What Happened
“In the past, for reasons I try to explain, I’ve often felt I had to be careful in public, like I was up on a wire without a net. Now I’m letting my guard down.” —Hillary Rodham Clinton, from the introduction of What HappenedFor the first time, Hillary Rodham Clinton reveals what she was thinking and feeling during one of the most controversial and unpredictable presidential elections in history. Now free from the constraints of running, Clinton takes you inside the intense personal experience of becoming the first woman nominated for president by a major party in an election marked by rage, sexism, exhilarating highs and infuriating lows, stranger-than-fiction twists, Russian interference, and an opponent who broke all the rules. This is her most personal memoir yet.In these pages, she describes what it was like to run against Donald Trump, the mistakes she made, how she has coped with a shocking and devastating loss, and how she found the strength to pick herself back up afterward. With humor and candor, she tells readers what it took to get back on her feet—the rituals, relationships, and reading that got her through, and what the experience has taught her about life. She speaks about the challenges of being a strong woman in the public eye, the criticism over her voice, age, and appearance, and the double standard confronting women in politics.She lays out how the 2016 election was marked by an unprecedented assault on our democracy by a foreign adversary. By analyzing the evidence and connecting the dots, Clinton shows just how dangerous the forces are that shaped the outcome, and why Americans need to understand them to protect American values and democracy in the future.The election of 2016 was unprecedented and historic. What Happened is the story of that campaign and its aftermath—both a deeply intimate account and a cautionary tale for the nation.

What Happened Details

TitleWhat Happened
Author
ReleaseSep 12th, 2017
PublisherSimon & Schuster
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Politics, Autobiography, Memoir, Biography, History, Feminism

What Happened Review

  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    For the record, it hurts to be torn apart. I doubt I will go into too much depth about this book. I figure there are only two kinds of people - those who already know about and agree on the political aspects of What Happened, and those who will refuse to read it on principle (and may hate me on principle just for giving it a high rating).As expected, it covers the events leading up to, during, and after the 2016 election. Hillary talks policy issues inc. immigration, gun control and police shoo For the record, it hurts to be torn apart. I doubt I will go into too much depth about this book. I figure there are only two kinds of people - those who already know about and agree on the political aspects of What Happened, and those who will refuse to read it on principle (and may hate me on principle just for giving it a high rating).As expected, it covers the events leading up to, during, and after the 2016 election. Hillary talks policy issues inc. immigration, gun control and police shootings (view spoiler)["No parent should fear for the life of an unarmed, law-abiding child when he walks out of the house. That's not "identity politics." It's simple justice. (hide spoiler)], theories on her loss, and the problems America faces. She talks about her experiences as a woman in politics and I felt my heart break all over again at the deep sorrow she feels about letting so many down, especially the young women who saw her as a symbol of what they could achieve. But - and I'm sure haters will just hear "blah blah blah" when I say this - what touched me most was the personal nature of What Happened. Politics is only a part of this book. A whole other part is about family, friendship and self care after a brutal and humiliating public defeat. This is not Hillary rising from the ashes and raining curses down on her opponents; it's a story of bitter disappointment and, ultimately, hope for something better.Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • MJ
    January 1, 1970
    Note, I'm leaving the original pre-review below the actual review. Disclaimer: I voted for Hillary Clinton in both of her presidential campaigns, and I’d vote for her again in a damn heart beat. So, yeah…obviously, this is not going to bash her. And before you mansplain that I didn’t do my research on her, I’ll have you know that I did PLENTY. I just, you know, didn’t get my news from Info Wars or Facebook.Oh, also if you decide to troll on this review your comment is never going to get to see t Note, I'm leaving the original pre-review below the actual review. Disclaimer: I voted for Hillary Clinton in both of her presidential campaigns, and I’d vote for her again in a damn heart beat. So, yeah…obviously, this is not going to bash her. And before you mansplain that I didn’t do my research on her, I’ll have you know that I did PLENTY. I just, you know, didn’t get my news from Info Wars or Facebook.Oh, also if you decide to troll on this review your comment is never going to get to see the light of daylight (or if you post junk on my GoodReads review of this you’ll her blocked and deleted). And don’t think you’re going to get a rise out of me, I’ll just be laughing as I block and delete because it makes it easier to know who to avoid.Okay, that aside. I will say right away that I’ve always considered HRC to be a role model. A lot of the choices I have made in my career have been influenced by her, and I try to live up by the motto that she refers a lot to in this book, “Do all the good you can, for all the people you can, in all the ways you can, as long as ever you can.” The quotes actually a product of Hillary’s Methodist and I’m Catholic but it has really influenced a lot of my decisions. And Hillary Clinton has made the path forward a little bit easier for professional women going forward, and she needs to be given praise for that.The book (obviously) deals with her run for president. It was an enthralling read. A bit bittersweet, melancholy, and desperately needed. When I finished reading it, I did feel like the country would eventually be okay. Though, now as I write this review watching the latest Trump-catastrophes that are airing on MSNBC that feeling is quickly disintegrating. I think what I liked best about this book was how relatable I found Hillary in the pages.Hillary Clinton relatable? I know a lot of people are laughing at that. And I’ll probably get some flak for that remark, but as a professional woman reading about Hillary’s own struggles with misogyny I found myself nodding my head throughout the pages. It’s amazing that the struggles she faced at the beginning of her career are similar to struggles that I’ve experienced in my own. One of the many reasons, why she will always be a feminist icon.The tone of the book has almost a blunt quality about it. And I loved it. She doesn’t waffle around subjects. She depicts the election for what it was. She takes blame for her own mistakes (think the comment on coal miners) but also states the very obvious that there were a lot of outside factors that contribute to her loss and the idiot we now have as president. Honestly, her tone reminds me a lot of my sister which is bonus points for her. It’s also interesting to note, that a lot of people don’t like my sister because she’s direct…funny, how being direct is considered a plus when you have a penis and not a vagina.There is also an intimate quality to the book. Hillary talks about her personal life: Bill, Chelsea, the grandkids, her friends, even the dogs. We also learn what she likes to eat for breakfast and what’s on her DVR (though, if you read any of those stupid emails you’d know she watched The Good Wife, so it’s not really that big of a spoiler, but apparently Bill likes NCIS: LA). It also dives into some of the darker emotions that she experienced after the election, and the hope she has for the future. You also see her disdain for how the coverage was handled during the election and how Matt Laurer was pretty much an idiot (Hillary, girl, I agree).As much as this book is about Hillary and about the fallout of the disastrous election in 2016, the book also touches on policy. Policy, oh lord, how I missed you.I don’t know if I ever mentioned this to you guys, but I minored in political science during college, and that in part made watching the whole mess of an election really hard for me. Even during the primaries it seemed policy was overlooked (and yes, even the democratic primary).Sure, St. Bernard promised the moon but he never explained how we were going to get there. Hillary clearly had a plan of how she wanted to enact policies, and how she thought we could feasibly get there. Her website was filled with them, and I always annoyed me how a certain idiotic morning news host with bad hair that used to be B.F.F.’s with Donald Trump until he insulted his fiancee said she had no message. Because her website was nothing but message after message.But hey, ration was thrown away in this election. Especially the general election. In the later part of the book, there are sections of this book that almost feel like they’re written as an indictment against Russia, Wikileaks, the media and in part to Comey for what they did to unravel the momentum that she had. And it’s a damn it’s a beautiful written thing. Hate her all you want, but if it wasn’t for Comey’s interference the media would’ve been talking about that damn bus and it’s more likely than not that pervert wouldn’t be turning the White House not the Golden Showers House (God, I feel for whoever will be POTUS next, they’ll have to fumigate the place).Yeah, crude. But I really don’t care. Again, this is my review and I’m just sick of having to be the adult while all the Trump, the Russian bots, trolls, Bernie supporters, etc. can act like the idiots they are.Okay…back to the book. I think my overall thought when I closed this one is how much I missed Hillary and what could’ve been. Even if she never runs for office again, I hope her voice continues to resonate. It also makes me more energetic to keep on resisting, to fight the good fight.Pre-Review Below:Preordered and pre rating since I'm sure that Russian trolls and Trump-idiots are going to downrate it (seriously, surprised so many Trump idiots can read).Anyway, I so wish this woman would've been president. The US wouldn't currently be the laughing stock in the world again and we wouldn't have the impending threat of a wee wee tape of POTUS being released to the world (you know it's only a matter of time).For those who say that Hillary didn't have a message she did. Her website was a wealth of knowledge of policy and progressive ideas. She was the best candidate for president and it's only because of an antiquated system that was created because of slavery and Russian meddling and GOP gerrymandering that she's not POTUS today.Bros, Russian bots, Trump idiots, mansplainers you will be blocked if you comment. And your sanctimonious comments will be promptly deleted. I'm not in the mood at all to deal with your shit. You have been warned. No go away.
    more
  • hayden
    January 1, 1970
    this is my hundredth book read this year! congrats, self!edit:i would like to add that one of the very first lines in the book, in the author's note, is, "i've tried to learn from my own mistakes. there are plenty, as you'll see in this book, and they are mine and mine alone." so enough with the "she's just going to blame everyone else!!!!!!1" nonsense.• • •prior to reading, i five-starred this book to offset idiots leaving one-star ratings
    more
  • Nenia *The Flagrant Liberal* Campbell
    January 1, 1970
    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestLOL I see that I lost a few friends over this review. You know what that means! Time to add this book to the books-that-made-me-lose-friends shelf. >:D My dad used to tell me not to get near a scared animal; that it couldn't understand what your intentions were and since you couldn't exactly explain to said animal what you were doing, in its overstimulated state it might bite out of fear. That's a lot like what happened in this election. Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestLOL I see that I lost a few friends over this review. You know what that means! Time to add this book to the books-that-made-me-lose-friends shelf. >:D My dad used to tell me not to get near a scared animal; that it couldn't understand what your intentions were and since you couldn't exactly explain to said animal what you were doing, in its overstimulated state it might bite out of fear. That's a lot like what happened in this election. People were afraid: afraid of change, afraid of progression, afraid of foreigners, afraid of the future, afraid of losing their jobs - and so they bit, and they bit down hard, and logic be damned. The entire country suffered because of some scared, angry people who couldn't be bothered to sort out the facts, and relied on pure emotion, and the sheer, misanthropic pleasure of "shaking it up" while voting in this election.WHAT HAPPENED is appropriately named. The title is a call-and-answer, all rolled into one. It asks "What happened?" while also explaining exactly what happened, in her words. I don't expect this book to change people's minds. If you hate Hillary, you'll probably just hate her more after reading this, because you'll convince yourself that she's a) lying or b) the embodiment of the demon-worshiping caricature you've made her out to be in your mind. If you love Hillary, this book will make you love her more, because she's the thoughtful, articulate, compassionate, intelligent, go-getting, invested candidate you wanted - in spades.I've almost forgotten what an actual president sounds like, because I've been bombarded with xenophobic, Islamophobic, transphobic, bigoted, juvenile rhetoric for so long.Before I get into that, though, let me just clear up a few things.But what about her emails? There was an investigation. She complied fully, and was duly exonerated. For those of you crying about the remaining 33,000 personal emails, and why she wouldn't want to share them, hmm, why don't you think about some of the emails you've sent to doctors, to relatives, to ex-girlfriends. I'm sure you sent some pretty embarrassing things. Things to which you wouldn't want the general public having access. In fact, since Clinton is a notoriously private person, yours are probably worse than hers. Also, Clinton's email server was later proven to be secure, whereas Trump White House officials were tricked by this email prankster into divulging some personal information.She totally colluded to rig the election, though. Yes, let's talk about collusion and rigging, shall we?Hillary gave those speeches to Goldman Sachs people. And Trump's filling his cabinet with them.The news media was constantly forcing her down our throats. Yes, it's annoying when the news media is constantly finding new angles to throw unpopular candidates at you, isn't it? Oh wait...But her emails, though. YES, LET'S TALK ABOUT EMAILS. LET'S.I've seen several reviews for this book and many of those reviewers have attempted to be politic and inoffensive about their review, to great success. Well, I'm not going to go that route, and if it costs me a friend or two in the process, that's what my books-that-made-me-lose-friends shelf is for. I was not happy with how this election went, and I find it hilarious that members of the Tangerine Tyrant's fan club are burning their MAGA hats because their fearless leader dared to compromise with the Democratic party about DACA.In WHAT HAPPENED, Hillary discusses her election and its catastrophic (or triumphant if you're part of that crowd) results. She describes how crushed she felt, seeing what was supposed to be certain victory being taken from her by a man who seemed incredibly unqualified. She had to wear the suit she planned to travel to DC in as president-elect to her concession speech, and her first order of business was ensuring that her staff would get paid and they would all have healthcare. Meanwhile, we have a president who allegedly doesn't pay contractors if they don't do a good job.Hillary describes the rigors of campaigning, and the close bonds she developed with her staff. She writes about her love for her daughter, who she clearly admires and feels so much pride for, and her close friendship with Huma Abedin, who Hillary refused to fire even when it became clear that her personal scandal might negatively impact her campaign. She writes about her husband, glossing over the scandal that rocked her marriage in the 90s, but she does say that she struggled with the choice to stay or leave and ultimately stayed because she did love him - and then she writes about how moved she was, when before one of her speeches, he said, to everyone, "I married my best friend."But what really got me was how much she clearly loves the U.S. Her willingness to sit down and listen to everyone - even the people who hate her, protest her, and threaten her - and hear their stories, and try to find a way to make things work really got me. I'm sure her critics will say, in the immortal words of Joe Biden, that that's all a "bunch of malarkey," but I have a pretty good BS detector and it's hard to fake sincerity and passion - at least with the fervor that Ms. Clinton displays here. She seems genuinely saddened to have failed Middle America, and her inability to address their concerns properly. She acknowledges her privilege, and how diligently she has worked to try to understand what it is like, being unable to provide for your children while living paycheck to paycheck. She wanted to bring jobs back to the U.S., was supportive of Black Lives Matter, and wanted to create better relationships between minorities and the police in high-crime areas. She was constantly looking for solutions and successful ways to implement them.I cried several times while reading this book. Her anger at the roles that racism and sexism played in the election; her frustration at coming so close - twice - and failing each time; her fear for the future, not just for our country but for our allies; and the deep and personal responsibility she feels towards all the people who gave their all to see her get elected and felt that failure right alongside her. In many ways, Hillary reminds me of my own mother, who I love so much. Seeing Hillary fail was like seeing someone I cared deeply about fail. Her failure got me more engaged in politics, so I could learn more and become more informed, and help others become more informed because in our current political climate "fake news" has become synonymous with "news I don't like that I'm going to pretend isn't real because I'm a jerk who likes to live in an alternative facts-ridden landscape."I've noticed some concern from the Bernie Bros that this book basically blames them for Trump's election. And while I think that it is at least partly your fault if you either a) lived in a swing state and didn't vote, or b) lived in a swing state and voted for a third party to "stick it to the man," Clinton is much more generous and diplomatic about it (which is why she was able to come so close to winning president-elect, and I will never be running for office). She does suggest that third parties played a role in Trump's victory (though she seems to blame Jill Stein for this more than Sanders), but she also acknowledges Bernie's (admittedly tardy) concession and support of her campaign. She also points out why he was so much more popular with reluctant voters: marketability. His statements were full of panache and sounded good in a microphone. I was Hillary from day one, but even I could admit that Bernie sounded good. He just didn't seem to have a solid plan. Hillary did have solid plans, many of them, but it's hard to compress intelligent, thoughtful ideas down to a sound bite. And of course, there's also the fact that Hillary is a woman, whereas Bernie is a man, and our country, which is so advanced in some ways, can be rather outmoded when it comes to the role women play in various leadership roles - particularly those of the political or corporate variety.Someone asked why so many men hated Hillary under the questions for this book, and this is what I responded with: "I think [men hate Hillary Clinton] because there are a lot of gender biases coded into society. We're taught- implicitly or explicitly, and from a young age- that women are not supposed to be loud, aggressive, brash, dominant, confident, or forceful. Hillary is all these things, for better or for worse, and that threatens the status quo. Anything that threatens the status quo is going to be rallied against by people who have a stake in the system staying the way it is." If you're interested, Vox did a lengthy interview with Hillary that relates tangentially to this book. I recommend it. She details a lot of her policies and it gives great insight into what she's like. Lastly, I just want to issue a caveat: this is a review, and not an invitation to a debate. I don't want to debate. I sat through way too many debates already in the last two years, and I've heard all the arguments before. When I was younger, yeah, I loved arguing on the internet, but now I think it's a waste of time. It's not going to change anyone's mind and it's only going to sow discord. You're welcome to write all the anti-Hillary stuff you want in your own review space, but if you post it here, I'll delete your comments, and if you do it again after I delete it, I'll block you. That said, I heartily encourage anyone with an open mind to read this book. She was brave to open her heart and share her story, when there are so many people who are so eager to tear her down. 5 stars
    more
  • it's me
    January 1, 1970
    Great to see the huge array of star ratings here. Happy to announce to you all following along at home that I WAS RIGHT and the book consists of the following:- It was everyone else's fault!- It was Bernie's fault! And Russians and stuff!- I never did nuffink wrong!- I did my time, why didn't they like me?- You're all sexist! Vote for me!- Everyone else was to blame! Russians! Yeah!- Bernie is the worst! - He's not even a democrat, therefore the devil incarnate. Oh also, people who aren't democr Great to see the huge array of star ratings here. Happy to announce to you all following along at home that I WAS RIGHT and the book consists of the following:- It was everyone else's fault!- It was Bernie's fault! And Russians and stuff!- I never did nuffink wrong!- I did my time, why didn't they like me?- You're all sexist! Vote for me!- Everyone else was to blame! Russians! Yeah!- Bernie is the worst! - He's not even a democrat, therefore the devil incarnate. Oh also, people who aren't democrats should have voted for me. All Bernie's fault.- I hate Bernie, I wish he hadn't made me drag my policies slightly to the left! Oh, I mean we always thought the same about everything, that's why the Bernie Bros were out to get me! - Why didn't Bernie just unquestioningly coronate me like everyone else? - Everyone who likes what Bernie stands for is a brocialist. And a bro. And bro-ish. - It was all Bernie's fault!- Dammit Bernie, I could have had it allllllllllllll! Rollin in the deeeeeeeeeeeeeep. I sold my heart and souuuuuulllllll. (Wait, that bit is not in it.)
    more
  • Christine Todd
    January 1, 1970
    I've preordered Hillary Clinton's book and am giving it 5 stars in advance to help offset the actions of her haters, who also haven't read her book but are giving it 1 star apiece in an attempt to hold down her sales and her side of the story. Almost 100 years ago another group of authoritarian "Christian" men and their wives stood against the suffragettes, and they were wrong too. Hillary Clinton won the popular vote, but misogyny won the election.
    more
  • Zach
    January 1, 1970
    *laughs* really? deal with it. Trump won. there was no hacking from Russia!!! god you're a sore loser.
  • Owlseyes
    January 1, 1970
    "When you lose to somebody who has 40% popularity, you don't blame other things -- Comey, Russia -- you blame yourself," Chuck SchumerYou lost it. You lost. Elizabeth Warren has a chance now, you don't. You lost. Blame the mainstream media which supported you; those papers that endorsed you; those who said your opponent would never win. You lost. Blame the fake polls up to the last minute of the election; check the 8th of November 2016 in The New York Times. You may even blame Nate Silver and Co "When you lose to somebody who has 40% popularity, you don't blame other things -- Comey, Russia -- you blame yourself," Chuck SchumerYou lost it. You lost. Elizabeth Warren has a chance now, you don't. You lost. Blame the mainstream media which supported you; those papers that endorsed you; those who said your opponent would never win. You lost. Blame the fake polls up to the last minute of the election; check the 8th of November 2016 in The New York Times. You may even blame Nate Silver and Comey and the Democratic Party infrastructure. Nevertheless, you lost. Still, you may blame Wikileaks . Yet, you lost. Right, blame Brexit. In the end, you lost. (The Week, November 11, 2016)--Hillary Clinton to 'let her guard down' in candid 2016 election memoirin: https://www.theguardian.com/books/201...Democrats Fret as Clinton Book Rollout Loomsin: https://www.bloomberg.com/view/articl...Clinton’s score-settling frustrates DemocratsIn: http://thehill.com/homenews/campaign/...Hillary Clinton’s new book blasts Republicans and Russia. She’s 100 percent right.in: https://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/...The Strange Authenticity of Hillary Clintonin: http://www.politico.com/magazine/stor...
    more
  • Erin
    January 1, 1970
    I ended up liking What Happened more than I thought I would. I thought it would be boring because quite frankly I find Hillary Clinton to be boring. I wasn't though, it was surprisingly entertaining and made me like her a little more. She spends way more time talking about her family, friends, and upbringing, than about the most shocking and upsetting political loss in history. I personally think Hillary Clinton is leading a far more full life than had she been elected. The American people are w I ended up liking What Happened more than I thought I would. I thought it would be boring because quite frankly I find Hillary Clinton to be boring. I wasn't though, it was surprisingly entertaining and made me like her a little more. She spends way more time talking about her family, friends, and upbringing, than about the most shocking and upsetting political loss in history. I personally think Hillary Clinton is leading a far more full life than had she been elected. The American people are worse off but Hillary is fine. Full Disclosure: I voted for her. I'm a black woman so Why in HELL would I vote a racist? I voted for her because there was no other choice. I'm happy I voted for her and everyday I feel better about my vote. I'm not going to recommend this book to anyone because I find its hard to find people who don't already have a preconceived notion about Hillary or any politician. I don't really understand why someone who hates Hillary would read this, unless they just enjoy being mad. At the end of the day Hillary is rich and has really great health insurance. Do you?
    more
  • Erik Hovland
    January 1, 1970
    One star to offset those who have five starred to offset those who have one starred.
  • Charles
    January 1, 1970
    She could easily say, "I ran a poor campaign. I failed to connect with voters and I lost." Instead, we get page after page of excuses. Most disappointing!
  • Bud
    January 1, 1970
    Haven’t read this yet, obviously. But I’m giving it 5 stars so Trump supports don’t lower the overall rating. I personally, am interested to see what she has to say. I wish she was the current President and The US would probably be in a much better position. Anyways, I’m not going to ramble about my feelings about America’s screw up on here or how much I think she should have won the election.
    more
  • Rama
    January 1, 1970
    What went wrong for Hillary in 2016 presidential run?Hillary blames everyone but herself for her failed 2016 run against Donald Trump. Senator Bernie Sanders is on the top of her blame game. On The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, Senator Sanders gave the best comment on Hillary’s new book. “Secretary Clinton ran against the most unpopular candidate in the history of this country and she lost. She’s upset about it. I understand that.” “But our job is not to go backward. ... I think it’s a little What went wrong for Hillary in 2016 presidential run?Hillary blames everyone but herself for her failed 2016 run against Donald Trump. Senator Bernie Sanders is on the top of her blame game. On The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, Senator Sanders gave the best comment on Hillary’s new book. “Secretary Clinton ran against the most unpopular candidate in the history of this country and she lost. She’s upset about it. I understand that.” “But our job is not to go backward. ... I think it’s a little bit silly to keep talking about 2016.” That is the best review anyone can give on a very bad political analysis. In fact she never blames her close friend, Muslima Huma Abedin. Many moderate voters (“progressives”) were too afraid of Abedin’s influence in the White House, which could have had detrimental effect on issues such as Israel, the Middle East, Muslim policies and promoting sharia laws in this country. It is a fallacy to blame others. The “progressives” were driven out of the party because of her close relationships with Wall Street millionaires, and her email scandals. A recent poll showed that Hillary Clinton may have broken the laws of this country with regards to emails. Just in today, that a Maryland county judge has ordered the state bar to investigate three lawyers accused of deleting thousands of Hillary Clinton's emails.Sanders energized progressive movement in this country and grassroots activism is much stronger than ever been. Young people began to vote for the first time, and became very vocal and highly engaged in the political process. That is something Sanders should be very proud of. He is a true reformer. Hillary Clinton was unpopular, because she was dishonest and opportunistic. Many moderate voters found Donald Trump is more trustworthy, and his messages were well received. The Clinton Foundation, a nonprofit “global philanthropic empire” was nothing but a criminal enterprise, observed one FBI official. FBI Director James Comey’s interventions on the subject of her emails helped her from criminal inquiry and did not hurt her as she claims in this book. People are tired of hearing about Clinton family, especially from Hillary after her embarrassing defeat. In a recent Morning Consult poll, 39 percent of 2,000 respondents said Hillary Clinton should cease all influence on the Democratic Party. That would be the best thing that could ever happen to America.
    more
  • Holly
    January 1, 1970
    9/12/17 Unlike some people - I'm actually going to wait until AFTER I read the book, to give it a rating. Imagine having enough free time to randomly rate a book they haven't (and probably won't) bother to read, simply to try and cancel out someone else's rating.9/14. Finished. Was it a perfect book? No. It went on a bit too long, and it seemed a little rambling at times. But, overall I found it to be insightful and moving.
    more
  • Mimi (a.k.a Ellen)
    January 1, 1970
    I'm not a fan of biography or autobiography,even when I love the subject. But not only do i feel I owe it to Hillary to hear her words but I want to listen to it on audio since she reads it. I think Hillary represents the epitome of what happens to women in a sexist society and feel we need to honor her by hearing her story. I assume reviews will be worthless as there will be the 5 star and 1 star battle royal, apropos to nothing except how people alternately love or hate Hilliary.
    more
  • Kate
    January 1, 1970
    I wasn't sure I could relive the trauma of the election. But too many people are telling her to be quiet. And you know how I feel about telling women to shut up? It just makes me want them to be louder. If the Democratic party is to continue, it would do well to think very thoughtfully about what went wrong in 2016. Luckily, HRC had a front row seat to it, and is probably the best person to tell us.
    more
  • James Winston
    January 1, 1970
    Pre-rating to do my duty in offsetting Russian trolls, GOP, and the youth counter culture of Bernie Bros.
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    I was hiking in the woods with Bogey, my dog, yesterday when I notice a woman with a familiar face walking with her two dogs approaching me on the trail.... then I noticed all the people in black meandering through the woods around her, and it dawned on me...."Hey Hillary! I can't believe it! What are you doing in Ohio? Are you getting a jump on 2020....doing a bit of the old campaigning?" I asked. "I'm NEVER going through that again, I'm done being a candidate.....DONE! I have a book tour stop I was hiking in the woods with Bogey, my dog, yesterday when I notice a woman with a familiar face walking with her two dogs approaching me on the trail.... then I noticed all the people in black meandering through the woods around her, and it dawned on me...."Hey Hillary! I can't believe it! What are you doing in Ohio? Are you getting a jump on 2020....doing a bit of the old campaigning?" I asked. "I'm NEVER going through that again, I'm done being a candidate.....DONE! I have a book tour stop nearby." at which point she pulled out a flask and a couple of glasses. "Want a glass of chardonnay?" She asked me. "Um, yes....of course and I hope there's more where that came from. Hell, Hill I'm putting Chardonnay in my morning smoothie, which consists of Chardonnay, chardonnay, ice with a splash of vodka and a dash of protein powder ever since the Putin Puppet marionetted his way into the white house. " I replied. She pours us both a glass and we sit on a nearby bench. "of course there's more! The secret service not only protects me, they carry some backup as well." she said with a grin. "I'm sorry, but I didn't get your name." "Oh sorry, I'm Stephanie." We shake hands. "It's nice to meet you Stephanie.""I read your book, What Happened, and I read that you like the Chardonnay." I said, "I like chardonnay almost as much as Bill likes balloons!" She said, and we chuckle and chuckle.... then we sit in silence as we stare off into space for a good long while."So....Hill..... What in the hell happened?" I ask and she drops her head down and slowly shakes it back and forth, picks it up and takes a drink. "Well, it was a whole bunch of things Stephanie....you read the book... Russia all out cyber attacked us, Putin hates me and the feeling is mutual; the Republican's are treasonous bastards, Mitch was told of the cyber attack prior to the election and did absolutely nothing....party over country; Comey stabbed me in the back with that ridiculous letter and for sure cost me the election; propaganda from Fox and from Russian bots on facebook really hurt me...... I made mistakes with my campaign and I take full responsibility for them, but that doesn't change the fact that I was also up against all that other stuff and still I won the popular vote by over 3 million votes!""I'll drink to that!" I say and we clink glasses. "You got more votes than any other white man ever to have run for the office...EVER....hick...! ***blurrp*** " So.... fuck the electoral college! What's their purpose anyway if it's not to keep lunatic fascists out out of the white house?" I slur. "I'm pretty sure I heard Alexander Hamilton sing about that fact....hick....ugh... and fuck all the people telling you to shut up and go away. Don't go away."....*sniff*..."I'm not going anywhere." she smiles."Are you okay Stephanie?" she asks as she pours us another glass. "Sure...I'm fine...*burp* but would you be so kind as to drop me off at my house? I think I'm done hiking for the day....Hey, aren't your two dogs Shih-poos? Bogey here is a shih-poo.... hey we both have shih-poos ....aren't they the best dogs ever?!?" She laughs "yes they are, Stephanie." She raises her glass and so do I "To the United States of America!" she says..."To the United States of America.." and we finish our wine.We make our way to the cars and get in...."Nice limo, Hill"....I don't care if you don't like Hillary Clinton and she probably doesn't care either. She wrote this book for those of us who wanted to hear 'what happened' from her perspective, the perspective of the winner. I highly recommend this book, it's fascinating. Even if you don't like her, you'd probably would like her book.That's all I have to say about that... unless there will be trolls to battle. Heh heh.... 3...2...1 and....
    more
  • Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    I was a big supporter of Clinton in the 2016 election and am about 3/4 through the book because SHOCKER I WAITED UNTIL READING IT TO WRITE A REVIEW. Clinton has an absolute right to write whatever she wants. She has been in politics for decades. She has done advocacy work. She arguably had the most relevant experience of any presidential candidate in American history. She was pilloried by the press, targeted by Russia, and won by 3+ million votes. Bernie Sanders lost to her in the primary, publi I was a big supporter of Clinton in the 2016 election and am about 3/4 through the book because SHOCKER I WAITED UNTIL READING IT TO WRITE A REVIEW. Clinton has an absolute right to write whatever she wants. She has been in politics for decades. She has done advocacy work. She arguably had the most relevant experience of any presidential candidate in American history. She was pilloried by the press, targeted by Russia, and won by 3+ million votes. Bernie Sanders lost to her in the primary, published a book, and no one is asking him to go away (okay, I am in this review, but in the general political sphere, I haven't seen any vitriolic, hysterical calls for him to sit down and shut up) I pre-ordered her book along with millions of other people who actually wanted to hear what she had to say. I wasn't disappointed.I don't understand why people think she's not taking responsibility for her loss; she does from the introduction on. But she also explains why Russian interference, the media, Bernie, and Comey had an impact on the election, which they absolutely did; most pundits agree that she might have won if Anthony Weiner could have kept it in his pants and Comey had made as much noise about Trump and Russia as he did about her emails. Aside from the content, I'm finding this to be a very readable book. Her voice is humorous and yes, authentic. Her thoughts about the future of the Democratic Party are relevant. Her experiences dealing with sexism resonated with me and millions of other women who have experienced a modicum of what she's dealt with. I think her contributions are invaluable for anyone who is scared for the future of this country, particularly any women who may be thinking of running for office or taking a more public role in policy-making.
    more
  • Cindy
    January 1, 1970
    Preordered and starred to offset the trolls who gave this one star before the book is released- will revise review in the near future.(This is not a debate, snarky comments will be deleted)
  • The Just-About-Average Ms M
    January 1, 1970
    This is a polarizing book. It is apparently adored by The Pants Suit Brigade, who had and doubtless still have tunnel vision with regard to their failed candidate. It is equally excoriated by The Other Side who doubtless still believe the book should have been written from a prison cell.The lesson here, dear Readers of All Political Persuasions, is that political figures perhaps should not write books. Or be prepared for the slings and arrows flying through the air when they do.I bought the book This is a polarizing book. It is apparently adored by The Pants Suit Brigade, who had and doubtless still have tunnel vision with regard to their failed candidate. It is equally excoriated by The Other Side who doubtless still believe the book should have been written from a prison cell.The lesson here, dear Readers of All Political Persuasions, is that political figures perhaps should not write books. Or be prepared for the slings and arrows flying through the air when they do.I bought the book and read it because I wanted to see what sort of tone the author would set as she explained the myriad reasons for the essential end of her political career. I wanted to see what sorts of reasons—or excuses—were offered up to explain what indeed went south at the end of the campaign. I wanted to read with as impartial a mind as I could muster who and what was to blame for all this Sturm und Drang that’s been blowing around us all since November 7, 2016. I wanted to discern whether any personal blame might make an appearance, even to a small degree.At the end, I came away with feeling a bit as if I’d read the last diary entries of Marie-Antoinette or Tsarina Alexandra, both women who could not seem to fathom the changing political, economic, and cultural tides swirling about them and eventually bring them down. Somewhat more dramatically—and fatally—than losing an election, but still… Do I think the author proved that there were some external forces at work to change the outcome? Yes, I do, but I didn’t think then and I don’t believe now that any of those forces, however sinister they may turn out to be, weighed in as heavily as the fact that deliberate caution, practiced artifice, glib speechifying, and a discernible aura of “It’s my turn now!” were far more to blame.Can I recommend this book? Certainly. It is well-written, fairly concise, easy to get through, and worth a serious look. Will it change your mind? Probably not, but then I’m not sure that was its purpose. But I do believe that post-mortems of the written kind are usually not a good idea. The author is still dwelling on the Reasons Why and Looking for Someone and Something to Blame long after the rest of us have moved briskly along to the next interesting thing in our lives. Treat reading this book, if you decide to do so, as an intellectual foray into the recent political past, rather than as an excuse to gnash one’s teeth over the outcome or cast fistfuls of aspersions on the loser.And just so you know, I didn’t think much of Ivanka’s book, either, that tried to tell me, an elderly working woman, how to manage my working and personal lives.
    more
  • James Love
    January 1, 1970
    The book should be titled Why Am I Less Popular Than Syphilis?: Or the Most Expensive Roll of Toilet Paper that Refuses to Take Crap Off Anybody's @$$. I wonder how long it will be before this is found to be as plagiarized as her devotional book. This is self-serving delusional thinking on par with L. Ron Hubbard's Dianetics. The Church of HRC is once again attempting to re-create Saint Hillary.This is the same woman who as Secretary of State, who's duties include: Serves as the President's prin The book should be titled Why Am I Less Popular Than Syphilis?: Or the Most Expensive Roll of Toilet Paper that Refuses to Take Crap Off Anybody's @$$. I wonder how long it will be before this is found to be as plagiarized as her devotional book. This is self-serving delusional thinking on par with L. Ron Hubbard's Dianetics. The Church of HRC is once again attempting to re-create Saint Hillary.This is the same woman who as Secretary of State, who's duties include: Serves as the President's principal adviser on U.S. foreign policy;Conducts negotiations relating to U.S. foreign affairs;Grants and issues passports to American citizens and exequaturs to foreign consuls in the United States;Advises the President on the appointment of U.S. ambassadors, ministers, consuls, and other diplomatic representatives;Advises the President regarding the acceptance, recall, and dismissal of the representatives of foreign governments;Personally participates in or directs U.S. representatives to international conferences, organizations, and agencies;Negotiates, interprets, and terminates treaties and agreements;Ensures the protection of the U.S. Government to American citizens, property, and interests in foreign countries;Supervises the administration of U.S. immigration laws abroad;Provides information to American citizens regarding the political, economic, social, cultural, and humanitarian conditions in foreign countries;Informs the Congress and American citizens on the conduct of U.S. foreign relations;Promotes beneficial economic intercourse between the United States and other countries;Administers the Department of State;Supervises the Foreign Service of the United States. - https://www.state.gov/secretary/11519...) refused to listen or fight for an American ambassador under her security and protection who was also supposed to be her friend. She ignored his written requests for assistance and the dangerous conditions occurring in Benghazi, Libya. Deleted emails from an illegal computer server hidden in her Martha's Vineyard Summer Home in a back bathroom. While campaigning on a platform of listening and fighting for every American citizen and creating a more transparent government accountability. A campaign that included collusion with members of the media to obtain the debate questions and taking votes from Bernie Sanders and in typical socialist fashion redistributing them to "the less but more deserving candidate (HRC). This is the same candidate that allowed 20% of U. S. Uranium deposits to be given to a Russian mining business with U. S. offices and then accused her opponent of collusion with the Russian government. Her and her husband collected millions for Haitian disaster relief that never got to Haiti.Saint Hillary's friends always end up dead or in prison which begs the question, "With friends like you, who needs an enema?" I highly recommend that this book be read and then read The Clintons' War on Woman and The Bush Crime Family by Roger Stone. A true student reads all sides of the issues before making informed decisions. The scariest part of this book is the sincerity that it's author imparts. This book shows how easily HRC can manipulate the narrative to show insincerity as a form of Uber-sincerity.
    more
  • Jane
    January 1, 1970
    Currently reading thoughts:Really enjoying this; I want to cry and laugh at the same time. I'm also glad she's reading the audio version as well. Reading other people's opinions on why this book exists, I just have to say two things to say.Why is she even doing this? Who f***ing cares?Um, because it's pretty fucking important? I don't understand why this is confusing for people. It was the most contentious election and unprecedented for so many reasons, not least because of the sexism that playe Currently reading thoughts:Really enjoying this; I want to cry and laugh at the same time. I'm also glad she's reading the audio version as well. Reading other people's opinions on why this book exists, I just have to say two things to say.Why is she even doing this? Who f***ing cares?Um, because it's pretty fucking important? I don't understand why this is confusing for people. It was the most contentious election and unprecedented for so many reasons, not least because of the sexism that played a huge role. John Oliver had a fantastic breakdown of election scandals.Samantha Bee goes into detail the history of the criticism of Hillary Clinton.She's only going to blame everyone else, who cares what she has to say?Um, no and a lot of people. And, there were a lot of outside factors that did play a huge role i.e. Russia. Also, she's allowed? I work in a bookstore and there are a frightening amount of books published on understanding Trump, 'fake' science, and a slew of other myths that were increasingly perpetuated throughout the election. If all this garbage is published, then for God's sake, why is Hillary not allowed to write a book about her experience?
    more
  • Ietrio
    January 1, 1970
    It was all a conspiracy. Oh, boy! It is really like in the South Park episodes, although far less organized.
  • Aya
    January 1, 1970
    sample:https://www.facebook.com/jacobinmag/p...
  • Misericordia ❣
    January 1, 1970
    Maybe later I will give it another chance. Not today, though.I'll give it 3 stars, so far. For the effort. Maybe I'll review it later. We'll see.Just a few takeouts of what NOT to do or say if you are running for office:(view spoiler)[ Q: I’m not saying that all Trump voters are racist or xenophobic. (c) Yeah, right. You're just labelling an unknown quantity of them.Q: When I said, “You could put half of Trump’s supporters into what I call the basket of deplorables,” I was talking about well-doc Maybe later I will give it another chance. Not today, though.I'll give it 3 stars, so far. For the effort. Maybe I'll review it later. We'll see.Just a few takeouts of what NOT to do or say if you are running for office:(view spoiler)[ Q: I’m not saying that all Trump voters are racist or xenophobic. (c) Yeah, right. You're just labelling an unknown quantity of them.Q: When I said, “You could put half of Trump’s supporters into what I call the basket of deplorables,” I was talking about well-documented reality. (c) I'd really love to see that documentation of that reality. Just imagine documents stating that someone is 'deplorable' and belongs to a basket. Nice, huh.Q: Generalizing about a broad group of people is almost always unwise. And I regret handing Trump a political gift with my “deplorables” comment. I know that a lot of well-intentioned people were insulted because they misunderstood me to be criticizing all Trump voters. I’m sorry about that. (c) Yeah, offending your voters is generally a losing strategy. Here I concur. Why it would have occurred to a mature politician only after the deed, that's the million dollar question.Q: But too many of Trump’s core supporters do hold views that I find—there’s no other word for it—deplorable. (c) And here we go again. 'I'm sorry but you're deplorable'. Hillary, people have the right to believe in whatever Buddha they prefer, you can't just offend people because you don't like their views. That's democracy for you: people are entitled to have differing opinions you don't share.Q: But whatever Trump was up to was just the latest in a long-term Republican strategy to discourage and disenfranchise Democratic-leaning voters. (c) Yeah, when you have 2 parties they are likely to be opposing each other. Only to be expected, no? Or what, was Mr Trump expected to help Democrats win?Q: The use of private email didn’t start with me. It also didn’t end with me. (c) Nice. So there was no need for Russian hackers. Or any hackers. Any bored kid could hack that... Half the government was using private unprotected mail accounts, according to the author. Freaking fantastic! Q: Unfortunately, most people didn’t read the emails; they just knew what the press and the Republicans said about them, so they figured they must contain some dark, mysterious secrets. (c) No, people did realise those were mostly mundane. What people didn't understand is how the hell can a person that is supposed to work for the highest echelones of government, be that lax about security. There could have been things discussed that are NOT supposed to be stored unprotected at google.com or wherever. And that there seems to be a systemic problem, doesn't mean that is was ok to store state secrets among all the lasagna recipes at random places. Cooking and state business might be best kept separately. Q: I had nothing to hide, and I thought that if the public actually read all of these thousands of messages, many people would see that my use of a personal account was never an attempt to cover up anything nefarious. (c) Whatever. Work emails are invented and implemented for a purpose. And it's not to discover whether you are up to something nasty. It's to protect information from undue disclosure. How can a person not know that after being under investigation, beats me. Posturing, that's what it is.Q: For example, an email from Dennis Ross, one of our country’s most experienced diplomats, was declared classified retroactively. It described back-channel negotiations he’d conducted with Israelis and Palestinians as a private citizen back in 2011. Government officials had already cleared him to publish the same information in a book, which he had done, but now different officials were trying to classify it. “It shows the arbitrariness of what is now being classified,” Dennis observed.Something similar happened to Henry Kissinger around the same time. The State Department released the transcript of a 1974 conversation about Cyprus between then-Secretary of State Kissinger and the director of the CIA, but much of the text was blacked out because it was now considered classified. This puzzled historians because State had published the full, unredacted transcript eight years before in an official history book . . . and on the department’s website!....The second shot was both completely unexpected and inappropriate. Comey said that although my State Department colleagues and I had not violated the law about handling classified information, we—all three hundred of us who had written emails later classified—were nevertheless “extremely careless.” He said the FBI had found that “the security culture of the State Department in general, and with respect to use of unclassified email systems in particular, was generally lacking in the kind of care for classified information found elsewhere in the government.” It was one thing to go after me, but disparaging the entire State Department was totally out-of-bounds and revealed how much age-old institutional rivalries between agencies colored this entire process. (c) From the above fragments it does infer that the 'security culture WAS severely lacking'. Any audit would have pointed that out. Was the guy supposed to LIE about that lack of security culture? Lying by omission would still be lying. Q: The Times, as usual, played an outsized role in shaping the coverage of my emails throughout the election. To me, the paper’s approach felt schizophrenic. It spent nearly two years beating me up about emails, but its glowing endorsement applied some sanity to the controversy. Then, in the homestretch of the race, when it mattered most, the paper went right back to its old ways. (c) Papers, NT included, should be allowed to publish whatever they deem necessary. This fragment to me feels as if NT was unduly influenced by Ms Clinton's supporters to portray a favourable picture of her. I might be mistaken and this might be just a case of her wishful thinking, though.Q: The Times was taken to task by its ombudsman for downplaying the seriousness of Russia’s meddling. (c) What meddling? The proof is still unmentionable. Where is the proof? Who paid who? Who hacked what exactly? What information was accessed and changed to what extent and with what results? What systems have been breached and what was the result of it? The published reports are a discussion on Internet trolls activities, which is not exactly the proof one envisions here. And don't get me started on the trolls, because it looks as if trolls, freaking trolls (!), are subjected to severe dicrimination now. Pro-Hillary trolls, which had quite a trollfest, are ok and not worthy of investigations. And pro-Trump trolls have been investigated for what, a year?... To no results, of course, but hey, it's easier to spend the taxpayers' money on fiction investigations than on Irma (Jose, Maria, whatever etc...) survivors. Another thing that doesn't sit well with me is WHAT THE HELL? 'Russian meddling' has never been proven, not at the time of the publications nor now. This paragraph is a public admission of politicians influencing the mass media... NT, in this case. Basically, that ombudsman demanded that the paper publish unproven views that are likely divorced from reality. Are they sane that they even published that? Q: We’ve learned that members of Trump’s White House staff use encrypted messaging apps that seem to evade federal records laws. (c) If they do that to discuss their personal stuff, they are perfectly entitled to do that. And if they use it for work, once again we go to dismal security structure. Q: And we know now that Trump associates are under federal investigation for far more serious things. (c) Yeah, associates. Not Trump, unlike Hillary at that moment. And it would have been respectful of the readers to state clearly which associates and for what wrongdoings they have been convicted. It would have given substance to this statement, which is just hearsay otherwise. Q: The further we get from the election, the stranger it seems that this controversy could swing a national election with such monumental consequences. I picture future historians scratching their heads, trying to understand what happened. I’m still scratching mine, too. (c) What boggles one's mind is how a person who had an ongoing criminal investigation into their conduct manages to get even allowed to be a candidate for presidency. Security breach is an important thing for a future president. The next thing you know, you'll get nuclear codes mixed with lasagna recipes and whatnot. And then what? You will say that Russian hackers started the nuclear war for the US? Q: A former KGB spy with a taste for over-the-top macho theatrics and baroque violence (a public inquiry in the United Kingdom concluded that he probably approved the killing of one of his enemies in London by poisoning his tea with polonium-210, a rare radioactive isotope)... (c) That's what? You stop passers by, somewhere in London, and ask them whether Putin approved or not of something? That's one hell of an intriguing technique. Why on earth should those people be knowledgeable of his approvals? Was that a special crossing for Russian spies? Maybe those guys doubled as the notorious hackers? Substance, we need more substance! Q: George W. Bush famously said that after looking Putin in the eye, he found him “very straightforward and trustworthy,” and was “able to get a sense of his soul.” My somewhat tongue-in-cheek response was: “He was a KGB agent—by definition, he doesn’t have a soul.” (c) Nice clip. Anatagonising foreign leaders is so very politically mature. You do realise he probably found your show of wit at least as offensive as you his referral to the women being the weaker sex. Russians are Christians and joking about souls or lack thereof is not considered socially acceptable. Q: “I don’t think anybody knows it was Russia that broke into the DNC,” Trump insisted. “I mean, it could be Russia, but it could also be China. It could also be lots of other people. It also could be somebody sitting on their bed that weighs four hundred pounds, okay?” What was he talking about? A four-hundred-pound guy in his basement? Was he thinking of a character out of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo? I wondered who told Trump to say that. (c) Well, yeah. There are clever people out there who do know their way around computers. That they were actually spies does need proof. Q: In 2016 our democracy was assaulted by a foreign adversary determined to mislead our people, enflame our divisions, and throw an election to its preferred candidate. That attack succeeded because our immune system had been slowly eroded over years. Many Americans had lost faith in the institutions that previous generations relied on for objective information, including government, academia, and the press, leaving them vulnerable to a sophisticated misinformation campaign. There are many reasons why this happened, but one is that a small group of right-wing billionaires—people like the Mercer family and Charles and David Koch—recognized long ago that, as Stephen Colbert once joked, “reality has a well-known liberal bias.” More generally, the right spent a lot of time and money building an alternative reality. Think of a partisan petri dish where science is denied, lies masquerade as truth, and paranoia flourishes. Their efforts were amplified in 2016 by a presidential candidate who trafficked in dark conspiracy theories drawn from the pages of supermarket tabloids and the far reaches of the internet; a candidate who deflected any criticism by attacking others with made-up facts and an uncanny gift for humiliating zingers. He helped to further blur news and entertainment, reality TV and reality.As a result, by the time Vladimir Putin came along, our democracy was already far sicker than we realized.Now that the Russians have infected us and seen how weak our defenses are, they’ll keep at it. Maybe other foreign powers will join them. They’ll also continue targeting our friends and allies. Their ultimate goal is to undermine—perhaps even destroy—Western democracy itself. (c) Pure scaremongering. Not a single word of proven info. Why do the US think Russia cares that much about them? Of course no country in the world would care about a fanatic leading the US, but not to that extent. One has to state that there is no democracy in the current US. Overall this book was entirely too revealing of this sad fact. A democratic country where the Democrat leader calls half the voters deplorables? Really? Democracy should be about mutual respect not about name-calling. A democratic country where ombudsmen influence publications in papers? What about the freedom of speech? (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Peter Orvetti
    January 1, 1970
    This is not a review of Hillary Clinton, who I voted for in both 2008 and 2016, and who I think would have been a good president. Nor is it a review of Clinton's 2016 campaign, which was professional and focused but also top-heavy and overconfident. This is a review of Clinton's book about that campaign, and the book is not good.I will preface my assessment by stating that all of the arguments about why Clinton lost are correct, simply because her loss was so narrow -- fewer than 78,000 votes in This is not a review of Hillary Clinton, who I voted for in both 2008 and 2016, and who I think would have been a good president. Nor is it a review of Clinton's 2016 campaign, which was professional and focused but also top-heavy and overconfident. This is a review of Clinton's book about that campaign, and the book is not good.I will preface my assessment by stating that all of the arguments about why Clinton lost are correct, simply because her loss was so narrow -- fewer than 78,000 votes in three states led to her defeat. The James Comey letter, Russian interference, the prevalence of fake news (in its actual original meaning), sexism, purism among Sanders supporters -- any one of these could have been enough to sway 0.06% of the 136.7 million people who voted, or led some of the 45% of eligible voters who did not turn out to abstain. It's possible that 78,000 would-be voters had bad colds on November 8, or that the weather was bad or that their cars were in the shop. It was just that close.Stating that external factors hurt Clinton does not absolve the candidate and her campaign of blame, and Clinton does not do so. She is frank about her own failings as a candidate, and blunt about the fact that a lot of people just don't like her (or did not want four more years of Clintons in the White House). While Clinton does lay out an almost lawyerly case for why she lost, she does not spare herself the blame.But too much of "What Happened" is not about... what happened. Clinton spends the bulk of the book writing about her life and early career, and about her family. Her sincere praise of both her mother and daughter is touching, but we've heard these from her before. She also spends a lot of time on policy -- again, very sincerely, but in much the same words as during the campaign. She lays out a reasonable center-left agenda, but it's verbose and familiar.All that is really new here is in a section titled "Frustration", which makes up about one-fifth of the text. This is where Clinton discusses the fall campaign, Election Night, and the immediate aftermath, and we get some new insights. But even this is scant -- Clinton spends surprisingly little time on her Election Night feelings. This may be understandable, given the blow, but I was left wanting her to go deeper.There are two other threads in "What Happened" that merit highlighting. First, Clinton makes a case for the reasonable, rational politics of compromise that has gone out of style in a time of emotional appeals. It may not make her exciting, but it's a perspective that should be heard. Second, Clinton's Methodist faith is prominent throughout. Clinton's critics have sometimes claimed that her Christianity is just a political guise; this is said of many politicians, but Clinton seems to get it more than most (perhaps because her politics is liberal and secular). It is very clear here that her faith is real, and that it has guided her career.
    more
  • Evan
    January 1, 1970
    Let the whining and lack of self-reflection continue...Jimmy Dore demolishes this book on his Youtube channel, give it a look-see:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uj7je...Dore, btw, is a real progressive, the kind that Hillary continues to shit on. By refusing to let it go, she's proving just as thin-skinned as Trump.
    more
  • Ilya
    January 1, 1970
    What Happened: "I was a shit candidate who ran a poor campaign and failed to connect with my voters. The end."
  • Anthony
    January 1, 1970
    For all the "autobots" and "trolls" leaving one star reviews. Hillary will run in 2020 and be president. Trump is such a disgrace its disgusting, and our country is in dire need of a serious, and I mean serious, detox protocol. There isn't enough charcoal to adsorb the trash out there.
    more
Write a review