Mrs. Saint and the Defectives
Critically acclaimed author Julie Lawson Timmer returns with a tale of how community can heal the brokenness in all of us.Markie, a fortysomething divorcée who has suffered a humiliating and very public fall from marital, financial, and professional grace, moves, along with her teenage son, Jesse, to a new town, hoping to lick her wounds in private. But Markie and Jesse are unable to escape the attention of their new neighbor Mrs. Saint, an irascible, elderly New European woman who takes it upon herself, along with her ragtag group of “defectives,” to identify and fix the flaws in those around her, whether they want her to or not.What Markie doesn’t realize is that Mrs. Saint has big plans for the divorcée’s broken spirit. Soon, the quirky yet endearing woman recruits Markie to join her eccentric community, a world where both hidden truths and hope unite them. But when Mrs. Saint’s own secrets threaten to unravel their fragile web of healing, it’s up to Markie to mend these wounds and usher in a new era for the “defectives”—one full of second chances and happiness.

Mrs. Saint and the Defectives Details

TitleMrs. Saint and the Defectives
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 1st, 2017
PublisherLake Union Publishing
ISBN1477819967
ISBN-139781477819968
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Contemporary, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Humor

Mrs. Saint and the Defectives Review

  • Cindy Burnett
    June 14, 2017
    The cover for Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is spectacular; it is one of my favorite covers this year. The story inside is cute too, and while I adore my current neighbors, I would love to have Mrs. Saint and her Defectives in my neighborhood too. Recovering from a very public humiliation, Markie and her son Jesse move to a smaller home hoping to get away from prying eyes. Instead, they gain the attention of their new neighbor Mrs. Saint who makes it her personal business to help those in need i The cover for Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is spectacular; it is one of my favorite covers this year. The story inside is cute too, and while I adore my current neighbors, I would love to have Mrs. Saint and her Defectives in my neighborhood too. Recovering from a very public humiliation, Markie and her son Jesse move to a smaller home hoping to get away from prying eyes. Instead, they gain the attention of their new neighbor Mrs. Saint who makes it her personal business to help those in need including Markie and her son. While Markie is very slow to warm to her neighbor, Mrs. Saint tries to make her understand the importance of community and human connection. Timmer’s message is an important one, and the story is sweet and at times pretty humorous. I also loved the authentic and likeable characters. I received an advance review copy of this book from the Great Thoughts’ Ninja Review Team. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Caryn
    June 28, 2017
    Whenever I pick up a Julie Lawson Timmer book, I know I will be surprised at what is inside the pages. She can pull off many different types of writing styles and do it well. None of her books is formulaic so you never know what to expect. Her books stand on their own but when I saw the cover for this one, I knew immediately I wanted to find out what was inside. Lake Union did a remarkable job of capturing the character of Mrs. Saint with the cover. How could you not want to pick this up?The sto Whenever I pick up a Julie Lawson Timmer book, I know I will be surprised at what is inside the pages. She can pull off many different types of writing styles and do it well. None of her books is formulaic so you never know what to expect. Her books stand on their own but when I saw the cover for this one, I knew immediately I wanted to find out what was inside. Lake Union did a remarkable job of capturing the character of Mrs. Saint with the cover. How could you not want to pick this up?The story is of newly single mom Markie and her teenage son, Jesse, who have to get back on their feet after one disappointment too many from her husband, Kyle. To start over, Markie moves them both to a new bungalow in a quiet neighborhood. That is until moving day, when Mrs. Saint quickly takes over the process, allowing her and her defectives to infringe on not only their new home, but their lives.Parts of the relationships between the characters reminded me of Allie & Bea by Catherine Ryan Hyde, where the people you never think you need in your life prove to be just the people you do need. But in their own way. There were a few instances I got frustrated with Markie and wanted to shake some sense into her, but I think Timmer's intention was to allow these defectives to do that in their own way.My thanks to Julie Lawson Timmer's street team for a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. Look for this one to publish August 1.
    more
  • Susan Peterson
    May 12, 2017
    Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is a quirky, humorous, but extremely heartfelt book. Markie has uprooted her son and herself following a divorce, far from the private school, country club life they were used to. The day she moves in, she is introduced to Mrs. Saint, a bossy, opinionated Frenchwoman, and her employees. As Mrs. Saint ingratiates herself into the lives of Markie and her son, Markie is annoyed, not only because she wants to be left alone, but because Mrs. Saint is less than forthcomin Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is a quirky, humorous, but extremely heartfelt book. Markie has uprooted her son and herself following a divorce, far from the private school, country club life they were used to. The day she moves in, she is introduced to Mrs. Saint, a bossy, opinionated Frenchwoman, and her employees. As Mrs. Saint ingratiates herself into the lives of Markie and her son, Markie is annoyed, not only because she wants to be left alone, but because Mrs. Saint is less than forthcoming about her own life. As Markie learns more about the employees, she discovers a common bond....people who have been down on their luck, people who Mrs. Saint has stepped in to help....the defectives. Can this group of bedraggled misfits worm their way into Markie's walled off heart? And what deep secrets is Mrs. Saint hiding from Markie? The characters in this book are all so diverse and unique, and the interactions between them are sometimes humorous, sometimes so poignant, as Markie discovers what lies beneath. This is a very tender book about second chances and starting over, and about opening up our hearts to the defectives all around us. I received a copy of this book to review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Tamara
    June 15, 2017
    Review to come closer to pub date.Quick thoughts:Prob more a 3.5 star read!What a different world we would live in if we had a Mrs. Saint in our corner. Bossy, yes, but wants us to be the best version of ourselves possible. Sees the flaws, but doesn't make people feel bad- just accepts us and wants to remind us that we are something wonderful- even when we feel like life has kicked us when we're down Marcie, on the other hand, I understood a lot of her motivations and thoughts, but I just wanted Review to come closer to pub date.Quick thoughts:Prob more a 3.5 star read!What a different world we would live in if we had a Mrs. Saint in our corner. Bossy, yes, but wants us to be the best version of ourselves possible. Sees the flaws, but doesn't make people feel bad- just accepts us and wants to remind us that we are something wonderful- even when we feel like life has kicked us when we're down Marcie, on the other hand, I understood a lot of her motivations and thoughts, but I just wanted to say 'wake up and smell the Folgers!!!'If you like fun and quirky characters- this book is for you!!!
    more
  • Sue
    June 19, 2017
    This is a wonderful book about family, friendship and neighbors. Markie's life has fallen apart after a public humiliation about her husband's infidelity. She and her teenage son move to a neighborhood where she doesn't know anyone and plans not to make friends. Her plan is quickly ruined by a small older French accented neighbor who quickly tries to pull Markie and her son into her world. The neighbor, Mrs. Saint runs a different type of household and has variousvery quirky and down on their lu This is a wonderful book about family, friendship and neighbors. Markie's life has fallen apart after a public humiliation about her husband's infidelity. She and her teenage son move to a neighborhood where she doesn't know anyone and plans not to make friends. Her plan is quickly ruined by a small older French accented neighbor who quickly tries to pull Markie and her son into her world. The neighbor, Mrs. Saint runs a different type of household and has variousvery quirky and down on their luck people helping her - a cook who burns everything, a brash mother and her small daughter and a handyman who tends to mess up everything that he works on. As Markie resists being pulled into the life of the people next door, her son Jesse begins to get to know them. Markie finds that maybe its time to leave her intended isolation and accept the friendship being offered and the results of that decision are wonderful for her and her son.This is a fun book to read - often funny but more importantly very timely with two main themes - joy in life can be found by helping people who need help and family is more than blood relations, its made up of the people we care most about.Thanks to the author for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest opinion.
    more
  • Aparna K. H
    July 1, 2017
    This was my Kindle First selection for July 2017. The good: * Entertaining, easy read - I (and a lot of people by the look of reviews accumulating) finished this book within hours. * The characters are interesting and likable. No one is totally good or always right, and no one is totally evil or always wrong. Like real people. * The backstory of two or three characters are related to World War II, so people who know about those incidents mentioned could relate to it, and like the way it is prese This was my Kindle First selection for July 2017. The good: * Entertaining, easy read - I (and a lot of people by the look of reviews accumulating) finished this book within hours. * The characters are interesting and likable. No one is totally good or always right, and no one is totally evil or always wrong. Like real people. * The backstory of two or three characters are related to World War II, so people who know about those incidents mentioned could relate to it, and like the way it is presented in this book. The bad:* Predictability: Apart from the secret of the relationship between Mrs. Saint and Frederic, nothing came as a surprise. And even the one or two surprises were something we wouldn't care about because they were totally out of the blue (like the guest at Thanksgiving dinner). * Unnecessarily meandering plot: While Markie spents chapters thinking what to do next, the readers know what will happen, what the solution to Markie's "huge problem" is, and we can see how deliberately the author puts one thing after another so that Markie will have to do what Mrs. Saint wants. This is downright weary for the reader - I would compare many of Markie's actions to watching a blind person walking around a maze, but that would be insulting the navigatiory skills of blind people. * The repeated "high class society life is boring and bad", "rich people don't know how to raise kids or to love" motifs - These went out of fashion from Indian films in the 80's, so I would have guessed it happened at least a decade (if not a century) earlier in Western fiction and media. But I have no idea about American family life, so maybe the problem is still relevant, I don't know. * The preaching - This is a tad unfair because the book does not really come off as preachy, and I don't know what the author's intentions or ideals are writing this book - she probably just wanted to write an honest entertainer. But by the time you finish the novel there are a few ideas that come out in high relief - video-games are bad for kids, kids should not be left to people of their own age, if they do, it must be with kids of respectable parents (Glenn) or parents you know very well, women loving only one man their whole life is great, cheating men must be forgiven (it's okay as one -off, but the epilogue hints a sort of repetition of such events), living as recluse minding your own business is bad, being introverted is bad, everyone needs some probing neighbour.. I find it difficult appreciate these being conveyed so innocently.
    more
  • Christine Moore
    May 23, 2017
    Markie's life falls apart. Her husband Kyle cheats on her, they are completely broke, and she must quit her job. She moves with her son Jesse into a new house in a new neighborhood. As they are unloading the moving truck their new neighbor Mrs. Saint comes over and introduces herself. She plants herself firmly into Markie and Jesse's lives. She is overbearing but quite lovable. She has her team of "defectives" as she calls them that work for her at her house. They are people she has taken under Markie's life falls apart. Her husband Kyle cheats on her, they are completely broke, and she must quit her job. She moves with her son Jesse into a new house in a new neighborhood. As they are unloading the moving truck their new neighbor Mrs. Saint comes over and introduces herself. She plants herself firmly into Markie and Jesse's lives. She is overbearing but quite lovable. She has her team of "defectives" as she calls them that work for her at her house. They are people she has taken under her wing to help. After finishing the book, I can honestly say I want to live beside Mrs. Saint and be a defective. I loved this book and the characters are ones that will stay with you. Thank you so much to NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing for providing me an ARC in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Danielle
    May 22, 2017
    Julie Laswon Timmer has truly outdone herself with this book! I read the entire thing in one day because I literally could not put it down. By page 50 I wanted to move into the bungalow next door to Mrs. Saint; as overbearing as she was, there was a soft spot in my heart for this intrusive old lady. The characters were extremely well-developed and realistic. I quickly found myself sucked into the world inhabited by Mrs. Saint and her "defectives". I fell in love with the whole crew! This is a bo Julie Laswon Timmer has truly outdone herself with this book! I read the entire thing in one day because I literally could not put it down. By page 50 I wanted to move into the bungalow next door to Mrs. Saint; as overbearing as she was, there was a soft spot in my heart for this intrusive old lady. The characters were extremely well-developed and realistic. I quickly found myself sucked into the world inhabited by Mrs. Saint and her "defectives". I fell in love with the whole crew! This is a book that I highly recommend and will be telling everyone about. Beware: once you start reading, you won't be going anywhere until you reach the last page. This is one of the best books I have read this year!I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion of the book.
    more
  • Mary Beth
    May 9, 2017
    I was instantly caught up in Markie's story and wanted to keep going to see what would happen next. You'll want to root for Markie, and the book is filled with unique and colorful characters who add depth and interest to the story. I love it when a book surprises me, and there were definitely plot twists that I didn't see coming. There's a lot to love about this book: suspense, characters with hidden layers, an engrossing plot, and more. Highly recommended.
    more
  • Jenna
    May 9, 2017
    I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy of Mrs. Saint and the Defectives and couldn't put it down. It's everything you'd want in a book or a first date: charming, intriguing, warm and wise. This is one of those books that stays with you long after you finish the last page.
    more
  • Laurie - The Baking Bookworm
    July 1, 2017
    Readers will be drawn to this book initially by its eye-catching cover but what will keep them reading is Lawson Timmer's heart-felt vision of family, second chances and redemption.After a failed marriage and the public humiliation that accompanied it, Markie moves herself and her teenage son to a new town to start over. Her goal? To blend into the background, keep her head down and make some money. But she didn't anticipate Mrs. Saint.Mrs. Saint is a force to be reckoned with. She's an elderly Readers will be drawn to this book initially by its eye-catching cover but what will keep them reading is Lawson Timmer's heart-felt vision of family, second chances and redemption.After a failed marriage and the public humiliation that accompanied it, Markie moves herself and her teenage son to a new town to start over. Her goal? To blend into the background, keep her head down and make some money. But she didn't anticipate Mrs. Saint.Mrs. Saint is a force to be reckoned with. She's an elderly whirling dervish of good intentions but how she puts those intentions into practice aren't for the faint of heart. Resistance is futile. Sure, she can be abrasive, she's a know-it-all and pushy but she's the grand dame of the neighbourhood who has her hand in everyone's lives for various reasons. She is drawn to help (whether they want it or not) the lost, the lonely and those who need someone in their corner.I went into this book knowing I'd get a story that centered around family because that's what Lawson Timmer writes best. Not necessarily the traditional family unit because family isn't always born. Sometimes family emerges from the people we choose as family - friends, neighbours etc. The cast is made up of a melange of lost souls that Mrs. Saint has pulled into her small universe for different reasons. They are a diverse bunch and their interactions are sometimes quirky and humorous as well as poignant and touching.Markie was slow to warm to Mrs. Saint (and outright hated her at times) and I was slow to warm to Markie. Some of her reactions felt over-the-top but even when I didn't agree with her behaviour there was always an inkling of her that I liked. The more she came to understand herself the more I could get behind her as a protagonist.This book hits many of the 'great read' check marks. It's got an interesting premise, two important themes (family and the strength one gains from helping others) and is filled with heart, a bit of humour and even an intriguing mystery. What more could you ask for?Disclaimer: My sincere thanks to Lake Union Publishing for providing me with an e-book copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Linda Zagon
    July 5, 2017
    MY REVIEW OF "MRS. SAINT AND THE DEFECTIVES" by Julie Lawson TrimmerIf things were difficult in your life, would you like the opportunity to have a second chance? In this charming novel, "Mrs. Saint and the Defectives", by Julie Lawson Timmer, the author discusses an "eccentric" community which has the feeling of family, and gives the people involved another chance for happinessThe genres of this novel are Fiction, Adult Fiction, and Women's Fiction.The author describes her characters as "flawed MY REVIEW OF "MRS. SAINT AND THE DEFECTIVES" by Julie Lawson TrimmerIf things were difficult in your life, would you like the opportunity to have a second chance? In this charming novel, "Mrs. Saint and the Defectives", by Julie Lawson Timmer, the author discusses an "eccentric" community which has the feeling of family, and gives the people involved another chance for happinessThe genres of this novel are Fiction, Adult Fiction, and Women's Fiction.The author describes her characters as "flawed", "defective",quirky, complicated and complex.Markie and her son Jesse move away from their neighborhood, and community looking for a new start. Markie has been publicly humiliated by her husband, who has cheated, and caused her financial ruin. When they move to their newly  rented bungalow, they meet Mrs. Saint, a European woman, with a heavy accent ,who immediately takes charge. She arranges for Markie and Jessie to get settled in.  Mrs. Saint makes suggestions the way she thinks things should be, and somehow that is the way things are. Markie realizes that Mrs. Saint has provided meaningful jobs for other people who had lost their jobs and confidence. When everyone in the community works together, everything seems so much better!I love the idea of a family and community where everyone is accepted for who they are.I also appreciate how the author describes, forgiveness, family, friends, love and hope.I would highly recommend this entertaining and intriguing novel. I received an ARC (Advanced Reading Copy) for my honest review.                                                  
    more
  • Glenna Pritchett
    July 5, 2017
    I've said before in my reviews that I have a love/hate relationship with the free Kindle First selections -- I keep choosing a book each month (even though most of my selections end up on the DNF shelf) because every now and then I find a diamond. Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is one of the diamonds.Humor and over-the-top characters can work very well to make a point, and Ms. Timmer used them masterfully here. The moral of this book, as I see it, is not only that we all should actively help othe I've said before in my reviews that I have a love/hate relationship with the free Kindle First selections -- I keep choosing a book each month (even though most of my selections end up on the DNF shelf) because every now and then I find a diamond. Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is one of the diamonds.Humor and over-the-top characters can work very well to make a point, and Ms. Timmer used them masterfully here. The moral of this book, as I see it, is not only that we all should actively help others, but that we should be willing to accept help as well. When we accept someone's offer of help we are often helping that person as much as we are helping ourselves. And don't we all need help sometimes? Of course we do. (Right now I'm humming "I get by with a little help from my friends.")Even though there is a serious theme in the book, it is also light reading. So add it to your beach-read list. It will touch your heart and make you smile.
    more
  • Lori Spielman
    May 9, 2017
    I absolutely loved this novel! If you're a fan of Anne Tyler or Fredrik Backman, you'll adore Julie Lawson Timmer's latest story. Charming and poignant, funny and wise, MRS SAINT AND THE DEFECTIVES is a delight from start to finish. Highly, highly recommend.
    more
  • Holly
    June 29, 2017
    Mrs. Saint And The Defectives is the story of how everything can fall into place by simply meeting your neighbor! Markie is a 40 something year old woman with a teenage son named Jessie, who had to move to another town after getting a nasty divorce. While in the process of moving in a new house with a fresh start for the both of them, they attract the attention of their new neighbor, Mrs. Saint! While Mrs. Saint runs a house full of "defectives", Markie soon realizes that she can't run from what Mrs. Saint And The Defectives is the story of how everything can fall into place by simply meeting your neighbor! Markie is a 40 something year old woman with a teenage son named Jessie, who had to move to another town after getting a nasty divorce. While in the process of moving in a new house with a fresh start for the both of them, they attract the attention of their new neighbor, Mrs. Saint! While Mrs. Saint runs a house full of "defectives", Markie soon realizes that she can't run from what Mrs. Saint has in store for everyone involved. As Markie realizes what Mrs. Saint is and what lies she might be hiding from everyone, it takes a major event for everything to fall apart for everyone. With secrets out in the open and Markie realizing that Mrs. Saint isn't who she said she was, everyone comes together in the most bittersweet ending for this story!I finished this book in about two days time just to see what happens for everyone involved, yes people it's that great of a story!! I so wasn't prepared for all the secrets to be revealed but once you figure it out, everything that had happened leading up to that point will make sense by the last page! As I was reading this story, all I could think about was what if something like this really happened to someone in real life, now that would be a story to be told!!Thank You to Julie Lawson Timmer for writing a book that kept me up way to late and not wanting to do anything until this book was read!!I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book from the Author!I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book from NetGalley!
    more
  • Barbara
    June 25, 2017
    Another one of my favorite type of books, total upheaval in a seemingly perfect life, Markie finds out her husband has been cheating on her in the worst possible way, when she walks into the foo-foo coffee shop where the yoga pants clad moms from her son's private school meet to talk about fundraisers and fashion. That day they are looking at pictures on a cell phone and it's Markie's husband Kyle and one of the moms! Markie takes instand action, filing for divorce, moving to a nearby community, Another one of my favorite type of books, total upheaval in a seemingly perfect life, Markie finds out her husband has been cheating on her in the worst possible way, when she walks into the foo-foo coffee shop where the yoga pants clad moms from her son's private school meet to talk about fundraisers and fashion. That day they are looking at pictures on a cell phone and it's Markie's husband Kyle and one of the moms! Markie takes instand action, filing for divorce, moving to a nearby community, renting a bungalow for her son Jesse and herself. She just wants to be left alone to start a new life where no one knows her and her husband's indiscretions. Mrs. Saint, the elderly busybody next door has a different plan and begins to infiltrate Markie and Jesse's lives. Markie doesn't realize that Mrs. Saint and her Defectives is just what she needs to begin to live and enjoy life to the fullest.
    more
  • Maureen Snow
    June 16, 2017
    Julie Lawson Timmer has the incredible knack of drawing you into the story line from the moment you settle into your reading chair; the very first sentence just doesn’t allow for turning back. From that point on, she knows exactly how to feed you breadcrumbs of plot along the way as an appetizer for the whole delicious feast that is this novel. I’d be surprised if anyone doesn’t consume it in its entirety in one or two sessions.Her talent for fleshing out characters goes behind making them color Julie Lawson Timmer has the incredible knack of drawing you into the story line from the moment you settle into your reading chair; the very first sentence just doesn’t allow for turning back. From that point on, she knows exactly how to feed you breadcrumbs of plot along the way as an appetizer for the whole delicious feast that is this novel. I’d be surprised if anyone doesn’t consume it in its entirety in one or two sessions.Her talent for fleshing out characters goes behind making them colorful and quirky and truly memorable. (I still think about Mara and Scott from 5 Days Left.) She creates these people to be so normal, so positively human that it almost breaks the writing rule to always have a sympathetic protagonist. Markie, the main character, isn’t the beautiful, confident, super-talented, everything-goes-right-for-her character we see too often. She is a real person, a flawed person. I found her to be frequently rude and unfriendly, sometimes selfish, but in spite of this, I COULD NOT STOP READING. This character, like myself and most readers, was not going to end up with the most eligible bachelor in town, the dream job of her life and a winning lottery ticket. And with this she makes the reader feel okay about themselves and their everyday lives. Another thought-provoking character is Patty, simply because she wasn’t especially odd nor interesting. But rather than think her to be dull, I found myself thinking, “This is a woman behind me in line at the market, someone I'd pass on the street without a glance. What’s with her? Why is she in this story?” I had to know what happened to her, to Markie and her sweet son, and to all the Defectives on the other side of the fence. I had to know where these lives and this story was going.And Julie Lawson Timmer did not disappoint! One of the most satisfying, tie-up-the-loose-ends culminations I have read in years. This is one talented story-teller!
    more
  • Sarah Faylor
    June 28, 2017
    I was quickly captivated by the characters in Julie Timmer's book, their seemingly upside down lives and awkward interactions are intriguing. The story picks up pace and you are rewarded with an ending that is rich in compassion and surprises. I am still smiling, this is a story that makes you feel good about neighbors, family and all that matters in life ...if you open your heart!
    more
  • Gena - My Book Reviews for You
    June 17, 2017
    I loved this book! I was a little apprehensive that I wouldn’t enjoy it as much as Julie’s previous book Untethered. But this book was just as amazing if not better! I enjoyed the atmosphere of the story and the humor throughout. Markie leaves her husband, her house, her job, and her life behind to live somewhere new. She takes her fourteen year old son Jesse with her. All Markie wants to do is live somewhere secluded, work from home, and stay away from people. Markie and Jesse move into a littl I loved this book! I was a little apprehensive that I wouldn’t enjoy it as much as Julie’s previous book Untethered. But this book was just as amazing if not better! I enjoyed the atmosphere of the story and the humor throughout. Markie leaves her husband, her house, her job, and her life behind to live somewhere new. She takes her fourteen year old son Jesse with her. All Markie wants to do is live somewhere secluded, work from home, and stay away from people. Markie and Jesse move into a little bungalow in a new town. The day they move in, their neighbor from the house right next door comes over. Her name is Mrs. Saint. You will love Mrs. Saint! Very soon, Markie isn’t alone like she would like to be, but involved with six people from Mrs. Saint’s house next door. There is a lot of humor throughout the story and some mystery, along with some sadness. I came close to tears towards the end of the story. But throughout, there is a theme of new beginnings, hope, and finding happiness. I would definitely recommend this book to you to read!
    more
  • Homayune
    June 14, 2017
    The mark of a good story is its ability to bring the reader into the characters' world. When I started reading Mrs. Saint and the Defectives, I wondered whether I'd be able to understand the story from Markie's viewpoint. By the end, I understood it from her viewpoint, from Mrs. Saint's viewpoint, and every other character in between. I pictured them living in a neighborhood I knew. I could see the houses, the characters, their back-stories - everything. And before I knew it, a story about a div The mark of a good story is its ability to bring the reader into the characters' world. When I started reading Mrs. Saint and the Defectives, I wondered whether I'd be able to understand the story from Markie's viewpoint. By the end, I understood it from her viewpoint, from Mrs. Saint's viewpoint, and every other character in between. I pictured them living in a neighborhood I knew. I could see the houses, the characters, their back-stories - everything. And before I knew it, a story about a divorced mom moving into her first home alone with her son was telling me a story of a WWII survivor coping with life's tragedies and paying forward life's gifts. The day after I finished the book, I missed them as though I had known them all my life. I was in their world and they were in mine.
    more
  • Rhonda Lomazow
    June 17, 2017
    From the opening pages I was caught up in this special story,Each character so perfectly drawn I was sorry to see it end.I am recommending this to all my friends.
  • Tracey
    June 8, 2017
    I was fortunate enough to receive an early copy of this book from the publisher, and I am thanking everything on earth I was chosen. Mrs. Saint and the Defectives was a wonderful read, with characters that reached out and brought you into their world. And what a world it is. When I first heard about this book, I thought that Mrs. Saint was the type of person you simultaneously would want as a neighbor, and dread to have as one. I wasn't wrong. By the time I hit chapter 3 I knew I was in for an a I was fortunate enough to receive an early copy of this book from the publisher, and I am thanking everything on earth I was chosen. Mrs. Saint and the Defectives was a wonderful read, with characters that reached out and brought you into their world. And what a world it is. When I first heard about this book, I thought that Mrs. Saint was the type of person you simultaneously would want as a neighbor, and dread to have as one. I wasn't wrong. By the time I hit chapter 3 I knew I was in for an amazing story. By the time I hit chapter 33, I was knocked for a loop and was dreading how close I was to the end of the book, and therefore near the end of my time with this wonderful group of people.I think it's safe to say that this is the best book I've read so far this year, and I expect I'll be thinking about it for awhile. I've never read anything by Julie Lawson Timmer before, but after this experience I will definitely search out her other novels.
    more
  • Maryellen Kopf
    June 8, 2017
    You know how you have those favorite authors that you repeatedly read their books? Well Julie Timmer is at the top of the list. I have two books that are in my queue to read, but I am putting them on the back burner so I can read Untethered. Mr. Saint. . . . was a great book with believable characters. That's what I like about her books. You can relate to them either by looking within yourself or know someone who could be the person in her books. The book keeps you guessing and peaks your curios You know how you have those favorite authors that you repeatedly read their books? Well Julie Timmer is at the top of the list. I have two books that are in my queue to read, but I am putting them on the back burner so I can read Untethered. Mr. Saint. . . . was a great book with believable characters. That's what I like about her books. You can relate to them either by looking within yourself or know someone who could be the person in her books. The book keeps you guessing and peaks your curiosity to keep on reading. It was an "easy" book to read. By the end of the book I was surprised and crying. Kudos to Julie.
    more
  • Letty
    June 3, 2017
    This is such a delightful, humorous and heartwarming book with very quirky and unique characters. I loved the way Mrs. Saint had a way of bringing people together and figuring out what might be best for them, although new neighbor Markie wasn't so keen on having Mrs. Saint and her "defectives" at her doorstep every single day. After a devastating divorce and financial ruin, Markie just wants to hide out in her new rental home with her son Jesse. After several months and with a certain incident t This is such a delightful, humorous and heartwarming book with very quirky and unique characters. I loved the way Mrs. Saint had a way of bringing people together and figuring out what might be best for them, although new neighbor Markie wasn't so keen on having Mrs. Saint and her "defectives" at her doorstep every single day. After a devastating divorce and financial ruin, Markie just wants to hide out in her new rental home with her son Jesse. After several months and with a certain incident that occurs involving Jesse, she slowly begins to accept the fact that the meddling Mrs. Saint is not going away and that some of her suggestions and advice may actually be good for her and Jesse. There are some surprising twists and a bit of WWII history in the story that I loved! While no one wants to live next to a meddling neighbor, I found Mrs. Saint charming and wishing someone like her and her defectives lived next door to me. I highly recommend this lovely book!I was provided with an advanced reader's copy in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Sue Underhill
    June 4, 2017
    LOVED this book! What depth this young author has already shown in the writing of her first 3 books! The humor in this book was a new look for Timmer - I loved each time Mrs Saint entered the scene and spoke in her broken English! Although different in some ways than Timmer's first two more serious books on moral dilemma's, Five Days Left and Untethered, the similarities between all 3 books are in the amazing writing style. Timmer's strong character development, amazing descriptions of relations LOVED this book! What depth this young author has already shown in the writing of her first 3 books! The humor in this book was a new look for Timmer - I loved each time Mrs Saint entered the scene and spoke in her broken English! Although different in some ways than Timmer's first two more serious books on moral dilemma's, Five Days Left and Untethered, the similarities between all 3 books are in the amazing writing style. Timmer's strong character development, amazing descriptions of relationships between her characters, and the research that goes into her novels to get her facts straight - are all just as obvious in Mrs Saint and the Defectives as in her first two books. Extremely well done!
    more
  • Janet Fiorentino
    May 28, 2017
    Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is a laugh out loud funny novel about a fortysomething woman, Markie, who discovers her husband not only has been having an affair, but has also spent all of the family’s money. With no support from her parents, she moves to a small bungalow and puts her son, Jesse, in a new school to remove him from the scandal caused by his dad’s actions. On moving day, she meets Mrs. Saint, her neighbor who immediately makes it her business to fix up Markie’s life. But Markie doe Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is a laugh out loud funny novel about a fortysomething woman, Markie, who discovers her husband not only has been having an affair, but has also spent all of the family’s money. With no support from her parents, she moves to a small bungalow and puts her son, Jesse, in a new school to remove him from the scandal caused by his dad’s actions. On moving day, she meets Mrs. Saint, her neighbor who immediately makes it her business to fix up Markie’s life. But Markie does not want any assistance, and is worried that her nosey neighbor views her as one of the assorted misfits (“defectives”) that Mrs. Saint is trying to rehabilitate. Julie Lawson Timmer approaches the “woman scorned” topic from a fresh perspective. While it is easy for the reader to become frustrated with Markie because of her determination to isolate herself and her son from any and everyone, the humor and colorful cast of characters keep the reader hoping that Markie will open her heart again. Most books of this topic focus on the protagonist finding love again, but instead, Markie finds her bearings through a variety of situations, many created by Mrs. Saint. The pace of the novel keep the reader guessing up until the surprising twist at the end. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley. The opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Jessie
    June 1, 2017
    Loved this heartfelt story by Julie Lawson Timmer. I've been a fan since her debut, "Five Days Left" which resonated with me on many levels. In fact, I'll likely never forget it!This novel deals with the difficult topic of moving on once a marriage ends. I feel it accurately depicts how one's guard would be up and as a result makes it difficult to accept help. This leads me right into Mrs Saint, what a character! I mean that literally. We can all hope to say that we have been cared for by someon Loved this heartfelt story by Julie Lawson Timmer. I've been a fan since her debut, "Five Days Left" which resonated with me on many levels. In fact, I'll likely never forget it!This novel deals with the difficult topic of moving on once a marriage ends. I feel it accurately depicts how one's guard would be up and as a result makes it difficult to accept help. This leads me right into Mrs Saint, what a character! I mean that literally. We can all hope to say that we have been cared for by someone like her. She cares and she takes action. I don't want to give anything away but wow. The book sends the subtle message that we not only must care for others, but that it is ok to accept help when it's offered. Mrs Saint, despite her faults, made her part of the world a better place. The historical element explained a lot about her motivation.Overall the characters are ones that I'd like to know more about going forward. This could easily be a series in my mind.
    more
  • Julie
    June 6, 2017
    I enjoyed the twists and turns this book encountered. It involved many characters who come together as you get to know them throughout the book. A touching ending with a deep meaning. After reading all three of Julie Lawson Timmer's books, I will definitely be looking forward to her fourth book.
    more
  • Tracey hays
    June 1, 2017
    Loved this book! I spent a bit of time trying to "solve" it, and was still surprised towards the end. Characters were definitely quirky, some likeable, some not so much, but all were important to the story.Spoilers: The main character, and everyone else, got what they needed out of their relationship with the meddling neighbor. Especially Markie, who didn't even realize she needed anything.Julie Lawson Timmer is 3 for 3!
    more
  • david knapp
    May 30, 2017
    After reading Julie Timmer's, "Five Days Left", I looked forward to reading her new novel. She did not disappoint. She is a gifted storyteller, able to bring out many emotions almost simultaneously. Her character development is excellent, and as one reviewer mentioned, the story made you want to move in next door to Mrs. Saint and her cast of defectives. This was a very quick read and the ending was very satisfying. I do not read many books over again, but "Mrs. Saint and the Defectives" will be After reading Julie Timmer's, "Five Days Left", I looked forward to reading her new novel. She did not disappoint. She is a gifted storyteller, able to bring out many emotions almost simultaneously. Her character development is excellent, and as one reviewer mentioned, the story made you want to move in next door to Mrs. Saint and her cast of defectives. This was a very quick read and the ending was very satisfying. I do not read many books over again, but "Mrs. Saint and the Defectives" will be one of them.
    more
Write a review