his novel to make sense. And Selfridges is mentioned too!Amber follows her boyfriend to New York when his job takes him there and sets herself up as a stylist to the stars and others. This novel is the second in a series but you don’t need to have the read the first, as for me at any rate, it stood alone.Great fun to read and good writing of its type.
    more
  • MetLineReader
    June 8, 2017
    An enjoyable easy read, that follows the adventures of the haphazard yet loveable Amber Green, who lands on her feet with a lot of luck! This is the second book about Amber, which doesn't need to be read after The Stylist but is much better if you have (gives you the back story)....An enjoyable summer read - 3.5*
    more
  • Chrissie
    June 14, 2017
    I loved The Stylist so was delighted when there was a follow up of more about Amber. Amber Green Takes Manhattan is good fun to read .I loved dipping into the fashion world again and all it's madness. Amber is delightful and crazy and it is so enjoyable to read about what she gets up to .Glad there was a happy ending .
    more
  • Hannah (Sakurahan or ForeverBooks18)
    May 10, 2017
    I DNF'd this book...I thought it was so boring unfortunately. The first quarter (what I read) was all about the Glitz and the Glam of working in fashion. The only story there really was, was Amber and her boyfriend moving to New York, for his job. There has to be more story for me to enjoy it...1 Star, and that's being generous...
    more
  • Clara
    May 6, 2017
    A great followup to the first book in this series and this time she's in Manhattan.So much fun and adventure.A fab read that has so many funny moments. Perfect for when you're looking for a bit of escapism.Thanks to Netgalley and HQ for an arc copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Cathy Fogg
    June 27, 2017
    This is a great follow up to The Stylist and Amber Green's rise to celebrity stylist. It's fun, fresh & set in Manhattan! What's not to love! Perfect read for a summer holiday!
  • Shirley Whittemore
    April 13, 2017
    A good story with a lot of humour and a look into the world of fashion. Loved ambers story rob a lovely guy who thought the world of her. Vicky her best friend did annoy me a bit. But came good in the end. And a lovely happy ending all round
  • Janet McCarthy
    April 13, 2017
    This feel good, fun read is all about Amber and her adventures as a novice stylist.She works at Selfridges in London, styling their windows and requests a sabbatical for three months to join her boyfriend, Rob, in New York where he will be filming the infamous Angel Wear lingerie models in a documentary in the lead up to their famous fashion show.Amber is desperate to pay her way so she sets about finding an agent so that she can get some styling work sent her way. Dana, her agent, tells her tha This feel good, fun read is all about Amber and her adventures as a novice stylist.She works at Selfridges in London, styling their windows and requests a sabbatical for three months to join her boyfriend, Rob, in New York where he will be filming the infamous Angel Wear lingerie models in a documentary in the lead up to their famous fashion show.Amber is desperate to pay her way so she sets about finding an agent so that she can get some styling work sent her way. Dana, her agent, tells her that she needs to increase her followers on Instagram and gives her access to one of the top fashion shows.Without giving too much away, Amber is determined to take New York fashion world by storm and her rise to fame starts here in the most unexpected way.Amber didn’t realise at the time that she would be involved with wrangling unruly toddlers on a photo shoot or being blackmailed into participating in a clandestine designer handbag scam. She also didn’t expect to be styling a Hollywood star, who prefers the au naturel way of dressing, where less is definitely more.Fate intervenes and introduces Amber to Maurice Chan, a former famous fashion designer who could either turn her career around or ruin it forever. Should she take a chance on him?This is the perfect feel good women's fiction read filled with fun, adventure, glamour and fashion.This book warrants a fabulous 4 stars.
    more
Write a review