Semper Fi Cowboy (Lone Star Leathernecks #1)
A Leatherneck by any other name can still kick ass, which is just what retired United States Marine Corps Captain Tanner Wilks plans to do when he returns to his Texas family ranch to care for his ailing father. And nothing will stop him from achieving his mission—not even a lithe, brown-eyed town veterinarian who seems hell-bent on driving him wild.Captain Tanner Wilks, honorably discharged from the U.S. Marine Corps, returns home to find his father struggling after his latest heart attack. Worse yet, Julia Heller—the sexy new girl in town that he once spent a hot night with—is the resident veterinarian who’s made a home for herself at Round Top ranch, and doesn’t seem to be in a rush to repeat their time together.It falls on Tanner’s shoulders to take on the ranch and keep an eye on his father before he falls victim to another heart attack. But Julia doesn’t appreciate Tanner coming in or pursuing her. Even if he’s hot as hell and can make her quiver with just a look. Ousting her may give Tanner the leverage he needs to corral his father, but first he has to wrestle with his own heart.

Semper Fi Cowboy (Lone Star Leathernecks #1) Details

TitleSemper Fi Cowboy (Lone Star Leathernecks #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJun 26th, 2017
PublisherPocket Star
Number of pages300 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, War, Military, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Semper Fi Cowboy (Lone Star Leathernecks #1) Review

  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    June 14, 2017
    Tanner just retired from the marines. Retired at 35. He could've/would've worked his job for another 35 years, but home needs him. His dad had another heart attack and someone needs to take over the ranch in Texas.Only his father has never been the most fatherly of fathers. He doesn't want him there. He wants to do everything himself - stupid old man.The best thing about being home is the girl he met his first night at the bar - Jules.Only, she doesn't want him home either!! She's not ever datin Tanner just retired from the marines. Retired at 35. He could've/would've worked his job for another 35 years, but home needs him. His dad had another heart attack and someone needs to take over the ranch in Texas.Only his father has never been the most fatherly of fathers. He doesn't want him there. He wants to do everything himself - stupid old man.The best thing about being home is the girl he met his first night at the bar - Jules.Only, she doesn't want him home either!! She's not ever dating the ranchers she's working for as a vet.Poor Tanner.But Tanner wouldn't be the tough marine he is, if he would let those two people stop him from getting his happily ever after ...════════════════════════I really enjoyed reading this book. I didn't really know what to expect when I started - unfortunately I've scrolled through some goodreads reviews, and most of them were not very kind... No idea why. This was a fun and cute and sexy cowboy lovestory! With a bit of family and military history, a few frustrating moments, moving moments. But all in all very sexy & fun. It could've been either a bit shorter - novella-ish, orrr a bit longer with more in-depth backgrounds and pasts and couple-time and ... just a bit more. Both would've been great, but I liked it the way it was. Finished it in one afternoon and now I can't wait to see what the next book will be about - AS YOU WERE, COWBOY - coming in December!
    more
  • Chris Carroll
    June 21, 2017
    I have had the pleasure of reading several Heather Long books and enjoy them so much. This book captured my heart with the great characters and fabulous plot. Solid and sexy, Tanner is a dreamboat. I love how he is the perfect mix of sex and a gentleman. Focused, hot, and driven, he does not give up. Yay!Julia is smart and capable and the last thing on her mind is a man. But when they collide, the sparks fly.A delightful steamy read that will have you looking for your own hot cowboy. Love it!* c I have had the pleasure of reading several Heather Long books and enjoy them so much. This book captured my heart with the great characters and fabulous plot. Solid and sexy, Tanner is a dreamboat. I love how he is the perfect mix of sex and a gentleman. Focused, hot, and driven, he does not give up. Yay!Julia is smart and capable and the last thing on her mind is a man. But when they collide, the sparks fly.A delightful steamy read that will have you looking for your own hot cowboy. Love it!* copy received for review consideration
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    June 14, 2017
    Tanner just retired from the marines. Retired at 35. He could've/would've worked his job for another 35 years, but home needs him. His dad had another heart attack and someone needs to take over the ranch in Texas.Only his father has never been the most fatherly of fathers. He doesn't want him there. He wants to do everything himself - stupid old man.The best thing about being home is the girl he met his first night at the bar - Jules.Only, she doesn't want him home either!! She's not ever datin Tanner just retired from the marines. Retired at 35. He could've/would've worked his job for another 35 years, but home needs him. His dad had another heart attack and someone needs to take over the ranch in Texas.Only his father has never been the most fatherly of fathers. He doesn't want him there. He wants to do everything himself - stupid old man.The best thing about being home is the girl he met his first night at the bar - Jules.Only, she doesn't want him home either!! She's not ever dating the ranchers she's working for as a vet.Poor Tanner.But Tanner wouldn't be the tough marine he is, if he would let those two people stop him from getting his happily ever after ...════════════════════════I really enjoyed reading this book. I didn't really know what to expect when I started - unfortunately I've scrolled through some goodreads reviews, and most of them were not very kind... No idea why. This was a fun and cute and sexy cowboy lovestory! With a bit of family and military history, a few frustrating moments, moving moments. But all in all very sexy & fun. It could've been either a bit shorter - novella-ish, orrr a bit longer with more in-depth backgrounds and pasts and couple-time and ... just a bit more. Both would've been great, but I liked it the way it was. Finished it in one afternoon and now I can't wait to see what the next book will be about - AS YOU WERE, COWBOY - coming in December!
    more
  • Deb
    June 28, 2017
    Semper-Fi Cowboy is a sexy little read with a whole lot of heart. I for one cannot wait to see what Heather Long does with the Lone Star Leathernecks series. Read More. . . http://www.romanceswithalittlekick.co...
  • Nikki Brooks
    June 18, 2017
    Tanner Wilks comes from a long line of Marines. But he has always had a tenuous relationship with his father. When his mother died, he and his siblings were left in the care of their grandfather until he died. Felling abandoned by their father, all 3 have flown the coop but Tanner has been called home by a family friend after his father has a health scare. He and his father may not be close but he doesn't want the old coot to die on him either! When he finds himself delaying his return to the fa Tanner Wilks comes from a long line of Marines. But he has always had a tenuous relationship with his father. When his mother died, he and his siblings were left in the care of their grandfather until he died. Felling abandoned by their father, all 3 have flown the coop but Tanner has been called home by a family friend after his father has a health scare. He and his father may not be close but he doesn't want the old coot to die on him either! When he finds himself delaying his return to the family farm, he cuts loose at the local bar and finds himself a distraction before the hard work of dealing with his father begins.Julia Heller is the new town vet, after taking over from her uncle. But she knows she''always be the new girl and as such she is trying not to show favouritism to any one rancher. So she dances with all of them and dates none of them! When she gets up close and personal with Tanner on her night off, she wishes he was doing more than passing through town. But colour her shocked when he turns up at the ranch were she rents a home and realises that he is the prodigal son returned!Tanner is happy to find his recent bedmate at the ranch and looks forward to more conventional dates but Julia has these weird rules that both try to follow but they soon find themselves breaking! I loved these characters. Tanner is sexy, alpha, determined and cunning. Julia loyal, professional and in desperate need of some fun. The Colonel would make anyone exasperated and reaching for the exit! I enjoyed the weaving of veterans into the story and the side story to the romance of using veterans on the ranch was a great idea. We also see just how much work goes into running a ranch.I did think bits were a wee bit mis-timed. Sometimes time jumped forward quite a bit and then there was a whole load happening at once but that might just be me. I would have enjoyed more time for the characters to get to know each other after the ONS but there is only so much room in the book and I understand that sometimes my book couples have accelerated timelines!
    more
  • Donna
    June 16, 2017
    “He can be taught” echoed through my mind several times as I laughed and sighed my way through Semper Fi Cowboy by Heather Long. Tanner Wilks is hero material through and through. He is sexy, strong and he knows how to dance. But like any other man he comes with issues. Veterinarian Julia Heller is smart, sexy and strong enough to put Tanner in his place and teach him a thing or two.When these two meet it is pure story time magic. Their interaction will keep you flipping pages and longing to spe “He can be taught” echoed through my mind several times as I laughed and sighed my way through Semper Fi Cowboy by Heather Long. Tanner Wilks is hero material through and through. He is sexy, strong and he knows how to dance. But like any other man he comes with issues. Veterinarian Julia Heller is smart, sexy and strong enough to put Tanner in his place and teach him a thing or two.When these two meet it is pure story time magic. Their interaction will keep you flipping pages and longing to spend more time with them.
    more
  • Dawn
    June 27, 2017
    This is a great book. With stubborn women and stubborn men, love and loyalty along with strength and passion. Nothing like smooth talking men who have a sense of humor and sense of service and the independent women who support them. Family may not always be easy but they are still family. This book has it all. I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Heather andrews
    May 31, 2017
    Tanner can be one arrogant man, “oh, I know you’re busy , because you’re going to have dinner with me, Jules. ” Then he stretched his arm out to brace it against her seat. “You can tell me all about what a terrible son I am. I’ll still buy you a nice steak dinner.” I really loved this book, Tanner was quite the cowboy.
    more
  • Alex
    June 25, 2017
    Series: Lone Star Leathernecks #1Tanner Wilks: Marine. Cowboy. Charming. Arrogant.Julia Heller: Veterinarian. Independent. Stubborn. Dedicated.Their Romance: One Night Stand. "I want to be more than just the guy you met in a bar." --What’s Going On--His father's heart attack prompts Tanner to retire from the military and return home to the family ranch. His first night back he has an amazing one night stand only to discover the next day, that the woman is none other than the town's veterinarian, Series: Lone Star Leathernecks #1Tanner Wilks: Marine. Cowboy. Charming. Arrogant.Julia Heller: Veterinarian. Independent. Stubborn. Dedicated.Their Romance: One Night Stand. "I want to be more than just the guy you met in a bar." --What’s Going On--His father's heart attack prompts Tanner to retire from the military and return home to the family ranch. His first night back he has an amazing one night stand only to discover the next day, that the woman is none other than the town's veterinarian, Jules. Tanner and his father have a contentious relationship and fighting is about their only way to communicate. Jules doesn't want to date a rancher and knows she has to find a way to resist Tanner, no matter how charming he might be.--What I Liked and Didn’t Liked--The Writing and Plot -- This is my first book by Heather Long and I have nothing against her writing which I thought was great. The book moved quickly and the pace was spot on for the story. There was lots of detail about ranch life and dealing with horses and in my more limited personal experience, everything sounded pretty legit. I did unfortunately find myself skimming the second half because I just wasn't interested in the plot or the characters. Most of the story is centered around Jules and Tanner working out their relationship while Jules cares for the animals at Round Top. The only real conflict comes from the Colonel, Tanner's father, who has recently suffered a heart attack and refused to take it easy and heal. Tanner and his father have several blow-ups and quite frankly, I hated the Colonel. Heather Long attempts to redeem his character but he says some pretty hateful things to Jules and it's hard for me to forgive.The Characters and Romance -- Initially I wasn't super crazy about either Tanner or Jules but I appreciate that Heather Long give them each some growth in the story. Jules is very independent and stubborn in the beginning but she softens a bit as the story goes out without losing her natural self-sufficient personality. Tanner is on the edge of too arrogant and believes he knows what's best for his father and the ranch. Instead he has Jules holding him accountable and helping him grow some as a character. That being said, I just didn't really feel their romance and the obstacles to their happiness. Jules says she can't date a rancher because she has to remain impartial so that no one feels like she is favoring one ranch's animals over another. This reasoning is a little flimsy but I could have dealt with it. However, my problem comes from the fact that Jules is renting one of the buildings at Round Top and living there. Wouldn't this seem like she's favoring Round Top's animals over the other ranches? In fact, everything she does in the book is for Round Top's animals and no other ranch. Then there's the development of their relationship which just kind of happens. We're told that Jules and Tanner have these moments where they talk for hours and spend all this bonding time together and we're expected to believe this helps build their connection and love. But, I at least, need a little more happening "on page" instead of in the background to believe the characters have fallen in love.--Final Thoughts--I just wasn't very interested in this one and who knows, maybe it's time I retire from cowboy/western romances. Maybe they're just not for me anymore. Either way, I do not plan to read the next books in the series.I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Margaret
    June 25, 2017
    Another great read from Heather Long! I loved watching the hero have to work for his chance with the girl and I really loved seeing father and son come to terms with their relationship.Tanner Wilks is not happy to be coming home. He knows it’s not going to be easy dealing with his father and he’s not quite ready to be hanging up his military career, but duty has called and he knows coming home is the right thing to do. What he doesn’t know and takes him by surprise is how hard and fast he is fal Another great read from Heather Long! I loved watching the hero have to work for his chance with the girl and I really loved seeing father and son come to terms with their relationship.Tanner Wilks is not happy to be coming home. He knows it’s not going to be easy dealing with his father and he’s not quite ready to be hanging up his military career, but duty has called and he knows coming home is the right thing to do. What he doesn’t know and takes him by surprise is how hard and fast he is falling for the local vet – who happens to be renting a place on his family’s property and has some very strict rules about not getting involved with any of the locals.Julia Heller is determined to gain the trust of all the local ranchers. She knew when her uncle retired and she took over his practice that this was not going to be an easy task, so keeping her personal and professional lives separate is something that is non-negotiable. Of course, doing what’s right and doing the right thing aren’t always the same, especially if her heart has any say in the matter!I just loved watching these two come together. There is no denying the instant attraction between these two and they certainly had a lot of fun getting down and dirty with each other when they first met. Tanner did come on a bit too strong and way too bossy with Julia once she lets him know that she has her rules and dating a local is a definite no. He’s a bit to cocky and confident that if he just says it then it will happen – and I loved Julia shutting him down and letting him know that she and her career deserved more respect than that. I loved that despite having to fight off Tanner’s advances, Julia always managed to see the vulnerable side of Tanner, especially when it came to his dad. She offered him some things to think about when it came to his relationship, and, when he really needed her support, she was always there. And even though Tanner was a bit of a domineering jerk at first, I did love that he was all in from the moment he realized that Julia was the one for him – even if that meant waiting her out. Along with the romance there is the story of Tanner and his father that plays into Tanner and Julia’s romance. Tanner has to learn how to have a relationship with his father, something that his father isn’t really interested in doing. And Tanner’s father is less than happy that his son and his vet might be having an affair. And even though these two didn’t exactly end up hugging things out, I did find their reconciliation to be on point for these two characters.This was a quick read that was still able to have well developed characters with lots of emotion. The supporting characters were woven nicely into the main story and even though we really don’t get a lot of info about Tanner’s siblings, there’s just enough of a tease to make you want to know more about them and some of the other locals that are in the book.I am always excited to get my hands on a Heather Long book and this one did not disappoint. I look forward to reading more of her cowboys and would recommend this book to any romance lover.
    more
  • Amelia
    June 22, 2017
    There is a wide variety of emotions in the first Lone Star Leathernecks story, as two spirited individuals struggle to find their place in the world. From family disagreements to different opinions about a relationship, a man and woman who were not looking for love find themselves being challenged by many unexpected conflicts as they explore what is between them. SEMPER FI COWBOY is an emotional journey of discovery. Heather Long takes her characters through lots of difficulties along with letti There is a wide variety of emotions in the first Lone Star Leathernecks story, as two spirited individuals struggle to find their place in the world. From family disagreements to different opinions about a relationship, a man and woman who were not looking for love find themselves being challenged by many unexpected conflicts as they explore what is between them. SEMPER FI COWBOY is an emotional journey of discovery. Heather Long takes her characters through lots of difficulties along with letting them experience absolute joy, and I found the storyline to be captivating.Though Tanner Wilks was not yet ready to stop serving his country, he felt obligated to retire from the U.S. Marine Corps because of family responsibilities. His father has lived through two heart attacks, but another may be too much. So now Tanner is returning to Round Top ranch and will be taking over many of its duties in order for his dad to hopefully live longer. Staying the night in his hometown before going to see his dad the next morning, he connects with a woman at a bar that he never met while living there.Her need for a career change had Julia Heller moving to a Texas town to take over a relative’s veterinarian practice. Proving her worth to the ranch owners is imperative, however she figures spending one night with a man passing through the small town will not harm her reputation with the locals. But when the former marine turns out to be a son of the man whose ranch that Jules has been staying on, their intense attraction to one another only leads to one complicated ordeal after another.What started out as a truly memorable night for Tanner and Jules turned into an encounter with unforeseen consequences. Since the two will be working together on his ranch because of her being its veterinarian, she believes there will be problems if they continue to see each other. I really enjoyed watching Tanner come to terms with her wishes while learning something important about his own views. While he does not like being told “no”, he is still a very compassionate person and showed this trait through various deeds. Jules has a good reason for being cautious, and I kept eagerly reading to see what she would decide.All throughout the story, I was given glimpses into the lives of Tanner and Jules. I came to know what made them the people they currently are plus several of the reasons for their reactions to certain situations. I also got a sense of what living on a horse ranch entails on a daily basis, while becoming familiar with some of the secondary characters. Heather Long created genuine conversations for Tanner and Jules, and their lively banter was often amusing. A great start to a series featuring a dedicated soldier living in Texas. SEMPER FI COWBOY has engaging characters and plenty of emotional issues to resolve.I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher, and all comments are my honest opinion
    more
  • Leah
    June 10, 2017
    I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.I liked this book. It is the story of a Marine Captain who returns to his family farm to help out his father who is having health issues. Along the way, he meets the one woman he shouldn’t hook up with and complications ensue.Captain Tanner Wilks doesn’t want to be the one to come home and help his father with the ranch. He and his father have never gotten along and since they are both stubborn as the day is long, there is I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.I liked this book. It is the story of a Marine Captain who returns to his family farm to help out his father who is having health issues. Along the way, he meets the one woman he shouldn’t hook up with and complications ensue.Captain Tanner Wilks doesn’t want to be the one to come home and help his father with the ranch. He and his father have never gotten along and since they are both stubborn as the day is long, there is bound to be conflict. However, since neither of his siblings will come home, the duty falls to Tanner. He drags his heels, but finally takes an honorable discharge from the Corps and heads home. Stopping at the local bar for a few drinks and then getting a room in town sound like a way to put off the inevitable homecoming. Having a local girl share his bed just makes the evening better.Julia Heller is the town vet. She has rules about dating the cowboys and ranchers whose animals she cares for. She assumes that the good looking guy that she hooks up with at the bar is just passing through so learning that not only is he a rancher’s son, but the son of the rancher she rents a house from adds complications she is not prepared for. Dealing with the persistence of Tanner and the disapproval of his father make her job of fitting in even more challenging.As I said, I did like this book. The characters had an interesting dynamic and seeing Julia rebuff Tanner’s advances made the story more compelling. I liked the information that Heather Long shares about the ranch and the amount of effort it takes to run it.I did think the story moved way too fast. There are jumps in time and then things happen quickly. The pace at which the romance developed seemed unrealistic and didn’t give me the development that I was looking for. I wanted more of the courting and romance. This relationship moved too quickly for that and I have trouble buying that it will last.
    more
  • Books and Boys Book Blog
    June 18, 2017
    ***Complimentary copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review**Semper Fi Cowboy by Heather Long was a quick, fun sexy cowboy romance that I engulfed whole heartedly! Veterinarian meets retired Marine equals an exquisite love story with a heartwarming father/son kinship!  “...sometimes it was what a person didn’t say that mattered more than what they did say.” Marine Cpt. Tanner Wilks, retired and honorably discharged has returned home to Durango Point to help take car ***Complimentary copy provided by publisher in exchange for an honest and unbiased review**Semper Fi Cowboy by Heather Long was a quick, fun sexy cowboy romance that I engulfed whole heartedly! Veterinarian meets retired Marine equals an exquisite love story with a heartwarming father/son kinship!  “...sometimes it was what a person didn’t say that mattered more than what they did say.” Marine Cpt. Tanner Wilks, retired and honorably discharged has returned home to Durango Point to help take care of the family ranch with his ailing father, the Colonel. Growing up his father, also a Marine, was never around and still their relationship has sore spots. Tanner stops off at the local watering hole, Silver Dollar before dealing with his tyrant of a father. There he meets feisty, beautiful Jules who leads him in a two-stepping pace.  “I said my friends call me Jules, you can call me ma’am.” Jules is the new, young veterinarian in town replacing and taking over her uncle's clinic. Tending to all the local ranches. She has many rules with the local men, but her main one is no dating ranch hands. She prides herself on her reputation and skill, she can’t let a man get in her way! However, one look at Tanner and her rules can take a back seat for a night. She thinks he’s just passing through town… right?!  “Throwing caution to the wind had never tasted so sweet.” When one dance leads to a night of inexplicable passion and friendship on both parts; both assume they won’t see each other again. Boy, are they wrong when they get a surprise the next morning out on the ranch!  Tanner is definitely not welcomed home by his father and must fight to stay on the ranch. He is most persistent than ever to win Jules, but can he have that same tenacity towards his father? To show him that he is here to stay, to help.  Fun, quick Sunday afternoon read that entertained me to the fullest! I loved how Heather Long introduced the characters, the verbal sparring between Tanner and Jules back and forth was comical with unmistakable chemistry! I also really liked the descriptive word usage she used to describe how the characters were thinking during intimate scenes: “Maybe I was the rip-the-present-open kind of girl and you were the type who had to make sure every piece of tape was slit exactly so the paper didn’t wrinkle… but if you stop, we’re going to have a problem.” - Jules Enjoyed every second of this story and I highly recommend this sexy cowboy romance. Maybe another book can follow with Mateo’s story?  4.5 Stars
    more
  • P.e. lolo
    June 28, 2017
    The book opens up with Captain Tanner Wilks returning to his home town and family’s ranch because his father ill. His father also retired Marine but Colonel. Tanner stops off at the local bar, honky tonk, he notices a women dancing and when he goes to buy her a drink she declines. Not knowing he is talking to the local veterinarian Jules Heller, but she just gives him Jules. After talking then agreeing to dance with him they both are attracted to one another and decide to take their spin at his The book opens up with Captain Tanner Wilks returning to his home town and family’s ranch because his father ill. His father also retired Marine but Colonel. Tanner stops off at the local bar, honky tonk, he notices a women dancing and when he goes to buy her a drink she declines. Not knowing he is talking to the local veterinarian Jules Heller, but she just gives him Jules. After talking then agreeing to dance with him they both are attracted to one another and decide to take their spin at his hotel room. She is doing something totally out of character for her but she figures it is a one night stand, wishing it could be more when she has to leave because of a call. After waking up by himself he is wondering if he will see her again. Getting out to the ranch and settling in he goes out on the range where his father is to let him know he is home and the colonel is not happy at all. Needless to say the only good thing is that he found Jules. His father the colonel and he don’t have any type of relationship and when he sees his son hanging around the Vet the colonel is rude to her. Jules wants to be with Tanner but because she is taking over her uncle’s practice she thinks she should not date any rancher. Tanner keeps asking her to point where he finally stops after his father ends up in the hospital again. Now using a different plan he talks to his father telling him he is not going back to the Marines, and his idea for the ranch and to help Veterans with PTSD with animal therapy. He also comes up with a plan for Jules. Read this entertaining book with a good ending to find out what happens. I got this book from Netgalley.com I gave it 4 stars. Follow us at www.1rad-readerreviews.com
    more
  • Dísir
    May 17, 2017
    ‘Semper Fi Cowboy’ is a quick read, but it’s also oddly slow-going, with paragraphs dedicated to Tanner Wilks’s family, their legacy (military service runs in the family, followed by ranching) and the land that they’ve had for generations. I did get bored at times, as the pacing lagged a little, but having no expectations of this new series by Heather Long, it was easier to go with the flow and see where the story took me. The quickness with which both Tanner and Jules jumped into bed meant that ‘Semper Fi Cowboy’ is a quick read, but it’s also oddly slow-going, with paragraphs dedicated to Tanner Wilks’s family, their legacy (military service runs in the family, followed by ranching) and the land that they’ve had for generations. I did get bored at times, as the pacing lagged a little, but having no expectations of this new series by Heather Long, it was easier to go with the flow and see where the story took me. The quickness with which both Tanner and Jules jumped into bed meant that there wasn’t much build-up or tension that I normally like—or at least there wasn't anything that led me to the edge of hot and bothered before I fall along with the couple. It’s not a development that I can usually buy into, but the story went on, it became clear that the intention was always to show Tanner’s reintegration into his new life—as well as Jules’s place in it—as he deals with his stick-in-the-mud military father.The story’s not downright angsty, and the conflict is mostly about smalltime family drama, along with a lot of ranching work details that are typical of such reads. In short, it’s not quite the perfect novella for me (and this has to do with the reasons above rather than Long’s writing style) and the brevity of it means that the love declarations and the resolutions do come faster than I’m used to. But for those who love rural, country-type romances with a quick wrap-up, ‘Semper Fi Cowboy’ would probably be something to dive straight into. *ARC by netgalley(really grateful, mind)
    more
  • Madison Monroe
    June 24, 2017
    A heartfelt story about a marine cowboy coming home and finding love, Semper Fi Cowboy is the story for the ages. This book grabbed me and did not let me go and I was deeply moved by the heart of this story. The colorful style of writing pulls me in and this author creates a pleasing small town and realistic characters. Texas heat? Check. Hot cowboy and strong female lead? Check and check. The momentum from the beginning of the story pushed forward with full steam and made a much needed stop for A heartfelt story about a marine cowboy coming home and finding love, Semper Fi Cowboy is the story for the ages. This book grabbed me and did not let me go and I was deeply moved by the heart of this story. The colorful style of writing pulls me in and this author creates a pleasing small town and realistic characters. Texas heat? Check. Hot cowboy and strong female lead? Check and check. The momentum from the beginning of the story pushed forward with full steam and made a much needed stop for a heart to heart conversation between a father and son. Retired mariner Tanner return home when he gets a call that his father had a heart attack and is needing some help around the ranch. The thing is Colonel, Tanner's dad, is not having it and he is making it his mission to let Tanner know at every turn. On his way into town, Tanner stops at one of his favorite bars back at his hometown and comes across Jules. The chemistry between these two is extravagant and they spend the night rubbing skins. ;) Fast forward to the next afternoon, Tanner finally arrives home and guess who is the vet at his father's ranch? You guessed it, Jules.There is a game of cat and mouse going on, but don't worry, the cat catches the mouse and the result is a steamy pile of ecstasy and heat hot enough to put Texas heat to shame. Trust me, I live in Texas and right now it is in the triple digits. Anyway, the book was great, entertaining, and as I said before, the book packs a lot of heart.
    more
  • Gale
    June 25, 2017
    What a story. I’m so happy that there will be a book two because I can’t wait to read more about these “leathernecks”. Semper Fi Cowboy starts out with twists and turns to a one night stand that, of course, can never be just one night. USMC Captain Tanner Wilks, Retired comes home to his family’s ranch as his father has just had another “cardiac episode” that was severe. He meets up with a woman (Julia Heller), spends one night with her – never expecting to see her again – and of course she is t What a story. I’m so happy that there will be a book two because I can’t wait to read more about these “leathernecks”. Semper Fi Cowboy starts out with twists and turns to a one night stand that, of course, can never be just one night. USMC Captain Tanner Wilks, Retired comes home to his family’s ranch as his father has just had another “cardiac episode” that was severe. He meets up with a woman (Julia Heller), spends one night with her – never expecting to see her again – and of course she is the new veterinarian in town, residing on his family ranch. Lots going on with Tanner’s dad, he is a cranky old man with some very outdated views on life. What’s important to know about this book is that it is wonderful. The author writes this story with such depth and feelings that you wish you were living nearby to help these two navigate all the pitfalls of living in a small town, familial expectations, and fear of your own feelings, so they can have an easier ride to an HEA. I highly recommend and can’t wait for what’s in store for book two.
    more
  • Lisa
    June 26, 2017
    After receiving a call from home informing him of his father's failing health, Tanner Wilks decides it is time to retire from the marines and go home. He intends to help his father run the family ranch. When he decides to stop in town before going to the Ranch he meets a sexy, sassy woman named Jules. The two spend a night together that neither will soon forget. The next morning Tanner is shocked to discover that the woman he can't seem to stop thinking about is Vet for the town. While this is a After receiving a call from home informing him of his father's failing health, Tanner Wilks decides it is time to retire from the marines and go home. He intends to help his father run the family ranch. When he decides to stop in town before going to the Ranch he meets a sexy, sassy woman named Jules. The two spend a night together that neither will soon forget. The next morning Tanner is shocked to discover that the woman he can't seem to stop thinking about is Vet for the town. While this is a quick read I did find the story, at times, to be somewhat slow and sometimes had trouble connecting to the characters. All in all though, it was a great story about two people trying to find their place.
    more
  • Pat
    May 22, 2017
    3.5 Stars........Tanner Wilks, retired Captain USMC is headed home to his family ranch. His father the Colonel, has suffered a debilitating heart attack and Tanner must go. He expected to spend his life in the military, but things change. Spending the night in town before heading to the ranch he enjoys a beer and company at the local bar. The company is a beautiful, very independent woman named Julia. He convinces her to spend the night with him, and when he wakes she's gone. All excuses gone he 3.5 Stars........Tanner Wilks, retired Captain USMC is headed home to his family ranch. His father the Colonel, has suffered a debilitating heart attack and Tanner must go. He expected to spend his life in the military, but things change. Spending the night in town before heading to the ranch he enjoys a beer and company at the local bar. The company is a beautiful, very independent woman named Julia. He convinces her to spend the night with him, and when he wakes she's gone. All excuses gone he reluctantly heads to the ranch to start his responsibilities, and face the anger of his Dad. It turns out to be all that he expected except for one big shock!
    more
  • Ginny Lurcock
    June 5, 2017
    God save me from alpha assholes...It wasn't a terrible title, it just wasn't very good either. The prose was clunky and the pacing was off. The characters were wishy-washy in places, stating the same circular arguments over and over.We get it. You don't date ranchers but can't resist this rancher but you should but you can't... You've said it. A million times. Stop wasting words. Same goes for you Mr. I feel bad about not giving her options but in the next sentence, I'm going to make demands wit God save me from alpha assholes...It wasn't a terrible title, it just wasn't very good either. The prose was clunky and the pacing was off. The characters were wishy-washy in places, stating the same circular arguments over and over.We get it. You don't date ranchers but can't resist this rancher but you should but you can't... You've said it. A million times. Stop wasting words. Same goes for you Mr. I feel bad about not giving her options but in the next sentence, I'm going to make demands without giving her options.There were also moments of internalized misogyny, but I don't have the time or energy to unpack that.Life's too short to spend on mediocre books...
    more
  • Karen Roma
    June 26, 2017
    It’s been a while since I last read a Heather Long story; but I was pleasantly reminded of her easy writing style and the effortlessness with which she crafts her characters. Tanner and Jules will capture your heart and story plot is guaranteed to keep you glued to the pages until the last word is read. Semper Fi Cowboy is destined to be the first of a very popular series by this seriously talented author.
    more
  • Kim Vanravenswaay
    May 18, 2017
    Tanner was raised being taught men in his family joined the Military then come home to run the family ranch. When he came home to help his father with the ranch he's met with anger and contempt. He is a very honorable man, because some would have said "fine see ya".Julia is surprised to find out the kind of man Tanner is. Boy was she wrong. And he kept surprising her right until the end of the book.
    more
  • Stacy
    June 17, 2017
    This is the first book I have read by this author, and I freaking loved it. Tanner Wilks is one hot man. There is just something sexy about a man in a Stetson, throw in that he was a Marine, *swoon*.This was the perfect cowboy romance I have been looking for and I can't wait for more books from this series. Definitely worth reading.
    more
  • Books By the Beach Blog
    June 20, 2017
    If you're looking for a quick, romantic read, I definitely recommend this book. The author jumps right into the meat of the story but the characters are still well developed. One night stand turns into happily ever after. Perfect read for a day at the beach!ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Amanda Felts
    June 27, 2017
    Delightful!What a delightful new series. I absolutely loved both Tanner and Jules. They felt real, fleshed out, and highly compatible. I certainly enjoyed the world HL has created. I will definitely be continuing the series!
  • Tracie Runge
    June 15, 2017
    I enjoyed this story, although slow in the beginning it did pick up. Tanner is arrogant and set in his way while Julia is strong and focused. There is angst, loss, heartbreak and love but in the end it will be up to the two of them if they have a future.
    more
  • Christine Menditto
    June 29, 2017
    Loved this book! It has everything in it. Tanner is amazing and Jules stands her ground and isn't afraid to speak up when necessary.
  • C bond
    May 21, 2017
    netgalleya quick ok read.
  • Teresa
    June 1, 2017
    *I received a copy of Semper Fi Cowboy from Net Galley in exchange for a voluntary and honest review**Semper Fi Cowboy by Heather Long is the first book in her Lone Star Leathernecks series. As other readers have mentioned it was slow going at first but it did get a bit better at the end. I'd give 4 stars for the whole of the book but just wished the minor characters, Ramon, Maria and Mateo were given more than a minor part in the book but all in all it was a good start to the new series.Tanner *I received a copy of Semper Fi Cowboy from Net Galley in exchange for a voluntary and honest review**Semper Fi Cowboy by Heather Long is the first book in her Lone Star Leathernecks series. As other readers have mentioned it was slow going at first but it did get a bit better at the end. I'd give 4 stars for the whole of the book but just wished the minor characters, Ramon, Maria and Mateo were given more than a minor part in the book but all in all it was a good start to the new series.Tanner Wilks has retired from the US Marines and is returning home to help take care of the families ranch and his stubborn father who was also a Marine. When he meets Jules in the local bar little does she know that she's the new vet in town but also living at his ranch. But she has rules and one of them is to not date one of the ranchers that she works with. After their one night stand together with her slipping out at dawn, they are both surprised when he shows up at the ranch. Will they be able to stay away from each other? Can Tanner convince his dad that he doesn't want to reenlist but wants to see if he can take the ranch into the 21st century?Julia "Jules" Heller has taken over her Great Uncle's vet practice and has started to build up the ranchers trust in her. When she decides to unwind a bit at the local watering hole, she meets the very attractive Tanner Wilks. He doesn't want to reenlist in the Marines and needs to convince his father that what he'd really like is to make the ranch profitable again. There will be up and downs but when the Colonel has a severe heart attack she'll be the one who'll stand by Tanner's side.I'd be curious if the next book is Mateo's and if the ranch can be retrofitted to help wounded veterans with the horses on the ranch as Tanner and Jules propose only time will tell.
    more
Write a review