Single for the Summer
***The go-to book for the summer, from everyone's favourite getaway Queen, Mandy Baggot!***Tess Parks has made up her mind: love isn’t for her.When it comes to dating she has one rule: after six weeks with a guy, she ends it. So when her heartbroken best friend invites her for a girly getaway in Corfu, Tess is sure she can stick to their pact to stay single for the summer.But then she meets the gorgeous restaurateur Andras...To keep his overbearing mother off his back, Tess agrees to pretend to date him. But as the two spend time together, Tess begins to realise that this fake relationship is starting to feel like the best one she’s ever had…A feel-good escapist beach read set against a beautiful Greek island backdrop. From the award-winning author of Truly, Madly Greekly and Those Summer Nights.

Single for the Summer Details

TitleSingle for the Summer
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJul 27th, 2017
PublisherEbury Digital
ISBN147355182X
ISBN-139781473551824
Rating
GenreRomance, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Humor, Comedy, Fiction, Contemporary Romance

Single for the Summer Review

  • Rachel Gilbey
    July 2, 2017
    Thanks to Single For the Summer, I have fallen in love with a man called Andras, and the island of Corfu. I was hooked on Tess and Sonya's week in Corfu, and just how much they managed to pack into a week. Before we even get to Greece, there is a proposal that sets in motion Tess's willingness to even go on holiday, and her new aversion to scallops! Sonya persuades Tess, who is a serial dater and never stays single for longer than a few days at a time, to stay single for the whole holiday..they Thanks to Single For the Summer, I have fallen in love with a man called Andras, and the island of Corfu. I was hooked on Tess and Sonya's week in Corfu, and just how much they managed to pack into a week. Before we even get to Greece, there is a proposal that sets in motion Tess's willingness to even go on holiday, and her new aversion to scallops! Sonya persuades Tess, who is a serial dater and never stays single for longer than a few days at a time, to stay single for the whole holiday..they are allowed to look but that's it. Well things don't exactly go according to plan when Andras needs a fake girlfriend for the week to put off his mother's matchmaking and he ropes Tess in play the part. In return Tess negotiates for things she and her friend require to make their holiday perfect! I absolute loved Andras guiding the girls around the island of Corfu, and from that I got a great feeling of the beauty of the island. However what really sets this story apart is Andras' brothers wedding that is happening at the end of the week. As a fake girlfriend Tess and Sonya are invited to many Corfiot family meals and learn all about Greek wedding customs and traditions. I found it really interesting to see just how different English and Greek weddings are. We also discover just how important family is to the Greeks, and there is also plenty of delicious sounding Greek Food present too. The chemistry between Tess and Andras is clearly present even if both have had enough heartbreak in the past they wouldn't want to acknowledge it. From some of the conversations they have its clear to see just how similar they are while being quite different. If feels in way like a bit of a story of contrasts, set in a stunning location. The other character that is worth a mention is the great four legged friend in this story Hector. Hector is one of the best masters of escape I've read about, and he isn't necessarily the animal you think he is! Overall Mandy Baggot has clearly done it again, brought together sun, summer, Greek men and food, and a lovely story altogether is a fantastically summery book. I loved being able to read this on a cold summers day in England, as it made me feel warm inside, although I did wish I had read it on my Greek Cruise instead! Thank you to Netgalley and Ebury Press for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
    more
  • Kate
    July 27, 2017
    I'm a big fan of Mandy's writing so as soon as I saw that her latest release was next on my 'to read' list I knew I was in for a treat!I didn't warm to Tess straight away, I had to learn a little bit about her past to allow me to understand her behaviour. As events unfolded I laughed, I cringed and I even felt a little bit sad but the most important thing is that I definitely warmed to Tess. She was quick-witted and kind, just a little bit lost to begin with. In my opinion this was totally under I'm a big fan of Mandy's writing so as soon as I saw that her latest release was next on my 'to read' list I knew I was in for a treat!I didn't warm to Tess straight away, I had to learn a little bit about her past to allow me to understand her behaviour. As events unfolded I laughed, I cringed and I even felt a little bit sad but the most important thing is that I definitely warmed to Tess. She was quick-witted and kind, just a little bit lost to begin with. In my opinion this was totally understandable considering what had happened to her but I'm afraid you'll have to read the book to find out what I'm talking about here.The whole fake girlfriend thing was brilliant and so much fun to read! In classic Mandy Baggot style, the characters went through a series of crazy scenes that thoroughly entertained me and kept me flipping the pages.Tess's friend Sonya was such a charming character and her story continued to keep me guessing in a 'is he, isn't he' way. She was a fabulous supporting character who I would love to see more of, hint hint Mandy 😉.Single for the Summer was a Greek wonderland of sun, great food and getting away from it all. The perfect summer read.
    more
  • Tracey Risebrow
    July 26, 2017
    Tess Parks dates a lot! having a man on her arm (and her social media pages) is her way of dealing with past disappointment. She has one rule though, that none of them will be around longer than 6 weeks. When to her horror her latest boyfriend pops the question she does the only thing she can - run!Her friend Sonya has a week in Corfu planned with her boyfriend when he decides he wants a break. This is the perfect opportunity to get away from it all and have a girls week to remember. Sonya makes Tess Parks dates a lot! having a man on her arm (and her social media pages) is her way of dealing with past disappointment. She has one rule though, that none of them will be around longer than 6 weeks. When to her horror her latest boyfriend pops the question she does the only thing she can - run!Her friend Sonya has a week in Corfu planned with her boyfriend when he decides he wants a break. This is the perfect opportunity to get away from it all and have a girls week to remember. Sonya makes Tess promise to stay single for the summer (well at least the holiday) but is that something Tess can do, particularly when she meets sexy Andras.Andras has his own problems, the main one being his interfering Greek mother determined to see him marry a Greek girl of her choosing. Equally determined this won't happen he makes up a girlfriend - enter TessAndras is very sexy - how do I know this without seeing him because the author had him embedded in my minds eye from the moment he started doing pull ups on the door frame shirtless!! It is probably a good job there is no picture - not sure my hormones could take it. Initially I thought he was a bit of a wimp not standing up to his mother but he is just being a good son who doesn't want to upset her.Tess has some very weird ideas- coke with 3 sugars! My teeth hurt just thinking about it. She also refuses to walk anywhere barefoot which seems a bit neurotic but we do get to find out the reason why eventually. She doesn't know what she wants, everything was clear before she came to Corfu but as the days pass she starts to reevaluate her life.There is a great cast of supporting characters providing lots of humour along the way. The Greek wedding of Andras brother takes up a lot of his time and some of the escapades had me laughing out loud. The conversations between the characters in the wedding party are great.Sonya of course plays a large part in this book and helps Tess to see the beauty of Corfu while dealing with her own uncertain relationship.Hector definitely deserves a mention - how did he keep escaping! This is a perfect feel good summer read from Mandy Baggot and a definite one for the suitcase. I have never been to Corfu but it is clear the author loves the place and I now feel I should go there. The imagery is so vivid I can picture Corfu clearly and can almost smell the sea.I have read all of the authors books and can honestly say her last couple have been excellent, this is no exception. If you are looking for a romantic read that will have you laughing as well look no further.
    more
  • Fiona Wilson
    June 10, 2017
    I have read a few of the author's books before, but my favourite are ones like this. This was a lovely summer read with plenty of humour throughout. The storyline is a good one, it is written well, and all of the characters are endearing in their own ways.Tess has rules - she dates a guy for six weeks and then dumps him, the latest being right at the point where he asks her to marry him. Something in her past has made her this way, and we don't find out the exact details of what that is until la I have read a few of the author's books before, but my favourite are ones like this. This was a lovely summer read with plenty of humour throughout. The storyline is a good one, it is written well, and all of the characters are endearing in their own ways.Tess has rules - she dates a guy for six weeks and then dumps him, the latest being right at the point where he asks her to marry him. Something in her past has made her this way, and we don't find out the exact details of what that is until later in the story. That is not the only thing her past has left her with, however, as we also find out exactly why she doesn't like to walk on the sand in her bare feet anymore.Andras is a man living in fear of his mother to a certain extent. As a Greek man, and with a large extended family living almost on top of him, there are certain expectations. His mother thinks that an arranged marriage is best for him, to a lovely Greek woman she approves of. But he has other ideas entirely, and he ends up asking Tess to pretend to be his girlfriend. This leads to so many hilarious moments, especially the family traditions his family ask her to be a part of in the lead up to a family wedding.This is a brilliant summer read and one which will appeal to anyone looking to escape from everyday life and dream of a holiday somewhere hot. Many thanks to the publisher and Netgalley for providing a copy.
    more
  • Samantha Tonge
    June 26, 2017
    A LUSH summery read, guaranteed to satisfy all the senses. Fall in love with ripped romeo, Andras, as Baggot takes you on an unforgettable journey that will make you want to book your Greek getaway before you can say Baklava! Her exquisite descriptions of food won't be the only thing you salivate over. Scrumptious sun-kissed romance at its best!
    more
  • Dee Haych
    July 9, 2017
    It is so refreshing to pick up a Mandy Baggot book and have a lighthearted, laugh out loud read. This is another fab book by Mandy that I have thoroughly enjoyed. It has it all....laughter, tears and 'OMG really' moments! How Mandy comes up with all these amazing characters is beyond me. Tess is seemingly commitment phobic with her 6 weeks then move on rule......in fact it's due to an unwanted propsal that has Tess boarding a plane to escape from her suitor.  I loved Tess's best friend, Sonya,  It is so refreshing to pick up a Mandy Baggot book and have a lighthearted, laugh out loud read. This is another fab book by Mandy that I have thoroughly enjoyed. It has it all....laughter, tears and 'OMG really' moments! How Mandy comes up with all these amazing characters is beyond me. Tess is seemingly commitment phobic with her 6 weeks then move on rule......in fact it's due to an unwanted propsal that has Tess boarding a plane to escape from her suitor.  I loved Tess's best friend, Sonya,  with all her ailments....had me belly laughing at times. Andras is our hunk in this book but he also has issues of his own....his fiercely family-value led mother wants him to marry a family friend, but Andras has other ideas and cue a chance meeting at a bar and our 2 main characters are very bizarrely thrown together. This book has Tess and Andras trying to avoid what is happening, but slowly and surely an attraction between them is sparked. As with all of Mandy's amazing storylines....nothing can be that straightforward! Tess is under strict instructions from Sonya to 'stay single for the summer' and poor Andras is so worried about his mother's influence that he is literally running from her insistence to marry a lovely Greek girl.Mandy's knowledge of all things Greek is highly evident and she very obviously researches every single thing that goes into her books...from Greek culture to the taste of the Greek food. Her descriptions can take you away from a rainy afternoon here to the sunkissed beaches of Corfu. Mandy's books always have a fantastic sense of humour and are full to bursting with amazing content. Her storylines always have you hooked from start to finish and you develop an affiliation for the characters that makes you want the very best for them. I cannot recommend this book enough....in fact in would say it's my favourite Mandy Baggot book so far and I cannot wait to see what Mandy has in store for us next.
    more
  • Linda Hill
    June 4, 2017
    Tess Parks only ever dates men for six weeks having been jilted at the altar, so she can’t see any problem in staying single when she heads on holiday to Corfu with Sonya.Single for the Summer is the perfect summer beach read with wonderful evocative settings. Moreover, Mandy Baggot conveys the allure of Corfu so brilliantly that I want to be on a Greek beach right now. She weaves elements relating to the senses so effortlessly that I could taste sweet baklava, smell the lavender in the pots nex Tess Parks only ever dates men for six weeks having been jilted at the altar, so she can’t see any problem in staying single when she heads on holiday to Corfu with Sonya.Single for the Summer is the perfect summer beach read with wonderful evocative settings. Moreover, Mandy Baggot conveys the allure of Corfu so brilliantly that I want to be on a Greek beach right now. She weaves elements relating to the senses so effortlessly that I could taste sweet baklava, smell the lavender in the pots next to the taverna and feel the sand beneath my feet. I even told my husband I would have to book a holiday there.The plot hinges around a throw away remark from Andras, and his brother Spiro’s wedding. I learnt a great deal about Greek traditions and the closeness of Greek families with strong matriarchs at the helm so that as well as enjoying a super romantic read, I felt as if I had a cultural experience too.Alongside a panoply of vivid and credible characters that provide humour and Greek authenticity are stand out performances from Tess and Andras. Whilst this is a light hearted read with all the elements one would expect from a chick-lit style book, there is also real depth to their personalities as both deal with emotional hurt from the past. It was impossible not to believe in them completely.What I so enjoy about Mandy Baggot’s writing is her vivacious style. She can drop in a product or cultural reference like Strictly Come Dancing and make her reader know instantly exactly what she means. She has a wicked sense of humour and a deft hand at writing sex scenes too so that reading Single for the Summer is a lovely, life affirming book that lifts the spirits and puts the reader in the right mood for summer – and maybe a little romance of their own. I loved it.
    more
  • Sarah Hurley
    July 18, 2017
    This was the Sarah Hurley Book Club pick for June 2017. If you’re looking for your beachy holiday read then we’ve found it! Also, if you’re looking for inspiration for a holiday then this will definitely inspire you to try Corfu! After reading this, it is definitely on my list of places I want to go to, it sounds gorgeous.Tess is a fabulous main character, flawed, funny and fierce – dating men for only six weeks and escaping the latest proposal by flying off to Corfu with her best friend where s This was the Sarah Hurley Book Club pick for June 2017. If you’re looking for your beachy holiday read then we’ve found it! Also, if you’re looking for inspiration for a holiday then this will definitely inspire you to try Corfu! After reading this, it is definitely on my list of places I want to go to, it sounds gorgeous.Tess is a fabulous main character, flawed, funny and fierce – dating men for only six weeks and escaping the latest proposal by flying off to Corfu with her best friend where she meets Andras, a mummy’s boy in need of a fake girlfriend. This is laugh out loud funny, endearing and the perfect escape read for summer – Mandy’s writing has the power to transport you to another place (I read most of this on a long grey train journey and it worked for me!) A perfect girly chick-lit read.
    more
  • Claire Reeder
    July 28, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoyed Single for the Summer. Once again Mandy Baggot transports you to the sunny island of Corfu, this time to follow the exploits of Tess and her heartbroken friend Sonya as they escape to Corfu for a week. Used to only dating men for six weeks before moving on, Tess is challenged to stay single for the summer. Surely this is a challenge Tess can pass but she hasn't factored in meeting Andras, the owner of their favourite beach restaurant.This is a gorgeous beach read. It's set o I thoroughly enjoyed Single for the Summer. Once again Mandy Baggot transports you to the sunny island of Corfu, this time to follow the exploits of Tess and her heartbroken friend Sonya as they escape to Corfu for a week. Used to only dating men for six weeks before moving on, Tess is challenged to stay single for the summer. Surely this is a challenge Tess can pass but she hasn't factored in meeting Andras, the owner of their favourite beach restaurant.This is a gorgeous beach read. It's set on a beautiful island (one of my favourite places) and is so well written. I loved all the characters especially Isadora and of course the gorgeous Andras. Mandy's descriptions of the island and especially the food are fantastic and I can't wait to go back to Corfu. This book is definitely worth 5 stars and I can highly recommend it. Read it whilst lying on a lounger soaking up some sun with a glass of wine in hand - perfect!
    more
  • Jill Steeples
    August 1, 2017
    Be transported to the magical island of Corfu with Tess where the sun is always shining and romance is in the air when she meets the gorgeous Andras. Is it the real thing though or just a pretend romance? An entertaining and funny beach-read! Loved it!
    more
  • Steph Lawrence
    May 25, 2017
    Another absolute gem by Mandy Baggott.A story of friendship, relationships & family.And all set in Corfu...what could be better. I thought I was there it is described so perfectly.And Andras *whistles, swoon* is just gorgeous.I can't recommend this author enough, always a fab, and fun, read.
    more
  • Vicki Bowles
    May 18, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher, Ebury, for the ARC. This review is my honest opinion and I was not paid for it. No money or baklava exchanged hands.Mandy has done it again. She's written another sun-soaked Greek tale of mythical proportions which had me howling for my Retsina. The sights, sounds and smells of the Greek Island of Corfu are brought to life in this hilarious tale of one woman and her fear of commitment.It's normally the guys who are the commitment-phobes in most books; it Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher, Ebury, for the ARC. This review is my honest opinion and I was not paid for it. No money or baklava exchanged hands.Mandy has done it again. She's written another sun-soaked Greek tale of mythical proportions which had me howling for my Retsina. The sights, sounds and smells of the Greek Island of Corfu are brought to life in this hilarious tale of one woman and her fear of commitment.It's normally the guys who are the commitment-phobes in most books; it's refreshing to meet Tess, who loves romance, sex, hot guys... just as long as it doesn't progress into a relationship. Cos Tess doesn't do relationships - she simply can't.When Andras blurts out to his mother that Tess is his girlfriend, for some mad reason Tess goes along with it. It's just a bit of fun, after all - and Andras is hot! Not that she's looking, of course - she promised Sonya she would stay away from men. She is there for Sonya, after all.The physical attraction between Tess and Andras is obvious to them, but they know it cannot go any further. To watch - sorry, read - as they do everything they can to avoid falling for each other is hilarious. I found myself laughing out loud in several parts of the book.The characters of Andras's bossy mother and sister are brilliant; endlessly conniving to pair Andras off with his pretty cousin, and treating Tess, a non-Greek girl, with disdain and distrust. If only they knew... Mandy writes with a down-to-earth humour that just makes you feel good reading her books. You'll also want to book a Greek holiday after reading this.
    more
  • Stephaniereads
    July 22, 2017
    A holiday in Corfu is just what Tess and Sonya needs at the moment. Their plan is to stay single on holiday. But this might not last until the end of the holiday when the two of them meet Andras. Andras is in a bit of a crisis, his brother is soon to be married and the happy couple are planning to move to the mainland. In the result of this Andras is losing his brother as a business partner and is trying his best to find a new one soon before his mother decides to take on the role. As well as th A holiday in Corfu is just what Tess and Sonya needs at the moment. Their plan is to stay single on holiday. But this might not last until the end of the holiday when the two of them meet Andras. Andras is in a bit of a crisis, his brother is soon to be married and the happy couple are planning to move to the mainland. In the result of this Andras is losing his brother as a business partner and is trying his best to find a new one soon before his mother decides to take on the role. As well as this, Andras’s mother is on his back in finding a new wife and on the spot he makes up a fake relationship with Tess. Tess agrees to this as long as Andras becomes their tour guide for Sonya and gives access to free Wi-Fi for Tess. I really enjoyed the plot of this story it was full of Greek traditions, drama and romance. I did like Tess and Sonya friendship, they are completely different characters but both have each other’s back and understand each other so well. I really enjoyed getting to know the characters stories and it was definitely a great summer read. If you enjoyed the ‘My Big Fat Greek Wedding’ films, you are going to love this book. I have to be honest and say that I took as very long time reading this book. It has never taken me this long to read a book for review before. This has nothing to do with the book but more to do with my reading habits at the moment. But as a positive I found whilst reading this book, I found it so easy to remember the story line and I could carry on reading the story with ease, whenever I stopped reading this book for a few days.* I received an ARC copy of this book from Ebury Press (Fiction) via Netgalley in return for an honest and fair review.
    more
  • Sally Coles
    July 31, 2017
    When Tess gets stood up at the altar she determines that no-one will ever hurt her like that again and so she has a six week dating strategy - dump them before they get serious! When her best friend Sonya's boyfriend decides that he needs space and is not going on the holiday they have booked to Corfu Tess goes with her but on the proviso that there are no men. Sure that she can last the holiday without a man Tess is ready for the sun and sea, but almost as soon as they arrive she bumps into the When Tess gets stood up at the altar she determines that no-one will ever hurt her like that again and so she has a six week dating strategy - dump them before they get serious! When her best friend Sonya's boyfriend decides that he needs space and is not going on the holiday they have booked to Corfu Tess goes with her but on the proviso that there are no men. Sure that she can last the holiday without a man Tess is ready for the sun and sea, but almost as soon as they arrive she bumps into the gorgeous Andras.......is she really supposed to resist him for the whole holiday! Andras is having problems with his mother who is determined that he will marry a nice Greek girl like his cousin and with the whole family assembled for this brother's wedding she is on a mission........so Andras invents an English girl as a girlfriend who looks just like Tess! Tess agrees to go along with it with a few provisos but will she really be able to keep her hands off him!Another great book from Mandy Baggot I love her style and the descriptions of the Greek islands definitely make me want to be there! A lovely light hearted beach read with great characters and comic situations definitely recommended
    more
  • Stacey
    July 25, 2017
    Wow, wow, wow. This is really what you call an amazing must-have summer read. The cover drew me in straight away and I fell in love with the story instantly. The setting is beautiful and the descriptions of Kalami in Greece made me want to book a flight to there now! It really is a feel-good, lighthearted and enjoyable read.The story follows two best friends: Tess and Sonya. The two go away to Corfu after both experiences some troubles with their love lives and together they have an amazing time Wow, wow, wow. This is really what you call an amazing must-have summer read. The cover drew me in straight away and I fell in love with the story instantly. The setting is beautiful and the descriptions of Kalami in Greece made me want to book a flight to there now! It really is a feel-good, lighthearted and enjoyable read.The story follows two best friends: Tess and Sonya. The two go away to Corfu after both experiences some troubles with their love lives and together they have an amazing time. This story is full of love, humour and drama. Between the two women there are tears and lots of laughter.However, Tess is asked for a favour by local restaurant owner Andras and together the pair grow closer. Would a romance between them ever work? Andras' mother Isadora is one of his many family members trying to sway Andras' away from Tess so the pair come together in order to sort out the issues going on.I just loved this book so much. It really will make you laugh out loud in places. It's the perfect book to relax with by the pool or just sitting on your sofa at home wishing you were in Corfu!Thank you to Netgalley and to the publisher for a chance to read this novel, which I have reviewed honestly.
    more
  • Shona Booky Ramblings of a Neurotic Mom
    July 24, 2017
    If you are looking for a book to read on the beach, or one to get you in the mood for a holiday then this is the book for you. Also if you're looking for some inspiration for holiday destinations then this may also be the book for you, thanks to this book I am now longing for a holiday on the beautiful Greek beaches, not to mention tasting all the beautiful Greek food mentioned during Tess' story. And that's all before we get to the main story of Tess and Andras.I've read enough books and watche If you are looking for a book to read on the beach, or one to get you in the mood for a holiday then this is the book for you. Also if you're looking for some inspiration for holiday destinations then this may also be the book for you, thanks to this book I am now longing for a holiday on the beautiful Greek beaches, not to mention tasting all the beautiful Greek food mentioned during Tess' story. And that's all before we get to the main story of Tess and Andras.I've read enough books and watched enough movies to know that the Greek mother is stereotypically overbearing, especially when it comes to her sons. The idea that Isadora would want to wed her eldest son off to a cousin doesn't surprise me, but it does surprise me that an English women who has met someone only once would agree to go along with his ridiculous plan. Even if he did offer to be a tour guide for her and her friend. That being said I loved the chemistry between Tess and Andras, I'm just a little disappointed that we didn't get more from them, everything was so last minute that it almost made their 'something' a little rushed.As is usual from a Baggot book this story welcomes you in from the first pages and keeps you entertained throughout.
    more
  • Julie
    June 29, 2017
    I've read a few of Mandy's books but this one is a corker. Set in Greece, fabulous characters and a funny yet emotional storyline, this book has it all. I recommend you read it with a glass of bubbly, preferably on a beach but read it anyway as you won't be disappointed. It's an easy read yet deals with issues of both the male and female protagonists as they are each, for various reasons, unable to commit. Towards the end, all becomes clear as we see the reasons why and the story unfolds in a de I've read a few of Mandy's books but this one is a corker. Set in Greece, fabulous characters and a funny yet emotional storyline, this book has it all. I recommend you read it with a glass of bubbly, preferably on a beach but read it anyway as you won't be disappointed. It's an easy read yet deals with issues of both the male and female protagonists as they are each, for various reasons, unable to commit. Towards the end, all becomes clear as we see the reasons why and the story unfolds in a delightful yet not predictable manner. Lots of lovely little touches and a Greek Cruella de Ville too. This is one of my favourite summer reads this year so far.
    more
  • Carol Beasley
    May 30, 2017
    This was a fun and very enjoyable read. It gave a good insight into Greek life, it was almost like being there and seeing the dancing and way of life. It reminded me a bit of the Durrell show currently on ITV and there was even mention of the Durrell bust on the island of Corfu in the story. It was a very humourous book which was easy to read and with all of the characters being well developed and real. I would recommend this to anybody who wants a fun summer read. (I was provided a copy of this This was a fun and very enjoyable read. It gave a good insight into Greek life, it was almost like being there and seeing the dancing and way of life. It reminded me a bit of the Durrell show currently on ITV and there was even mention of the Durrell bust on the island of Corfu in the story. It was a very humourous book which was easy to read and with all of the characters being well developed and real. I would recommend this to anybody who wants a fun summer read. (I was provided a copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review)
    more
  • MetLineReader
    July 16, 2017
    Another cracker from Mandy Baggot. Like a reliable friend, you know that she's going to deliver the goods. I have to say that my heart wasn't in it originally, I had just finished a hard-going thriller and the change of pace and style took me a while to adjust. But once Tess and Sonja arrived at their apartment complex - bam, the Mandy Baggot magic started! An easy paced read with lots to keep your interest, a beautiful Greek island, a family wedding and some eye candy in the form of a restauran Another cracker from Mandy Baggot. Like a reliable friend, you know that she's going to deliver the goods. I have to say that my heart wasn't in it originally, I had just finished a hard-going thriller and the change of pace and style took me a while to adjust. But once Tess and Sonja arrived at their apartment complex - bam, the Mandy Baggot magic started! An easy paced read with lots to keep your interest, a beautiful Greek island, a family wedding and some eye candy in the form of a restaurant owner - what's not to like. A perfect sunshine read ☀️☀️☀️☀️4* from me
    more
  • Mandy Baggot
    July 29, 2017
    Author rating :)
  • Jessica
    May 15, 2017
    Single for the Summer is the perfect summer holiday read. I really loved it, two best friends go on holidays together and let their hairs down. Tess meets yummy local Andras and helps him by pretending to be his girlfriend to help him get his mother of his back. But spending all that time together brings them closer than ever and we see a holiday romance blooming. The characters and village in the book are absolutely perfect. Now I want to go on holiday! Really sad this book has came to an end, Single for the Summer is the perfect summer holiday read. I really loved it, two best friends go on holidays together and let their hairs down. Tess meets yummy local Andras and helps him by pretending to be his girlfriend to help him get his mother of his back. But spending all that time together brings them closer than ever and we see a holiday romance blooming. The characters and village in the book are absolutely perfect. Now I want to go on holiday! Really sad this book has came to an end, I really hope there is a sequal.
    more
  • Tara
    May 2, 2017
    4.5 stars.Thank goodness I was in the comfort of my own home while reading Mandy Baggot’s new book, Single For The Summer.Had I been on a bus or a train, I would definitely have been that annoying woman people moan about on social media by constantly guffawing.There was no keeping it in though; it’s a laugh out loud kind of funny, full of little quips (there’s even a reference to Donald Trump), weaved into a feel-good romance, perfect for the beach.While I have been reading and enjoying some new 4.5 stars.Thank goodness I was in the comfort of my own home while reading Mandy Baggot’s new book, Single For The Summer.Had I been on a bus or a train, I would definitely have been that annoying woman people moan about on social media by constantly guffawing.There was no keeping it in though; it’s a laugh out loud kind of funny, full of little quips (there’s even a reference to Donald Trump), weaved into a feel-good romance, perfect for the beach.While I have been reading and enjoying some new authors lately, it’s so lovely to go back to a familiar favourite.Even though Mandy’s books always feature different characters and stories, I already know I love her writing style and that I’m in for a treat – and Single For The Summer is certainly that.Tess’s six-week rule, which results in some truly cringe-worthy situations, comes from having her own heart broken.Witnessing her slowly heal makes for some really touching moments, especially when they are set against such a beautiful backdrop.As it says on her website “Mandy loves the Greek island of Corfu” and that shines through in this book where we are taken on a lovely tour (thank you Andras).Having holidayed there myself, I was able to picture the warm, sandy beaches, glistening azure sea and green, rugged mountains perfectly but even if I had never visited, Mandy’s descriptions would have been enough.If you’re looking for a book to take away with you, I’d recommend this one – as long as you make sure you sit far from other people while you’re reading (just in case your guffaws are as loud as mine).With thanks to Ebury Digital (via NetGalley) for the ARC in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Claire Thake
    July 14, 2017
    This is the story of Tess and her best friend Sonya, who jet off to Corfu after Sonya's boyfriend Joey pulls out of the holiday and asks for 'a break' to Sonyas dismay. There in Corfu, they meet the sexy Andras and his family and Tess finds it very hard to keep her promise to Sonya of staying Single for the Summer!The more I read the more I was drawn into the lives of Andras and Tess and found myself hoping they would find a way to get over their problems. A Great summer beach read, or for those This is the story of Tess and her best friend Sonya, who jet off to Corfu after Sonya's boyfriend Joey pulls out of the holiday and asks for 'a break' to Sonyas dismay. There in Corfu, they meet the sexy Andras and his family and Tess finds it very hard to keep her promise to Sonya of staying Single for the Summer!The more I read the more I was drawn into the lives of Andras and Tess and found myself hoping they would find a way to get over their problems. A Great summer beach read, or for those lazy summer afternoons.This is a fantastic read, but then again I wouldn't expect anything less from Mandy. I did find it hard to warm to Tess in the beginning and was frustrated at how Andras wasn't just up front with his mother from the start. I also felt that way too much seemed to happen in the span of a weeks holiday, but it doesn't take anything away from the enjoyment of the book.A must read, highly recommended!
    more
Write a review