Last Gentleman Standing
"A fabulous romance with wonderful characters... I couldn't put this book down." ―Night Owl Reviews, Reviewer Top Pick for Heir to the DukeA fortune hunter's dream...Miss Elisabeth Elham is an unlikely heiress. She never knew the curmudgeonly uncle who died suddenly and left her a fortune. She's proud, outspoken and independent―a definite challenge for London's fortune hunting suitors.As various determined gentlemen vie for her attention at balls, routs, picnics and parties, Elisabeth finds herself embroiled with a charming rake, a mysterious nabob, and an elegant neighbor. This would all be great fun, if only she wasn't so fascinated by the one man in London who's not trying to woo her...Originally titled Bluestocking, this story has been unavailable for over 25 years.

Last Gentleman Standing Details

TitleLast Gentleman Standing
Author
ReleaseSep 5th, 2017
PublisherSourcebooks Casablanca
ISBN-139781492655275
Rating
GenreRomance, Historical, Regency, Historical Fiction, Historical Romance, European Literature, British Literature

Last Gentleman Standing Review

  • Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    Nothing is more satisfying than delving into a regency romance and being swept away by the witty dialogue and phrases of good period writing. Last Gentleman Standing is a superbly written story of a young woman who gets an inheritance from her uncle and becomes an heiress. Elisabeth Elham gathers her cousins for company and one as a companion, and set out restoring her residences, while she deals with being sought out as the newest in society. Before she knows it she has the attention of not one Nothing is more satisfying than delving into a regency romance and being swept away by the witty dialogue and phrases of good period writing. Last Gentleman Standing is a superbly written story of a young woman who gets an inheritance from her uncle and becomes an heiress. Elisabeth Elham gathers her cousins for company and one as a companion, and set out restoring her residences, while she deals with being sought out as the newest in society. Before she knows it she has the attention of not one but 3 gentleman pursuing her. Never thinking that she would find love, she is caught off guard when she believes she found someone to love after all. Elisabeth has a good head on her shoulder and it shows when she nicely navigates her encounters with each of the gentleman pursuing her. With each new acquaintance she meets the story develops into a mystery because people are not what they seem to portray. The secondary characters complement the story well and make it quite entertaining. Throw in a little danger and it was an absolute captivating story. Fans of regency romance will absolute enjoy this story.Review copy provided for a voluntary review.
    more
  • Barbara Rogers
    January 1, 1970
    Series: Stand AlonePublication Date: 9/5/17This was such a fun, delightfully entertaining story filled with wonderful robust characters. One of my favorite characters is Aunt Lavinia – she is absolutely priceless. She acts like she’s not all there, but she really is – and she constantly uses malapropisms – for instance, she says “I was living as cheaply as possible at a reverential hotel on the seacoast.” It was such a fun read that I could hardly put it down.This is a clean read, so if you are Series: Stand AlonePublication Date: 9/5/17This was such a fun, delightfully entertaining story filled with wonderful robust characters. One of my favorite characters is Aunt Lavinia – she is absolutely priceless. She acts like she’s not all there, but she really is – and she constantly uses malapropisms – for instance, she says “I was living as cheaply as possible at a reverential hotel on the seacoast.” It was such a fun read that I could hardly put it down.This is a clean read, so if you are looking for steam, this book isn’t for you. Sadly, the hero and heroine don’t even utter an “I love you”. I did like that the story took place over a long period of time so that there was time to feel that the hero and heroine to come to love each other.Miss Elisabeth Elham inherits the entire estate of her mean, hateful, miserly, curmudgeon of an uncle. She’s never spoken to or met her uncle but her father had assured her that he wasn’t anybody she’d want to know. So, she was shocked to learn of the inheritance, but pretty quickly came to grips with it. Her first order of business was to contact her cousins, Tony and Belinda and bring them to live with her so they can share the good fortune. Elisabeth is very smart, independent and outspoken. Usually, if she thinks it – she says it. Therefore she is totally unlike any of the other young ladies in London and many of the gentlemen admire her for that. Derek, son and heir of a Viscount, has never had any desire to marry because the simpering misses in London just make him shudder. However, when he meets frank, unguarded and outspoken Elisabeth, he is immediately attracted. Derek is not only handsome, but he’s honorable and honest as well. Lord James Darnell is the only loose end that left me sad. If it were a series of books, I’d think he’d get his own book and HEA, but since it is a standalone book, I feel sad and unfinished for him. Yes, he is a fortune hunter, but it isn’t his fault and he fell in love with Elisabeth – and well – I didn’t want him to just go away. I wanted him to find happiness – somewhere away from his mother.The villain is still a mystery to me. We never really learned his background other than he lost his money on a plantation. Then, there was stuff about his first wife – did he murder her or not. Her family says yes and he says no. I just never felt I understood enough about him. However – he was the villain."I requested and received this book at no cost to me and volunteered to read it; my review is my honest opinion and given without any influence by the author or publisher."
    more
  • Joann Maggio
    January 1, 1970
    Last Gentleman Standing ⭐⭐⭐by Jane AshfordElisabeth Elham became an heiress overnight. She inherited from a recluse wealthy uncle and changed her life forever. She left her teaching position in a young ladies finishing school to fulfill her commitment as a new heiress. First on her agenda was to have her orphaned cousins and a distant aunt move in with her. Next, her mission was to improve the neglected estates.Taking on this new role was a challenge she truly was not prepared to fulfill. Her in Last Gentleman Standing ⭐️⭐️⭐️by Jane AshfordElisabeth Elham became an heiress overnight. She inherited from a recluse wealthy uncle and changed her life forever. She left her teaching position in a young ladies finishing school to fulfill her commitment as a new heiress. First on her agenda was to have her orphaned cousins and a distant aunt move in with her. Next, her mission was to improve the neglected estates.Taking on this new role was a challenge she truly was not prepared to fulfill. Her introduction into the ton was an eye opener and she saw many bachelors anxious to get their hands on her fortune.She accidentally meets her nearby neighbors Derek Wincannon a confirmed bachelor. Elisabeth herself did not think she would ever marry and she found this friendship quite to her liking.I did like this book. I enjoyed the mystery surrounding Mr. Jarrett and some of the peripheral characters. I was, however, not content with the lack of enthusiasm on the part of Derek. He failed to show any romantic emotions and seemed a bit flat. Elisabeth seemed quite the warm character, she cared for him but again failed to show how much she was attracted to him. I really needed to see more affection between them. I consider this book well written but a bit lacking for a romance. I was given this book from Netgalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Caitlyn Lynch
    January 1, 1970
    Last Gentleman Standing was originally published as Bluestocking in 1980. Knowing that, I'm inclined to be a little more forgiving of the few minor things that bothered me about this book (things like the protagonist being referred to as 'the girl' in speech tags and such).Elisabeth Elham is a delightful heroine for any era. Raised poor but genteel, she is teaching at a private seminary for young ladies when a solicitor tracks her down and informs her that she is the sole heir of her wealthy, cu Last Gentleman Standing was originally published as Bluestocking in 1980. Knowing that, I'm inclined to be a little more forgiving of the few minor things that bothered me about this book (things like the protagonist being referred to as 'the girl' in speech tags and such).Elisabeth Elham is a delightful heroine for any era. Raised poor but genteel, she is teaching at a private seminary for young ladies when a solicitor tracks her down and informs her that she is the sole heir of her wealthy, curmudgeonly uncle.I thought, as I read the book, that what happened to Elisabeth must be rather like winning the lottery today. With your life suddenly transformed by enormous wealth, what would you do? Would you treat those around you with grace and respect, would you be able to recognize those of you who are only interested in you for your riches? And of those, would you prefer those who are open about their reasons for seeking your friendship, or those who lie and conceal?Elisabeth handles her changed circumstances with grace and aplomb. Despite never having had any suitors before, she handles those who appear expertly. I have to confess that I was rather rooting for her to end up with a penniless but honest gentleman who treated her wonderfully, rather than the eventual winner. She honestly seemed to have more chemistry, and more fun, with the former.While this book was originally written almost 40 years ago, it stands up at least as well as a piece of Georgette Heyer's work. Read it with the understanding that it was written in a different time, and you'll enjoy it as much as I did. Five stars.Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book for review through NetGalley.
    more
  • eyes.2c
    January 1, 1970
    A lighthearted reprint for Jane Ashford fans A regency novel in the Georgette Heyer mode.The story has interesting characters, treachery, villainy, a mystery, interesting characters and an heiress newly come. Miss Elisabeth Elham is named as the heir to her Scrooge type miserly uncle. Upon finding out about her fortune she immediately takes up her two hitherto unknown cousins, Belinda and Tony who were also in the running as heirs to share in her good fortune.Earning her living as a teacher, Eli A lighthearted reprint for Jane Ashford fans A regency novel in the Georgette Heyer mode.The story has interesting characters, treachery, villainy, a mystery, interesting characters and an heiress newly come. Miss Elisabeth Elham is named as the heir to her Scrooge type miserly uncle. Upon finding out about her fortune she immediately takes up her two hitherto unknown cousins, Belinda and Tony who were also in the running as heirs to share in her good fortune.Earning her living as a teacher, Elisabeth proceeds to London and the pace of the plot becomes dizzying with the elements added. These include a handsome country neighbor, a charming fribble of a would be swain, a Duchess friend of her chaperone and long lost older cousin Lavina, a mysterious planter Mr. Garrett, a kidnapping and so much more. And let's not forget the unrepentant canine Gowser! A pleasant read.A NetGalley ARC
    more
  • AnnMarie
    January 1, 1970
    Last Gentleman Standing is a stand alone novel by Jane Ashford. It is a wonderfully old-fashioned type of regency romance, one full of content, and although being a romance, there aren't even kisses exchanged until the very end. So if you are looking for a bodice ripper this book won't be to your liking.Elizabeth Elham, a teacher at a finishing school for girls, surprisingly becomes a very wealthy woman when she is left the entire estate and holdings from an uncle that she's never met. Her whole Last Gentleman Standing is a stand alone novel by Jane Ashford. It is a wonderfully old-fashioned type of regency romance, one full of content, and although being a romance, there aren't even kisses exchanged until the very end. So if you are looking for a bodice ripper this book won't be to your liking.Elizabeth Elham, a teacher at a finishing school for girls, surprisingly becomes a very wealthy woman when she is left the entire estate and holdings from an uncle that she's never met. Her whole life changes overnight. She goes from a wonderfully independent woman to one that needs to follow rules and the niceties of being amongst the ton. She also finds herself sought after by various men needing her fortune more than love.Derek Wincannon is a confirmed bachelor, he is more than happy with his lot. He also happens to be Elizabeth's neighbour in the country. When they meet he is intrigued by how forthright she is, and loves that she is a breath of fresh air. They form a friendship straight away.Elizabeth rescues her orphaned cousins Belinda and Tony. She gives them a home with her, and buys them all new clothes. She wants to introduce them into society and in doing so also unofficially enters society as well. Who would have thought that from her best intentions, Elizabeth ends up caught up in dire circumstances? Circumstances that put Tony in danger as well. Derek has taken Tony under his wing, helping him meet the right people, introducing him into his gentleman's club etc. When he goes missing, it's him that Elizabeth calls on to help her find him. It's during that time that both Elizabeth and Derek realise that they have strong feelings towards each other. Can those feelings ever come to fruition when there is somebody adamant that Elizabeth will do his bidding or else!This story was nothing like I expected it to be, at first I thought it was a little slow, but the more that I read, the more involved into the various characters and their lives I became. I actually enjoyed that this was a very old school story, reminding me of the likes of Pride and Prejudice. So much detail about the characters, not just Elizabeth and Derek, and their situations, intrigue, excitement, and very subtle romantic feelings in the mix. From thinking the story was a slow starter to being drawn in and loving it is a great recommendation for this story. Like I said at the start, this is not a book for those who like more of a bodice ripper, but if you love a good story without it then I can definitely recommend this.I voluntarily reviewed an advanced readers' copy of this book.
    more
  • Norah Gibbons
    January 1, 1970
    I read an ARC of this book in exchange for a fair review. This book is an old fashioned regency romance in the vein of Georgette Heyer and Barbara Cartland. Elisabeth Elham unexpectedly inherits her miserly Uncles fortune and goes from poor school teacher to wealthy heiress. She takes in 3 of her cousins and they set out to enjoy the London season. There are lots of twists and turns a kidnapping or two, evil villains, fainting Duchesses, marriage proposals, unrepentant fortune hunters, blackmail I read an ARC of this book in exchange for a fair review. This book is an old fashioned regency romance in the vein of Georgette Heyer and Barbara Cartland. Elisabeth Elham unexpectedly inherits her miserly Uncles fortune and goes from poor school teacher to wealthy heiress. She takes in 3 of her cousins and they set out to enjoy the London season. There are lots of twists and turns a kidnapping or two, evil villains, fainting Duchesses, marriage proposals, unrepentant fortune hunters, blackmail, betrayal and a large rambunctious dog of mixed parentage. There is however no kissing. So if you are looking for an entertaining romp of a regency with no sexy bits this is your book.
    more
  • Debra Martin
    January 1, 1970
    "Last Gentleman Standing" by Ms. Ashford was not my favorite. I've read lots of Regency romances and have never heard of some of the words and phrases that are used throughout the book. The story itself was bland at best. Everything came so easy to Elisabeth and she met some of the quirkiest characters who also happened to have great influence with the ton. The romance aspect of the book was way too subtle and I didn't feel any emotion or tension between the hero and heroine. Sadly, I cannot rec "Last Gentleman Standing" by Ms. Ashford was not my favorite. I've read lots of Regency romances and have never heard of some of the words and phrases that are used throughout the book. The story itself was bland at best. Everything came so easy to Elisabeth and she met some of the quirkiest characters who also happened to have great influence with the ton. The romance aspect of the book was way too subtle and I didn't feel any emotion or tension between the hero and heroine. Sadly, I cannot recommend this book.I received this book in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Shannon Dyer
    January 1, 1970
    Round up to 1.5 stars. Not at all enjoyable. Review to come at AAR.
  • Kim Vanravenswaay
    January 1, 1970
    I have read a few books by Jane Ashford, and was surprised by this book. There were more things that I disliked than liked. For me the story never came together. Elisabeth seems to befriend people easily enough. But they are mostly odd characters. They were the best part of the book for me.
    more
  • Donna
    January 1, 1970
    Elizabeth Elham has just inherited a fortune from an old uncle. She gathers together cousins and an old relative to chaperone and moves to London. She immediately redecorates, has beautiful new clothes made and begins to make her rounds in the "ton". She meets plenty of men who wish to woo her, including her neighbor, Derek Wincannon and a strange Mr. Jarrett who tells her that he wants to marry her for money! The characters in the book are well-developed and interesting. The story will keep you Elizabeth Elham has just inherited a fortune from an old uncle. She gathers together cousins and an old relative to chaperone and moves to London. She immediately redecorates, has beautiful new clothes made and begins to make her rounds in the "ton". She meets plenty of men who wish to woo her, including her neighbor, Derek Wincannon and a strange Mr. Jarrett who tells her that he wants to marry her for money! The characters in the book are well-developed and interesting. The story will keep you reading to see who she ends up with! Satisfying to read and a good historical romance.Last Gentleman Standing by Jane Ashford will be available September 5, 2017 from Sourcebooks Casablanca. An egalley of this book was made available by the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Sally Hannoush
    January 1, 1970
    This story was filled with romance, drama, kidnappings, lies, and other surprises. It's a rags to riches type of story. I thought the betrayal at the end was very sad. Who can you trust? The book was written well and I read it in one sitting.
  • Connie Fischer
    January 1, 1970
    Mr. Julius Tilling, a solicitor with Tilling and Bates, is visiting Mr. Elham at Elham House in Berkley Square only to find the elderly Mr. Elham to be suffering from a bad case of gout. Mr. Tilling has come to tell the man that he has found the three heirs he asked about. There are two nieces and a nephew remaining of his family members. They are Anthony, age 17, and Belinda, age 18, brother and sister, who currently live with an uncle. Mr. Elham’s other niece, Miss Elisabeth Elham, age 24, is Mr. Julius Tilling, a solicitor with Tilling and Bates, is visiting Mr. Elham at Elham House in Berkley Square only to find the elderly Mr. Elham to be suffering from a bad case of gout. Mr. Tilling has come to tell the man that he has found the three heirs he asked about. There are two nieces and a nephew remaining of his family members. They are Anthony, age 17, and Belinda, age 18, brother and sister, who currently live with an uncle. Mr. Elham’s other niece, Miss Elisabeth Elham, age 24, is a teacher at Miss Creedy’s Select Seminary for Young Ladies, located in Bath. Now, Mr. Elham wants his will written. After it was signed, a month later he died.It turns out that Miss Elisabeth Elham is the sole heir to her uncle’s estate. When contacted, she informs Mr. Tilling that she will invite her cousins, Anthony and Belinda, to live with her. She is also advised to have a companion to act as chaperone to avoid scandal, so she asks her distant cousin, Lavinia, to fill that role. When Elisabeth travels to fetch her cousins, she stops by Willowmere, an old home that she also inherited that needs some work. She has found that both residences are in dire need of remodeling. While there, she takes a walk and meet Derek Wincannon. The man is pleasant and his family helps get her and her cousins introduced into society. She meets Lord Darnell who claims to be looking to marry an heiress and is quite humorous about his situation. She also meets Mr. Jarrett who tries to pressure her to marry him. She then meets a man from Martinique who tells herethat Mr. Jarrett had been married to the man’s sister who died and he blames Mr. Jarrett for her death.She finds herself surrounded by suitors, some obviously after her money, but are all of them like that?This book is a whirlwind of social events and lots of characters. Several men have shown interest in Elisabeth but she is not sure whom to trust. But when she is thrust into danger, the true hero shows himself to rescue her. It is a sweet, clean novel but I found it to be a bit long with many characters to keep track of. However, I have long been a fan of Jane Ashford and look forward to reading more of her novels.Copy provided by NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Hannah
    January 1, 1970
    ARC REVIEW The Last Gentleman Standing was originally published under the name Bluestocking and was only just made available again after 25 years.This is more of a historical women's fiction with a side of romance. It kind of makes me think of what a newer Austin-esk books might read like, where it's more about Elizabeth and her cousins getting to know one another and how they are dealing with joining high society and all the troubles that come with it followed up by romance. It was a nice read ARC REVIEW The Last Gentleman Standing was originally published under the name Bluestocking and was only just made available again after 25 years.This is more of a historical women's fiction with a side of romance. It kind of makes me think of what a newer Austin-esk books might read like, where it's more about Elizabeth and her cousins getting to know one another and how they are dealing with joining high society and all the troubles that come with it followed up by romance. It was a nice read I did enjoy it but for a romance it took way too long for that to happen and the ending seemed a bit rushed. It is third person POV but entirely from Elizabeth's perspective, so my greedy little mind doesn't find out what the other characters are thinking and their motives.Elizabeth inherited her cantankerous miser of an uncle's fortune, all because she never asked for a hand out, and it was his way of shocking society. Elizabeth isn't your typical English miss, she has been for the last five years been a teacher at a boarding school, she is very intelligent and takes the news of becoming an heiress in a calm and practical manner. She even invites her two cousins, Anthony and Belinda, who were left out of the will to come live with her in London. Elizabeth has her work cut out for her both houses are in shambles from neglect and because her mother's side of the family disowned her for marrying beneath her she has no connections in the London society, for the exception of some cousin she met once as a child before her mother died. Luck for her her solicitor is a really good one and manages to track down her second cousin, Lavina, who is a hoot. Along the way Elizabeth met a neighbor of her country estate, Derek Wincannon. It isn't until later she finds out he is the son and heir to a Viscountcy. Derek is immediately taken with this beautiful but unusual woman and even goes out of his way to please her, unfortunately Elizabeth is kind of oblivious to it until almost the end of the book, more like three quarters of the way in.Lavina is old friends with a Duchess who likes Elizabeth's straight forward manner and agree to sponsor Belinda and Elizabeth into society. Tony is enthralled by London and gets carried away, and it leads him into some trouble. Elizabeth also meets James Darnell who is an admitted fortune hunter, and falls in love with Elizabeth, fortunately Elizabeth is smarter than that. She also meets a mysterious Mr. Jarrett and a woman reporter who is aspiring to be a published poet.Overall, the story was good it was definitely well written I like what happened I just think it was too much about everything else and not enough about Elizabeth and Derek.
    more
  • Jan
    January 1, 1970
    A cranky, isolated uncle left his fortune to Elizabeth including pots of money, one neglected home in London and an abandoned estate. She never expected to have any opportunities and had supported herself as a teacher in a girls’ academy since the loss of her father. Elizabeth adapts well and sensibly to her new fortune taking in her orphaned almost adult cousins as well as another older cousin as a chaperone. It’s an unusual mix, but one that works well for all.She enjoys the opportunity to giv A cranky, isolated uncle left his fortune to Elizabeth including pots of money, one neglected home in London and an abandoned estate. She never expected to have any opportunities and had supported herself as a teacher in a girls’ academy since the loss of her father. Elizabeth adapts well and sensibly to her new fortune taking in her orphaned almost adult cousins as well as another older cousin as a chaperone. It’s an unusual mix, but one that works well for all.She enjoys the opportunity to give her cousin Belinda a season and her other cousin Tony a better start in life. They are gradually introduced into society and make some true friends. One aspect of wealth that Elizabeth didn’t expect was being pursued by the gentlemen of the ton for her fortune. She was convinced that at 24 she was well on the shelf. Some of the fortune hunters are quite charming; some seem very needy and almost frightening. Suddenly Tony disappears. Although no ransom is demanded, he has been kidnapped. The suspense ratchets up and new characters make an appearance. Last Gentleman Standing is an entertaining read, with strong characters, an especially appealing heroine, and lots of period detail and language. This novel should appeal to a wide variety of romance and historical fiction readers. Recommended.Readalikes:Julia Quinn, Stephanie Laurens, Gaelen Foley, Sylvia Day’s historical romances, Nicole Jordan’s Regency romances, Teresa Medeiros’ historical romances, Sabrina Jeffries, Karen Hawkins.Pace: fastCharacters: likeable; well-developed within genre stereotypes; spiritedStory: character-drivenLanguage: detailed, life and languageTone: mildly sensual; upbeatFrame: London; RegencyDisclosure: Reading copy provided by the publisher.
    more
  • Maureen Lubitz
    January 1, 1970
    Originally posted on You Have Your Hands FullLast Gentleman Standing is a Regency-era romance novel written by Jane Ashford. It was first published in 1980 under the title Bluestocking and appears to have been out of print for 25 years. Elisabeth Elham is a twenty four year old schoolteacher who receives a large inheritance from an uncle she has never met. She rendezvous with two slightly younger cousins who she has also never met, and they are joined by an older cousin to serve as chaperone. Th Originally posted on You Have Your Hands FullLast Gentleman Standing is a Regency-era romance novel written by Jane Ashford. It was first published in 1980 under the title Bluestocking and appears to have been out of print for 25 years. Elisabeth Elham is a twenty four year old schoolteacher who receives a large inheritance from an uncle she has never met. She rendezvous with two slightly younger cousins who she has also never met, and they are joined by an older cousin to serve as chaperone. This cobbled together family begins renovations on their country estate and also sets up a house in London. Naturally, a young heiress attracts a great deal of attention, and Elisabeth is introduced to a great number of people, including several young gentlemen who are very interested in furthering their acquaintanceship. Unfortunately for them, Elisabeth has no interest in marrying anyone! This is very much a traditional Regency story, so there are no explicit scenes. Instead, the narrative focuses on Elisabeth and her cousins’ adjustments to life in Town. There is an element of mystery, and a series of startling events; these add some suspense to the story. I would recommend Last Gentlemen Standing. This is a fun and light book, and my only criticism would be that Elisabeth appears too forgiving after a very serious betrayal. Ashford has a very lively style of storytelling, and combined with engaging characters, I thoroughly enjoyed my experience. I am looking forward to reading more of Jane Ashford’s books in the near future!I received a digital copy of this book from Netgalley/the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Lesley
    January 1, 1970
    Witty and Charming.Elizabeth is an independent lady of four and twenty, having had to work for her living as a teacher since the death of her father. When the uncle she has never met dies and leaves her his entire fortune, she suddenly becomes an heiress with a dilapidated house in the country and a house in Town in dire need of re-decoration. Along with these responsibilities, she takes into her home her two young cousins, who had received nothing from their uncle because they had dared to ask Witty and Charming.Elizabeth is an independent lady of four and twenty, having had to work for her living as a teacher since the death of her father. When the uncle she has never met dies and leaves her his entire fortune, she suddenly becomes an heiress with a dilapidated house in the country and a house in Town in dire need of re-decoration. Along with these responsibilities, she takes into her home her two young cousins, who had received nothing from their uncle because they had dared to ask him for assistance when they were orphaned a year earlier! Whilst not in need of marriage herself she offers to give her beautiful cousin Belinda a Season in London and finds to her surprise several men that appear attracted to her. With eccentric characters, balls and abductions I thoroughly enjoyed this Regency romance. Far too many of the stories published in recent years are flawed with historical inaccuracies and sex scenes. Whilst I don't mind the latter in contemporary novels, they feel out of place in a Regency novel unless they take place after the wedding. So unlike some reviews that I have read, I was not disappointed with this story but could instead read it without feeling that the author was taking liberties with the era in which it takes place.I received a complimentary copy of this book from NetGalley. I was not compensated for my review, and I was not required to write a positive review. The opinion expressed here is my own.
    more
  • Candy Briggs
    January 1, 1970
    Elizabeth has inherited her nasty uncle's money and decided to help her cousins. They are all orphans The characters especially her oldest cousin, Lavinia, is really a charmer, everyone over looks her but she quiteknowledgeable. Tony, is just a teenage boy, just doing what they do, he and his dog. Belinda is to have her come out and that is all she wants. She meets a lot of people during her time in town, but especially one Mr. Derek Wincannon, Tall, handsome and single.The author has twisted al Elizabeth has inherited her nasty uncle's money and decided to help her cousins. They are all orphans The characters especially her oldest cousin, Lavinia, is really a charmer, everyone over looks her but she quiteknowledgeable. Tony, is just a teenage boy, just doing what they do, he and his dog. Belinda is to have her come out and that is all she wants. She meets a lot of people during her time in town, but especially one Mr. Derek Wincannon, Tall, handsome and single.The author has twisted all the threads together to make a wonderful and satisfying tale. It reads very easily and is even paced . I loved this book, it is funny, charming and has a dash of danger necessary to keep your interested and engaged. There are some surprises along the way and people who disappoint but it all comes out. I very highly recommend this book.I received this book from Net Galley and voluntarily reviewed.
    more
  • Patrica Liebe
    January 1, 1970
    I was given a Free ARC from NetGalley for an honest reviewI was very surprised to see this book as I felt I had read this story a long time ago and so I did some research. (checked with a friend) I found this was published 25 years ago under another name. I loved it then and loved it now. The heiress and heroine is just like a lotto winner who has a wonderful time with her winnings and she also experiences the false friends and fawning men who love her for her fortune. But the hero just wants he I was given a Free ARC from NetGalley for an honest reviewI was very surprised to see this book as I felt I had read this story a long time ago and so I did some research. (checked with a friend) I found this was published 25 years ago under another name. I loved it then and loved it now. The heiress and heroine is just like a lotto winner who has a wonderful time with her winnings and she also experiences the false friends and fawning men who love her for her fortune. But the hero just wants her. Just the way a good historical should end with a true love and partnership. I have read this author's books before and love them all. I can only say I will await more of her books in the future.
    more
  • Meesh
    January 1, 1970
    The story centers around Miss Elisabeth who unexpectedly becomes an heiress from an estranged uncle. She moves into a London home that is in need of some updating/upkeep and has her cousins (who were snubbed by the estranged uncle) and aunt move in with her. As she navigates through London society she finds herself being pursued by different gentleman. Her character is kind and forthright which was nice to see. The pace of the book is a bit slow and the characters could have been more engaging a The story centers around Miss Elisabeth who unexpectedly becomes an heiress from an estranged uncle. She moves into a London home that is in need of some updating/upkeep and has her cousins (who were snubbed by the estranged uncle) and aunt move in with her. As she navigates through London society she finds herself being pursued by different gentleman. Her character is kind and forthright which was nice to see. The pace of the book is a bit slow and the characters could have been more engaging and exciting. It was a nice story but not big on the romance factor. I received an advanced copy for free from NetGalley for my honest review.
    more
  • Jane
    January 1, 1970
    An intriguing premise that never quite came together. The romance is tepid and the plot melodramatic. Not a snooze fest but lacking in tension, romantic and otherwise.
  • Elisabeth
    January 1, 1970
    A dead bore. One of those sneaky paperbacks with a new cover that was published 37 years ago. I can't believe I forgot to check the publication date.
  • Karen Leighton
    January 1, 1970
    Great story with lots of interesting characters. Lots of plot turns and twists make this a great vacation read.
  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    Really well developed characters down to the servants, but the plot was a bit all over the place.
Write a review