King of Clubs (Aces & Eights #2)
In the second novel in acclaimed author Sandra Owens’s Aces & Eights series, passions—and tempers—flare as one star-crossed couple gets a second chance at love.Covert FBI agent Court Gentry loves his brothers, his job, and his Harley-Davidson. Once he loved a girl, too, but when she broke his heart, he put his emotions on lockdown…until she crosses his path again.On vacation six years ago, free-spirited Lauren Montgomery fell hard for Court Gentry. She returned home happier than ever, only to descend into a spiral of abuse by her ex-husband, Stephan. When Stephan threatened to kill any man who touched her, Lauren cut Court from her life—but not from her heart.When Lauren and Court reunite after her friend marries his brother, Court guards himself against the person who made him feel such intense passion and pain. Except the undeniable spark between them is impossible to contain and heating up fast. Six years ago, it was love. Now, it’s just lust. Keeping it merely physical is a foolproof plan…right?When Stephan is released from prison, Lauren can’t outrun her past anymore, and Court vows to protect her. But with Lauren in imminent danger, Court must question his heart and risk his life to save the woman he never stopped loving.

King of Clubs (Aces & Eights #2) Details

TitleKing of Clubs (Aces & Eights #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherMontlake Romance
Number of pages302 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Romantic Suspense, Contemporary, Fiction, Suspense

King of Clubs (Aces & Eights #2) Review

  • Doni
    May 12, 2017
    A MUST READ!!!Wow!!! Sandra Owens has done it again!!King of Clubs is Book 2 in the Aces & Eights series. It is just as sexy, romantic & suspenseful as Book 1!! This story is about the gorgeous middle brother Court Gentry & Lauren Montgomery.Court & Lauren met 6 years ago. They were madly in love, till Lauren ended their relationship unexpectedly. Now 6 years later, Court is asked to watch over his now sister-in-law's best friend.What a shock for both of them to see each other af A MUST READ!!!Wow!!! Sandra Owens has done it again!!King of Clubs is Book 2 in the Aces & Eights series. It is just as sexy, romantic & suspenseful as Book 1!! This story is about the gorgeous middle brother Court Gentry & Lauren Montgomery.Court & Lauren met 6 years ago. They were madly in love, till Lauren ended their relationship unexpectedly. Now 6 years later, Court is asked to watch over his now sister-in-law's best friend.What a shock for both of them to see each other after all this time. Court is still hurt & upset how things ended.Court had not known that Lauren had been married before. Her ex-husband was a very mean & abusive Russian hockey player.Even though they are divorced, her ex-husband feels Lauren still belongs to him!After disappearing 6 years ago, his family has found her again. Court wants to help Lauren, but she fears for his life. Her ex-husband & family are crazy psychos.What she doesn't know is that the 3 Gentry brothers are sexy, badass, undercover FBI agents.If she can just trust that he wants to help her.I loved every page of this book!! Stayed up all night reading.I HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR EVERYONE TO READ!!
    more
  • Maria11
    June 22, 2017
    Much better then the first one.Lots of action and suspense. Court is definitely James Bond. Lots of gadgets and planning. The plot was interesting and kept you reading. The brothers are close and their interaction is great. Nate has tons of issues and he is the brother I want to know the most about. Lauren was ok, she got on my nerves, now she is a survivor and she did rise above and take hold of her life. I didn't like how she strung Court along.The one thing I did not like is if they are under Much better then the first one.Lots of action and suspense. Court is definitely James Bond. Lots of gadgets and planning. The plot was interesting and kept you reading. The brothers are close and their interaction is great. Nate has tons of issues and he is the brother I want to know the most about. Lauren was ok, she got on my nerves, now she is a survivor and she did rise above and take hold of her life. I didn't like how she strung Court along.The one thing I did not like is if they are undercover FBI agents they sure tell a lot of people. How does it stay a secret? The most unrealistic part of the story.I will read the next for sure.Received an ARC from the publisher through NetGalley.
    more
  • Jill Eshenbaugh
    May 14, 2017
    Well Ms Owens has done it again with yet another romantic novel with enough twists and turns to keep the reader glued to the book or electronic reader. Court is an undercover FBI agent thrown together with a woman he never forgot. How he ends up making sure no harm comes to her makes for an engrossing and entertaining read. We all remember Alex, his brother, from the first book of the series and least we forget him he and his wife are there in a big way. Next up will be Nate and quite frankly I' Well Ms Owens has done it again with yet another romantic novel with enough twists and turns to keep the reader glued to the book or electronic reader. Court is an undercover FBI agent thrown together with a woman he never forgot. How he ends up making sure no harm comes to her makes for an engrossing and entertaining read. We all remember Alex, his brother, from the first book of the series and least we forget him he and his wife are there in a big way. Next up will be Nate and quite frankly I'm wishing his book would be published sooner rather than later. The story lines of this series are great and well worth the read.
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    June 21, 2017
    Fantastic book! This is the second in the series but it's completely standalone. This is Court's story and it's one you don't want to miss!Six years ago on spring break, Court Gentry was certain he had met THE one. Lauren Montgomery was everything to Court. Yet Lauren walked away from him with just a phone call and no look back. Now fate has brought her back into his life and he plans on finding out what exactly happened all those years ago. Lauren can't believe Court is standing right in front Fantastic book! This is the second in the series but it's completely standalone. This is Court's story and it's one you don't want to miss!Six years ago on spring break, Court Gentry was certain he had met THE one. Lauren Montgomery was everything to Court. Yet Lauren walked away from him with just a phone call and no look back. Now fate has brought her back into his life and he plans on finding out what exactly happened all those years ago. Lauren can't believe Court is standing right in front of her. Walking away from his was the hardest thing she's ever done but it was for his safety. She knows he's looking for answers but she can't give him any. He's not that young kid anymore though and she may not know it but working for the FBI puts a lot of info at his fingertips!I highly recommend this to everyone.
    more
  • CK
    May 22, 2017
    Another stellar read! Action packed, full of suspense and intense passion and romance- court and Lauren will keep you guessing for more! It's hard to not love Sandra's books. Her characters are authentic, flawed and her stories always end with a happily ever after!
    more
  • Avid Reader
    June 23, 2017
    King of Clubs (Aces & Eights #2) by Sandra Owens4.5 starsM/F RomanceTriggers: Domestic Abuse, Kidnapping, Attempted MurderI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Lauren Montgomery is free and living life how she wants. Despite having an ex-husband who is more than evil, she has pushed past it and moved on in her life. Her one regret is that she was unable to love Court Gentry, the love of her life whom she met during her spring break trip, just after her divorce.Court is a King of Clubs (Aces & Eights #2) by Sandra Owens4.5 starsM/F RomanceTriggers: Domestic Abuse, Kidnapping, Attempted MurderI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Lauren Montgomery is free and living life how she wants. Despite having an ex-husband who is more than evil, she has pushed past it and moved on in her life. Her one regret is that she was unable to love Court Gentry, the love of her life whom she met during her spring break trip, just after her divorce.Court is a cowboy, FBI agent and all around smooth talker. He does dirty talk well, fights bad guys and can't get Lauren out of his head. When Lauren and Court find each other again, they need to figure out whether or not they can handle each other's pasts. Court needs to make sure that Lauren's protective streak when it comes to her friends and family is OK with him and Lauren needs to learn to trust Court and his brothers.When the worst happens and Lauren's ex-husband is released from prison, it will take all of Court and his brothers' tools to fight and keep Lauren alive. I loved how fast paced this story was and the chemistry between Lauren and Court was off the charts. I can't wait to see what happens next!
    more
  • Allyn Goodwin
    June 14, 2017
    What a great book, I was pulled into the book with just the prologue. There are quite a few stories to tell in the King of Clubs any of which could be their own book. Court and Lauren have it rough, but wow the book just keeps giving. No slow spots just constant bad boy charm. Can't wait to read Nate's story next. I'm sure it will be filled with just as much excitement from the Gentry brothers..... and ummmm sister?? Bring it on, Sandra Owens is a great writer and cannot wait to see what's in st What a great book, I was pulled into the book with just the prologue. There are quite a few stories to tell in the King of Clubs any of which could be their own book. Court and Lauren have it rough, but wow the book just keeps giving. No slow spots just constant bad boy charm. Can't wait to read Nate's story next. I'm sure it will be filled with just as much excitement from the Gentry brothers..... and ummmm sister?? Bring it on, Sandra Owens is a great writer and cannot wait to see what's in store.
    more
  • Aresha
    May 23, 2017
    ***Received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for a fair and honest review***This book is book 2 in Sandra Owens's Aces and Eights series. After reading this book and posting this review I am definitely going to look for the previous book and if possible pre-order the next release. It was just that awesome. This book was a book based on trust and love and learning to accept the people you love for who they are.Lauren and Court met on spring break just days after Lauren's divorce from her abu ***Received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for a fair and honest review***This book is book 2 in Sandra Owens's Aces and Eights series. After reading this book and posting this review I am definitely going to look for the previous book and if possible pre-order the next release. It was just that awesome. This book was a book based on trust and love and learning to accept the people you love for who they are.Lauren and Court met on spring break just days after Lauren's divorce from her abusive husband. They fell in love and made promises to each other not knowing what would happen to their blooming relationship. After Lauren realises the danger Court will be placed in by being with her, Lauren decided to break things off unexpectedly.Years later fate brought them back together but with the dangers still present Lauren and Court will need to trust each other in order to make it out alive. With Court being an FBI agent, Lauren needs to figure out how to trust Court's ability to protect her.I loved reading this book and was hooked from the beginning. It has the perfect balance of love, humour and action and is just awesome to read. This book also left some questions that can only be answered by reading the next book in this series which I am definitely going to do.
    more
  • Laura
    June 28, 2017
    ***ARC Provided via NetGalley and Tasty Book Tours***I liked the idea of the first book in this series better than I did the execution, so when I saw this one, I was interested. And, that interest paid off in this book.Court and Lauren were together a number of years ago, and they had a relationship that was ended by the threat of another person. As you do when you have something taken from you against your own choice, you don't let it go as easily as you do when it is by choice.When they see on ***ARC Provided via NetGalley and Tasty Book Tours***I liked the idea of the first book in this series better than I did the execution, so when I saw this one, I was interested. And, that interest paid off in this book.Court and Lauren were together a number of years ago, and they had a relationship that was ended by the threat of another person. As you do when you have something taken from you against your own choice, you don't let it go as easily as you do when it is by choice.When they see one another again, there is an instant recognition, and Court wants to see where they are again, Lauren is less interested. Some time passes from this first re-introduction, and they are in the same place, with Court interested in moving forward together and Lauren reluctant to pursue any relationship. Court has no idea why. The reader knows the secret of Lauren's abusive ex.I liked the idea that they both had secrets that they had to let one another in on in order to move forward.I liked Court and Lauren and I liked their relationship with one another. There was an appeal to the idea that they were still drawn to one another, and to the idea that the threat of her ex stopped her from being with him, and that the threat of what could happen to him at work could also keep them apart.The characters were likable, and I thought the plot was pretty good, although I thought too much time was spent with the stuff with the ex and that could have been used to develop their relationship.I recommend this book.
    more
  • Nalla Reads
    June 18, 2017
    Originally posted on NallaReadsThe Gentry brothers....3 sexy as sin motorcycle bar owners who are also secretly undercover FBI Agents. After the drama of Alex and Madison, Court and Lauren are thrown together in the midst of the action. It turns out that years before they had a whirlwind romance that was a story for the ages.When Lauren is finally free from her abusive ex-husband she decides that her one chance at happiness is NOW. Meeting Court and spending a week in paradise with him is a drea Originally posted on NallaReadsThe Gentry brothers....3 sexy as sin motorcycle bar owners who are also secretly undercover FBI Agents. After the drama of Alex and Madison, Court and Lauren are thrown together in the midst of the action. It turns out that years before they had a whirlwind romance that was a story for the ages.When Lauren is finally free from her abusive ex-husband she decides that her one chance at happiness is NOW. Meeting Court and spending a week in paradise with him is a dream come true. Until reality crashes in like a nightmare and Stephan, her ex-husband, finds her and tries to exact his revenge. With him now in jail, she has to keep Court alive by never seeing him again and ensuring that Stephan never knows the week they spent together. But when her best friend marries his brother....the rabbit hole begins to open up beneath her and threatens to swallow her whole.It's not so easy to fight the future she desires when her past is coming back to haunt her...and him. Lauren has the inner need to do it all herself and protect those she loves. Opening her heart to Court again could break her spirit but she has no idea of what he's capable. He would protect her with his everything!!Court could never understand why the one woman he wanted forever with disappeared without so much as a goodbye. When his soon to be sister in law's life is threatened, he's sent in to keep her roommate and best friend safe. Lo and behold fate has stuck him with the one that got away. Court knows she has secrets, and he knows that he can suss them out. But how to do so while trying to win her heart all over again?Court and Lauren have the inexplicable fiery romance I've missed. There's years of love lost between them and secrets that if they would just ell one another they could figure it all out. Throw in the possible escape of her Russian (possibly mafia!) ex-husband and his creepy stalker brother....oh they are NO match for the Gentry brothers. The action was spot on and never exactly what I expected. Can't wait for the final Gentry brother!!
    more
  • P.e. lolo
    June 28, 2017
    Court Gentry was in love six years ago to a women by the name of Lauren Montgomery. They had one week together and when she returned from her vacation her ex-husband who would not let her go beat her almost to death. The police arrived and saved her and her ex is in prison for six years. Now thinking that she will never see Court again she is shocked to see him when he shows up at her book store and finds out that he is her partners’ brother in law. Running scared because of her ex’s brother sho Court Gentry was in love six years ago to a women by the name of Lauren Montgomery. They had one week together and when she returned from her vacation her ex-husband who would not let her go beat her almost to death. The police arrived and saved her and her ex is in prison for six years. Now thinking that she will never see Court again she is shocked to see him when he shows up at her book store and finds out that he is her partners’ brother in law. Running scared because of her ex’s brother showed up and has told her he will be coming for her she tells Court it’s been great seeing you. In the middle of the night she is thinking that she is sneaking away from him and before she gets on a bus for New Orleans he tells her to get in his car. What she does not know yet is that Court and his two brothers are FBI agents and our operating an under bar for the sting operations. Now they have focused their attention on her case since her ex has ties to the Russian Mafia and is wanting to kidnap her and take her to Russia. Along the way Court and Lauren must work out the past to see if they still want to have a future, and does she even want to be with an FBI agent. There is a lot going in this book but the author makes it all work and overall it is a good story. The outlining characters help make this story work especially her sister, father, and then his brothers, and of course Morgan. I got this book from Netgalley.com I gave it 4 stars. Follow us at www.1rad-readerreviews.com
    more
  • Betsy Newmark
    June 3, 2017
    This book combines a heart-breaking second-chance romance with a suspense romance pairing an alpha hero having to protect a heroine who has had the very worst luck in her choice of a previous guy.The book starts out with Lauren Montgomery celebrating her divorce from a Russian hockey player who has brutalized her and put her in the hospital and him in jail over his jealousy. She had just met Court Gentry and they’d both fallen instantaneously in love. And I mean, just one look sort of love. The This book combines a heart-breaking second-chance romance with a suspense romance pairing an alpha hero having to protect a heroine who has had the very worst luck in her choice of a previous guy.The book starts out with Lauren Montgomery celebrating her divorce from a Russian hockey player who has brutalized her and put her in the hospital and him in jail over his jealousy. She had just met Court Gentry and they’d both fallen instantaneously in love. And I mean, just one look sort of love. The ex, Stephan, is incredibly jealous and possessive and threatens to kill any guy she gets involved with. So she broke it off with Court. It’s now six years later and they encounter each other because, coincidence of all coincidences, her best friend is married to Court’s younger brother and they’re all in South Florida together.Court and his two brothers are actually undercover FBI agents running a biker bar, Aces and Eights, set up to catch all the bad guys who hang out at the bar and don’t glom onto the fact that the brothers are the ones turning them in.He’s amazed and angry to find the woman who tore his heart out after their one-week romance, but switches into alpha-protection mode when he realizes she’s under threat from her evil ex-husband who is set to get out of jail and who is tied into the Russian mafia.So that’s a whole lot of disbelief to swallow. I never buy insta-love and this book is quite clear that Court and Lauren took one look and fell for each other and into bed. But I’ll go with it, because, hey, it’s a romance novel. And I’ll buy that they meet up six years later with this connection between her best friend and his younger brother without either realizing the connection. I found the whole undercover biker bar by night, FBI agent also by night thing a bit hard to swallow. We’re privy to one operation in which Court is the lead guy in bringing down one group of bad guys. He’s pretend arrested and taken away in a car to fool the bad guys. But then he’s back at the bar a few days later. Wouldn’t that be a bit suspicious? I just don’t buy this permanent undercover set-up, along with the super “James Bond” set of gadgets and protection that they have in their ocean-front apartments. Besides being a hot, talented FBI agent, Court also has mad hacking skills and can break into all the bad guys’ emails. And there is another hot female FBI agent, obviously geared toward being the third brother’s love interest in a future novel, who just happens to know Russian so she can translate the emails.So, as I said, there is a whole lot of suspension of belief I had to get through for this book. And I still loved it. Maybe I’m just a sucker for the courageous damsel in distress saved by a hot alpha guy plot, but this was a great version of that genre. Lauren has had bad luck, but she’s still gutsy and willing to sacrifice her happiness to protect Court. Of course, that drives him crazy because he thinks he should be the one protecting her. He doesn’t seem to get that, when the first threat was made against him, he was just a college student and she didn’t have a way of knowing that he’d grow up to be a savvy FBI agent. Which he apparently did in just six years, but go with it.If you don’t mind the totally unlikely plot, this was a very enjoyable book and I couldn’t put it down. I was given a free ARC of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review, but I would have been happy to have paid for it and I’ll be looking out for future books in this series.
    more
  • Heather
    May 27, 2017
    The Technical Stuff: This is book 2 of the Aces & Eights series, but it can definitely stand alone. That said, you should definitely read the first book because it is awesome and it has a little bit of Court/Lauren foreshadowing which adds to this book. This book has both cursing (including f-bombs) and on-screen sex. If those things bother you, this might not be the book for you. There are also a few moments that might be triggering if you're particularly sensitive to domestic violence. The The Technical Stuff: This is book 2 of the Aces & Eights series, but it can definitely stand alone. That said, you should definitely read the first book because it is awesome and it has a little bit of Court/Lauren foreshadowing which adds to this book. This book has both cursing (including f-bombs) and on-screen sex. If those things bother you, this might not be the book for you. There are also a few moments that might be triggering if you're particularly sensitive to domestic violence. They are not graphic or described in horrifying detail, and they are very quick moments in a book full of wonderful things, but they are there nonetheless. The cover of this book, much like the previous cover in this series, is absolutely gorgeous. This is the kind of cover that would have drawn my attention and made me one-click this book, even if I hadn't already wanted to read this story.I loved this book from start to finish. It always impresses me that Ms. Owens can write a book with such serious subject matter and can infuse it with the right amount of humor and heart that it not only isn't horribly depressing, but it's actually really funny and heartwarming. Not a lot of writers have that level of talent, but Sandra Owens definitely does and it shines in this series. The heart of these books is of course, the relationships between the Gentry boys and the women they love, but the relationship between the brothers is seriously special and even if these books didn't have a happily ever after love story, I would read them just to read about the friendship that the Gentry brothers have. I love the way that they make each other laugh and keep each other in line, but also the way that even though they're big strong alpha men, they so unashamedly love and would unquestionably die for one another. Court was everything I had hope that he would be as a book “hero” and he might have even replaced Alex as my favorite Gentry brother (don't tell Alex). Court was protective but so sweet, sensitive but passionate, and he didn't act condescendingly to Lauren or treat her like she was weak or a hysterical woman who couldn't take care of herself. Even when she *was* kind of a hysterical woman who was running on movie/TV-inspired instinct and made some big mistakes, he empowered her and helped her figure out how to protect herself in the future rather than making her feel stupid or dependent on him. I appreciated that more than I can say. Also, his inner thoughts about his mother and his brothers slayed me as I read them. Holy cow, I loved those moments spent in his head, and how he reconciled what happened with his parents while reaffirming how amazing the Gentry boys all are. Lauren was fabulous – she was funny and strong, and she would do anything to protect the people she loved. Yes, at the beginning she had her moments where even I wondered if she had a clue what she was doing, but she learned from her mistakes, and she wasn't a weak, helpless victim and I LOVED that. *SPOILERS to end of this paragraph* “Pretending to be Court was kind of amazing.” I freaking adored when Lauren rescued herself from the botched kidnapping attempt. SHE was amazing and it made me want to high five her so hard.Unrelated to anything but worth mentioning: Madison's secret name for Nate is perfect and I laughed so hard when I read it. It was beautiful. While this book deals with some very serious issues, it manages to remain fun, sweet, hot, and wonderful. Domestic violence isn't something to be bandied about as a plot device, but I think Ms. Owens has handled it beautifully here. She portrays Lauren as a survivor and not a victim, and I very much appreciated that.If you enjoy a second chance romance story with some intrigue and action, or just enjoy a love story between to characters who never thought they'd find love again together, you should definitely read this book. I absolutely cannot wait for the next book in this series.
    more
  • Nicole Laverdure
    June 18, 2017
    Action packed suspense with a romantic touch! I'm a new fan of Sandra Owens! Aces & Eights series is all about three brothers, Court, Nate and Alex Gentry. Because I hadn't read her first book, Jack of Hearts, Alex and Madison's story, I felt that King of Clubs, her 2nd story, could easily be read as a standalone. I was not disappointed! It's a suspense with lots of twists and turns!Working as undercover FBI agents in the biker bar they co-own, they hang with deadly criminals in order to gat Action packed suspense with a romantic touch! I'm a new fan of Sandra Owens! Aces & Eights series is all about three brothers, Court, Nate and Alex Gentry. Because I hadn't read her first book, Jack of Hearts, Alex and Madison's story, I felt that King of Clubs, her 2nd story, could easily be read as a standalone. I was not disappointed! It's a suspense with lots of twists and turns!Working as undercover FBI agents in the biker bar they co-own, they hang with deadly criminals in order to gather information. Danger is always part of their daily lives and falling in love is a matter without risks. Covert FBI agent Court Gentry loves his brothers, his job, and his Harley-Davidson. However, six years ago, Lauren, the woman he dearly loved, had broken his heart! What he didn't know at the time, is that she suffered physical and emotional abuse from her ex-husband Stephan, now in prison. Her ex is really a sick and tormented man, so when she learns that he got out of prison, she gets terribly scared of him. That's when Court comes back into her life! When Lauren and Court reunite after 6 long years, sparks still flare all over! Such intense passion between these two! Is it merely physical? Is it really love again? Can Court and his brothers, protect Lauren from this mad man who still harass her? Danger is lurking very close to Lauren! Her past still haunts her! Will Court do everything to protect her, even risks his life? Is Lauren safe with Court, Nate and Alex around! Is love possible when your man is an FBI agent?*Disclaimer: This book was provided by NetGalley and the publisher without any requirement for a review, positive or otherwise. All opinions are 100% my own.*
    more
  • Vee Stojcevski
    June 24, 2017
    A thrilling read! "Court Gentry. A cool name for an awesome guy" love this line because it somes up Court in a nutshell. I love Sandra's writing! This novel is suspenseful and full of highly charged emotion. Court and Lauren were badly hurt in the past and had some roller coaster emotions to deal with throughout the story. Their chemistry was sizzling hot and love for each other constant, but was it enough? I really was on the edge of my seat every step of the way. I could not wait to see how t A thrilling read! "Court Gentry. A cool name for an awesome guy" love this line because it somes up Court in a nutshell. I love Sandra's writing! This novel is suspenseful and full of highly charged emotion. Court and Lauren were badly hurt in the past and had some roller coaster emotions to deal with throughout the story. Their chemistry was sizzling hot and love for each other constant, but was it enough? I really was on the edge of my seat every step of the way. I could not wait to see how the badass Gentry bros would use their amazing skills to out play the intimidating bad guys. And how Court and Lauren would handle their future. "He needed to knock that shit off" I just love it when Sandra throws in a surprising line that just makes me roll with laughter. This is defintely an entertaining and highly recommended stand alone story, but I do love knowing about the whole family, so if you haven't read Jack of Hearts, do yourself a favour and read that one too! I look forward to the next chapter in the lives of the Gentry bros ❤️♣️♠️♦️
    more
  • Sparkymom
    June 24, 2017
    I love Sandra Owens, especially her K2 series. I do have to admit though that I really didn't like the first book in this series. It just didn't even read like the same author. Fortunately, I didn't have the same experience with this book. I truly enjoyed it and grew to really love all three of the Gentry brothers. The story of Lauren and Court began years ago. They met and fell in love almost instantly, though now time and dire circumstances separate them. Lauren is afraid to trust, and Court i I love Sandra Owens, especially her K2 series. I do have to admit though that I really didn't like the first book in this series. It just didn't even read like the same author. Fortunately, I didn't have the same experience with this book. I truly enjoyed it and grew to really love all three of the Gentry brothers. The story of Lauren and Court began years ago. They met and fell in love almost instantly, though now time and dire circumstances separate them. Lauren is afraid to trust, and Court is afraid to love. On top of this, the danger that stalked Lauren years ago is back forcing her to consider running again. Court wants her back, but he will never let his heart be hurt again as badly as it hurt when Lauren left the first time. If he can just keep Lauren from running by solving her problem, he'll do anything to make sure this time he gets to keep her. This was a great story and had lots of suspense to go along with some real chemistry. I really enjoyed it and am ready for Nate's story. I received an ARC from Net Galley for honest review.
    more
  • Angela
    June 24, 2017
    My first foray reading Ms. Owens’ books and I very much enjoyed the story. There is a lot of emotional baggage going on – yeah, gotta love the angst. I thought the way the characters were written was very realistic especially their interactions and reactions to each other. Brothers always sniping at each other but always with love. Fantastic. A small issue with the heroine, I do not think I have ever read about a person who cried or teared up so much. Buck up, girl! Some emotion is okay, but not My first foray reading Ms. Owens’ books and I very much enjoyed the story. There is a lot of emotional baggage going on – yeah, gotta love the angst. I thought the way the characters were written was very realistic especially their interactions and reactions to each other. Brothers always sniping at each other but always with love. Fantastic. A small issue with the heroine, I do not think I have ever read about a person who cried or teared up so much. Buck up, girl! Some emotion is okay, but not every other sentence. Definitely will read this author again. In fact, looking forward to Nate’s story. I received a complimentary copy from the publisher through NetGalley.
    more
  • Yvonne
    June 13, 2017
    Wow, Ms Owens does it again and gives us another winner. This time in the form of book two of her series ACES & EIGHTS. Stories about three brothers, all FBI agents who own a biker bar for their undercover work. This one is about the middle brother, Court.Court and Lauren met 6 years ago at the beach white on Spring break , with promises to keep in touch with the hopes of a future for them.But life intervene. Shortly after her return, Lauren is beaten up and in order to protect Court, then a Wow, Ms Owens does it again and gives us another winner. This time in the form of book two of her series ACES & EIGHTS. Stories about three brothers, all FBI agents who own a biker bar for their undercover work. This one is about the middle brother, Court.Court and Lauren met 6 years ago at the beach white on Spring break , with promises to keep in touch with the hopes of a future for them.But life intervene. Shortly after her return, Lauren is beaten up and in order to protect Court, then a college senior, she tells him she doesn’t want to see him again. Fast forward 6 years and once again life intervenes. But this time, is their unexpected reunion. Both have been hurt and a second chance might not be in their future.Without giving anything else away, I do want to say that it’s a book filled with intrigue, bad guys and hunky good guys , Russian Mafia and romance. But it’s more than that. It’s a story of domestic abuse and survival, about how abuse affects not only the body but also the psyche of the abused. About taking charge of your life and being cautious but also understanding that if you love someone, you need to let them be themselves and love them for who they are no matter their profession. It’s also a book about the strong relationship the three brothers have and how they overcame their upbringing.My only complain, though minor, is that at times I found Lauren not “getting” Court and I just wanted to give her a good shake. :)Can’t wait for the next book in this series. The Epilogue gave us a glimpse, but I also want to know what will happen with Nate, the older brother that’s still single.Definitely another winner for this talented author.I was gifted this copy by Netgalley. The opinions expressed are solely my own.
    more
  • Julie
    June 21, 2017
    Court and Lauren have a past be it only brief, they met on the summer break and their attraction had been instant and hot, they fell in love. But Lauren has another past she'd rather forget which comes back to haunt her and she has to say goodbye to Court...and she barely comes out of her hell alive.Court is a FBI Agent and years later Lauren again finds herself in danger and needs his help. Now Court's heart is in danger, it's been broken once already six years ago, can he protect himself from Court and Lauren have a past be it only brief, they met on the summer break and their attraction had been instant and hot, they fell in love. But Lauren has another past she'd rather forget which comes back to haunt her and she has to say goodbye to Court...and she barely comes out of her hell alive.Court is a FBI Agent and years later Lauren again finds herself in danger and needs his help. Now Court's heart is in danger, it's been broken once already six years ago, can he protect himself from the only woman he's loved?An exciting story that had interesting characters and a well developed storyline, the action, drama and suspense in the story had just the right tension that kept it fast paced and exciting.A very enjoyable story, I look forward to the next book in the series.
    more
  • Niken Widyastuti
    June 21, 2017
    This… This could be my most favourite book of Sandra Owens’. It’s so good, I hardly could put it down.A second chance love story, combined with full on suspense and hot scenes, nothing could go wrong with that and Ms. Owens gave it more boost. It was intense, fast-paced, heartbreakingly beautiful, and HOT! Well, just as some romance-suspense books, some settings felt a bit far-fetching. But then again, this is a fiction. It has more leeway to be a bit unbelievable. Overall, I enjoyed this book i This… This could be my most favourite book of Sandra Owens’. It’s so good, I hardly could put it down.A second chance love story, combined with full on suspense and hot scenes, nothing could go wrong with that and Ms. Owens gave it more boost. It was intense, fast-paced, heartbreakingly beautiful, and HOT! Well, just as some romance-suspense books, some settings felt a bit far-fetching. But then again, this is a fiction. It has more leeway to be a bit unbelievable. Overall, I enjoyed this book immensely, and those far-fetching plots could be overlooked.I was provided a complementary copy by the author / publisher, but this in no way influenced my thoughts or opinions.
    more
  • Vikki Vaught
    May 19, 2017
    Review to follow.
  • Mags
    June 17, 2017
    4.5☆King of Clubs grabbed me from the very start and kept me hooked throughout. As it was extremely enjoyable to read, had plenty of suspense and the action towards the end was great too. Especially the final take down which I thought was very original.It was also full of romance and I loved the story between Court and Lauren. Who are both extremely likable characters. That had plenty of chemistry and shared a few hot moments. And overall I thought this story had a great blend of romance and sus 4.5☆King of Clubs grabbed me from the very start and kept me hooked throughout. As it was extremely enjoyable to read, had plenty of suspense and the action towards the end was great too. Especially the final take down which I thought was very original.It was also full of romance and I loved the story between Court and Lauren. Who are both extremely likable characters. That had plenty of chemistry and shared a few hot moments. And overall I thought this story had a great blend of romance and suspense. It also left me wanting more. So I will definitely be checking out Nates story when its released. As for King of Clubs I would happily recommend it to others. Especially if you love a good second chance romance, that has a suspense element to it. And you certainly don't need to have read Jack of Hearts to enjoy this.**I was kindly provided with an ARC by the Publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**
    more
  • Jackie Bailey
    June 13, 2017
    You won't be able to put Kings of Clubs down. The plot twists and turns will keep you guessing throughout the book. Sandra Owens' second book in her Aces & Eights series focuses on middle brother, Court Gentry. Court and his brothers, Nate and Alex, are undercover FBI agents who are fierce, cunning, loyal, and gorgeous. While on spring break six years ago, Court fell in love with Lauren Montgomery. The day Lauren returned home, her ex-husband viciously beat her for not telling him her boyfr You won't be able to put Kings of Clubs down. The plot twists and turns will keep you guessing throughout the book. Sandra Owens' second book in her Aces & Eights series focuses on middle brother, Court Gentry. Court and his brothers, Nate and Alex, are undercover FBI agents who are fierce, cunning, loyal, and gorgeous. While on spring break six years ago, Court fell in love with Lauren Montgomery. The day Lauren returned home, her ex-husband viciously beat her for not telling him her boyfriend's name.Then, she broke up with Court to save his life. Six years later, Court is asked to look after his brother's wife's friend not knowing he would be face to face with the woman who broke his heart with no explanation. With Lauren's ex-husband getting out of prison soon, the clock is ticking to protect Lauren's life while Court is trying to protect his heart. King of Clubs is well-written, intense, suspenseful, and has plenty of sexual spark. I'm already waiting for Nate's book to be released! You'll love King of Clubs.
    more
  • Tracey
    June 15, 2017
    Court and his brothers have a great relationship both personally and professionally. That's why even though "babysitting" is the last thing he wants to do, he finds himself at the apartment of his brother's girlfriend waiting on her roommate to come home. Once she arrives, it's the last person he expected to see. Court and Lauren had met and fell in love six years before. She broke things off to keep him safe from her ex. But now the ex is threatening Court again. Can Court convince her to trust Court and his brothers have a great relationship both personally and professionally. That's why even though "babysitting" is the last thing he wants to do, he finds himself at the apartment of his brother's girlfriend waiting on her roommate to come home. Once she arrives, it's the last person he expected to see. Court and Lauren had met and fell in love six years before. She broke things off to keep him safe from her ex. But now the ex is threatening Court again. Can Court convince her to trust him to take of them both and prevent the ex from ever bothering her again?I received an advanced reader's copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • LEAH ANN
    June 18, 2017
    A very captivating storyWow...I loved this book. Loved the characters, Court and Lauren. Their chemistry is undeniable. The story contains plenty of action as well as intense emotions throughout the story, which I love. This is book 2 in the series with each book being a stand alone book. No cliffhangers. I hope anyone who reads this book enjoys it as much as I did.
    more
  • Robin Hall
    June 16, 2017
    ***Received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for a fair and honest review***Once again I have found another of Sandra Owen's books that I love. I couldn't put it down. Lauren and Court's struggles where real issues that could happen to anyone. They worked through those struggles to find a caring and honest love that would last forever. I love how Sandra Owen's adds suspense to her books, it keeps me on my toes. You don't know what is going to happen next. Thanks again for the awesome read. ***Received an advanced reader's copy in exchange for a fair and honest review***Once again I have found another of Sandra Owen's books that I love. I couldn't put it down. Lauren and Court's struggles where real issues that could happen to anyone. They worked through those struggles to find a caring and honest love that would last forever. I love how Sandra Owen's adds suspense to her books, it keeps me on my toes. You don't know what is going to happen next. Thanks again for the awesome read. Can't wait for the next book.
    more
  • Diana Davidson
    June 13, 2017
    Holy Hotness! Court Gentry is just so dang yummy! I absolutely love the chemistry he has with Lauren. They are just so well paired. This has just the right amount of suspense blended in to keep the story moving and giving more depth to the characters. I am just so thrilled with this new series. Hot FBI agent brothers disguised as bad-A bikers? Yes please! I am so looking forward to Nate's story.
    more
  • Cheryl
    June 11, 2017
    4.5 Book 2 in the Aces and Eights picked up even more steam progressing past Madison and Alex. This plot with Court & GG was fast pace. I like that GG was a strong determine women. The prologue happens so many times to so many people. Romance, suspense, some "james bond" spy stuff made this book close to perfection. The icing, was the snippets of Nate and the lost sister. So past ready for book 3. I received my copy from Netgalley and am thrilled I did.
    more
  • Adriana
    May 31, 2017
    The second installment of the Aces & Eights series, brings the Gentry brothers back into the midst of past love, Russian mafia entanglements, abusive exes and second chances. Six years ago, Lauren Montgomery finally had the courage to divorce her abusive husband. Reclaiming her life, led her to six days of pure passion in the arms of Court Gentry. She fell in love hard and fast. But returning home brought her bourgeoning new life to a halt, when Stephan nearly killed her and threatened to ki The second installment of the Aces & Eights series, brings the Gentry brothers back into the midst of past love, Russian mafia entanglements, abusive exes and second chances. Six years ago, Lauren Montgomery finally had the courage to divorce her abusive husband. Reclaiming her life, led her to six days of pure passion in the arms of Court Gentry. She fell in love hard and fast. But returning home brought her bourgeoning new life to a halt, when Stephan nearly killed her and threatened to kill any man that came close to her. So she protected her love and cut Court out of her life, only to meet him again when she needed him most. Covert FBI agent Court Gentry never expected to reencounter the woman who crushed his heart six years ago. Yet, turns out she is his new sister-in-law's business partner and best friend. Keeping her safe becomes his priority when the Gentry's and her past comes knocking at her door. Spending time together brings to the surface all the passion and attraction that had turned their lives upside down long ago. Too bad it also brings up hurt and resentment. Court has abandonment issues. Lauren has fear. She wants to run. He wants to keep her. As danger closes in on them, so do their resurfacing love. Second chances are rare, but as secrets are aired, these two crossed lovers finally have a chance at happiness, if only they can let go of the past. A thrilling, sexy and full of surprises romance… The twists keep on coming till the very last page. So, there might be a Queen of Diamonds at the Aces & Eights after all…
    more
  • Peta Benjamin
    June 8, 2017
    The second book in the Aces & Eights series is about the middle brother Court. He and Lauren met on Summer Break and the attraction was instant. But Lauren has a past and it came back to haunt her just as she was giving her heart to Court.Court, as an FBI Agent will protect Lauren with his life but he must also protect his heart which was broken six years ago, from the only woman he has ever loved.Great story, fast paced and very easy to read. I look forward to the third book in the series, The second book in the Aces & Eights series is about the middle brother Court. He and Lauren met on Summer Break and the attraction was instant. But Lauren has a past and it came back to haunt her just as she was giving her heart to Court.Court, as an FBI Agent will protect Lauren with his life but he must also protect his heart which was broken six years ago, from the only woman he has ever loved.Great story, fast paced and very easy to read. I look forward to the third book in the series, Nate's story.Thanks to Netgalley for the opportunity to read and review this book.
    more
Write a review