Pieces of Me
Obsession can be deadly… Nobody knows that better than Shadow Harper. It seemed like a dream come true when a rich, suave older man noticed her during her second year of college. Stefan Stockman seemed to love her obsessively. He came into her life and swept her off her feet, seduced her, married her…and then slowly, eventually, that dream come true became a living nightmare.Now, three years after she finally escaped him, she’s trying to put her life back together. Haunted by memories, struggling with post-traumatic stress, she spends most of her time locked away in her home on Pawley’s Island, a small town on the South Carolina coast. Her rare moments of joy come from her trips to the nearby beach.She compulsively checks the locks on her doors, makes sure she has her cell phones—five of them—and if she misses something on her schedule, it throws her into a panic.When she accidentally leaves a sketchbook on the beach, an anxiety attack seems imminent. Her art has become her salvation, her sanity, and losing even one sketch is like losing a piece of her soul. When she returns to hunt for the sketchbook, already fearing it’s gone for good, she’s surprised to find it still sitting there, saved by a sexy fellow beach lover—the mysterious Dillian Jenkins.He’s brash, bold, brutally handsome…and gentle. He’s the exact opposite of the man who’d tormented her for years, and Shadow finds herself slowly, almost reluctantly, falling for him. Even obsessing over him.When her ex-husband once again intrudes on the happiness she’s finally discovering, Shadow turns to Dillian. But will she find shelter there…or another betrayal?

Pieces of Me Details

TitlePieces of Me
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherShiloh Walker, Inc.
Number of pages176 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Romantic Suspense, Thriller, Suspense, Sociology, Abuse

Pieces of Me Review

  • ImJaclyn
    May 23, 2017
    ***3 Stars****ARC kindly provided via NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewI'm a little torn with this one. For most of the book, I was hooked. I completely loved it. It was exciting, sexy, addictive. But somewhere around the 60-70% mark it sort of went downhill. Throughout the entire novels there was some editing errors (which I'm hoping is only because it's an arc copy) certain things just didn't quite make sense...For example, it would say the main character, Shadow, was outside but then ***3 Stars****ARC kindly provided via NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewI'm a little torn with this one. For most of the book, I was hooked. I completely loved it. It was exciting, sexy, addictive. But somewhere around the 60-70% mark it sort of went downhill. Throughout the entire novels there was some editing errors (which I'm hoping is only because it's an arc copy) certain things just didn't quite make sense...For example, it would say the main character, Shadow, was outside but then it would say she stormed outside... I ignored those because of how much I loved the story (and again, I was hoping the errors were simply because I was reading an arc) I also didn't like that a lot of details were glossed over, or not included at all. The story is about a woman named Shadow who escapes an abusive spouse. She meets a man named Dillian, nicknamed Jenks, and the two form a relationship. The beginning of their relationship was pretty rushed, which I didn't mind at first, (I liked that it got right to the point in that aspect) and a lot of their earlier interactions were not on page (like their first date, important conversations, etc.) I liked that we got the beginning stages of the relationship out of the way because I was hoping that meant we'd get to read more about them as a couple, but later on I realized that the author did that with other important aspects of their relationship and Shadow's back story. When Shadow told Jenks about her past, I expected she would be telling the reader as well. That was not the case. We do get a pretty good idea of what happened to her but I picked up the novel because it was advertised as a "romantic thriller" and much of what would be described as the "thriller" moments were not there. In fact, the "thriller" moments barely added up to a full chapter.Again, I ignored it because I really was loving the story. Towards the end, when things started to heat up with her abusive ex, I again felt like things were rushed and glossed over. Things weren't quite as polished as they could be. Too many little details were left out and it sometimes made things very confusing. This novel had the potential to be an amazing one. I loved Shadow and Jenks's relationship, the chemistry between them, and how he treated her. Jenks was sweet and protective, but not possessive. He never treated Shadow like a "victim." Shadow had been through hell and back but she came out stronger than most would. I admired her for that. She always made sure to stand her ground and listen to her instincts. Unfortunately, the lack of attention to detail got in the way and the story fell flat. There were too many loose ends that weren't tied up. Too many questions that were left unanswered. It was so infuriating to read because I enjoyed the first half so much! By the end of the story, I felt that it wasn't even worth the read. Especially with those last couple of pages. (view spoiler)[ -it ended with a HFN. Barely. I would call it a "maybe possibly has the potential to be a happy for now but not really." (hide spoiler)]I was left VERY unsatisfied. I would not recommend this for romance lovers or people who are suckers for a happy ending (romance-wise) Shadow's ending was a happy one but Shadow and Jenk's as a couple...not so much.
    more
  • Timitra
    April 21, 2017
    Shiloh Walker has a gift for weaving suspense that has your eyes glued to the pages, Pieces of Me is no different. I loved the tone and vibe of the story despite not loving all the decisions the characters made or the ending. I still found it enjoyable and would definitely recommend it.ARC provided by author through Net Galley in exchange for a honest review
    more
  • Under the Covers Book Blog
    July 26, 2017
    Whenever I see a new romantic thriller by Shiloh Walker I get excited.  This is the spot where I love Ms. Walker's writing style the most.  Her stories always manage to bring enough of that thrilling edge to the story while still being sexy and romantic.In PIECES OF ME we find our heroine a woman in hiding from her abusive ex husband.  She has a lot of trauma to still get through and recover from, even years later.  Drawing is her one outlet and it's the very thing that gets her close to the my Whenever I see a new romantic thriller by Shiloh Walker I get excited.  This is the spot where I love Ms. Walker's writing style the most.  Her stories always manage to bring enough of that thrilling edge to the story while still being sexy and romantic.In PIECES OF ME we find our heroine a woman in hiding from her abusive ex husband.  She has a lot of trauma to still get through and recover from, even years later.  Drawing is her one outlet and it's the very thing that gets her close to the mysterious Dillian she's been lusting over and sketching for a while.I was expecting a lot of unknown danger in this one and that's not quite the direction of this story.  There's still some but quite as thrilling as I was hoping for and I guess it was a nice change of pace from what I was expecting, but also left me a bit disappointed.  Our heroine is broken and fragile enough that it makes sense we don't need to pile that much more on her.  I had to admire how she's managed to survive on her own after something so traumatic.  Coping the ways she has to.  And slowly opening up to the touch of another man.  But I also found some other things about her interactions with Dillian to be a little strange, such as how easily she trusted him when everyone else seemed to be suspect in her eyes.  Shadow and Dillian had good chemistry together even if at first I thought he was moving a bit too fast and seemed too forward, but things made more sense in the end.  I also really liked his character and how protective and respectful he was of her.PIECES OF ME has a dash of thrill with a good dose of sexy, but it was just missing a few key points to make this a stellar read.  Overall though, I still enjoyed it and can't wait for more from Ms. Walker.*ARC provided by authorReviewed by Francesca❤ ♡ Don't want to miss any of our posts? Subscribe to our blog by email! ♡ ❤
    more
  • Nellie Rivera
    June 25, 2017
    Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. I don't even know how to put this into words. So the writing is pretty good, and it could have been superb, if we had gotten an actual book, with answers. When I first read the blurb, the first thing I thought of was sleeping with the enemy (I know I am dating myself) but anyway, I still love that movie, however it wasn't the same. Shadow was abused for years by Stefan, who was a lot older than her, of course the relationship did not start out th Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. I don't even know how to put this into words. So the writing is pretty good, and it could have been superb, if we had gotten an actual book, with answers. When I first read the blurb, the first thing I thought of was sleeping with the enemy (I know I am dating myself) but anyway, I still love that movie, however it wasn't the same. Shadow was abused for years by Stefan, who was a lot older than her, of course the relationship did not start out that way, it was loving at first, and then it changed, then he was controlling, mentally and physically abusive. Luckily she was able to escape, and she did not know who to trust and with good reason. Eventually she meets Jenks, and this is where all my problems begin, (well that's a lie), one of my problems, she trusts him, why? she knows nothing of him, he keeps secrets, it is just lust, do you really want to take your life in your hands that way again? Is it really worth it? Can I really get a conclusion, to all my unanswered questions. I think I needed an Epilogue.
    more
  • Carol***BeautyandtheBeastlyBooks
    May 31, 2017
    ***ARC received in exchange of an honest opinion***This was yet another book where the idea is good, but the execution left something to be desired.I didn't feel the connection between the main characters and it was almost on the verge of insta-love for my tastes.
    more
  • Francesca the Fierce (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    July 21, 2017
    3.5 stars
  • Nalla Reads
    July 13, 2017
    Originally posted on NallaReadsShiloh Walker can write some seriously dark romance. But she always finds a way to have it flow without pulling away from the suspense aspect. In Pieces of Me we meet Shadow who we learn, over a few chapters, has been on the run from her estranged ex-husband due to the extremely horrid abuse he put her through. Her way to cope: her sketchbooks that she feels comfortable enough to put it all out on paper. Every fear, every ounce of anger, and even the moments of lus Originally posted on NallaReadsShiloh Walker can write some seriously dark romance. But she always finds a way to have it flow without pulling away from the suspense aspect. In Pieces of Me we meet Shadow who we learn, over a few chapters, has been on the run from her estranged ex-husband due to the extremely horrid abuse he put her through. Her way to cope: her sketchbooks that she feels comfortable enough to put it all out on paper. Every fear, every ounce of anger, and even the moments of lust she feels for the stranger on the beach she sees almost every day.In a case of fickle fate, Shadow leaves one of her more risqué sketchbooks on the beach and it is discovered by none other than Dillian, the stranger she's drawn over and over again. Dillian takes the suggestive drawings in stride and knows that behind the quiet and scared woman is the artist behind his every fantasy. For weeks he spends the time to earn Shadow’s trust and pull out her story and learn the truth about why she’s on the run. But even prince charming has some secrets…. And Shadow has to navigate Dillian’s evasive answers especially when her ex-husband comes after her one final time.Every page left me clinging to the edge of my seat and wanting to know how Shadow could ever find safety. Not only do Dillian and Shadow have some incredible chemistry, the mysterious man also has a secret I was dying to know! It boggles my mind how Walker always keeps the suspense looming without ever making the story line drag. With and ending sure to leave you wanting more this new suspense romance is definitely not like the others and will have you jumping at every sound in the night!
    more
  • Lyndi
    July 29, 2017
    So disappointing. This girl is TSTL, the guy was only okay, and the cliffhanger sucked. Would not recommend - a hundred other authors have done this plot a hundred times better.
  • Ann
    April 29, 2017
    My Actual Rating: 2.5 starsPieces of Me is the story of Shadow Harper, starting with her uneasy life in South Carolina several years following her divorce to her horribly abusive and 15-years-older ex-husband, Stefan. He was never convicted due to his high-powered connections, and so Shadow lives a life of fear, distrust, and isolation. She is constantly watched by a neighbor paid to report back to Stefan, and has only two friends and her sketching to keep her company. “I ran away from him once, My Actual Rating: 2.5 starsPieces of Me is the story of Shadow Harper, starting with her uneasy life in South Carolina several years following her divorce to her horribly abusive and 15-years-older ex-husband, Stefan. He was never convicted due to his high-powered connections, and so Shadow lives a life of fear, distrust, and isolation. She is constantly watched by a neighbor paid to report back to Stefan, and has only two friends and her sketching to keep her company. “I ran away from him once, but he just found another way to torment me. That fear of him still haunts me, controls me.” Early in the story Shadow meets a man she’s been scoping out on the beach; though she admired him, she kept her distance, but fate has its way. We learn his nickname is Jenks, and though it takes a while for Shadow to let him in, once she gets involved she goes in fast. As you can imagine, her haunt of an ex-husband is not pleased with this development. “A year ago, two years… the thought of letting a man touch me would have horrified me. But now I wanted it. I missed it.” There were some things that bothered me when it was all said and done. I found it bizarre that Shadow trusts in Jenks so easily after we discover how hard it is for others to gain her trust. There were a few unanswered questions I had, included at the end of the review as they may be spoilers. The book had no epilogue but it really would’ve benefited from one as the ending leaves the status of things unclear (more at the end of the review).The oft-used single-line paragraph delivery works in spots but wears thin in others. It’s fine, and it does help with the pacing of the book, but there were times it felt overused. The cuss-word count wasn’t excessive, but there is occasional strong language (as well as some description of her past abuse) if you’re adverse to that.Overall I enjoyed most of the story (and that cover art is amazing). I spent it wondering who really could or couldn’t be trusted, who was working with Stefan, how everyone would fare in the end. It’s obvious from the start that sh*t is going to hit the fan, but how and when that point comes, and the repercussions thereof, is a huge part of the journey. This is a story that will keep you entertained and in suspense. “Safe? Safe is an illusion. There is no such thing as safe.” I received an ARC via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Below the spoiler tag lies potential spoilers, arrrrrrrr!(view spoiler)[There is no HEA in this book. I had trouble deciding if the ending even qualified as a HFN (happily-for-now). An epilogue jumping years forward would have made it so much better. I’m fine with the excitement and mystery of a thriller, but I still want a conclusion to feel like a conclusion.My unanswered questions:1. Who had compromised Shadow’s security systems and website?2. What exactly happened to/in her kitchen?3. Or did I miss something and was the above only related to the slashed/destroyed sketches?4. Was there ever anything aside from lust and desire involved between Shadow and Jenks? I still wasn’t sure at the end.5. For someone as untrusting as Shadow was (and for good reason), why was she fine with knowing that Jenks was withholding a lot of details of his own life from her? I realize this plays into the Big Relationship Hurdle, but it felt *too* contrary to the personality and background established for our heroine.6. That letter near the end… seriously? Not really a question, more of something that made me eyeroll and think: wouldn’t it have had more impact had she received it a year or more later?If anyone could answer any of the above, I’d be happy to hear your input.(hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Lia
    May 17, 2017
    I had mixed feelings on this book. I have always been a fan of Shiloh Walker. I think she is a very talented writer and a great storyteller. In this novel, I thought she did a good job about showing how someone can be so broken down by someone else and how that can have long term consequences. The overall story was full of suspense and drew me into Shadow's story. For me though, it was more gritty and dark than I usually like. I also felt like it needed an epilogue or something to let you know h I had mixed feelings on this book. I have always been a fan of Shiloh Walker. I think she is a very talented writer and a great storyteller. In this novel, I thought she did a good job about showing how someone can be so broken down by someone else and how that can have long term consequences. The overall story was full of suspense and drew me into Shadow's story. For me though, it was more gritty and dark than I usually like. I also felt like it needed an epilogue or something to let you know how everything turned out in the end. It felt unfinished to me and after be invested in Shadow's story I wanted to have more of conclusion for her. I wanted to know she found a real measure of peace and happiness.
    more
  • Debbie
    July 28, 2017
    Oh sniffing, tissue needed but I did enjoy that. Shadow has escaped from her abusive husband, spent time in hospital and a shelter and divorced him even though he tried to stop it. No one believed he had laid a hand on her. His carefully structured lies and innuendo were enough to cast doubt on anything she said.3 years on she has PTSD and OCD but is trying to live her life on Pauleys Island where she has a little beach cottage. Between the multiple locks and the camera/security system she finds Oh sniffing, tissue needed but I did enjoy that. Shadow has escaped from her abusive husband, spent time in hospital and a shelter and divorced him even though he tried to stop it. No one believed he had laid a hand on her. His carefully structured lies and innuendo were enough to cast doubt on anything she said.3 years on she has PTSD and OCD but is trying to live her life on Pauleys Island where she has a little beach cottage. Between the multiple locks and the camera/security system she finds a little peace. Her solace is her drawing, each morning she ventures up the boardwalk to the beach where she sits and people watches until something catches her eye and she starts to draw. There is a man who she keeps seeing, she has vivid erotic dreams about him and draws these too. Two teenage boys startle her and she runs, leaving her sketch book behind. In a state of panic all evening she has little sleep but walks to the beach the moment it is light to find the man Jenks sitting with her book and he wants to get to know her.Jenks becomes increasingly angry as he discovered what Stefan her ex-husband did to her over the course of their marriage, he even learns of the horror of her basement incarceration until the tornado set her free.But Stefan hasn't finished with her, he manipulates people into spying on her, he infiltrates her home and her work but never to dirty his hands, his alibis are always watertight and accompanied by a woman who was a friend of his wife.But Jenks.....don't know whether to hug him or beat him bloody (view spoiler)[ he has two interests in Shadow one is lust; the chemistry spills off the page between them and the other is his baby sister, she went missing around the time that Shadow escaped courtesy of the tornado... (hide spoiler)]Her friends suffer at Stefan's hands and she finds herself pulled back to Boston where it all started. Jenks is still missing and she understands that she cannot have him in her life until he is 100% committed to her, if he is still seeking answers then he won't be.In other reviews people have commented on the choices she made, also that they thought the last few chapters felt rushed. They weren't but Stefan escalated and made mistakes, he miscalculated just how much power he thought he had.The close of the book made me sniff a little when he said "One of these days, I'll get to where the answers are important," he promised. The touch of his lip, was a hot little thrill against my skin. He straightened up, watched me for a long moment. Then he put a card down on the table. No, I thought, he wasn't going to reach that point. But it didn't matter. I had the means to get the answers for him.
    more
  • Samantha Hauser
    May 8, 2017
    Book Review of Shiloh Walker’s Pieces of MeI am a huge fan of Shiloh Walker. I have been for a very long time, so when I heard about Pieces of Me I got excited. I love all of Shiloh’s series and had read a good number of her other works. The great thing about Shiloh’s work is that even within the same genre each story is unique. Shiloh is able to really encapsulate the feelings of her characters and this book did not disappoint. If you like romantic suspense novels, this is definitely a great re Book Review of Shiloh Walker’s Pieces of MeI am a huge fan of Shiloh Walker. I have been for a very long time, so when I heard about Pieces of Me I got excited. I love all of Shiloh’s series and had read a good number of her other works. The great thing about Shiloh’s work is that even within the same genre each story is unique. Shiloh is able to really encapsulate the feelings of her characters and this book did not disappoint. If you like romantic suspense novels, this is definitely a great read. This book has graphic sex and violence against women. While the heroine does a great job being a survivor, it could be upsetting to those who have experienced abuse. You have the main heroine, Shadow Grace-A woman who has been broken so completely she doesn’t know how to survive. She struggles to make a life for herself while recovering from a traumatic experience that makes Russian prison camps look nice. Yet, as broken as she may be, she clings to her art and has the talent to bring beauty into an unforgiving world. Shadow isn’t fully healed but every day she is getting stronger and she dares to reach by starting to fantasize about a guy she sees on the beach regularly. Shadow barely dares to dream about a man, but for some reason, this one-well he sticks in her brain. And he doesn’t come out easy, even when fantasy starts to merge with reality and they meet.The hero of our story seems perfect in so many ways. Strong, supportive and a little bit dark with a body that doesn’t quit, Jenks seems like the perfect man. As they start to build something together, he doesn’t fall apart when Shadow starts the revelation process, in fact he seems to stick a little harder. But he has a secret and once it is revealed-well things are not quite as simple as they first seem.Of course, the past comes back to haunt Shadow and not only Jenks but some of the other friends she has made find themselves in danger. While Shadow know just how sick and depraved people can be, others doubt that it could have really been that bad. When the past swallows all of them whole, only a few will have the chance to survive. And after that—life will never be the same.Shadow manages to rebuild herself and truly become strong, facing not only her past but her present and deciding that she deserves more than what Jenks can give. But when her past still threatens her, she finds that safety can be found in a strong partner and Shadow has to decide whether to stand on her own or chance being hurt again.
    more
  • Christi Snow
    July 30, 2017
    My Review:I'm going to tell you right up front that this is going to seem like a wishy-washy review. Shiloh Walker can write a mesmerizing story and I was completely caught up in Shadow's story, but it's not a happy one. Shadow has been horribly traumatized. And honestly this is somewhat of a theme with Shiloh Walker's books...her characters have lived through awful things. I know that, so when I was reading it and wishing that the book was just a little more uplifting, that was my fault. Shiloh My Review:I'm going to tell you right up front that this is going to seem like a wishy-washy review. Shiloh Walker can write a mesmerizing story and I was completely caught up in Shadow's story, but it's not a happy one. Shadow has been horribly traumatized. And honestly this is somewhat of a theme with Shiloh Walker's books...her characters have lived through awful things. I know that, so when I was reading it and wishing that the book was just a little more uplifting, that was my fault. Shiloh Walker's don't leave you with a happier, lighter feel for having read them. They are dark and gritty.But I did find this one more than a little depressing. And I think my real issue was that we didn't get any of the story through Dillian's point of view...and I get that there's a very good reason for that. But Shadow is just so broken...and then at times so trusting, too trusting if you ask me. The dynamic just didn't quite work for me. But the book moves along and I kept waiting for the shoe to drop. In that regard, it's very well-written suspense. I kept turning the page waiting for the boogeyman to jump off the page and attack Shadow. I hated how little was revealed about Dillian. I know that his reveal was supposed to be shocking, but besides his protectiveness about Shadow, there was really very LITTLE insight into his character. I hated that. I still feel like I have no idea who he really was or if he was the right guy for Shadow. Overall, I liked Shadow. She's a strong character to have survived and overcome so many of her fears after all that she's been through. I loved her art and even her OCD and phobias made sense to me. A lot of other little things didn't make sense...most especially how her ex-husband was able to do the things he did without leaving any trace. That was never explained and it was all just too easy for me to buy. The other thing that didn't work for me was that ending. It was abrupt and extremely unsatisfying. Nope, I was NOT a happy camper when I hit the last sentence in the story, and I'll tell you right now that dropped my rating on this book from a 4 star read to a 3 star.I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Reviews by the Mrs.
    May 9, 2017
    I received this book in exchange for an honest review.Shadow Grace is a survivor. Having escaped her abusive ex-husband, Shadow tries to establish a new life for herself and battle all the demons from her past. Even as she meets Jenks, she knows her ex is still lurking about biding his time to lure Shadow back into his midst. Confession, when I read the synopsis I thought of the movie Sleeping With The Enemy! That movie was so scary and so intense. The scene where she opens to the cabinet only t I received this book in exchange for an honest review.Shadow Grace is a survivor. Having escaped her abusive ex-husband, Shadow tries to establish a new life for herself and battle all the demons from her past. Even as she meets Jenks, she knows her ex is still lurking about biding his time to lure Shadow back into his midst. Confession, when I read the synopsis I thought of the movie Sleeping With The Enemy! That movie was so scary and so intense. The scene where she opens to the cabinet only to find all the cans perfectly lined up...it gives me the chills just to think of it! I envisioned this romantic thriller to have similar suspense and drama. Unfortunately it doesn't. Pieces of Me was more of a raunchy romance than thriller and the romance angle felt wrong to me. I never bought into the idea that Jenks and Shadow cared for one another or had a lasting connection. It just felt like a sexual meeting of physical needs, not the intimate bond that the author eluded to. The ending was rushed, anticlimactic, and I closed the book feeling unsatisfied. I wanted so much more for Shadow; I wanted her to know the true freedom from her abuser which can only come from not allowing him to have any hold over her - not simply just coloring and cutting her hair. The writing also felt very disjointed. A scene of intense interaction and dialogue would be broken by a tangent describing the contents of a refrigerator. Several scenes were interrupted with those random paragraphs causing the tension the author was creating to break. What I did appreciate was the author's depiction of how abusers systematically devastate their victims. Yes the physical abuse is excruciating but the psychological abuse can devour someone. Shadow's ex-husband began to erase her as a wife, woman, and individual. Once she escaped that hell, she emerged as someone she did not know. Having to recraft herself and heal was a major undertaking. Ultimately this is a work fiction and the accuracy of psychological abuse could not save the storyline.
    more
  • Samantha Hopkins
    July 29, 2017
    Disturbing, chilling, excruciating, titillating, heartbreaking, torturous-these are the emotions shown by the heroine of this book as she discovers who she is after years of being in an abusive relationship, starved, locked away but surviving the ordeal and moving forward. It is three years later and Shadow has moved back to the home she feels most safe in. She has a routine; the doctors told her she suffers PTSD and OCD from her ordeal but the routine helps her stay safe. Each day as soon as th Disturbing, chilling, excruciating, titillating, heartbreaking, torturous-these are the emotions shown by the heroine of this book as she discovers who she is after years of being in an abusive relationship, starved, locked away but surviving the ordeal and moving forward. It is three years later and Shadow has moved back to the home she feels most safe in. She has a routine; the doctors told her she suffers PTSD and OCD from her ordeal but the routine helps her stay safe. Each day as soon as the sun rises, she starts her day at the beach sketching the gorgeous man she can only dream and sketch him in erotic art form. Her art is her life and a way to deal with the panic that can overcome her. Her ex-husband still watches her from afar. He knows where she lives and even pays ex-cons to watch and record everything she does. Although she is free, she is still trapped. This all changes when she meets Dillian Jenkins, a software designer with secrets of his own. He shows Shadow that she is not a victim and helps her to overcome her fear by being the survivor he sees. Each day and each protective action he displays; Shadow finds herself trusting him wholeheartedly but does she really know who he is. I loved the story, it was beautifully written (which is the norm for Shiloh Walker novels) but the ending - why? Surely there should have been at least another chapter, something that allowed the standalone novella to be finished. I was disappointed which is why I have only rated it 4 stars instead of 5.
    more
  • Cindy ~ SnS Reviews
    May 5, 2017
    First person look at a woman who survived hell and is trying to exist in a world where she knows monsters are real but she is trying to pick up the pieces and not let the darkness that shattered her world win. My interpretation as I started reading this book was it was like a diary of a woman that had been beaten, scarred, raped and left with a reconstructed face that she didnt recognize. For the first 16 years of her life she was happy. Then her parents died. At 18 she left her guardian who sho First person look at a woman who survived hell and is trying to exist in a world where she knows monsters are real but she is trying to pick up the pieces and not let the darkness that shattered her world win. My interpretation as I started reading this book was it was like a diary of a woman that had been beaten, scarred, raped and left with a reconstructed face that she didnt recognize. For the first 16 years of her life she was happy. Then her parents died. At 18 she left her guardian who showed her no love and bought a house on Pawney Island and lived free and fun life until she started college. At 20 she met fell in love with and married an older man and thus started her decent into hell which she didnt escape from until she was 25. Unspeakable things were done to her during those 5 years and now years after escaping she goes back to Pawney Island to try and put her life back together but she is still scared of the dark and knows he is still out there waiting and watching. This story was not typical so in that fashion it doesn't have a typical ending. Shadow Grace Harper is a survivor though and she does face her nightmares by the end and even though its not a fairy tale ending its one I understand.
    more
  • Rosemary
    June 6, 2017
    Shiloh Walker always manages to weave a suspenseful romance that has you anxious to turn each page. In Pieces of Me, Shadow Grace is dealing with almost crippling anxiety and PTSD after escaping an obsessive and abusive ex-husband. She finds refuge in the beach and her drawings. When she accidentally leaves her sketchbook on the beach, she is besides herself until she finds it still on the beach, in the hands of Dillian. Dillian is as different from her ex as night is from day. Soon she finds he Shiloh Walker always manages to weave a suspenseful romance that has you anxious to turn each page. In Pieces of Me, Shadow Grace is dealing with almost crippling anxiety and PTSD after escaping an obsessive and abusive ex-husband. She finds refuge in the beach and her drawings. When she accidentally leaves her sketchbook on the beach, she is besides herself until she finds it still on the beach, in the hands of Dillian. Dillian is as different from her ex as night is from day. Soon she finds herself beginning to feel the happiness she thought she would never feel again as she gets to know him. When her ex-husband finds her again, she fears everything she is beginning to feel and hold dear will be taken from her, unless she can trust Dillian. Will he step up and save Shadow or is he simply another man in her life who will disappoint her.I really enjoyed this story. The suspense kept me anxious to find out what would happen next and I loved Dillian and Shadow's characters. Shadow was so strong, escaping her ex-husband and finding a way to live despite the terrible abuse she faced at his hands. Dillian was the perfect romantic hero. He was kind, compassionate and willing to help Shadow through her pain and be a support for her when she needed it.
    more
  • Lea ★
    May 16, 2017
    ARC provided by author through Net Galley in exchange for a honest reviewI have to admit that I am usually not a big fan of suspense and I am very limited to genres, but with this book I really stepped out of my comfort zone. It kind of made me realize that I haven’t really explored genres that I stay away from. Plain and simple, it was different, and I read it in one sitting. One thing I did not like was the ending, and that is the reason I gave this book a four star rating. Nonetheless, this w ARC provided by author through Net Galley in exchange for a honest reviewI have to admit that I am usually not a big fan of suspense and I am very limited to genres, but with this book I really stepped out of my comfort zone. It kind of made me realize that I haven’t really explored genres that I stay away from. Plain and simple, it was different, and I read it in one sitting. One thing I did not like was the ending, and that is the reason I gave this book a four star rating. Nonetheless, this was intense and if you like romantic suspense you will enjoy it. Have in mind that it deals with some heavy subjects like psychological and physical abuse. Main heroine basically endured years and years of hell, in a marriage with a physically and emotionally abusive man. She is a scarred woman who's life is marked with dominance, captivity and extreme fear. I don't want to reveal too much, but if you want to read something a bit darker than your usual reads, try this one. I took a chance, and that proves to me yet again that I need to make myself read outside of my comfort zone because I'm missing out on some great stuff.
    more
  • Pau (Winter Aragon)
    June 6, 2017
    I'm hooked with the teaser as soon as I read it at NetGalley.Shadow Grace Harper is a very beautiful name for a woman who have been imprisoned and battered by her lunatic and obsessive ex-husband Stefan Stockman. My heart goes to her bad experiences and her fear that is still with her. I'm glad that Shadow survive and ready to fight her ex-husband now.Lobo aka Jenks aka Dillian is a hot and mysterious guy. I was surprised about his real identity. I also felt how broken, he is and I'm pleased tha I'm hooked with the teaser as soon as I read it at NetGalley.Shadow Grace Harper is a very beautiful name for a woman who have been imprisoned and battered by her lunatic and obsessive ex-husband Stefan Stockman. My heart goes to her bad experiences and her fear that is still with her. I'm glad that Shadow survive and ready to fight her ex-husband now.Lobo aka Jenks aka Dillian is a hot and mysterious guy. I was surprised about his real identity. I also felt how broken, he is and I'm pleased that whatever happened, he still sticks with Shadow.I enjoyed reading this psychological romance thriller, but the ending... Is there a part two? Is Shadow really will find justice for what happened to her?Kudos to Shiloh Walker! Great job! Thank you to NetGalley and INscribe Digital for the ARC!
    more
  • Myranda
    July 26, 2017
    I was riveted to this book and enjoying it very much...until the end. I couldn't believe that that was the end of the story. I'm not a big fan of not knowing if the characters get a HEA. In this one, they didn't ever really get a HFN. My only hope is that there could maybe be a sequel in the future since there are a lot of questions left unanswered. If I knew a sequel was in the works, I would have rated the book 4 stars. TL;DR: I enjoyed the story, read it all in one sitting. Was expecting to r I was riveted to this book and enjoying it very much...until the end. I couldn't believe that that was the end of the story. I'm not a big fan of not knowing if the characters get a HEA. In this one, they didn't ever really get a HFN. My only hope is that there could maybe be a sequel in the future since there are a lot of questions left unanswered. If I knew a sequel was in the works, I would have rated the book 4 stars. TL;DR: I enjoyed the story, read it all in one sitting. Was expecting to rate it 5 stars until the end. It may be silly, but I want happy/positive/things-are-looking-up endings in the books I read.
    more
  • Momma Hellmouth
    July 9, 2017
    My Review of Pieces of me by Shiloh WalkerMy Rating 4.5 StarsThis was a suspenseful, obsessive story which kept me on my toes throughout the entire story. Shadow thought she had everything her heart ever wanted only to have the one person she trusted to take it all away, on the run hiding out from the abuser and always looking over her shoulder. The intensity of this story kept me waiting for the ball to drop. I enjoyed this book and will watch for more from this author.** I voluntarily reviewed My Review of Pieces of me by Shiloh WalkerMy Rating 4.5 StarsThis was a suspenseful, obsessive story which kept me on my toes throughout the entire story. Shadow thought she had everything her heart ever wanted only to have the one person she trusted to take it all away, on the run hiding out from the abuser and always looking over her shoulder. The intensity of this story kept me waiting for the ball to drop. I enjoyed this book and will watch for more from this author.** I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of his book in exchange for an honest review from the Publisher through Netgalley & the Author **
    more
  • Melanie
    July 26, 2017
    Hmmm. If this is left as a standalone after the letter I'd be disappointed. It's an ok read but I wanted more in the thriller and suspense department. There wasn't all that much romance either. I felt like we were told what happened to shadow but I didn't really feel it. Just hearing repeatedly that Shadow struggled, had OCD, panic attacks etc and he had abused her - I think we should have been given more of a glimpse into Stephan. Some parts were washed over too much and others that were irrele Hmmm. If this is left as a standalone after the letter I'd be disappointed. It's an ok read but I wanted more in the thriller and suspense department. There wasn't all that much romance either. I felt like we were told what happened to shadow but I didn't really feel it. Just hearing repeatedly that Shadow struggled, had OCD, panic attacks etc and he had abused her - I think we should have been given more of a glimpse into Stephan. Some parts were washed over too much and others that were irrelevant were expanded. I was disappointed. 3 stars.
    more
  • BBMoreB ~
    July 25, 2017
    This is an incredible story with harsh dark undertones. The brutality of Shadow's history was agonizing to read but, made me root for her to find some happiness. Great story, although jarring at times -recommended!
  • Tracie Runge
    June 19, 2017
    Pieces of Me read as a gritty, sexy, suspense for me and I really liked it. I enjoyed both Shadow and Dillian and I felt both characters were well developed. Although there were a few minor mistakes it was not enough to distract the story. I would recommend this book to readers of this genre.
    more
  • Hannah
    July 21, 2017
    ARC REVIEW TO COMEI can see why some people didn't really like it.
Write a review