The Return (The After Trilogy, #2)
Three months ago, Romy emerged from the cultivation tanks after a year floating inside.Body intact. Mind broken. Memory gone.Now she undergoes regular testing as doctors work to find out ... well, she’s not exactly sure what. The tests must have something to do with the reason she can’t remember her knot—the single lucid memory the other insane soldiers on Orbito Four still possess. Whatever the researchers are searching for, if it aids the soldiers in the deathly war against the lethal alien invaders—the Critamal—the excruciating pain is worth it.But a grey-eyed man has other plans.Boxed in and caught, Romy is taken hostage by people who shouldn’t exist! They dress in black and carry weapons she’s never seen in her genetically enhanced life.Reunited with Knot 27. Memories returned.*********************************************Fifteen months have passed since her world shattered into bright red, ringing chaos. Things have changed—people have changed. How long until what was once as familiar as breathing is familiar once more? Friendships. Love. Freedom.Can the new Romy reconcile with the old, or will the two halves of herself remain locked in an internal battle?And if a victor should arise from this silent war . . . will it be the part of her that kills without hesitation, without mercy?All it takes is for the cracks to join and blood will pour....The Return releases June 29th.

The Return (The After Trilogy, #2) Details

TitleThe Return (The After Trilogy, #2)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Fantasy

The Return (The After Trilogy, #2) Review

  • Kelly Clare
    June 29, 2017
    Yeeeeha! The Return is now LIVE.This was such a challenging book for me to write and I loved every second of it. Even when my editor told me undead-ed and fancy-schmancy rifle were not in the dictionary.And you know what? You'll still find both in this book ;) I hope you all enjoy. You can grab your copy here: http://amzn.to/2umO9Qe
    more
  • Hetti
    June 27, 2017
    *I voluntarily received (aka BEGGED) an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review* OMG. I can't even form coherent words right now: I'm in love, in awe and in need of book 3 IMMEDIATELY!!! Some things you should know: 1. This is the second of a trilogy, so PLEASE read book 1, The Retreat, first (trust me, you won't regret it! Then go binge read the Tainted Accords. That's an awesome series by Kelly too ☺) 2. I love Atlas. I call dibs on him, he's my future husband. (Scratch that. He I *I voluntarily received (aka BEGGED) an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review* OMG. I can't even form coherent words right now: I'm in love, in awe and in need of book 3 IMMEDIATELY!!! Some things you should know: 1. This is the second of a trilogy, so PLEASE read book 1, The Retreat, first (trust me, you won't regret it! Then go binge read the Tainted Accords. That's an awesome series by Kelly too ☺️) 2. I love Atlas. I call dibs on him, he's my future husband. (Scratch that. He IS my husband.) I loved him from the second I saw him in book 1 and he is even better in this book: incredible even!!! My heart may have exploded!!!! Also, THERE IS NO LOVE TRINAGLE. The MC in both books is clear about her feelings, which is so refreshing. Despite other characters' feelings, and my own worries, things are resolved naturally and with no dithering. Yessss!!!! 3: I loved the fact that this book takes place in different countries (yes, plural!) than America, the usual setting for books, though I won't tell you where (cause spoilers.) Book 1 also takes place in other places than America - in fact we never see America in book 1 or 2 (except one mention). 4. The characters are all stellar - incredibly real, as you come to expect from Mrs St. Clare, along with top-notch world building and writing. Of course. What could this genius do wrong? (Literally nothing.) Anyway, the characters' relationships are deeply felt (by me and by them!) and developed in this book, and the 15 month gap is not jarring AT ALL, unlike many books where a year or so has passed between books and you open the sequel thinking "what the heck?!" Not the case here. There is romance, betrayal, and a lot of badass-ness! Seriously. Trust me. JUST READ IT!!!
    more
  • Megan Hunt
    June 1, 2017
    I received a Voluntary ARC copy of this book- Where to even start? I read until 1 am start to finish... it's no secret that Kelly produces awesome books, and after reading 'The Retreat', I was eager to read 'The Return', why? because the mother of all cliffhangers had me needing to read and finish The Return, only to get another one :0 , but don't worry it's a good thing, The Return gave us a lot of answers from The Retreat some I didn't even know I needed, I'm extremely eager for her next book I received a Voluntary ARC copy of this book- Where to even start? I read until 1 am start to finish... it's no secret that Kelly produces awesome books, and after reading 'The Retreat', I was eager to read 'The Return', why? because the mother of all cliffhangers had me needing to read and finish The Return, only to get another one :0 , but don't worry it's a good thing, The Return gave us a lot of answers from The Retreat some I didn't even know I needed, I'm extremely eager for her next book in the series 'The Reprisal" that will be released in (2018 - CRY**waiting patiently**)... why did I love this book?? ...the fact I was awake all night mad because there was betrayal & loss, or perhaps because there was a lot of happy and sassy kick arse moments, or perhaps loyalty the Knot 27 share. But as I lay awake analyzing why I have loved this series/ book, I came to one conclusion...It's because I F***ing LOVED it! Enough drama, romance, enough secrets, loyalty, betrayal to keep you on your toes, whilst there were many hints at certain things throughout Romy's thoughts and eyes of others, I didn't see what was coming I guessed some, but its not often I can't see where things are going. Should you read this book? the answer is YES, but only after The Retreat as its not a stand alone.
    more
  • Tracy D.
    June 3, 2017
    "The Return" is so gripping I couldn't take my eyes off the pages of my Kindle for anything but the most necessary basic requirements. (Bathroom breaks, food, acknowledging family, etc.) The characters, and their relationships, have evolved a great deal from "The Retreat." And trust me when I say that things change a lot. The effect of Romy's 15 month absence, and her new persona, on everyone she holds dear is deeply explored. Once you realize that Romy must endure the implantation of her old ch "The Return" is so gripping I couldn't take my eyes off the pages of my Kindle for anything but the most necessary basic requirements. (Bathroom breaks, food, acknowledging family, etc.) The characters, and their relationships, have evolved a great deal from "The Retreat." And trust me when I say that things change a lot. The effect of Romy's 15 month absence, and her new persona, on everyone she holds dear is deeply explored. Once you realize that Romy must endure the implantation of her old chip, the one that made her crazy in the first place, in order to remember her Knot and Atlas, you know that things may just go South for her from there...Atlas. I wasn't sure what my feeling were for him in "The Retreat," much like Knot 27 had their reservations, the moment he stepped foot on Orbitos 4 to rescue Romy, he was god damned REALLY swoon worthy. That man is a babe! LOL.Now, I'm ready for a knock-down drag out fight of epic proportions in the next book. Expect nothing less!Almost forgot! I happily received an ARC for an honest review.
    more
  • Amy
    June 30, 2017
    I voluntarily received an arc of from the author.Thank you Kelly!Wow, as with the first book, this was one hell of a ride!In The Return, Romy struggles to keep a grip on her sanity after the events of the first book. She is constantly switching between two different people, and she has to keep up an act to ensure that people don't see just how much she is losing her mind. At first, I wasn't sure how I would like the story being told by someone who is struggling to get a grip on reality, but that I voluntarily received an arc of from the author.Thank you Kelly!Wow, as with the first book, this was one hell of a ride!In The Return, Romy struggles to keep a grip on her sanity after the events of the first book. She is constantly switching between two different people, and she has to keep up an act to ensure that people don't see just how much she is losing her mind. At first, I wasn't sure how I would like the story being told by someone who is struggling to get a grip on reality, but that all changed once we met who the characters of this book have coined "Crazy Romy." She is hilarious and badass and always speaks her mind. She acts first and thinks later, and I LOVE IT!Atlas is still as adorable as ever. We learn a little more about his troubled past in this book and why he can be so distant. I'm hoping that we will get to see even more of this in the third one because he can be a complex character.Throughout the book, Romy and her know have a hard time trying to make things go back to the way they were before. Thrym is convinced they belong together. Elara and Phobos shack up. Deimos is left out in the dust. Basically, everything seems to be against them, pulling them apart. It's hard for Romy because she needs all the support she can get while her mind is constantly slipping. This really helps to build her character, and I like that we see her become stronger throughout the book.The plot moves along pretty fast. It was a little slow in the beginning, but it is well worth it because it then picks up fast. Overall, I really liked it and cannot wait for the next installment. Also, just wait for that twist at the end guys! I always see twists coming and I had no clue that this was going to happen!
    more
  • Kai
    July 1, 2017
    I voluntarily received an ARC from the author.After reading The Retreat and its ending I could not wait to get a chance to read The Return. I read it, as I do with almost everything I've read from this author, in one day and was not disappointed. I left The Retreat with questions that were answered better than I expected in The Return. I didn't know where this storyline would go and was pleasantly surprised. I love knot 27 and my new book boyfriend Atlas (sorry Jovan from Tainted Accords). I'll I voluntarily received an ARC from the author.After reading The Retreat and its ending I could not wait to get a chance to read The Return. I read it, as I do with almost everything I've read from this author, in one day and was not disappointed. I left The Retreat with questions that were answered better than I expected in The Return. I didn't know where this storyline would go and was pleasantly surprised. I love knot 27 and my new book boyfriend Atlas (sorry Jovan from Tainted Accords). I'll try not to spoil things and will just say this was awesome! The story jumps right along bringing us over a year after The Retreat which was perfect. The knot has grown up so much. Romy has a new alter ego and Atlas was still my guy. There's action, deception, romance and world building that is pretty awesome considering they are on a reconstructed planet earth. This knot felt like family and the character development and relationships was woven so well.I recommend this series even if sci-fi isn't your thing. You will be pleasantly surprised. This is definitely a re-read while I wait for the next book.
    more
  • Michelle Lynn
    June 11, 2017
    You don't expect science fiction to have you rolling in laughter. The story: Let's face it, the Retreat left us a little bit broken. That ending was ... hard. It seemed like everything they'd done had been for nothing being Romy ended up right back where she started. That's where The Return picks up. Romy is not who she used to be. She's been back in space for a while and can't remember any of the people she left back on her - not even her knot. So when they come for her and smuggle her back to You don't expect science fiction to have you rolling in laughter. The story: Let's face it, the Retreat left us a little bit broken. That ending was ... hard. It seemed like everything they'd done had been for nothing being Romy ended up right back where she started. That's where The Return picks up. Romy is not who she used to be. She's been back in space for a while and can't remember any of the people she left back on her - not even her knot. So when they come for her and smuggle her back to earth, things get a little crazy. By things, I mean Romy. Her slowly returning memories seem to conflict with everything she thinks she knows. Her personality swings from one extreme to the other. As she fights to regain herself, she could lose everything else. Throw in the betrayal from people she loves an awkwardness with the man who loves her, and the impending destruction of pretty much everything and you have yourself a wild ride. What I loved: Can I just say words. All of them. Science fiction/dystopian is not my favorite genre to read, but I will read anything Kelly St. Clare writes because it defies genre. The story is about people. It's about relationships and overcoming flaws. No one is perfect in this story. It differs from so many in the genre because the people are very real. They've been given awful circumstances and fight because they have to, not because they're some special person who is supposed to save the world. The only thing that makes anyone better than the others is their heart and their determination. This series is also intensely funny. I laughed through a good part of it. What was just okay:That it ended? That good enough? Honestly, the worst part about this series is that when I finish reading, I have to try to read something else that can't live up to it. Final Verdict:A fun, extremely well-done story full of humor and an enormous amount of heart.
    more
  • Katelyn Anderson
    June 20, 2017
    I haven't binged an entire book in a day for a LONG time and my word! I could NOT put this book down for the life of me. Kelly ST Clare's style of writing is PERFECT. I absolutely adore her sense of humour and how she captures scenes, characters and plot perfectly. Crazy Romy is my new best friend. Her sass is on point and I LOVE her! The ending of The Return leaves you on your knees begging for the next book. I can't wait to see how this trilogy ends but I'm also afraid. How will everything pla I haven't binged an entire book in a day for a LONG time and my word! I could NOT put this book down for the life of me. Kelly ST Clare's style of writing is PERFECT. I absolutely adore her sense of humour and how she captures scenes, characters and plot perfectly. Crazy Romy is my new best friend. Her sass is on point and I LOVE her! The ending of The Return leaves you on your knees begging for the next book. I can't wait to see how this trilogy ends but I'm also afraid. How will everything play out?
    more
  • Raewynn
    June 19, 2017
    I really enjoyed this dystopian science fiction story which continues on from the first book: The Retreat.I am not normally a fan of Dystopian type books but, this one really spoke to me.Not into spoilers but, I can tell you that after reading book one, I couldn't wait for The Return!This is the sort of story that puts you right in the story and you sit there cheering or nail biting, cringing or jubilant over the way things are, or are not going!I found I couldn't put the book down and enjoyed e I really enjoyed this dystopian science fiction story which continues on from the first book: The Retreat.I am not normally a fan of Dystopian type books but, this one really spoke to me.Not into spoilers but, I can tell you that after reading book one, I couldn't wait for The Return!This is the sort of story that puts you right in the story and you sit there cheering or nail biting, cringing or jubilant over the way things are, or are not going!I found I couldn't put the book down and enjoyed every minute!
    more
  • Robin Crabb Gonzales
    June 14, 2017
    OMG… Oh My Gosh!It's been a bit since I read The Retreat. So, I reread the last two chapters to get everything straight in my mind. Then Ms. Author goes and messes it up completely!! Whew, what a ride. 😮 Excellent excellent storyline.I just absolutely adore Atlus. 💚 I wanted to hug and strangle Thrym simultaneously. Don't even get me started on Deimos. What a jerkface. 😡Amazing word building. Lol, except, I was always lost in the caves. I sure would love to experience Ireland and Egypt as she di OMG… Oh My Gosh!It's been a bit since I read The Retreat. So, I reread the last two chapters to get everything straight in my mind. Then Ms. Author goes and messes it up completely!! Whew, what a ride. 😮 Excellent excellent storyline.I just absolutely adore Atlus. 💚 I wanted to hug and strangle Thrym simultaneously. Don't even get me started on Deimos. What a jerkface. 😡Amazing word building. Lol, except, I was always lost in the caves. I sure would love to experience Ireland and Egypt as she did. Hehe, well, with the exception of the Nile incident. 😃 As an Indie Book, the editing is phenomenal!*Whimper* Why, why did it have to end with me hanging by my fingertips on the cliff?! 😭 I mean I knew "H" was going off the deep end. I didn't anticipate utterly insane!My star ratings include these 5 elements:)1★ story line1★ engaging characters1★ use of word building1★ being well edited1★ the ending
    more
  • Ashley Kaiser
    June 17, 2017
    Oh the betrayal! I am not usually one to read sci fi books, however, I ended up picking up The Retreat (book 1 in this series) after finishing The Tainted Accords series by Kelly because the series was just so gosh darn awesome I had to read something else by her and what do you know? I got sucked into this series too! I thought the Retreat was amazing and didn't think the plot could twist on me any more than it did during book one and BOY was I WRONG! I loved all the different sides of Romy! Ke Oh the betrayal! I am not usually one to read sci fi books, however, I ended up picking up The Retreat (book 1 in this series) after finishing The Tainted Accords series by Kelly because the series was just so gosh darn awesome I had to read something else by her and what do you know? I got sucked into this series too! I thought the Retreat was amazing and didn't think the plot could twist on me any more than it did during book one and BOY was I WRONG! I loved all the different sides of Romy! Kelly's writing is so good that some of the emotions I experienced while reading the Return cut me right down to the bone. I cannot believe I have to wait until 2018 to find out what happens!
    more
  • Jennifer Jeray
    June 16, 2017
    I could not put it down. It's hard for me to write this review as I don't want to give away any part of the journey. This book was a lovely and interesting character study of memories, mental conditioning and a person's true personality or self. Romy continues to be such a fascinating character. The other characters from the last book are back and with the time jump you adjust right along with Romy on where they are now and what has happened in the world. Once you jump on the train, you cannot s I could not put it down. It's hard for me to write this review as I don't want to give away any part of the journey. This book was a lovely and interesting character study of memories, mental conditioning and a person's true personality or self. Romy continues to be such a fascinating character. The other characters from the last book are back and with the time jump you adjust right along with Romy on where they are now and what has happened in the world. Once you jump on the train, you cannot stop until you reach the end and then look for more as you cannot wait to find out what is next.
    more
  • Olga
    June 16, 2017
    I swear each book that I read that Kelly writes gets better and better. I had such a hard time finishing this one because I just did not want it to end. I was just dragging it out so I can read it longer. So many secrets! So many mysteries and questions! I loved every second of it. This book had everything, romance, friendship, loyalty, mystery, betrayal, unexpected sisterhood, secrets and more. I loved it. I'm definitely a big fan of all things Kelly St Clare, the only thing I was not happy abo I swear each book that I read that Kelly writes gets better and better. I had such a hard time finishing this one because I just did not want it to end. I was just dragging it out so I can read it longer. So many secrets! So many mysteries and questions! I loved every second of it. This book had everything, romance, friendship, loyalty, mystery, betrayal, unexpected sisterhood, secrets and more. I loved it. I'm definitely a big fan of all things Kelly St Clare, the only thing I was not happy about is I have to wait for an eternity for book 3...sigh
    more
  • Stacey
    June 12, 2017
    This is by far my favourite book of Kelly St. Clare'sThis book takes you through a personal journey of the reality of being different to others and the positive outcome that can be achieved if you accept who you are as a person.The rollercoaster ride that romy goes through is a clear indicator of how hard it can be to fight the inevitability of who you are.Romy comes out the otherside as a much stronger person and can be herself.The book had me guessing the whole time and i honestly just wanted This is by far my favourite book of Kelly St. Clare'sThis book takes you through a personal journey of the reality of being different to others and the positive outcome that can be achieved if you accept who you are as a person.The rollercoaster ride that romy goes through is a clear indicator of how hard it can be to fight the inevitability of who you are.Romy comes out the otherside as a much stronger person and can be herself.The book had me guessing the whole time and i honestly just wanted to keep reading..Looking forward to the next book this amazing author brings out :)
    more
  • Elizabeth
    June 29, 2017
    Really enjoyed this sequel. There was a lot of action and excitement, and quite a bit of humor and romance. The story had it's more serious, intense moments as well. Romy is human and relate-able and it is easy to care about what she's going through. Most of the story takes place on Earth, in Ireland, and the author does a great job of making the setting come alive. The world-building is solid and characters are easily distinguishable.Atlas has quickly become one of my favorite young adult male Really enjoyed this sequel. There was a lot of action and excitement, and quite a bit of humor and romance. The story had it's more serious, intense moments as well. Romy is human and relate-able and it is easy to care about what she's going through. Most of the story takes place on Earth, in Ireland, and the author does a great job of making the setting come alive. The world-building is solid and characters are easily distinguishable.Atlas has quickly become one of my favorite young adult male characters. He is not perfect but he is honest, reliable and straightforward about his feelings. I guess that's what makes his so impressive. Pity he can't seem to find a shirt that fits :) This story also provides more insight into the deep connection between knot members. Everyone is so well-described, I even found myself becoming annoyed at knot members who seemed to show lack of empathy towards each other. Probably shouldn't go into more detail though.There is a fair amount of language and the story does get very violent briefly towards the end. There is also some sexual activity between a few of the characters, but it's just something the reader knows is happening. It is not described in detail. If this were a film, I think it might be on the far side of PG-13. The After series has me riveted so far, and I can't help wishing the third book was coming out tomorrow. This story ends at a pretty good stopping point. This book is so well put-together I think it could almost be a standalone. Looks like the series is leading up to a great conclusion. I plan to stick around for it.I voluntarily reviewed an ARC copy of this story.
    more
  • Jemimah Zafoune
    June 30, 2017
    Kelly St. Clare is a genius! An evil genius for sure, but she's still a genius! This book was awesome, it threw me six ways from Sunday but I bloomin well floved it and I couldn't get enough of it. It wasn't even possible to pry the kindle from my hands whilst I was reading it and when my other half decided to interrupt me (which is just rude!) He got shouted at so hard that I've never seen him retreat so fast! The twists and turns, the characters, the story and the world building just kept me d Kelly St. Clare is a genius! An evil genius for sure, but she's still a genius! This book was awesome, it threw me six ways from Sunday but I bloomin well floved it and I couldn't get enough of it. It wasn't even possible to pry the kindle from my hands whilst I was reading it and when my other half decided to interrupt me (which is just rude!) He got shouted at so hard that I've never seen him retreat so fast! The twists and turns, the characters, the story and the world building just kept me deeply within its thrall that I found this book unputadownable.At the moment I'm on an adrenaline high from reading The Return. I mean that ending (don't worry I won't give any spoilers) was just something else! It's one of those endings where you're just crying out to the author to not finish it there, but you're also in shock about what's happened. I'm in shock! I mean, how did that happen and why? I need answers Kelly St. Clare and I need them soon! I'm not ashamed to say that I will resort to begging and bribery to get the next book soon.This book is one you just have to read. There's no point trying to put off reading it until the series is complete (trust me, I tried that) you MUST read this book now as it's just that good. It's really, really good. I don't have enough words in my vocabulary to tell you how freaking awesome it is so just trust me and read it!
    more
  • Lana Shanks-Kneas
    June 29, 2017
    Awesome balance of Action, Romance and All-round Badassery!!!This sequel did not disappointThe queen of cliffhangers - Kelly St Clare, left us hanging at the end of The Retreat and I was eager and anxious for the Return to see what was next for Romy.Where do I even start! I don't want to give anything away but... Romy was put through the ringer!It's really hard to explain the emotional roller coaster I went through when reading this book, and unlike other YA Authors I've read, I had no idea or p Awesome balance of Action, Romance and All-round Badassery!!!This sequel did not disappointThe queen of cliffhangers - Kelly St Clare, left us hanging at the end of The Retreat and I was eager and anxious for the Return to see what was next for Romy.Where do I even start! I don't want to give anything away but... Romy was put through the ringer!It's really hard to explain the emotional roller coaster I went through when reading this book, and unlike other YA Authors I've read, I had no idea or prediction as to where the story was going next. Just as I thought I had a sub plot figured out it went in a completely different angle and was even better than I could've imagined.I loved that we got to see and get to know more about Atlas and he wasn't as cagey or mysterious. He is officially my favourite book boyfriend, you will see why.The continuation of character development, plot and sub plots is exceptional and the characters continue to evolve and are 3 dimensional.I literally did not put this book down until it was complete...And then I was sad I didn't drag it out and had to read it again :D
    more
  • Alexandra
    July 2, 2017
    Ooooh, what a rollercoaster ride! My heart bled for poor Romy, she's really having a rough time, and her friends and loved ones get their share of heartache too. I loved Charlee, she's a great character and I can see her and me getting fast friends in real life too. The story is nailbitingly thrilling, thoroughly captivating, breathstoppingly exciting and with just a little touch of romance that makes it all the spicier. Near the end I got really really afraid but the cliffhanger wasn't as cruel Ooooh, what a rollercoaster ride! My heart bled for poor Romy, she's really having a rough time, and her friends and loved ones get their share of heartache too. I loved Charlee, she's a great character and I can see her and me getting fast friends in real life too. The story is nailbitingly thrilling, thoroughly captivating, breathstoppingly exciting and with just a little touch of romance that makes it all the spicier. Near the end I got really really afraid but the cliffhanger wasn't as cruel as it could have been. Nevertheless I can't wait for the next book in this YA dystopian series which is so not my genre but managed to capture me all the way!
    more
  • Reviewer King
    June 30, 2017
    This book. Blew my freaking mind. I'm going to say this first: You have to read it! Stop what you're doing. Put away your work. Your studies. Your chores. Just sit down, get into a comfortable position (because trust me you'll be so hooked you wouldn't want to stop reading so might as well prepare yourself for it) and open the book.Trust me, it was EXCELLENT! So much addicting to read. The pages sparkled with world-building, the tension, the amazing characters and Atlas!! What was not to like? I This book. Blew my freaking mind. I'm going to say this first: You have to read it! Stop what you're doing. Put away your work. Your studies. Your chores. Just sit down, get into a comfortable position (because trust me you'll be so hooked you wouldn't want to stop reading so might as well prepare yourself for it) and open the book.Trust me, it was EXCELLENT! So much addicting to read. The pages sparkled with world-building, the tension, the amazing characters and Atlas!! What was not to like? I finished it in just under a couple of hours. A fantastic book! I absolutely recommend it!
    more
  • Kelley Benson
    July 1, 2017
    Another great read by Kelly St. Clare. I was looking forward to "The Return" especially after the cliff hanger from book 1 and I was not disappointed. Kelly wraps up all the questions from "The Retreat" nicely and cohesively while preparing us for "The Reprisal". I loved the growth of the characters and experiencing this journey with them. Everything from the secrets and betrayal, love and drama, loyalty and loss was very well written and drew you into the story. I can't wait for the final book, Another great read by Kelly St. Clare. I was looking forward to "The Return" especially after the cliff hanger from book 1 and I was not disappointed. Kelly wraps up all the questions from "The Retreat" nicely and cohesively while preparing us for "The Reprisal". I loved the growth of the characters and experiencing this journey with them. Everything from the secrets and betrayal, love and drama, loyalty and loss was very well written and drew you into the story. I can't wait for the final book, I would definitely recommend this series to anyone.
    more
  • Heather Renee
    June 29, 2017
    Amazing Sequel!!!Kelly did an amazing job with this second book! I loved the craziness of Romy and seeing the different sides of her and watching them all come together in the end. The only part I didn't like was seeing 2018 for the final installment. Anxiously awaiting the final chapter of this trilogy!!
    more
  • Torrina Logan
    July 2, 2017
    Another great book! Kelly did it again! If you're a fan of dystopian, post-apocalyptic vibes then you have to check out this series! You will not be disappointed!
  • Danielle
    July 1, 2017
    Even better than I was hoping for! This book was so amazing! I was so deep in book mode while reading this. I can't wait for the next book!
Write a review