Beyond
“Dangerous. Wrong. She could be so close to finding out who I really am, and I don’t want to think about how badly that could damage her. If I have any conscience,I’ll turn and run. But I can’t let her go.” Presley Hale has no idea the guy she just told off in the school parking lot died in a drowning accident four months ago. Why would she? It’s not like she knows she can see the dead. Stunned by Presley’s sixth sense, Landon Blackwood rethinks his planned departure and begins tracking her to find answers to their mysterious connection.When their complicated relationship turns dangerous, they learn that tampering with the boundaries of death comes with consequences. Can Landon save Presley from the insidious spirits who have marked her for death, or was their love doomed from the beginning?

Beyond Details

TitleBeyond
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherCedar Fort, Inc.
ISBN1462120261
ISBN-139781462120260
Number of pages262 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Romance, Paranormal

Beyond Review

  • Lisa
    March 24, 2017
    Every so often you come across a book that hooks you from page one and doesn't let you go. Beyond is that kind of book. It's clean steam with a paranormal twist that will keep you turning pages far past bedtime.The authors have written characters that are real and relatable, and I truly enjoyed getting to “know” them. The descriptions of everything from the scenery to the curliness of a character’s hair are beautiful and vivid. I could see the different settings in my mind (I may want to move to Every so often you come across a book that hooks you from page one and doesn't let you go. Beyond is that kind of book. It's clean steam with a paranormal twist that will keep you turning pages far past bedtime.The authors have written characters that are real and relatable, and I truly enjoyed getting to “know” them. The descriptions of everything from the scenery to the curliness of a character’s hair are beautiful and vivid. I could see the different settings in my mind (I may want to move to Truckee now), and I had no problem imagining what the characters look like. There were passages in the book that were so beautifully written that I had to stop and read them again because I wanted to savor them. The romance is breathtaking, too. The connection between Landon and Presley is electric, and I was absolutely engrossed. The story was exciting and intense, and I couldn’t wait to see how things would play out. And that ending – swoon!I definitely look forward to reading more from these authors in the future! They have undeniable talent. Do yourself a favor and purchase a copy of Beyond. You won't regret it.I received an advanced reader copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kara
    May 8, 2017
    4.5What a whirlwind! I love getting sucked into a book so much that I can't put it down all day! ;) These ladies have such a way with words! The characters and setting came alive through their descriptions and details. I am not typically drawn to paranormal stories, but I was drawn into this one right away by the unique concept and captivating connection between Presley and Landon. I loved the many references to making choices and the importance of progression through those choices. I loved Chas 4.5What a whirlwind! I love getting sucked into a book so much that I can't put it down all day! ;) These ladies have such a way with words! The characters and setting came alive through their descriptions and details. I am not typically drawn to paranormal stories, but I was drawn into this one right away by the unique concept and captivating connection between Presley and Landon. I loved the many references to making choices and the importance of progression through those choices. I loved Chase and the sweet relationship between him and Presley. The protective instinct she had for him as well as the welcoming and inclusion from her new friends for him really touched my heart. I also felt for the pain and struggle she endured in her family dynamic and the heavy burden she carried a lot. She missed out on so much and had to mature quickly which I think prepared her for Landon and allowed them to connect as deeply as they did. All that being said, I felt there was such a build up to the conflict and then it came and went so abruptly. And the conclusion was what I hoped for, but it felt almost too perfect and came on so fast that I was left with questions. I needed and wanted more! :) I think this book will be well-loved by many and will resonate particularly with the YA crowd. It's refreshing to find books like this that are clean but don't skimp on the chemistry or quality of writing. I look forward to more from these authors!
    more
  • Katharina Boyce
    June 29, 2017
    What a quick, engrossing read! I love novels that I can just get sucked into, and this is definitely one of them. I liked the premise of the book and the many different themes it explores--life, death, love, difficult choices we must make, complicated family relationships, and more. I enjoyed reading from different characters' points of views and felt that that allowed me to know the characters on a deeper level. However, I felt like Landon's and Presley's relationship was a little rushed not as What a quick, engrossing read! I love novels that I can just get sucked into, and this is definitely one of them. I liked the premise of the book and the many different themes it explores--life, death, love, difficult choices we must make, complicated family relationships, and more. I enjoyed reading from different characters' points of views and felt that that allowed me to know the characters on a deeper level. However, I felt like Landon's and Presley's relationship was a little rushed not as intimate and genuine as Presley's relationship with Reese; so I didn't find myself particularly rooting for Presley/Landon and instead felt a deeper connection with the Presley/Reese relationship. However, I was left with many questions at the end and might be able to change my mind ;) Looking forward to the sequel!
    more
  • Julina Bell
    June 27, 2017
    Beyond was a great read! I'm not sure if knowing one of the authors made me biased, but the characters were clever and funny and believable! (which they sometimes really aren't.) I heard Angela's voice saying the character's lines multiple times and it just made me laugh because it's exactly how she would say it. It read like a fairly classic clean teen romance, but the chapters are written from 3 or 4 of the main character's perspectives, which I liked a lot because you get to know them on a mo Beyond was a great read! I'm not sure if knowing one of the authors made me biased, but the characters were clever and funny and believable! (which they sometimes really aren't.) I heard Angela's voice saying the character's lines multiple times and it just made me laugh because it's exactly how she would say it. It read like a fairly classic clean teen romance, but the chapters are written from 3 or 4 of the main character's perspectives, which I liked a lot because you get to know them on a more honest and intimate level. I felt it made them more dimensional than the traditional single-perspective plot that you typically get. The characters are complex and varied- like real people tend to be. They make mistakes and have "foot-in-mouth" moments which make them relatable, but they're also brave and tender, which endear them to you. I thoroughly enjoyed the writing style of these first time authors and look forward to the sequels.
    more
  • Ashley
    June 20, 2017
    Congrats Angie! Such a fun read!
  • Mindy
    May 10, 2017
    I absolutely loved this story! Such a good, clean read- I hated to put it down and deal with real life. Can't wait to see what these ladies have up their sleeve next!!
  • Emmy
    June 26, 2017
    This is a quick, page-turning read. I finished it in one day and really didn't want to put it down. A tragic accident took Landon's life too soon. Not ready to move on, he stays behind seeing his family and friends, when he discovers that someone can see him. This look into the life-after and what may come next is a fun and intriguing read. The characters are likable and sympathetic and there were twists that I didn't expect to happen.This book has one of those endings that you can't decide if y This is a quick, page-turning read. I finished it in one day and really didn't want to put it down. A tragic accident took Landon's life too soon. Not ready to move on, he stays behind seeing his family and friends, when he discovers that someone can see him. This look into the life-after and what may come next is a fun and intriguing read. The characters are likable and sympathetic and there were twists that I didn't expect to happen.This book has one of those endings that you can't decide if you love or hate, making it one of those books that you keep thinking about. It is also what I classify as a clean book- free of graphic imagery and language.I definitely recommend this for the perfect summer read. *I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Brendi
    May 22, 2017
    I started this book while waiting for my family to get into town. Late nights + vigilums = creepy vibes and unknown noises and being creeped out but in a good way. I couldn't put the book down and finally did 33 chapters in. I devoured the rest of the book this morning and I'm desperately hoping there is more to Landon and Presley's story. This book will leave me wanting for more for a very long time.
    more
  • Michelle
    June 23, 2017
    I really liked this book. It was descriptive enough to build the settings, the characters where real, faced challenges, real life situations amongst the surreal. It was strong enough to keep my attention yet clean enough that my daughter and read it-it's so difficult to find something we would both enjoy!!Great job!!
    more
  • Kimber
    May 18, 2017
    I really enjoyed reading this book! I stayed up way too late to finish it. Although it had the predictability of a romance in parts (as it should), I liked the intriguing twists that made you wonder if your predictions were right. I'm not sure how I feel about how/where the book ended but that could change depending on if there is a sequel in the future. There were a couple points I felt the story jumped in time when I wanted a smoother transition. Overall a wonderfully written clean romance you I really enjoyed reading this book! I stayed up way too late to finish it. Although it had the predictability of a romance in parts (as it should), I liked the intriguing twists that made you wonder if your predictions were right. I'm not sure how I feel about how/where the book ended but that could change depending on if there is a sequel in the future. There were a couple points I felt the story jumped in time when I wanted a smoother transition. Overall a wonderfully written clean romance you can fall in love with and read over again. Can't wait to see what comes next from these beautiful authors.
    more
  • Carrie Scott
    June 28, 2017
    I absolutely feel in love with the characters! I haven't decided who I want Presley to be with the most. It was a real page turner. I plan to read it again. If you are looking for a great #cleansteam book this is the one for you!! Love it and it's going to be so hard waiting for the sequel!!
    more
  • Peggy
    March 28, 2017
    There’s so much to love about this book! With a paranormal aspect filled with its own fascinating mythology, a main character in a refreshingly a non-standard role, an ending I couldn’t guess, well chosen, vivid settings that made the story come alive, all packed with mystery and new love and heartbreakingly tough choices, this is a story that will hook you from the start.
    more
  • Connie
    May 17, 2017
    Wonderful book! It was hard to put down! If I didn't have a newborn I would have been able to finish it sooner! Loved the characters and I did not want the book to end!
  • Apryl
    May 9, 2017
    Really great YA read. Love the characters. Love the romance. Love. Need the sequel!
  • Jennifer
    May 15, 2017
    Wow! Well done! It was funny, tragic, romantic & full of twists and turns. Brought me up, then down and back up again in the best possible ways. Thank you for sharing this wonderful story. Hoping this will be a series. Crossing my fingers!!!
  • Kacey Nielsen
    January 30, 2017
    I loved this book. great characters, great romance, mystery, so much good stuff. highly recommend!
  • Cathy
    July 5, 2017
    This book is kind of a wild ride! I loved every minute of it. I love the plot line that is really nothing like I've seen before. I love the way it will appeal to young adult readers and adult readers alike. It really is so great!Presley is such a great character. I loved the way you could see her strength throughout the whole book. She is a senior in high school, due to her mom's job, she's had to move at the beginning of the year. And things aren't going well for her. She has become the target This book is kind of a wild ride! I loved every minute of it. I love the plot line that is really nothing like I've seen before. I love the way it will appeal to young adult readers and adult readers alike. It really is so great!Presley is such a great character. I loved the way you could see her strength throughout the whole book. She is a senior in high school, due to her mom's job, she's had to move at the beginning of the year. And things aren't going well for her. She has become the target of a bully, or maybe several, that wasn't quite clear to her in the story so it wasn't clear to the reader. Presley has always had to care for her autistic brother, I love the way she does it with love for him, throughout the whole story.Something really interesting about Presley, that she doesn't even realize, is that she can see dead people. That's how she and Landon meet. Landon was killed in a tragic accident that his family, and really the whole community, are having a hard time getting over.It was fun to see the story through Landon's point of view as well. He is a great character. I loved the care he had for his family, his twin, his friends and community as well as Presley.I enjoyed the plot, especially the ending. But it did leave me wondering just how Presley's family felt after everything happened. I don't want to give anything away, so I'll stop at that. This is such a great book! I loved every minute I spent reading it!
    more
  • Danny
    May 30, 2017
    I am a new reader in this genre. A few of my friends recommended the book. I could not put the book down once I started and I found myself thinking about the book and the characters throughout my day. The writing is so crisp and descriptive which made me feel like I knew the characters inside and out. The character development was very strong and the story progresses in a very entertaining way. I will look for other books from these authors or will start reading more in this genre.
    more
  • Rachel
    May 15, 2017
    I finished this book yesterday and can't stop thinking about the characters. I really felt for Presley and the decisions she had to make, on top of her troublesome family situation. I loved her relationship with Violet and was very conflicted about the choices she had to make in relation to that. I won't put any spoilers up but I definitely did NOT see the ending coming. I am really hoping a sequel is in the works because I need to know what is next for these characters.
    more
  • Abby Thorne
    June 27, 2017
    I received a digital copy of Beyond from Cedar Fort Publishing in exchange for my honest review.I’m really conflicted about my review of this book because there were several sections that were incredible and there were many other parts that really weren’t. I disliked the first half of the book, but the second half of the book improved significantly and showed some really gems.To read more of my review, check out my blog, the Writing Worm.
    more
  • Linda Gomes
    June 30, 2017
    All I can say is Wow!It took me 2 nights to read this book only because regular life took up my days. I wasn't sure at first that I would like this book. After the first few pages I was hooked and couldn't put it down. The characters developed in such a way that you just want to learn more about them. I'm hoping they is more to Landons's and Presley's story. It can't just end at their beginning.
    more
  • Anna Mackay
    June 20, 2017
    I liked this book because it was very sweet, and the story shows that if you deeply want something you can accomplish it even if the whole world seems to be against you. I loved how Presley was so determined to stay with Landon and never gave up.
  • Heather Smith
    June 28, 2017
    This was a book that i just couldn't put down. I read it in about four days. I enjoyed the love story between Presley and Landon but also found myself wanting Reese and Presley to be together! I can't wait to read the sequel and see how this story continues!
    more
  • Rachmac
    May 20, 2017
    I loved it. And it left me wanting more! Just the way these 2 created their characters was beautiful and you can really relate to them. It really gives you a better appreciation for the people you have an are privileged to know. Overall it was a very heart warming novel.
    more
  • Susan Jeide
    May 27, 2017
    Loved this book!! I was so captivated by the characters it left me wanting more. I hope there is a sequel. This also opened my eyes to families with autistic children. My heart was pulled in so many ways. Loved this!!
  • Angie Lee
    June 15, 2017
    This was a great quick read with like able characters an interesting twist and an interesting premise. This is a YA novel and captures the emotional turmoil that teenagers go through without smut or manufactured drama.
  • Kim
    May 11, 2017
    Pleasure reading at it's finest! I loved it! It sucked me in and kept me there til the last page! The characters we're relatable and the world seemed real! I'll be sharing this with my daughters, sisters and friends! :)
  • Tcecchinifrontier.Com
    May 24, 2017
    I loved this book. I loved the characters and I want more!!!! I hope there is a sequel as I miss them already and want to see where life and "beyond" takes them. This is a great story, not just for young adults but for everyone.
  • Jessi
    June 16, 2017
    Such a fun fast read!
  • Kim Person
    June 18, 2017
    LOVED it!!! I couldn't read it fast enough ~ It was definitely a read I had no idea how it was going to end!
Write a review