Too Lucky to Live
Lonely and broke, Cleveland divorce-survivor Allie Harper believes all her problems would be solved if she could find a nice, smart, hot guy and enough money to get her car fixed. The hot guy arrives first: he's in a crosswalk clutching a bag of groceries while a blonde in a Hummer is learning hard on her horn, sending the man's groceries and white cane flying. How has this woman missed that fact that the man is blind? From the curb, an outraged Allie jumps to his rescue, rebagging the groceries as well. The money is in the bag. Literally- Thomas Bennington III, for that's who the handsome guy proves to be, has bought a MondoMegaJackpot ticket along with canned tomatoes. Allie takes him home and turns his groceries into dinner for two. Later that night, Tom hears the numbers announced. He's won. And he's less than thrilled. PhD Tom had gambled on the odds of losing (175 million to one) to prove a point to Rune, a kid from the projects he's befriended, that only losers buy lottery tickets. Instead, Rune, who'd helped pick the Mondo numbers, will share Tom's jackpot. Allie and Tom grasp two things: one, they're hot for each other, and two, the ticket is a hot target, and now so are they. Every scheming weasel in Cleveland will be after Tom's millions. $550 of them. Yes, once the Mondo ball drops, it's game on with killers and kidnappers as players. Allie and Tom need to get smarter about the threats all around them. On the run from one fancy hotel refuge to another and from one danger moment to the next, with only Allie s feisty landlady, Margo, and a couple of Cleveland cops for back-up, Allie and Tom evolve a strategy. First, turn in the ticket and claim the jackpot. Second, set up accounts to manage the millions. Third, stay alive to the end of the week...if they can. Too Lucky to Live debuts a talented writer in Annie Hogsett and a couple in Allie and Tom, a modern Nick and Nora Charles, who can power a compelling, amusing series with an excellent future.

Too Lucky to Live Details

TitleToo Lucky to Live
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherPoisoned Pen Press
ISBN1464207895
ISBN-139781464207891
Rating
GenreMystery, Crime, Fiction

Too Lucky to Live Review

  • Barbara Hackel
    May 7, 2017
    Waiting for the bus and looking up when the honking began, Allie Harper sees a blind man frozen in the crosswalk with groceries spilled all around him. Allie rushes out to calm and rescue him along with as much of the groceries as possible. Leading him to the bus shelter to sit in safety, Allie asks him (after considering his groceries) if he was planning on making chili. In a moment of calculated risk, she asks this handsome, good smelling blind man to join her at her house to co-mingle ingredi Waiting for the bus and looking up when the honking began, Allie Harper sees a blind man frozen in the crosswalk with groceries spilled all around him. Allie rushes out to calm and rescue him along with as much of the groceries as possible. Leading him to the bus shelter to sit in safety, Allie asks him (after considering his groceries) if he was planning on making chili. In a moment of calculated risk, she asks this handsome, good smelling blind man to join her at her house to co-mingle ingredients and make chili together. After a formal introduction (Tom not Thomas), he says yes. And one of the sweetest romances begins.But like all good things, there is a problem, and Tom has a huge one. In a calculated gamble to teach a young boy in the projects a lesson about why he shouldn't gamble and play the lottery, they put together a series of numbers and Tom buys a ticket which is also in that sack with the chili ingredients. It turns out he is the single winner of the MongoMillions sweepstake of over 500 million dollars. What a problem, you think. HA!With destruction and death and even kidnapping at every opportunity, Allie and Tom try to figure out how to handle the ticket and the money as they fall deeper in love. The news of the winning ticket spreads like a wildfire among the undesirables at the housing project where Tom's young friend lives. No one is safe from the ticket searchers, including a neighbor that loaned Allie a car!I confess I stayed up half the night because I could not bear to put down this exciting book. The author has woven a spider like thread between the people who have been murdered or tried to take advantage of Tom and Allie's situation. I appreciated the insight on how a blind person handles stress like this and what he could and could not accomplish on his own. The fact that Tom is blind is obviously of huge importance, however in reality, he often manages better than the sighted people! The author has done a phenomenal job of creating realistic characters, intertwining facts and fiction, and writing a book that will appeal to many readers. Be ready for some shocking twists and turns just when you were sure you had it figured out. I sincerely hope this is the beginning of a series or at bare minimum there is a sequel. A fantastic book-especially as a debut author!
    more
  • Hajar
    February 19, 2017
    “He loved books. I loved books. He loved poetry. I loved poetry. I liked to write. He liked to read.”This book starts off with the promise of a good romantic story but it quickly turns into a suspenseful ride that will keep you on your toes.When Alice Jane Harper encounters the charming Thomas Bennington III, she is completely and utterly oblivious to what she’s setting herself up against. After winning the Jackpot; a ticket which Thomas bought in the hope of proving a point to a little kid name “He loved books. I loved books. He loved poetry. I loved poetry. I liked to write. He liked to read.”This book starts off with the promise of a good romantic story but it quickly turns into a suspenseful ride that will keep you on your toes.When Alice Jane Harper encounters the charming Thomas Bennington III, she is completely and utterly oblivious to what she’s setting herself up against. After winning the Jackpot; a ticket which Thomas bought in the hope of proving a point to a little kid named Rune. The 10-years-old-boy who genuinely believes he could win the jackpot by carefully picking up the good numbers even though the odds of winning are around one-hundred-seventy-five million to one! With that much money in hand, danger is now lurking in the horizon and before they know it, Allie and Thomas found themselves running for their lives. Will they get out of this life-threatening-chase alive?I quite enjoyed the turbulent ride along with the gripping mixture of suspense and mystery. The characters’ development is definitely praiseworthy and now I’m genuinely looking forward to the T&A Agency with one of those logos “We don’t just solve mysteries & fight crimes, we also help people find things and if you have a question, we’ll have the answer”. In a nutshell, this book needs a sequel!I would recommend this mystery to everyone seeking to embark on a thrilling race, not only against time but against all odds.I would like to thank NetGalley, Poisoned Pen Press, and Annie Hogsett for sending me an ARC Copy of this amazing book!This review could also be found on my blog.
    more
  • James Jackson
    March 17, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoyed this romantic suspense set in Cleveland, Ohio. Alice (who wants a new life and to be called Allie) Harper meets Thomas Bennington III (Tom, please, who thinks he has his life buttoned up just as he wants it) after a Hummer nearly runs Tom over while he is crossing an intersection. He’s the one who’s blind and using a white cane to tap his way across the street, but the driver’s blinded by her hurry to get to her job. Allie rescues most of Tom’s groceries and escorts him to s I thoroughly enjoyed this romantic suspense set in Cleveland, Ohio. Alice (who wants a new life and to be called Allie) Harper meets Thomas Bennington III (Tom, please, who thinks he has his life buttoned up just as he wants it) after a Hummer nearly runs Tom over while he is crossing an intersection. He’s the one who’s blind and using a white cane to tap his way across the street, but the driver’s blinded by her hurry to get to her job. Allie rescues most of Tom’s groceries and escorts him to safety. A flattened can of tomatoes provides Allie an excuse to invite Tom to make a shared dinner at her place.Allie isn’t normally that impulsive—or so she claims. Tom won a lottery worth $550 million before lump sum discount and taxes. He had only entered it to prove to his 7 1/4 -year-old friend, Rune, that gambling was a bad idea.Lots of people think Tom and his money should be separated, which puts, Tom, Allie, Rune, and the family they would like to build in jeopardy. Like many amateur sleuths, Allie soon goes places and does things that few others would consider after even a modicum of deliberation. As the story progresses, she learns her actions have deadly consequences.The story has enough twists and turns that even if you guess some, you won’t get them all. The characters and settings are well drawn and strong enough to support a series.With permission of Poisoned Pen Press, I received an electronic version of the advanced copy through NetGalley.
    more
  • Ines
    May 20, 2017
    After a divorce that left her with nothing, Allie is living in a small house and riding the bus to save money to fix her car. While waiting for a bus, she helps a blind man that is startled in the middle of the road. Allie is so taken by Tom's looks that invites him to her home so she can cook the few groceries he has left. During that dinner, Allie and Tom find out he bought a winning ticket worth of 500 million dollars. Unfortunately, a lot of people are also aware of the fact.I enjoyed this b After a divorce that left her with nothing, Allie is living in a small house and riding the bus to save money to fix her car. While waiting for a bus, she helps a blind man that is startled in the middle of the road. Allie is so taken by Tom's looks that invites him to her home so she can cook the few groceries he has left. During that dinner, Allie and Tom find out he bought a winning ticket worth of 500 million dollars. Unfortunately, a lot of people are also aware of the fact.I enjoyed this book for two reasons, the first is that the romance is solved in 10 pages (or less) and so the story is mostly focused on hiding from killers, finding bodies and counting friends and foes. The second is that Allie and Tom do not take anyone for granted and suspect everyone they meet, which makes them slightly smarter than most characters in this type of story. Unfortunately, the baddie is not that hard to guess, but I enjoyed the way the text is written and learnt a couple of new words.Small remark: I did not find this book as close to Stephanie Plum's (by Janet Evanovich) as the reviews said. It is not laugh out loud, nor laugh softly, it is a crime fiction novel that entertains in a non-nonsense way that is nothing like Stephanie's.
    more
  • Bonnie Irwin
    May 16, 2017
    The marketing for this book likens it to the work of Janet Evanovich. Not quite, but an entertaining read. Hogsett provides a good mix of humor and intrigue, and the characters are endearing. I'm curious as to how she will continue to develop the relationship between the two detectives now that they are formally going into business. I'll read the next one when it comes out!
    more
  • Linda Smatzny
    May 27, 2017
    This book is the story of Thomas Bennington III and Allie Harper. Mr. Bennington has just purchased a lottery ticket and is crossing the street when he is struck by a car and rescued by Allie. From there the story is all about staying alive for Tom & Allie. Tom has the winning ticket and people start dying because everybody wants the money. Oh yeah, Tom is blind. The book was a quick easy read.
    more
  • Sandy
    May 27, 2017
    Awesome. Quirky. Sweet. Funny. Simply delightful. Allie and Tom have stolen my heart. A definite must read. Can't wait for the next installment.
  • Emily B
    February 21, 2017
    Had to give up on this one halfway through. It seemed confused about what type of book it wants to be - the mystery element was muddled, and the romance seemed unrealistic. Cute premise though.
  • Bernie
    February 11, 2017
    Too Lucky to Live is an amusing and cute cozy mystery written by author Annie Hogsett. I can see this story becoming the beginning of a great series. Thanks to NetGalley and Poisoned Pen Press for the advance copy.
  • Thomas Kies
    April 18, 2017
    I had the extreme luck of reading this before the official launch date. The zigs and zags and plot twists will leave you breathless. I loved the characters, Allie and Tom, who became immediately likable, right from the first chapter. I'm looking forward to seeing more from these two!!
    more
  • Laura
    April 10, 2017
    I don't know what I was expecting but not this! Too Lucky to Live was BRILLIANT! I just loved the concept, from love at first 'sight'/ smell of soap to dark ransom plots and bodies at every turn. The concept of winning that sort of sum and people NOT being jealous seemed totally plausible. Littered with characters that I would love to be my friends an utterly fabulous read! LOVED it!I must add I was granted an ARC on NetGalley BUT the opinions here are MINE!!!
    more
  • Lesa
    May 2, 2017
    Annie Hogsett's debut mystery is one of the most entertaining I've read this year. When Allie Harper, the narrator says, "I have always felt that with some training, I'd make an excellent P.I. A cross between V.I. Warshawski and Kinsey Millhone, with a dash of Stephanie Plum, Bounty Hunter, thrown in for insouciance", she hits the nail on the head. When she teams up with blind college professor Thomas Bennington III, in Too Lucky to Live, they're a match made in heaven.Or, in this case, their ow Annie Hogsett's debut mystery is one of the most entertaining I've read this year. When Allie Harper, the narrator says, "I have always felt that with some training, I'd make an excellent P.I. A cross between V.I. Warshawski and Kinsey Millhone, with a dash of Stephanie Plum, Bounty Hunter, thrown in for insouciance", she hits the nail on the head. When she teams up with blind college professor Thomas Bennington III, in Too Lucky to Live, they're a match made in heaven.Or, in this case, their own version of hell. Allie meets Tom when she's waiting at a bus stop in Cleveland, and a Hummer driver beeps at the blind man in the crosswalk. He's startled, drops his groceries, and Allie runs out to block traffic and help him gather up cans. Then, she takes the handsome guy home, fixes dinner, and is just starting to really enjoy his company, when he hears a TV broadcast the winning lottery numbers. Most people would be ecstatic to learn they won over $500 million. But, Tom had bought one ticket to prove to a young boy that gambling doesn't pay. And, then he realizes, Rune, the boy who lives in the projects, is in jeopardy. He knows Rune will announce to everyone that he picked the numbers for the winning ticket.It's only the beginning of a nightmare for Allie and Tom. They quickly get to know each other as they hunt for a missing boy, hide in hotels to escape from thieves, killers, an ex-husband and former girlfriend, and try to protect each other. People all around them end up dead. Danger can have its sexy side though, as the couple learn. They also have to learn to trust each other, while Allie has to learn that a blind man can be adept at fending off trouble.Too Lucky to Live is a treat. The debut introduces Allie's refreshing voice, and a sexy, hot couple. It's a delightful caper, and the beginning of a promising series.
    more
Write a review