Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl
Product Description A visual, poetic exploration of the narrative nature of the world and the personality of the Poet behind it all. When Nate Wilson looks at the world around him, he asks "What is this place? Why is this place? Who approved it? Am I supposed to take it seriously?" What could such an outlandish, fantastical world say about its Creator? In these sparkling chapters, Wilson gives an aesthetic examination of the ways in which humanity has tried to make sense of this overwhelming carnival ride of a world. He takes a whimsical, thought-provoking look at everything from the "magic" of quantum physics, to nature's absurdities, to the problem of evil, evolution and hell. These frequently humorous, and uniquely beautiful portraits express reality unknown to many Christians-the reality of God's story unfolding around and among us. As the author says, "Welcome to His poem. His play. His novel. His comedy. Let the pages flick your thumbs."

Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl Details

TitleNotes From The Tilt-A-Whirl
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 29th, 2009
PublisherThomas Nelson
ISBN-139780849920073
Rating
GenreReligion, Theology, Nonfiction, Christian, Christianity, Philosophy

Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl Review

  • Douglas Wilson
    January 1, 1970
    Stupendous. More to follow.I had read Notes from the Tilt a Whirl before in its various manifestations. But when it arrived in its final printed form, I was happy to sit down and go through it again, left to right. What a good book this is.The conceit for the book is that the solar system is a ride at a carnival, with circular motions inside circular motion. Not only do we have the carnival-like motions, we have a carnival-like environment, gaudy colors and situations included. The book works th Stupendous. More to follow.I had read Notes from the Tilt a Whirl before in its various manifestations. But when it arrived in its final printed form, I was happy to sit down and go through it again, left to right. What a good book this is.The conceit for the book is that the solar system is a ride at a carnival, with circular motions inside circular motion. Not only do we have the carnival-like motions, we have a carnival-like environment, gaudy colors and situations included. The book works through the four quadrants of one trip around the circumference, through the seasons of winter, spring, summer, autumn. Those who don't get either thrilled or sick (or both) in the ride are those who, in the name of realism, resolutely ignore everything that is going on all around them, and they ignore it all day long.As they are on display in this book, Nate's gifts revolve around a very basic truth. He has the same ability that Chesterton had, that of making ordinary things seem extraordinary, and then with a start you realize that it is not a verbal trick -- ordinary things are extraordinary. Why don't we see that more often? I mean look at a walnut, for Pete's sake.A metaphor is a twisted and circuitous route that goes straight to the truth. Some metaphors are so convoluted that they get there right away. This book is just crammed with them. My father is working through the book too, and his one substantive criticism was one he cited from a C.S. Lewis criticism of Rudyard Kipling -- too much brilliance, too fast, need to breathe . . . lie down for a bit. Woof. It is a reasonable criticism, but you can always pace yourself. Read it in smaller chunks. But read it.And I just enjoyed reading it again, this time in February of 2011. It is just as good on a Kindle.
    more
  • Jen H.
    January 1, 1970
    So, on Saturday I was the lone woman sitting amongst a group of men when the subject of this book came up. I'd started to read it once before and hated it. Why? I didn't like the author. I've thought for years he was trying too hard to be like his father and never quite measuring up. Ugly, I know. But true. And I happen to think his father a right jolly old elf, with a bit of Lewis, Chesterton and Luther thrown in for good measure. Who wouldn't like THAT sort of guy, right?So when talk about thi So, on Saturday I was the lone woman sitting amongst a group of men when the subject of this book came up. I'd started to read it once before and hated it. Why? I didn't like the author. I've thought for years he was trying too hard to be like his father and never quite measuring up. Ugly, I know. But true. And I happen to think his father a right jolly old elf, with a bit of Lewis, Chesterton and Luther thrown in for good measure. Who wouldn't like THAT sort of guy, right?So when talk about this book appeared, I listened to the chatter and gave my two cents worth when the lauding increased. I said, "It's a good book for males, maybe. But not for women." Amid the loud guffaws, hearty laughter and shame-faced embarrassment (as if they shouldn't have enjoyed it as much as they did), I thought it might be expedient on my part to again "take up and read" this book I had so hastily condemned during my earlier sojourn. Who knew? I might have missed something important, like...um....the "story" itself. I don't like being the only one in the room to NOT get the joke.I'm glad I gave it a second chance. And I'm also happy to say that the son has not only succeeded in becoming like his father; in this book, I do believe he has exceeded him if this readers tears are any measure. Doug Wilson has only made me cry once. It happened when we were at a History Conference where he was one of the principal speakers. When he spoke of King Jesus, his voice cracked. And my tear ducts quickly followed suit. In Nate's book, I cried and cried and cried again. In "Notes from the Tilt-a-Whirl", Nate Wilson makes us to see God's glory by training our eyes on the shadow. You know the one. It's the one that was eliminated forever when Christ rose from the grave. And about me resenting the son for wanting to be like his dad? That was my problem, not his. This son is a grand and glorious reflection of his father, and one in whom his father, I would imagine, takes great pride.Although I still believe this is a book written by a man to men and for men, I also believe that every woman can and will be blessed/challenged/made to truly *see* in the beauty for ashes picture Nate paints of the world created in extravagant, living color AND in the harsh and harrowing, dark places by the Master Artist. Read it, girls, if you wish to see glory. Read it if you wish to weep. Just read it.I'd left a bookmark in this particular book when I'd tried to read it the first time. Upon it was a quote from the great man himself, G. K. Chesterton. And what did it say? "The most extraordinary thing in the world is an ordinary man and an ordinary woman and their ordinary children."Thank you, Doug and Nancy, for being brave enough to live the ordinary. And thank you, Nate, for writing about it in a way that makes me *see* the majesty and the glory of our God.
    more
  • Roberto Vargas Jr.
    January 1, 1970
    O estilo de Wilson é extremamente fluido e agradável. Diria até que é “viciante”!E é difícil dizer mais algo sobre o livro sem encher este texto de spoilers. Farei, então, apenas dois breves comentários.O primeiro: Como é bom encontrar eco do que pensamos em palavras muito mais apropriadas e que jamais poderíamos usar, por nossa própria incompetência! (Aliás, Wilson usou magistralmente o mesmo argumento que usei em Sobre a autoria do mal por Deus; adorei isso!)O segundo: O que dizer sobre de que O estilo de Wilson é extremamente fluido e agradável. Diria até que é “viciante”!E é difícil dizer mais algo sobre o livro sem encher este texto de spoilers. Farei, então, apenas dois breves comentários.O primeiro: Como é bom encontrar eco do que pensamos em palavras muito mais apropriadas e que jamais poderíamos usar, por nossa própria incompetência! (Aliás, Wilson usou magistralmente o mesmo argumento que usei em Sobre a autoria do mal por Deus; adorei isso!)O segundo: O que dizer sobre de que o livro trata? Quando um familiar postou num grupo da família um vídeo de fractais numa bolha de sabão, dizendo “Isso é arte!”, encontrei o que talvez sejam os melhores termos que posso articular sobre o tema do livro e com os quais o recomendei:"Deus é pródigo em nos presentear com a beleza. Ele faz os fractais de neve únicos em cada floco numa abundância inimaginável. Nós perdemos toda esta beleza pelo costume ou por colocarmos nossa atenção em coisas menos relevantes. O livro é um convite, um apelo a apreciar deliberadamente a criação e o Deus que a criou. Ou, como responde o Catecismo de Westminster ao que seria o fim do homem: conhecer Deus e gozá-lO eternamente! Louvado seja Ele!"Recomendo-o, pois, muito fortemente.
    more
  • Banner
    January 1, 1970
    This was a refreshing, honest and very personal book about faith...from one man's perceptive. He doesn't seem to be trying to convince anyone about anything (well maybe in a couple of places...not totally sure). He just expressed how he saw the world through faith. His style was kind of like reading Robin Williams teaching Sunday School or maybe talking with his fellow theologians down at the pub. It took a page or two to get into, but I enjoyed the style. This is not one of those get pumped up, This was a refreshing, honest and very personal book about faith...from one man's perceptive. He doesn't seem to be trying to convince anyone about anything (well maybe in a couple of places...not totally sure). He just expressed how he saw the world through faith. His style was kind of like reading Robin Williams teaching Sunday School or maybe talking with his fellow theologians down at the pub. It took a page or two to get into, but I enjoyed the style. This is not one of those get pumped up, I can do all things kind of book. It is a honost look at the world as it really is and seeing God in the ugly and the beautiful.Try the kindle sample and see if your not hooked.
    more
  • Heather
    January 1, 1970
    I like Nate.
  • Sydney Kirsch
    January 1, 1970
    I didn't love it quite as much as Death by Living, but that doesn't really mean anything because it was still incredible and beautiful and sparkly.
  • Barnabas Piper
    January 1, 1970
    The peaks of this book were higher than almost any book I have read in recent years. Wilson has a genuinely unique voice and a gift for seeing the world and the greatness of its minutiae. If you want an exploration of God's kingdom and reality in a fresh way, this is the book.
    more
  • Joel
    January 1, 1970
    N.D. Wilson's book is peculiar. I set out reading this not having a clue what to expect; and to the author's credit, I got a good handle on what I was in for after reading the introduction. Wilson's style is distinct. He is very self reflective and loooooves metaphors. This I do not mind. But it is also no guarantee of a good read.This book has problems. It is a compilation of random personal reflections capped off by one powerhouse chapter concerning hell towards the end of the book. The writin N.D. Wilson's book is peculiar. I set out reading this not having a clue what to expect; and to the author's credit, I got a good handle on what I was in for after reading the introduction. Wilson's style is distinct. He is very self reflective and loooooves metaphors. This I do not mind. But it is also no guarantee of a good read.This book has problems. It is a compilation of random personal reflections capped off by one powerhouse chapter concerning hell towards the end of the book. The writing is flowery, but not flowery like Dickens' prose, flowery like write whatever comes to mind and let it go without proofing because it is more raw and beautiful if it isn't messed with. Wilson sounds poetic enough, but halfway through the book I didn't have a clue what he was actually trying to say. This book is about God's creation, but there is absolutely no structure. Wilson would have been better off splitting up all of his paragraphs into poems and releasing a poetry journal.This was the kind of read where you're getting through it and the writing is pretty enough but you realize that after one hundred and fifty pages the author hasn't actually said anything. As noted before, there is a chapter on hell later in the book that has some structure and hits the reader with what Wilson may actually believe concerning the Creator who he has spent the last 6 chapters talking about but not actually given any insight on. He presents man's attitude towards eternity in a different light and it made me think. I don't think I agree with him at all, but he gets credit for doing in this chapter what he should have been doing from the start. I recommend that people read the hell chapter; you'll get out of that twice what you would get out of everything else. It saved Wilson from a more brutal rating in my book.
    more
  • Jacob Rush
    January 1, 1970
    The Wilson family probably share Chestertonian blood. In an insightful and poignant way, N.D. Wilson dismantles the academic skepticism of the secular, evolutionist by his sharp, sometimes crass, wit. Without God, without the Divine Storyteller, life is meaningless, we are a drift and alone in this vast cosmos. Wilson paints for us what it would look like to be amazed at the story that God is writing with our universe. This world and everything in it is being spoken by God like a master novelist The Wilson family probably share Chestertonian blood. In an insightful and poignant way, N.D. Wilson dismantles the academic skepticism of the secular, evolutionist by his sharp, sometimes crass, wit. Without God, without the Divine Storyteller, life is meaningless, we are a drift and alone in this vast cosmos. Wilson paints for us what it would look like to be amazed at the story that God is writing with our universe. This world and everything in it is being spoken by God like a master novelist, and we find ourselves as actors inside this grand play. Who will our character be? Will he be the grumpy, frustrated kind who never catches a break so he takes it out on his family? What will we do with the story God has given us? N.D. Wilson masterfully writes to open dull eyes (like my own) to the wonder and amazement of the world we live in, and invites us to enjoy the ride.
    more
  • G.M. Burrow
    January 1, 1970
    Breathtaking. Hilarious. Scathing. Fiercely jolly. If you ever want to read about poetry, ants, creation, thunderstorms, evil, Hamlet, eternity, snow, hell, pain and death all rolled into one ecstatic ball, then read this book. It will sprawl you, wind you, pick you up, and push you on your way even as you hold out both arms to stop the world from rocking. It will blind you with beauty and insist that you see.I read this in one dizzy three-hour sitting in June 2009, then again (much slower) in M Breathtaking. Hilarious. Scathing. Fiercely jolly. If you ever want to read about poetry, ants, creation, thunderstorms, evil, Hamlet, eternity, snow, hell, pain and death all rolled into one ecstatic ball, then read this book. It will sprawl you, wind you, pick you up, and push you on your way even as you hold out both arms to stop the world from rocking. It will blind you with beauty and insist that you see.I read this in one dizzy three-hour sitting in June 2009, then again (much slower) in March 2011.
    more
  • Thiago Lima
    January 1, 1970
    Fantástico! Genial!Esse livro é sobre cosmovisão. Isso, "cosmovisão" no singular. Não é um livro discutindo sobre as diversas cosmovisões existentes, embora ele fale superficialmente de algumas. Nesse livro Nathan, de forma magistral, nos apresenta uma cosmovisão singular, uma que enxerga esse mundo além de simples taxonomia e estações climáticas, que te deslumbra com a beleza desse mundo que, na verdade, é obra de um grande Artista.Nathan fala sobre moralidade, céu, inferno, morte, vida, ressur Fantástico! Genial!Esse livro é sobre cosmovisão. Isso, "cosmovisão" no singular. Não é um livro discutindo sobre as diversas cosmovisões existentes, embora ele fale superficialmente de algumas. Nesse livro Nathan, de forma magistral, nos apresenta uma cosmovisão singular, uma que enxerga esse mundo além de simples taxonomia e estações climáticas, que te deslumbra com a beleza desse mundo que, na verdade, é obra de um grande Artista.Nathan fala sobre moralidade, céu, inferno, morte, vida, ressurreição, sobre o famigerado problema do mal, misturando tudo com detalhes sobre a primavera, borboletas e formigas. Tudo isso enquanto cita C.S. Lewis, Agostinho e expõe a tolice de Nietzsche, Platão, Hume e Kant (como esse livro poderia ser ruim?).Para mim, foi como entrar numa xícara maluca.No primeiro capítulo achei sensacional. A primeira volta é sempre "só alegria".Mas quando a xícara girou demais e o autor começou a falar de quarks, o enjoo bateu e quase abandonei o brinquedo. Mas com tanta gente boa falando bem desse livro, eu deveria persistir. E foi esplendido. Depois que acaba fica aquele gostinho de que foi um dos melhores brinquedos que você já viu. Quem já foi na sensacional montanha russa com simulador do Harry Potter, que os parques Island of Adventure e Universal proporcionam em Orlando, sabem do que estou falando.Enfim, leia esse livro. Se espante e se maravilhe com o Criador e sua arte.Observe esse mundo que é só para os crescidinhos mas que ninguém checa altura nem identidade na entrada. Se espante com as sombras e com o inverno. Se maravilhe com a primavera. Se maravilhe porque no final "haverá borboletas", afinal.... "histórias não terminam com a morte".Obrigado Nathan, por esse divertidíssimo passeio.
    more
  • ladydusk
    January 1, 1970
    Own.This is one of those books that's hard to rate because I read it over more than a year setting it down and picking it up. I think it was best read in small batches, actually, as the essays - and I use that term somewhat loosely - are based on the seasons as the earth - ahem "tilt-a-whirl" - revolves around the sun. I like much -most- of what Wilson has to say about God (Father, Son, and Spirit), Creation, and the interplay with man. I like the way he holds things up in the culture, church, s Own.This is one of those books that's hard to rate because I read it over more than a year setting it down and picking it up. I think it was best read in small batches, actually, as the essays - and I use that term somewhat loosely - are based on the seasons as the earth - ahem "tilt-a-whirl" - revolves around the sun. I like much -most- of what Wilson has to say about God (Father, Son, and Spirit), Creation, and the interplay with man. I like the way he holds things up in the culture, church, science, philosophy, natural world, and history and twists and turns them around and upside down. He is not only on a tilt-a-whirl, but acting as a tilt-a-whirl looking for the facets on the gemstone. I sometimes tire of the this-close-to-pretentious "know it all" tone. There are places, too, where it felt like trying too hard to make the observations fit the observed. I can understand why some readers love this book and why some readers don't. I'm in the mostly really, really enjoyed and profited from it, thus 4 stars.I've recently decided to have a "Sunday" book - this was the first that I just dedicated to being read on Sundays as time allowed. It was a good one to challenge me to think about both the immensity of God and the immediacy of God.
    more
  • Hannah Jayne
    January 1, 1970
    I love these words. I love this world. I love this life. And the Artist—the Artist is best of all.
  • Megan Lane
    January 1, 1970
    Review for 2nd read:Still amazing. Still exactly what I needed. (Will there be a time when these words are not relevant to life?) Still my favorite book.2018: listened to an audiobook version this time, read by the author himself. Still love these words. A lot.2018 2.0: I gave this to a friend of mine, and I started glancing through it to remind myself of pieces and then I was like, "Forget this, I'm reading the whole thing." So I did. For the second time in a year. And the 4th time overall, app Review for 2nd read:Still amazing. Still exactly what I needed. (Will there be a time when these words are not relevant to life?) Still my favorite book.2018: listened to an audiobook version this time, read by the author himself. Still love these words. A lot.2018 2.0: I gave this to a friend of mine, and I started glancing through it to remind myself of pieces and then I was like, "Forget this, I'm reading the whole thing." So I did. For the second time in a year. And the 4th time overall, apparently. I LOVE THIS BOOK.2019: So much beauty. So much just, pointing to Jesus. These things are beautiful because He is. We are here because He speaks. We can love Him because He changes us.This books makes me excited to grow old and sparkly.
    more
  • Mark Jr.
    January 1, 1970
    I succumbed to the buzz the year this came out; I read it, and I'm glad. It's not quite like any other book I've encountered. If it's a little too self-conscious at times of its witty uniqueness, it's equally full of insights and great little stories—like the toddler and the butterfly. The great John Frame says that theology should be written in many genres; Wilson seems almost to have created a new one. A good book to savor a bit at a time.
    more
  • Suzannah
    January 1, 1970
    Read October 16, 2011 and October 12, 2014.Maybe it's something about Octobers. Even richer and more perceptive than I remember it being the first time. This is a volume of literary criticism on the biggest Art of all. I particularly recommend it to writers.
    more
  • Marcel
    January 1, 1970
    Senhoras e senhores, que livraço! Foi divertidíssimo entrar na Xícara Maluca e ver a forma biruta de ND Wilson enxergar o mundo!Tem lugar pra mais um! Vamos?
  • Aaron Fox
    January 1, 1970
    Hmm. This book is very interesting. I would recommend it to most people, but it did not have the same impact on me as it has had for others. This is a very mainstream Christian book that would probably land in most church and/or Christian bookstores but for the 1 swear word (kind of used in context...) and a couple misuses of the word "hell". Personally, when I read a book that tries to get me to rethink how I think about the world, I like it to put the seemingly random pieces of the puzzle toge Hmm. This book is very interesting. I would recommend it to most people, but it did not have the same impact on me as it has had for others. This is a very mainstream Christian book that would probably land in most church and/or Christian bookstores but for the 1 swear word (kind of used in context...) and a couple misuses of the word "hell". Personally, when I read a book that tries to get me to rethink how I think about the world, I like it to put the seemingly random pieces of the puzzle together for me. What this book does (if it reaches its goal) is to get you to marvel at each individual puzzle piece. While I see some value in that, I just don't prefer that style of writing. I can agree with most of the points the writer makes, but hey, if you're reading this review you've probably already read the book because it wasn't a 1 or 5 star review, so I bet you've already decided what you agree with and what you don't. :)Enjoy!
    more
  • Luiz
    January 1, 1970
    Que livro!!! Nate é genial. Eu via as coisas na minha frente enquanto ele descrevia! Cada reflexão, cada estação, cada coisa apontada... Tudo se torna marcante!
  • Abrahamus
    January 1, 1970
    I resolved before I even began Page One that I was not going to like this book—at least not too much. I figure that I've read enough books by this guy's dad that I really don't need to become a cheerleader for two generations of Wilsons. Well, I'm sorry. Putting on my game face didn't work and, in spite of a heroic effort on my part, I really did love this book. It's quite a ride. A bit out there, to be sure, but as far as all that goes, really nothing even remotely as inscrutable as some of the I resolved before I even began Page One that I was not going to like this book—at least not too much. I figure that I've read enough books by this guy's dad that I really don't need to become a cheerleader for two generations of Wilsons. Well, I'm sorry. Putting on my game face didn't work and, in spite of a heroic effort on my part, I really did love this book. It's quite a ride. A bit out there, to be sure, but as far as all that goes, really nothing even remotely as inscrutable as some of the short stuff he used to write in Credenda Agenda back in the day. Either Nate has matured significantly as a writer or I have matured as a reader since then—probably a fair amount of both. (Or I suppose it's possible that he has merely stayed the same or even digressed, and I've just been sucked down into his swirling vortex of literary cockamamieness.)Anyway, whoever you may be, it seems that you will either love or hate this book. But I'll still be your friend, even if you're in the latter category. :)
    more
  • Crystal
    January 1, 1970
    When this book was not what I was expecting, it was ok. I liked the wide-eyed wonder theme because I think we lose too much of that in our modern world. However, this book did seems to ramble and not have a clearly defined "purpose" or if it did, it was blurred into the background by the imagery and wonder. Which maybe that's what Wilson was headed for. I think maybe I set myself up expecting too much like he might write like Brennan Manning or some spiritually enlightening master. He did, howev When this book was not what I was expecting, it was ok. I liked the wide-eyed wonder theme because I think we lose too much of that in our modern world. However, this book did seems to ramble and not have a clearly defined "purpose" or if it did, it was blurred into the background by the imagery and wonder. Which maybe that's what Wilson was headed for. I think maybe I set myself up expecting too much like he might write like Brennan Manning or some spiritually enlightening master. He did, however, glorify God in a refreshing fashion so I liked it. It's not a five star but I hope N.D. Wilson will keep writing. His kids books are very good.
    more
  • Helena Sorensen
    January 1, 1970
    Wilson uses words in surprising and delightful ways. It's always a treat to read his stuff. And, besides, I don't think I've ever read anything so aggressively joyful.
  • Becky
    January 1, 1970
    first read: October 2014second: audio book, July 2018(also, only the second audio book ever that I finished and loved.)
  • marylyn
    January 1, 1970
    the most beautiful book about God that I have ever read, besides the one he wrote about himself.
  • Aberdeen
    January 1, 1970
    I read this book slowly because I needed to stop often and ponder what I had just read. Like an actual tilt-a-whirl, this book takes you on a wild ride. It's not written in a conventional style with a conventional structure, I will warn you. I understand that the style is just not for some people, although I do urge you to get at least a few chapters in, because sometimes it simply takes time to get adjusted to his way of writing.This is a brave book. Brave, because he doesn't talk about God in I read this book slowly because I needed to stop often and ponder what I had just read. Like an actual tilt-a-whirl, this book takes you on a wild ride. It's not written in a conventional style with a conventional structure, I will warn you. I understand that the style is just not for some people, although I do urge you to get at least a few chapters in, because sometimes it simply takes time to get adjusted to his way of writing.This is a brave book. Brave, because he doesn't talk about God in the way that I think most Christians do. It's not at all irreverent—he just calls attention to how God’s character is displayed in every area of creation, which I think is offensive to our pseudo-Platonic sensibilities that the physical world is bad and shameful. Brave too, because Wilson is not at all PC and doesn't mind smashing with scorn the prevailing worldviews of our day.Mostly, this is a joyful book. I came away from it wanting desperately to live out his words, to live a life characterized by the fierce joy I found in this book. I want to notice all the beauty and glory around me, in the smallest and dirtiest of things, and I want to remember every moment what kind of story I am in. I want to believe in the God Wilson—and, ultimately, the Bible—portrays, instead of the narrow, petty, very human one in my mind.I love the way Wilson does words, and I love the way he makes me see the world in the new way. I may not agree with 100% of what he says or the way he says it, but then, I never agree with anyone 100%. It would be no fun to read a book like that anyway. I think the church needs this desperately right now, words that may feel a little unsafe, words that push us out of our comfort zones and daily routines and memorized responses. We need words that force us to ask what it really means to live as a Christian, how that would change how we view the world, both philosophy and physical creation.
    more
  • Nicholas Zerangue
    January 1, 1970
    Wildly poetic in the greatest of ways. If you ever stop pondering the world around you, this is the book to reintroduce yourself to God's spoken creation.
  • Claudio
    January 1, 1970
    Extraordinário!
  • Andre Argolo
    January 1, 1970
    Certamente está entre os melhores que já li. Esse livro definitivamente te instigará a algo mais: uma visão diferente do mundo - uma visão na perspectiva do Criador.
  • Marcelo Tarocco Prevedel
    January 1, 1970
    Que livro!!! Cada capítulo é um deleite, me trouxe uma nova visão do mundo. Gostei especialmente dos dois últimos capítulos, talvez porque foram os últimos que eu li... mas não por muito tempo...
  • Callie Glorioso-Mays
    January 1, 1970
    I am very conflicted about this book - I'll do my best to explain why. When I read the summary, I thought I would love this book and I was thrilled to be reviewing it. But when it came and I actually started reading, I really labored over it. The first few chapters were mind-boggling. Each time I picked up the book, I literally got a headache and had to put it down within a few minutes. I was thrown off by Wilson's style and really struggled to keep reading. It was the first time I seriously con I am very conflicted about this book - I'll do my best to explain why. When I read the summary, I thought I would love this book and I was thrilled to be reviewing it. But when it came and I actually started reading, I really labored over it. The first few chapters were mind-boggling. Each time I picked up the book, I literally got a headache and had to put it down within a few minutes. I was thrown off by Wilson's style and really struggled to keep reading. It was the first time I seriously considered not finishing a book I was given to review. For me personally, the first chapters felt like I *was* on a tilt-a-whirl. Since I wasn't following the book clearly, it felt like I was being spun around and couldn't tell up from down. Then, about four or five chapters in, I started to catch on a little bit, like I finally learned to go with the rhythm of the ride. Soon I was pausing to marvel at Wilson's insight. He changed the way I thought about creation, heaven and hell. Throughout my days, I found myself thinking back to the book and looking at the world around me differently. And isn't that what a good book is? Not only did it change my thinking, it stuck with me and changed how I viewed life.Overall, the poetic style of this book was difficult for me to follow. I wasn't expecting it and I usually prefer books to be more straight-forward. However, Wilson wrote such profound things that I want to read it again sometime. Since I'm prepared for the unusual style, I think I'll enjoy it better.**A copy of this book was given to me through BookSneeze in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review