Every Little Kiss (Sequoia Lake, #2)
There’s nothing that single mom Liv Preston won’t do if it means making her six-year-old son smile again. After a heartbreaking two years, her little family is due for some fun in the sun. She just didn’t expect to find it in the big, rugged, Search and Rescue hero next door—who shows her just how exciting, and sexy, life’s adventures can be.As head of Reno’s K-9 search division, Ford Jamison knows what it takes to make life-and-death decisions on the fly. He doesn’t hesitate, doesn’t do regrets, and has never doubted his instincts—until he makes a promise that turns his world upside down. Desperate for redemption, he returns to Sequoia Lake, only to find himself face-to-face with his past…and the one woman he can’t have. Not when his secret would destroy her—and everything she holds dear.For Liv, finding love once was a gift. Finding it twice seems impossible, until the moment Ford’s lips meet hers. Love doesn’t always come easy, but when it’s right, it’s worth fighting for…

Every Little Kiss (Sequoia Lake, #2) Details

TitleEvery Little Kiss (Sequoia Lake, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherMontlake Romance
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance

Every Little Kiss (Sequoia Lake, #2) Review

  • Sunny
    July 7, 2017
    ARC REVIEW, 3.5 starsOriginally posted at Scandalicious Book ReviewIf I have not said it before, shame on me, but I love the way Marina Adair writes. There is an easy quality to her stories and she hits just the right notes on the emotional scale. Her small town settings give us an opportunity to mingle with some well-meaning, but quirky characters. In my mind, I keep picturing television shows like Northern Exposure and the Bob Newhart shows. Every Little Kiss is book two in the Sequoia Lake se ARC REVIEW, 3.5 starsOriginally posted at Scandalicious Book ReviewIf I have not said it before, shame on me, but I love the way Marina Adair writes. There is an easy quality to her stories and she hits just the right notes on the emotional scale. Her small town settings give us an opportunity to mingle with some well-meaning, but quirky characters. In my mind, I keep picturing television shows like Northern Exposure and the Bob Newhart shows. Every Little Kiss is book two in the Sequoia Lake series. Because this series features the Sequoia Elite Mountain Rescue team, it features another favorite feature of mine – very hunky first responders. Hubba hubba. Ford Jamison is an elite K-9 handler out of Reno but gets called in to do rescue and recovery work all over the world with his trusty partner, Bullseye. Years ago, he had to make a heartbreaking decision of rescuing either the father or son after they were in a car accident. That situation leaves an indelible mark on both the boy and the rescuer. The boy, Paxton, now suffers from select mutism and the Ford carries the guilt of not being able to save both. This is further complicated by a promise Ford makes to the father to deliver one last present to his wife. Liv Preston is cautiously but surely learning to go on with life without her husband. She recognizes that it would be easy to focus her entire life on her son and bury her grief, but she does not do that. She knows that she must take care of her child by being a warrior for him and modeling that same behavior. This is where the story really shines for me. I really like how Liv pulls herself up and takes risks to help herself evolve, but to also be the mother that Paxton needs. This includes standing up to her mother in law. I love how she finds her voice and puts on her Wonder Woman warrior armor to face challenges head on. When she meets Ford, it is easy to be attracted to him. But Liv also sees Ford for who he really is and what he really needs. He is a man who needs deep connections but avoids them like the plague. Unfortunately, Ford’s story is a weak point in the plot. We know that he is abandoned by his father as a child and that makes him wary of investing in relationships. I get it, but he is a little stalker-ish. He sends both Liv and Paxton anonymous presents, he helps Paxton get accepted and pays the tuition for a popular summer camp. He is generous, but he does not know this woman or her child. Also, I have a real issue with his inability to come clean with Liv about who he really is and how he is connected to her and her deceased husband. I think it took entirely too long for him to tell her the truth. I also got tired of his excuses for keeping his secret. It becomes a character issue for me. Luckily, the author also knows how to write a good happily ever after. She mostly redeems Ford at the end, mostly. It is Liv’s courage that makes me reconsider Ford. She does not settle for anything less than being totally loved. Here is a woman who knows her worth.
    more
  • Under the Covers Book Blog
    July 18, 2017
    Marina Adair is one of my top go-to authors for contemporary romance novels and she persistently proves to be so with each book she writes. This second installment of Marina Adair’s Sequoia Lake series has heartbreaking bits that made my heart ache, and I loved the well-deserved happy ending. Adair wrote a story of love, loss, and second chances, and it was an amazing read.Liv and Ford’s past experiences and current situation just touched my heart along with Knox, Liv’s MIL and the rest of seco Marina Adair is one of my top go-to authors for contemporary romance novels and she persistently proves to be so with each book she writes. This second installment of Marina Adair’s Sequoia Lake series has heartbreaking bits that made my heart ache, and I loved the well-deserved happy ending. Adair wrote a story of love, loss, and second chances, and it was an amazing read.Liv and Ford’s past experiences and current situation just touched my heart along with Knox, Liv’s MIL and the rest of secondary characters. Adair’s writing gives you a chance to get to know everyone in this town and I can’t help feel anything but adoration for all of them. Especially Liv and Ford.I love Liv because of who she is. This good hearted woman who despite her hardships, still strives to be a better person, strives to work on her nursing career, and be the best mom she can be. After losing her husband a couple of years back, nothing has been easy for her but she is amazingly surviving with a gusto. Of course, after meeting a search-and-rescue officer who happens to have just moved in next door makes things complicated, but almost a relief that there could be life after being a widow.Ford has his heart set to make sure Liv and Knox are well taken care of but from afar. His obligation to doing this gets more complicated when he comes to town for a temporary assignment. Getting to know each other is inevitable and following the single-mom rule is just harder to follow. They live in a small town after all. I love, love Ford. He’s your all-American hero whose heart will always be in the right place. He’s sweet, sexy, and super flirty.The twists of the story were unexpected but it wasn’t a surprise. I like that Adair slowly informed her readers that there’s a connection there and that there are secrets that could ruin everything. Rest assured, there is a happy-ending that is well deserved. This book is a feel-good romance novel and perfect for a summer read.*ARC provided by publisherReviewed by Angela❤ ♡ Don't want to miss any of our posts? Subscribe to our blog by email! ♡ ❤
    more
  • Stacee
    July 14, 2017
    3.5 starsI have really enjoyed some of Marina's other books, so I requested this off her her name alone. I really liked Liv and Ford. She's sweet and he's stoic and together they just work. They're both stronger than they realize and it was interesting to see how they were able to work through the things they're each struggling with. Bullseye is hands down the best part of this story and stole every scene. Plot wise, it was what I expected, to a point. I don't feel like it's a spoiler to say the 3.5 starsI have really enjoyed some of Marina's other books, so I requested this off her her name alone. I really liked Liv and Ford. She's sweet and he's stoic and together they just work. They're both stronger than they realize and it was interesting to see how they were able to work through the things they're each struggling with. Bullseye is hands down the best part of this story and stole every scene. Plot wise, it was what I expected, to a point. I don't feel like it's a spoiler to say there's a HEA. Surprisingly the conflict didn't show up until the book was almost over and it's resolved so so so quickly. Not to mention, Liv's son Paxton is 100% on board with everything when it seemed like he had only been around Ford a small handful of times. {Obviously I'm reading way too much into it, but for some reason, I couldn't get that part out of my head.}Overall, it's a sweet story with some adorable moments, a fantastic grand gesture, and what could be the best dog ever written. I can't wait to see who's next. Fingers crossed for Harris and Grace. **Huge thanks to Montlake Romance for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Ashley
    July 4, 2017
    Rating: 3/5(I received a free copy from the publisher, Montlake Romance, via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Available at https://www.netgalley.com/catalog/boo...)***Minor spoilers***Liv hasn't had the best past few years. Her husband died in a tragic accident, and her son doesn't really speak to anyone but her anymore. She struggles to balance being a nurse with being a single mother. New light appears to come into Liv's hometown in the form of a man named Ford, but what she doesn't Rating: 3/5(I received a free copy from the publisher, Montlake Romance, via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. Available at https://www.netgalley.com/catalog/boo...)***Minor spoilers***Liv hasn't had the best past few years. Her husband died in a tragic accident, and her son doesn't really speak to anyone but her anymore. She struggles to balance being a nurse with being a single mother. New light appears to come into Liv's hometown in the form of a man named Ford, but what she doesn't know is that Ford is the rescue worker who rescued her son and was forced to leave her husband to die in the blizzard. When the two grow closer together, Ford struggles with figuring out how he could tell her his role in her husband's accident, and what would happen if he knew. He doesn't want to be the thing that reminds her of the tragedy, but at the same time, how could he live a lie?This was a cute book with an interesting story, but I didn't find it particularly gratifying. The writing was good, and the characters were developed, but I just found that I didn't care enough about their situation. Perhaps it was because the perspectives of the characters were a little distanced and I couldn't feel fully for them, or just that the characters themselves just came off as distanced. Liv in particular felt a bit cold. While I understood the characters, I didn't empathize with them, which lessened my interest in the book. Despite this, the characters were well done, I just didn't feel a connection to them.I find that there isn't too much to say about this book. It had a cute romance, but nothing that struck me as amazing. The story was a bit predictable in how (view spoiler)[ Liv found out the truth in some other way besides Ford telling her (hide spoiler)], which was disappointing but at the same time it's the only bit of excitement in the story. Overall, while I enjoyed this book, I didn't think it was anything special. I didn't feel that much of a connection to the characters or the story, so I found it hard to enjoy it at times. I feel like it would have been better if it delved deeper into the minds of the main characters, particularly Liv. I felt like her feelings were just the same things over and over again. I wouldn't tell you not to read it, but I wouldn't recommend it either.
    more
  • RachelW (BamaGal)
    June 23, 2017
    Nice small town romance, my first read by this author. I took it because I like 'second chance at love' stories and K9 Search-and-Rescue. The story fulfilled the first part, but all the S&R was off-page, and the dog (Bullseye) was woefully underused for my tastes. The big secret wasn't that big a deal, imo, but it was definitely something Ford should have told Liv about before beginning a relationship with her.
    more
  • TJ
    June 13, 2017
    *sigh*. Aw, there is nothing like a Marina Adair happy ending! She writes them better than almost anyone I know and this one is ranks as one of her best!I'll admit I was a bit worried throughout the first half of the book. It kind of wandered around a lot. I could put it down and not even think about it (something I can rarely do with this author's books). I also had trouble connecting (or really liking) Liv's character, as she was so short and closed off with those around her. Thankfully not lo *sigh*. Aw, there is nothing like a Marina Adair happy ending! She writes them better than almost anyone I know and this one is ranks as one of her best!I'll admit I was a bit worried throughout the first half of the book. It kind of wandered around a lot. I could put it down and not even think about it (something I can rarely do with this author's books). I also had trouble connecting (or really liking) Liv's character, as she was so short and closed off with those around her. Thankfully not long after the 50% mark everything started picking up and, once again, the magic started happening. The strongest points?I LOVED that the relationship came organically and grew before all the sexcapades. It was beautifully real and wonderfully done. Liv is a widowed mother who is trying to mend her broken heart while raising a child who has suffered a severe trauma. Allowing her to slowly grow and learn to love again before the physical aspect takes over made this story so much more real and touching.I LOVED Paxton and his relationship with his Mom. Another aspect that resonated with believability. Things aren't always easy, sweet and fun when trying to love and help children through their hardships. This story shows both the depth of that love and the uncertainty any parent has when navigating the emotions and hurts of their children's fears. I also loved Ford's character, although I didn't get the whole, "I can't tell her" excuse. It just didn't make sense. Still, his amazing loyalty and kindness far outweighed any short-comings. SO... my advice - persevere through the first half and you will have yourself an exquisitely touching and sweet confection guaranteed to bring on those happy sighs!!
    more
  • Nellie Rivera
    June 17, 2017
    Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. I enjoy Ms. Adair's books, they always deal with more than one emotion, you have happiness, sadness, grief, and frustration, all rolled up into one book. We were previously introduced to Liz, in the last book, and I liked her, but in this book, she annoyed me, she was a little too stubborn, a little too independent, and I felt like she just thought that what she thought was always correct, it just bugged me. It just did not seem like the same swe Received an ARC for my fair review for netgalley. I enjoy Ms. Adair's books, they always deal with more than one emotion, you have happiness, sadness, grief, and frustration, all rolled up into one book. We were previously introduced to Liz, in the last book, and I liked her, but in this book, she annoyed me, she was a little too stubborn, a little too independent, and I felt like she just thought that what she thought was always correct, it just bugged me. It just did not seem like the same sweet person from last book, but it could just have been me. Now we meet Ford, and god almighty, he sounded "hot", I really wanted a visual, I still loved my Ty and Harrison, from first book but he has been added to the ranks. He was sweet, true he kept a pretty secret, a bad one, and should have come clean, and in that I will give it to her, in just that aspect, but everything else, he was absolutely, the best, he deserved someone who noticed all he had to give and then some. Now don't get me wrong, I do know that Liz had a pretty rough time, and it could not have been easy for her, but the going back and forth, anyway, she did have her good points, she was a good person, great mom, great nurse, and her friends loved her. Anyway, hope next book is about Harrison and Grace.
    more
  • Vikki Vaught
    July 27, 2017
    Review to follow.
  • GraceMyBookSnack
    July 18, 2017
    5 StarsLiv and Ford’s story will captivate your heart!Ahhh! Marina Adair continues to charm me with her romances, and this installment of her Sequoia Lake series is absolutely irresistible. After being introduced to Liv Preston in the first book, she was definitely a character I wanted to see find love again. Liv is a hard working single mom to six-year-old son Paxton. He really is her little superhero! There’s a specific reason why she’s living in Sequoia Lake, and their story will make your he 5 StarsLiv and Ford’s story will captivate your heart!Ahhh! Marina Adair continues to charm me with her romances, and this installment of her Sequoia Lake series is absolutely irresistible. After being introduced to Liv Preston in the first book, she was definitely a character I wanted to see find love again. Liv is a hard working single mom to six-year-old son Paxton. He really is her little superhero! There’s a specific reason why she’s living in Sequoia Lake, and their story will make your heart twist. Liv surely does deserve happiness and love in her life again.As an avid reader of Adair’s romances, I always find the heroes in her books alluring. Ford Jamison has the right balance of being torn on the inside and tempting overall. He will superbly satisfy the hero personality romance readers crave. Oh, and he happens to be Liv’s new neighbor.Filled with fun and lovable characters, scrumptious tension, and enticing romance, Every Little Kiss, will ultimately fill your heart with a generous amount of warmth and emotion.*Review also posted on My Book Snack.
    more
  • Irene
    July 21, 2017
    3.5 stars
  • Caro
    July 17, 2017
    I loved this one, much like the previous one.Here, we learn about Liv and Ford. Liv is a single mother that lost her husband to a car accident, that also left her little kid not wanting to talk. It was heartbreaking to watch him go through with this, but also super lovely to watch overcome that and be cute little boy Liv knew he was.I loved Liv and her desire to make a better life for her and her kid; it was hard to see how much she had to struggle though, but a lot of that came from the fact th I loved this one, much like the previous one.Here, we learn about Liv and Ford. Liv is a single mother that lost her husband to a car accident, that also left her little kid not wanting to talk. It was heartbreaking to watch him go through with this, but also super lovely to watch overcome that and be cute little boy Liv knew he was.I loved Liv and her desire to make a better life for her and her kid; it was hard to see how much she had to struggle though, but a lot of that came from the fact that she refused to accept help from anyone. I liked her journey in this, how she started opening up and actually started to enjoy the little things.Ford was a different story, he was great and a happy guy, but with a burden he carried all too willingly. I loved his work with his rescue dog and all the different things he did for the town, lol. He truly was a good guy, he just needed to believe it. There were some secrets and things he should’ve talked about with Liv from the start (boy, did I want to smack him, lol), but I loved their journey together and how they helped each other out be better.Really enjoyed this second book in the series and can’t wait for the next one.*Thank you to NetGalley for providing an ARC in exchange of my honest opinion*
    more
  • Book Lover
    July 30, 2017
    Ford Jameson is an elite K-9 Search and Rescue agent. Years ago, he made a decision to save the son from a father and son car crash. It left its mark on both of them. Ford questions his judgment on everything from that point on and the little boy, Paxton, withdraws into himself, speaking rarely. Liv Preston is determined to make a good life for her and her son. She does a great job of pulling herself up and setting a good example for her son. She took crap from her mother-in-law much longer than Ford Jameson is an elite K-9 Search and Rescue agent. Years ago, he made a decision to save the son from a father and son car crash. It left its mark on both of them. Ford questions his judgment on everything from that point on and the little boy, Paxton, withdraws into himself, speaking rarely. Liv Preston is determined to make a good life for her and her son. She does a great job of pulling herself up and setting a good example for her son. She took crap from her mother-in-law much longer than I would have, but finally stood up for herself.I loved Bullseye, Ford’s K-9. He stole the show in my opinion. I struggled with a few aspect of Ford’s character. He needed more background into his childhood and how it shaped him. For being a world renown, sought out K-9 SAR agent, his character was weak. This is the second book in the series. It’s an okay read, but not as good as the first one. I hope Harris is next!!I voluntarily reviewed an ARC provided by the publisher and NetGalley.
    more
  • Mary Mooney
    July 14, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads, so here is my review.Liv Preston is trying to get her life back together after the death of her husband, not just for herself but for her young son too. Paxton has shied away from most things since his father's dead a few years ago. But Liv is determined to make life happy for them both. But when Liv meets Ford Jamison, can she trust her feelings?Ford Jamison is head of the K-9 unit in Reno, and one hell of a man to behold. I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads, so here is my review.Liv Preston is trying to get her life back together after the death of her husband, not just for herself but for her young son too. Paxton has shied away from most things since his father's dead a few years ago. But Liv is determined to make life happy for them both. But when Liv meets Ford Jamison, can she trust her feelings?Ford Jamison is head of the K-9 unit in Reno, and one hell of a man to behold. He is huge and very handsome. He calls Liv cupcake because when they first met she was wearing scrubs with cupcakes on them and doing surgery on a stuffed dog.But Ford has a secret and he is only in town for a short time but is afraid when Liv learns his secret, she will hate him. Can he tell her the truth and move on? Will Liv be able to accept the truth and trust Ford in anything else he says? Will Paxton trust and began talking again? And will Bullseye ever stop stealing kids stuffed toys?This story is heartwarming, with points of laughter and I loved it. Marina Adair has a way of touching your heart in this series. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.
    more
  • Lisa
    July 21, 2017
    3.5 starsI don't know how to rate this because I love some parts and have mixed feelings for some other parts but anyway I love Liv's love and devotion towards her son, Paxton. Paxton is the cutest, most adorable child it's hard not to love him. The bond between Ford and his dog Bullseye is also my favourite. I have a weakness. I also love Ford's flirty ways, as weird as it sounds. He's just a fun guy with a huge crush on the single supermom. The only qualm I had about this story is Ford's inabi 3.5 starsI don't know how to rate this because I love some parts and have mixed feelings for some other parts but anyway I love Liv's love and devotion towards her son, Paxton. Paxton is the cutest, most adorable child it's hard not to love him. The bond between Ford and his dog Bullseye is also my favourite. I have a weakness. I also love Ford's flirty ways, as weird as it sounds. He's just a fun guy with a huge crush on the single supermom. The only qualm I had about this story is Ford's inability to come clean about who he really is and the role he played in Liv's husband's death,it made me uncomfortable.Overall, it was an entertaining read. I really hope that Harris gets a book of his own. He's so adorable with his daughter. And I also want Liv's friend Grace to find her own HEA.E-ARC is received thanks to the publisher via Netgalley.
    more
  • Isha Coleman
    July 13, 2017
    The beauty of a Marina Adair novel is that, no matter how big or small, love is the force that drives them. The best way to read Ms. Adair is to listen with your heart. There is always a meaningful message behind the madness. Every Little Kiss, ponders a subject we all take for granted in a way that is humbling, humorous and hopeful. The small town presentation makes the journey more intimate but no less insightful. Life is a precious gift. Whether short or long, joyous or heartbreaking, the exp The beauty of a Marina Adair novel is that, no matter how big or small, love is the force that drives them. The best way to read Ms. Adair is to listen with your heart. There is always a meaningful message behind the madness. Every Little Kiss, ponders a subject we all take for granted in a way that is humbling, humorous and hopeful. The small town presentation makes the journey more intimate but no less insightful. Life is a precious gift. Whether short or long, joyous or heartbreaking, the experiences are the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow. Trial or triumph, we don't want to miss a thing.
    more
  • Cali Jewel
    July 18, 2017
    Beautifully written contemporary small town romance with lots of emotional twists. Perfect for a afternoon relaxing in the sun, sounds of nature sounding you with a cold drink near you reading. Liv Preston is a fearlessly determined single mother looking to get her six year old son to open up and smile once again hoping to heal after the tragic loss of her husband. Ford Jamison is the sexy, strong, and intriguing K-9 search and rescue leader next door neighbor who is looking to help her little f Beautifully written contemporary small town romance with lots of emotional twists. Perfect for a afternoon relaxing in the sun, sounds of nature sounding you with a cold drink near you reading. Liv Preston is a fearlessly determined single mother looking to get her six year old son to open up and smile once again hoping to heal after the tragic loss of her husband. Ford Jamison is the sexy, strong, and intriguing K-9 search and rescue leader next door neighbor who is looking to help her little family have some much needed fun in the sun and struggling to deny any sparks that may be flying bright and hot between him and Liv. Very entertaining reading.
    more
  • Heather andrews
    July 6, 2017
    Liv is a sassy lady, “I thought you were checking to see if I’m wearing a bra.” She bit her lip and shook her head." Foord appreciates all the effort his girl does, “you bought new panties,” he said in a low voice , but she saw other, deliciously big, signs that he was as excited over her panty choice as she was." I really liked this book, I fell in love with Ford.
    more
  • Amber Hughes
    June 29, 2017
    **3.5-4 stars**In Every Little Kiss, the second book in Marina Adair’s Sequoia Lake Series, Liv Preston is trying to make a better life for her and her six-year old son after losing her husband two years prior. Moving to her late husband’s home town and working as a nurse at the local hospital, she’s working on finding some real happiness, learning to move on and trying to help her son heal from the traumatic experience he went through losing his father.When she meets hot, sexy Ford Jamison, the **3.5-4 stars**In Every Little Kiss, the second book in Marina Adair’s Sequoia Lake Series, Liv Preston is trying to make a better life for her and her six-year old son after losing her husband two years prior. Moving to her late husband’s home town and working as a nurse at the local hospital, she’s working on finding some real happiness, learning to move on and trying to help her son heal from the traumatic experience he went through losing his father.When she meets hot, sexy Ford Jamison, the head of Reno’s K-9 Search and Rescue, life takes a turn into new territory for her; learning to open up her heart to the possibility of a new love in her life. This isn’t easy for her, but she’s working on getting there. Ford is back in Sequoia Lake after failing to take a major test for his job and is put on desk-duty for a while. He’s not in town for long, but he’s having a hard time fighting his attraction to Liv. And the more time they spend together, the harder is for both of them to fight the chemistry between them. Ford doesn’t want to hurt her, but he’s hiding a very big secret from Liv and if he doesn’t come clean, it could threaten to break them apart before they even get a real chance to be together.I appreciated that things weren’t rushed between Liv and Ford. Liv still had some wounds to heal and Ford had his own personal issues to deal with. I also loved how Ford treated Liv’s son, Paxton.You can always count on Marina Adair to bring the sweet, heartwarming moments and of course the hot, sexy scenes too!**I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review**
    more
  • Misty (Red's Romance Review's)
    June 29, 2017
    The last two years of Liv Preston's life have been a constant struggle just to stay afloat, but she's never given up hope that things would return to normal for her and her young son. Two years ago she lost her partner in life, and her son lost his father, and it's taken a toll on both of them, but Liv has fought hard to keep it from completely swallowing them up. She moved them to her husband hometown Sequoia Lake for a fresh start, also hoping it would help her son feel closer to the father he The last two years of Liv Preston's life have been a constant struggle just to stay afloat, but she's never given up hope that things would return to normal for her and her young son. Two years ago she lost her partner in life, and her son lost his father, and it's taken a toll on both of them, but Liv has fought hard to keep it from completely swallowing them up. She moved them to her husband hometown Sequoia Lake for a fresh start, also hoping it would help her son feel closer to the father he lost. And so far, it's helped, but she is still keeping herself a little sheltered, focusing less on having fun, and more on working and keeping her son happy. She knows she needs to open up a little more, and consider letting someone in, but that would mean letting go of the memory of the love she once had, and truth be told that's a little scary. But when she meets her sexy new neighbor, she starts to see the appeal of letting love in again... and from where she is standing it is looking like a very good idea, all six foot plus inches of it!Being head of Reno’s K-9 search division, Ford Jamison is always prepared to save the day of some unfortunate soul who has found themselves in trouble in the wilderness, they call and he is ready in a moments notice to handle the task... no matter the risk. But every once in a while things don't end on a happy note, and he's not able to save the day, and those are ones that really take a toll. Two years ago he made a promise to one of those unfortunate souls, and everyday since he has tried his best to carry out the man's last wishes, but when it winds up getting him in trouble he finds himself being sent to Sequoia Lake as punishment. And it's really the last place he should be... his past is lingering there and he isn't so ready to face it!This book was nothing short of amazing! Ms. Adair can do no wrong when she puts pen to paper, this story is one of my absolute favorites from her to date!! The moment Liv and Ford wandered onto the page I was completely taken with them and their beautiful story... be prepared for some serious feels with this one, it had me near tears a couple of times! These two came together a little unconventionally, and their road to finding their happy ending was definitely a little bumpy at times, but it made for a VERY entertaining literary adventure. As the story unfolds you will be treated to quite a few laughs from their endless banter, lots of heartwarming moments that will give you the feels and plenty of steamy moments that will leave you blushing! Highly recommend you make time to meet Mr. Ford Jamison... the rugged and sexy alpha is certain to steal your heart!I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Heather
    June 17, 2017
    **Advanced reader copy provided by NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**Every Little Kiss is the second installment in Marina Adair's Sequoia Lake series. This book is a great addition to the series and I enjoyed heading back to the small town and getting to catch up with some of the residents we met in the first book.Olivia Preston has had a rough couple of years. She lost her husband to an accident that almost cost her the life of her son as well. Now six years old, Pa **Advanced reader copy provided by NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**Every Little Kiss is the second installment in Marina Adair's Sequoia Lake series. This book is a great addition to the series and I enjoyed heading back to the small town and getting to catch up with some of the residents we met in the first book.Olivia Preston has had a rough couple of years. She lost her husband to an accident that almost cost her the life of her son as well. Now six years old, Paxon is still learning to deal with his new normal following the harrowing ordeal he went through in the wilderness. At this point Liv knows that everything she is doing is for him and she'll stop at nothing to make him happy and to make him smile even though there are many times at this point she isn't sure what those things are. In an effort to help his recovery, Liv moved she and Paxon to Sequoia Lake where her late husband grew up, thinking that the close ties to his father might help her young boy.Ford Jamison knows all about life and death situations. They are what he deals with day in and day out in his job as the head of the Reno K-9 search division, but when he can't face the latest certification test he needs to take, he is relegated to a desk job in Sequoia Lake to help them out. Going back to Sequoia Lake makes Ford face a promise that he made and it is one that is compounded when he meets Liv and is immediately attracted to her. He knows that getting involved with her would be the worst thing that he could do since his stay in Sequoia Lake is temporary and the last thing she needs is more upheaval in her life.As the two work together on a town project, they begin to grow closer and fighting their growing attraction begins to become more and more difficult. Couple that with the fact that Ford's dog has become good buds with young Paxton and you have quite the tangled web. Will the promise from Ford's past cause problems with his budding relationship with Liv and will Liv be able to give herself permission to move on with her life as she knows her late husband would have wanted?While this book was a little bit slow in the beginning and it took some time to connect with Liv especially, it was definitely worth it in the end. Once the book found it's groove, the relationship began to form and it grew organically and realistically. I liked that the relationship didn't seem rushed. I enjoyed this book quite a bit and I look forward to the next one in the series!
    more
  • Bec - Book Magic: Under a spell with every page Reviews
    July 19, 2017
    Liv Preston is determined to do whatever it takes to bring fun back into her son's life after two years of heartbreak. However, nothing seems to be working until Ford Jamison and his dog, Bullseye, come into their lives. However, Ford is hiding a secret and when Liv discovers just what that secret is, will she be able to forgive him or will their chance at happy ever after be lost forever due to Ford not being game enough to tell Liv the truth of why he's come to Sequoia Lake?Ms. Adair is a mas Liv Preston is determined to do whatever it takes to bring fun back into her son's life after two years of heartbreak. However, nothing seems to be working until Ford Jamison and his dog, Bullseye, come into their lives. However, Ford is hiding a secret and when Liv discovers just what that secret is, will she be able to forgive him or will their chance at happy ever after be lost forever due to Ford not being game enough to tell Liv the truth of why he's come to Sequoia Lake?Ms. Adair is a master when it come to writing contemporary romance, and when she combines such a romance with the setting of a small town, she delivers a remarkable and magnetic read just as she has in this second book of her Sequoia Lake series. The way this story started had me enjoying this book immediately due to the heroine and her dilemma. Liv would do anything for her son, and I liked how she took charge to make sure her little boy would get back his favorite toy without it looking like it's been through the wringer and experienced unpleasant happenings.As for the dialogue, it was well-written, captivating and I loved how it illustrated the challenges Liv and Ford face throughout this story superbly. The emotions and reactions of both the main characters had an effect on me, and I couldn't help but sympathize with Ford because of his connection to Liv's past and the grief she's still suffering. Furthermore, Ford charmed me with his flirting and his kindness towards the heroine's son. I also liked how kind and caring he was to the secondary characters and that he would do anything for the heroine because she deserves happiness again. While the heroine, she's a fighter, which is proven by all that she's done since the death of her husband. She will do anything for her son and I liked how determined she was to help him, even if it meant doing everything she could to secure the job she wanted, so she could be there for her little boy more. I also liked how she handled her mother-in-law, because the woman needed to realize that Liv was the one to make the decisions when it came to her son and no-one else. Yet, what I enjoyed most about Liv is how she helped to bond her son and her mother-in-law better.Overall, Ms. Adair has penned another fantastic read for this series where the chemistry was instant and intense; the romance was hot and proved how good Ford was for Liv; and the ending was completely satisfying due to what Ford does to prove his love for the heroine. No way isn't he going to do whatever it takes to win her back. I would recommend Every Little Kiss by Marina Adair, if you enjoy second chance romances or books by authors Catherine Bybee, MK Meredith, Jill Sanders or Erin Nicholas.
    more
  • Aly
    July 21, 2017
    Humor, heart and heat. This story is about facing your fears and learning to open your heart again. Olivia "Liv" Preston is a nurse, a widow and mom to an adorable little boy who still have trouble coping with his father's death. When Sam died in an accident two years ago, Liv moved to his hometown as a way to help her son and herself deal with it. She's still trying to adjust to her new life and wants to give Paxton the time he need to grieve and find again the will to talk to other people agai Humor, heart and heat. This story is about facing your fears and learning to open your heart again. Olivia "Liv" Preston is a nurse, a widow and mom to an adorable little boy who still have trouble coping with his father's death. When Sam died in an accident two years ago, Liv moved to his hometown as a way to help her son and herself deal with it. She's still trying to adjust to her new life and wants to give Paxton the time he need to grieve and find again the will to talk to other people again. In the hope of obtaining a new position at work, she'll have to get involve with the community. Ford Jamison is back in Sequoia Lake, but not by choice. In a kind of probation, his boss send him to help the local Search and Rescue team. But the job will not be exactly what he expected. When Ford and Liv meet in an original way (involving a stuffed dog), she doesn't know that the stranger with a killer smile already know her and played a role in her past. Ford is the first man to cause a zing of attraction again since her husband died, but even if he's an expert at flirting, Liv try to stay away at first because I think she's afraid to be hurt again, so it's hard for her to let go. But Ford is just like the cupcakes the heroine like so much ; the more you tell yourself you can't have it, the more you want it ;p"Nothing you do will ever take away from what you and Sam shared. He wasn't your first kiss, and it would be a waste of a big heart like yours if he was your last.""He's no longer my last, but I'm scared of what happens when he's no longer my best." she admitted, because Ford's kiss had the power of a defibrillator-one zap could jump-start her heart."Marina Adair did it again. She created a story with lots of funny and heartwarming details, like the local Facebook's contest, the kleptomaniac dog, the cute nicknames, the sexy banters and the wacky townsfolk. I just wish it didn't take that much time before Liv learned the truth about Ford. Twenty pages or so is not a lot to let the characters deal with it before the happy ending. But it was a satisfying HEA. I hope Harris's story is next. A single father who play dress up with his daughter and goes with her to dance lessons, I can't wait !
    more
  • Trish R.
    July 19, 2017
    This was not a good as the first book but it was ok. It was a little too angsty for me. Plus the same old crap about him never being able to be with her because of his big and terrible secret. That story has been told a million times. And I really didn’t get Paxton’s “problem.” He talked his mother’s ear off when it was just the two of them but wouldn’t say a word to anyone else. So what? He just didn’t want to talk to anyone else and it was made to sound like some kind of mental disorder. That This was not a good as the first book but it was ok. It was a little too angsty for me. Plus the same old crap about him never being able to be with her because of his big and terrible secret. That story has been told a million times. And I really didn’t get Paxton’s “problem.” He talked his mother’s ear off when it was just the two of them but wouldn’t say a word to anyone else. So what? He just didn’t want to talk to anyone else and it was made to sound like some kind of mental disorder. That was just silly, IMO.And, once again, we read about a widow who thought about being with someone else was being “disloyal” to the dead husband. Something else we’ve read a million times.I did like Liv and Ford; they were a really great couple. And I liked Paxton, too. I liked all the old ladies and their dogs. They were quite funny. And I really liked Harris! There was nothing he wouldn’t do for his daughter, including wearing pink T-shirts and pearls. He was one cool dad. And it was nice seeing Ty and Avery and Grace.It wasn’t until 93% that Liv found out Ford’s secret and her reaction was just silly. Then the end of the book came and it just went on and on. And suddenly Paxton had no problem talking. The little we learned of Search and Rescue was interesting and the Superhero Camp was wonderful.There was explicit sex in this book and the F-bomb was used 16 times.As to the narrator: Renee Raudman has a fairly deep voice so I didn’t really hear a big difference in the male and female voices. The men could be better. Also, when the book says someone laughed she never does. She was only OK for me. I wouldn’t avoid her books but I wouldn’t go looking for her either. Her narration was much better in the first book, It Started With a Kiss, which I find kind of odd since that was narrated in January and this one on July.
    more
  • Amy R
    June 20, 2017
    Every Little Kiss by Marina Adair is contemporary romance at its finest. It is the perfect blend of flawed but brilliant characters, an engaging plot, sexy loves scenes, conflict, and is topped off with a scene stealer superdog! It had me flipping pages so quickly I could barely control myself. Not only did I love the dialogue between main characters Ford and Liv but I found myself laughing out loud at the scenes with Ford and his boss/friend Harris. So funny.I didn’t get the chance to read the Every Little Kiss by Marina Adair is contemporary romance at its finest. It is the perfect blend of flawed but brilliant characters, an engaging plot, sexy loves scenes, conflict, and is topped off with a scene stealer superdog! It had me flipping pages so quickly I could barely control myself. Not only did I love the dialogue between main characters Ford and Liv but I found myself laughing out loud at the scenes with Ford and his boss/friend Harris. So funny.I didn’t get the chance to read the first book in the series yet, but I didn’t feel as though I needed to in order to enjoy Every Little Kiss. They seem to be connected by the town they live in and the characters. Ford and Liv’s story stood on its own. Ford is in Sequoia Lake to battle his demons. Liv is in Sequoia Lake because she wants her son, Paxton, to get to know his Dad who passed away a couple of years ago when Paxton was a toddler. His Dad and Liv’s deceased husband grew up in Sequoia Lake. She is surrounded with memories and finds it hard to move on. Enter Ford. He shakes things up quite a bit.Adair entertains me from beginning to end with her stories. While Every Little Kiss is a heart warming romance, is has some real underlying emotions to it. Some of the things that tug at my heart are the loss and grief that the main characters feel in addition to worrying about what the future holds. There is also real joy and happiness along with passion. It’s fantastic. The romance is fun to watch, the pacing is great and I found myself not wanting it to end.Every Little Kiss is a captivating romance with a hot, sexy, hero and a heroine that can hold her own against just about anyone. It’s a page turner from start to finish and will have you sighing happily at the end. I now want to go back and read the first book in the series!
    more
  • Kortney
    July 23, 2017
    This is the first book of Marina Adair's that I have read. I have always loved the covers and book summaries on the back and to be honest I even have a couple of hers on my book shelf that I still need to read so when I got the opportunity to read this book I jumped at the chance. This is the second book in the Sequoia Lake series by Marina. Having never read of Marina's books in the past I was not sure what her writing style was going to be but I found that they kept a pretty steady pace and ha This is the first book of Marina Adair's that I have read. I have always loved the covers and book summaries on the back and to be honest I even have a couple of hers on my book shelf that I still need to read so when I got the opportunity to read this book I jumped at the chance. This is the second book in the Sequoia Lake series by Marina. Having never read of Marina's books in the past I was not sure what her writing style was going to be but I found that they kept a pretty steady pace and had a mix of romance, heartbreak and humor all rolled into one. I think that Marina did a great job of developing both the characters Liv and Ford so that you would understand their reasoning for their actions but didn't go overboard where you felt like it was dragging on and you lost interest. In addition, I really enjoyed seeing Liv's character grow through out the book from being closed off from letting someone into her life to by the end opening up for more than just a man. In regards to storyline I found this book to have a couple different ones going on which you would think would be hard to follow but Marina did a good job of intertwining them to make it one great story. I liked how she not only told you of the love story developing between Ford and Liv but also incorporated her son into the mix. It was cool to see how the soon really opened up at the end and became more social with both kids his age as well as his own grandma. I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the first one in the series as well as the ones that follow. In addition, I will be definitely checking out more of Marina's book as I really enjoy her writing style. I recommend this book to readers who love the romance but also the heartwarming family stories too as I think it has that too.
    more
  • Beth ~ Panda & Boodle
    July 18, 2017
    When he wasn’t around her, all he could think about was seeing her. And when he was with her, he couldn’t stomach the idea of leaving.Another sweet, small-town romance from Marina Adair, another enjoyable book in the Sequoia Lake series. I recall liking the first in this series, though, admittedly, I struggled to remember exactly what happened and who all the characters were. Despite that, it didn’t take long for me to get into the book, and I soon found myself very much enjoying Ford and Liv, a When he wasn’t around her, all he could think about was seeing her. And when he was with her, he couldn’t stomach the idea of leaving.Another sweet, small-town romance from Marina Adair, another enjoyable book in the Sequoia Lake series. I recall liking the first in this series, though, admittedly, I struggled to remember exactly what happened and who all the characters were. Despite that, it didn’t take long for me to get into the book, and I soon found myself very much enjoying Ford and Liv, and their friends. Every Little Kiss is a cute book. It deals with grief and loss and moving on in a well-written, respectful but thankfully not maudlin way, and produces some funny, flirty banter. Ford, in particular, nailed the flirty. Plus, development of the relationship between Liv and Ford grew was nice—not exactly friends-to-lovers, but the way they slowly progressed really worked for me. What else worked for me? Paxton was lovable, and oh, how I wanted more for and from him. Bullseye caught my eye with his stuffed animal obsession. And then there’s Harris. Single dad, mountain man, not afraid to rock glitter and pink and beads for his daughter. I certainly hope Ms. Adair plans to make his book the next in this series. So, why not five? Simple, really. Ford’s secret, his connection to Sequoia Lake, dragged out a little too long for my liking. I found myself increasingly frustrated with him, his reasoning, with his lack of communication. I had hoped that, as we neared the end, Ms. Adair had a trick up her sleeve, and though that wasn’t the case, I still loved the conclusion. In fact, it was a heart-happy, sweet and swoony moment, and a great finish to yet another enjoyable book from this author.“I came here searching for answers and found meaning.”~ FOUR Cupcake STARS ~
    more
  • Marcia
    July 10, 2017
    Ford Jamison is head of Reno’s K-9 search division. His job is rescue and to keep his head clear, he was advised when he first started to not get attached and walk away once the rescue is done. That is what his father did to him and his mother. However, he is still haunted by a rescue two years ago, when a renowned surgeon, Sam Preston and his son Paxton were driving home on Christmas Day when there was a car accident and a winter storm hit. With his dog Bulleye, Sam found them in a cave, but th Ford Jamison is head of Reno’s K-9 search division. His job is rescue and to keep his head clear, he was advised when he first started to not get attached and walk away once the rescue is done. That is what his father did to him and his mother. However, he is still haunted by a rescue two years ago, when a renowned surgeon, Sam Preston and his son Paxton were driving home on Christmas Day when there was a car accident and a winter storm hit. With his dog Bulleye, Sam found them in a cave, but the team was only able to get Paxton out first. While Ford and Sam waited in the cave, Ford promised Sam that he would tell his wife, Liv how much he loved her. When he misses a certification, he is sent to Sequoia Lake, where the widow and her son have relocated. In the past two years, he has been keeping an eye on them from a distance, but now that they are in the same town, he is drawn to her as much as she is to him. Knowing he is only there for a short time, will Liv allow herself a little fun? Will Ford find that he needs more in his life? Will he tell her that he is the one that rescued her son and was with her husband at the end? Will that end their budding relationship?I read a free ARC from netgalley.com for an honest review. Like most small town stories, there are interesting residents, especially the older ladies, who add much humor to the town. The characters are developed and real. Except for the idea that anyone would schedule major surgery on Christmas, so is the plot. I did not read the first book in the series, but easily read this one as a stand alone.
    more
  • Tara Peters
    July 30, 2017
    I really enjoyed the second book in Ms. Adair's Sequoia Lake series..Olivia and Ford had chemistry right away, but secrets, on his part, and feelings of guilt on her part keep them making decisions that might not be the best for their future What will happen when Ford's secret comes out? Will he tell Olivia or will she find out some other way? Why does she feel guilty? Olivia is a who single mother of a child who is very reserved and doesn't talk.. His grandmother believes that Olivia needs to I really enjoyed the second book in Ms. Adair's Sequoia Lake series..Olivia and Ford had chemistry right away, but secrets, on his part, and feelings of guilt on her part keep them making decisions that might not be the best for their future What will happen when Ford's secret comes out? Will he tell Olivia or will she find out some other way? Why does she feel guilty? Olivia is a who single mother of a child who is very reserved and doesn't talk.. His grandmother believes that Olivia needs to force him to talk. Olivia works a lot, but wants a better position so she can be home with her son more. Since her husband died in a tragic accident, and they were arguing about work at the time, she feels guilty that she finds Ford attractive safe when she is around him. Ford knows that he should stay away from Olivia; he isn't planning on staying in town long and he has a secret. He was there the day her husband died and had to make a horrible decision. The only problem is, he is drawn to her and feels content and calm when around her. They start working together on a project that will hopefully lead to her getting a new position at the hospital. She has never relied on anyone and is hesitant to let him in. When they both decide that they are 'all in', he still hasn't told her his secret. When it comes out, she loves him, but doesn't believe she can trust him anymore. Will Ford be able to find a way to prove that he loves her? Will she let him back in her life? Will Ford and Olivia get their HEA or will Every Little Kiss they shared be the end of their relationship?
    more
  • Kay Pflueger
    July 18, 2017
    Marina Adair has a special knack for writing stories that are filled with emotion and that grab you from the start. This book is no exception. I read the first book in the Sequoia Lake series and loved it so was excited to be able to read an advance copy of this book and share my review.Olivia (Liv) Preston is a single mom trying hard to raise her son Paxton after losing her husband in a car accident. She is living in the small town where her husband grew up and works hard each day as an ER nurs Marina Adair has a special knack for writing stories that are filled with emotion and that grab you from the start. This book is no exception. I read the first book in the Sequoia Lake series and loved it so was excited to be able to read an advance copy of this book and share my review.Olivia (Liv) Preston is a single mom trying hard to raise her son Paxton after losing her husband in a car accident. She is living in the small town where her husband grew up and works hard each day as an ER nurse. Her focus is on her son and helping him deal with losing his father.Ford Jamison is the head of the K-9 search and rescue team in Reno and has been assigned to desk duty in Sequoia Lake as a disciplinary measure for not completing his recertification testing. He has his reasons for not completing the testing and he has ties to the small town but no one knows why but Ford and his supervisor. He struggles with his secret… especially when he realizes how attracted he is to Liv.Liv is working through her grief and is not sure she is ready for a relationship but cannot deny the chemistry she feels for Ford. They take tentative steps forward in their relationship but when his secret is revealed, can their tenuous relationship survive?One character in this book definitely stole my heart…. Bullseye the rescue dog! The scenes with him and his stuffed animals will sure make you smile!This was a heartwarming story of healing and of moving forward. I would recommend it and look forward to the next book.
    more
  • Cheri
    June 30, 2017
    **I received an ARC of this book courtesy of Net Galley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**All the feels! I loved this story. Ford is really the perfect hero. Not that he’s a perfect human but when it comes to heroes he’s just right. Enough flirty aggression to spark the chemistry he has with Liv, but not too much that his soft center doesn’t shine through. Marina Adair does a great job on not just Liv and Ford, but also with Liv’s son Paxton.Actually, the author does a great jo **I received an ARC of this book courtesy of Net Galley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review**All the feels! I loved this story. Ford is really the perfect hero. Not that he’s a perfect human but when it comes to heroes he’s just right. Enough flirty aggression to spark the chemistry he has with Liv, but not too much that his soft center doesn’t shine through. Marina Adair does a great job on not just Liv and Ford, but also with Liv’s son Paxton.Actually, the author does a great job on all of the people in this story. Grief is a funny thing. Everyone handles it differently. To see those differences between Liv, Paxton, and Paxton’s grandmother, as well as Ford, is really something. The way each was dealing with their grief was given such wonderful treatment by the author and really helped the characters come to life.Even with all of the deep emotions this story carries, it’s also a lot of fun. I love that Liv and Ford are often flirting with each other mere seconds after telling themselves they aren’t going to do that any longer. The way Harris messed with Ford also had me laughing. The older ladies in this town are no joke!To put it plainly, this story gave me all the feels. I had warm-fuzzies, joy, pain, heartache, laughter, and love in one book. If you’re aleady a fan of this author you will love this book. If you haven’t read her before and like a touching yet fun romance, check this one out. I am loving this series!4.5 starshttps://allingoodtimeblog.wordpress.c...
    more
Write a review