The Chaos of Standing Still
Ryn has one unread text message on her phone. And it’s been there for almost a year.She hasn’t tried to read it. She can’t. She won’t. Because that one message is the last thing her best friend ever said to her before she died.But as Ryn finds herself trapped in the Denver International Airport on New Year’s Eve thanks to a never-ending blizzard on the one-year anniversary of her best friend’s death, fate literally runs into her.And his name is Xander.When the two accidentally swap phones, Ryn and Xander are thrust into the chaos of an unforgettable all-night adventure, filled with charming and mysterious strangers, a secret New Year’s Eve bash, and a possible Illuminati conspiracy hidden within the Denver airport. But as the bizarre night continues, all Ryn can think about is that one unread text message. It follows her wherever she goes, because Ryn can’t get her brialliantly wild and free-spirited best friend out of her head.Ryn can’t move on.But tonight, for the first time ever, she’s trying. And maybe that’s a start.

The Chaos of Standing Still Details

TitleThe Chaos of Standing Still
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 28th, 2017
PublisherSimon Pulse
ISBN-139781481499187
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction

The Chaos of Standing Still Review

  • Hailey (HaileyinBookland)
    January 1, 1970
    I thoroughly enjoyed this. Way more than I had been expecting to!
  • Camila Roy ••RoyIsReading••
    January 1, 1970
    RATING: 4.5/5I love books about grief. This one in particular is very well written and soooo bittersweet❤ I connected with the storyline, the characters and the message so much! It had a lot of serious/sad moments but also fun, lighthearted ones. The romance was cute and it didn’t feel rushed at all, despite the circumstances. I noticed something in this book that I’ve seen before but never really paid much attention to. It’s the dysfunctional friendship trope (not sure if that’s actually a thin RATING: 4.5/5I love books about grief. This one in particular is very well written and soooo bittersweet❤️ I connected with the storyline, the characters and the message so much! It had a lot of serious/sad moments but also fun, lighthearted ones. The romance was cute and it didn’t feel rushed at all, despite the circumstances. I noticed something in this book that I’ve seen before but never really paid much attention to. It’s the dysfunctional friendship trope (not sure if that’s actually a thing but oh well...). This trope can be presented in many ways, from codependency to emotional blackmail. In this book, the main character, Ryn, is grieving her best friend, Lottie, in a very...how do I put it...bizarre way. She’s not crying or acting out. She’s simply standing still. Ryn feels lost, since Lottie was the likable, dateable and more worthy one out of the two (Ryn’s words, not mine).I think there was a severe lack of balance in this friendship. An introvert and an extrovert can be friends, of course. But I don’t think it’s healthy for someone to depend so much on their best friend, to the point where they forget their own worth. Ryn’s whole life seemed to revolve around Lottie before and after she died. I’m probably over-analyzing this but I still wanted to mention it, in case someone agrees with me. <I’ve wanted to read this book for a while and I’m so glad it didn’t disappoint! Would definitely recommend it :)
    more
  • Alyssa
    January 1, 1970
    Trying to decide how to review this book so I'm going with 3 stars for now. It was well-written and explores many issues -- but I'm just not sure I loved the book. Just because there is grief and loss and other heavy issues doesn't mean the book was "good"... I mean I think I enjoyed it? But also not really? I had a hard time connecting with Ryn. Which made me feel bad because she is a girl that is struggling to grieve for her best friend. But... I just didn't connect with her. Or like her. I pr Trying to decide how to review this book so I'm going with 3 stars for now. It was well-written and explores many issues -- but I'm just not sure I loved the book. Just because there is grief and loss and other heavy issues doesn't mean the book was "good"... I mean I think I enjoyed it? But also not really? I had a hard time connecting with Ryn. Which made me feel bad because she is a girl that is struggling to grieve for her best friend. But... I just didn't connect with her. Or like her. I probably should have felt really bad for her? Instead I just wanted to shake her. But people who are grieving (or not grieving, in this case) can be irrational? See why I'm having a hard time with this rating? *tears out hair****Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***The Chaos of Standing Still by Jessica BrodyPublisher: Simon PulsePublication Date: November 28, 2017Rating: 3 starsSource: eARC from EdelweissSummary (from Goodreads):Over the course of one chaotic night stranded at the Denver airport, Ryn confronts her shattered past thanks to the charm of romance, the uniqueness of strangers, and the magic of ordinary places in this stunning novel from the author of Boys of Summer.Ryn has one unread text message on her phone. And it’s been there for almost a year.She hasn’t tried to read it. She can’t. She won’t. Because that one message is the last thing her best friend ever said to her before she died.But as Ryn finds herself trapped in the Denver International Airport on New Year’s Eve thanks to a never-ending blizzard on the one-year anniversary of her best friend’s death, fate literally runs into her.And his name is Xander.When the two accidentally swap phones, Ryn and Xander are thrust into the chaos of an unforgettable all-night adventure, filled with charming and mysterious strangers, a secret New Year’s Eve bash, and a possible Illuminati conspiracy hidden within the Denver airport. But as the bizarre night continues, all Ryn can think about is that one unread text message. It follows her wherever she goes, because Ryn can’t get her brialliantly wild and free-spirited best friend out of her head.Ryn can’t move on.But tonight, for the first time ever, she’s trying. And maybe that’s a start.As moving as it is funny, The Chaos of Standing Still is a heartwarming story about the earth-shattering challenges life throws at us—and the unexpected strangers who help us along the way.What I Liked:The Chaos of Standing Still is a story about grief, loss, and hope, and it all starts with a blizzard in Denver. Usually I'm not one for YA contemporary, especially tough-issue YA contemporary, but I've enjoyed Jessica Brody's books in the past. I didn't hesitate to request this novel when I saw it on Edelweiss, because I had been fairly confident that I would enjoy the book. Sadly, that wasn't the case. While The Chaos of Standing Still is thought-provoking and hopeful, it is also messy and unorganized - unlike its heroine. I almost feel bad for not loving this book, because it is clearly supposed to be a powerful, moving novel. But it wasn't for me.Ryn is heading home to San Francisco, and she has a layover in Denver. The kicker? A huge blizzard is currently dumping a ton of snow on Denver, and there will be no flights coming in or going out of Denver. This is the worst possible scenario for Ryn, who needs to be home for New Year's the next day. She's traveling alone, back to her mother, and no one in the airport knows how badly she needs to be home. No one knows that her best friend died on New Year's Day nearly a year ago. No one knows that Ryn hasn't grieved yet, and she's hearing Lottie's voice in her head. A night in the airport is going to be torture. But Ryn makes an unexpected friend when she runs straight into a cute guy who had the same phone case as her. She doesn't expect him to be so sweet and thoughtful and understanding. She doesn't expect to let down her guard with him. She doesn't expect to finally come to terms with Lottie's death - but it is this that is so hard to understand. Ryn doesn't realize just how much she needed someone, to help her move past Lottie's death.Theoretically, I should have enjoyed this book. Even though I'm not a YA contemporary fan, and definitely not a tough-issue YA contemporary fan, I tend to like books dealing with a hero and heroine stuck together. And I did really like the setting. The airport is a great setting, especially since all flights throughout the entire airport were grounded for the night. No way in, no way out, not even for the employees. It was a long evening and night, but everyone made the most of it.The setting, I liked. I also adored Xander - he is a sweetheart. He is fun and charming, filled with energy and good humor. He is Ryn's "manic pixie girl" except he is a guy. She is a mopey sad girl, but when she meets him, he makes her do all sorts of fun things with him around the airport, and suddenly, she isn't feeling so mopey anymore. Xander is a good guy with good intentions and a good heart - and quick frankly, he deserved someone better than Ryn. I didn't really like Ryn. More on her below. And the story. And the ending. What I Did Not Like:I really wasn't able to connect with Ryn, which make me feel bad, because it didn't feel fair to dislike someone who was clearly repressing grief. Ryn is not a happy person, and not a nice one at times. She never really grieved for Lottie, and it has been a year. She makes things so hard for her therapist, like not volunteering anything to talk about. She lies about so many things, even though she is a terrible liar. Ryn hasn't been coping well, and this has been affecting more people than just herself. It was hard for me to like Ryn because she wasn't very nice to people, especially Xander. She was flat-out rude to him on their first encounter, and she didn't try to be nice to him after that. It was only about halfway into the book when she started to treat him like a human being, but by then, she started to act a little crazy (her words, not mine). Granted, she owned the fact that she was acting crazy (again, her words, not mine), but she was getting bent out of shape with Xander and other people who were trying to help her. I feel bad for disliking someone who went through a traumatic experience, but the traumatic experience and survivor's guilt aren't free passes to be a complete a** to anyone. Not to your parents. Not to your therapist. Not to strangers who are trying to help you. I didn't care for Lottie, which I probably shouldn't say since she is dead. She was fun and inhibited and caused all kinds of trouble - #richpeopleproblems. She had so much time and money and freedom on her hands, with little to no parental supervision. Lottie had no filters, no barriers, no rules, which made her a fun friend, but a dangerous one too, especially for someone like Ryn (a non-rule-breaker, a good girl, a straight-laced citizen).There was too much going on in this story. Ryn and all of her grief and shenanigans was enough. But there was too much going on with the airport too. The crazy storm, okay. The grounded flights, okay. The weird prodigious 14-year-old who was working on his Master's degree and trying to chase down a conspiracy theory in the airport? Random, unnecessary subplot. The bingo game that was probably supposed to be fun but seemed stupid? Random. Ryn making friends with the employees of an airport restaurant? I find it hard to believe in real life. Some stranger giving Ryn his VIP Million Mile-High Club card? Not plausible at all. There was so much random and unnecessary parts to this book that made it so busy and messy. The grief/loss aspect paired with the storm and having to stay overnight at the airport was enough.The romance was so pitiful. This book would have benefited by having no romance at all. Ryn pushed away Xander at every turn, even right down to the second she wanted him to kiss her and he wanted to kiss her/her to kiss him. She literally turned her cheek. Again, I understand the fact that she isn't grieving well and she's messed up in the head with hearing Lottie's voice and blah blah blah, but she wasn't very nice to Xander. And then there is the fact that they weren't even going to board the same flight - he was going to Miami, she was going to San Francisco. I'd rather not read romances that have an expiration date, like this one. The romance was so lackluster and not-there, but of course it was there. And the thing is, this book takes place in the span of about twenty-four hours. This isn't enough time for a solid friendship to blossom, let alone a romance.The ending is exactly what you would expect, in terms of the romance. In terms of Ryn... it's amazing how, after less than twenty-four hours, she has come to terms with many things (like Lottie's death, that one unread text message left by Lottie, all of Ryn's lies to everyone). Kind of a miraculous turnaround, don't you think? I was a little skeptical.Would I Recommend It:I feel like there are better books dealing with grief and loss out there. I can't think of any off the top of my head because I typically don't read these types of books, but I'm sure there are better ones. The thing is, I didn't find this book funny, or moving, or heartwarming, or any of those adjectives in the synopsis of this book. Instead I was a little annoyed as I was reading, and even when I wasn't annoyed, I wasn't super excited or in love either. This book was okay and not absolutely terrible, but it really isn't worth the time either.Rating:3 stars. I didn't really love Brody's previous two books and I didn't love this one so I think it's time to break up with this author's books. I did love 52 Reason to Hate My Father, but I feel like I haven't truly loved another one of her books since that one. Liked, yes, but mostly I've felt kind of ehhh towards her books. Like this one - I could see it having potential, being pretty good, but maybe not for me. I didn't connect with the heroine and that was the downfall there (for me).
    more
  • Jasmine
    January 1, 1970
    ***Actual rating: 3/5 R(V)eginald Stars*** If Lottie hadn’t died, I never would have known Xander. The Chaos of Standing Still is mainly about how Ryn learns to move on after her best friend, Lottie, died in a car accident one year ago. Long story short, Ryn was stuck in Denver International Airport due to a blizzard and she accidentally bumped into a guy named Xander when she tripped over her own feet while googling frantically on her phone. That was how the story began.Throughout the book, ***Actual rating: 3/5 R(V)eginald Stars*** If Lottie hadn’t died, I never would have known Xander. The Chaos of Standing Still is mainly about how Ryn learns to move on after her best friend, Lottie, died in a car accident one year ago. Long story short, Ryn was stuck in Denver International Airport due to a blizzard and she accidentally bumped into a guy named Xander when she tripped over her own feet while googling frantically on her phone. That was how the story began.Throughout the book, I’ve learnt a lot about Ryn:*She was extremely obsessed with her smartphone because 1)there was the last, tiny piece of Lottie—an unread text message from her—for her to hold on to whenever she wanted and 2)there was Google. I kid you not, Ryn googled literally everything she could think of, from how a blizzard was formed to why someone died and others didn’t. *She was addicted to finding answers. Ryn believed that everything happened for a reason…except Lottie’s death because Lottie was such a sweet friend and she didn’t deserve to be killed by a drunk driver, who barely got a scratch in the accident. For the past year I’ve been searching for answers that I may never find. That may not even exist. No matter how many times I look at all the information, no matter how many times I replay January 1st, 10:05 a.m., in my head, Lottie’s death may never make sense to me. *She’d been underestimating the power of drawing/sketching/art all this time when she should’ve grieved Lottie properly. Since she was stuck in the airport for a night, she met a child prodigy, Troy, who was a scientist looking for answers most of his lifetime and he was figuring out the meaning of some murals in the airport. Apparently, Ryn gave him some profound interpretations that at the same time, showed him how much art had impacted on her life. Throughout the story, I also learnt quite a lot about Xander:*He was actually a rebellious teenager when most people considered him to be the opposite. His relationship with his parents wasn’t exactly as perfect as people thought and I admired him for who he was.*He was destined to be with Ryn. The moment they accidentally took each other’s phone because as unlikely as it was, they had exactly the same phone cases, made in the same country as well (duh = =). Anyway, what’s the odd of two people with the same phone cases bumping into each other in the same place, at the same time? My favorite part of the story was probably when Ryn shared her thoughts on the murals in the airport with Troy. Troy may be a 14-year-old genius, but he was mature enough to read Ryn’s mind. I loved the way he explained how unreasonable, unanswerable things were sometimes and how people should just move on without seeking the absolute solution to Ryn, because again, 90% of the book Ryn was trying to rationalize Lottie’s death. I blow out a frustrated breath. “But we can’t just stop here. Don’t you want to know? You said this was one of your big problems. Don’t you want to solve it? Get to the truth? You’re a scientist! Aren’t scientists obsessed with finding answers?” And there they are again. Those inquisitive eyes of his. That calm, observing gaze. Except this time, there’s something else in there too. Empathy. “Yes, we are,” Troy says in his usual blunt tone. “But as a scientist, you also need to know when to let go and accept the fact that sometimes there are no answers.” What’s more, I really, really liked Ryn’s new friends in the airport because they always provided her with different perspectives on her personal matters (for example, constantly googling stuff that shouldn’t be a problem for most people and ignoring her talkative friends). Her new friends were funny, humorous and so down-to-earth that I wish I could befriend them as well. Of course, one of the friends was Xander, whom I adored the most among all the characters since he was the one who truly understood and sympathized Ryn the entire time without complaining about her certain behavior. Most importantly, I appreciated how he brought Ryn to her senses in the end. I mean, just because she couldn’t let her best friend go and lead a normal life doesn’t mean she could push those who cared about her away. Although I didn’t 100% agree with what Xander did to make her read—or NOT read— that unread message, I still thought he did the right thing after all. ”Just read the message, Ryn. Stop avoiding your feelings and read the damn message! Look, it’s easy.” His finger plunges toward the screen, and it may as well be a knife plunging into my heart. “Nooooooo!” I scream, causing a few sleeping passengers around us to stir. But it’s too late. He’s done it. He’s clicked it. He’s reading it. It’s read. It will never be unread again. The last thing I absolutely loved in this story was when Ryn finally, truly moved on one year after Lottie’s death by sketching the Lottie she remembered and cherished in her heart. Ryn refused to do the only thing she enjoyed most—drawing and creating a piece of art—because she felt wrong doing it when her best friend was dead. Therefore, it was a huge step in her life when she made up her mind to pick up a pencil and paper just to reminisce the beauty of Lottie for Xander. In other words, I had to thank Xander for finding back who she was before Lottie died and for helping her look forward. But this isn’t drawing. At least not like any drawing I’ve ever done before. This is an outpouring. This is a release. These are all the lines and all the shadows and all the shapes that have been trapped inside me for almost a year. That have been following me around wherever I go. Waiting to be made real. This is like something moving through me, piloting my hand, emptying my mind until everything around me disappears. The room. The snow. The people. Even Xander. This is trying to catch water from a pitcher in a thimble. This is a year’s worth of demons channeled into a fragile piece of paper. This is me finally breathing life back into Lottie. Enough with what I liked in the book, let’s go on to the disappointing part. As much as I was satisfied with Ryn’s character development and her interaction with her new friends from the airport, there was something that’d been bothering me the whole time when I was reading this book: The fact that Lottie was on Ryn’s mind 95% of the time in the story almost drove me crazy. I was totally fine when Ryn missed Lottie a lot and shared some of their precious memories before that dreadful night with us, but I simply couldn’t stand the way Lottie occupied most of Ryn’s thought in real life. For instance, when Ryn was in a predicament with her friends/Xander, Lottie was there to tell her what to do and what not to do and Ryn would seriously consider Lottie’s advice instead of making her own decisions. Although Ryn eventually realized that she was not Lottie and she would never be Lottie in the last 5% of the book, I personally thought it was still too late for her to come to her senses. I knew it was hard to fully let her beloved friend go and that she missed Lottie all the time, but I’d appreciate more if Lottie wasn’t dictating to Ryn so often. ”And I thought I could hang on to her forever. I thought if I could just keep one tiny piece of her alive, then everything would be fine. She would never really be gone. But now that piece is gone too, and I feel so alone. I feel more alone right now than the day she died. I thought if I could just control the rest of the world, then this one uncontrollable part of it wouldn’t matter. Or it couldn’t hurt. But it turns out, I was wrong. Because it hurts like hell.” All in all, The Chaos of Standing Still is a rather quick read for me and despite the disappointing element in the story, I’d recommend this to everyone who’d like to have a winter read because the overall plot was pretty well-thought-out. This book showed how much Ryn had come from the person she was after Lottie’s death to the one she is now thanks to her friends and Xander. And also thanks to that unexpected blizzard which got her stuck in Denver International Airport in the first place. The Chaos of Standing Still will be a wonderful read in the holiday season and hopefully you’ll love it more than I do. What if life is predictable? What if people leave for no reason? What if losing is just another part of living? What if the universe can’t be controlled? What if chaos is good? What if some questions can never be answered? What if that’s okay?I think that’s okay. ***Thanks to the publisher and FFBC for sending me an e-copy in exchange for an honest review.***
    more
  • Maureen
    January 1, 1970
    3.5/5 starsI really enjoyed this book! I liked watching Ryn grow as a character and really liked the romance, but it wasn’t my *favorite*.A good quick read, though!
  • Amy Leigh
    January 1, 1970
    This book is about grief. Everyone grieves differently and Ryn is no exception. I felt I had a personal connection with Ryn and that made me love this book even more. Xander was adorable and I hope there will be a second book where they reunite. I laughed and straight up bawled my eyes out throughout this book. Ryn is trying to mourn the death of her best friend Lottie, who was killed in a car accident while the drunk driver got away without injury. She hasn't been able to grieve and has prolong This book is about grief. Everyone grieves differently and Ryn is no exception. I felt I had a personal connection with Ryn and that made me love this book even more. Xander was adorable and I hope there will be a second book where they reunite. I laughed and straight up bawled my eyes out throughout this book. Ryn is trying to mourn the death of her best friend Lottie, who was killed in a car accident while the drunk driver got away without injury. She hasn't been able to grieve and has prolonged her release by holding onto Lottie's last text message to her and leaving it unread. She gets stuck in a Denver airport due to a blizzard and chaos ensues. Xander bumps into Ryn and they happen to have the same phone case and accidentally grab the wrong phones. Now they are connected and have to find each other to exchange phones. This begins a fun escapade through a shut down airport and the beginning of Ryn's worst nightmare (after Lottie's death). She meets so many people in the airport and starts opening up little by little.
    more
  • Stacee
    January 1, 1970
    I looooooove 24 hour time frame books. They’re frustrating and fantastic and I was beyond excited to see that Jessica’s book was all about one day. And it didn’t disappoint. Love love love Ryn and Xander. She’s so deep in grief, it’s almost like she’s drowning. Xander is fun and flirty. Together they’re both going through stuff and it was captivating to see how they worked it out. Of course there were some sweet swoons and laughs and they’re sprinkled through at the best moments. Plot wise, it w I looooooove 24 hour time frame books. They’re frustrating and fantastic and I was beyond excited to see that Jessica’s book was all about one day. And it didn’t disappoint. Love love love Ryn and Xander. She’s so deep in grief, it’s almost like she’s drowning. Xander is fun and flirty. Together they’re both going through stuff and it was captivating to see how they worked it out. Of course there were some sweet swoons and laughs and they’re sprinkled through at the best moments. Plot wise, it was perfection. I loved seeing the small flashbacks with Lottie and the way it’s shared truly shows how Ryn felt so alone. The location of an airport sets up so many fun things and this cast of characters is one I could read forever. Overall, it was hopeful and heartbreaking and hilarious with an ending that made me hug the book when I was done. **Huge thanks to Simon Pulse for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Alice Cai
    January 1, 1970
    2.75*I don't have time to read because I should be studying so I skimmed 2/3 of this book and only read the last 1/3 completely. It still took like 3 hours to read though. The story was pretty interesting.The main character Ryn is grieving over her dead best friend Lottie and it took over her life. Ryn talks to Lottie in her head for the whole book. (I actually do this a lot with people I know, but they are not dead. I like it. I'm pretty sure it's not too weird.) There are also flashbacks to he 2.75*I don't have time to read because I should be studying so I skimmed 2/3 of this book and only read the last 1/3 completely. It still took like 3 hours to read though. The story was pretty interesting.The main character Ryn is grieving over her dead best friend Lottie and it took over her life. Ryn talks to Lottie in her head for the whole book. (I actually do this a lot with people I know, but they are not dead. I like it. I'm pretty sure it's not too weird.) There are also flashbacks to her and Lottie's friendship while she was still alive. I didn't really like Ryn or Lottie much. Ryn seems desperate and Lottie seems like an asshole. I know that the message of the story that Ryn needed to start living for herself, but still.I didn't like the romance with Xander. (Xander is a stupid name too. I'm sorry that your name is Xander.) I thought they were pretty shit together. I guess it was ok for the story though. I'm glad I didn't read the whole book and only read the last 1/3. I hated her therapist. The therapist seemed useless and annoyed me.I just read a review that kind of pissed me off so I just want to say Xander was a piece of shit too and not just Ryn and Lottie. His personality just rubs me the wrong way and he's annoying as his stupid name. I feel like he's supposed to be swoonworthy, but comes off as a try hard.
    more
  • Olivia (The Candid Cover)
    January 1, 1970
    The Chaos of Standing still drew me in right from the start. It is the story of a girl stranded in an airport, but with a twist. There are so many interesting side characters and some super cute moments throughout the book. While I enjoyed the story, I found the constant interruptions for flashbacks to get annoying, and I wish I could have enjoyed it more.This book is cute, funny, and heart-wrenching all at once. It tells the story of a girl stranded in an airport on New Year’s Eve, which also h The Chaos of Standing still drew me in right from the start. It is the story of a girl stranded in an airport, but with a twist. There are so many interesting side characters and some super cute moments throughout the book. While I enjoyed the story, I found the constant interruptions for flashbacks to get annoying, and I wish I could have enjoyed it more.This book is cute, funny, and heart-wrenching all at once. It tells the story of a girl stranded in an airport on New Year’s Eve, which also happens to be the anniversary of her best friend’s death. She ends up befriending a boy because of a strange coincidence, and she finally starts to move on. I loved reading about Ryn and her new friends’ adventures together and their way of ringing in the new year. There is a good amount of comic relief and a couple of plot twists in the story, which add some more excitement. I’m not normally a fan of super depressing books, so I was glad to see that this one isn’t actually that bad.I adored the cast of characters in The Chaos of Standing Still, or rather, the side characters. I’m still not entirely sure what I think of the main character. I found Xander to be so sweet, and I loved how patient and encouraging he is with Ryn. He has a great sense of humour and problems of his own, making him a pretty complex character. I also really enjoyed the quirky characters Ryn and Xander meet at the airport, such as Siri (the barista) and Troy (the fourteen year old genius). They make the book more fun, and I loved reading about their humorous interactions.Since the book takes place during one day, there are a lot of flashbacks that tell the story of Ryn and Lottie’s past. I appreciate a good flashback every once in a while, but in this case, the flashbacks seem to occur right when the story is picking up. Just as I’m getting invested in the story, there is an interruption, and it really takes away from the action. I would have preferred it if the flashbacks occurred at the end of the chapter, instead of right in the middle of an interesting scene. That and the pretty unrealistic events at the airport lowered my rating of what could have been an amazing novel.The Chaos of Standing Still is a complex novel about coping with the death of a loved one. There is plenty of comic relief and some pretty adorable moments, so the book isn’t pure sorrow. I loved the unique side characters throughout the story, but the flashbacks became annoying for me. I didn’t hate this book, but I definitely believe that it could have been better.
    more
  • Cesar
    January 1, 1970
    4 stars“Any system, if left unattended or isolated, will eventually result in entropy. Or chaos.”I was in the mood for a contemporary reading and as I was pondering, it started to snow here in Texas. Texas, of all places! It just so happens I bought The Chaos of Standing Still a week ago and the book is set in winter so it all played out in the end.This is my first book by Jessica Brody and I'm impressed so far. It's a nice, sorta-cute novel about grief, loss, and acceptance with shenanigans and 4 stars“Any system, if left unattended or isolated, will eventually result in entropy. Or chaos.”I was in the mood for a contemporary reading and as I was pondering, it started to snow here in Texas. Texas, of all places! It just so happens I bought The Chaos of Standing Still a week ago and the book is set in winter so it all played out in the end.This is my first book by Jessica Brody and I'm impressed so far. It's a nice, sorta-cute novel about grief, loss, and acceptance with shenanigans and a possible conspiracy.This is a book that takes place in 24 hours and surprisingly I liked it. Usually, when a book takes place in the span of 24 hours, I tend to avoid them because you can only put so much development in 24 hours. A lot can happen in 24 hours but most of the time (in sci-fi or fantasy books) many things happen and I'm sitting here trying to process what the hell is going on.Thankfully, The Chaos of Standing Still did a good job handling the 24-hour span. It didn't feel rushed and there was a substantial amount of development throughout the story. As mentioned above, The Chaos of Standing Still deals with grief and loss as Ryn - our protagonist - is in an airport waiting for her plane to take her home back to San Franciso on New Year's Eve. Tomorrow is the anniversary of her best friend's death and she is still living with her inner demons about her friend's death. Enter Xander. The two accidentally swap phones and when they return the phones to the respected owners, their adventure begins.Ryn and her arc is probably my most favorite thing about the story. She has a straightforward attitude and wants things done and for wants questions to have answers instead of nothing. She does this with her phone asking random questions. Her finding answers assure her; knowing that everything has an answer... sometimes.I think her journey of trying to come to terms with her friend's death is something we all can share with. The questions of 'what ifs' is the main driving force of the story. There's a small talk about Schrödinger's cat and it something that can be mind opening when you understand the meaning of the theory. Especially since it deals with the loss of a loved one. Of course, the book does have it's fun and sort-of cute moments that brightened up the story. From talking about random stuff to a conspiracy theory, there are bright happy moments where Ryn can feel happy. There is romance in the story but it doesn't take up most of the plot. And it wasn't something like a love at first sight trope. Thank God because I cannot understand how someone can fall in love in 24 hours.My only issue would have to be some misunderstandings Ryn and Xander. I hate it when these things happen because it can be easily fixed with honesty but as always, they don't tell the truth, creating unnecessary drama. Verdict The Chaos of Standing Still is a light contemporary with some dark moments. Even with those dark occasions, it's a good and fun read. Thanks for reading my review!-Cesar
    more
  • Thamy
    January 1, 1970
    As my first book by Brody, I had no idea how it was going to be. I just didn't expect to like it so much.Ryn lost her best friend almost a year ago and still hasn't found the right way to grieve. Instead, she holds on the one unread message in her phone and keeps searching for answers to every random question that pops up into her head. Stranded at the Denver Airport during a snow storm on the day before the first anniversary, she meets Xander and a parade of unique people. They seem to get the As my first book by Brody, I had no idea how it was going to be. I just didn't expect to like it so much.Ryn lost her best friend almost a year ago and still hasn't found the right way to grieve. Instead, she holds on the one unread message in her phone and keeps searching for answers to every random question that pops up into her head. Stranded at the Denver Airport during a snow storm on the day before the first anniversary, she meets Xander and a parade of unique people. They seem to get the closest anyone has ever been to making her move on. This was lovely, both funny and emotional. I don't have enough words to describe how much I connected with Ryn's situation. Some times, it felt like I had really lost my best friend. I think Brody's win was to really focus on this instead of the same-old "love can cure any hurt"—we do have a plethora of cute romantic scenes too, don't worry. But as I said, the story also had funny moments, lots of them. She knew how to insert each of these moments in a way the book felt at the same time hilarious and heartbreaking.The side characters aren't very believable but the whole situation of being stuck at an airport on new Year's Eve is so unusual that you don't question the chances. Brody's writing contributes to the idea of being sent into a parallel dimension, and it's so much fun even I wanted to be in the middle!The only character that really bothered me was Lottie. She was Ryn's best friend, killed in a car accident, but Ryn can still hear her speak only to her. My problem was with how much Ryn idealized Lottie. I know it's part of the intention, but I still find it too much. It took me a while to warm up to Lottie thanks to that.The part with the conspiracy theories in the airport was also distracting, making me wonder why the author and even some kid prodigy would waste time on that.Aside from that, I wish we had a little more about Xander. In the end, I was left with a feeling something lacked. He could have received more depth. Aside from that, he was an okay book boyfriend. Not my type but not one I would ever hate. I'd say many readers will like him, in fact.This is very recommended for book clubs, since the themes on grieving and family might generate nice discussion.So yes, I really liked this book. You can see by how trivial my complaints are. I'm sure fans of contemporary YA will fall in love. I believe it should also please who enjoyed Before I Fall and If I Stay, since the storytelling reminded me of those. Brody's style really got me so I'm looking forward to more of her works.Review based on an ARC provided by Edelweiss. I also want to thank the publisher for giving me this opportunity.
    more
  • Danielle (Life of a Literary Nerd)
    January 1, 1970
    “Any system, if left unattended or isolated, will eventually result in entropy. Or chaos.” This is the holiday contemporary you should reach for if you want more than just an adorable romance. Don’t get me wrong, it’s got that too, but The Chaos of Standing Still is all about friendship and healing and learning to move on when you’re desperately holding onto the past. The snowed-in airport was the perfect setting for the story, and we got to meet a lot of interesting characters. While there w “Any system, if left unattended or isolated, will eventually result in entropy. Or chaos.” This is the holiday contemporary you should reach for if you want more than just an adorable romance. Don’t get me wrong, it’s got that too, but The Chaos of Standing Still is all about friendship and healing and learning to move on when you’re desperately holding onto the past. The snowed-in airport was the perfect setting for the story, and we got to meet a lot of interesting characters. While there were some weird side plots, Illuminati airport conspiracy theory anyone? For the most part, this was a fun and heartfelt read that is perfect for this holiday season.I received a copy of the book from Simon Pulse via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Tapasya
    January 1, 1970
    Rating: ★ ★ ★Lead Male Character: Xander ★ ★ ★ Lead Female Character: Kathryn ★ ★Plotline: ★ ★ ★ Genre: Young Adult RomanceWill I recommend this book to others?: Not sureWill I reread this book?: No wayVerdict: Lost Interest So Kathryn is drowning in sadness since an accident took her friends life one year back. She has one unread message in her phone. It's the last message received from her friend before she died. She hasn't opened it. Its New Year's Eve and she is traveling to Atlanta to San F Rating: ★ ★ ★Lead Male Character: Xander ★ ★ ★ Lead Female Character: Kathryn ★ ★Plotline: ★ ★ ★ Genre: Young Adult RomanceWill I recommend this book to others?: Not sureWill I reread this book?: No wayVerdict: Lost Interest So Kathryn is drowning in sadness since an accident took her friends life one year back. She has one unread message in her phone. It's the last message received from her friend before she died. She hasn't opened it. Its New Year's Eve and she is traveling to Atlanta to San Francisco via Denver. But unfortunately she gets stranded at Denver Airport due to Heavy Snowstorm. There she meets Xander, with whom she accidentally swap phones. There are also some other interesting side characters. So basically what her therapist couldn't do in the whole year is been done in these two days. She lets go the feeling of guilt. She finally reads the unread message. I honestly kept reading this book due to the unread message mystery. The beginning was awesome and intriguing. But later the story kind of dragged. It even got to the point that I started skimming. The flashbacks with her friend was uninteresting. I honestly hated that so called friend. Overall, it was good, but not as amazing as I thought it would've been by the end of the bookIf you want a light winter read, then you can check this out.
    more
  • Dayle (the literary llama)
    January 1, 1970
    I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.QUICK NOTES: I must admit that I have a fondness for stories that take place in an airport. Although, besides the Tom Hanks movie, Terminal, I'm having a hard time coming up with a few examples right this very second. But that's neither here nor there! The fact is, airport settings make me want to read (we could analyze that but that's not why you're here so let's move on).So we start with an airport (DIA, which I loathe. I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.QUICK NOTES: I must admit that I have a fondness for stories that take place in an airport. Although, besides the Tom Hanks movie, Terminal, I'm having a hard time coming up with a few examples right this very second. But that's neither here nor there! The fact is, airport settings make me want to read (we could analyze that but that's not why you're here so let's move on).So we start with an airport (DIA, which I loathe...nothing against Denver, I just don't like your airport...once again, I'm off topic). Add in a teenage girl with survivor's remorse and anxiety, a seemingly care-free guy with secrets looming, and top it all off with a blizzard. The result is a deeply touching story filled with hijinks and humor, thanks to a colorful and unruly secondary cast. It should also be noted that I really enjoy stories of grief and all it’s stages. I love the depth that the characters are written in and through. When it’s well written, like this one is, it’s beautiful. And luckily, though the characters were trapped in an airport, there were so many places to explore and take those characters, and not just in a physical sense. The airport afforded so many growth opportunities. Overall, I really enjoyed this book and highly recommend!
    more
  • Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader
    January 1, 1970
    I'm kind of surprised how much I liked this book and how much it made me feel. The whole book takes place in one day, but there are flashbacks. But so much happens in that single day.Ryn hasn't been able to live a happy life since her best friend, Lottie, died almost one year ago. Ryn is flying home and needs to be there before 10:05 am, the time Lottie was killed. But the Denver weather had other ideas and she is stuck at the airport with no where to go.Xander is heading to visit his parents in I'm kind of surprised how much I liked this book and how much it made me feel. The whole book takes place in one day, but there are flashbacks. But so much happens in that single day.Ryn hasn't been able to live a happy life since her best friend, Lottie, died almost one year ago. Ryn is flying home and needs to be there before 10:05 am, the time Lottie was killed. But the Denver weather had other ideas and she is stuck at the airport with no where to go.Xander is heading to visit his parents in Miami when he runs into Ryn. Actually, she falls into him, and they accidentally swap phones. This little moment in a day changes everything for both of them.Ryn and Xander end up spending the entire night having adventures around the airport. Ryn is hesitant for most of it, but something about Xander makes her feel alive. But Lottie is still on her mind (she actually talks to Ryn inside her head). She can't get the last message Lottie sent out of her mind. She refuses to read it, thinking that once it's gone, Lottie is really gone, too.Ryn and Xander meet others in the airport and some of those characters really made the story for me. Especially Siri and Troy. Siri helped break up some of the tension and Troy was just an interesting character. I loved when Ryn went with him to explore the conspiracies of the airport.While I loved the growing relationship with Ryn and Xander, I really loved how they both helped each other without even really trying. I also really liked all the backstory. While it was obvious to the reader that Lottie wasn't a perfect person, Ryn just had a hard time letting that image of her friend go. Ryn didn't know who she was without Lottie. She thought Lottie made her who she was, improved her. But Ryn didn't see how damaged Lottie was and that she needed Ryn just as much.There were so many emotions that Ryn went through and everything felt very real to me. I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher.
    more
  • Leslie Cardix
    January 1, 1970
    The story goes back and forth between the present moment in the airport and her memories of her life with Charlotte, her best friend. And so we learn about the person she was in contrast to who she is now as she is filled with anxiety and is completely broken. Little by little we also learn more about Charlotte and her tragic death.The writing was really good, it flowed smoothly. There was never any confusion between the flashbacks and the present time. The devastating coping mechanism that the The story goes back and forth between the present moment in the airport and her memories of her life with Charlotte, her best friend. And so we learn about the person she was in contrast to who she is now as she is filled with anxiety and is completely broken. Little by little we also learn more about Charlotte and her tragic death.The writing was really good, it flowed smoothly. There was never any confusion between the flashbacks and the present time. The devastating coping mechanism that the main character has was extremely well thought out and well expressed. I loved the way the friendship between Charlotte and Ryn was described and the complete emptiness and anger she now feels without her best friend. It felt very real.I gave this book a 4 out of 5 because for 2 thirds of the book, I read the words, the descriptions of her grief but I didn’t feel them. When I picked up this book, I wanted to feel shattered. Especially due to the topic, I expected to be bawling from beginning to end and sort of wanted to be. Isn’t that weird? Like do you guys ever just want to have a good cry? But I didn’t actually feel sad until the very end of the book when she releases Charlotte. I just kept wondering if I was broken. But then the last 50 pages had me sobbing, like ugly cry. The ending was so perfect. And the word “Always” now holds even more meaning to me. From HP obv but also, when you read this book, you’ll get it.I’m very glad I’ve read this. It makes you want to hug your best friend a little tighter.
    more
  • alice (arctic books)
    January 1, 1970
    You can find this review and others at arctic booksI went into this book with pretty high expectations because I adored the synopsis and the cover. Thankfully, I was not disappointed. I adored this contemporary romance standalone, and I look forward to reading Jessica Brody’s next works!THE CHAOS OF STANDING STILL follows Ryn as she is stranded at an airport. She meets a boy named Xander and tries to come in terms with the death of her best friend, Lottie. The concurrence of flashbacks of Lottie You can find this review and others at arctic booksI went into this book with pretty high expectations because I adored the synopsis and the cover. Thankfully, I was not disappointed. I adored this contemporary romance standalone, and I look forward to reading Jessica Brody’s next works!THE CHAOS OF STANDING STILL follows Ryn as she is stranded at an airport. She meets a boy named Xander and tries to come in terms with the death of her best friend, Lottie. The concurrence of flashbacks of Lottie and the current interactions between Ryn and Xander allows for a tumultuous emotional journey throughout the night during which this novel takes place.I enjoyed reading from Ryn’s perspective – the writing makes for an poignant yet humorous contemporary, filled with a dynamic relationship between Xander and Ryn. Ryn is filled with grief after the death of Lottie and I loved how different yet similar Xander and Ryn’s personalities were.Overall, THE CHAOS OF STANDING STILL is a hilarious yet heartbreaking contemporary that occurs over the course of one night. There’s themes of grief, healing, romance, and friendship, and I hope you adore this book as much as I did.Thank you to Simon for this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Amanda Hanson
    January 1, 1970
    I didn't realize how much I needed this book until I stayed up until 2 AM reading it. I needed to see on the page that sometimes people don't think you're crazy even if you do crazy things. I needed Ryn. And I needed Xander. I needed them and I loved them.I think my favorite part of this book, though, is that no one leaves the airport throughout the whole thing. Life goes on eventually, but the book keeps them at the airport for the entirety of the story. I liked that. I liked wondering about th I didn't realize how much I needed this book until I stayed up until 2 AM reading it. I needed to see on the page that sometimes people don't think you're crazy even if you do crazy things. I needed Ryn. And I needed Xander. I needed them and I loved them.I think my favorite part of this book, though, is that no one leaves the airport throughout the whole thing. Life goes on eventually, but the book keeps them at the airport for the entirety of the story. I liked that. I liked wondering about their futures but not knowing how it all turns out. Like I said, I needed this book right now. I'm probably going to need some time to completely feel my feelings. Thank you to the publisher and NetGalley for the advanced reader copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Lauren
    January 1, 1970
    Jessica Brody is one of my insta-buy young adult authors, right up there with Sarah Dessen, Meg Cabot, and Richelle Mead. Her books always succeed in impressing me, no matter the story lines and characters introduced. Case in point: A Week of Mondays, 52 Reasons to Hate My Father, The Karma Club, My Life Undecided, and The Fidelity Files. Therefore, when I heard about The Chaos of Standing Still, her latest YA, I instantly added it to my TBR pile. The storyline sounded great, the setting sounded Jessica Brody is one of my insta-buy young adult authors, right up there with Sarah Dessen, Meg Cabot, and Richelle Mead. Her books always succeed in impressing me, no matter the story lines and characters introduced. Case in point: A Week of Mondays, 52 Reasons to Hate My Father, The Karma Club, My Life Undecided, and The Fidelity Files. Therefore, when I heard about The Chaos of Standing Still, her latest YA, I instantly added it to my TBR pile. The storyline sounded great, the setting sounded even better, and the cover was a show stealer. The Result? Equal parts heartwarming and heartbreaking, The Chaos of Standing Still is at its core a story we have seen time and time again (a timid, shy girl suffers the incredible, devastating loss of her beautiful and wild best friend); however, Jessica Brody managed to put her own unique spin on it. Introducing a winter wonderland setting, a cast of characters that brought the laughs and the tears, and a romance I couldn't help but root for, Jessica Brody makes this book incredibly hard to put down. There was so much to enjoy about The Chaos of Standing Still; however, one of my favorite parts was the setting. Who knew an airport as a setting could bring about so much fun, adventure, and trouble? I certainly didn't, but boy did Jessica manage to change my views on that one. I want more books with airport settings and stat! It was so much fun to see the airport become its own little world in the blizzard, and I loved the many ways in which Jessica managed to use it and its resources to further the plot and the characters. Plus, she even included conspiracy theory in, and I don't know about you all but I love a good conspiracy theory. The Chaos of Standing Still also brought to life a large and wonderful cast of characters. Prior to starting the book, I was slightly worried about Ryn. Some reviews I had read seen hadn't been too found of her, and I was worried I would struggle with connecting to and liking her as well. As it turns out, I didn't really have too much of a problem. I didn't like her as much as Jessica's previous protagonists, but I still did like her overall. When we're first introduced to Ryn, she's in an incredibly bad place. She's suffering, more sad and regretful then happy and hopeful, and obsessed with the only thing she has left of her best friend - a single unread text message. One of the things I loved about Ryn was how Jessica showed through her character that everyone grieves differently - there's no right or wrong way to grieving and sometimes it can get pretty ugly and include more than one rock bottom, but there's nothing wrong with that. Ryn wasn't the best at moving on from Lottie's death. She was closed up to the world, refusing to let anyone in, and I understood that. It's hard, even more so when you feel responsible, but throughout the book, I hoped and wish that she would learn to live again, and maybe even open her heart up to Xander. Additionally, I enjoyed and valued the progress she experienced as the book progressed. It was rewarding to see her begin to make new friends and open up to others, no matter how hard it may be. Xander, on the other hand, was great. I loved his humor, his spunk, and his dirty little secrets - the later of which I completely didn't see coming! Like Ryn, Xander's also dealing with his own problems, ones that seemed to have no solution. It was interesting to see them urge the other to move on and face their problems and fears head on; however, I will admit sometimes it was hard to see Ryn blow up at Xander about certain things but I did understand and respect why it was important to the overall story. The plot in this mainly involved around grieving, learning to find happiness in the little things, and finding love in the most unexpected of places. Basically, it was the kind of YA contemporary that had my heart continuously fluttering in happiness. I also liked how Jessica included flashbacks of Lottie and Ryn's past. It helped in developing their friendship. Plus, it was interesting to see who Lottie was first hand, and let me tell you, Lottie was a completed character. She was someone who inspired a lot of mixed feelings in me, but mostly, I did like her as a person - she was crazy and reckless but she did love Ryn. I could go on about this book all day, but I won't. I will say, however, that if you love emotional books, The Chaos of Standing Still is the book for you! As always, I can't wait to see what Jessica writes next. Grade: A-
    more
  • Kelly Gunderman
    January 1, 1970
    Check out this, other reviews, and more fun bookish things on my young adult book blog, Here's to Happy Endings!I haven't read a lot of books by Jessica Brody - while I have quite a few of the ones that she has written so far, the only one that I have actually gotten around to reading was Addie Bell's Shortcut to Growing Up . I thought that was a really cute book for both middle graders, young adults, and adults who enjoy young adult and middle grade (like me!). So I had really high hopes for T Check out this, other reviews, and more fun bookish things on my young adult book blog, Here's to Happy Endings!I haven't read a lot of books by Jessica Brody - while I have quite a few of the ones that she has written so far, the only one that I have actually gotten around to reading was Addie Bell's Shortcut to Growing Up . I thought that was a really cute book for both middle graders, young adults, and adults who enjoy young adult and middle grade (like me!). So I had really high hopes for The Chaos of Standing Still. "I will always be a survivor. I will always be the girl who didn't get in the car that day. That will be my identity until the day I die.After that, no one can call me survivor anymore." The Chaos of Standing Still tells the story of Ryn, a girl who is dealing with the aftermath of a tragedy even a year after it happened, who gets stuck in an airport on her way home because of a horrible snowstorm. Since her anxiety is through the roof already, she spends a good portion of her time Googling questions on her phone (something that is incredibly important to her), and staring at the notification that reminds her that she has one unread message. That unread message is from her best friend, Lottie, and has sat on her phone since the day she died. Ryn hasn't read it, and can't bring herself to read it, because she believes that once she reads that message and the notification goes away, then she has to accept that Lottie is really gone. "I swiped my phone screen on and stared down at my messaging app.One unread messageOne unanswered question.One piece of her still left. Still alive. Still existing in the world." Ryn's obsession with that text message, coupled with the guilt that she feels about surviving while her best friend died, as well as her never ending need to look up questions she has on her phone, Ryn has a hard time coping with the fact that she will be stuck in this airport overnight at least. She wants to get home so that she can fall apart the next day all alone - because the next day will mark one year that her best friend Lottie died.When Ryn runs into a cute boy by accident, and the two of them end up grabbing each other's phones and then having to switch them back, it turns into a a completely different experience for Ryn - one that she isn't sure what to do with, especially when the boy asks her to have lunch with him, and then hang out with him in the airport. At first, Ryn is hesitant, but she eventually gives in to Lottie's voice, which she fabricates in her mind to help deal with her grief. Lottie's voice tells her that she needs to take him up on his offer, and against her better judgement, Ryn finds herself having lunch with a cute boy, having a party with some of the staff at the airport, and finally coming to terms with grief she has been burying for a year. "It was at that moment, in my eight years of life, that I realized there are two kinds of people in this world: those who eat their Push-Up Popsicles a little at a time. And those who try to devour them whole. Or in other words: There was me and there was Lottie." I really enjoyed the friendship aspect of The Chaos of Standing Still. Even though Lottie is dead, we still get a lot of flashbacks about their friendship, including how they became friends, and I feel like we get to know Lottie a lot better than Ryn. It's easy to see how much Ryn loved Lottie, and it's kind of heartbreaking to watch as she crumbles under her grief. Their friendship was really something special, through the good and the bad.The grief that Ryn has to deal with is heartbreaking, and the fact that a cute boy in an airport can more or less force her to face it was interesting - all the feelings that she had, her anxiety, her survivor's guilt - it all comes to the surface in this novel, and it kind of grabs you and sucks you in so that you can almost feel what she is feeling. Jessica Brody did a really great job writing her character and the devastating things that she was dealing with.Ryn's character was interesting, and I did like her, but I wasn't really able to connect with Xander's character all that much. I don't know why, but for whatever reason, he just seemed kind of cookie-cutter, although both Lottie and Ryn's characters were really rounded. I do feel like by focusing completely on the tragedy and other things that Ryn was dealing with, we didn't really get a good view of who she was before the accident, or the more positive qualities of who she was. I was hoping that the book would also focus on some other things, but everything just seemed really negative. I understand that the author was trying to create a heartbreaking/heartwarming story, but I just wish there would have been more to focus on.For me, it's a bit hard to pinpoint exactly what went wrong with The Chaos of Standing Still. It was a good book, it really brought out some emotions for me, and I thought that it had a lot to offer in terms of plot. But I just wasn't able to connect to the characters as much as I would have loved to, considering that this book is character driven and takes place over such a short period of time.I really flew through this book and I read it pretty much in a single night. It's a really great book to curl up with during the winter with some tea and a big, warm blanket. I definitely will be picking up more books by Jessica Brody when they come out.Note: I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review - Thank you!
    more
  • grieshaber_reads
    January 1, 1970
    One of the fun things about reading so many books is that you will always find a connection between the book you are finishing and the book you are starting. Usually, it’s just a little thing. But sometimes, it’s a big thing. On the first morning of Spring Break, I awoke to beautiful, fat snowflakes falling outside my window. The book I had already chosen to read for that day was Kiss Me in New York - a book that takes place in the NYC airport on Christmas Eve during a snowstorm. Fun! Because th One of the fun things about reading so many books is that you will always find a connection between the book you are finishing and the book you are starting. Usually, it’s just a little thing. But sometimes, it’s a big thing. On the first morning of Spring Break, I awoke to beautiful, fat snowflakes falling outside my window. The book I had already chosen to read for that day was Kiss Me in New York - a book that takes place in the NYC airport on Christmas Eve during a snowstorm. Fun! Because that book was totes adorbs and I couldn’t put it down, I needed another book to read that day. I picked up the next book in my TBR pile, The Chaos of Standing Still. After reading a book description and deciding I want to read a book, I never look at that book description again when I actually sit down to read the book. So I usually don’t even remember what a book is about when I begin to read it. I had to laugh when I started this one and discovered it takes place in the Denver airport on New Year’s Eve during a snowstorm! LOL! I absolutely love that. It was the perfect storm. Get it?Anyway . . . Ryn is in a hurry to get back to San Francisco. She has a layover in Denver after flying out of Atlanta where she was visiting her dad. Today is New Year’s Eve. Tomorrow at 10:05 is the one-year anniversary of her best friend, Lottie’s, death. She absolutely cannot be in public when the clock strikes 10:05. Much to her complete panic, Denver is hit with the biggest blizzard to hit the area in 100 years. She is stranded for the night in the airport. Meet cute alert! While staring into the depths of her phone (something Ryn can’t stop doing), she doesn’t realize the automated walkway has come to an end. She trips and falls right into Cute Muppet Guy (an attractive guy wearing a Muppet - Animal, to be specific - t-shirt. Their phones clatter to the ground in the collision. As fate will have it, the two have the exact same phone and the exact same phone case (it’s a Tardis) and they pick up the wrong phones. They go their separate ways until Ryn’s phone (well, what she thinks is her phone) gets a call from . . . herself. The two reconnect to switch phones and the story begins. Yes, this story is part meet-cute and rom-com, but it’s so much more. Ryn is suffering from survivor’s guilt. She’s practically debilitated by it. She has one unread text message on her phone from Lottie the night she died. That’s one reason Ryn is addicted to her phone. The other reason is that she is constantly asking Google questions. She likes how Google has the answers to so many questions. It gives her the illusion of control. At first, Ryn hides all of this from Cute Muppet Guy (Xander), but as the night goes on and as his persistence increases, she feels she can talk to him as she can’t talk to her mother or her therapist. His friendship - and maybe more - could be just what she needs.Read the rest of my review on the LibrariansLitBooks blog: https://www.librarianslitbooks.com/si...
    more
  • Annie
    January 1, 1970
    4.5
  • Nele
    January 1, 1970
    5 flipping ⭐This is so cute! I got goosebumps on several occasions ❤ 5 flipping ⭐️This is so cute! I got goosebumps on several occasions ❤️
  • Cassandra
    January 1, 1970
    I. LOVED. THIS. Absolutely adored everything about this. I was annoyed at things at first but the more I continued to reading it the more attached I grew to everyone. I loved Xander (I also very much appreciated his name) and Ryn was so troubled from the beginning and watching her come to terms with the events of her life was so emotional.So I read this and it had just started snowing heavily here in Ontario which was so fitting for the tone and setting of this book - it was just meant to be.I f I. LOVED. THIS. Absolutely adored everything about this. I was annoyed at things at first but the more I continued to reading it the more attached I grew to everyone. I loved Xander (I also very much appreciated his name) and Ryn was so troubled from the beginning and watching her come to terms with the events of her life was so emotional.So I read this and it had just started snowing heavily here in Ontario which was so fitting for the tone and setting of this book - it was just meant to be.I felt like this was very similar to If I Stay by Gayle Forman. Her reflecting on her life with Lottie and the constant time jumps between past and present felt similar to Mia reflecting on life with and without her family and since I was super attached to If I Stay, I knew I was going to devour this book.The 24hour timeframe of Xander and Ryn's story just made me wonder where this was going to end up. 10:05 was constantly mentioned so I was wondering how Ryn would end up when the time inevitably struck 10:05, but I still knew that more was to come from the passing of the time. Having a book that is strictly within the 24 hour block worries me because I feel as though some authors rush to getting to the point - Jessica Brody does not do this. Brody takes her time in getting you into a position where you understand her characters and their personalities, their attitudes, and their relationships with each other and themselves. It is important to handle this with care, especially under the circumstances, and she nailed it. The Chaos of Standing Still is a book about a young woman who is working through how she can handle the grief of losing her best friend. She has had one unread message on her phone for the last year because she can't bring herself to read it since it is the last thing she'll ever have from Lottie. Stranded in a Denver airport due to a snowstorm canceling all flights, Ryn worries if she'll make it back in time for the daunting hour of 10:05. It's New Year's Eve and she's anxiously hoping for good news, but instead she finds a silver lining - Xander. Xander's got his own shit to deal with and together they find comfort in each other's company. Not right away though, our protagonist has a lot of questions she needs to run through to get to the level of comfort she wants. Although I enjoyed Xander's character and his storyline was interesting as you learn more about him as you go, Ryn was really where it was at. She was such a complex character and not in the sense that you didn't know what you were getting from her, but that she was pretty much an open book to the reader. I hate books where the characters are so secretive and angsty... but Ryn was just great. I will say, I didn't like how her and Xander kinda danced around their personal problems for most of the book. There was so much that could've been handled differently had they just opened up better. BUT IT'S FINE. STILL LOVED IT.I lost my grandmother two and a half years ago and I wake up somedays and forget that she's gone. My grieving process was so different from Ryn but I felt it down to my core. I still have her number programmed in my phone and I find things here and there that she'd given me and I just can't part with any of it. I think it was different for me because my grandma was sick, so we knew it was coming. Ryn gets the shocking, life-changing phone call regarding the accident that Lottie was in and it turned her world upside down. It broke my heart. Her method of finding answers was so interesting. She thought it was crazy, I thought it was great. I won't say anything more about that but yeah read it. You'll get what I mean.
    more
  • Nichole
    January 1, 1970
    I honestly can’t believe how quickly I devoured The Chaos of Standing Still. This was one of those reads that I picked up and was immediately sucked into the story. This is a heartfelt contemporary that deals with friendships, loss, mourning and trying to find your way back.How do you manage your life after losing your person? Ryn has lost Lottie, her best friend since childhood and she deals the best way she knows how. She avoids people, connecting, the truth and reading that one last message f I honestly can’t believe how quickly I devoured The Chaos of Standing Still. This was one of those reads that I picked up and was immediately sucked into the story. This is a heartfelt contemporary that deals with friendships, loss, mourning and trying to find your way back.How do you manage your life after losing your person? Ryn has lost Lottie, her best friend since childhood and she deals the best way she knows how. She avoids people, connecting, the truth and reading that one last message from her best friend. Ryn’s life seems to revolve around her phone, constantly “asking Google” various questions, and making sure that one message is still there to taunt her – unread.When Ryn finds herself stranded at the Denver airport because of a horrible snowstorm, chaos ensues. All Ryn wants to do is just go home but she can’t. She’s stuck in the airport and its the eve of the 1st anniversary of her best friend’s death. By fate or chance, Ryn’s world literally collides with Xander’s, someone who will have more of an impact on her than she is prepared to handle.Did I mention it is also New Year’s Eve?Each person, each character adds dimension, growth and oftentimes humor to Ryn’s story. Xander, Siri, Jimmy, Troy… While not each one was always the most like-able at all times, each individual character helps Ryn find her way. Actually, Siri reminded me a bit of Lottie. They are bold, fearless and everything Ryn is afraid to be. And to be fair, I found Troy, the boy prodigy, to be incredibly interesting! Xander, though… as Ryn gets to know more about Xander and his story, we learn that he’s pretty special and a bit unexpected.What I love most about The Chaos of Standing Still is that it tells Ryn’s story in two timelines: the present (under 24 hours) and the past. The present takes place in just one location – the Denver airport. The way author Jessica Brody weaves together the present and the past, Ryn’s own memories, is fantastic. Slowly building layer upon delicate layer, allowing us to become personally acquainted with the dynamic of Lottie and Ryn, we have a special seat to see how significant their relationship was and how essential one was to the other – exposing how painful the loss truly is. This method of storytelling makes for a fantastic read and gives a hint of mystery, great character development, and leaves the reader genuinely captivated.I absolutely enjoyed this book and I think it makes for a fabulous weekend read. Grab some hot cocoa, your favorite blanket and cozy up… The Chaos of Standing Still is a great, emotional journey.I gave The Chaos of Standing Still 4/5 stars!This review was a part of a Blog Tour. I received The Chaos of Standing Still from Netgalley and Simon Pulse in exchange for my honest feedback.
    more
  • Lindsay
    January 1, 1970
    Ryn lost her best friend almost a year ago and she isn't coping well in the aftermath. After being stranded at the Denver Airport due to a raging blizzard, she spends twenty-four hours before the one day anniversary of Lottie's death reminiscing the past, falling in love, finding new friends, and discovering that there is hope in moving on.At first I felt sorry for Ryn losing her best friend, but then during flashbacks we meet Lottie, and that made me wonder why Ryn was friends with her in the f Ryn lost her best friend almost a year ago and she isn't coping well in the aftermath. After being stranded at the Denver Airport due to a raging blizzard, she spends twenty-four hours before the one day anniversary of Lottie's death reminiscing the past, falling in love, finding new friends, and discovering that there is hope in moving on.At first I felt sorry for Ryn losing her best friend, but then during flashbacks we meet Lottie, and that made me wonder why Ryn was friends with her in the first place. Lottie was manipulative, self-centered, bossy, and impulsive. She regularly forced Ryn to do stuff she didn't want to do and always guilt tripped Ryan into acting as her compliance. Their friendship was toxic right from the beginning with everything revolving around Lottie. One prime example of Lottie's manipulative personality was her ordering Ryn to apply for a summer job with her and then officially changing her name (from Kathryn to Ryn) and demanding she go by that name from now on. Ryn never had a backbone to stand up for herself whenever she had to unwillingly tag around with Lottie (for instance, Lottie blackmailed her into shoplifting, not caring that Ryn didn't want to). Lottie was a horrible, toxic person who only cared for herself. And while Ryn wandered the airport, she had conversations with Lottie (her brain talked back to her in Lottie's voice which made me wonder if she was schizophrenic). Even Lottie's voice in Ryn's head was bossy and narcissistic which made me confused on why Ryn remained friends with her for so long. She met Xander right away and they fell in love by the next morning. Her new friend Siri was like Lottie, demanding, bossy, self-centered, and only thinking about herself and how Ryn could benefit her. Ryn pretty much was a self-centered child since she ignored every text her mother sent her asking if she was alright. Like Katniss in The Hunger Games, Ryn went off on tangents that had nothing to do with the story.The synopsis made me interested, but upon reading I was very disappointed, mainly in the characters and the lack of development. I only finished because I was granted an ARC.I received an ARC of The Chaos of Standing Still from Edelweiss.
    more
  • Kales
    January 1, 1970
    What a fantastic, heartwarming, rom-com book. I saw this on the silver screen, it was a movie in my head, you know, starring Olivia Holt and Tyrel Jackson Williams or other Disney/young actors. I would love a good movie set in DIA!Not gonna lie, I LOVED all of the Denver references. As a kid who grew up going to DIA--calling it my airport--I was stoked to have a clear picture of all of the scenery and setting and the conspiracy theories. I knew every painting and section that was mentioned. All What a fantastic, heartwarming, rom-com book. I saw this on the silver screen, it was a movie in my head, you know, starring Olivia Holt and Tyrel Jackson Williams or other Disney/young actors. I would love a good movie set in DIA!Not gonna lie, I LOVED all of the Denver references. As a kid who grew up going to DIA--calling it my airport--I was stoked to have a clear picture of all of the scenery and setting and the conspiracy theories. I knew every painting and section that was mentioned. All of the gates and terminals were clear in my head. And ever Tattered Cover was mentioned! It was like being behind the scenes which was super cool.In terms of story itself, it was formulaic and predictable, but that's a rom-com. Stuck in an airport for 24 hrs with a young girl with baggage and a young cute man with baggage...oh yeah! And it's New Years Eve. You know what's gonna happen. But that didn't stop me from enjoying it. It was a comforting and satisfying read.One of my largest problems was Ryn's obsession with Lottie. I struggle with characters that are so dependent on other characters--there were points were I wondered if Ryn was bi and secretly in love with Lottie, that's how intense it got at some points. I understand that was the point of the story, but the whole time I was screaming at Ryn for being manipulated by Lottie--I wasn't sure if it was a healthy friendship in the first place. I think the grief was well portrayed but Ryn's obsession was weird and Lottie's controlling nature, and Ryn's willingness to go along with it was frustrating and somewhat disturbing at points.All in all, I really enjoyed this mac & cheese read. It's fun and set in Denver (which is biased of me but earns it lots of points) and a sweet love story between friends and a rather cute boy in the airport. It's the perfect set up and it's satisfying.Conclusion: Keep
    more
  • Blodeuedd Finland
    January 1, 1970
    At first it was good, and then it just got better and better. McFadden was a great narrator and really nailed Ryn, and her best friend Lottie. I can still hear Lottie in my head saying those words she always said.It is a book about grief and denial. Ryn lost her best friend and it ha almost been a year. But she is not really grieving and her therapist is saying she has survivor's guilt. I felt so sorry for her. She was so lost without Lottie who had been what seemed her only friend. Because when At first it was good, and then it just got better and better. McFadden was a great narrator and really nailed Ryn, and her best friend Lottie. I can still hear Lottie in my head saying those words she always said.It is a book about grief and denial. Ryn lost her best friend and it ha almost been a year. But she is not really grieving and her therapist is saying she has survivor's guilt. I felt so sorry for her. She was so lost without Lottie who had been what seemed her only friend. Because when you had Lottie there was no room for more. And she so should have grieved, but she could not. She was obsessed with her phone instead and not reading the last thing Lottie ever sent her...and she heard her voice. Yeah, she was a bit crazy. She really was stuck.But then comes Denver and a crazy night. It is not like the boy she meets cures her. It is more that cos of all the people she meet she just finally decides to open up. But she will act a lot of crazy before that. I was afraid first that meeting a boy would cure everything, but I am glad the author stayed away from that. Only Ryn can save herself.So yes she meets Xander. There is airport bingo, a New Year's party, and a conspiracy about the Denver airport. That omg was true. I had to take a look at the murals that they have there and what the?! I kind of started to believe it too.It takes place during 24 intense hours and it just turns out wonderfully.Great book with a tough subject to handleNarratorI already said that McFadden was good and she so it. She had a great range, I knew everyone at once when I heard them. Everyone was distinct and had their own voiceShe was perfect for YA
    more
  • Michelle (Much Loved Books)
    January 1, 1970
    I initially read the first chapter of this book online, was hooked and needed to know more, only to have the book sit for a while waiting to be read. I stumbled across this when scrolling through my library, and immediately started reading. I really enjoyed reading The Chaos of Standing Still, and so much happens within the pages it's hard to believe it's just one night in an airport, where the characters are stuck waiting for the snow storm to stop and flights to leave again. Ryn was someone wh I initially read the first chapter of this book online, was hooked and needed to know more, only to have the book sit for a while waiting to be read. I stumbled across this when scrolling through my library, and immediately started reading. I really enjoyed reading The Chaos of Standing Still, and so much happens within the pages it's hard to believe it's just one night in an airport, where the characters are stuck waiting for the snow storm to stop and flights to leave again. Ryn was someone who I instantly liked, I loved her attitude,her constant need to ask google questions, and best of all her blame list. But I also felt sorry for her loss and her guilt at surviving and how she lives her life with these feelings. I enjoyed reading about the adventures and high jinx that Ryn and Xander get up to, from subway surfing, to made up names, and parties. This was another book that I fell into head first and didn't stop till I'd finished.
    more
  • Niah
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. I'm surprised by how much I wound up liking it. I picked it up because it's set in my local (?) airport so it was cool seeing places I recognized :) I didn't expect that half way through I'd be crying......and wouldn't stop for like 100 pages......and although I totally planned on going to bed 2 hours ago I wound up finishing this sooooo.All in all I think it's safe to say this was pretty great (although the major UNANSWERED question at the end kind of has me annoyed lol).
    more
Write a review