Second Chance Season
Return to Liora Blake’s Grand Valley series with Second Chance Season, in which an avowed country boy with a family duty meets an ambitious city girl with even bigger goals and who shows him just what he’s been missing.Garrett Strickland is unapologetically country, fiercely loyal, and perfectly happy with his job at the Hotchkiss Co-op. Garrett is all about living in the present and not dwelling in the past—even if he was once on his way to a lofty agricultural sciences degree that would guarantee the brightest of futures, only to end up back home when his old man died, leaving behind a debt-ridden family farm that was impossible to keep afloat. After that, it was easy to see why dreaming big wasn’t worth the heartache. And until he crosses paths with a city girl who’s hell-bent on kick-starting her own future, he’s sure that good enough is just that.Cara Cavanaugh is ready for more from life, even if that means changing everything; including dumping her boyfriend of ten years, turning down a lucrative job at a major newspaper, and leaving behind the upscale suburbs of Chicago where she grew up. Now, she just has to pray that temporarily relocating to the middle of nowhere in Colorado will be the first step in building a career as a freelance journalist—all she has to do is prove she’s got what it takes to make a name for herself. Unfortunately, her tony country day school is as close to “country” as she’s ever been. But when a goodhearted guy who looks like he just stumbled out of a country music video offers to help, she ends up falling hard…and discovering that the perfect story is a love story. And it’s theirs.Second Chance Season, book two in the Grand Valley series, is a charming, feel-good romance, perfect for fans of Jennifer Probst and Kristan Higgins.

Second Chance Season Details

TitleSecond Chance Season
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherPocket Books
ISBN1501175351
ISBN-139781501175350
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary

Second Chance Season Review

  • Melissa
    April 2, 2017
    Still on cloud nine from Whitney and Cooper’s story (First Step Forward), I dove headfirst into Cara and Garrett's. Sure, Liora Blake has proved to this crazed reader, time and time again, that she’s the queen of unlikely couples and uber-intense chemistry, but for some unknown reason, there’s still a teeny tiny part of me that’s hesitant going in. It’s like I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop—to be left disappointed after so many noteworthy reads. I mean, there’s no way she could introduce m Still on cloud nine from Whitney and Cooper’s story (First Step Forward), I dove headfirst into Cara and Garrett's. Sure, Liora Blake has proved to this crazed reader, time and time again, that she’s the queen of unlikely couples and uber-intense chemistry, but for some unknown reason, there’s still a teeny tiny part of me that’s hesitant going in. It’s like I’m waiting for the other shoe to drop—to be left disappointed after so many noteworthy reads. I mean, there’s no way she could introduce me to a couple that I might love even more than the last, right? Well, I’m not gonna play favorites here, I can’t . . . really. Five books in and I won’t even attempt it. Each of her couples are so different, brought together by completely different circumstances and backgrounds, but they all have that signature Liora Blake charisma, wit and sincerity. So, instead of ripping my heart out trying to choose which unlikely couple I adore the most, I’ll just say, Garrett and Cara together . . . flawless. I wouldn’t change a single thing.From the moment we meet Garrett in book one, he’s a standup guy—a real gentleman. This time, from his perspective, we get the redneck’s innermost thoughts and we’re made privy to his dream—cultivating his very own plot of dirt. In his mind’s eye, the land is lush and green with a white farmhouse to boot. He’s whiling away his days, working at a co-op and helping out friends—waiting for what, isn’t quite clear. Then he spots a fancy SUV, on the side of the road, with its hazards on, and he has to stop. He’s a gentleman, remember? Little did he know, that meet-cute was the start of something great. Something or someone, I should say, unexpected.What I took away from Cara and Garrett’s story was the importance of finding your place in this world. It’s not the material things or other people’s expectations of who you should be that matter. Life doesn’t have to be fancy or grand to be meaningful. The ‘City’ girl from Chicago and the redneck from Hotchkiss proved that all you really need is the one person who understands and accepts the real you. The rest will fall into place. See? Forget what you've heard, this genre isn’t all just fluff.Aside from their swoon-worthy moments and intense connection, Cara and Garrett were fun. I’m talking great one-liners and witty banter fun. If I haven’t said this a thousand times already, great banter gets me every time. These two made me laugh . . . like seriously laugh. Is there anything funnier than picturing a redneck getting caught up in The Real Housewives drama and maybe even liking it?! If you’re anything like me, you’ll be jumping up and down at the mere thought of book three, Ready for Wild. It’s Braden's story—the grumbly game warden and man of very few words. Yummm. Please, write faster, Ms. Blake! The curiosity is killing me. I'm dying to know what's going on in that head of his. It's bound to be great.*Thank you to Pocket Books and NetGalley for a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • T's Book ~ Tanja
    April 27, 2017
    Just like its predecessor, First Step Forward, Second Chance Season is a sweet and endearing read (this time with a bit more spice). Meeting on the side of the road, a chance encounter leads Garrett into a roll of country ambassador. He sees nothing wrong with free-lance writer Cara needing a little help finding her way around the back roads.Goodhearted people farming the heartland of America is what Cara wants to write about. This is new for her and she won’t do anything to jeopardize it. Nothi Just like its predecessor, First Step Forward, Second Chance Season is a sweet and endearing read (this time with a bit more spice). Meeting on the side of the road, a chance encounter leads Garrett into a roll of country ambassador. He sees nothing wrong with free-lance writer Cara needing a little help finding her way around the back roads.Goodhearted people farming the heartland of America is what Cara wants to write about. This is new for her and she won’t do anything to jeopardize it. Nothing’s wrong with enjoying her time with Garrett. Right? Right.These two find more than a good story to tell. They wind up writing their own.Fun, flirty, sweet, and just plain old good! Follow us on  KT Book ReviewsTwitterFacebookPinteresttumblrYouTubeBook Babblers
    more
  • Mandi Schreiner
    June 16, 2017
    I really enjoyed this one - maybe it's because I live a little ways in the country. I like a guy who drives a big truck, that has dirt on his t-shirt, stubble on his face, and is sweaty from a hard day in the fields. My husband is a computer programmer but also part-time goat farmer! I MAY glance at the guy who fills my mini-van with bales of hay for my goats a little too long. (Let's not talk about the fact that he has to fill my MINIVAN with hay.)Back to the book, Garrett Strickland is a hot c I really enjoyed this one - maybe it's because I live a little ways in the country. I like a guy who drives a big truck, that has dirt on his t-shirt, stubble on his face, and is sweaty from a hard day in the fields. My husband is a computer programmer but also part-time goat farmer! I MAY glance at the guy who fills my mini-van with bales of hay for my goats a little too long. (Let's not talk about the fact that he has to fill my MINIVAN with hay.)Back to the book, Garrett Strickland is a hot country boy. Growing up farming in rural Colorado, after his father dies of a heart attack, they lose the farm. Garrett doesn't go back to school. Instead he starts work at the local co-op where he still works today. He lives in a modular trailer on a dirt patch, and is very content. His passions include hunting, hunting, and more hunting. After losing his farm, he hasn't let himself get too attached to anyone or anything. But then a city girl arrives and his down south part takes notice.Cara Cavanaugh is ready for something new. After realizing her life was going down the same path as her mother's - marrying into a future political life - Cara dumps her boyfriend, drops her job at a fancy newspaper and takes a chance at being a freelance writer. Her first assignment is to head to Colorado, to write a piece on the agriculture industry - the ups and downs and to get some personal stories. She has a relative that owns a run down house near the town she will be researching, and decides to live there for the eight weeks she will be interviewing farmers. When Cara gets lost on way into town, Garrett happens to stop to see if she needs help. They hit it off - Country and City - and Garrett helps her make contacts in the town all the while a delicious courtship develops. But Cara is only in town for eight weeks! What will happen when their time runs out?? (is anyone worried? LOL)I enjoy this author's voice a lot. Last year I liked First Step Forward, featuring an NFL player and a girl who owned an orchard. They are friends of the hero in this one and make a brief appearance but this is very much a stand alone. Garret doesn't have much of a filter. He cusses (his best friend cusses even more), he has no objections to telling people what he really thinks. But he isn't arrogant or a jerk at all. He is a really good guy. Helping out farmer neighbors who need an extra hand. Visiting his mom when he can. When Cara first arrives in town, her place is a little more on the older side and Cara doesn't know how to fix things. With a trust fund looming in her future, while she has made her own way in life, she also likes the finer things. But she never whines or complains (except when a cow sticks its nose up her butt....)Shit. I think I wanted her to seem, I don't know, less polished...fuck, maybe if she were just shorter, that would help.But nope, not even a little bit. She's dressed in a pair of loose cargo-style pants with a drawstring waist, the bottoms tucked into a pair of lace-up boots that don't appear built   for roughing out hard terrain or slogging through mud. A tight long-sleeve top with a deep neckline shows off her tiny waist and the slant of her delicate collarbones. Her hair is pulled back, leaving the long slopes of her neck exposed.So, basically, she looks awesome. Fucking gorgeous.Cara's attraction flares early on as well, and while at first it takes some time for them to get over the fact that they only have eight week together, so should they start something physical? But once they do, Cara is outgoing and tells him exactly what she wants."What? Condom's on. We're fine.""Stand up."He freezes in confusion, then drops his head to my collarbone and rocks it there."No. Why? Christ, you're killing me, Cara.""I didn't get to see you naked.""Look later. I'll strut a catwalk for you, if you want. After.""Now."A growl - half annoyed, half crazed. He puts a hand on either side of my head and pushes up, his overachieving biceps flexing. I stop myself from demanding he complete twenty push-ups over me first.This author does a great job with setting the scene in this rural town. I could really picture everything so well. Garrett has a best friend that is a total curmudgeon and kinda an asshole - and I loved him and I need him to find love immediately - omg please make this happen.Super sexy, good banter, cows...what else could you ask for?Grade: B+
    more
  • Chris Carroll
    June 7, 2017
    There’s comfort in an author that you’re familiar with. You never hesitate to grab their latest release because you usually know what to expect.The story is part of the series but yet is a complete standalone. City girl meets country boy and while sparks flew, this story was much more about their relationship and the obstacles they had to overcome than their physical relationship. That’s not to say we didn’t get to enjoy that as well, but it’s not first and foremost in this touching story.The au There’s comfort in an author that you’re familiar with. You never hesitate to grab their latest release because you usually know what to expect.The story is part of the series but yet is a complete standalone. City girl meets country boy and while sparks flew, this story was much more about their relationship and the obstacles they had to overcome than their physical relationship. That’s not to say we didn’t get to enjoy that as well, but it’s not first and foremost in this touching story.The author crafts a wonderful tale of a budding love between two people that truly are created perfectly for each other. With many humorous moments and a few touching parts that bring on the tears, this book is written beautifully without a lot of angst and drama. Yay!For a wonderful story that leaves a smile on your face and warmth in your heart, you have to check out the story of Garrett and Cara. I truly enjoyed it and Second Chance Season by Liora Blake is another solid choice for your summer reading list.* Copy received for review considerationfull review http://amidlifewife.com/second-chance...
    more
  • Michelle
    June 20, 2017
    ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review There is something about small town romance that always gets to me. Maybe it’s the simplicity of the story or the feel good vibes but whatever it is, I adore reading stories that are built and centered around this. And in Liora Blake’s latest installment to the Grand Valley Series, we are reunited with Garrett Strickland, whom we met in the first book and this time Garrett may have found a woman to steal his country boy heart. Second Cha ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review There is something about small town romance that always gets to me. Maybe it’s the simplicity of the story or the feel good vibes but whatever it is, I adore reading stories that are built and centered around this. And in Liora Blake’s latest installment to the Grand Valley Series, we are reunited with Garrett Strickland, whom we met in the first book and this time Garrett may have found a woman to steal his country boy heart. Second Chance Season is a heartwarming, sexy and beautiful love story of a country boy who meets and falls for a city girl. Yes, there is nothing like reading a man with a big heart of gold falling for the city girl with big ambitions. When Garrett and Cara met, sparks fly as they built a friendship that slowly transitioned into something more. A connection is made. And boy oh boy, did Liora Blake allowed her readers to feel the gravitational pull these two had for each other. I soak up the feel of her, the way she's letting go, even if it's only for a moment, because I'm the one who gave her what she needs. And I love knowing that I did. ”I absolutely adored Garrett. His sweet nature makes him totally book boyfriend material and toss in the fact that this country stud is not only nice but a little dirty on the side. While Cara and Garrett are two completely opposite people from two different walks of life, readers will discover why Garrett is hesitant in giving himself fully to Cara. He had a lot of growing to do and accepting the death of his father, the farm and his life but in the end, he will soon realize that the only thing that matters is Cara, the city girl who danced her way into his heart and home. Second Chance Season is definitely your feel good country romance. It was sweet, good natured and a bit sexy. I enjoyed how Liora Blake allowed her readers to go along the journey with Garrett and Cara as they got to know each other. Their relationship never felt rushed so when they finally connected it was heartwarming. My only complaint is that I wished the author gave us an epilogue since those are my favorite part when reading romance novels. Other than that, this book was well written and beautifully well done with a heartfelt sentiment. Liora Blake
    more
  • Kara Hildebrand (Two Book Pushers)
    June 5, 2017
    I've been looking forward to Second Chance Season since the minute I finished First Step Forward! We met Garrett in First Step Forward and I knew his story was going to be fantastic. Liora Blake knows how to write sexy heroes and funny, talented leading ladies. As we know, Garrett is back home after leaving college and he's never left. He likes his life. His friends, and his job. But when a chance meeting on the side of the road with a sexy city slicker makes him want more than what he has now, I've been looking forward to Second Chance Season since the minute I finished First Step Forward! We met Garrett in First Step Forward and I knew his story was going to be fantastic. Liora Blake knows how to write sexy heroes and funny, talented leading ladies. As we know, Garrett is back home after leaving college and he's never left. He likes his life. His friends, and his job. But when a chance meeting on the side of the road with a sexy city slicker makes him want more than what he has now, he's not sure how to handle that. Cara left her plush life in Chicago to write a freelance article. When Garrett, the sexy cowboy, offers to help introduce her around town, she can't say no. He funny, sexy and sweet and he might be just what she needs to entertain herself while she's in Grand Valley. Garrett wants Cara badly. There's just something about her that calls to him. She's beautiful, but she's also funny and quirky. Will they be able to spend time together just until she leaves? Can they keep their hearts out of the mix? Will Garrett just let her walk out of his life? I loved this story! SO much! It's sexy, steamy and laugh out loud hilarious! I had to fan myself listening to Garrett's dirty mouth. It's the perfect country boy meets city girl story where the lines get blurred where the farm meets the road. I can't wait for the next one!Garrett is closer than before. Close enough that a Catholic school dance chaperone would remind us to leave room for Jesus.Good God, he's dreamy. That's the perfect world, too. "Dreamy." Cute, plus hot, plus focused, plus still a little sleepy-eyed. Thus, dreamy. "I just met your bestie, didn't I?""Men do not have besties. We have drinking pals and hunting buddies."He throws his arms wide. "I'm a hell of a specimen, yeah? This work for you?"
    more
  • Laurie
    April 7, 2017
    I loved the first book in this series so much that when I got my hands on Second Chance Season, there was some significant silent screaming and chair dancing. Let me just say -- this book? It smashed every single one of my expectations and then some. Cara & Garrett have a chemistry that was pure magic. Their banter was sweet, sexy and so damn clever. Every moment with them felt genuine and kept me completely engaged in their love story as I fell right along with them. What I also loved is th I loved the first book in this series so much that when I got my hands on Second Chance Season, there was some significant silent screaming and chair dancing. Let me just say -- this book? It smashed every single one of my expectations and then some. Cara & Garrett have a chemistry that was pure magic. Their banter was sweet, sexy and so damn clever. Every moment with them felt genuine and kept me completely engaged in their love story as I fell right along with them. What I also loved is that I came away with a little better understanding of farming and the ripple effects on communities and consumers. It is more than a business, it is people and their lifeblood, which Liora Blake puts names and faces to here. My only disappointment with Second Chance Season? That it ended. I loved this book so much and wanted more time with it. The rich and wonderful characters, Liora Blake's sumptuous storytelling and the beauty of its location all add up to one thing.....Perfection. Happy reading!!!!
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    June 18, 2017
    I did something with this book that I don't normally do. I picked up the second book in a series by an author I had never read before. Basically, I just let my grabby hands go willy nilly because I'd heard wonderful things about the first book and I couldn't resist the synopsis on the second. So, it's my ever greedy grabby hands I have to thank for the time I got to spend with Garrett & Cara and all the warm, quirky characters of the Grand Valley series.Second Chance Season is one of those w I did something with this book that I don't normally do. I picked up the second book in a series by an author I had never read before. Basically, I just let my grabby hands go willy nilly because I'd heard wonderful things about the first book and I couldn't resist the synopsis on the second. So, it's my ever greedy grabby hands I have to thank for the time I got to spend with Garrett & Cara and all the warm, quirky characters of the Grand Valley series.Second Chance Season is one of those wonderful small town romances that...well, feels like a small town. Like mudding in the local bogs and drinking beers on the back of someone's jacked up truck. It feels like days full of honest, back breaking labor and lazy nights full of cozy fires and cozier conversation. I just felt it, and I never wanted to leave. And, while it took me just a little bit to warm up to Cara and Garrett's relationship, it took me literally no time at all to embrace the delicious writing and authentic-feeling descriptions of the land and the people of Hotchkiss, CO.No, I didn't latch on to Garrett and Cara immediately - but not because I didn't like them or I felt like anything was wrong with them. I feel like it's perhaps more that I just had to get to know them and that, as their personalities were revealed and their feelings for each other deepened, my feelings tagged along for the ride and by about the 40% mark my heart was fluttering and my belly was full of butterflies and I was all in. There was no turning back at that point. I couldn't devour this book fast enough.In case I haven't made my point - I wound up adoring Cara and Garrett. Everything about them. Their honesty and their sweetness and their scorching physical chemistry. I loved how they didn't play games with each other and they didn't judge each other and even though they came from opposite worlds, they found a place for each other in their hearts without any real trouble. Even in conflict they were both so completely likable. In fact, I might even say that Second Chance Season is the exception to most books in that the conflict actually opened my heart more to Cara and Garrett so that, by the end, my eyes were brimming with tears and my heart was near-to exploding and I was one wholly happy reader. In the end, the payoff was beyond worth it. I laughed, I cried, I felt my face light up with that giant goobery grin I can't help whenever a character weasels his or her way into my heart. It was so good! Whether this is your first Liora Blake book or just the latest of many, I enthusiastically recommend that you take a chance on Second Chance Season. ~ Shelly, 4.5 Stars
    more
  • Red Cheeks Reads
    June 20, 2017
    I love a good small town southern book and that is exactly what Liora Blake delivered. Second Chance Season is a southern book but Garrett is no cowboy. He is a good ole boy through and through. I loved that about him. Having grown up in the south Garrett reminded me of all the boys and men I was surrounded around in my youth, only a better version of them.This book was a slow build that gave me time to fall in love with these two as they fell for each other. I really enjoyed the build between t I love a good small town southern book and that is exactly what Liora Blake delivered. Second Chance Season is a southern book but Garrett is no cowboy. He is a good ole boy through and through. I loved that about him. Having grown up in the south Garrett reminded me of all the boys and men I was surrounded around in my youth, only a better version of them.This book was a slow build that gave me time to fall in love with these two as they fell for each other. I really enjoyed the build between these two very different personalities The contrast in these two really drew me in and the wit and banter between then really cemented my love for them and this book.This has been my fifth Liora Blake book and I still look forward to each of her releases. I really enjoyed this one and can’t wait to see what she gives us in the future.~miranda
    more
  • Paula
    June 28, 2017
    Another great book in this series!
  • ~Dawn~TUG
    April 14, 2017
    Love this series!! Full review to follow
  • Arlena
    June 7, 2017
    Title: Second Chance SeasonAuthor: Liora BlakePublisher: Pocket BooksSeries: Grand Valley # 2Reviewed By: Arlena DeanRating: FiveReview:"Second Chance Season" by Liora BlakeMy Thoughts....What will happen when Garrett meets Cara in a fancy SUV on the side of the road? How will this 'city' girl from Chicago and this 'redneck from Hotchkiss come together? Who knew when he met her that he would be working as a 'country ambassador' helping Cara find her way around the areaof the back roads of Colora Title: Second Chance SeasonAuthor: Liora BlakePublisher: Pocket BooksSeries: Grand Valley # 2Reviewed By: Arlena DeanRating: FiveReview:"Second Chance Season" by Liora BlakeMy Thoughts....What will happen when Garrett meets Cara in a fancy SUV on the side of the road? How will this 'city' girl from Chicago and this 'redneck from Hotchkiss come together? Who knew when he met her that he would be working as a 'country ambassador' helping Cara find her way around the areaof the back roads of Colorado. Cara is a free lance magazine writer wanting to write about the farming people of heartland of America around Hotchkiss. Now, from all of this I think one can almost see how this read will be. Boy gets girl? What will happen as Cara starts to fall for Garrett?It's like their chemistry was simply pure and sweet magic and as the story continues the reader gets such a engaging love story that seems so right for them. I loved how this author was able to help all with the delicate and much better understanding of what all went into farming where is was more than business but it was for the peoples as well as there livelihood.This author will give the readers 'one swoon-worthy moments with some intensed connections' that will definitely keep you turning the pages with this sweet romance. I loved all the bantering that went on in the read that will certainly keep you smiling.By the end of the read you get one amazing, funny, sweet, hot & sexy read that will definitely put a smile on your face. Will the formula this author uses in bring these two together work? Well, you will have to pick up 'Second Chance Season' to see!
    more
  • Blue
    June 23, 2017
    lovedLovedLOVED!!!
  • Yesi ~ LLL
    June 9, 2017
    LOVED!!! ❤ *** full review soon LOVED!!! ❤️ *** full review soon
  • Karmen
    May 25, 2017
    4.5 StarsI loved, loved, this book! Garret and Cara are two characters that have a lot of chemistry since the beginning and I never wanted their story to end. Second Chance Season will make you swoon and laugh and make me want to live the farm-life. If you were fans of Cooper and Whitney from First Step Forward, then you'll be sure to love this new couple.Garrett Stickland is all country. He grew up country and proud of it. His life, friends, family and work are all in Grand Valley. Garrett once 4.5 StarsI loved, loved, this book! Garret and Cara are two characters that have a lot of chemistry since the beginning and I never wanted their story to end. Second Chance Season will make you swoon and laugh and make me want to live the farm-life. If you were fans of Cooper and Whitney from First Step Forward, then you'll be sure to love this new couple.Garrett Stickland is all country. He grew up country and proud of it. His life, friends, family and work are all in Grand Valley. Garrett once had a promising education and career, but he ended back home after his father passed to take care of the farm. But that fell through and his family farm had to be sold when it couldn't be financially saved. Garrett seemed content on just working and not leaving Grand Valley. But when a beautiful city girl gets lost and Garrett "saves" her, his life changes.Cara Cavanaugh is a journalist, taking on the her next assignment in the small town of Grand Valley. Her job is to write about rural America and then move on. But what she never expected to fall for the small town community and the one man who she can't stop thinking about, Garrett Strickland. So why not have a little fun with the hot county boy, and while she's here. She won't let her heart get involved, right?Second Chance Season a sweet and endearing read with low angst and shows how two strangers can find love when you're not even looking. And can Braden please get a book next? I'm wanting this grumpy and brooding man's story!
    more
  • Ashley
    May 18, 2017
    ARC provided by NetGalleyI am a sucker for second chance romances. Those are my all time favorite and this one was had all the feels. Cara and Garrett’s chemistry was off the charts!We meet Garrett in book one and I was so excited he was getting his story told. I am not sure which couple I like more. Garrett is a good ol country boy with a big heart. I loved getting to see what he was thinking.Cara never thought she would meet and fall for someone like Garrett. She is there for a freelance assig ARC provided by NetGalleyI am a sucker for second chance romances. Those are my all time favorite and this one was had all the feels. Cara and Garrett’s chemistry was off the charts!We meet Garrett in book one and I was so excited he was getting his story told. I am not sure which couple I like more. Garrett is a good ol country boy with a big heart. I loved getting to see what he was thinking.Cara never thought she would meet and fall for someone like Garrett. She is there for a freelance assignment as a magazine reporter. She gets to see and know Garrett and realizes he will tell her anything she wants to know as long as it doesn’t have to do with his future. The banter between these two characters adds so much to the story. I am really enjoying this series and can’t wait for the next book.
    more
  • Heather andrews
    May 7, 2017
    I fell in love with Garrett, I loved his teasing and when it came to Cara the man could read her like a book, "...unless your goal is to get everyone who steps foot in here to start shedding their clothes.” He cuts a look in my direction, and my expression must reveal my first thought: that if Garrett started shedding his clothes, I wouldn’t mind a bit. Because when our eyes meet, he winks." Garrett is a man that breaks things dow, "...this is simple. I work, you work. After work, we do other st I fell in love with Garrett, I loved his teasing and when it came to Cara the man could read her like a book, "...unless your goal is to get everyone who steps foot in here to start shedding their clothes.” He cuts a look in my direction, and my expression must reveal my first thought: that if Garrett started shedding his clothes, I wouldn’t mind a bit. Because when our eyes meet, he winks." Garrett is a man that breaks things dow, "...this is simple. I work, you work. After work, we do other stuff. Like, I don’t know, make dinner. Go for a drive. Eff like rabbits.” I loved this book, I thought the characters were well developed, I loved the small town and I can't wait for the next book.
    more
  • Heidi
    April 28, 2017
    I read a lot of romance novels. A lot. Like 6 a week. So when I say that I loved Second Chance Season, it means something. I loved Garrett and Cara's story. I'm not sure that I can put my finger on what exactly worked for me. It was the perfect combination of Garrett's humor, Cara's fish out of water experiences, their crazy chemistry, and Liora Blake's talent. This book was hot, sweet, and perfectly satisfying.
    more
  • Under the Covers Book Blog
    June 21, 2017
    Cara is a rich city girl visits a small town of Hotchkiss in hopes to write a story that will kickstart her new career as an independent writer. The goal is to stay long enough to get to know the people in this small town and their agricultural life. What she didn't expect is to get to know a very friendly and sexy farm boy named Garrett.I love Cara and Garrett. It was entertaining to read their experience as they get to know each other. Their banter and Cara experiencing farm life made me laug Cara is a rich city girl visits a small town of Hotchkiss in hopes to write a story that will kickstart her new career as an independent writer. The goal is to stay long enough to get to know the people in this small town and their agricultural life. What she didn't expect is to get to know a very friendly and sexy farm boy named Garrett.I love Cara and Garrett. It was entertaining to read their experience as they get to know each other. Their banter and Cara experiencing farm life made me laugh. They had these sweet romantic moments that I swooned over. I adored their relationship, nothing about these two is forced. Not their personality, humor, and certainly not their romance. I think what I like most is that they both did not expect anything from each other. They intended this monogamous relationship to be short and temporary. But as you read on, you see how well they get along, understand each other, and eventually fall in love. Unfortunately, their time will run out and finding a way to stay together will be their biggest hurdle. In fact, it’s a losing battle.I was impressed with Cara and her determination in seeing her project through. Her confidence shone through even at its lowest. She didn't let anyone get in the way not even Garrett. Yet still kept her composure and kept it together. Garrett, on the other hand, was the sweetest. He never pushed nor did he expect. Only thing is that he didn’t know what deserves if it hit him in the face. That’s what you get with an unselfish dude. Lucky for him Cara is a stand-up kind of girl and didn't take advantage of him.This installment is even better than the first. Blake wrote an honest to goodness romance of two people from different worlds. Their jobs, families and the way they were brought up are far from being alike, yet their connection is undeniable. I love their beginning and I love their happy-ending even more.*ARC provided by publisherReviewed by Angela❤ ♡ Don't want to miss any of our posts? Subscribe to our blog by email! ♡ ❤
    more
  • Literati Literature Lovers
    June 14, 2017
    Second Chance Season became an instant favorite the second I reached the end. I loved it so much that I immediately went back to reread most of it. I really shouldn’t be surprised because I really enjoyed the first book in the Grand Valley Series, First Step Forward just as much. Liora Blake writes so vividly and her characters are so real that you can’t help but live the story as you are reading. These characters become your friends, your family, and you root for them because every emotion is Second Chance Season became an instant favorite the second I reached the end. I loved it so much that I immediately went back to reread most of it. I really shouldn’t be surprised because I really enjoyed the first book in the Grand Valley Series, First Step Forward just as much. Liora Blake writes so vividly and her characters are so real that you can’t help but live the story as you are reading. These characters become your friends, your family, and you root for them because every emotion is truly heartfelt.Garret and Cara’s story is a classic city girl meets country boy with a fun spin to it. Never has the word “redneck” been made to sound so sexy and that is totally on Ms. Blake! This story really pulled me in. I enjoyed seeing these characters let go of their hang ups, encourage each other, and learn from each other. Garrett teaches Cara that the simple, country life can be everything, and Cara teaches Garrett that not all hope is lost, that he can make his dreams, that he so sadly let go of, a reality. They bring out the best in each other, professionally and personally. Not to mention that when they are together they absolutely sizzle… the build up is slow burning, the chemistry is palpable, and when they come together they burn up the sheets. This is one sexy, steamy, and insanely HOT story wrapped up in a beautiful contemporary romance.Second Chance Season is a story about self discovery, new hope, and true love being found within the country roads of Hotchkiss, Colorado. It is a true gem and contemporary romance at its absolute best. ARC provided by publisher ~ read and reviewed by Yesi
    more
  • Liora Blake
    March 22, 2017
    SECOND CHANCE SEASON (Grand Valley #2) is now available on NetGalley! If you've read FIRST STEP FORWARD, then you remember Garrett Strickland, the country-boy-redneck with a heart of gold...who is about to meet his match in Cara Cavanaugh, a wealthy and wonderfully smart gal from Chicago who believes in Garrett far more than he believes in himself. ******************EXCERPT*******************But Garrett doesn’t wait for an answer, just presses his mouth to mine. We’re alone and together, which m SECOND CHANCE SEASON (Grand Valley #2) is now available on NetGalley! If you've read FIRST STEP FORWARD, then you remember Garrett Strickland, the country-boy-redneck with a heart of gold...who is about to meet his match in Cara Cavanaugh, a wealthy and wonderfully smart gal from Chicago who believes in Garrett far more than he believes in himself. ******************EXCERPT*******************But Garrett doesn’t wait for an answer, just presses his mouth to mine. We’re alone and together, which means we’re wild after one taste, my tongue teasing his and Garrett groaning to encourage me. But when his hands start to move up to niggle the buttons on my shirt, slipping one, then two, open, I know I have to stop this. If I don’t, my shirt will be off before I know it—in broad daylight—and then doing what I came here to do will be impossible. I latch my hands to his wrists and Garrett goes stiff. “Sorry,” Garrett whispers, leaning back but allowing his hands to linger on the open placket of my shirt. He uses the tip of one index finger to skim there, then eases the material back until the lace edge of my black bra comes into view. I watch the bob of his Adam’s apple as he works over a labored swallow. “I barely had the chance to touch you here. I didn’t get to see you, not all of you. I’ve been thinking about that . . . how we cheated each other out of the full show.” His eyes come to meet mine. “We should fix that.”“Garrett, I can’t . . .”He rebuttons my top. “I could come over tonight. Or, you can come to my place, if you want. Fair warning, it’s a straight-up redneck bachelor pad. But I’ll change my sheets and light one of those candles that’s supposed to smell like a waterfall or something, to air out the scent of my manliness. I can grill something for dinner and we’ll hang out.”A pause as he sets his hands to the back of my neck, rubbing gently with his fingers, and I allow myself the indulgence of enjoying it. “We can’t do this.”Garrett’s fingers stop moving. “Huh?”Reaching up, I remove his hands and set them to rest on the seat. “We can’t do this. Date. Kiss. Have sex.”His eyes narrow and he takes inventory of my expression, obviously confused. “Why?”“What?” He repeats the word, slower this time, with an edge to it. “Why? Did I do something? Not do something?”I start to shake my head, then jerk my hands up to cover my face so I can think, which is easier if I’m not looking at him. Garrett pulls my hands away, using one of his to trace a thumb over my lower lip...
    more
  • Teresa
    May 28, 2017
    Really, really liked this book...and it didn't hurt that it was set in my home state Colorado!!Cara and Garrett don't seem to make sense but boy oh boy does Liora Blake do a freaking fantastic job getting them together. I couldn't put this book down! Now I have to go back and read Whitney & Cooper's story :) Thanks to Simon & Schuster for the ARC!
    more
  • Cyndi
    May 27, 2017
    I have been anxiously waiting the return to Grand Valley and to learning more about Garrett Strickland. After reading First Step Forward where his genuine and good hearted nature shined through, I needed to see this young man find his own happy. Enter one Cara Cavanaugh, a young woman on a work related adventure. Her new job places her in Colorado and promises an experience that is nothing like the debutante privileged life she came from.I love that we get this story is given to us through both I have been anxiously waiting the return to Grand Valley and to learning more about Garrett Strickland. After reading First Step Forward where his genuine and good hearted nature shined through, I needed to see this young man find his own happy. Enter one Cara Cavanaugh, a young woman on a work related adventure. Her new job places her in Colorado and promises an experience that is nothing like the debutante privileged life she came from.I love that we get this story is given to us through both Garretts and Cara’s voices. Garrett is a practical young man who lost his future due to a change in family circumstances. In Garrett, Blake creates one of the most adorably charming young men. His commentary on dining in a fancy restaurant had me giggling and also we find out he’s a bit of a dirty talker, but a gentleman all the same. Cara seems to inspire Garrett in ways he’s not used to. Cara is an incredibly brave young woman. She too is authentic and she quickly acclimates to her new environment. But the situation means their relationship has an expiration date as the end to Cara's time in Colorado hangs over them.These two have a really sweet connection, a natural draw to each other and it doesn’t take long for the pull to turn into sweet and unusual dates, where the community is showcased almost as much as our two main characters. The story line is well paced and while things move quickly for Garrett and Cara, they also hit a few stumbling blocks. Blake rounds out the story with both characters giving a little to get a lot. These two get more than one opportunity to find their second chances together. 5 Stars!!*I was gifted a copy of this book in excahnge for an honest review*
    more
  • C bond
    March 26, 2017
    netgalley4.5 starsloved this book
  • Nikki Brandyberry
    April 16, 2017
    Second Chance Season is a heartfelt, small town, country romance sprinkled with big city dreams and characters who’ll stay with you long after The End. Liora Blake is a semi new-to-me author, with book one of this series also being the first book I’d read by her. I adored that book and I am happy to say I enjoyed Second Chance Season just as much!Garrett has resigned himself to his life and tells himself he’s okay with that all the time. Once a promising student, the passing of his father led hi Second Chance Season is a heartfelt, small town, country romance sprinkled with big city dreams and characters who’ll stay with you long after The End. Liora Blake is a semi new-to-me author, with book one of this series also being the first book I’d read by her. I adored that book and I am happy to say I enjoyed Second Chance Season just as much!Garrett has resigned himself to his life and tells himself he’s okay with that all the time. Once a promising student, the passing of his father led him back home to a life he swore he wanted more out of. Now he’s working double hours at a dead end job and passing the time as any good county boy should, hanging with friends and hunting. Crossing paths with the city bred woman who is staying in his childhood home temporarily should have been a one time event. Offering to help her by introducing her to other area farmers to help her write a freelance piece should have been clue number one he was in over his head. Yet the more time he spends with his city girl, the more he yearns for something more. Something he hasn’t thought possible since he came home to a failing farm with no way out.Being a freelance writer is something Cara has always wanted to pursue and just never had the nerve to. Coming from a wealthy family, she’s used to just towing the company line and doing what is expected of her. With her recent breakup still burning, she finds herself in a small town, on a writing deadline, with one chance to get her life right. A relationship is not in the cards, but Garrett is slowly stacking the deck with his country boy charm. They both know Cara is only around for a short time, but dreams don’t often come when you’re expecting them and they are both about to find out what happens when love pops up unexpectedly.PERFECT CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE! Hands down, Liora Blake has just got that “thing” that I crave. I read Second Chance Season in record time, ignoring real life while rooting for these characters to make that connection. This was a well flushed out story with characters you want to cheer on.Poor Garrett just didn’t see he was living half a life, or more to the point, he didn’t WANT to see it. Ignoring possibilities for a future bigger than where you are now is safe and that’s how he lived his life after the passing of his father. Safe. Cara opens his eyes to those possibilities. Both for love and a future where his career dreams are seen to fulfillment. Their love is a sweet one that smolders from the get go and turns into something beautiful. Something that can stand the test of time. Something real and true.Having ambition isn’t new to Cara. However, defying her family is. Coming from money means coming with a certain set of expectations on how you live your life. Having been sheltered, living on her own, on the other side of the country is scary but refreshing. She never imagined falling in love with not only her cowboy, but the terrain as well. I loved her tenacity, her drive and her ability to soothe Garrett’s soul.Second Chance Season is definitely one for that keeper shelf!I give Second Chance Season by Liora Blake 5 stars!
    more
  • Amelia
    June 15, 2017
    Spirited characters and extremely realistic situations make the second book in the Grand Valley series constantly enjoyable. I chuckled more while reading than I can remember doing in a long time, because so many of the events in the story are humorous and full out laughable. But there are also moments where sincere emotions are on display, and those incidents touched me in ways that many books do not even come close to doing. Every scene created by Liora Blake is especially imaginable, as her w Spirited characters and extremely realistic situations make the second book in the Grand Valley series constantly enjoyable. I chuckled more while reading than I can remember doing in a long time, because so many of the events in the story are humorous and full out laughable. But there are also moments where sincere emotions are on display, and those incidents touched me in ways that many books do not even come close to doing. Every scene created by Liora Blake is especially imaginable, as her words caused me to fully experience each detail because of how genuinely I was affected by the realness of what was taking place. SECOND CHANCE SEASON is highly recommended, and there is not one thing I would change.The first meeting Garrett Strickland has with Cara Cavanaugh brings back some rather painful memories, but he has never been one to let it bother him that his family home will never again belong to him. What his future could have been is not important now, and his work at the local co-op in Hotchkiss, Colorado makes him a living but is not particularly rewarding. Coming in contact with a woman who will be staying in his old house for a short time could have really made Garrett sad, but there is no use longing for something that can never be true.After becoming disillusioned with her career and boyfriend of many years, Cara thought it was time for a big change. Since she wanted to continue writing articles which actually meant something to readers, she decided to leave Chicago and do research on agriculture changes in the Grand Valley region. Encountering a local man who assisted her by pointing out the location of the place where she will be living leaves Cara intrigued with him. Then something unexpected happens when she and Garrett slowly sort out what they want to get out of life.Since I grew up on a farm, I was eager to see how Liora Blake would portray her characters and all the aspects of living in a rural setting. From the very start, I was overjoyed at her depiction of Garrett and the life led by many other residents in the Hotchkiss area. Whether a situation dealt with a person’s truck or the dilemmas of daily farm life, I really felt as though the event could actually happen as described. I loved all the episodes with the cows, and some of them were fondly remembered from my own past. While many of the scenes are written with much wit, there is also a sense of seriousness when appropriate, just like a normal day on the farm.When it comes to Garrett and Cara, every second they are together brought me complete satisfaction as a reader. They have lots of conversations that are packed with intelligent comebacks, but there are also instances where their inner feelings are exposed because of their honest reactions. This couple definitely generates plenty of heated passion when their desire escalates to the point where they have to express how they truly feel. Since the story is told from each of their viewpoints, I got to comprehend what Garrett and Cara were thinking about the same situation. Facts discovered about a main character in the next book of the series has me counting the days until it can be read. The ingenious cleverness in SECOND CHANCE SEASON will never be forgotten.I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher, and all comments are my honest opinion
    more
  • Christi Snow
    May 30, 2017
    My Review:We met Garrett in the first book in this series so I already knew his backstory...he had to give up the family farm when his dad died unexpectedly when he was only 21. He'd had a full academic and sports scholarship to college that he also let go. Now, he works at the coop and everyone in town agrees that he deserves so much more. He's the guy who's always there for every other farmer and rancher in town, but he doesn't have his dream...his own plot of land. It's a heartbreaking story. My Review:We met Garrett in the first book in this series so I already knew his backstory...he had to give up the family farm when his dad died unexpectedly when he was only 21. He'd had a full academic and sports scholarship to college that he also let go. Now, he works at the coop and everyone in town agrees that he deserves so much more. He's the guy who's always there for every other farmer and rancher in town, but he doesn't have his dream...his own plot of land. It's a heartbreaking story. Cara is a freelance writer from a wealthy family. She's on the cusp of changing her life. She broke off her engagement to the guy she was "supposed" to marry and left her job at the newspaper to do more meaningful writing as a freelancer. Her first assignment is reporting on the changes in the landscape of the Colorado farmer and she's in Hotchkiss for 2 months to do her research on the piece. She meets Garrett pretty much immediately and the chemistry is off the rails. There are so many reasons I love this book. I live in ranching country in Texas and our introduction to Garrett in this book is his monologue about how you can read a guy from his truck. This is my life...LOL. There is so much about the ranching/farming community and the way people think that Liora Blake just absolutely nailed. I found myself reading passages from Garrett's pov to my husband just because they were so spot on and so funny...Braden talking about the hunting chick...pure gold. Hubby asked if the author was a guy...seriously a high compliment there. The characters in this series are so engaging. I loved every one of them...from Cara with her being out of her depth to the old farmer, Gerald, who I fell in love with in only a few pages. She writes believable, relatable characters that I thoroughly enjoyed spending my time with. I had no idea how the author would fix things so that Cara and Garrett could find their HEA, but I adore what she did with them. The book was amazingly good!!Note... where Liora Blake really excels is her breadth and depth of knowledge for all things farming. The little tidbits that came through the text gave this book an air of "so much more" than a normal romance. I felt immersed in this world, but it was never done in the cheesy 'aw shucks' style that drives me insane when authors take on a country themed book. And now I'm salivating with need for Braden's book. His scenes...I love this gorgeous, grumpy curmudgeon and can't wait to read his book. The glimpses into the conflict between him and his heroine were gold. I already adore him. I just can't wait to see how she deals with his grumpy self. It promises to be another fantastic read. Come on October!!I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review, but I had to order a print copy for my keeper/reread shelf because I adored this book and will definitely want to revisit it.
    more
  • Barb Lie
    June 22, 2017
    Second Chance Season by Liora Blake is the 2nd book in her Grand Valley series. Cara Cavanaugh , our heroine, is on her way to Grand Valley, Colorado for a few months to research on the farming agriculture for her new freelance job. Cara comes from a wealthy family, has broken up her engagement to her lifelong boyfriend, and is determined to make a name for herself. While stopped on the side of the road close to her destination, she talks on the phone with her sister, when she is shocked to see Second Chance Season by Liora Blake is the 2nd book in her Grand Valley series. Cara Cavanaugh , our heroine, is on her way to Grand Valley, Colorado for a few months to research on the farming agriculture for her new freelance job. Cara comes from a wealthy family, has broken up her engagement to her lifelong boyfriend, and is determined to make a name for herself. While stopped on the side of the road close to her destination, she talks on the phone with her sister, when she is shocked to see someone knocking on the car window. Who is this gorgeous cowboy?Garrett Strickland, our hero, has lived in Hotchkiss all his life, and privately mourns the loss of his dad, and the land they had to sell to make ends meet. When Garret is on his way home, he spots a car on the road, and goes to see if he can help. Garrett sees an attractive girl, who looks like “City” all over her. Being the gentleman he is, Garret will have Cara follow him to the house she will be staying in during her research. Of course, the house turns out to be his old house that he grew up in.What follows is a slow build romance between two people totally different. Garrett, who had an agricultural science degree, but gave it up when his family was debt ridden, is a full blown redneck cowboy; and Cara, is from wealth and city personified. Wow, they were so good together; as their chemistry was off the wall hot. Most of all, I loved everything about both of them. Though they knew there was no future, they were so much fun together. The witty banter between them; the lust they each had for each other was scorching, and it was fun to watch them fall hard for each other. I really enjoyed their romance, and prayed they would find a way to stay together. The secondary characters in the book, including seeing Whitney and Cooper again, Braden and Cara’s sister Aimee were very good. As they begin to know they are falling in love, things begin to fall apart, since they knew that the time for Cara’s departure was near, with each having different lives to return to. You will need to read this book to see what happens. I really enjoyed Second Chance Season, which was a perfect romance with a perfect couple. The only thing I would add is that the last half of the book had a lot of constant sex scenes. It was sensual, but I do like my stories in the forefront. I do recommend that you read this, as it was an enjoyable read, and well written by Liora Blake.BarbThe Reading Cafe
    more
  • Carolyn's
    June 18, 2017
    Enjoyed going back to Hotchkiss with Garrett and Cara's story. While Cara is escaping a life of luxury that she decides she just might be made for she takes on a freelancing job writing about farm life and heads to Hotchkiss to work. Garrett stumbles across Cara and takes her for a rich city gal who is completely out of her element.When Cara ends up staying at Garrett's childhood home he no longer lives in because as the saying goes "he lost the farm" it makes things uncomfortable. Soon Garrett Enjoyed going back to Hotchkiss with Garrett and Cara's story. While Cara is escaping a life of luxury that she decides she just might be made for she takes on a freelancing job writing about farm life and heads to Hotchkiss to work. Garrett stumbles across Cara and takes her for a rich city gal who is completely out of her element.When Cara ends up staying at Garrett's childhood home he no longer lives in because as the saying goes "he lost the farm" it makes things uncomfortable. Soon Garrett finds that Cara is stronger than she looks and not as high class- stuck up- as the rice can she drives. Cara soon realizes the beauty of the land is nothing to compared to the people who work it. She loves talking to the farmers who work from daybreak to dark and have a passion for their land and family. She realizes what she isn't getting in her relationships or jobs in the city might possibly be something she could get from these people. Oh, and not to mention Garrett is hot, sexy and has abs that have Cara ready to bounce quarters.I loved the sweetness of the story which combines with the hotness shared between Garrett and Cara. Garrett is a humble country boy who doesn't see himself as a catch or able to provide Cara with anything worth asking her to stay in the country rather than go home to the city. Garrett has healing to do after losing his father, the farm and his dreams. Once he is able to deal with those issues, he realizes that what he can give Cara the that is most important is himself.
    more
  • Casey Peeler
    June 6, 2017
    Well hello Garrett and where have you been all of my life? In all seriousness, Second Chance Season stole my heart and gave me all the feels. For me a small town southern girl who write’s like I talk and loves to write about the good ole country boy. I have to say Liora Blake and I could be soul sisters!Second Chance Season is about two individuals that shouldn’t fit, but absolutely do. I love how they made each other whole, and how Cara pushed Garrett to be the man he was destined to be.This bo Well hello Garrett and where have you been all of my life? In all seriousness, Second Chance Season stole my heart and gave me all the feels. For me a small town southern girl who write’s like I talk and loves to write about the good ole country boy. I have to say Liora Blake and I could be soul sisters!Second Chance Season is about two individuals that shouldn’t fit, but absolutely do. I love how they made each other whole, and how Cara pushed Garrett to be the man he was destined to be.This book fell at my doorstep and boy, I’m glad it did. Between the small town life and so many scenes that remind me of how I’ve grown up. I fell in love with this novel, and I can promise, this won’t be the last read of mine by Liora Blake!So if you’re ready to swoon over a good ole country boy then one click Second Chance Season today.
    more
Write a review