Then There Was You
Would you give up everything for a life you hate with the person you love?Paige McAllister needs to do something drastic. Her boyfriend can’t even commit to living in the same country, her promised promotion is dead on arrival and the simultaneous loss of her brother and her dream of being a concert violinist has kept her playing life safe and predictable for six years. Things need to change. A moment of temporary insanity finds her leaving her life in Chicago to move to Sydney, Australia. There she finds herself, against many of her convictions, as a logistics planner for one of Australia’s biggest churches, and on a collision course with her boss’s son.Josh Tyler fronts a top-selling worship band and is in demand all over the world. But his past failed romantic relationships almost destroyed both his reputation and his family. He's determined to never risk it happening again. The last thing he needs is some American girl tipping his ordered life upside down. Especially one who despises everything he’s ever worked for and manages to push every button he has.When Josh and Paige are thrown together to organize his band’s next tour, the sparks fly. But can they find a way to bridge the differences that pull them apart? Or will they choose the safety and security of what they know over taking a chance on something that will require them to risk everything?

Then There Was You Details

TitleThen There Was You
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 7th, 2017
PublisherBellbird Press
ISBN047339653X
ISBN-139780473396534
Number of pages343 pages
Rating
GenreChristian Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

Then There Was You Review

  • Beth
    June 12, 2017
    Utterly adorable. I literally laughed out loud more than once.
  • Amy
    May 24, 2017
    Can I give this book a billion stars?!?!!?! Please?!?! As a bookseller in a Religious/Christian bookstore, we had a huge section of inspirational and doctrinal books to choose from. Many customers would ask my opinion, and would the books give them the answers they sought. As with anything I usually told them, my mantra is to make sure you're saying your prayers, reading your scriptures. That way the Spirit can be with you and will confirm the good things within. Never in a million years would I Can I give this book a billion stars?!?!!?! Please?!?! As a bookseller in a Religious/Christian bookstore, we had a huge section of inspirational and doctrinal books to choose from. Many customers would ask my opinion, and would the books give them the answers they sought. As with anything I usually told them, my mantra is to make sure you're saying your prayers, reading your scriptures. That way the Spirit can be with you and will confirm the good things within. Never in a million years would I have thought that a story, a fictional romantic contemporary novel, could work a much needed miracle in my life. Life has been really hard of late. Each day that has gone by has seen me sinking deeper into despair. Just when I thought I could muster up some semblance of a coping mechanism I'd be exposed to another negative experience and my soul would shatter just a little bit more. Why am I telling you all this deeply personal stuff? Because, this. 'Then There Was You' will probably be seen as just another story to many. Some may wonder why a book that centralizes its focus on a different Christian denomination than I personally practice could have such a massive impact. It is because of God. I tried prayer. Scriptures. Church attendance. Begging and pleading for help. None of it changing a thing. But despite our differing chosen Church, we believe in much the same thing. Grace. God's great love for His children. His never ending patience & His being the one that yes, manages the logistics of our crazy lives. Why have I or my children had to suffer the pains and agonies that we have/are suffering. I've still no idea. But God is in control and He surely knows. For that, I am reminded to put what little faith I have left back in Him. Kara Isaac, is unique as an author for many reasons. Her first two books were like nothing I've ever read before in this genre. Weaving in two classical series of literature into her stories was refreshing and caught my attention. This was an author I needed to follow and watch out for. Though this latest book, is vastly different from the first in that there is no cameo or mention of classic lit, the threads of her personality shine through just as wonderfully funny as ever. Character sarcasm & wit are ever present - and Josh & Paige are just as fun, and strong willed as the ones we have met before. Both of them have secrets and a past that has brought them to where they are today. While it may seem that Paige's huge relocation to Australia from the US, in her efforts to rewrite her life indicates she has a lot more masses of emotional baggage to carry. Josh also, has found himself, despite his success thus far as a worship singer in an Australian Megachurch, carries burdens that truly are blocking his progress in life. From the minute Paige bumps into him in O'Hare Airport, the sparks are flying - and not necessarily the good kind! Take a literal journey with Paige to Sydney, Australia. Discover that wounds of the past can be healed through God's great love. You will love being whisked around the Southern Hemisphere on this rollercoaster ride. I loved all the quirky lingo that I'm discovering the Aussies and the Kiwis share with us Brits.. I spent much of my teenage life watching 'Neighbours' and it gave me a little smile with its mention in the book. Thank you so much to Kara Isaac for the complimentary eARC I received. This is my honest review.
    more
  • Melissa
    June 24, 2017
    Another fantastic book by Kara Isaac! She has a unique way of both transporting you to another place (this time to Australia and New Zealand) and making you feel right at home at the same time. I completely fell in love with the characters--flaws and all. Their realistic struggles make them seem more like regular people rather than superstars, which makes them approachable on all levels. And I can't finish this review without mentioning the romance...ah the romance. It is heartfelt and touching, Another fantastic book by Kara Isaac! She has a unique way of both transporting you to another place (this time to Australia and New Zealand) and making you feel right at home at the same time. I completely fell in love with the characters--flaws and all. Their realistic struggles make them seem more like regular people rather than superstars, which makes them approachable on all levels. And I can't finish this review without mentioning the romance...ah the romance. It is heartfelt and touching, with lots of turmoil to overcome. I found myself laughing and crying along with the characters. Fun book!I received a complimentary copy of this book, all opinions are my own.
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    May 26, 2017
    I bought Kara Isaac's first book simply because the cover was amazing. Now that's something I don't ordinarily do, but I did it this time. I was not to be disappointed. The book was great. So was her next book. Now, with her third book, Isaac has proven to have a solid foundation in Christian fiction. She can write and write extremely well!Would you give up everything for a life you hate with the person you love?Paige McAllister needs to do something drastic. Her boyfriend can’t even commit to l I bought Kara Isaac's first book simply because the cover was amazing. Now that's something I don't ordinarily do, but I did it this time. I was not to be disappointed. The book was great. So was her next book. Now, with her third book, Isaac has proven to have a solid foundation in Christian fiction. She can write and write extremely well!Would you give up everything for a life you hate with the person you love?Paige McAllister needs to do something drastic. Her boyfriend can’t even commit to living in the same country, her promised promotion is dead on arrival and the simultaneous loss of her brother and her dream of being a concert violinist has kept her playing life safe and predictable for six years. Things need to change. A moment of temporary insanity finds her leaving her life in Chicago to move to Sydney, Australia. There she finds herself, against many of her convictions, as a logistics planner for one of Australia’s biggest churches, and on a collision course with her boss’s son.Josh Tyler fronts a top-selling worship band and is in demand all over the world. But his past failed romantic relationships almost destroyed both his reputation and his family. He's determined to never risk it happening again. The last thing he needs is some American girl tipping his ordered life upside down. Especially one who despises everything he’s ever worked for and manages to push every button he has.When Josh and Paige are thrown together to organize his band’s next tour, the sparks fly. But can they find a way to bridge the differences that pull them apart? Or will they choose the safety and security of what they know over taking a chance on something that will require them to risk everything?Kara Isaac has once again created a cast of characters that jump off the page and take up residence in the reader's heart, along with all their emotions, hurts and joys. I was enthralled from page one and by the last few pages, I was crying, laughing and my heart was dancing with joy! Isaac's dry wit is in evidence here and it is not to be missed. She seriously has talent in delving into her characters' emotions. And she is quite good at wonderful spiritual themes. Fear can destroy a person, but God does not desire for His children to live in fear. Great message here.With her first novel, Kara Isaac became an author I wanted to follow and this last novel has only cemented that opinion deeper in my heart. I love reading books like this. You can't stop thinking about these characters long after the last page. I thoroughly enjoyed every single moment.*I was given a preview copy of this book by the author. I was not pressured to leave a positive review. All opinions are my own and honest.
    more
  • April
    June 22, 2017
    Absolutely delightful! Loved the unfolding story, characters and humorous moments! Tucked in all of this were some well placed insights; faith moments and lessons that truly felt organic to the story. This one had me glued to the page and up late, because I just had to finish it!
    more
  • Iola
    June 23, 2017
    Yes yes yes.Brilliant.
  • Rachael
    June 25, 2017
    This was such a funny story that I laughed out loud so many times ( which required explanation to family members), yet it was a poignant one as well.The story was so well written that the reader can really empathize with the characters as they try to move on with their lives with things in the past still haunting them. It's easy to relate because life isn't a bed of roses. This story has the struggles, pain, and turmoil that take place in our lives, and how a God can use those to mold us into th This was such a funny story that I laughed out loud so many times ( which required explanation to family members), yet it was a poignant one as well.The story was so well written that the reader can really empathize with the characters as they try to move on with their lives with things in the past still haunting them. It's easy to relate because life isn't a bed of roses. This story has the struggles, pain, and turmoil that take place in our lives, and how a God can use those to mold us into the person he wants us to be--if we will let Him.I really liked the plot of the story, enjoyed the characters, and followed the roller coaster of emotions of the characters as they journeyed through different stages. Life can be difficult, but he always gives us wonderful people to help us and lighter funnier times to make it fun, enjoyable, and sweet!I did want to mention that this is an adult story...totally clean..but some subject matter that is for adults. I'm adding this because I have people ask so I'm going to try to remember to add this to my reviews. "Um, because, as her daddy use to say, going to church made you a Christian about as much as going to McDonalds made you a hamburger.""At its core, the gospel is offensive. We are all sinners. We all fall short of God. No matter how good a person we are, how nice a life we lead, we all need Jesus to bridge the gap for us."If you enjoy contemporary stories with real life situations...read Kara Isaac's books. They are funny, witty, enjoyable and yet real! So just go buy it and support the author!!
    more
  • Catherine
    June 28, 2017
    I wolfed this story down in two days. I love Kara's writing and I'm about to dive into edits, so rather than anxiously waiting to read this lovely book as a reward, I read it first. Kara has the ability to evoke all the emotions. I laughed, a lot, and cried. A lot. This was an interesting novel for me, as it dealt with what has become so common nowadays, the mega church. I'll admit, like Paige, I'm not a fan. It was interesting to get a peek inside the walls and perhaps a better understanding of I wolfed this story down in two days. I love Kara's writing and I'm about to dive into edits, so rather than anxiously waiting to read this lovely book as a reward, I read it first. Kara has the ability to evoke all the emotions. I laughed, a lot, and cried. A lot. This was an interesting novel for me, as it dealt with what has become so common nowadays, the mega church. I'll admit, like Paige, I'm not a fan. It was interesting to get a peek inside the walls and perhaps a better understanding of what might go on behind the scenes. I enjoyed all the characters immensely and found their stories to be well-rounded with a satisfying conclusion. A great well-written novel for fans of Christian fiction.
    more
  • Sarah Monzon
    June 23, 2017
    This book is so stinking cute! It'll leave you with a silly grin and a happy sigh...and that's after the moments of hide-behind-your-hand-giggling you'll be doing throughout the book. If you're looking for a pure out fun read, this is it.
  • Rebecca
    June 21, 2017
    "Every note could dredge up memories she spent her days trying to forget." Paige McAllister has been bound by memories of tragedy for years; losing herself to the cruel specters of fear and regret. When presented with an opportunity to throw caution "to the wind", she boldly breaks an engagement and travels from Chicago, Illinois to Sydney, Australia, to spend time with her cousin, while managing to secure a short -term logistics management job at a popular mega-church. And it's there that Paige "Every note could dredge up memories she spent her days trying to forget." Paige McAllister has been bound by memories of tragedy for years; losing herself to the cruel specters of fear and regret. When presented with an opportunity to throw caution "to the wind", she boldly breaks an engagement and travels from Chicago, Illinois to Sydney, Australia, to spend time with her cousin, while managing to secure a short -term logistics management job at a popular mega-church. And it's there that Paige meets the opposite of everything from behind which she has been conveniently hiding. Josh Tyler cannot deny the fact that the lovely blond American has infiltrated his thinking way too much. As a highly respected musician, he fronts a worship band that travels world-wide most of the calendar year, and public opinion matters. His first impression of his mother's new hire is somewhat skewed by the way she makes him feel, in spite of the fact that he is constantly rescuing her from her fumbling self. Evidently, there's more to Paige McAllister than what meets the eye, and what has met his eyes is pretty attractive, but more importantly,can she be trusted? Most relationships get messy, and this one is no different, for stepping out in faith is pretty scary. "The Lord lift up His countenance upon you, and give you peace." I received a copy of this book from the author, the opinions stated above are entirely my own.
    more
  • Karen
    May 23, 2017
    Another engrossing read from Kara! To me, the hallmark of a fabulous book is when characters are like good friends: you laugh with them, you cry with them, you cheer for them, and sometimes you want to smack some sense into them! I found myself doing all of these things at different parts of Josh's and Paige's story. I also found myself relating to their regrets about their pasts. I think that we all have decisions that we aren't proud of, and I appreciate Kara's ability to create multi-faceted Another engrossing read from Kara! To me, the hallmark of a fabulous book is when characters are like good friends: you laugh with them, you cry with them, you cheer for them, and sometimes you want to smack some sense into them! I found myself doing all of these things at different parts of Josh's and Paige's story. I also found myself relating to their regrets about their pasts. I think that we all have decisions that we aren't proud of, and I appreciate Kara's ability to create multi-faceted characters whose lives are just as real, messy, and beautiful as our own.***I was given a copy of this novel and all thoughts are my own.
    more
  • Sarah
    June 20, 2017
    Where do I even start?! This book was amazing! Truly! I’m not just saying that because I love this author’s work, though there is that, but because I really did love it! I had such high expectations for this book and Ms. Isaac surpassed them all! I’m not always a big fan of contemporary romance, though I do have a few authors whose books I will excitedly snatch up at the bookstore and Kara Isaac has quickly had her name added to the list. I enjoyed her first two books, “Close to You” and “Can’t Where do I even start?! This book was amazing! Truly! I’m not just saying that because I love this author’s work, though there is that, but because I really did love it! I had such high expectations for this book and Ms. Isaac surpassed them all! I’m not always a big fan of contemporary romance, though I do have a few authors whose books I will excitedly snatch up at the bookstore and Kara Isaac has quickly had her name added to the list. I enjoyed her first two books, “Close to You” and “Can’t Help Falling,” but I can honestly say that this self-published novel is probably my favorite of hers! Before the “self-published” part puts you off, this book has been carefully edited and is beautifully written. If you’re like me and can’t stand typos or have seen some of the more “unique” self-published books, never fear! I don’t believe I could have enjoyed this book more, unless I could have traveled to Australia myself!As always, I loved Ms. Isaac’s writing! She drew me in from the very first sentence and I couldn’t resist stepping into this adventure with Paige. I enjoyed every awkward and laugh-out-loud moment, mixed in with the sweet and sigh-worthy ones. I loved getting to see Sydney, Australia through the eyes of an American like myself, as well as through Josh’s eyes. Ms. Isaac definitely hit her stride with this story, writing about something she obviously knows well (or maybe that’s lots of research) and introducing me to a place I’ve often dreamt of visiting. I appreciated the flubs and mistakes Paige makes along the way, while also laughing with Josh, because I could see myself doing the exact same thing. The dialogue is also great! I adored the inside jokes and even the misunderstandings. Also, Josh’s accent . . . can we just take a moment to appreciate Australian accents? Because I love hearing them and I could almost “hear” his accent while I was reading. That was “maybe” the best part for me . . . okay, not really. But a definite perk! I’ve already commented that Paige McAllister makes a few mistakes . . . she might be considered a walking disaster now and then, though she tries really hard! And I absolutely adored her! She is a lady I could totally see myself being friends with and I cheered her on the whole way! I loved her strength, her determination to face the hard things, her ability to laugh at herself, and how realistic she is. She struggles in this story. She falls down and has to work to get back up. She has some prejudice she has to work through, and decisions to make and I loved walking beside her through those things. And laughing about the “drop bears.”Josh Tyler is an interesting hero. In a good way. He’s different. He comes off as a bit self-righteous at first and it’s apparent he could use an attitude adjustment, but despite that, I still liked him. I appreciated seeing Paige and his home country through his eyes. And I enjoyed getting to know him and learning why he behaves the way he does. His life isn’t perfect. He’s made mistakes and the regrets still follow him, coloring every decision, every conclusion. I loved his family and the way they don’t take any of his guff, but give it right back. Especially his sister. I really hope she has her own story at some point! And I do have to mention that he definitely redeems himself at the end. Such a good ending!Overall, I give this book a standing ovation and beg for an encore!My thanks to the author for my advanced copy of this book! I was not required to write a positive review and have not been compensated for it in any way. All opinions expressed are in fact my own.
    more
  • Jessica Baker
    June 22, 2017
    I am a huge fan of Kara Isaac, so when I heard that she had another book coming out, I was impatiently awaiting its release date. Kara knows how to take two characters that appear to be the exact opposite of each other, and bring them together in a way that makes you question why you ever thought they were wrong for each other. She has a knack for having amazing male characters! Josh is no exception to this rule. I think he entered my swoon worthy chart in his very first scene. And the level of I am a huge fan of Kara Isaac, so when I heard that she had another book coming out, I was impatiently awaiting its release date. Kara knows how to take two characters that appear to be the exact opposite of each other, and bring them together in a way that makes you question why you ever thought they were wrong for each other. She has a knack for having amazing male characters! Josh is no exception to this rule. I think he entered my swoon worthy chart in his very first scene. And the level of appeal just kep rising as the book went on!Paige and Josh were absolutely adorable together. Total Hallmark movie in the making here. In fact, let's call them up right now and request the screenplay writing to begin! I love reading about characters like Paige. She has her viewpoints of the world, and "nothing" is going to prove her wrong. Until it does. And while she doesn't immediately see how wrong she is, I enjoyed seeing her journey in realizing that not everything is at it seems, and you certainly cannot base your judgment on past stereotypes. I felt that Ms. Isaac did a fantastic job in reminding me that not all megachurches are bad and crooked - something I think many of us may question ourselves. I love a book that makes me rethink things that I have made assumptions about in the past. This reminder will certainly make me take the time to investigate things before assuming anything.No book can survive without great supporting characters, and Ms. Isaac delivered wonderful supporting characters in this book. My favorite was Josh's mother and sister. They were not afraid to be blunt and call him on stuff that he wanted to brush off. It kept Josh on his toes, and certainly kept me smiling and even chuckling a couple of times. Sometimes I find myself skimming over scenes that heavily involve supporting characters, because they just don't seem to bring any depth or emotion to the storyline. Not the case here. I loved every single moment in this book!Whether you’re the romantic type who spends hours watching the Hallmark channel movies, or are someone looking for a book to curl up with and make you laugh, this book is for you. I highly encourage you to grab a blanket or a hammock and get reading!I received a complimentary copy of this book. I was not required to write a favorable review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Pam Graber
    June 2, 2017
    Paige McAllister needs a change. For six years she’s been stuck in a rut. She has a job that’s going nowhere, a boyfriend who can’t seem to stay in the same country she’s in, and worst of all, she’s a bridesmaid in her 19-year-old sister’s wedding. She’s 32, for crying out loud! Shouldn’t she be getting married first? When Paige realizes at the wedding that Alex has no intention of ever marrying her, she dumps him. He’s confident he can win her back. She says she’s moving to Australia. Knowing h Paige McAllister needs a change. For six years she’s been stuck in a rut. She has a job that’s going nowhere, a boyfriend who can’t seem to stay in the same country she’s in, and worst of all, she’s a bridesmaid in her 19-year-old sister’s wedding. She’s 32, for crying out loud! Shouldn’t she be getting married first? When Paige realizes at the wedding that Alex has no intention of ever marrying her, she dumps him. He’s confident he can win her back. She says she’s moving to Australia. Knowing her fear of flying, he basically laughs at her. She says, “Watch me.” Josh Tyler is the lead singer and face of one of the top worship bands in the world. Returning from tour, he bumps into Paige in Chicago’s airport. When he sees the same blonde getting off the plane in Sydney, he’s less than impressed. She smells of bourbon and throws up on her shoes. He thinks she’s spent the whole flight drinking. When he finds out that his mother has hired her as the logistics expert for their women’s conference, “Grace”, he can’t believe they didn’t check her out to find out she’s an alcoholic. Paige’s one experience with a mega-church left her jaded and suspicious of the motives of church leaders. How can the only job that interests her be working for one? Telling herself it will look good on her resume, Paige accepts the position intending to stay on the outside of the actual congregation. Can she stick to her convictions about mega-churches when everyone she encounters is different than what she expects? I LOVED this book. I laughed. I cried. I giggled (even giggle-snorted a few times.) This book was such a joy! Kara Isaac brings us two characters who have been burned by life in the past. Both are wary about putting their hearts in another’s hands. Each is suspicious of the other but the sparks that fly when they are together are unmistakable – to the reader, at least. The theme of God’s grace pouring out to cover a multitude of sins comes through loud and clear, for both characters, and the HEA is completely beautiful. In just three books, Kara Isaac has become a MUST BUY author for me and I can’t recommend this book highly enough! It's at least a 7 star in my book!
    more
  • Gail Hollingsworth
    June 3, 2017
    First of all I love the cover. The colors, the images are all eye-catching. The story itself was so moving. The characters were real with real problems. The two main ones, Paige and Josh, butted heads right from the beginning. Most of the time they vowed to themselves to try and stay out of the way of each other. Both seemed to be total opposites. But would they realize they had more in common than they thought? I thought it was great how the author brought out the fact that first impressions or First of all I love the cover. The colors, the images are all eye-catching. The story itself was so moving. The characters were real with real problems. The two main ones, Paige and Josh, butted heads right from the beginning. Most of the time they vowed to themselves to try and stay out of the way of each other. Both seemed to be total opposites. But would they realize they had more in common than they thought? I thought it was great how the author brought out the fact that first impressions or what someone assumes about someone they don't really know is not always right. Also how grief affects different people in different ways.Circumstances, even minute changes in locations or why we happen to be at a certain place at a certain time can change our lives forever. The grief, the guilt and why of living were all brought to the surface in how Paige was living her life over the last six years. Josh had his own set of issues and was super loyal to his family and their mission in an Australian mega church. My heart hurt for these two and I grabbed for a tissue more than once. This was a great story that wasn't just heartache, but had some wonderful humor in it as well. Paige got a really funny trick played on her, although it didn't sit very well with her. But working through some hard issues and growing and maturing and letting some things go was good lessons for them. In the romance aspect, do you go with the known and comfortable? The one you feel will fit in your life? Or the one that makes your heart beat faster and your toes curl? Kara Isaac writes truly heartwarming, thought provoking books, and I've had the pleasure of reading more than just this one.I received a complimentary ebook copy of this book and was not required to write a review, positive or otherwise.
    more
  • Fiction Aficionado
    June 15, 2017
    I’m going to try really hard not to gush all over this review, but I’m not sure how much success I’m going to have because, oh my goodness, this book! I seriously think I read the end about ten times before I could put it down. All the feels, book lovers! All the feels! Laughing, swooning, gah! Is this gushing? Sorry. I knew I wouldn’t be able to help it!It’s impossible not to fall in love with these characters, even in their less-than-stellar moments. Paige is an adorable mixture of strength an I’m going to try really hard not to gush all over this review, but I’m not sure how much success I’m going to have because, oh my goodness, this book! I seriously think I read the end about ten times before I could put it down. All the feels, book lovers! All the feels! Laughing, swooning, gah! Is this gushing? Sorry. I knew I wouldn’t be able to help it!It’s impossible not to fall in love with these characters, even in their less-than-stellar moments. Paige is an adorable mixture of strength and uncertainty, and an absolute hoot. She's definitely out of her comfort zone at times, but she constantly surprised me (and Josh!) with the way she handled things—so much so that I even let loose the odd snort or two, so take that as a warning if you’re going to read this in public!Like Paige, I’m not a fan of megachurches, but it was impossible not to love Josh’s family and respect them for their attitude and the way they conducted both themselves and the church. Totally fabulous secondary characters. And Josh...well, swoon! He might have made some poor assumptions about Paige in the beginning, but each and every interaction chipped away at those assumptions until...well...you’ll have to read the book, but, GAH! So good!The situational comedy is perfectly executed and, along with the wry humour, is a large part of what made this story so enjoyable, but there’s a serious side, too, as Paige finally confronts things in her life that have been holding her back since her brother’s death six years previously. Likewise, Josh has some lingering demons to overcome before he can fully commit to Paige, but when he does...well, I’m just going to have to GAH! again, because SO GOOD! The tender moments turned me to mush, and then that ending! Perfect! I could read it—probably will read it—over and over and never get tired of it.Seriously, I am totally enamoured with this book. If you love contemporary romance, you are missing out big time if you don’t pick this up.I received a copy of this novel from the author. This has not influenced the content of my review, which is my honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Winnie
    June 30, 2017
    I fell in love with Kara Isaac’s writing with her debut novel, Close to You. Her second novel, Can’t Help Falling, cemented her as an auto-buy author for me. Now with her latest novel, Then There Was You, she has definitely earned her spot as a top favorite author. I love her sense of humor, her creative settings and characters, and the ability she has to run the reader through the gamut of emotions—from laughing out loud to heartache. The main characters in this story, Paige and Josh, are so en I fell in love with Kara Isaac’s writing with her debut novel, Close to You. Her second novel, Can’t Help Falling, cemented her as an auto-buy author for me. Now with her latest novel, Then There Was You, she has definitely earned her spot as a top favorite author. I love her sense of humor, her creative settings and characters, and the ability she has to run the reader through the gamut of emotions—from laughing out loud to heartache. The main characters in this story, Paige and Josh, are so endearing and memorable, and the way they grow and overcome obstacles is heartwarming and inspiring. The ending is so amazing that you’ll find yourself rereading it a few times. Do yourself a favor and read this book—you’ll be glad you did! I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy from the author. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Janice Sisemore
    May 30, 2017
    Then there was youThis book is one that is hard to put once start reading it, and it is a laugh at loud book. Paige goes to Australia to visit her cousin to get away after breaking up with her boyfriend. She has to travel a long time on the plane to get there and she is not too fond of flying. She takes a job while there at a big church and she is not too fond of big churches either. Paige also has her brother death to overcome. She meets Josh that part of the family is working for but he had se Then there was youThis book is one that is hard to put once start reading it, and it is a laugh at loud book. Paige goes to Australia to visit her cousin to get away after breaking up with her boyfriend. She has to travel a long time on the plane to get there and she is not too fond of flying. She takes a job while there at a big church and she is not too fond of big churches either. Paige also has her brother death to overcome. She meets Josh that part of the family is working for but he had seen her on the plane and got the wrong impression of her. The author definitely has a way of making you laugh out loud. I received an advanced copy of the book. Definitely recommend it. Wish could rate it more than a five.
    more
  • Kara Peck
    May 28, 2017
    Kara Isaac is a top ten author for me. I absolutely love her characters, depth, and sense of humor. She will for sure be an auto buy author from here on out. Isaac some how manages to take difficult topics no one wants to talk about and engage the reader despite their potential doubts. I appreciate her bravery in dealing with real life issues and managing to do it without making me roll my eyes. What could be considered cheesy is written beautifully and heart warming. Topics typically considered Kara Isaac is a top ten author for me. I absolutely love her characters, depth, and sense of humor. She will for sure be an auto buy author from here on out. Isaac some how manages to take difficult topics no one wants to talk about and engage the reader despite their potential doubts. I appreciate her bravery in dealing with real life issues and managing to do it without making me roll my eyes. What could be considered cheesy is written beautifully and heart warming. Topics typically considered tabu are lovingly handled with grace and delicacy. I laughed, I cried, I wanted more! Her character arcs are just fantastic. I can’t get enough!* I was gifted a copy of this book. My opinions are my own*
    more
  • Melissa Henderson
    May 31, 2017
    A love story that will touch the heart. Two people with different backgrounds and life stories are brought together in a unique way. They both have sadness from their past and are not sure how to move on with the future. This story made me laugh out loud and then, brought me to tears. Very special story. I received a copy of this story from the author and this is my personal honest opinion.
    more
  • Kayla
    June 24, 2017
    The only problem with this book is that I started it the morning it was released and finished it the next day. What's a girl to do not knowing when Kara's next book will be out?! Her writing has only gotten better since the release of her first book. I've had them sitting on my bookshelf and finally got around to reading the series. Although to be fair I was unaware it was a series and read the first two out of order. Doesn't matter what order you read them in they still make sense and pull you The only problem with this book is that I started it the morning it was released and finished it the next day. What's a girl to do not knowing when Kara's next book will be out?! Her writing has only gotten better since the release of her first book. I've had them sitting on my bookshelf and finally got around to reading the series. Although to be fair I was unaware it was a series and read the first two out of order. Doesn't matter what order you read them in they still make sense and pull you into a world of heartache, wonder, laughter, and love. This particular book had me literally laughing out loud and crying tears for the characters heartbreaking loss. She reminds that Christians aren't flawless or faultless. It's refreshing to find a Christian romance author who can remember that we are human and have everyday sin. Instead of writing characters who think perfect thoughts and actions. Kara writes accurate, realistic characters who struggle with sins of the past, desires for the heart , and occasionally struggle to keep from dropping some inappropriate language. There were even characters who didn't know the perfect thing to say at the exact moment they needed said. She brings to light the struggles of being a Christian in the spotlight and makes us aware of how we may judge others and other christians to harshly. But the most important lesson came with the reminder, I often need, to leave it all in the hands of the perfect logistics coordinator. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys Becky Wade or Melissa Tagg novels. Or anyone who like me, is in need of a grand adventure outside of the states. If I had any complaints at all, it's that it wasn't long enough and I have questions that need answered, but I have a feeling they'll come to light in the next novel.
    more
  • Stacy
    June 25, 2017
    This is a wonderful book! Quite the fun read. Good storyline, and I loved the Aussie flavor the author sprinkled throughout. I had been disappointed that her first book -- which was set in New Zealand -- lacked the very Kiwi touches I'd expected to find, and that were the main reason I'd chosen to read it (undoubtedly some American editor's advice to not ruffle American readers' sensibilities, which is completely silly as I love to experience different cultures, whether in books or Real Life). B This is a wonderful book! Quite the fun read. Good storyline, and I loved the Aussie flavor the author sprinkled throughout. I had been disappointed that her first book -- which was set in New Zealand -- lacked the very Kiwi touches I'd expected to find, and that were the main reason I'd chosen to read it (undoubtedly some American editor's advice to not ruffle American readers' sensibilities, which is completely silly as I love to experience different cultures, whether in books or Real Life). But I decided to give her another chance when this one came out, and I'm very glad I did. In addition to the Aussie-ness, it was also a kick that the story took place around a megachurch, and that the main male character was the lead singer of a Hillsong United-style mega worship band. And there was even a New Zealand connection.Very well done. Now I'm going to have to go back and snag her second book. Happy to put Kara Isaac on my list of favorite authors!
    more
  • Mikal Dawn
    June 23, 2017
    I'm going to have a book hangover for days. Thanks, Kara.This was such a fabulous story!! I LOVED Paige and Josh, their individual stories, and their own love story. There were moments that will haunt me, and moments that I'll cherish as I sat there reading with a huge grin on my face...and immediately re-read because I loved them so much. I've loved all of Kara's books so far, but this one...you could just tell this one is especially special to the author. In my opinion, this is her best story I'm going to have a book hangover for days. Thanks, Kara.This was such a fabulous story!! I LOVED Paige and Josh, their individual stories, and their own love story. There were moments that will haunt me, and moments that I'll cherish as I sat there reading with a huge grin on my face...and immediately re-read because I loved them so much. I've loved all of Kara's books so far, but this one...you could just tell this one is especially special to the author. In my opinion, this is her best story yet. <3
    more
  • We love
    June 24, 2017
    2.5 - The plot was interesting concept, the idea of seeing the internal workings of a mega church intrigued me. First, I feel a bit sick of stereotypical views of PK's, so Josh's secret was predictable, and the romance was meh - again mainly physical-attraction based vs. character, what was with him always loving seeing Paige disheveled? Maybe a subtle dig at pressure in church leadership to be "perfect"? Second, at times I felt breathless, like the writing was rushed? or just flowed without tak 2.5 - The plot was interesting concept, the idea of seeing the internal workings of a mega church intrigued me. First, I feel a bit sick of stereotypical views of PK's, so Josh's secret was predictable, and the romance was meh - again mainly physical-attraction based vs. character, what was with him always loving seeing Paige disheveled? Maybe a subtle dig at pressure in church leadership to be "perfect"? Second, at times I felt breathless, like the writing was rushed? or just flowed without taking a breath? It made me tired. ;)
    more
  • Shona
    June 28, 2017
    This book didn't disappoint - it has all the hallmarks of Kara Isaacs writing - humour, drama and romance. Paige and Josh were so much fun to spend time with. Some laugh out loud moments along with relatable characters and a brilliant storyline which makes you say, "one more chapter before I turn the lights off..."Another excellent read from a gifted author.
    more
  • Dana Michael
    June 27, 2017
    Swooning Romance!!I just finished Then There Was You and I have the biggest smile on my face. This was such a sweet and fun read. I couldn't put this book down. It had all the feels. I laughed, and I cried, and then I laughed some more. Then... I swooned. I love books like this. If you are looking for a fun romcom with an inspirational message, then this book is for you.
    more
  • Tiffany M
    June 28, 2017
    This book was fantastic! I actually won the book in a contest and I am so happy I did because I have found a great new author. I loved the storytelling. The story is sweet and poignant at times and laugh out loud funny witty at others. Such a fun read.
    more
  • Johanna Cameron
    June 27, 2017
    Unexpectedly delightful, full of winsome and imperfect characters. Isaac once again crafts a story that is witty, fun, intriguing and deep. Read with great enjoyment and heartfelt expectation, you won't be disappointed.
  • Maria Christine
    June 25, 2017
    We should have our own version of "Josh" IRL.What can I say, Kara Isaac does it again!I mean, this book very good. It's not overly dramatic and the author did not go overboard with the "revelations" and "complications".It was enlightening and an easy read all at the same time.
    more
  • Heather
    June 27, 2017
    Every enjoyable Such a good story. It was hilarious in parts, heartbreaking in others, a romantic thread woven through it with a beautiful spiritual emphasis. Such a good book
Write a review