Curse Words, Vol. 1
A wizard has appeared in present-day New York! His name is Wizord, and he's here to save us all from dark magical forces bent on our destruction. He's the best wizard of all time! Or... he's not, and he's lying to everyone, and secretly is the dark magical force, but wants to hang out in our world for a while because it's so much nicer than the hellhole he comes from. Secrets, and spells, and talking koalas - CURSE WORDS is a gonzo dark fantasy from CHARLES SOULE (Daredevil, Letter 44, Star Wars) and RYAN BROWNE (God Hates Astronauts). Collects Issues 1-5.

Curse Words, Vol. 1 Details

TitleCurse Words, Vol. 1
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherImage Comics
ISBN1534302212
ISBN-139781534302211
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Graphic Novels Comics, Fantasy

Curse Words, Vol. 1 Review

  • Mad Tom
    June 16, 2017
    No cures. No wars. No love.Curse Words is an indie-comics meets Doctor Strange and Shazam crossover in the modern world. It follows the wizard, Wizord, who has a koala sidekick named Margaret. And various villains and an arch nemesis named Sizzajee. While Soule tries to build a world and characters, the story can't get beyond its own premise of "comedic wizard in America story." It's a silly magical romp. But the characters are just sort of there. Wizord is happy go lucky. Ruby Stitch is angry. No cures. No wars. No love.Curse Words is an indie-comics meets Doctor Strange and Shazam crossover in the modern world. It follows the wizard, Wizord, who has a koala sidekick named Margaret. And various villains and an arch nemesis named Sizzajee. While Soule tries to build a world and characters, the story can't get beyond its own premise of "comedic wizard in America story." It's a silly magical romp. But the characters are just sort of there. Wizord is happy go lucky. Ruby Stitch is angry. Sizzajee is vengeful. Margaret is kind. And the big baddy wants to kill the good guys who just want to live their lives. That's pretty much it. There aren't many plot threads yet unraveled. While it was fun, nothing really pulled me in. And I'm not sure why it's even called Curse Words except that that sounds cool. So the story is a solid 2.5 stars. Not bad not good. But the artwork is an easy four. Think Skottie Young. Ryan Browne's illustrations are clean with bold lines, a quirky but realistic style. And his colors (with Michael Garland) are insane, neon and beautiful. Like Cliff Chiang/Matt Hollingsworth territory.An okay story, I dunno, we'll see, and amazing artwork holding it up.
    more
  • Connor
    July 24, 2017
    This was a pretty funny first volume to what I hope continues to be a ridiculous series full of mishaps and debauchery. I'll definitely be reading as the volumes come out. For the title being curse words, it has very little if any actual curse words though.
    more
  • Vinton Bayne
    January 19, 2017
    Well that was a lot of fun and a great concept!
  • Logan Aube
    May 24, 2017
    Imagine a bunch of Discworld characters tripping and falling through an inter-dimensional portal and winding up in present-day America.Yeah, that's basically this book. And now you have an idea of why I just gave it 5 stars.The plot is straightforward, but the tone slips seamlessly between real human drama and a barrage of dense, fast jokes. The art is gorgeous, and many of the splash pages or double-page spreads are glorious, dynamic, and perfectly undercut by absurd humor.Issue #5 in particula Imagine a bunch of Discworld characters tripping and falling through an inter-dimensional portal and winding up in present-day America.Yeah, that's basically this book. And now you have an idea of why I just gave it 5 stars.The plot is straightforward, but the tone slips seamlessly between real human drama and a barrage of dense, fast jokes. The art is gorgeous, and many of the splash pages or double-page spreads are glorious, dynamic, and perfectly undercut by absurd humor.Issue #5 in particular made me laugh like a maniac. I won't be surprised if a future issue makes me choke up like SAGA.This book, you guys. This is one of my favorite discoveries in some time.
    more
  • Rachel
    February 23, 2017
    Wizord (yes, with an 'O') is sent to Manhattan to do his master's bidding and destroy our world. While waiting for his chaos-inducing potion to brew, his downtime is spent exploring the Big Apple and its inhabitants. The New Yorkers he encounters (who are blissfully unaware of his evil motives) look at him without fear (a first for our wizarding friend), causing him to have an awakening of sorts, where he unexpectedly finds himself using his magic to help humans instead of harm them. After getti Wizord (yes, with an 'O') is sent to Manhattan to do his master's bidding and destroy our world. While waiting for his chaos-inducing potion to brew, his downtime is spent exploring the Big Apple and its inhabitants. The New Yorkers he encounters (who are blissfully unaware of his evil motives) look at him without fear (a first for our wizarding friend), causing him to have an awakening of sorts, where he unexpectedly finds himself using his magic to help humans instead of harm them. After getting a hipster-inspired haircut and fancy new wardrobe, we follow along with Wizord's antics. There's comedy as he navigates human culture, though, I didn't really find the ups and downs to be as funny as I'd hoped. The artwork in this issue alone was absolutely stunning and I'll probably continue with this series for sometime because of it. 3.5 stars.
    more
  • Sarah
    April 18, 2017
    Ok I'm interested.
  • Robert
    February 4, 2017
    When my son began reading Poe Dameron, I learned of Charles Soule. Following him on Twitter I saw the anticipation of Curse Words and I bought into the hype. It sounded like maybe I would like this. Why I thought that I am not certain. Wizards aren't my thing. Anyhow, I let the (Not So)LCBS know I was interested so they would reserve a copy for me. I picked this up last evening.Yeah, not a fan.A year ago when I was just getting into comics, I spent a long time with the comic book shop owner lear When my son began reading Poe Dameron, I learned of Charles Soule. Following him on Twitter I saw the anticipation of Curse Words and I bought into the hype. It sounded like maybe I would like this. Why I thought that I am not certain. Wizards aren't my thing. Anyhow, I let the (Not So)LCBS know I was interested so they would reserve a copy for me. I picked this up last evening.Yeah, not a fan.A year ago when I was just getting into comics, I spent a long time with the comic book shop owner learning about comics. Yes, there is stuff to learn as this medium is odd. I explained that I am looking for good stories. I am not as much into superheroes and the hype. I have found some wonderful comics that fit my tastes.Curse Words doesn't seem like it is going there for me. After finishing the comic, I am not certain what just happened. And the art, while impressive, doesn't suit me. I am always in awe of comic book art, but this is to mystical for me. Just not a fan all around. Back to the drawing board to find another new release.
    more
  • Juan
    June 25, 2017
    I consider myself still new to the comic book genre but early on I was influenced to look into stories that are written by Charles Soule. Since then I have read his run on Star Wars and Daredevil and could not be happier to have come across an original story after having read those titles. Curse Words is very well written and Ryan Browne's art is truly fantastic. In terms as a first arc, the story is solid and makes it worth wild to stick around to the second arc. By issue 5 and the reveal of Ma I consider myself still new to the comic book genre but early on I was influenced to look into stories that are written by Charles Soule. Since then I have read his run on Star Wars and Daredevil and could not be happier to have come across an original story after having read those titles. Curse Words is very well written and Ryan Browne's art is truly fantastic. In terms as a first arc, the story is solid and makes it worth wild to stick around to the second arc. By issue 5 and the reveal of Margaret, I was not expected it. I almost feel that the Volume reader will wish they can have read the confirmation of story details that are mentioned in the month letters page. I look forward to the next arc and I look forward to catching the team in their city tour which will hit Chicago in mid-July.
    more
  • Cathie
    July 24, 2017
    This is a great fast read graphic novel about a wizard coming to present day United States and deciding he doesn't want to destroy it. His master is none too pleased and sends out other equally strong foes of his to try and destroy him.It's hilarious in parts, the graphics are amazing and I'm a huge fan of Margaret, his sidekick Koala companion who shows Wizord where he can locate the magic in life in the U.S.The 2nd volume come out later this summer and I am definitely looking forward to readin This is a great fast read graphic novel about a wizard coming to present day United States and deciding he doesn't want to destroy it. His master is none too pleased and sends out other equally strong foes of his to try and destroy him.It's hilarious in parts, the graphics are amazing and I'm a huge fan of Margaret, his sidekick Koala companion who shows Wizord where he can locate the magic in life in the U.S.The 2nd volume come out later this summer and I am definitely looking forward to reading it.5 solid stars. Thanks Kailan for suggesting it :-)
    more
  • Paul Allard
    June 29, 2017
    A wizard comes to Earth with dramatic effect.Wizord (sic) arrives on Earth to destroy it, changes his mind, becomes a hero and faces retribution.There's a lot of magical and fighting action as well as copious views of strange and wonderful creatures in the Hole World from where the wizard has come.This comic collection is quite original, reasonably well-illustrated (a little too much colour for my liking) and interesting enough. There is obviously more to come. Worth a look.
    more
  • Elisa The-Bookie-Monster
    July 13, 2017
    No curesNo warsNo loveWizord the wizard has three rules, and those are it. He gets sent to earth to destroy the world, but then decides humans are pretty chill so he spares everyone. He then becomes a sort of celebrity. His boss, Sizzajee is hell bent on destroying earth, so he sends other minions to finish the job. Weird, unique and entertaining, pick this up if you want something different. #teammargaret
    more
  • Geppis Baltimore
    July 14, 2017
    Wizord the wizard and Margaret the talking koala are sent to earth to destroy it, but instead Wizord decides against it and becomes a celebrity instead. Sizzajee, he boss isn't too amused by this and sends his lackeys to come finish the job, resulting in massive magic fights around the world. #TeamMargaret
    more
  • Ed
    May 21, 2017
    Curse Words is a funny, fresh and stylish comic that also ends up making some interesting observations about belief.
  • Marisa Carpico
    June 18, 2017
    Wow. This rating is based largely on how great the art is. The story is fine, but I'm not sure I'd care if every panel and layout weren't so pleasing to the eye.
  • Wim Dewilde
    July 30, 2017
    No clue whatsoever why I always end up liking his comics, but I really enjoy Browne's sillyness.
  • Meghan
    July 20, 2017
    Read in single issues, but I'll probably pick up the trade...
  • Aron
    July 30, 2017
    Excellent! Great artwork, fun story with interesting characters, thoroughly entertaining. Highly recommend!
  • Alison
    May 22, 2017
    (Read as single issues.)This was a really great first arc. The colors are great, and I like the pacing of the story so far. I'm really excited to see what happens in volume two. #teammargaret
  • Stefani Celine
    March 15, 2017
    This comic starts with a bad ass Wizard and his pet Koala turning a hot shot into metal. Loved the "up yours" attitude, the fast pace keeps the reader engaged. Not for children. Can't wait to read more!
  • Abigail Baker
    February 24, 2017
    NO CURESNO WARSNO LOVEThose are the rules that the protagonist, Wizord, has. Surprisingly enough he's a wizard for hire, who has gone against his mission to destroy Earth, and has instead decided to help it's citizens. During the first issue he is tracked down by Cornwall, someone from his world (The Hole World - wherever that is), who wants to take down Wizord for not carrying out the orders that Sizzajee gave him. We don't really get a ton of answers in this issue, nor do we get a lot of backs NO CURESNO WARSNO LOVEThose are the rules that the protagonist, Wizord, has. Surprisingly enough he's a wizard for hire, who has gone against his mission to destroy Earth, and has instead decided to help it's citizens. During the first issue he is tracked down by Cornwall, someone from his world (The Hole World - wherever that is), who wants to take down Wizord for not carrying out the orders that Sizzajee gave him. We don't really get a ton of answers in this issue, nor do we get a lot of backstory for Wizord. There was enough to intrigue me to check out the next issue.FYI, this issue is supersized which was pretty neat. The full page panel of Sizzajee was coloured beautifully and was probably my favourite panel of the issue. We get introduced to Ruby Stitch, Botchko, and Sizzajee at the end of the issue who all seem to be big players going forward which added a bit of plot to this issue. Plot itself was a little lacking, but the battle scene between Wizord and Cornwall was done well, and the set up for the next issue will keep me around.
    more
  • Stacy
    February 24, 2017
    This was fun. Did unexpected things with the wizard-modern times trope and I, for one, am also a Margaret fan. While there's a level of simplicity, or...well, chaotic laziness?...that keeps me from calling this issue a masterpiece, it gets the story across and signs me up for more.
    more
  • Skwatch
    January 23, 2017
    I think that for a first issue this was OK. It feels like they wanted to cram all the backstory in one single issue, and the pacing is a little bit weird. But overall the concept and setting is interesting. It's similar to Birthright in some way, but it's a totally different approach. The artstyle is superb.The humor is probably not for everyone. It's not hilarious, but it works for this kind of comic.
    more
  • Patrick
    January 18, 2017
    Here's the thing, I can recommend this book without having enjoyed it all that much. And here's why that is...A few chuckles could be found within these pages, but ultimately nothing has me yearning to return to this world. Humor is a fickle thing. Something tells me that there are others out there that found this book hilarious. I was not one of them. If you often find yourself a fan of the fantasy-with-a-twist and a dash of comedy then by all means, pick up a copy.
    more
  • Rainey
    January 26, 2017
    Wizard battles and custom hashtags.
  • Scout
    January 25, 2017
    What a great first issue!
  • Ryan Lowery
    January 25, 2017
    2.5/5.0
Write a review