The Wife Between Us
A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.When you read this book, you will make many assumptions. You will assume you are reading about a jealous wife and her obsession with her replacement. You will assume you are reading about a woman about to enter a new marriage with the man she loves. You will assume the first wife was a disaster and that the husband was well rid of her. You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.Assume nothing. Discover the next blockbuster novel of suspense, and get ready for the read of your life.

The Wife Between Us Details

TitleThe Wife Between Us
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 9th, 2018
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN-139781250130921
Rating
GenreThriller, Fiction, Mystery, Suspense, Mystery Thriller

The Wife Between Us Review

  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    I KNEW IT!2 1/2 stars. Ugh, I'm almost as disappointed in myself as I am in this book. I don't consider myself an especially astute mystery/thriller reader. Pull out a good twist and I will probably be surprised. But here I saw the first big twist coming, and the string of twists after that left me feeling cold. Trust me to be wearing my detective glasses at the exact moment I really needed to be surprised.The Wife Between Us basically introduces itself in the blurb as a book full of twists. Ass I KNEW IT!2 1/2 stars. Ugh, I'm almost as disappointed in myself as I am in this book. I don't consider myself an especially astute mystery/thriller reader. Pull out a good twist and I will probably be surprised. But here I saw the first big twist coming, and the string of twists after that left me feeling cold. Trust me to be wearing my detective glasses at the exact moment I really needed to be surprised.The Wife Between Us basically introduces itself in the blurb as a book full of twists. Assume nothing, it warns. A big chunk of the plot is fairly quiet and uneventful, which means a lot hangs on that moment of thrilling shock one should experience as the authors pull out their surprises. It's not a book that survives very well on its own if you happen to figure out the truth.And I did. Or, at least, I got the first truth. The authors have this big dramatic moment where they metaphorically lift the curtain... and I was so disappointed to have worked out what was happening. The impact just wasn't there. The slow climb to what should have been a shocking climax was just a slow climb for me.I'll give away as little as possible. The book begins by alternating between the perspectives of Richard's ex-wife, Vanessa, who has been left penniless and with a drinking problem ever since their mysterious break-up, and his new and young fiancée, Nellie, who is busy making wedding plans and trying to ignore the feeling that someone is following her. Vanessa is determined to stop Richard marrying again, but how far will she go to prevent it? That's pretty much all I can safely tell you. If I'm honest, after the first twist didn't quite hit the spot, I think my attitude toward the book changed. Where before I'd been eagerly anticipating the reveals, I was now waiting, somewhat unmoved, for the twists to happen. And, of course, more and more did. It gets a little excessive after a while. BAM, twist! BAM, another twist! At one point, I stopped being shocked by the revelations because I figured something else would soon be along to tear that apart, too.And that very last twist? I rolled my eyes. It felt so unnecessary and kind of silly. It was already tough keeping track of what the real story was; we didn't need another shocker tagged on. Plus, the whole subplot with Maggie and Jason was boring and took up too much page time.Some books are full of enough tension and/or interesting characterization to make it okay if you guess what is going on, and some books pull out twists that are shocking and impressive enough that the surprise carries the story. I know for a lot of people The Wife Between Us will be, and is, the latter, but it didn't quite work for me.Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • Deanna
    January 1, 1970
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...All the stars!!It was the cover that first caught my eye. I loved it. And after reading the description for this novel, I couldn’t wait to read it.As the book opens, a woman is unaware that someone is watching her. That someone is out to ruin her. “She is oblivious to what I have done to her” NELLIE can’t talk about the night that began with drinks and laughter, but ended with police and despair.But now Nellie feels safe wit My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...All the stars!!It was the cover that first caught my eye. I loved it. And after reading the description for this novel, I couldn’t wait to read it.As the book opens, a woman is unaware that someone is watching her. That someone is out to ruin her. “She is oblivious to what I have done to her” NELLIE can’t talk about the night that began with drinks and laughter, but ended with police and despair.But now Nellie feels safe with Richard. He helps to keep the nightmares at bay. Richard is loving, caring, and protective. He has impeccable manners and seems to fit in anywhere and with anyone. Her friends and her mother wonder if he’s too good to be true…. “Her mother didn’t get it. Richard fixed everything. She’d be safe with him no matter where they lived” But lately Nellie has been getting strange phone calls and sometimes it seems like she’s being followed. Richard tells her not to worry, but it’s starting to make her anxious.Nellie had come to New York to escape.She loves her job at The Learning Ladder. It’s where she met her best friend, Samantha. She enjoys working with preschoolers, although it can be hard dealing with their insufferable parents. They love to ask personal questions, like where she’s from. But Nellie is careful not to reveal too much about her past.What happened to make her leave Florida? What is Nellie hiding?Nellie doesn’t know very much about Richard’s ex. Just that they split up before he met Nellie. Richard really is the best thing that ever happened to Nellie. “She’d always regret certain decisions in her life, but choosing Richard would never be one of them” VANESSA is living at her aunt’s house. Morning is the worst time of the day because for a moment she can forget, but then reality comes crashing down around her. She imagines Richard and her replacement and what they are doing at that moment. Her aunt believes that Vanessa is the victim in all of this. But Vanessa wonders what her aunt would think if she knew the truth…if she knew what Vanessa had done.She wonders if she’ll ever have peace….“My regret is an open wound”Vanessa now works as a sales associate at Saks. She waits on the wealthy women that she used to lunch with. Richard got the house, the cars, the money...everything. It’s like he wants to erase their relationship, to pretend like she never existed. “I entered the marriage with nothing. I hadn’t worked. I hadn’t borne him children. I’d been deceitful. I hadn’t been a good wife” It’s so easy to make assumptions. I was positive I knew what was going on but I was so wrong.Like the book says…“Assume nothing”Who is telling the truth? Who can be trusted?At first I found the beginning a little slow, but then I realized that the authors were trying to set the scene by giving some background. It wasn’t long before I was pulled into the story and the lives of these characters. I was so sure I knew where things were headed. I was in shock at the first twist, confused and thinking I read something wrong or missed a page. It was so unexpected ….but I loved it. I really appreciate when a story is able to blindside me like that.“The Wife Between Us” is a twisted and complex psychological suspense novel. A story about marriage, friendship, betrayal, manipulation, obsession and more. A fast-paced and addictive novel that held my interest from start to finish. This story kept me on my toes guessing right up until the very end. I honestly can’t wait to read more from Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen.Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the opportunity to read this book in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Meredith
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 starsI know I am probably going to get beat up for this, but here goes nothing….Secrets, lies, and a whole lot of over-the-top twists make up The Wife Between Us. This was a fun and entertaining read, but in the end it wasn’t the right book for me. I loved the first half of this book--I ate up every word, and dreaded the moment when I had to put it down. I was surprised by the first twist--it threw me for a loop! Seriously, I was so addicted to this book that I read it every chance I got, in 2.5 starsI know I am probably going to get beat up for this, but here goes nothing….Secrets, lies, and a whole lot of over-the-top twists make up The Wife Between Us. This was a fun and entertaining read, but in the end it wasn’t the right book for me. I loved the first half of this book--I ate up every word, and dreaded the moment when I had to put it down. I was surprised by the first twist--it threw me for a loop! Seriously, I was so addicted to this book that I read it every chance I got, including walking to my car at night (dumb move on my end). But then as more and more twists occurred and Vanessa’s story further unraveled, I just wasn’t feeling it anymore. I grew bored as I waiting for something to happen. After her final confrontation with Richard, the remaining chapters felt superfluous. And that final twist?! UGH. NOPE. Did not work for me. I finished the final page, rolled my eyes and groaned out of frustration. What had started out with so much promise turned into a bit of a ridiculous mess that seemed more concerned with twists than substance.This book is receiving tons of great reviews, and many of my Goodreads friends absolutely love it. I am often overly critical when it comes to thrillers, so I would recommend that you read The Wife Between Us and judge for yourself!I would have given this one star, but bumped up my rating as I was completely captivated and entertained by the first half.I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Paromjit
    January 1, 1970
    This is without doubt a tense psychological thriller that makes a impact. It has you wondering if what you were reading was for real, and re-reading to check. It has you questioning what you think you know and where nothing is as it seems. Vanessa Thompson is a divorced woman who is barely managing to keep herself together and her days off from her job at Saks endanger her employment. She exists in a alcoholic haze, the wine bottles in her home attest to this. Vanessa used to be married to the w This is without doubt a tense psychological thriller that makes a impact. It has you wondering if what you were reading was for real, and re-reading to check. It has you questioning what you think you know and where nothing is as it seems. Vanessa Thompson is a divorced woman who is barely managing to keep herself together and her days off from her job at Saks endanger her employment. She exists in a alcoholic haze, the wine bottles in her home attest to this. Vanessa used to be married to the wealthy Richard, a good looking hedge fund manager. The end of her marriage has left her floundering as she wonders about the effects of fertility medication, her failure to be the ideal wife, and haunted by events that happened to her when she was at college.What pierces Vanessa's alcoholic haze is the shocking news that Richard is planning to remarry. Something she has no intention of letting happen as she embarks on a crusade. She must protect the intended wife, she must not undergo what Vanesssa suffered. However, is Vanessa to be relied upon? And why should another woman believe her? The narrative is delivered from the perspective of the main characters. This is a story with huge twists and a compelling storyline. It dissects the anatomy and complexities of a marriage, the lies, the secrets, the manipulation and the betrayals. Whilst you may have to occasionally suspend your disbelief, this is nevertheless a book that will grab your attention and never let go. Many thanks to St Martins Press for an ARC.
    more
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    This little number is now available! My favorite thriller of 2017WOWOWOWOWOWI am leaving my first impression above because it still fits how I am feeling several hours after finishing this book. I think some may find the first third of this book slower-building (which I happen to love) and possibly even a tiny bit confusing. I will not give anything away, but keep going. Trust me. I already have a book hangover from this because my next book is not written nearly as well. So about that, the writ This little number is now available! My favorite thriller of 2017WOWOWOWOWOWI am leaving my first impression above because it still fits how I am feeling several hours after finishing this book. I think some may find the first third of this book slower-building (which I happen to love) and possibly even a tiny bit confusing. I will not give anything away, but keep going. Trust me. I already have a book hangover from this because my next book is not written nearly as well. So about that, the writing is flawless. It flows just how I like. Not an extra word. No fluff, no frills. This was written by two authors, and I have no idea how they did it because it's seamless. The characters- Vanessa, Nellie, Richard, Aunt Charlotte, even Duke- so much to love, hate, and ponder. This had a completely original premise. And the best part- I was duped! The synopsis says it best:Assume nothing. I was floored! My head was spinning. This is a book you will want to discuss with all your book friends once you finish, so please read it and discuss with me! I hope beyond hope that these two authors write together again. Their effort was perfection. Thanks to the authors, the publisher, and Goodreads, for the complimentary copy. This was my honest review. The Wife Between Us will be published January 2018.
    more
  • Mary Beth *Traveling Sister*
    January 1, 1970
    I have been sitting on this review for awhile now, thinking on how I want to write it. Each time I started a sentence, I was giving away too much of the plot. I went into this book blindly. I saw that the ratings were awesome and noticed it was a thriller which is my favorite genre, its not only just a thriller but a psychological thriller. I did read the blurb and the blurb didn't give anything away either. I had no idea what this book was about, and this book has lots of twists and turns that I have been sitting on this review for awhile now, thinking on how I want to write it. Each time I started a sentence, I was giving away too much of the plot. I went into this book blindly. I saw that the ratings were awesome and noticed it was a thriller which is my favorite genre, its not only just a thriller but a psychological thriller. I did read the blurb and the blurb didn't give anything away either. I had no idea what this book was about, and this book has lots of twists and turns that are full of surprises. The twists and turns make this book so much fun.I suggest you go into this book blindly and hope you get the same surprises as I did. I am using the blurb as my review because I think its perfect for this book, and then I will put down my thoughts. A novel of suspense that explores the complexities of marriage and the dangerous truths we ignore in the name of love.When you read this book, you will make many assumptions.You will assume you are reading about a jealous wife and her obsession with her replacement.You will assume you are reading about a woman about to enter a new marriage with the man she loves.You will assume the first wife was a disaster and that the husband was well rid of her.You will assume you know the motives, the history, the anatomy of the relationships.Assume nothing.Discover the next blockbuster novel of suspense, and get ready for the read of your life.I can not say that I was hooked straight from the very beginning. This one has a slow burn going into it. Once I got into it though I couldn't put it down. It was like a rollercoaster ride filled with twists and turns. I found this psychological thriller to be very addicting once I got to the suspense. The chapters are very short, so it is a fast paced read. This book is very well written. I loved the dialogue, and the writing style. The characters were so well developed. This one kept me on the edge of my seat and kept me guessing. All the clues were there but it was like a jigsaw puzzle. The pieces of this puzzle just made this an unpredictable read for me. It was so surprising. I could not put it down and kept wondering what was going to happen next. The book ended very well. It kept my attention and amazed me. It has several jaw dropping moments. I recommend it. I want to thank Netgalley, St. Martin's Press and the author for the copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Elyse
    January 1, 1970
    The new *IT* psychological suspense novel - to be released in stores everywhere in January 2018 - is GOOD! It’s really GOOD! ZERO SPOILERS!!!!!I personally think it must have been a ‘KICK-OF-FUN’ for authors Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen to collaborate together. There is a wonderful YouTube of both authors speaking about ‘how’ they went about writing it together - they didn’t each just take one character. They both worked on everything ..... and it sure sounds like they treasured working to The new *IT* psychological suspense novel - to be released in stores everywhere in January 2018 - is GOOD! It’s really GOOD! ZERO SPOILERS!!!!!I personally think it must have been a ‘KICK-OF-FUN’ for authors Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen to collaborate together. There is a wonderful YouTube of both authors speaking about ‘how’ they went about writing it together - they didn’t each just take one character. They both worked on everything ..... and it sure sounds like they treasured working together. Its very cool to see two women working together like they did: touches something extra special in me. Congrats to them both..... GREAT RESULTS TOO! I’m not going to going to explain this novel away... but you will meet Nellie, Vanessa, Richard, Samantha, Maureen, Charlotte, Mrs Keene, Frank, Lucille, Emma, and a few other characters. Think of ‘all’ the characters in the story - including names I haven’t mentioned as your puzzle pieces. As in doing a jigsaw puzzle, it’s not complete until every piece has been put together. The enjoyment of reading psychological suspense novels, often has more to do with the ‘game’ of piecing the ‘story-puzzle’ together than the specifics of the story itself. As for the storytelling itself - the writing is excellent- the dialogue superb ....with plots and subplots. Some details were more interesting to me than others. For example - I liked there’re being a pre school - “The Learning Ladder” —but rolled my eyes at the cost of $32,000 a year. I wasn’t too crazy about a parent putting her three-year-old in mandarin classes, karate, and music classes all at the same time..... as it feed into my thoughts of “the hurried child”.I’m not thrilled with stereotyping the wealthy parents/ low paying teacher themes in our fiction books too much.... even though I’m aware it’s true. I’m a little tired of it — yet .... I loved the way the characters were developed. The biggest enjoyment was trying to fit clues together and do double takes when surprising chunks fell from the sky. I don’t want my entire reading-diet to be this genre....but when I do pick one — I want the spicy elements of the guessing game to pull the rug out from under me .... “The Wife Between Us” YANKED the rug ( out from under me). 4.5 Thank You St. Martin’s Press, Netgalley, Greer Hendricks, and Sarah Pekkhanen
    more
  • karen
    January 1, 1970
    NOW AVAILABLE!!!every time i read a review where a book is “praised” as being "compulsively readable," i roll my eyes. ev. er. y. time.and i don't know if this particular book has received that lazy praise-umbrella anywhere, but in general, it's one of those overused empty-calorie assessments that tells me nothing about a book but is taking up space and time where i could have been reading something more useful. which is how most karen-eyerolls are earned. and yet... i gulped this book down, i g NOW AVAILABLE!!!every time i read a review where a book is “praised” as being "compulsively readable," i roll my eyes. ev. er. y. time.and i don't know if this particular book has received that lazy praise-umbrella anywhere, but in general, it's one of those overused empty-calorie assessments that tells me nothing about a book but is taking up space and time where i could have been reading something more useful. which is how most karen-eyerolls are earned. and yet... i gulped this book down, i got mad when i had to pause in my reading of it to sleep, get off the train, go to work, look both ways for traffic (i read while i walk down streets), etc, and while i'm not here claiming it's the literary masterpiece that's going to change books forever, it is - dare i say??COMPULSIVELEY READABLE!full review to come.(from me - there are plenty of other reviews on here that are bound to be better than mine, have at 'em!) okay, “to come” is now. so - this book was an unsolicited bonus book that st. martin’s sent along way back when they sent me an arc of Emma in the Night for review. this arc had a plain white cover, the pub date was 7 months away, and it was written by two authors*, none of which were pushing this book to the top of my stack: i’m easily swayed by cover art, i’m always wary of books written by more than one person, and i had a mountain of arcs with closer pub dates that needed my attention. so i put this one off for a while, figuring it was just one more hastily-written book being plopped onto the neverending conveyor belt of middlebrow marriage-based psych suspense. but nooooooo - this is probably** the best psychological suspense i read all year (and i read a few), and i liked this one more than Emma in the Night, so thank you for the unexpected treat, st. martins! i was just being silly up there, but there really is something compulsively readable about this book. it’s a breezy, easy read, but i don’t mean that in a bad way. i’m not sure how to articulate it - it’s unchallenging without being unambitious, if that makes sense. because this had to have taken pretty rigorous plotting and outlining for all the twists and reveals to land***, so it’s damn ambitious, but it goes down like pudding. and along the way, there are a couple of lumps in the pudding - not enough to ruin the taste, but enough to make you pause and say “hmmmm,” and try to figure out what those lumps signify, and i, for one, did not figure it out until the authors wanted me to figure it out. which is exactly what i want out of a book in this genre. so - many kudos and much gratitude to those involved in writing and editing this book. it was so much fun (where the definition of "fun" is modulated to take into account the genre standards of people being horrible to each other), and very surprising. so no spoilers, suckers! get your own pudding! * and i’m not a book snob - no one who has read as much monsterporn as i have is gonna have any judgment left in them, but i do know my own preferences, and one of the authors has published a number of books whose cover montage of “back of a woman gazing out in contemplation at the sea/the woods/some other vista” made me think they would not be aligned with my particular tastes. i prefer action to introspection in my books. ** it’s either this or Sometimes I Lie*** and it’s very rare for them all to land in such an early arc, so give the editorial team a pizza partycome to my blog!
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    I am just speechless! There are so many twists, I was seeing double! My head was spinning and I went back to re-read several parts to “make sure” I read what I thought I read. Yes, that is exactly what I read. I need a lifeline….can I call a friend?Meet Vanessa, the ex-wife with issues. I think I know her! She is jealous and obsessed with her replacement, Nellie. She is young and pretty just like her former self and Vanessa is having a hard time dealing with reality! Richard is the handsome, but I am just speechless! There are so many twists, I was seeing double! My head was spinning and I went back to re-read several parts to “make sure” I read what I thought I read. Yes, that is exactly what I read. I need a lifeline….can I call a friend?Meet Vanessa, the ex-wife with issues. I think I know her! She is jealous and obsessed with her replacement, Nellie. She is young and pretty just like her former self and Vanessa is having a hard time dealing with reality! Richard is the handsome, but controlling husband. What are Richard's motives?Vanessa is determined to stop Richard’s marriage from happening and nothing will stop her.Even if your detective skills are top-notch, you will be hood-winked. Enjoy!My stop on the blog tour will be on December 6, 2017 at https://dressedtoread.com/Thank you to St.Martin's Press for my ARC.
    more
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    The Wife Between Us is a 2017 St. Martin’s Press publication. Engrossing domestic thriller! This book got such a tremendous response from my fellow GR friends, I shot it up to the top of my TBR list, ignoring my usual cautionary optimistic approach to well received popular books, because I just had a feeling this one would deliver. Richard’s first wife, Vanessa, was dumped for a younger woman after many years of marriage. Gone were all the trappings of wealth she had enjoyed as she struggles to The Wife Between Us is a 2017 St. Martin’s Press publication. Engrossing domestic thriller! This book got such a tremendous response from my fellow GR friends, I shot it up to the top of my TBR list, ignoring my usual cautionary optimistic approach to well received popular books, because I just had a feeling this one would deliver. Richard’s first wife, Vanessa, was dumped for a younger woman after many years of marriage. Gone were all the trappings of wealth she had enjoyed as she struggles to put her life back in order. Forced to live with her aunt and take a job at Saks, Vanessa’s thinks obsessively about Richard’s new girlfriend, Nellie, while consuming large quantities of alcohol. When she inadvertently finds out that Richard plans to remarry, her fragile state of mind spirals out of control. The only thing she can think about is confronting Nellie for a face to face showdown. Nellie, by all appearances, seems like a sweet girl, perhaps a bit naïve, completely smitten with her fiancé, Richard. She can’t wait to start her new, ‘dream come true' life with her dashing, successful husband. But, she, too, may have a few dark secrets lurking in her past. But, unbeknownst to Nellie, she is being watched, even stalked by a woman whose driving force in life is to prevent her wedding from ever taking place. The author did a fantastic job of doling out just the right amount of information at key intervals, subtly changing the dynamics of the story by giving the reader another possible angle to explore. My initial impressions of the situation presented to me, morphs little by little, as pieces of the puzzle are slowly revealed. Once the entire jigsaw puzzle is complete, the picture staring back at me, looks nothing at all like what I was expecting. This story has a few surprises I never saw coming. The only minor let down was that the plot had a few similarities to another book I’d read just a few weeks ago, which deflated the balloon a little, but not too much, because it didn’t become obvious until I was already very deep into the book. The truth is, the author kept me guessing and on my toes pretty much from start to finish. I was a bit conflicted about the final turn of the screw. I usually love all that added relish on top, but lately those late minute plot twists are becoming all too common, making them more tiresome than anything else and falling flat, as a result. In this case, the story could have ended quite satisfactorily without that final revelation, but I suppose, since it was a complete shock to me, I must grudgingly concede my approval for sneaking that one by me completely undetected. Overall, I’m not sure I was as blown away by this one as my contemporaries, but this is a very solid, highly entertaining domestic thriller, and is certainly worth checking out. 4 stars*Netgalley
    more
  • Evgnossia O'Hara
    January 1, 1970
    Review was originally published on Through the Chapters|Blog*3 stars*Have you heard about the ironic process theory which deals with the attempts to suppress certain thoughts and by this means make them more likely to surface?For example, imagine a situation where someone tells you not to think about pink elephants. So, what are you doing? You are thinking about those pink elephants. You picture them in your mind in all their glory and even when you try to think of something else they invade int Review was originally published on Through the Chapters|Blog*3 stars*Have you heard about the ironic process theory which deals with the attempts to suppress certain thoughts and by this means make them more likely to surface?For example, imagine a situation where someone tells you not to think about pink elephants. So, what are you doing? You are thinking about those pink elephants. You picture them in your mind in all their glory and even when you try to think of something else they invade into your thoughts again. Ironic, isn’t it?So, when I’ve read the synopsis of “The Wife Between Us” and have been warned to Assume nothing What did I do? I was assuming, I was wondering, I was guessing, non-stop, throughout the story. Guess what. I figured out the first plot twist which had to blow my mind away. But it just didn’t happen since I was warned to assume nothing. See? The ironic process theory.Let’s put first things firsts. I was craving to read this book the first time I saw it on Goodreads. The cover was intriguing; the reception of my Goodreads friends astonishing, and the synopsis made me assuming theories even before I had the change to read the first line.Generally speaking, the story deals with two young women, an ex-wife and a bride to be. Vanessa and Nellie. They both are in love with Richard, an accomplished man who can protect the woman of his life. Vanessa, the jealous ex-wife, is not ready to let him continue with his life and marry Nellie. As a result, she’s trying to prevent this marriage no matter the cost and the consequences. I won’t tell something else on the plot as I don’t want to spoil you. You’d better go into it, knowing as less as possible.To continue with my reading experience, some may thing that the first part of the story was a little bit dragged but it was essential for the writers to construct the background of the main characters and lead to the main plot twist. The same plot twist that I figured out in the early stage of my reading. Needless to say, I was disappointed; I didn’t have the chance to feel this turmoil that good turns of events produce.Nonetheless, I was still yearning for the development of the story and was waiting for the next plot twist in order to compensate myself. I have to confess that some lines in the novel such as… I never been the woman he thought he’d married. and… They say the wife is always the last to know. …made me eager to keep reading, to keep turning the pages, just to learn what happens next, where the story will lead me, but at the same time I was assuming again. And again I was somehow right. What is the problem with me?Still, I was waiting for the great plot twist until the very last page, till the very last sentence. Unfortunately, I wasn’t struck with amazement. There were another one plot twist but I was completely uninterested in that one. To tell more, it was unnecessary as it didn’t change anything in my already thorough opinion. The only thing I wanted to do was:I have to acknowledge some positive aspects of the novel. The writing was flawless; the characters were multidimensional with past and secrets that made me to continue reading. It was a generator of controversial emotions. I felt compassion, anger, happiness and even malice. I cannot also omit the message that the story provides us with. You will understand after reading the book. That’s why I love reading. A book is not only a good story or a shocking plot twist; it is a journey, a message, a lesson, a life, a powerful and deep gift which speaks a different truth to each and every one of us. With those in mind, if you decide to read “The Wife Between Us”, do not stay at the “assume nothing”, cause you will activate your mind to assume everything and in all likelihood to guess the main twist or a part of it. But if we’ll take under consideration the theory, you have already arguably aroused your mind to assume, guess and judge. So, I’m the one to blame here…
    more
  • Kaceey - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    4.5*When a book can create a buzz…when my sense of anxiety notches up! I know I’ve come across a great read! This fantastic new release by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen did just that for me! With a constant aura of anticipation and unease, (Just what we love when reading a thriller!) I breezed through the pages. I was reminded partially through, (thank you Brenda!) that a wicked twist lay ahead. Yet even with a heads-up, I never saw it coming! Whaaat??!! And bonus…there were plenty more to 4.5*When a book can create a buzz…when my sense of anxiety notches up! I know I’ve come across a great read! This fantastic new release by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen did just that for me! With a constant aura of anticipation and unease, (Just what we love when reading a thriller!) I breezed through the pages. I was reminded partially through, (thank you Brenda!) that a wicked twist lay ahead. Yet even with a heads-up, I never saw it coming! Whaaat??!! And bonus…there were plenty more to come! A fantastic, mind-bending thriller dealing with… marriage, divorce and the other woman (not necessarily in that order!). And well, I’ll just stop there! I won’t keep rattling on and risk giving anything away. Trust me, the less you know going in, the more you’ll enjoy this one!And be forewarned – you’ll want to clear your schedule. Once you start, you won’t want to put this one down! A great collaboration from Ms. Hendricks and Ms. Pekkanen. An exciting new writing duo in the thriller arena. Can’t wait for their next release!!A wonderful Traveling Sister Read with Brenda, Norma, Lindsay and Susanne!Thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen for an ARC of this novel to read and review.For this review and our Full Traveling Sister review please visit Norma and Brenda’s fabulous book blog: http://www.twogirlslostinacouleereadi...
    more
  • Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
    January 1, 1970
    When you read a very hyped up thriller and just end up disappointed. I'm not going to give away any of the storyline because it is one that you just have to read. When I started this book I was over the top excited...because it does start off so very good.Then for some stupid reason the book gods that hate me stepped in and decided to make this a total story twist overload. Every frigging wife book doesn't have to be stupid Gone Girl. (I hated that shit too.)Just make some crazy married peoples When you read a very hyped up thriller and just end up disappointed. I'm not going to give away any of the storyline because it is one that you just have to read. When I started this book I was over the top excited...because it does start off so very good.Then for some stupid reason the book gods that hate me stepped in and decided to make this a total story twist overload. Every frigging wife book doesn't have to be stupid Gone Girl. (I hated that shit too.)Just make some crazy married peoples and I will eat it up. But what do I know? Everyone else is loving the heck out of this book. I'm giving it a three star not because it deserved it. BECAUSE IT DOES NOT...but I couldn't stop reading the thing.Now for the trolls that for some unholy reason will feel the need to troll this vague ass review. *You really don't...because I'll just block you and then talk about you when you can't post on it anymore.Booksource: Netgalley in exchange for review.
    more
  • Melisa
    January 1, 1970
    Just a few more days to enter my giveaway!GIVEAWAY💙 12/15/17 - I have not one, not two but THREE copies of The Wife Between Us to giveaway! You can enter on my blog here .____________Engrossing and addictive, this little gem of a thriller with a major twist had me second guessing every character and I loved every moment of it!This is one of those books that is unputdownable – you will be thinking of the characters when you’re not reading and wondering how it will all pan out. I had absolutely no Just a few more days to enter my giveaway!GIVEAWAY💙 12/15/17 - I have not one, not two but THREE copies of The Wife Between Us to giveaway! You can enter on my blog here .____________Engrossing and addictive, this little gem of a thriller with a major twist had me second guessing every character and I loved every moment of it!This is one of those books that is unputdownable – you will be thinking of the characters when you’re not reading and wondering how it will all pan out. I had absolutely no idea who to trust throughout the story, my opinion changed every chapter. This was a deeply intricate plot and all the pieces came together perfectly in the end.I wasn’t sure how a book written by two authors would work out, but they managed to seamlessly tell this tale. This is a well written, fast-paced story that will keep you guessing all the way to the epilogue. Fans of the psychological thriller – you don’t want to miss this one!You can also find my review on my blog for the blog tour at www.thebookcollective.net.Thank you to Netgalley, Greer Hendricks, Sarah Pakkanen and St. Martin’s press for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Emily (Books with Emily Fox)
    January 1, 1970
    Another thriller, another meh review.This book follows an ex-wife obsessed by her replacement... or so you'll think. The book did contains some twists I didn't see coming but I can't say I cared... at all. Contrary to the other reviews, I don't think this book will blow your mind. It was another domestic thriller with a drinking non reliable woman. It's now so common, it's straight up boring. I'm literally wondering if we read the same book.If you're going to read it, I recommend the audiobook s Another thriller, another meh review.This book follows an ex-wife obsessed by her replacement... or so you'll think. The book did contains some twists I didn't see coming but I can't say I cared... at all. Contrary to the other reviews, I don't think this book will blow your mind. It was another domestic thriller with a drinking non reliable woman. It's now so common, it's straight up boring. I'm literally wondering if we read the same book.If you're going to read it, I recommend the audiobook since it made the experience more enjoyable. I'm not sure I would have finished it otherwise!
    more
  • Crumb
    January 1, 1970
    When I read a book, there is something satisfying about being able to figure out the mystery before the big reveal. And there is something even more satisfying about being completely flummoxed as to what just happened. This was my reaction upon reaching the conclusion: Step by Step Instructions For Reading This Book 1. Find a Comfy Chair 2. Maybe make a cup of tea or cocoa 3. Abandon all hope that you will get anything else done today. You won't want to. Your eyes are going to be glued to this When I read a book, there is something satisfying about being able to figure out the mystery before the big reveal. And there is something even more satisfying about being completely flummoxed as to what just happened. This was my reaction upon reaching the conclusion: Step by Step Instructions For Reading This Book 1. Find a Comfy Chair 2. Maybe make a cup of tea or cocoa 3. Abandon all hope that you will get anything else done today. You won't want to. Your eyes are going to be glued to this thriller. I read a lot.. and I also read a lot of thrillers. So, sometimes I find myself bored, frankly. They can get redundant and repetitive. But this one was fresh and unpredictable. Highly Recommended!
    more
  • Debbie
    January 1, 1970
    EEK! A twister blister formed in my poor brain and it was ready to burst! This thriller had a twist that made me think three things, explanations that jumped fast around inside my head, irritating the hell out of the blister: Either I was an absolute dummy, or I had meandered into the Twilight Zone, or the publisher (or editor) had made a mistake that was mammoth and unforgiveable. My 10-step journey:1. Was going along just fine, enjoying this fast-moving thriller. La-dee-da, la-dee-da. 2. Got h EEK! A twister blister formed in my poor brain and it was ready to burst! This thriller had a twist that made me think three things, explanations that jumped fast around inside my head, irritating the hell out of the blister: Either I was an absolute dummy, or I had meandered into the Twilight Zone, or the publisher (or editor) had made a mistake that was mammoth and unforgiveable. My 10-step journey:1. Was going along just fine, enjoying this fast-moving thriller. La-dee-da, la-dee-da. 2. Got hit. WHAP! What just happened???? I was about halfway through. Surely all will be made clear in a second. But it wasn’t. I should understand. But I don’t. Way too confusing!3. Reread pages. At first, I did so patiently, though nervously. Nothing clicked. A book should not be this hard! 4. Reread the pages a few dozen more times. I kept at it. Reread these sentences, carefully, I told myself, they WILL make sense. They always do in the end. But I was losing my dear patience. I was mad, I tell you. How could they do this to me? Despite my attempt at soothing self-talk, this book continued to make NO sense.5. Paced. Okay, I’m a sitter, not a pacer. For this sitter to actually pace in the middle of reading a book is an unheard-of event. I usually just sit still and let my head (instead of my legs) do the work. As I clomped through my all-in-a-row living room, dining room, and kitchen (a nice straight place to pace), I tried desperately to figure out what was going on in this book that had hooked me from the start. I had pretty much settled on the idea that of the three possibilities, I was a dummy, unfit to handle a twist in a stupid book (because by this time, I was defensively calling the book “stupid”).6. Paced some more. I don’t remember it clearly (due to stress, which often obliterates memory), but I’m pretty sure I was cussing by this point. I should have been wearing a pedometer.7. Loaded the dishwasher. The hell with this book, I’ll do my chores. Doing the dishes never seemed so pleasant.8. Sat back down. Should I abandon this book? Throw my Kindle across the room? (Not a smart idea to throw an electronic device, so I nixed it.) I was really pissed off. A book should not make me this mad or be this hard. My head hurt. Maybe I should call a friend and just forget about this dumb story.9. Reread pages one last time. Okay, I’ll try, but that’s it—no more. 10. And then….OMG, I get it!!!! I get it!!!! I love this book! This twist is genius!! I felt like I had found the last piece in a 3,000-piece jigsaw puzzle. I was all cocky now that I had finally understood, and I could not stop marveling at the ingenuity of it. The authors winked at me. I winked back.So that was my frustrating journey. I was exhausted, both mentally and physically. But then I started reading like a mad fool; my energy was renewed. Plus my dishes were done and I had had a little exercise. It’s about time that I mentioned what the book is about: A scorned, obsessed ex-wife whose ex-husband is about marry again, is stalking the new fiancé. There are some good secrets about everyone’s past. As I read on, though, I realized that no twist could outdo that first one. That first humdinger was a twist of a different kind, but I’m not going to elaborate. I don’t want to give anything away.The twists continued. What fun to have a stream of them, not just one. Most books don’t come with a variety. I could not stop reading. In fact, I read this book in two days, which is super fast for me. But yes, there was a bit of a letdown, only because that first twist was so grand. Also, the characters were somewhat stereotypical at first. Even some of the twists seemed a little familiar. But there were surprises that were new. The Epilogue was really good, for instance. Really good.I do think this book might be a blockbuster. Unlike in Gone Girl, however, the language didn’t slay me; it was pretty pedestrian. I liked that there were no wasted words, though. As an ex-editor, I’m fascinated by the fact that this was written by two people. I can’t imagine how that worked.This book is being brought to the big screen. I can’t for the life of me figure out how that first twist will be handled—sure hope they don’t have to ditch it, because the movie wouldn’t be as great without it. I’m definitely lining up to see the movie, though. I recommend this book because of all the twists. As the blurb says, assume nothing, because nothing, and I mean nothing, is as it seems. I definitely thought it was a lot of fun, despite the pain of my twister blister. Thanks to NetGalley for the advance copy.
    more
  • Maddie
    January 1, 1970
    ‘I’m not afraid of storms, for I’m learning how to sail my ship.’- Little Women Richard;was thirty-six, nine years older than Nellie when they met, and a successful hedge fund manager, he was caring, charismatic, and accomplished. As the novel progress you will learn he doesn’t let people in, hides a lot of things, easily agitated!Nellie;Nellie fell in love with him almost immediately!In the beginning of this novel, she was stable, happy, loving and trusting, but as the novel progressed. -> ‘I’m not afraid of storms, for I’m learning how to sail my ship.’- Little Women Richard;was thirty-six, nine years older than Nellie when they met, and a successful hedge fund manager, he was caring, charismatic, and accomplished. As the novel progress you will learn he doesn’t let people in, hides a lot of things, easily agitated!Nellie;Nellie fell in love with him almost immediately!In the beginning of this novel, she was stable, happy, loving and trusting, but as the novel progressed. -> insecure, scared of her own shadow, trust nobody and maybe a little weird at times.One day her friend Sam asked Nellie: “Ever think he’s too good to be true"Nellie hadn’t been joking when she replied to Sam’s question by saying, “Only every day" Richard’s left Nellie for his assistant; Emma Sutton, Her name is Emma. “I used to be you,” I begin as I look at the young woman before me. -Nellie“He said you might try something like this.” Contempt has replaced the sympathy in her voice. She folds her arms and I know I am losing her. “He told me you were jealous, but this has gotten out of control. I saw you outside my building last week. Richard said if you pull something like that again, we’ll file a restraining order.” - Emma There are two more women, also playing a significant part in this novel! 🍁🍁🍁🍁🍁Wow, one thing I need to mention, this book takes a lot of concentration! Nobody in this novel is who they seem to be, and as the story unfolds you will get glimpses of the history of the characters, why they do what they do, and reason why they are who they are, or why they did what they did!I found this read a bit complicated at times, because I did not understand some of the motivations behind the actions, and it also felt as if the story was going in circles!  🍁🍁🍁🍁🍁 “Would you rather not have known who I really was?” She considers this for a moment.“The truth is the only way to move forward.” 🍁🍁🍁🍁🍁This novel will keep you on the edge of your seat, and is a nail biting experience, OKAY I have not read that many to be honest!!!I watched both these movies -> Gone girl and The girl on the train, and this book kinda reminded me of those movies, but not entirely!I will highly recommend to lovers of thriller books (which is usually not my cuppa) but this one kept me hooked, if you loving twist and turns and until the very end, something to keep you guessing and on the edge of your seat,-> READ THIS!Dear author: Please explain the following!WTF happened to Duke, the German Shepherd.Ugh, it made me so frustrated on a stage I did not even care who was who anymore!!!Other that that, your novel hooked me!!Sincerely MaddieTo Nazanin:Thanks Nazanin you know the the reason 😘
    more
  • Linda
    January 1, 1970
    Piercing eyes locked in.......trying to make sense of what has just transpired.Like the unsettled feeling of reclaiming your own wine glass in a sea of abandoned stemware left willy nilly on a crowded bar. A second's turn of your back and your identity is gone. Claimed by another or still existing in a look-alike world. Here and then gone......Vanessa Thompson awakens in the tiny guestroom in her Aunt Charlotte's apartment. Her marriage is over and the aftermath is like shattered glass with the Piercing eyes locked in.......trying to make sense of what has just transpired.Like the unsettled feeling of reclaiming your own wine glass in a sea of abandoned stemware left willy nilly on a crowded bar. A second's turn of your back and your identity is gone. Claimed by another or still existing in a look-alike world. Here and then gone......Vanessa Thompson awakens in the tiny guestroom in her Aunt Charlotte's apartment. Her marriage is over and the aftermath is like shattered glass with the pieces of her remaining life never quite fitting together again. Examining the fragments will only initiate the bleeding once more. A promise of retrieving the hidden wine bottles in her closet at the end of the day gives her the impetus to dress for her retail job at Saks. She also walks a tightrope there with impending dismissal looming because of her constant days off.Richard had all the fine cut and polish of the successful man on the cover of GQ. His position as a hedge fund manager brought them the finer things in life. What could possibly go wrong with perfection? Vanessa asks herself if her skittish behavior was due to the fertility medications she was taking after constant unsuccessful episodes. Was it the fear of retribution from a horrendous haunting situation that occured in her senior year of college? Or was it simply that wine glass that beckoned to be constantly refilled?Startling news drifts in Vanessa's direction as the realization comes that Richard is to be remarried soon. One thing that Vanessa knows for sure is that that is not going to happen. Weak in mind, heart, and spirit, Vanessa is determined to get Richard's attention. One way or another.Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen present a storyline carved out with mega twists and turns. The eyes tend to deceive in this one. I mean, really deceive. That lipstick smudge on that wine glass may not actually be yours. Then where is yours and where is theirs? Guess you're going to have to crack this one open to see for yourself. Told in three main parts, you'll be flipping back pages to knock on reality's door. Did that just happen? Yep, yep it did......I received an advanced copy of The Wife Between Us through St. Martin's Press. My thanks to them and to Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen for the opportunity.
    more
  • Larry H
    January 1, 1970
    I'm between 3 and 3.5 stars. Maybe 3.25?"In my marriage, there were three truths, three alternate and sometimes compelling realities. There was Richard's truth. There was my truth. And there was the actual truth, which is always the most elusive to recognize. This could be the case in every relationship that we think we've entered into a union with another person when, in fact, we've formed a triangle with one point anchored by a silent but all-seeing judge, the arbiter of reality."Vanessa's mar I'm between 3 and 3.5 stars. Maybe 3.25?"In my marriage, there were three truths, three alternate and sometimes compelling realities. There was Richard's truth. There was my truth. And there was the actual truth, which is always the most elusive to recognize. This could be the case in every relationship that we think we've entered into a union with another person when, in fact, we've formed a triangle with one point anchored by a silent but all-seeing judge, the arbiter of reality."Vanessa's marriage is over. She once had a handsome, rich, powerful husband, and they lived a life of luxury. But they drifted apart, and her husband found another woman. Now she lives with her aunt, wears out-of-date clothing, and is a shell of herself, working a job she hates just to make ends meet.Nellie is a bubbly, young, beautiful preschool teacher. She's finally met her Prince Charming, the man who will rescue her from her messy shared apartment, her nights spent as a cocktail waitress (even though she enjoys them), and takeout meals before hanging out with her friends at various bars and clubs. She also has secrets of her own, and things that cause her to be afraid, and she hopes her fiancé will save her from those, too.If you think The Wife Between Us is a story about a jilted wife jealous of her husband's new fiancée, you're not quite right. This is a story about how things are seldom as simple as they seem, and how appearances can be deceiving. It's also a story about trust, fear, truth, manipulation, and finding your own way.Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen throw a lot of twists into this book, which is why my description is fairly spartan, because I don't want to spoil anything for you. Every time you think you have things figured out, they swerve again, so you definitely want to keep reading, to see where it all winds up.There are a lot of thrillers out there these days, and many of them deal with relationships that don't go as planned, and the aftermath of breakups, as well as the manipulation that often occurs within a relationship. While the twists definitely jolted the plot a bit, overall I felt a lot of the plotlines were very familiar. At times, I found myself growing a little impatient with the pace of the story, because I wanted to see where Hendricks and Pekkanen would go next, and wanted to move past some of the more commonplace incidents.Is this a compelling thriller? It definitely has its moments, and many of my Goodreads friends have raved about this, so maybe I've just read too many books in this genre this year. It did keep me guessing, though, and sometimes I was right, and sometimes I was wrong. This will probably be one of the beach reads of 2018, so don't let me dissuade you from picking it up.NetGalley and St. Martin's Press provided me an advance copy of the book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making this available! See all of my reviews at http://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blo....
    more
  • Mischenko
    January 1, 1970
    This review can be seen @ https://readrantrockandroll.com/2017/...Vanessa has problems. Now that she’s divorced from Richard, she can’t stand the fact that Richard has moved on. Not only is he his usual thriving self, but now he’s getting married to someone new–someone young and beautiful. It just so happens that this new woman reminds Vanessa of someone she used to be.What is it about Richard? Was he a perfect husband? Is he truly a knight in shining armor? Was Vanessa a psycho and mentally uns This review can be seen @ https://readrantrockandroll.com/2017/...Vanessa has problems. Now that she’s divorced from Richard, she can’t stand the fact that Richard has moved on. Not only is he his usual thriving self, but now he’s getting married to someone new–someone young and beautiful. It just so happens that this new woman reminds Vanessa of someone she used to be.What is it about Richard? Was he a perfect husband? Is he truly a knight in shining armor? Was Vanessa a psycho and mentally unstable wife? Who’s to blame for the marriage ending and what role do the others have in this story?I went in to this book super excited after reading multiple rave reviews about it from friends on Goodreads. It seemed like everyone was loving it, so I went straight to NetGalley and put in my request. After I started reading it, I didn’t want to put it down. I thought for sure I knew where the story was going. It felt slow to me, but I hung on until nearly halfway through when the first major twist was introduced. I was shocked! I was so very surprised and befuddled thinking that I’d skipped something or that I was lost. It seemed unique and interesting, but as time went on, I became disentranced and my mind began to wonder away from the story. The characters became confusing to me and the plot felt all over the place. It was like I wanted to get to the ending to see how things would unfold, but there simply wasn’t anything going on to captivate me. At times, I felt like there was too much information and in other places, simply not enough. I didn’t feel like it was horribly predictable as there were plenty of twists and a strange reveal at the end, but even with all the crazy twists, this just ended up being an okay read for me and it just didn’t feel like a thriller.I did still enjoy it and feel like this is going to be a favorite for many people! I will still recommend this because I know many will love it. The title, cover, and blurb fit the story perfectly!Thanks to Netgalley for this ARC of The Wife Between Us.3***
    more
  • Carol (Bookaria)
    January 1, 1970
    This is an excellent thriller!The main character is a woman whose wealthy and attractive husband Richard has left her for a younger woman. Since the divorce, she has been living with her aunt and works at Saks. Then she learns that her ex-husband plans to marry again and this is where the book starts. Let me tell you, the publisher's description of this book is accurate: "ASSUME NOTHING". Go into it as blind as possible and you won't regret it. The less you know the better your reading experienc This is an excellent thriller!The main character is a woman whose wealthy and attractive husband Richard has left her for a younger woman. Since the divorce, she has been living with her aunt and works at Saks. Then she learns that her ex-husband plans to marry again and this is where the book starts. Let me tell you, the publisher's description of this book is accurate: "ASSUME NOTHING". Go into it as blind as possible and you won't regret it. The less you know the better your reading experience will be.Once I started reading this novel I could not stop, it kept me engaged throughout. "The Wife Between Us" is a twisted and thrilling novel about relationships, marriage, and friendship. Overall I loved it and recommend it to all lovers of thrillers, mysteries and suspense. Also recommend it to lovers of contemporary fiction.FINAL NOTE: the novel has already been optioned for a movie.Thanks to NetGalley, St. Martin's Press, and the authors for providing me with a copy of this publication in exchange for an honest review.MORE INFORMATION:✔ Watch the book trailer here✔ Watch an interview with the authors (no spoilers)
    more
  • Norma * Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 stars rounded up to 5 stars!This book was an entertaining read that was extremely enjoyable and hard for me to put down! It is definitely going into my favourite reads shelf! It's chilling, gripping, intense, and filled with so many unexpected twists and turns that will keep you guessing right until that cleverly written surprise ending! Would recommend!Blog Tour Post and full Traveling Sisters Review can be found on our sister blog:https://twogirlslostinacouleereading....
    more
  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    Holy Cow! UN-believable! To be honest, at first, I thought this novel was just another contemporary version of "Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned" but NO way. THE WIFE BETWEEN US is exceptionally creative and SO MUCH MORE!Then....confusion set in (for 2 minutes) BUT I soon found it was all part of the author's elaborate scheme to set up the reader, SO.....if you gave up along the way, you just may want to pick up where you left off because (for me) THE WIFE BETWEEN US is a winner of a debut Holy Cow! UN-believable! To be honest, at first, I thought this novel was just another contemporary version of "Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned" but NO way. THE WIFE BETWEEN US is exceptionally creative and SO MUCH MORE!Then....confusion set in (for 2 minutes) BUT I soon found it was all part of the author's elaborate scheme to set up the reader, SO.....if you gave up along the way, you just may want to pick up where you left off because (for me) THE WIFE BETWEEN US is a winner of a debut.....YES, a debut!I'll not give anything away, but will say "ASSUME NOTHING"....the plot twists are remarkable, and when the story was over, I was left with a big fat smile of satisfaction on my face.Wow! Five Stars for great writing, superb plot....and playing me the fool. Hehehe....Many thanks AGAIN to St. Martin's Press and NetGalley for the ARC in exchange for an honest review! Coming January, 2018....Don't miss this one!
    more
  • Gabby
    January 1, 1970
    Warning: unpopular opinion. I cannot for the life of me understand the high ratings and great reviews this book is getting. The description for this book on goodreads literally says: "Discover the next blockbuster novel of suspense, and get ready for the read of your life." Blockbuster novel of suspense? Did I just read the right book? Is this a joke or...?This book claims to be a suspense/thriller but it's neither of those things. It's a mystery that is dragged out throughout the entire book, t Warning: unpopular opinion. I cannot for the life of me understand the high ratings and great reviews this book is getting. The description for this book on goodreads literally says: "Discover the next blockbuster novel of suspense, and get ready for the read of your life." Blockbuster novel of suspense? Did I just read the right book? Is this a joke or...?This book claims to be a suspense/thriller but it's neither of those things. It's a mystery that is dragged out throughout the entire book, that I couldn't give two fucks about honestly. I made an update around the 200 page mark where I complained that nothing interesting had even happened in the story yet and I wasn't sure if I should finish it, but I did and... god damn this book was my Everest. It took so much energy to finish this book because of how bored I was by the story. The title and the goodreads description of this book make it seem like it's going to be some crazy twisted love triangle with so many plot twists and that it's going to be so different form anything else you've ever read, but in reality it's this ridiculously annoying love triangle with a main chaarcter who is obsessed with her ex-husband and a few lame "plot twists" get thrown in along the way. The majority of this book is the main character Vanessa having flashbacks of her marriage with Richard and how "omg he was so perfect then" and "omg where did it all go wrong?" and it was so boring. The writing style is confusing too because I was always confused when it would randomly dive into a flashback and then randomly come back to the present. I never knew what scenes were taking place currently and what scenes were flashbacks, it was just very unorganized. This book attempts to make a 'plot twist' at the end of part one, which is around the 150 page mark, but it doesn't really change anything in the story. (view spoiler)[Like omg so you're telling me Nellie is actually Vanessa the entire time, and Nellie's parts were all just flashbacks of the beginning of her marriage with Richard? Cool. Doesn't change anything and I still don't know what went wrong in their marriage. (hide spoiler)] It's not a great plot twist, and I was expecting more from the next two parts. When I finally realized what this story is about towards the end, and I realized there wouldn't be any mind blowing plot twists, I was really disappointed. At the end of the day this is just another one of those stories where (view spoiler)[the main character Vanessa marries a man and he turns into this crazy, abusive asshole out of nowhere, and then she tries to escape from him. I'm just really tired of the 'I married a sweet guy and he turned out to be an abusive monster' trope in mysteries. It's gotten really old for me really fast. I just assumed this story would have more to it than that. Not to mention, I was irritated with Vanessa for 99% of the story because I'm like... If Richard was so abusive and you got away, why the hell are you still obsessing over him and trying to contact them? I know she's trying to 'save Emma' or whatever but still... Especially in part one she's constantly talking about how much she misses him and how great he used to be... like I'm sorry but get the fuck over it, he's disgusting and abusive. (hide spoiler)]I just hate that the main mystery happening in this story is trying to figure out what went wrong in Vanessa and Richard's marriage, and when it's finally revealed it's very obvious and basic and this mystery doesn't bring anything new to the table that we haven't seen in mysteries ten million times. I think this book tries to be clever and it just epically fails, and it was just so boring. The only good thing this book has going for it is the epilogue, which did have a plot twist that I didn't see coming - but even that did not make this book worth reading. I feel like I wasted my day off reading this, so read at your own risk. I don't recommend this.Thank you to Book of the Month for sending me this book as one of their December selections!
    more
  • Karen
    January 1, 1970
    Many of my Goodreads friends raved about this book. Well, I’m the odd one out. I was enjoying this for awhile, but then confusion set in for a good portion of the book, and I just simply wasn’t enjoying it anymore.However, thank you to NetGalley and St.Martins Press for the ARC.
    more
  • Mackenzie - Traveling Sister
    January 1, 1970
    Twisty-turny the whole way through!!!Well, I am LATE to the party on this one, fellow readers! I feel like the last person on earth to read this book, but it was calling to me from my pile beside my desk and I just had to take a break from review copies. I'm so glad I did! You always wonder if it is possible for the book to live up to the hype, but this one definitely did!! There's a reason it is a best seller. Vanessa is trying to rebuild her life --her marriage has ended and she is living with Twisty-turny the whole way through!!!Well, I am LATE to the party on this one, fellow readers! I feel like the last person on earth to read this book, but it was calling to me from my pile beside my desk and I just had to take a break from review copies. I'm so glad I did! You always wonder if it is possible for the book to live up to the hype, but this one definitely did!! There's a reason it is a best seller. Vanessa is trying to rebuild her life --her marriage has ended and she is living with her Aunt. Vanessa is broken. Her husband left her for another woman. And though she knew that he was seeing her, she never imagined it would go this far. Now he is set to marry her, and Vanessa will not let that happen! Nellie is happily engaged --her fiance is a true prince charming. Nellie feels so lucky to have met him that fateful day on the plane. Richard is attentive and supportive--he understands Nellie's history and loves her more for her struggles. But someone is following her... Nellie is sure of it! She keeps her doors locked, and looks behind her wherever she goes. Still, she can't help but look forward to her wedding, when she will truly feel safe. You may think you know these women --the bitter ex-wife, the innocent wife-to-be.. But as they say--looks can be deceiving! When reading this book, assume nothing!What a ride! There are several layers of twists in this book. It will start slow, and you'll get a feel for the major players. But don't let the pace fool you! The twists are dropped on you like bombshells, and you'll find yourself paging backwards to make sure you read what you thought you just did!!!I love the way Greer and Sarah write--they don't hit you in the face with the revelations. They drop them in, subtle in the delivery, but monumental in the impact. The novel is very character-driven. I love a book that deals with shattered characters as well as this one. There is the strength that shows to the world, and the strength within. We should all know that what is projected--what we see--isn't usually the full story. Things that seem perfect rarely are. And people that seem broken are often much stronger for what they went through than most will ever know.I will happily read anything by these two awesome women. And we are in luck! They are already working on their second collaboration due out in January 2019! I imagine it will be the hot copy everyone will want to get their hands on. If by some chance you haven't read this yet, go get a copy today!!!
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars* (rounded up).Chilling and Thrilling! It will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. Take notice friends. This is the next best seller.“The Wife Between Us” is compelling and absolutely riveting. This is the story of Vanessa, Richard and Nellie, whom you think you know oh so well, but the truth is, no one is ever who you think they are. And what I will tell you is that this book will have you looking over your shoulder, questioning everything - including yourselves.I was fre 4.5 Stars* (rounded up).Chilling and Thrilling! It will make the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. Take notice friends. This is the next best seller.“The Wife Between Us” is compelling and absolutely riveting. This is the story of Vanessa, Richard and Nellie, whom you think you know oh so well, but the truth is, no one is ever who you think they are. And what I will tell you is that this book will have you looking over your shoulder, questioning everything - including yourselves.I was freaked out from the start. Breathless, uncomfortable and a little afraid. My stomach was in knots, I was gripped in fear and yet I was unable to stop. I was like a mouse with a piece of cheese. I couldn’t get enough of the characters, especially of Vanessa, her angst, her needs and her fears. And just like the mouse, I got trapped. Trapped in the mystery. Trapped in the most idiosyncratic read ever. Loving every second of it. “The Wife Between Us” by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen is a phenomenal psychological thriller. It will be the must read thriller of 2018. It was addictive and completely captivating. The writing was brilliant and the fact that two authors wrote this together and did so seamlessly is one heck of a feat.This was a Traveling Sister read and I loved being a part of it. It included: Norma, Brenda, Kaceey and Lindsay. We had the absolute best time reading this book together. Thanks for including me sisters!The full Traveling Sister Group Review can be found on Norma and Brenda’s fabulous blog: https://twogirlslostinacouleereading.... Thank you to NetGalley, St. Martin’s Press and Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen for an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review.Published on NetGalley, Goodreads, Twitter and Instagram on 12/8/17.*Will be Published on Amazon on 1/9/18.
    more
  • Zoeytron
    January 1, 1970
    Copy furnished by Net Galley for the price of a review. Perfect husband. Perfect wife. Perfect life. You do not want to be the one who mars the perfection. Richard intends to protect his fairy tale with any means necessary. Make no mistake, he is very particular. He's always with you, whether physically present or not. Note the excellence of the beautiful bride and groom cake topper. You don't know how very fragile it is, nor how hollow. A disconnect, then isolation, a replacement, a vacant wedd Copy furnished by Net Galley for the price of a review. Perfect husband. Perfect wife. Perfect life. You do not want to be the one who mars the perfection. Richard intends to protect his fairy tale with any means necessary. Make no mistake, he is very particular. He's always with you, whether physically present or not. Note the excellence of the beautiful bride and groom cake topper. You don't know how very fragile it is, nor how hollow. A disconnect, then isolation, a replacement, a vacant wedding gown. Older sibling, Maureen, looms in the background. Is she friend or foe? And what is her stake in all of this?This novel is due out in January. Get on the list now. I predict it is going to hit the ground running.
    more
  • j e w e l s [Books Bejeweled]
    January 1, 1970
    OH. MY. GOSHHHHHHHHHHH. I HAD TO ADD THIS TO MY TWISTER HALL OF FAME SHELF!Where to start? This is hands down the twistiest, fastest, funnest-to-read domestic suspense in ages!Unreliable narrator? Check.Breath taking plot twists? Check.Fast turning addictive page turning? Check. check. check. check. check!What else is there in life? Unlike all the other domestic noir books that claim to be the next Gone Girl, THE WIFE BETWEEN US actually IS the next book that people will go crazy over. I'm so ex OH. MY. GOSHHHHHHHHHHH. I HAD TO ADD THIS TO MY TWISTER HALL OF FAME SHELF!Where to start? This is hands down the twistiest, fastest, funnest-to-read domestic suspense in ages!Unreliable narrator? Check.Breath taking plot twists? Check.Fast turning addictive page turning? Check. check. check. check. check!What else is there in life? Unlike all the other domestic noir books that claim to be the next Gone Girl, THE WIFE BETWEEN US actually IS the next book that people will go crazy over. I'm so excited, I wish it were coming out before January, because I cannot wait for you and everyone I know to read it!This is actually a very simple storyline, you've heard it before. Husband, wife, mistress. The difference is the clever, seamless way it is presented. Trust me, you've not ever read a story like this before. It's genius.I've posted a more in-depth (but NO SPOILERS) review on my blog at https://booksbejeweled.com/2018/01/09...IMPORTANT PUBLIC ANNOUNCEMENTThe authors just announced on Instagram that the book has already been optioned for film, by the same team at DreamWorks that brought us THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN movie. So exciting!For now, I just want to encourage all you influential readers to try and get your hands on a copy of THE WIFE BETWEEN US. I'm grateful to the folks at Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review it months ahead of publication.THIS BOOK IS LIT!
    more
Write a review