My Summer of Magic Moments
When a seaside escape spells a little romance . . .A heartwarming tale that will sweep you away for the summer from the bestselling author of The Cosy Teashop in the Castle.When Claire arrives for her cosy cottage retreat on the beautiful Northumberland coast, she prays that three weeks of blissful peace and summer sunshine will wash away the pain of the last year.Claire’s a survivor – she’s proud of the scars that prove it – and she’s determined to make the most of each and every day, to seize those little magic moments that give life its colour.Her plan for peaceful solitude goes awry when handsome, brooding Ed turns up in the cottage next door. The last thing Claire needs is the risk of getting hurt, but she soon discovers that Ed has emotional battle scars of his own.Will he prove the worst distraction? Or might he be just the perfect remedy?

My Summer of Magic Moments Details

TitleMy Summer of Magic Moments
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 1st, 2017
PublisherHarperImpulse
Number of pages306 pages
Rating
GenreWomens Fiction, Chick Lit, Romance

My Summer of Magic Moments Review

  • Dash fan
    May 31, 2017
    5☆ Simply Mesmerising and Poignant My Summer of Magic Moments is a beautifully compelling read that will have you smiling, laughing and crying.Claire has had a very tough year, battling with cancer and she has the scars to prove it. Both physically and mentally.So when she decides to take a break it's the perfect time to recuperate and find herself again.Claire sets off to the Northumberland coast and so her adventure begins.Claire uses her time away to re focus on her writing and developing new 5☆ Simply Mesmerising and Poignant My Summer of Magic Moments is a beautifully compelling read that will have you smiling, laughing and crying.Claire has had a very tough year, battling with cancer and she has the scars to prove it. Both physically and mentally.So when she decides to take a break it's the perfect time to recuperate and find herself again.Claire sets off to the Northumberland coast and so her adventure begins.Claire uses her time away to re focus on her writing and developing new stories and magical memories.She also meets her very sexy neighbour Ed who isn't shy about he's body when he openly enjoys skinny dipping. (Naked swimming)Of course it would be rude of Claire not to sneak a peak!!Will the sexy neighbour Ed bring Claire her summer of fun and romance? Will Ed be just the perfect tonic Claire needs to help heal her scars! When I found out this story was about  cancer I didn't think I was going to be able to read it.Cancer effects millions of people each and every day and I find it particularly hard to read about. But what Caroline does is focus on the strength Claire has and her overcoming  and rebuilding her life and her mental scars.Rather than making cancer the story.To see Claire grow and become so strong and her positivity just shone through the pages and warmed my heart.To see her begin to love herself and her body & scars was just so heart warming.My Summer of magic moments is exactly what it is.Heart warming, empowering, Poignant, and emotional, full of sunshine, fun and Romance.Claire sends a message to to stay strong and to love yourself.A beautiful read all year round, that I highly recommend. I believe this book is going to appeal to so many readers as it's hugely relatable and real.Perfect for readers who love Chick Lit, happy endings, strong female lead, Poignant and addictive reads.I received this book from the Publisher in exchange for a honest and fair review via Netgalley.
    more
  • Jessica
    May 25, 2017
    I absolutely love Caroline Roberts books, so I was thrilled when I received a copy of this book!Throughout the book I laughed and cried with Claire - A character that has been through so much and is a real strong woman. I have so much admiration for Claire. My summer of magic moments sees Claire go on a getaway to escape the troubles of her last few years and try and get her life back on track. She makes a list of magic moments which gives her things to enjoy and look forward too. She also bases I absolutely love Caroline Roberts books, so I was thrilled when I received a copy of this book!Throughout the book I laughed and cried with Claire - A character that has been through so much and is a real strong woman. I have so much admiration for Claire. My summer of magic moments sees Claire go on a getaway to escape the troubles of her last few years and try and get her life back on track. She makes a list of magic moments which gives her things to enjoy and look forward too. She also bases her blog for work on these magic moments which become truly special for her and the readers.During her time away Claire meets a handsome neighbour who she instantly clicks with, and as a reader we just hope that they fall in love and be happy together. But things dont go that smoothly for them. By the end of the book I think we see Claire as a new woman and it makes me so happy knowing this.This book really is beautiful and heart warming. Full of emotion, youl need plenty of tissues.Overall it is a book that shows us that no matter how hard or bad life gets theres always hope and the knowledge that life will get better, you just need to be strong.
    more
  • Maria
    May 25, 2017
    "Received an Advance Reader Copy in exchange for a fair review"This is a story any woman will identify with. Claire’s journey is an account of bravery and resilience, focusing more on the magic moments than on the dark ones. The character of Claire dominates the narrative and rightly so. She’s dealing with a lot of upheaval in her personal and familial life, but she has a very supportive net of family and friends.I loved the British English writing, the English setting, the beautiful description "Received an Advance Reader Copy in exchange for a fair review"This is a story any woman will identify with. Claire’s journey is an account of bravery and resilience, focusing more on the magic moments than on the dark ones. The character of Claire dominates the narrative and rightly so. She’s dealing with a lot of upheaval in her personal and familial life, but she has a very supportive net of family and friends.I loved the British English writing, the English setting, the beautiful descriptions of Northumberland, Bamburgh Beach and the North Sea. The depiction of the media universe sounds realistic.While I understand that the heroine’s process of emotional and psychological recover is central to the story, I would have liked to have seen the hero’s character more developed. There are some traits there – a shyness (?), the hurt, even his grumpiness – that, in my opinion, were not fully explored. I also felt that perhaps their first supposed one-night stand happenned too early if we consider the hero’s situation. Concomitantly, I would have liked to have seen the romance develop a little more throughout the novel (although I understand the author’s option of focusing on Claire’s struggles).I'm grateful to the publisher, HarperCollins UK/HarperImpulse, and NetGalley for providing a free copy.
    more
  • Emma Crowley
    May 28, 2017
    Right from the moment I read the blurb of Caroline Roberts new book My Summer of Magic Moments I loved the entire concept of the story and thought it flowed well throughout and tied in well with Claire's journey. After a period of hardship and change for our main female protagonist is ready to attempt to move on and take stock of her life. What better way to do that than to escape everything for some time away to reassess and plan her next life move? In doing so she will learn to appreciate thos Right from the moment I read the blurb of Caroline Roberts new book My Summer of Magic Moments I loved the entire concept of the story and thought it flowed well throughout and tied in well with Claire's journey. After a period of hardship and change for our main female protagonist is ready to attempt to move on and take stock of her life. What better way to do that than to escape everything for some time away to reassess and plan her next life move? In doing so she will learn to appreciate those 'magic moments' in life when you can sit back and take everything in and for Claire it will be a way to find some joy again in her life after being through such a traumatic event but one that readers would hope she would have emerged stronger from.At the beginning of each chapter were some magic moments from readers or friends of the author and I thought it was a lovely touch and very inspiring. In fact the whole book was inspiring and Claire proved a strong woman and I enjoyed reading her story. I did initially think upon discovering Claire was coming out the other side of a cancer battle that this story may just prove a little too close to the bone for me and I would find it quite upsetting but instead the opposite proved to be true. It was uplifting and heart warming and not all doom and gloom which I had feared. In fact upon reflection with such a beautiful cover it couldn’t have been anything other than a lovely engaging story to read.After a tumultuous year Claire needs a break to rest and recuperate. She rents what she believes to be an idyllic cottage near the coastal village of Bamburgh for some time away to put things into perspective. Immediately the reader can sense the cancer battle has changed Claire and she is not as confident as she once was. She would love to find that special someone who could be there for her in the future, someone she could share her hopes and dreams with but the scars that remain make her fearful that anyone could ever love her the way she deserves to be adored and cherished. I can relate in some small way to what Claire had experienced and I understood why she felt so apprehensive and felt the need to escape but it did seem she was isolating herself ever so slightly. When she arrives at the cottage, to say it doesn't live up to expectations is an understatement. It's falling apart and lacks the basic necessities but the surrounding area more than makes up for it and when early one morning she spots the handsome man next door taking a dip in the sea leaving his clothes on the beach well that more than makes up for the lack of basic amenities.I totally understand that Claire was looking for a place of solitude and peace where she could relax, enjoy the sun and let her mind wander but for the first half of the book I thought there was a distinct lack of characters or those that were mentioned we never got to know much about them. Having described the location of the cottage and the lovely village of Bamburgh so well, so much so that I had my own vivid picture created in my mind and I wanted to holiday there, it was such a pity we didn't get to know more of the residents. Linda from the bakery makes a few appearances but I felt we were just skimming the surface and I wanted more. I know this was Claire's story to tell but I wanted her to interact with a few more people. When she finally gets to meet Ed from next door boy he couldn't have come across as less charming. He was gruff, abrupt and I hate to say it rude but I wondered was there a reason for this? Surely if you have a nice woman as a next door holiday neighbour you wouldn't have such an unwelcoming attitude but would rather engage in a little holiday fun?The book moved along at a gentle, relaxed pace and for some time I felt nothing major happened and I suppose that's what happens when you are on holiday. Claire takes up bread making and it becomes like a form of therapy for her. Her sister Sally arrives for a weekend break and I enjoyed seeing the relationship between the pair. As Claire is a journalist her idea for a new blog 'magic moments' was excellent and fitted in well with the themes of the book but still I was waiting for something big to happen, that twist that keeps the reader rapidly turning the pages. I did feel the second half picked up the pace slightly and I loved how once back at work Claire took on some personal challenges but something kept drawing her back to the cottage.We slowly got to know a little more about Ed and things seemed to be developing a bit more beyond a friendship but could things possibly work out given Ed was such a closed book? Could Claire herself open up fully? Was she ready to expose her true feelings and the scars of which I felt she should be proud as they marked her out as a true survivor. Someone who has battled through the lowest of lows and emerged out as a winner. She had been on a journey, a slow crawl at times but now was back in the right life lane. I just wondered would that lane bring her any long term happiness or would Ed prove too elusive? Some events and twists and turns may lead the readers to answers and I hoped against hope something positive and fruitful would be the eventual outcome.My Summer of Magic Moments was the first book I have read by Caroline Roberts and it was a lovely, enjoyable read as was suggested by the bright, inviting cover. Although I did find it an uplifting and sweet read it didn't totally blow me away, I was hoping for just that little bit more. There was something ever so slightly lacking for me that would have made this a truly brilliant read. That said I am glad I read this book and will go back and read the author's teashop series in the future.
    more
  • Lee
    June 1, 2017
    This is a sweet book which could have, with a few tweaks, made my Favourites list.We meet Claire, our heroine, while on a holiday at a small Northumberland town. She’s just come through her battle of breast cancer, but not without some emotional baggage. Other than the usual emotional turmoil that goes with fighting cancer, her husband waited until she received the all clear health-wise before he broke the news that he wanted a divorce. Anyway, Claire decides to spend three weeks in a cottage by This is a sweet book which could have, with a few tweaks, made my Favourites list.We meet Claire, our heroine, while on a holiday at a small Northumberland town. She’s just come through her battle of breast cancer, but not without some emotional baggage. Other than the usual emotional turmoil that goes with fighting cancer, her husband waited until she received the all clear health-wise before he broke the news that he wanted a divorce. Anyway, Claire decides to spend three weeks in a cottage by the seaside to recover. The cottage proves to be quite rundown but it does a lovely outlook, and not only of the water. Claire’s neighbour, it turns out, has a tendency to swim naked and Claire is quite impressed with the view. I don’t think it’s a spoiler to say that Claire and her neighbour, Ed, eventually go down a romantic path. Actually, I should probably remove the word ‘eventually’. Claire and Ed seem to go from saying hello in passing to kissing passionately quite abruptly. It wasn’t completely awful, but I wasn’t completely sold on the whole thing. It needed more a build up for me.I would have liked to have read more plot conflict in the book other than Ed. I didn’t think the ex-husband or the cancer were used to their fullest in this respect. It was difficult for me to find too much ill will towards the ex-husband. After all, what would have been worse? Him asking for the divorce in the midst of her treatment? And really, he only featured in one or two chapters and this wasn't enough for me to truly dislike him.The cancer too is not used enough. It's mentioned with regards to raising money towards its cure, and the fear of its return, but I would have recommended a few flashbacks to the actual treatment and more of Ed's reaction to the scars it left on her body.Instead, there are large chunks of the book devoted to describing mundane activities such as Claire baking bread, moving house, and participating in a charity run. I didn’t mind this during the first few chapters but after a while I found myself skimming.I also need to touch slightly on Claire’s age. She is supposedly thirty. Everything about her had me thinking she was quite a bit older. Now, I know young women get cancer too, but I just found that the way she was written seemed to point towards her being more in her mid- to late-forties. I do wonder if Roberts wrote the character older originally and an editor or publisher in their ‘wisdom’ made the change.Overall, I liked the book, but didn’t love it. 3 out of 5
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    June 6, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley, Publisher and Caroline Roberts for the opportunity to read this book for an honest review. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance reader copy of this book. You can find my review on both Goodreads and Amazon. On goodreads.com/karenwhittard and on Amazon under k.e.whittard from publication date. The perfect summer read to warm your heat. Absolute stunner of a book. I loved it.
    more
  • Amanda
    June 14, 2017
    Another gorgeous, easy read from someone who's become one of my favourite authors in the past year.
  • Chellsandbooks
    June 8, 2017
    my full review can be found at www.chellsandbooks.wordpress.com
  • Noemi Proietti
    May 25, 2017
    After winning her battle with cancer, Claire is taking a break from work to recharge and relax. She goes back to the small Scottish village where she used to go on holiday with her family when she was a child. Claire wants to use this holiday to forget about the cancer, forget about the husband who left her for another woman, and to find new ideas for her newspaper column. On her first morning there, Claire sees her handsome and elusive neighbour, Ed, swimming naked and for a moment all her prob After winning her battle with cancer, Claire is taking a break from work to recharge and relax. She goes back to the small Scottish village where she used to go on holiday with her family when she was a child. Claire wants to use this holiday to forget about the cancer, forget about the husband who left her for another woman, and to find new ideas for her newspaper column. On her first morning there, Claire sees her handsome and elusive neighbour, Ed, swimming naked and for a moment all her problems seem far away. But as Ed doesn't seem too interested in getting to know her, Claire focuses her attention on her job and decides to write an article about her magic moments like spending time with her family or reading a book on the beach. Soon her column is a success and people start writing to her about their magic moments. Also, Ed isn’t so unfriendly anymore although he seems to have a secret. Claire's scars from cancer are not only physical but also psychological as she struggle to accept her body after the cancer and to overcome her fear of the disease returning. Luckily she is surrounded by friends and family who care deeply for her. I always enjoy a novel by Caroline Roberts and this is a romantic, moving and thought-provoking novel about second chances, love and never giving up.
    more
  • Karen Mace
    May 23, 2017
    With all the horrors that the world throws at us on a daily basis, this book proved to be the perfect antidote for that full of those magic moments that we often ignore and take for granted and I have loved escaping into the world of Claire as she recovers from breast cancer and how that experience changes her outlook on life.She has planned a little escape after the horrors of her illness, so a rundown cottage by the sea seems the perfect retreat to just have some 'me' time and to get back to e With all the horrors that the world throws at us on a daily basis, this book proved to be the perfect antidote for that full of those magic moments that we often ignore and take for granted and I have loved escaping into the world of Claire as she recovers from breast cancer and how that experience changes her outlook on life.She has planned a little escape after the horrors of her illness, so a rundown cottage by the sea seems the perfect retreat to just have some 'me' time and to get back to enjoying the simpler things in life - and it also helps when you end up with a rather hunky neighbour who is partial to a bit of skinny dipping!! Enough to put a smile back on anybodys face!! ;)As she fits into daily life on the coast, she discovers a love of baking and also starts to find inspiration for new topics for her to use in her writing career and life seems to be falling back into place, and as a reader you are cheering her on from the sidelines as she is a wonderful character who deserves a slice of luck in life. Oh and I also now have an overwhelming desire to bake my own bread!! I adored The Cosy Teashop in the Castle, and this book was just as good for me! Love the authors' style of writing and her ability to create such wonderful characters and settings is a winner everytime for me! A real summer treat of a read and highly recommended!!Thank you to Harper Impulse for the ARC copy in return for a fair and honest review
    more
  • Lisa
    June 14, 2017
    Light hearted and lovely
  • Kathryn Parry
    May 29, 2017
    This is my next NetGalley read. About 24% in a few hours and it has giving me tears and understanding of the scars left behind after cancer. A really powerful start to the story and I'm already in love with the main character. A real page turner so far and different from what I expected.I just couldn't put this down. A real page turner and a heartfelt story that captured me from the start. I think I found a new favourite author to add to my reading list and looking forward to reading more from t This is my next NetGalley read. About 24% in a few hours and it has giving me tears and understanding of the scars left behind after cancer. A really powerful start to the story and I'm already in love with the main character. A real page turner so far and different from what I expected.I just couldn't put this down. A real page turner and a heartfelt story that captured me from the start. I think I found a new favourite author to add to my reading list and looking forward to reading more from this author.
    more
  • Jean Haylett
    June 10, 2017
    I really loved this book!! Claire is a cancer survivor and has recently got divorced but is a really strong woman who is determined to escape her past troubles and live life to the full. Whilst reading the book I was laughing one minute and crying the next. Willing Claire on as she turned her life around. The Summer of Magic moments is set in Bamburgh, a beautiful seaside location, where Clare rents a run down cottage to focus on her writing and discovers a love of baking and making new magical I really loved this book!! Claire is a cancer survivor and has recently got divorced but is a really strong woman who is determined to escape her past troubles and live life to the full. Whilst reading the book I was laughing one minute and crying the next. Willing Claire on as she turned her life around. The Summer of Magic moments is set in Bamburgh, a beautiful seaside location, where Clare rents a run down cottage to focus on her writing and discovers a love of baking and making new magical memories to heal from the past. She meets sexy neighbour Ed, who although as his own wounds find they share a wonderful connection . Will this develop into a romance? Will they both help each other heal from their pasts? Although the story centres on Claire's recovery from cancer this does not dominate the novel. Caroline portrays Claire's positivity and strength which is heartwarming and sharing Claire's journey from insecurity to self love and positivity. My Summer of Magic Moments is positive, strong, empowering, emotional , full of fun and romance and I highly recommend it. It made me think of my own life and how precious it is and every moment counts. This story was a real page turner and I have now found a new favourite author looking forward to reading more of her books .
    more
  • Alice
    June 10, 2017
    4.5 STARSI loved this book. Claire is such a strong character and you are rooting for her from the beginning. Ed, the next door neighbour, is a troubled sexy main lead and you are immediately drawn into their little world by the sea. I read it in a couple of sittings!I was wondering if this book would be hard to read, given the cancer storyline, but it really isn't. It is so well written that you laugh, cry and gasp alongside the characters. It is definitely a poignant read. I love the idea of e 4.5 STARSI loved this book. Claire is such a strong character and you are rooting for her from the beginning. Ed, the next door neighbour, is a troubled sexy main lead and you are immediately drawn into their little world by the sea. I read it in a couple of sittings!I was wondering if this book would be hard to read, given the cancer storyline, but it really isn't. It is so well written that you laugh, cry and gasp alongside the characters. It is definitely a poignant read. I love the idea of embracing 'magic moments' in daily life and living for the little things. This aspect of the book really captured my imagination and got me thinking about my own magic moments. The quote on the front cover says this is a life affirming read and I would definitely agree with that.This would be a great beach read; but would equally work well snuggled up with a hot chocolate by a roaring fire. So there's no excuses. If this is your genre, you won't want to miss this! I will definitely read more by this author.I received a free review copy via netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sally Coles
    May 22, 2017
    Claire has been going through a tough time, she has just had the all clear from months of chemo and radiation for breast cancer and the scars to prove it. Feeling the need to get away from everything she books herself a break in Bamburgh on the Northumberland coastArriving at the cottage she is initially shocked at the poor state of repair but it has its compensations - it is right on the beach apart from the attached house next door is remote from the village.........and when she sees the hunk Claire has been going through a tough time, she has just had the all clear from months of chemo and radiation for breast cancer and the scars to prove it. Feeling the need to get away from everything she books herself a break in Bamburgh on the Northumberland coastArriving at the cottage she is initially shocked at the poor state of repair but it has its compensations - it is right on the beach apart from the attached house next door is remote from the village.........and when she sees the hunk next door swimming naked at dawn every morning things are definitely looking up!A lovely warm book - predictable but still worth reading - lovely characters and the descriptions of the friends she makes in the village and the surrounding area, definitely a nice light summer read
    more
  • Laura
    June 29, 2017
    A must read.Such a heart warming book. We all should stop and appreciate the magic moments. Really craving a visit to the beach pity about the British weather. Mine is cosy days snuggled up with my family.
  • Claire Scott
    May 14, 2017
    Loved, Loved, Loved this book, How could you not. the characters, the scenery....perfect summer read that will have you laughing, crying and swooning. But beware, once you start it, you'll not be able to finish it
  • Rachael Lambert
    June 26, 2017
    Really easy summer read, perfect for by the pool lazy days. I liked the fact we started the journey after Claire had already been on quite a massive emotional one already, a great book reminding us all to enjoy those magical moments whilst we can,
  • Amie Roberts
    June 22, 2017
    Such a wonderful storyline that makes you think deeply about the meaning of life and how precious it is. Loved the storyline and characters. A brilliant read that gets you thinking about the important things in life and treasuring all your magic moments.
    more
  • Clara
    May 11, 2017
    Such a lovely story I managed to read it when the weather was sunny and warm outside and it was just fab. The perfect summery read!
  • Loz
    June 4, 2017
    Sad but also sweet, with a nice message of appreciating the simple things in life.
  • Cher Window
    June 23, 2017
    First time I have read this author but I think this book is wonderful. Right from the start I was hooked. Did not want to put it down. Great read.
  • Gillian
    June 8, 2017
    ReviewAnother great book by Caroline Roberts. The perfect book to while away a lazy afternoon. For readers who like life affirming, romantic books this is definitely one to read.
  • Cressida McLaughlin
    March 15, 2017
    I've been lost in this all afternoon - just finished it. It's beautiful, it wrenched my heart and made me laugh, sob and swoon. Loved it. ‪I've been lost in this all afternoon - just finished it. It's beautiful, it wrenched my heart and made me laugh, sob and swoon. Loved it.
    more
Write a review