A Vow of Thorns (Blackest Gold, #3)
Spring 2017WARNING: CLIFFHANGERNever disobey the court.Never disobey the crown.And never tame that vicious heart.In A Vow of Thorns, sacred laws are broken when a beauty holds an iron heart.

A Vow of Thorns (Blackest Gold, #3) Details

TitleA Vow of Thorns (Blackest Gold, #3)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Demons, Suspense, Paranormal Romance, New Adult

A Vow of Thorns (Blackest Gold, #3) Review

  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    May 29, 2017
    A Vow of Thorns is book three in the Blackest Gold series by R. Scarlett. I just finished reading this book five minutes ago. I can’t breathe, my heart is racing and I can hardly put a coherent thought together. Should I wait to write this review so I can calm down? Or should I attempt to convey my thoughts now when it is all fresh? I’m going to try. So here I go!What a ride this series has been. What changes have occurred from the first book until now! Let’s start with Tensley Knight. This part A Vow of Thorns is book three in the Blackest Gold series by R. Scarlett. I just finished reading this book five minutes ago. I can’t breathe, my heart is racing and I can hardly put a coherent thought together. Should I wait to write this review so I can calm down? Or should I attempt to convey my thoughts now when it is all fresh? I’m going to try. So here I go!What a ride this series has been. What changes have occurred from the first book until now! Let’s start with Tensley Knight. This part man, part beast. Tensley is a demon and it is against everything he was raised to be, and all the laws he is ruled by, to feel, to love. When we first met Tensley, he was cold, cruel, unfeeling. But this man. Oh, the beast is still there, but Molly Darling has changed him. His heart has grown. And he has finally accepted his feelings for her. “His fate, his path was to become the cruel, heartless Dux. But his chest warred with him. Be the vicious Dux to honour his family or be - something unacceptable in his culture. A demon too tender too caring.” Tensley was raised to take his father’s place as the Dux, head of the Scorpios. With Molly by his side, who is a daemon, he would be so powerful. In public, he portrays what he is supposed to be, a cold, ruthless ruler. But in private, with his Molly, he is tender, caring, intense and, well, you can fill in the blanks. This man! I highlighted all over the place in this book. Some of the things he said, well, I swooned, more than once. “A beast should never feel such tender things for another. He was doomed.”“A demon didn’t crave the beauty’s heart. But he did.” And Molly Darling, the daemon. Oh how Molly has grown. She is strong and confident and she is in love with Tensley, her demon, her beast. And when Tensley needs her, she is by his side, no matter what. “The man in me wants to be gentle, but the beast in me wants to ravish you. Which one do you want, dolcezza?”“All of you. I want all of you. Please, Tensley.” These two have had a rough road from the start. They are manipulated first by a three hundred year old contract, by their families, and most of all, by Lord Fallen and his laws. It is Lord Fallen that holds their future in his hands. But is even the King of Hell strong enough to go against a demon and his daemon? This book started right in with the very first page and it does not let you go for a second. I could not walk away for long. And the last thirty percent or so, you might as well plan that you won’t be able to stop reading and there can be NO interruptions. It is intense and crazy and heart attack inducing. Poor Tensley and Molly. Just when you think they might get five minutes of happiness, something else happens. And this ending! R. Scarlett is fast becoming the Queen of cliff hangers. Good gosh that ending. I believe there is only going to be one more book to this series, so the torture hopefully won’t be for long, and we can finally see how this all plays out. You must start at the beginning with this series. And buckle up, because you are in for one crazy, wild ride. “He’d be a beggar, he’d be a sinner, he’d be a priest to honor her. He was hers. Completely, utterly hers.”
    more
  • R. Scarlett
    February 3, 2017
    IT'S LIVE ON AMAZON US: http://amzn.to/2pBHcsa She owned that iron heart.
  • Maddie
    June 6, 2017
    You got it Perfect R!!!Well done hon!!!🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 Stars &🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟RTC 💖I just love the images so much I am stealing for inspiration for my reading material https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
  • Elizabeth
    May 25, 2017
    "You won't be alone." A Vow of Thorns is the third book in the Blackest Gold Series. The series must be read in order. This Series is a Paranormal Romance Reader's Paradise as with each book this fantastical world unveils more terror and more passion. As the plot continues to thicken, the fate of Tensely Knight and Molly Darling is left to be determined. "He'd rip their throats out with his teeth. The predators out there had never met the real beast." Tensley and Molly have finally come to an "You won't be alone." A Vow of Thorns is the third book in the Blackest Gold Series. The series must be read in order. This Series is a Paranormal Romance Reader's Paradise as with each book this fantastical world unveils more terror and more passion. As the plot continues to thicken, the fate of Tensely Knight and Molly Darling is left to be determined. "He'd rip their throats out with his teeth. The predators out there had never met the real beast." Tensley and Molly have finally come to an understanding that they are destined to be together. As Molly's emotions continue to build, she battles her desire to give her whole heart to Tensley. Tensley is obviously feeling emotions he has never felt before. However, he knows that if he falls in love with Molly, the penalty is death. Molly has made a terrifying discovery and as she reveals the truth to Tensley, the two are drawn closer together. As the connection between Molly and Tensley becomes indestructible, Knight's family is attacked. He must step up and take his rightful place as protector of his people. However, Fallen wants to bring Tensley and Molly to ruin and will stop at nothing to cause harm to them. As tensions continue to rise, the stakes are high for Molly and Tensley to fight for their love. "Gathered in my hallowed kingdom of our kind, a wedding of my own subject to a rare, dangerous creature..." Told in dual POV, A Vow of Thorns is by far my absolute favorite book in this series. Molly and Tensley have finally found their rightful place with each other, and the passion and tenderness they display are beautiful to bear witness to. Tensley is fiercely passionate about Molly, and the effects of her love have changed him. This world is dangerous and dark, and the plot is constructed in such a way that you don't know who is safe or who to trust. The text is fluid and loaded with description. The secondary characters continue to play a pivotal role in the plot, and I especially enjoyed the darkness of Fallen and his Queen. The characters have become more developed and more complex as the series has progressed. I was quite stunned with the ending, and although I am sure many readers will want to throw their Kindles against the wall, I have complete faith in Ms. Scarlett to safely deliver these characters home. Overall, I highly recommend this series to Paranormal Romance Fans who enjoy action, suspense, and a twisted plot. In this fantastical world, the twists and turns are never ending! I can only hope that the love that Tensley and Molly share will be enough to see them through. ***Blackest Gold Series****ARC graciously provided in exchange for an honest review! For more reviews/reveals/giveaways visit:
    more
  • Natalie The Biblioholic
    June 2, 2017
    It's LIVE & on Blog Tour!! What. The. Actual. Fuzz! R. Scarlett... I don't know whether to hug you or hit you. I'm playing *squeeze* It's just that right now I feel like my heart has been ripped right out of my chest.So cruel.I don't even know how I really feel at the moment. Crazy? Insane? Bewildered? Lost? WTF!!! On the one hand, I absolutely loved Molly in this installment. She held her shite together and was the perfect complement to Tensley. And on the other hand, Tensley wrecked me. I It's LIVE & on Blog Tour!! What. The. Actual. Fuzz! R. Scarlett... I don't know whether to hug you or hit you. I'm playing *squeeze* It's just that right now I feel like my heart has been ripped right out of my chest.So cruel.I don't even know how I really feel at the moment. Crazy? Insane? Bewildered? Lost? WTF!!! On the one hand, I absolutely loved Molly in this installment. She held her shite together and was the perfect complement to Tensley. And on the other hand, Tensley wrecked me. I've adored him from the start and this book served to prove that it was possible to love him more. It also served as a testament to his character's evolution.Sorry. I'm still over here feeling like screaming.I'm not even going to bother mentioning the plot. So much was going on. You just need to read the book. It was tense, exhilarating and exciting. The bond between Molly and Tensley was the strongest it has ever been. They were so solid. The writing was rich, fluid and evocative. I'm over here all crushed and I'm hoping... wishing... praying that the next installment reaches my hands ASAP!!Release Date: June 1, 2017Genre: Paranormal RomancePOV: Dual - 3rd personSteam: 3.5 out of 5Book Type: Book 3 of the Blackest Gold series
    more
  • Cristina | CristiinaReads
    January 29, 2017
    ➳OKAY CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT THE HECK IS THIS ENDING?!?! REBECCA! WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO ME! Okay so... Words cannot describe how freaking incredible this love story was. Not only was there an aspect of suspense that as a reader myself whom likes dark romance, and the mystery of finding out the truth in a story in which not only is the climax the main point of it all, but the plot itself makes me want to rip my hair out and find out for MORE! R. Scarlett has become one of my ultimate favorites ➳OKAY CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHAT THE HECK IS THIS ENDING?!?! REBECCA! WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO ME! Okay so... Words cannot describe how freaking incredible this love story was. Not only was there an aspect of suspense that as a reader myself whom likes dark romance, and the mystery of finding out the truth in a story in which not only is the climax the main point of it all, but the plot itself makes me want to rip my hair out and find out for MORE! R. Scarlett has become one of my ultimate favorites and literally there is nothing more powerful than her words that aspire from this book.The ending was just something that had me just without words... Honestly, how can Rebecca do this to us?!? KEEP US WAITING FOR WHAT IS TO COME?! Where in the world will they go from that ending?! I. NEED. ANSWERS!Overall I really enjoyed this story, and I cannot WAIT for the fourth installment to come out! I really need that happily dark ever after that I am looking for! ➳ARC kindly provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review ➳Follow Me On:Blog ♕ Instagram ♕ Facebook ♕ Twitter
    more
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    May 25, 2017
    I like this cover. The composition is much better with the tagline place above the title. It's very similar to the to book one & two's cover so it adds some nice consistency to the series so far.Mama Mia am I enjoying the hell out of this series. I'll admit I have the attention span of a 2-year-old when it comes to multiple books featuring the same couple. I start to get frustrated and lose interest. And to be 100% honest I DID feel a bit of that when we reached the end of this one. Not the I like this cover. The composition is much better with the tagline place above the title. It's very similar to the to book one & two's cover so it adds some nice consistency to the series so far.Mama Mia am I enjoying the hell out of this series. I'll admit I have the attention span of a 2-year-old when it comes to multiple books featuring the same couple. I start to get frustrated and lose interest. And to be 100% honest I DID feel a bit of that when we reached the end of this one. Not the losing interest part but the frustration part. It seems like for every two steps forward this couple takes we end up three steps back AGAIN. They simply can't seem to catch a break, and it's starting to annoy me.That said even with those frustrations this author has created a world and characters that suck you in and keep you turning the pages and salivating to get your hands on the next book. The writing is fantastic. The pace is non-stop. The characters are well developed. I've been #TeamMolly since the beginning, but Tensley stole the show in this one. He FINALLY got his head out of his ass. I also enjoyed the change of setting that brought a whole new world and characters to the table.So even though my frustration levels are starting to creep up. AND it is a good bet book four is going to be filled with even more angst and drama for this couple; I will be waiting not so patiently to get my greedy little hands on the next one. Two thumbs up from yours truly.
    more
  • Snow
    May 27, 2017
    The third installment could easily be named "the evolution of Tensley Knight" cause the fact that this anti-hero changed completely, from scratch, fighting and winning his inner turmoil and struggles within that we've experienced in previous two books. It escalated into the notion that everything is possible, even for a ruthless cruel, cold blooded demon to grow a heart. You fucking changed me what they feel towards each other goes beyond comprehention, especially for Tensley, Every single m The third installment could easily be named "the evolution of Tensley Knight" cause the fact that this anti-hero changed completely, from scratch, fighting and winning his inner turmoil and struggles within that we've experienced in previous two books. It escalated into the notion that everything is possible, even for a ruthless cruel, cold blooded demon to grow a heart. You fucking changed me what they feel towards each other goes beyond comprehention, especially for Tensley, Every single moment of his life, he had depended on one person only. Himself. Just like his emotions, he didn't allow others to see his pain, to allow them to help him. He'd always survived by himself. But now she was here. but the passion and desire he feels for Molly only sets the inner fire of smth he can't name yet but he's willing to explore and give himself completely "This won't be sweet, dolcezza. I'm going to be brutal, cruel, and ruthless to you tonight. The man in me wants to be gentle, but the beast in me wants to ravish you. Which one do you want, dolcezza?""All of you. I want all of you." when the attack happens on Knight's family, Tensley is bound to take his position as the Dux of Scorpios, but then the dark demon King Fallen comes threatening him about Molly and forces Tensley into a deal - of becoming the High Court's commander of the King's army, and Tensley will do anything to protect her as it is his sacred promise, especially when he finds out that there's another life he's bonded for an eternity. I promised I would never risk you and that I would protect you no matter what, and I will. I'll protect both of you - from the court, from Fallen, from anyone who dares to be a threat."No one-not even the High Court of Fallen himself, comes before you." the stakes are high and the risk of thir secret being exposed brings more tension as they did break the laws of the Court...and now they try to slip it under the radar... I'm betraying my court, my crown, by tying my loyalty to a goddess. Let Hell come. cause when secret devious ploys from Fallen and his evil Queen come to the light, there's no other reslovment for Tensley as his mission is one and only - Molly. He'd fight, he'd devour, he'd kill for his court, his crown, his queen. and before the final resolvement between Tensley and king Fallen, that crucial turnabout of events that will seal their fates, Tensley gives into his emotions in full "I love you with my whole cruel heart. It's wild and ruthelss, but it beats for you and only for you, dolcezza. You've turned a sullen, dark, pitiful heart into a living, pounding beast." but then the unexpected happened, and the odds changed, turning the luck against them, and even with the unimaginable strength he's getting from his loving daemon, the course of action will leave a bitter taste in her mouth...as the dreaded fate that tore Tensley's inner walls, became the cruel reality. The reality Molly now has to face with the looming doom of a different horror, she's not ready to accept... All she saw was the beast. No gleam in those lethal eyes. Molly looked into the eyes of sullen darkness, dead, loveless eyes that hours ago shined. With both, integrated, beautiful, passionate moments, and thrilling, exciting and gripping turmoil of events that end with a huge twist that will leave you gasping in chilling surprise, well more of a shock really, this is a unique fantasy love story of epic proportions, you will not want to miss out on.*still grunting*Fuckity fuck.....that ending...Well shit...I hope you are working on the solutions for this major cluster of events, R Scarlett, cause you know, making me wait for answers is more cruel than this cliffy...lol***ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • Sissy's Romance Book Review
    May 25, 2017
    ' A Vow of Thorns' by R. Scarlett is book Three in the 'Blackest Gold' series. This continues the story of Tensely and Molly. I do feel strongly that you have to have read the other books to fully enjoy this one. There is also another cliffhanger that leads into the next book in this series. In this book Tensely finally goes with his feelings and knows that Molly is his life. I like how he was 'stepping up to the plate' in this book. Molly too was stronger in the book and shown how much she has ' A Vow of Thorns' by R. Scarlett is book Three in the 'Blackest Gold' series. This continues the story of Tensely and Molly. I do feel strongly that you have to have read the other books to fully enjoy this one. There is also another cliffhanger that leads into the next book in this series. In this book Tensely finally goes with his feelings and knows that Molly is his life. I like how he was 'stepping up to the plate' in this book. Molly too was stronger in the book and shown how much she has grown since knowing Tensely. Although they are still not catching a break and having to deal with strong issues with crown and the court more so in this book. This book does have allot more drama because of the issue they are face with the crown. But with that said, they are getting in some together time and showing everyone that they are a team. Overall this is such a great series and I can't wait for the next installment!!! "My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."https://www.amazon.com/gp/profile/A2H...https://www.facebook.com/RomanceBookR...https://www.facebook.com/groups/17091...https://twitter.com/soapsrus68https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1... http://sissymaereads.blogspot.com/ https://romancebookreviewforyou.wordp...http://booklikes.com/blog https://www.tumblr.com/blog/romancebo...https://plus.google.com/+SissyHickshttps://www.pinterest.com/u2soapsrus/
    more
  • Paige
    May 18, 2017
    5+ "Black Soul" StarsVows. Greed. Soul destroying LOVE. I am speechless. One of the BEST books I've read this year and this series just keeps getting better. A Vow of Thorns picks up where Body of the Crime left off. Tensely and Molly are trying to keep themselves safe and not fall prey to the evil plans of those that wish to take Tensely's legacy. But as Molly fully comes into her own, she's right by Tensely's side and will not let him fight alone. They're in it together until the end. But wit 5+ "Black Soul" StarsVows. Greed. Soul destroying LOVE. I am speechless. One of the BEST books I've read this year and this series just keeps getting better. A Vow of Thorns picks up where Body of the Crime left off. Tensely and Molly are trying to keep themselves safe and not fall prey to the evil plans of those that wish to take Tensely's legacy. But as Molly fully comes into her own, she's right by Tensely's side and will not let him fight alone. They're in it together until the end. But with the crown is conspiraring against them, the court at odds with them, and hearts unable to show love, Molly and Tensely only have each other. This story consumed me from the very beginning until the bitter end. My heart raced, my palms shook and my Kindle caught fire with the heat these two generated together. And the SWOON. So much. Swoon. Then that ending. I'm still reeling and absolutely desperate for the rest of their story. This book was unputdownable and continues to prove that The Blackest Gold series is prime PNR. Provided for honest review.
    more
  • Jen
    June 23, 2017
    O.M.G!! I can't believe what I just read! My heart has been ripped out!A Vow of Thorns has just gone on my favorite books list of the books that I've read so far this year. Rebecca Scarlett has such a way of luring you in and making you fall hook, line and sinker in love with this story and these characters. I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! There's not much that I can say without giving anything away and this is a story that you don't want anyone to ruin for you. I can say that I love Tensley a O.M.G!! I can't believe what I just read! My heart has been ripped out!A Vow of Thorns has just gone on my favorite books list of the books that I've read so far this year. Rebecca Scarlett has such a way of luring you in and making you fall hook, line and sinker in love with this story and these characters. I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT! There's not much that I can say without giving anything away and this is a story that you don't want anyone to ruin for you. I can say that I love Tensley and Molly together. It seems like every time they turn around something or someone is threatening to tear them apart, but they are only growing stronger, both separately and together. I will say that these books must be read in order. Each book picks up where the other left off and Ms. Scarlett keeps upping the ante by making each cliffhanger bigger than the last. I'm dying for the next book!! I hope we don't have to wait too long to find out what happens next. Seriously, if you like PNR then give this series a chance! It's soooo good!
    more
  • Lillian ᴥ Cloud 9 Books
    June 1, 2017
    ***** 4.5 Stars *****Cannot be read as a standalone.My goodness.... This book is incredibly good! A Vow of Thorns is so far my favorite in the series. Tensley and Molly are now up against Fallen, the king of all demons. And these two come together beautifully to get out of an impossible situation. I think one of the reasons why I love this book better than all the others is because of the transformation of the characters. Molly isn't fighting the attraction and she learns to put her trust in Ten ***** 4.5 Stars *****Cannot be read as a standalone.My goodness.... This book is incredibly good! A Vow of Thorns is so far my favorite in the series. Tensley and Molly are now up against Fallen, the king of all demons. And these two come together beautifully to get out of an impossible situation. I think one of the reasons why I love this book better than all the others is because of the transformation of the characters. Molly isn't fighting the attraction and she learns to put her trust in Tensley. And Tensley is much more supportive and attentive than we've seen in previous books. If I compare them from how they were like in book 1, they seem like totally different characters. But even though it felt like the personality changes weren't fluid, I thoroughly enjoyed this ride and I can't wait to read the next book!
    more
  • RentasticReads
    June 11, 2017
    Oh. My. Lord. You have got to be kidding me!!! How can it end like that? How will I ever recover from this? Noooooo. No no no. MY HEART IS BLEEDING. I think I stared at that last page, on those last few lines for several more minutes, in denial that it was already the end of A Vow of Thorns. I stared stupidly, wishing for more chapters to magically appear! I feel completely and pathetically BROKEN. R. Scarlett—congratulations, you just freaking broke me. I think I left my shattered heart on the Oh. My. Lord. You have got to be kidding me!!! How can it end like that? How will I ever recover from this? Noooooo. No no no. MY HEART IS BLEEDING. I think I stared at that last page, on those last few lines for several more minutes, in denial that it was already the end of A Vow of Thorns. I stared stupidly, wishing for more chapters to magically appear! I feel completely and pathetically BROKEN. R. Scarlett—congratulations, you just freaking broke me. I think I left my shattered heart on the same damn floor Molly was standing on at that last page. I can't. My heart won't ever be the same. Please tell me the fourth book is coming soon? PLEASE. I won't be able to endure this kind of pain and torture for long. I freaking HURT ALL OVER. “You’re my court. You’re my crown. You’re my queen.” I LOVE Tensley Knight with all my heart and soul—head to toe, inside and out. He made me fall incredibly deeper and deeper for the man and the beast he was, most especially in this book, and I couldn't imagine just how much more that could happen with the next one. The way he was with his dolcezza here, his Molly Darling, you'd be a massive fool not to melt under every word he utters and every action he makes to do what he can to protect his woman. We definitely see a very different side to Tensley here and hell, was it a damn sight to behold. Steel black heart and all. R. Scarlett has successfully toyed with my emotions, diving into the third book of the Blackest Gold series. It was so exceptionally good and packed FULL OF FEELS. And just in case you missed me mentioning it the first time, I died about a million deaths with that ending. I want to rip my hair out and cry right now. That was an utterly cruel and brutal cliffhanger, but it was worth it. All of it. I'd go through it a thousand times more if it means I get to experience Tensley and Molly on this stage of their relationship all over again. The Blackest Gold series has shot up and earned a spot as one of the BEST paranormal romances I've ever read when I finished Body of the Crime, but this... this just resealed the freaking deal. Hands down. And saying this feels like the biggest understatement of the year, but seriously, every book just gets better and better. It will always and forever be one of my ultimate favorites. Molly and Tensley has managed to embed themselves in the deepest, darkest recesses of my soul and have my heart viciously chained to them with a death grip. I'm in love with the demon and the daemon, and their story. And without any hesitations at all, I'm bowing down to you, R. Scarlett. That was fucking SUPERB.
    more
  • Mg Herrera
    May 31, 2017
    You know those books that make you put them down just to say "are you fucking kidding me" out loud to your dog, the only one who's there to hear my rants at 3:00 am. Well, this is one of those books. After falling completely in love with Molly and Tensley Knight in Body of the Crime, I am no longer surprised by how easily R. Scarlett pulls me in with her storytelling. Fantasy, action, suspense, and a swoon-worthy romance–this book has it all.A Vow of Thorns set the bar high and shattered it, tak You know those books that make you put them down just to say "are you fucking kidding me" out loud to your dog, the only one who's there to hear my rants at 3:00 am. Well, this is one of those books. After falling completely in love with Molly and Tensley Knight in Body of the Crime, I am no longer surprised by how easily R. Scarlett pulls me in with her storytelling. Fantasy, action, suspense, and a swoon-worthy romance–this book has it all.A Vow of Thorns set the bar high and shattered it, taking me on a journey packed with so much iron-lion heart, and breathlessly heartbreaking moments. R. Scarlett explores passion, fate, and love. She proved us that even the most dangerous beast is capable of love. Without giving anything away, expect to experience all kinds of feelings with this story. And if you haven't started this series, do yourself a favor and go one-click the shit out of these books.I'm definitely re-reading A Vow of Thorns and the previous ones until I can get my greedy hands on the next book because when you find a series this perfect, you hope it never ends.You can find me here: FB PAGE | INSTAGRAM
    more
  • mells_view
    May 28, 2017
    Well that just happened.Tensely & Molly definitely turn up the heat in book three of this four part series! This book picks up close to where we last left off. With Molly away in Paris for her internship, and Tensley trying to keep Fallen off of her scent and the Scorpios alive and in charge.So many things happen in this book, but I don't want to ruin it, so I'm going to keep it on the down low. What I will say is this is another incredibly well written installment where R. Scarlett throws Well that just happened.Tensely & Molly definitely turn up the heat in book three of this four part series! This book picks up close to where we last left off. With Molly away in Paris for her internship, and Tensley trying to keep Fallen off of her scent and the Scorpios alive and in charge.So many things happen in this book, but I don't want to ruin it, so I'm going to keep it on the down low. What I will say is this is another incredibly well written installment where R. Scarlett throws us into the beautiful yet dark world of demons and daemons. The way she writes this story I can almost FEEL myself in the setting and feeling what the characters feel.If you haven't read books one and two, then you need to get started right now. If you've read them... what are you waiting for? Download this baby and gobble it up! If you need someone to cry to after you've read it... I'm here. I'm here.*first reactions*(Insert shocked emoji face right here)I don't even know what to say.(Insert zipper emoji face right here)This may literally be a first.(Insert thinking emoji face right here)Review to come.(Insert heart emoji right here)
    more
  • Sarah (Words With Sarah)
    April 23, 2017
    YA'LL AREN'T READY FOR THIS BOOK! BUT YOU NEED TO BE SO WE CAN FANGIRL AND HOLD EACH OTHER! TENSLEY <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3
  • Morelia (Strandedinbooks)
    June 7, 2017
    I AM SHOOK AF.Please give me an eternity to process these thoughts and emotions. It's been a while since a book has left me utterly speechless but oh my god. This one had everything!!! It was fast-paced, it was exhilarating, and that ending?! I wasn't ready!Like seriously, the words don't come to me as I type. I didn't expect anything this book gave me and yet I ate it up like it was the last book I would get to read!I have already fallen DEEPLY in love with these characters and it's no surprise I AM SHOOK AF.Please give me an eternity to process these thoughts and emotions. It's been a while since a book has left me utterly speechless but oh my god. This one had everything!!! It was fast-paced, it was exhilarating, and that ending?! I wasn't ready!Like seriously, the words don't come to me as I type. I didn't expect anything this book gave me and yet I ate it up like it was the last book I would get to read!I have already fallen DEEPLY in love with these characters and it's no surprise I still get giddy when Tensley and Molly are just their usual fierce and cute selves. I enjoyed them a lot more in this third installment and I think it had to do with how fiercely they stand by one another. This couple has grown immensely and they're much more mature now. I just love them! *sigh*Similarly to the other books previously, this one kept me at the edge of my seat. HOWEVER, Tensley and Molly had a whole ton more to lose in this one and BOY, you need to prep yourself for this one.Just when I thought I had it all figured out. Just when I thought I'd wiped away the tears...I AM GUTTED. But in the best way possible!It is stories like these that make me fall in love with books! The fact that I was screaming at my kindle the entire time? Not many authors give that effect!I'm gonna need at least three more books after this because I have no clue what's going to happen next. OH GOD, AM I EVEN READY?!If you're looking for a hot and beastly paranormal romance with a hot and beastly man, a few sacred secrets, a whole lot of swoon, but also a whole lot of pulling out your hair in agony, then this is your book!
    more
  • Fathima
    June 7, 2017
    HOLY FREAKIN SHIT !!!!!Ohmyohmyohmyohmyohmy...... ** Freaking out here ** I don't know how the story is going to progress from here out , but that cliffhanger was B-R-U-T-A-L ... I mean wow ... R.Scarlett definitely didn't hold back any punches in this story .. The first two books looked like preludes in comparison to what happens in this exciting follow up . The world building is fantastic , the characters are intriguing ( even if they were the bad guys ) and I don't think I need to say this HOLY FREAKIN SHIT !!!!!Ohmyohmyohmyohmyohmy...... ** Freaking out here ** I don't know how the story is going to progress from here out , but that cliffhanger was B-R-U-T-A-L ... I mean wow ... R.Scarlett definitely didn't hold back any punches in this story .. The first two books looked like preludes in comparison to what happens in this exciting follow up . The world building is fantastic , the characters are intriguing ( even if they were the bad guys ) and I don't think I need to say this but Tensley and Molly are amaaaaaaaaaaaazing ! Their chemistry , their passion , their love and their loyalty to each other , with each other is beyond anything and everything !!!Cannot wait for the next book in the series which also happens to be the last book .. Oh goodness , my heart just can't take it !
    more
  • Julia Valentine
    May 26, 2017
    Maybe when I'm in a better state of mind I can give A Vow Of Thorns the review it rightfully deserves because let me tell you this is one hell of a fkn book..I am absolutely blown away but I was just dropped kicked with a cliffhanger that's making me want to throw myself off a bridge..shiiiiiiiit!!!!!!! Like I can't even deal with life right now....ughhhh!! With that being said though....this book is hands down THEEEE best I've read so far in 2017. Thank you so much to R Scarlett for providing m Maybe when I'm in a better state of mind I can give A Vow Of Thorns the review it rightfully deserves because let me tell you this is one hell of a fkn book..I am absolutely blown away but I was just dropped kicked with a cliffhanger that's making me want to throw myself off a bridge..shiiiiiiiit!!!!!!! Like I can't even deal with life right now....ughhhh!! With that being said though....this book is hands down THEEEE best I've read so far in 2017. Thank you so much to R Scarlett for providing me with this awesome book!!
    more
  • Vanessa (nessreads)
    May 27, 2017
    *ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review*Endless "I gave my heart to Tensley Knight, and he can do with it what he wants" Stars!!!!!"Their bodies meshed together in a fury of rage and beauty, the beast taking the angel, the darkness consuming the light, and all blended into one chaotic beauty."After I finished 'A Vow of Thorns' all I wanted to do was curl into a ball and rock myself to sleep. My emotions were on overdrive, and I just couldn't deal with how I was feeling. Not even a *ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review*Endless "I gave my heart to Tensley Knight, and he can do with it what he wants" Stars!!!!!"Their bodies meshed together in a fury of rage and beauty, the beast taking the angel, the darkness consuming the light, and all blended into one chaotic beauty."After I finished 'A Vow of Thorns' all I wanted to do was curl into a ball and rock myself to sleep. My emotions were on overdrive, and I just couldn't deal with how I was feeling. Not even a whole day has passed and I'm still an emotional wreck. And I know it's just the beginning, and I'm afraid it's only going to get worse. When I think about the story and the characters, I get this sinking feeling in my heart and I relive those heart pounding and breathless moments. There's one particular part in the book where the tears wouldn't stop from falling. Where the ache in my chest was so crushing that it was hard to catch my breath. I just wanted to be held. And for somebody, anybody to tell me it was ok, and that it's just a book and it's not real. But you know what? It IS real, when a writer with this kind of writing can bring out these emotions in you it is so fucking real! As you can tell, I'm not giving anything away. Are you kidding me? That would be a total injustice on my part. The reader, you, deserve every bit of the experience when reading this book. To feel those hair-pulling, chills over your body, "what the hell?", heart in your mouth moments. This book deserves to be savored, but at the same time also devoured. Honestly, this book just needs to be read.Tensley. TENSLEY MOTHER-EFFING KNIGHT, I bow to thee. That demon, beast, and man owned every part of me. He could break every single bone in my body and I wouldn't care, just as long as his hands were on me. I didn't think it was possible to love Tensley more, but this book made me fall harder and so deeply more in love with the him. And there is certainly no going back, ha, like I even want to. I don't know how many times or in how many languages to say it, but you guys NEED to read these books!!! I'm not kidding, you won't be disappointed. You're really doing yourselves a disservice by not meeting Tensley Knight. I'm just saying, you want to meet the amazingness that is Tensley, trust. R, I don't know how you do it, but with every book you write in this series, it just gets better and better. You create a world I get lost in and don't want to leave. A world I so badly want to be a part of and a beast I wish was real. Two words: TENSLEY! KNIGHT! 😍🔥😍🔥😍🔥 I can't thank you enough for the perfection that Tensley is. I desperately NEED the fourth book, like yesterday. I am dying to know what happens next. But until then, I'll just re-read the three books over and over and over again. 😘
    more
  • Nadine Hook Me Up Book Blog
    June 19, 2017
    ** 3-book review to come **
  • The Romance Rebels ~ Julia
    March 11, 2017
    ***6 Heart-Wrenching Stars*** "If I had a heart, " he whispered darkly, her piercing eyes finding his in the heavy fog of desire and heat, " it'd be yours." I'm writing my review as tears fall down my cheeks. My heart has shattered into a million pieces, I feel empty inside. It hurts to breathe as I comprehend what went down in the last few chapters. The Blackest Gold series is by far my all time favorite PNR reads to date! Tensely and Molly's story is so beautiful, heart-wrenching, and simp ***6 Heart-Wrenching Stars*** "If I had a heart, " he whispered darkly, her piercing eyes finding his in the heavy fog of desire and heat, " it'd be yours." I'm writing my review as tears fall down my cheeks. My heart has shattered into a million pieces, I feel empty inside. It hurts to breathe as I comprehend what went down in the last few chapters. The Blackest Gold series is by far my all time favorite PNR reads to date! Tensely and Molly's story is so beautiful, heart-wrenching, and simply to die for. A Vow of Thorns begins right where Body of the Crime ended. Tensely and Molly are in grave danger, and will do just about anything to keep each-other safe, by any means necessary. No one is on their side, and they that find out the hard way. Everyone is out for themselves, fighting for the crown. Tensely and Molly's world gets turned upside down with an unexpected surprise, one that could get them both killed. It's the battle of the ages, tension is thick. Nobody can be trusted. Keep your friends close but enemies closer seems rather fit for this story. There can only be one king........Will Tensely and Molly be able to make it out alive, in this wicked game?Read to find out. "I took an angel by the teeth," he hissed, baring his bloodstained teeth. "and I'd do it again."
    more
  • bookish_affair
    June 2, 2017
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 6++++ Molten stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐I don't know what to say this book shut me up !!!I am in a place where I'm still shocked to write a review I need words and this story has made me speechless ...But you need to write it when you want to express that undying love inside your heart for the book that touches deep within.That cliffhanger that was like mother of all the cliffhanger You will feel like everything's figured out but then Bam!! Game's changed because what you see is not what it always is .... ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 6++++ Molten stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐I don't know what to say this book shut me up !!!I am in a place where I'm still shocked to write a review I need words and this story has made me speechless ...But you need to write it when you want to express that undying love inside your heart for the book that touches deep within.That cliffhanger that was like mother of all the cliffhanger You will feel like everything's figured​ out but then Bam!! Game's changed because what you see is not what it always is ....This is that type of book which will always be with me...As I love the paranormal World R Scarlett created beauty she created a garden where you would love to touch the thorns the smell and the captivating blooms would capture you just by a glance.You will await for the beauty this garden will show you as you see there are flaws so many that the beauty covers it....This beauty is Molly Darling and the flaw that's​ hiding is Our Dear Tensley Knight who's hiding because an emotion would kill him would kill anything that the demon should never show as it is considered a weakness.Molly and her Beast Tensley is a story of a true Enigma. Their bind their chemistry is like a hell fire which will burn everything within it's path.Their love for each other was so much but they didn't tell that to each other. It was showed in the way they were fighting in this demon world so as to emerge from the evil grounds that's when their deep, pure and unbridled love is shown, they glowed as bright as the sun when they were together a force to be reckoned with.My love for Tensley and Molly has just doubled no tripled to so much more...The way they grew, their love powered and wielded and made them strong.Guess what there's a but there's always a but included in a story..There are twist, there are people who would stand on the lines just to watch you burn...Just to destroy that love which is still growing..Now,The Best Thing in this Book is Tensley,Tensley.... Tensley..... that man I thought he was the beast I loved so much but in A Vow of thorns he showed so much you get to see a different side of Tensley and now I can do anything for this Character ANYTHING!!His love his adoration towards Molly being a cruel demon was soooo pure he loved her, rejoiced her, craved her like the drug which made it so sweet to read.Tensley is the man you would want to miss.His character is still the best because seeing that demonic angel fall for his queen and would do anything for her and watching him do those things it was amazing a breath of fresh air.A glimpse of beauty was shown in the demon, He had captured an Angel and was enchanted by her beauty, her strong will and power he was captured in the thing called Love. Also seeing him in love he was looking a Beautiful Angel Demon which had both beauty and beast within him.The cruel man had so much deep within him and in this book R Scarlett showed us some best and deep parts of Tensley.When you will read him you will live him, breath him and inhale all and everything that devilish demonic Tensley Knight is.Also, Molly that women had come so far from the meek scared girl. She was his dolcezza who powered him made him strong.One of the most evolving character in the whole journey of The Blackest Gold Series. Who became a warrior, a fighter she was becoming a she devil, A Daemon so powerful who would crush anyone in a single glance if they cross her path.She was the actual kitten with claws, a lioness who roared when she was with his lion, his king.This time she wasn't fighting in the parts of the real world the underworld was risen and she has to conquer it if She wants Tensley her King Her beast...It is a modern fairytale where the beauty and her beast were thrown in the dirty game of politics love, lust and a hunger for power.There's only one king who could rule the kingdom with his queen by his side because if they cant survive then all hell will breaks loose , the chaos of storm in this demon world would rip off and trample everything on it's path.This time there was so much dark secrets revealed at each and every page of this book that you can't leave the book without finishing it.I'm so Gratefull to read this story,To get to know these character..Nothing but High Praise to The queen R Scarlett.;)R Scarlett didn't gave me just a fictional story she created a true form of world for me which was so alluring it's like you never want to leave this world.So,There's nothing left but to wait and watch the outcomes of this demonic world,We have to see that will the queen get her king ?Will their story have a happy ending??The pawns are placed, the stakes are high,The game has begun and the clock is ticking,Time has come to reveal the truth to see the future and to watch if the love will conquer or will it be wilted in the ashes of this demonic world......
    more
  • ExcessLove
    June 30, 2017
    WHY DID I FLY THROUGH THESE BOOKS LIKE THIS?!Now I have to wait until August?!?! I am creating alarms and marking my calendar like crazy because as soon as August 1st hits I know the first book I'm reading!! THIS BOOK THIS BOOK. Ms.Scarlett you have outdone yourself. This book has me at the edge of my seat like no other. AND DON'T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON MOLLY AND TENSLEY. Explain to me how they go from steamy to volcanic in 3.5 seconds?! How they go from 0-60.. actually let's be honest they're n WHY DID I FLY THROUGH THESE BOOKS LIKE THIS?!Now I have to wait until August?!?! I am creating alarms and marking my calendar like crazy because as soon as August 1st hits I know the first book I'm reading!! THIS BOOK THIS BOOK. Ms.Scarlett you have outdone yourself. This book has me at the edge of my seat like no other. AND DON'T EVEN GET ME STARTED ON MOLLY AND TENSLEY. Explain to me how they go from steamy to volcanic in 3.5 seconds?! How they go from 0-60.. actually let's be honest they're never at 0 lol. The fierceness, devotion, trust, and all around bad-assness of this couple makes me want to strut my stuff listening to this power playlist and shine bright like a diamond. I just finished and I need it to be August 1st like.... yesterday. Another plus and cannot wait to see Molly tame the beast. -insert uncontrollable excitement here-
    more
  • Michelle Silva
    June 4, 2017
    What can I say I did not see it coming!! Thus was the best so far still in shock can't wait fir the next!!
  • Marjorie - FOAB
    April 23, 2017
    READ. THIS. BOOK.
  • Yvette (Booksandbandanas)
    April 23, 2017
    I am so in love with this story, this series, just everything. But most importantly, with Tensely. Review to come. LOVED It! Ahhh.
  • Ashley Banks
    May 26, 2017
    Holy book hangover!! Loved this series from the beginning but this book was the best one yet!! The ending omg omg didn't see it coming at all. If you haven't started this series you need to asap!!
  • Sarah (Words With Sarah)
    June 3, 2017
    R. Scarlett slays again! With the third installment in her Blackest Gold series Tensley and Molly face their toughest trials yet. Not only do they have to worry about what was revealed at the end of book two but they have to do all while guarding their hearts in Fallen's Kingdom.You know Fallen, right? The leader of the demons and is basically evil incarnate. Yeah, him. The one who has a rule against demons loving and growing a heart. Things aren't looking good for our two lovers, Molly and Tens R. Scarlett slays again! With the third installment in her Blackest Gold series Tensley and Molly face their toughest trials yet. Not only do they have to worry about what was revealed at the end of book two but they have to do all while guarding their hearts in Fallen's Kingdom.You know Fallen, right? The leader of the demons and is basically evil incarnate. Yeah, him. The one who has a rule against demons loving and growing a heart. Things aren't looking good for our two lovers, Molly and Tensley. Yet they don't let that stop them from being adorable and snarky and just all around two of my favorite characters.Molly and Tensley really come into their own in this book. If book two was Molly finding her voice in this new world, book three was Tensley and Molly working together to keep each other safe and find a place in their hearts...or in Tensley's case, if he had one.With each installment R. Scarlett blows me away, her writing, her words, her world, her books they just keep getting better and better. Book two blew me away but this book took me to the sky. All the twists, all the turns, all the fucking revelations and secrets. Readers get taken deeper into the Blackest Gold world, farther into demon culture and how the inner politics work. But just like the other books this story is sexy, fast paced, and alluring. Dark and mysterious with beautiful touches of romance.Just be careful, this book will leave you in tears, clutching the book or kindle to your chest, looking for ways to get book four faster. The ending might be painful but it's so impactful, so moving, and contains all the possibilities. Besides, would it be an R. Scarlett book if she didn't leave us wanting more and forming theories? I don't think so.I think I say this every review of this series, but PNR is my first love  and a genre I will always hold close to my little black heart and this series, by far, is at the very top of my list. I just can't get enough of it!This review was originally posted on Words With Sarah
    more
  • Erin Dugat
    June 2, 2017
    That was one hell of an ending!! One of my friends called me Saturday (5/27/17) and told me I NEEDED to read this series. She had just finished book 1 and in the middle of book 2 (and had a ARC for this one); normally we text but this series she was loving to much that she had to call to convey how much she loved this series! And I have to agree because I do not regret putting other books on hold to pick these up! I even convinced my sister to read them! The book picks up with Tensley and Moll That was one hell of an ending!! One of my friends called me Saturday (5/27/17) and told me I NEEDED to read this series. She had just finished book 1 and in the middle of book 2 (and had a ARC for this one); normally we text but this series she was loving to much that she had to call to convey how much she loved this series! And I have to agree because I do not regret putting other books on hold to pick these up! I even convinced my sister to read them! The book picks up with Tensley and Molly has been in Paris for about three weeks. Book 2 ended with a bit of tension but the separation definitely creates longing between them. It's funny to see read how they react with they finally get back together because the reader can feel the love between them, even if they can't express their feelings. You see a different side of several of the characters and lots of new characters are finally getting some face time especially since Tensley and Molly spend the majority of the book at high court. Everyone has an agenda either involving using Molly's power or Tensley to win the crown for them. Mostly I noticed the cruelty of how the High Class demons treat those that are lesser. I think that will come to bite them in the ass later because while Tensley can be cold, he definitely isn't cruel. Tensley starts to develop relationships with the soldiers of the King and while he is feared, he is respected too. Staying in High Court, changes the direction of the book from what I expected. Not in a bad way but Tensley and Molly start to work together and the foundation of trust is very firm. I love getting to see him sweet with her and finally admit his feelings even if he doesn't actually say the words. I can't really say I was super shocked about how the book ended because I had a feeling this would happen and Molly being a daemon will somehow play a role in (view spoiler)[ growing a heart back (hide spoiler)] getting back what they lost. I can't wait for the next book and to see what more is in store for Tensley and Molly! I would HIGHLY recommend this series if you like paranormal because this is one you don't want to miss!
    more
Write a review