Mr. Rich
She finds a wallet (not a shoe), and he’s a billionaire (not a prince), but this time, Cinderella’s turning the tables. . . . Julia: Shilling samples at a grocery store isn’t exactly my dream job. Yet here I am, tray in hand and fake smile plastered on my face. The one highlight is seeing him. I don’t know his name, but if I did, I’d scream it during the naughty dreams he inspires. He’s crazy handsome, all confidence and an air of power. He’s never said a word to me. Never even looked in my direction. Then one day he literally falls at my feet. Now I have his wallet. I know where he lives. And I’ve found the nude photos of him online. It’s not the bruschetta on her tray he really wants to taste. . . . Bastian: I’ve dated models, doctors, and CEOs, but something about Julia Rominger has me intrigued . . . and more than a little aroused. Maybe it’s her lush curves driving me wild. Or the fact that she has no problem telling me to go to hell. Either way, she’s seen me at my worst; I want to hit her with my best. I know where to touch, where to kiss, and just how far to push to drive her crazy. Soon, however, pleasuring Julia isn’t enough. I want to possess her. I need to make her mine. And I’ll fight to the bitter end to win her heart.

Mr. Rich Details

TitleMr. Rich
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherLoveswept
Number of pages183 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Did Not Finish, Contemporary

Mr. Rich Review

  • .Under the pages
    June 27, 2017
    Meet Bastian Rich: financial advisor reaching his thirty years of life. Not a fan of hook-ups and would really like to get a girlfriend. Be he has lupus, and that’s a reality he can’t forget and he knows pretty well that no woman will want to be with a sick person.Meet Julia: grocery store sample girl in a search for her prince charming while doing a job she hates. Giving free samples at Coopers was never her dream job but life didn’t give her much of a choice. Even though she loves music, colle Meet Bastian Rich: financial advisor reaching his thirty years of life. Not a fan of hook-ups and would really like to get a girlfriend. Be he has lupus, and that’s a reality he can’t forget and he knows pretty well that no woman will want to be with a sick person.Meet Julia: grocery store sample girl in a search for her prince charming while doing a job she hates. Giving free samples at Coopers was never her dream job but life didn’t give her much of a choice. Even though she loves music, college life didn’t go as well as she would like, and she had to trop out of college. They meet each other at the most embarrassing moment for both of them: she’s working at a place she hates and his lupus is back. Will their biggest fears keep them apart?-----------------------------------------------------Let’s start with the good part: sexual encounters. It’s honestly the only thing appealing about this book and even those weren’t that good. This is one of those books when you go because of the hot as sin cover and then you get a disappointment. The storyline is too much of a cliché to me. Nothing new here: they meet, he’s an asshole, then he apologizes and gets her in bed with him. Same old same old. Nothing about the book felt real. I couldn’t even connect with the characters. Bastian is not that bad. Seeing him with his brother and that kind of thing made me warm up to him. Now Julia I just couldn’t. She’s a bit too rude for my taste. This was my first book by this author and although I obviously didn’t enjoy it, I’m definitely going to try and take a look at another book of hers and see how that goes.
    more
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    April 13, 2017
    This is one of those super generic covers that you could slap on thousand other books, and it would work just as well. I think a model in a suit would have worked better. The composition is off as well with the placement of the title and authors name. So ya, not a huge fan of this one.I enjoyed this one. There wasn't anything particularly earth shattering about it but I found it to be well-written and nicely paced. Both main characters were fairly likable. The heroine was a little naive, and ann This is one of those super generic covers that you could slap on thousand other books, and it would work just as well. I think a model in a suit would have worked better. The composition is off as well with the placement of the title and authors name. So ya, not a huge fan of this one.I enjoyed this one. There wasn't anything particularly earth shattering about it but I found it to be well-written and nicely paced. Both main characters were fairly likable. The heroine was a little naive, and annoying at times, but not enough for it to bother me. Bastian, I really liked. There wasn't any OW/OM drama and not much angst. The ending was cute, but I would have liked to have seen a more into the future look at the couple.All in all, it was a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours.
    more
  • Claire Robinson
    June 21, 2017
    DNFI am not having much luck with Loveswept titles of late.Sadly I was pretty bored after the first couple of chapters, and nothing really is inspiring me to carry on with it.The writing style is a little lacking in emotion as well, it may be a case of 'it's not you it's me', so don't let my review deter you in giving this one a try, it is a relatively short read so it has that in it's favor.ARC generously provided via Netgalley, I am sorry I cannot offer a more positive review on this occasion. DNFI am not having much luck with Loveswept titles of late.Sadly I was pretty bored after the first couple of chapters, and nothing really is inspiring me to carry on with it.The writing style is a little lacking in emotion as well, it may be a case of 'it's not you it's me', so don't let my review deter you in giving this one a try, it is a relatively short read so it has that in it's favor.ARC generously provided via Netgalley, I am sorry I cannot offer a more positive review on this occasion.
    more
  • Katerina
    July 19, 2017
    Dual POV.Julia is one of those ditzy, bubbly, secretly intelligent heroines. She works in a store after quitting college following a horrible experience. Bastian Rich is stoic, alpha, and wealthy. Julia pervs on him every time he visits the store for some vitamins until he faints one day in her presence. She was definitely a bit desperate at the start with her wild fantasies and chasing after him, but she never grovels. Her emotions are see-through however she also cuts shit straight to him. The Dual POV.Julia is one of those ditzy, bubbly, secretly intelligent heroines. She works in a store after quitting college following a horrible experience. Bastian Rich is stoic, alpha, and wealthy. Julia pervs on him every time he visits the store for some vitamins until he faints one day in her presence. She was definitely a bit desperate at the start with her wild fantasies and chasing after him, but she never grovels. Her emotions are see-through however she also cuts shit straight to him. They start a casual relationship, which wasn't casual at all before he begins to push her away because of his lupus, an incurable non-fatal disease which results in chronic pain.Safety: - implied celibacy in 3 month separation from both parties.- Hero used to be a manwhore, dated loads of women but for the last few years has been more focussed on longer term commitment based relationships. - OM pursues heroine, lightly I might add. He goes in for a kiss whilst she is unsuspecting and she pushes him away. Favourite line in hero's POV when she makes him a sandwich and then they fight: “Opening it, I pull out a smashed sandwich wrapped in foil and a small side salad. I slowly unwrap the sandwich, and even though it’s crushed and the bread is soggy from the smashed tomato and the mustard has gotten all over the foil, I start eating it.It tastes like home.It tastes like love.”But seriously where is the grovel!? She forgave him after one conversation. Like let him sweat it out a few days.
    more
  • Laura
    June 30, 2017
    I didn't like the writing style. The story was boring and I didn't feel a connection to the characters. It was all very amateurish. I was surprised to see how many books the author has written as this read like a debut novel.
  • Becky
    July 14, 2017
    This book (and the heroine) get better as the novel progresses. In the beginning, I found myself frustrated by Julia's incredibly low self esteem. Especially since, despite the fact that she keeps going on about her boring hair, how chubby she is, how poor she is...everybody and their neighbor seems to have the hots for her. The hero, a rockstar, her old professor in college...What does he even see in me? I can’t help thinking. I’m not some sophisticated woman from a good family. He had more mon This book (and the heroine) get better as the novel progresses. In the beginning, I found myself frustrated by Julia's incredibly low self esteem. Especially since, despite the fact that she keeps going on about her boring hair, how chubby she is, how poor she is...everybody and their neighbor seems to have the hots for her. The hero, a rockstar, her old professor in college...What does he even see in me? I can’t help thinking. I’m not some sophisticated woman from a good family. He had more money in his wallet than I earn in a month.There's a fine line between making your heroine relatable-with-flaws and making her straight-up irritating, and I felt ours crossed the line a few times. But she does get a bit more confident by the end, even if she remains blissfully ignorant when a hot rockstar is trying to trick her into dates. *rolls eyes*He smiles. “I fell in love with you the day I saw you trying to keep that guy from eating all of your chicken wings.Our hero, Bastian, is a bit more likeable. I liked that, although he apparently used to be a womanizer at some point, he's put that behind him and knows early on that he wants a relationship with Julia. The tension really only comes into play because he has Lupus and worries about committing to a long-term relationship with Julia because of it. Safety Stats:(view spoiler)[Ages: Bastian is thirty, I THINK Julia is 28. Cheating: None. Julia is tricked into going on a "date" with a rockstar because she's dumb, but she leaves once she figures out that it's a date.OM/OW: None. Separation: Julia and Bastian break up for a few months because he is afraid him having Lupus would unfairly burden her.Triggers: None. HEA? Yes, engaged in the epilogue. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Danielle from Short and Sassy
    April 15, 2017
    Something in this book never clicked for me. Julia works at a grocery store handing out samples. She is crushing on a guy who is obviously rich from his suits. He passes out in the grocery store and she calls 911 to help him. In the meantime she keeps his wallet with his info. It was an awkward beginning, and middle to me. I liked the ending (but to be honest that was a little off for me too).
    more
  • A Klue
    July 2, 2017
    Mr. Rich is Mr. Right, my fellow romance book loving friends. Bastian Rich had me at “..I’m not the fling type. Not anymore. I’ve grown up from the bad-boy man-whore I used to be, and I like the man I’ve become. I like having a girlfriend. I like pursuing something important with the knowledge that it just might end up being the most important thing in my life.” Yeah, he’s done some things in his past he’s not proud of/regrets, but he’s dealing with something big now that likely was the catalyst Mr. Rich is Mr. Right, my fellow romance book loving friends. Bastian Rich had me at “..I’m not the fling type. Not anymore. I’ve grown up from the bad-boy man-whore I used to be, and I like the man I’ve become. I like having a girlfriend. I like pursuing something important with the knowledge that it just might end up being the most important thing in my life.” Yeah, he’s done some things in his past he’s not proud of/regrets, but he’s dealing with something big now that likely was the catalyst that caused him to grow up. Not that he didn’t have a couple very big knucklehead moments here, too, folks. You can’t help but eventually forgive/feel sorry for this indecisive hero though, since he stupidly thought he was doing what was best. Throw in Julia’s sassy, spitfire wit and humorous charm, and by 25% I realized I was the one feeling rich here, like I just struck literary romantic gold. Who knows, maybe it was because I was still suffering from a book hangover after writing a review for a rather dark read that the humor in this one had me giggling aloud and was just what I needed to restore my romance balance.Sure, I wanted to lovingly bash some sense into Bastian a time or two, mainly for delaying telling Julia a certain something-something after spending a passionate night with her. Julia would have just went with it and accepted it. But no, this surprisingly handsome, hand-wringing, knucklehead hero makes the wrong decision more than once. So bless his little misguided heart, you’ll need to reach down deep and pray for patience. But not to worry, the pay-off is a groveling, remorseful hero and a HEA.With writing that was rich in humor, steeped with some very steamy scenes/lusty language, and more surprisingly, a softer side, I stayed fully engaged until the end. Yeah, this romantic storyline brought a smile to my face, blush to my cheeks, and warmth to my heart. Thank you Ms. DePaul for enriching my day but giving me such an entertaining, quick romantic read.Romance Safety Gang: (view spoiler)[ Hero had a previous bad boy reputation and someone posted on-line pics to prove it. He claims to regret it. There was no OW drama, but another man was interested in the heroine. She hang out with him not realizing he was interested in her until he made it clear he was. No cheating, no love triangle, very steamy scenes. (hide spoiler)]Title: Mr. Rich, Author: Virna DePaul, Pages: 183, stand-alone, VERY steamy scenes with lusty language, hero is hiding a secret, instant attraction, knucklehead moments, no cheating, pushes her away, sassy heroine but insecure at times, OM wants her, no OW drama, non-virgin MC, humorous, HEA.(This review is based on an advanced reader copy distributed via NetGalley in exchange for a fair review. No compensation was provided to this reviewer, nor is there any affiliation between the reviewer and author/publisher/NetGalley.)
    more
  • Ivy Deluca
    May 31, 2017
    *shrugs* I love the premise of a modern day Cinderella and it starts off with promise, a search for Prince Charming vibe. However, the heroine is a bit too oblivious and rigid, pretty judgy at times, then almost too perfect at others. She never struck the right balance to make her believable to me. The hero is a bit dunderheaded and focused big time on his physical attraction but there wasn’t much beyond that. The romance is heavily dependent on the two not discussing anything in depth. My issue *shrugs* I love the premise of a modern day Cinderella and it starts off with promise, a search for Prince Charming vibe. However, the heroine is a bit too oblivious and rigid, pretty judgy at times, then almost too perfect at others. She never struck the right balance to make her believable to me. The hero is a bit dunderheaded and focused big time on his physical attraction but there wasn’t much beyond that. The romance is heavily dependent on the two not discussing anything in depth. My issue came with the fact that most of the character development or basically any feelings conveyed to the reader is mostly shared through inner monologues. It lacked that genuine connection and the romance doesn’t quite click because of it. Overall, it left me with feeling meh. I wanted to love it, but it just missed the mark.**ARC provided by publisher via netgalley for review**For more reviews, visit
    more
  • Emma
    June 20, 2017
    I've heard a lot of good things about this author so I though I would give Mr Rich a try when I saw it. Unfortunately, it was obvious from early on that the writing style was one I don't particularly mesh well with. The plot is quite simplistic and straight forward while the characters were a little one dimensional for my own personal tastes.I truly wish I loved everything I read, but have learned early on that if something isn't working then there is no point struggling to like it.So I'm going I've heard a lot of good things about this author so I though I would give Mr Rich a try when I saw it. Unfortunately, it was obvious from early on that the writing style was one I don't particularly mesh well with. The plot is quite simplistic and straight forward while the characters were a little one dimensional for my own personal tastes.I truly wish I loved everything I read, but have learned early on that if something isn't working then there is no point struggling to like it.So I'm going to put it down to a learning experience with the understanding that this just wasn't for me.
    more
  • Rejane
    June 30, 2017
    Besides the same old same old, in my dictionary rude is not being sassy. I read another review that said the heroine is rude too. https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
  • Sarah Wayne
    April 22, 2017
    Mr. Rich by Virna DePaul is the first book I've read by this author. I'm impressed and pleasantly surprised. The beginning of the story started out really good and I was intrigued by the characters, but towards the middle it turned into more erotica and less romance, which isn't necessarily a bad thing but I just wanted more depth to the story and plot development. Overall though it was a cute little story and a light read. I appreciate the opportunity to read the book and Thank Netgalley and Lo Mr. Rich by Virna DePaul is the first book I've read by this author. I'm impressed and pleasantly surprised. The beginning of the story started out really good and I was intrigued by the characters, but towards the middle it turned into more erotica and less romance, which isn't necessarily a bad thing but I just wanted more depth to the story and plot development. Overall though it was a cute little story and a light read. I appreciate the opportunity to read the book and Thank Netgalley and Loveswept for the ARC in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Carol***BeautyandtheBeastlyBooks
    April 23, 2017
    ***ARC received in exchange of an honest opinion***I had a really hard time reading this book. I LOVE romances about millionaires (and billiinaires), but I'm not very big on clichés. I know, right?! So if I choose to read a cliché story, it needs to be amazing, and I wasn't feeling Mr. Rich from the start.The writing didn't flow naturally for my taste and I didn't see and feel the chemistry between the characters.It felt unreal from the first scene and I couldn't connect with any of the characte ***ARC received in exchange of an honest opinion***I had a really hard time reading this book. I LOVE romances about millionaires (and billiinaires), but I'm not very big on clichés. I know, right?! So if I choose to read a cliché story, it needs to be amazing, and I wasn't feeling Mr. Rich from the start.The writing didn't flow naturally for my taste and I didn't see and feel the chemistry between the characters.It felt unreal from the first scene and I couldn't connect with any of the characters.
    more
  • ♥ WishfulMiss ♥
    July 15, 2017
    This is the story of Julia and Bastion … Life for Julia has pretty much come to a standstill. Working at a grocery store and living paycheck to paycheck is her life. Oogling the fine backside of the mystery hottie she’s nicknames Big Sexy is literally the highlight of Julia’s life. When Big Sexy falls at her feet, Julia is more worried for his health then the possibility that he’s finally been struck dumb by her charm. Turns out Big Sexy fell unconscious, at her feet, and something more substa This is the story of Julia and Bastion … Life for Julia has pretty much come to a standstill. Working at a grocery store and living paycheck to paycheck is her life. Oogling the fine backside of the mystery hottie she’s nicknames Big Sexy is literally the highlight of Julia’s life. When Big Sexy falls at her feet, Julia is more worried for his health then the possibility that he’s finally been struck dumb by her charm. Turns out Big Sexy fell unconscious, at her feet, and something more substantial than a kiss was going to wake this sleeping beauty. After a frantic few minutes and the arrival of the medics, Julia is left holding Big Sexy’s personal affects. Returning the wallet should have been an easy in and out thing. She never expected it to lead to a dinner invitation with the man of her dreams.Big Sexy a.k.a. Sebastion Rich has been secretly crushing on the cute Julia for quite a while. He finally worked up the nerve to ask her out when his worst fear comes back to haunt him. He knows now is not the right time to start anything with anyone, let alone a young and smart Julia, but when she turns up at his office, returning his wallet, Bastion can’t help but pursue her.Their whirlwind relationship becomes more than either ever expected. Bastion is gorgeous, attentive, nice and (for reasons she still can’t understand) completely into Julia. She doesn’t get how a guy like him could be into a girl like her but she decides to go with it for as long as this will last.The more time they spend together, the more Bastion falls for Julia. But the secret Bastion is withholding might just be the one thing that will keep them apart. What I liked: Julia and Bastion bring out the best in each other. They’re supportive, encouraging and really cute when their together. It’s when they’re not together that things go south for these two. There were too many moments where Bastion second guesses his choices and ghosts on Julia. Julia in turn was a little too naïve when it came to Ryland’s interest in her and never managed to assert herself. She let Bastion call all the shots in the relationship and sometimes acted way too immature.The ending was sweet and I liked that their issues weren’t magically resolved or forgotten. It ended on a positive note, Julia makes some life altering decisions about her next step in life, Bastion learns to embrace Julia’s support and see her love as unconditional and their future looks bright, if a work in progress. Overall, I enjoyed reading it but a little less drama would have helped me connect a little more with both MCs. * * *ARC provided for an honest review* * * SAFETY (view spoiler)[Ages: Bastion is 30 and Julia is 26-27. Neither are virgin and more of lust at first sight, than love.Cheating: None. Although Julia does accept a date with OM thinking it’s going to be a group outing with other people. She’s pretty clueless when it comes to OM’s non-platonic feelings toward.OM/OW drama: OM flirts with and shows interest in Julia. Bastion knows it, OM knows it but Julia stays clueless to it and this does cause some jealousy between them. I was not a fan of the love triangle plot. It seemed forced and really only created to make drama and antagonize Bastion.Separation: Three months. Both remain celibate during their separation.Push/Pull:Major pushing and pulling done by Bastion. When he is with Julia he is 100% there but when he’s alone he lets his doubts and personal issues win and he cuts Julia. This happens a few times and it gets kind of old after the a while. Main Pursuer of relationship: Although he is the first to distance himself, Bastion is also the first to pursue Julia and also the first to admit his wrong doing and asking for her forgiveness. He is ultimately the one to go after her and fight for a second chance.Triggers: Illness (H has a lupus relapse), forced love triangle.HEA/HFN: HFN ending with an engagement and wedding not far off. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Char (1RadReader59)
    June 13, 2017
    After reading some of the other reviews I was leery of what I would find within the pages of this book. But I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The story revolves around Julia Rominger and Sabastian (Bastian) Rich. One of your most unlikely couples around. So, when asked about the samples she served and handed out at Cooper’s Grocery store she couldn’t believe he spoke. You see she had been lusting after Bastian for weeks. Since the first time, he had come in to get his vitamins. Heck Kevin, After reading some of the other reviews I was leery of what I would find within the pages of this book. But I must say I was pleasantly surprised. The story revolves around Julia Rominger and Sabastian (Bastian) Rich. One of your most unlikely couples around. So, when asked about the samples she served and handed out at Cooper’s Grocery store she couldn’t believe he spoke. You see she had been lusting after Bastian for weeks. Since the first time, he had come in to get his vitamins. Heck Kevin, her gay husband, covertly or not, had taken pics of his ass, for his collection. When she got her tongue back she said, “Wings.” Then she told him she needed to go to the back to get more. When she comes back out he is out cold right in front of her stand. She calls 911 and they ask her to check for ID. She gets his wallet and finds out who he is. In all the excitement when the ambulance gets there she had put the wallet in her pocket and forgot about it. So, when she remembered is when they were wheeling him out of the store she ran after him but they were already pulling away. Against her bosses orders, she ran to the cab stand and told the driver to follow that ambulance. He said no way. Then she opened the wallet and saw the that there was a hundred dollar bill and flashed it. He took it and they were off. They were doing good until the cab broke down. Then it was a bus back to work for her. Two days later when she got her courage up she decided to take it to her office. You see she is a curvy girl and not someone guys look at twice really not even once. So, she didn’t even think if she ran into him he would remember her. When she waiting to meet with him a client comes out of his office that she recognizes as one of the best rockers out there right now Ryland Masters. She loves his music. They talk and have a great conversation. For its just two people talking so when he asks for her number, she thinks nothing of it. And he leaves saying maybe they can take soon and maybe jam together. You see she used to play and sing. When Bastian comes out to talk to his assistant and sees her he is abrupt and rude. To her and then to Julia. Which in turn makes Julia extra pissy. So, she has to not only take up for his assistant but for herself too. He wants to know why she is there. She says to return his wallet. Then he says, “Then why didn’t you return it two days ago when I ended up in the hospital?” Now she was pissed because the guy who seemed so quiet and nice each time he came into Coopers turns out to be an ass. So, she lets him have it. Telling him how ungrateful and rude he is. That because he had so much money in it, she didn’t want it to fall into the wrong hands. But now he could just as soon shove it for she cared. Bastian knew he owed her a great big apology. It had just caught him off guard seeing her. He wasn’t prepared. He felt exposed to her. He had been scoping her out for weeks getting up the nerve to ask her out. But now that he found out that his lupus was back he couldn’t do that to her. But he really wanted to be with her. There was just something about her. Watching her and listening until he could get his nerve up to ask her out instead when he does he ends up needing to go to the hospital. This was a much better book than some of the reviews gave it. This is a short erotic, romantic, funny, and yet complex love story. There are a lot of layers to get through due to the secrets they have and choose to keep from each other. Once they do share emotions are heightened a great deal and you see one again if for no other reason but to say “F” you to Sabastian she changes her life for the better. I give this: 4 stars. Provided by netgalley.com. Follow us atwww.1rad-readerreviews.com.
    more
  • DawnMarie Carpintero
    July 13, 2017
    Not what you expect3.8 starsI have to admit that this book was not what I expected after reading the blurb. So this Author did an amazing job in creating her characters something felt rushed to me and something missing.Somehow it to me the characters just didn't mesh well together and I don't quite understand why but that's just for me but it was a very quick read very fun it made me want to bring the characters neck at times but all in all it was a fun sexy book.Happy sexy reading
    more
  • Angelia
    June 25, 2017
    I received this ARC copy of this book from NetGallery for an honest review. I give this book 5 stars. The storyline between Julia and Bastian was well written and a great read. Julia work at a grocery store named Cooper's, where she see a handsome man come in frequently for vitamins. When he finally talk to her, asks if she has any more samples she says she will be right back. When she return she thinks he left but she looks in front of the table and find him on the floor. She call 911 and get o I received this ARC copy of this book from NetGallery for an honest review. I give this book 5 stars. The storyline between Julia and Bastian was well written and a great read. Julia work at a grocery store named Cooper's, where she see a handsome man come in frequently for vitamins. When he finally talk to her, asks if she has any more samples she says she will be right back. When she return she thinks he left but she looks in front of the table and find him on the floor. She call 911 and get out his wallet to find out his name to tell the first responders. Is this love at first sight, you have read this hot book to find out.
    more
  • Tracie Runge
    June 10, 2017
    "Mr. Rich" is written by Virna DePaul, and features Bastian Rich and Julia Rominger. I enjoyed this story Julia has an average job and her character quickly drew me in. However Bastian was a different story he grew on me as the story progressed (no spoilers here). This is a standalone short, sexy read that I would recommend if you are looking for something quick to curl up with.
    more
  • Julie
    June 22, 2017
    A bit of a slow start. Julia works in a store which Bastian/Big Sexy visits, he collapses there and Julia finds herself in possession of his wallet. She looks him up on line...finds his address and snigger, snigger, dick pics, and she returns it to an a**hole who's not thankful at all, a real jerk. He later searches Julia out and apologizes, she still has her reservations about him especially when he asks her out...well! he's way out of her league. But she takes a gamble and he's sweet and lovab A bit of a slow start. Julia works in a store which Bastian/Big Sexy visits, he collapses there and Julia finds herself in possession of his wallet. She looks him up on line...finds his address and snigger, snigger, dick pics, and she returns it to an a**hole who's not thankful at all, a real jerk. He later searches Julia out and apologizes, she still has her reservations about him especially when he asks her out...well! he's way out of her league. But she takes a gamble and he's sweet and lovable, but the road ahead has many obstacles and Bastian shows his a**hole card again. Gees! Will an apology work again? Does she want one?A great story, a light easy read, that's full of fun.
    more
  • TSN
    July 3, 2017
    DNF 25%While I didn't hate it, I certainly didn't like it either.It was some rather uninspired writing that, in lack of a better word, felt forced. Somehow the story was as bland and generic as the cover.
  • Shannon
    April 20, 2017
    *Received this as an ARC from NetGalley*This was an easy read and kept me interested although I did find it to be quite predictable. Julia was likeable and I did like how she put Bastian in his place right away, I enjoyed their banter, the humour wasn't really my style though.
    more
  • Me_LissaH
    May 14, 2017
    This review is based on the ARC provided by the author and/or the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I just couldn’t get into this story. From the beginning the story just didn’t hold my interest. I didn’t connect with the characters and I just wasn’t feeling the chemistry between Julia and Bastian. The story also kinda dragged on for me and became repetitious so I skimmed a lot. Overall I didn’t hate the story it just didn’t hold my interest.
    more
  • Sonja
    June 8, 2017
    I wouldn't compare this as a Cinderella story at all, but it was a quick read that was pretty enjoyable. I liked how the story was told thru the duel points of view. I always love being able to get both sides of the story. There weren't a lot of characters, which worked out great considering how short this was, and the world was believable. I giggled often, and smiled more. The beginning was probably the most fun, the middle was all about sex, and unfortunately the end was pretty cheesy.Julia am I wouldn't compare this as a Cinderella story at all, but it was a quick read that was pretty enjoyable. I liked how the story was told thru the duel points of view. I always love being able to get both sides of the story. There weren't a lot of characters, which worked out great considering how short this was, and the world was believable. I giggled often, and smiled more. The beginning was probably the most fun, the middle was all about sex, and unfortunately the end was pretty cheesy.Julia amused me a lot. Even though she sort of turned into a creepy stalker in the beginning, she mostly had good intentions. She had good and bad days like everybody else. When she came across as super smart it sometimes would seem a little off compared to how she usually was though. She dropped out of college a few years ago and now works at the grocery store as the sample girl. I honestly don't know of any store that gives out samples every day, but whatever. She hates her job, has no life, and only one best friend. The one positive thing is the super hot guy that comes into the store and that she can never stop staring at. She wants him bad, but knows she's so far out of his league. Until he talks to her.I liked Bastian. I can't say I fell in love with the guy or anything, but he wasn't bad. He didn't want to rely on others and he worked hard for what he has. Bastian is a very well off financial advisor, but he's also sick. He has lupus (which I didn't know what it was exactly so I was happy when Julia finally looked it up because I was getting to the point of doing that myself) and it has come back, which takes him out for lengths of time. He has also been interested in Julia since the first time he saw her and when he finally decides to go up and talk to her, she returns to find him passed out.After searching his wallet for his name when she called 911, Julia ends up keeping it because he has so much money in there and she's afraid others would take it. She fully intends to return it to him, but it takes her a few days to finally do it. That encounter ends in them yelling at each other. And Bastian wanting her even more. He knows he was wrong, and Julia accepts his apology and offer to go to a concert. From there it's a lot of the two of them always thinking about the other and sleeping together. At this point it seemed a lot more like lust than anything else with these two because most of the time all they talked about the other was their body. But we're told that they care about their thoughts and plans and what makes them them. Their relationship is kind of rocky because Bastian wants to keep his sickness from Julia and so he doesn't tell her why he disappears on her leading her to jump to conclusions. Also throw in there another guy who is interested in Julia who just happens to be Bastian's client. I have to say that I hated what Ryland said and did at the end. It seemed too out of character from what little we had already seen of him, and I also hate it when there is love triangles (even if Julia was completely oblivious). After another argument and a huge mistake on Bastian's part, the two of them break up. Fast forward a few months now and they're each still all the other can think about. During this time Julia has made so many changes to her life and is determined to make it better. Bastian on the other hand gets worse each day with the hurt he caused himself (and Julia) until it gets to the point he can't take it anymore and he wants her back. Of course she says yes, and everything ends on a happy note.One thing that I don't think was necessary at all was the inclusion of Julia finding those naked pictures of Bastian online. Seriously, what was the point? After she finds them, nothing comes of it. But then when she brings it up to him all he says is that his lawyers keep issuing cease and desist orders. Okay? Soooooo..... ??? I still don't get why it was important.Overall, a fun and quick read. But not something I will be rereading.ARC provided by publisher via Netgalley.>/i>
    more
  • RoloPoloBookBlog
    July 18, 2017
    Mr. Rich by Virna DePaulSource: NetgalleyMy Rating: 3/5 starsMy Review: Sometimes, fate just hands you an opportunity and when Bastian Rich passes out in front of Julia Rominger’s sample table, well, Julia seizes the opportunity. For weeks, Julia has lusted after Bastian. She’s stood by silently as he walks the aisles, eyed his gorgeous butt every time he bends over, and prays one day he’ll stop by her stand even if only to ask for whatever lame sample she’s currently inflicting on customers. Hi Mr. Rich by Virna DePaulSource: NetgalleyMy Rating: 3½/5 starsMy Review: Sometimes, fate just hands you an opportunity and when Bastian Rich passes out in front of Julia Rominger’s sample table, well, Julia seizes the opportunity. For weeks, Julia has lusted after Bastian. She’s stood by silently as he walks the aisles, eyed his gorgeous butt every time he bends over, and prays one day he’ll stop by her stand even if only to ask for whatever lame sample she’s currently inflicting on customers. Him passing out and landing right in front of her isn’t exactly how she hoped to meet him, but . . . . . In the confusion of Bastian passing out, the EMTs arriving and whisking him away to the hospital, Julia realizes she has Basitan’s wallet and no way to contact him. A few keystrokes and Google gives Julia the information she needs and once she works up the courage, she’ll return Mr. Hottie’s wallet, check to see he’s all right, and be right back on her way to her crappy job and apartment. What Julia can’t imagine is what happens when she finally meets Bastian.Bastian is exactly as his name implies, Rich. He owns his own company, he’s extremely successful, and he has no trouble finding a date. In fact, Bastian has dated some of the most beautiful, sophisticated women so his interest in a grocery store employee doesn’t make sense, even to him. The facts can’t be denied and Bastian has spent an inordinate amount of time in the grocery store working up the courage to speak to Julia. Imagine his surprise the day she walks into his office with none other than his wallet. Once again, opportunity has come calling and, like Julia, Bastian isn’t going to ignore the opportunity. In what could only be described as a whirlwind, Julia and Bastian fall into one another with ease. Bastian has the means and the desire to woo Julia and Julia has the desire to be wooed. The only kink in the plan is Bastian’s nasty habit of showing her an incredibly good time and then falling off the radar for days or a week at a time. Because the relationship is so new, Julia doesn’t want to appear clingy and Bastian isn’t quite ready to reveal his secret, the secret that keeps him from further pursuing Julia and long-term committed relationship. It isn’t until Julia finally forces the issue and discovers Bastian alone and sick that they are truly able to be open and honest with one another. To say things get worse before they get better is like saying an earthquake is just a tiny little fart. The Bottom Line: Mr. Rich is an easy read and, for the most part I remained engaged. This is a bit of a slow starter, but once Julia and Bastian truly meet the pace picks up. There’s certainly passion between the two, but there is a lot of uncertainty, unspoken words, and a third party who also has an interest in Julia. There are a great many obstacles to Julia and Bastian’s HEA, but once the air is cleared and everyone’s position is understood, the way is cleared. Overall, I liked this read, but it isn’t something I got overly excited about. It’s a decent read with some interesting moments, but it isn’t a read I would recommend readers put at the top of their TBR list.
    more
  • Jen
    June 17, 2017
    I'd have to give this one 3.5 stars. It was a very quick read and predictable, but I still enjoyed it. Unfortunately, there wasn't a whole lot of romance going on, which was a bit disappointing. It started out great and I was excited to continue reading, but the middle was just blah and really only about sex. The ending was great though, but again, predictable. Julia is the sample girl at a local grocery store and she's had her eye on the sexy guy who is always in the vitamin aisle. He seems obl I'd have to give this one 3.5 stars. It was a very quick read and predictable, but I still enjoyed it. Unfortunately, there wasn't a whole lot of romance going on, which was a bit disappointing. It started out great and I was excited to continue reading, but the middle was just blah and really only about sex. The ending was great though, but again, predictable. Julia is the sample girl at a local grocery store and she's had her eye on the sexy guy who is always in the vitamin aisle. He seems oblivious to her though, so she just continues to lust for him at a distance. One day though, he finally approaches her sample table, asks for a sample and she has to go in the back to get more. When she returns, he's passed out on the floor. She checks his wallet for ID, calls 911 and keeps the wallet so that someone else doesn't steal all the money out of it. Of course, she tracks him down and returns the wallet. Bastian Rich runs his family's investment firm and he thinks the sample girl is sexy, but he keeps his distance. He's not the playboy he once was, but his illness keeps him from commitment. Once Julia returns his wallet though, he decides to go out with her. I loved the banter between these two. Julia was cute, quirky, smart and had sass - not to mention she knew how to fix motorcycles...not at all who you'd think Bastian would be attracted to. Bastian was hot and sexy and a bit of the jealous type, but he let his illness cloud his judgement and really didn't give Julia the chance she deserved. There wasn't much romance and I didn't really feel the love between these two. Yes, they had chemistry, but they spent very little time with one another in person and rather had a lot of text conversations for a while since they were both so busy (or not speaking to each other). I would have loved to see how their relationship actually developed into love instead of just getting more sex scenes thrown in there. Oh and I loved Kevin :-) Disclaimer: I received an ARC in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Valeen Robertson
    July 15, 2017
    Mr. Rich is pleasant, but nothing too exciting. It's not horrible or even bad, it's just a little bland.Julia is a grocery store samples girl, meaning she's one of those people who hands out samples to customers as they walk by. She's sort of put her life on hold after dropping out of music school. She has a best friend who works with her, Kevin, who is probably my favorite part of Mr. Rich. He's funny and a loyal friend. Julia has been crushing on a customer she keeps seeing, who apparently has Mr. Rich is pleasant, but nothing too exciting. It's not horrible or even bad, it's just a little bland.Julia is a grocery store samples girl, meaning she's one of those people who hands out samples to customers as they walk by. She's sort of put her life on hold after dropping out of music school. She has a best friend who works with her, Kevin, who is probably my favorite part of Mr. Rich. He's funny and a loyal friend. Julia has been crushing on a customer she keeps seeing, who apparently has a really nice ass. Then one day he finally stands in front of her sample stand, but when she comes back from getting more chicken wings to hand out, he's passed out cold on the floor in front of her stand. She ends up with his wallet after he's taken away by the ambulance, and she makes it her mission to find out who he is so she can return the wallet. Unfortunately, their meeting is less than pleasant, and she leaves after returning his wallet, thinking not that he has a nice ass, but that he IS an ass.Of course, Bastian Rich makes a decision to apologize, as he'd been interested in her, too since he saw her at the store, and they begin a casual but exclusive relationship that turns into more. But, Bastian has a secret he doesn't want her to find out, and it makes him stupidly push her away after she reveals her real feelings for him.Mr. Rich had all the makings of a good story: hot, rich hero who turns out to be a really nice guy, sassy, take no shit heroine, a good secondary cast, but it's all a bit boring. The feelings aren't very deep between the two of them and she is a mass of insecurities despite her actually being a smart, talented woman. It's not that I didn't like either of them, because I do, especially Bastian, I just wanted more. I wanted more passion (not sex, as there was plenty of that), more of a deeper connection, more excitement, just more, and I didn't get it. It's why I couldn't rate it 4 stars or even 5.I received an ARC through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Sue Galuska
    June 27, 2017
    Mr. Rich was a fun and entertaining story that had some good, laugh out loud moments (like the first page!!!!). Julia Rominger used to be in college, as a music major, and was close to graduating when her professor hit on her and when she refused his advances, he made her life miserable so she quit. Now, she works at a grocery store giving out free samples and not enjoying her life. At least her best friend Kevin keeps her entertained! When Bastian Rich, the drop dead, gorgeous guy Julia has see Mr. Rich was a fun and entertaining story that had some good, laugh out loud moments (like the first page!!!!). Julia Rominger used to be in college, as a music major, and was close to graduating when her professor hit on her and when she refused his advances, he made her life miserable so she quit. Now, she works at a grocery store giving out free samples and not enjoying her life. At least her best friend Kevin keeps her entertained! When Bastian Rich, the drop dead, gorgeous guy Julia has seen a few times comes walking in, Julia and Kevin are both smitten! Too bad this guy is out of both of their leagues. Imagine her surprise when he comes up and starts talking to her! When she goes in the back to get him more samples, Julia comes back to find him passed out on the ground. She contacts 9-1-1 and then takes his wallet out to find out who he is. In the commotion of everything she realizes she never gave him his wallet back. She tries to follow him to the hospital but her car ends up dying on her. Julia eventually tracks him down to his office, where she ends up meeting Ryland Masters, an up-and-coming musician and rock star and the two of them hit it off because of their love of music. Bastian is intrigued by Julia and is not happy to see her with Ryland. This confrontation was wonderful! Loved Julia's speech! ;)When things with Bastian cool off, Julia reevaluates going back to school to finish her degree. It takes a while but Julia and Bastian finally end up together, even as hard as Bastian tried to push her away because of his secret. These two finally get their happy ending and realize that being together is better than being apart.I really enjoyed these characters...they were a lot of fun. There were some parts that I thought didn't flow all that well, but overall I did enjoy this story.
    more
  • Anita Byars
    June 26, 2017
    Fun, Flirty and Sexy! This was the first story written by Virna De Paul that I have read and I can't wait to get my hands on more. This was great story, it was well written and moved along at a great pace that had me turning the page. Written in dual POV which I love, letting me in on what both characters are thinking. These two have some intense chemistry that cause sparks to fly and some great sex scenes. It was entertaining and sexy and there was a nice bit of emotion and playfulness too. Jul Fun, Flirty and Sexy! This was the first story written by Virna De Paul that I have read and I can't wait to get my hands on more. This was great story, it was well written and moved along at a great pace that had me turning the page. Written in dual POV which I love, letting me in on what both characters are thinking. These two have some intense chemistry that cause sparks to fly and some great sex scenes. It was entertaining and sexy and there was a nice bit of emotion and playfulness too. Julia Rominger is in a rut, stuck in a dead end job passing out samples at Cooper's the local grocery store. Julia has been a loyal employee since she dropped out of college. The only thing that has been a glimmer of excitement in her life, is when "Big Sexy" Bastian Rich drops in to check out the vitamins at the store. Until one day when Big Sexy wanders to her sample table for a taste. Out of her tasty wings Julia takes off to get more, only to return to find him unconscious lying on the floor. As the ambulance takes him away Julia remembers she has his wallet, but when the cab she takes to follow the ambulance dies she isn't sure if she will see this gorgeous sexy man again. Determined days later to find out what happened to Big Sexy she decides to take his wallet to his place of business, but when Big Sexy becomes Big Sexy Asshole, Julia tells him what she thinks of him and leaves. Will she see him again she isn't sure she even wants too. Soon Bastian is in front of her apologizing with some tickets for a concert to make it up to her and Julia can't wait to be Cinderella for her Billionaire Hunk. Will Bastian Be her HEA? Or will she be just another notch in his belt? You will have to read to find out. Received a ARC through NetGalley and voluntarily wrote an honest review.
    more
  • Nay Denise
    June 30, 2017
    Received an ARC copy for review.I absolutely enjoyed this story from start to finish. I'm giving this beauty a 4 star rating. The writing was beautiful, the characters intriguing and the romance adorable.Julia is a woman who sticks to safety instead of living out her dreams and doing what she loves. She currently works in a market offering samples to people and she hates her job. It isn't until a likely encounter with a hottie causes her to seek adventure and return to the things she once loved. Received an ARC copy for review.I absolutely enjoyed this story from start to finish. I'm giving this beauty a 4 star rating. The writing was beautiful, the characters intriguing and the romance adorable.Julia is a woman who sticks to safety instead of living out her dreams and doing what she loves. She currently works in a market offering samples to people and she hates her job. It isn't until a likely encounter with a hottie causes her to seek adventure and return to the things she once loved. Julia was a beautiful woman, but insecure. I loved seeing her bold moments when she let go of her insecurities and just enjoyed everything around her. Julia was a woman who knew what she wanted, but allowed fear to keep her content with what she had going on in life. I was happy when she finally stopped letting fear control her and went about doing things she loved again.Sebastian is a very dominating, smart man. He's a financial advisor and struggles with his health thanks to a disease he has. He feels like he has to do everything on his own to avoid a woman seeing him as weak or less than. He feels like he's not worthy of love because of how his past relationships have gone. Though he had this going on in his life he was still a strong man. I loved his spunk and snarky comments. Everything about him was pretty amazing.The romance was pretty cliche, but it worked for these two love birds. I enjoyed seeing them help one another with their life, love and dreams. They worked extremely well together and let's not forget to mention the amazing sex they seemed to enjoy with one another. Be forewarned that this is an insta-love kind of story, but it was still a great read to me.
    more
  • Betsy Newmark
    May 7, 2017
    This started off with a poor girl, Julia Rominger, who has a nothing job handing out samples in a grocery store, salivating over the hot guy who comes in to buy vitamins. When he finally talks to her, she freaks out, but then he passes out right there in the store. She looks in his wallet to give his name to the 911-operator and somehow ends up keeping the wallet. When she returns it to the owner Bastian Rich, after snooping through it and checking him out on the internet, it turns out that he’s This started off with a poor girl, Julia Rominger, who has a nothing job handing out samples in a grocery store, salivating over the hot guy who comes in to buy vitamins. When he finally talks to her, she freaks out, but then he passes out right there in the store. She looks in his wallet to give his name to the 911-operator and somehow ends up keeping the wallet. When she returns it to the owner Bastian Rich, after snooping through it and checking him out on the internet, it turns out that he’s been coming into the store because he has the hots for the sample girl. It’s like Cinderella found Prince Charming’s shoe (wallet). I never bought his attraction to her. That’s the problem when most of the narration comes from the woman’s point of view and she’s always talking about how overweight and unappealing she looks. It’s just hard to discard her self-evaluation and believe that she’s so very hot that a great-looking guy would notice her handing out samples of subpar food and other hot guys will be attracted to her throughout the book.What made this storyline stand out is that Bastian is more than a hot multimillionaire. He also is suffering from lupus and that is why he passed out. He’s embarrassed to be seen as weak so he is contradictory in the signals that he’s sending Julia. Fortunately, for the happiness of their romance, she’s feisty and not ready to give up on him. Which is ironic since part of the plotline is that she’s given up on her own dreams after a bad setback in college. I found the connection between Bastian and Julia a bit hard to buy, but I still enjoyed reading their interactions and was pulling for them to figure things out.I was given a free ARC of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review