Haunting the Deep (How to Hang a Witch, #2)
The Titanic meets the delicious horror of Ransom Riggs and the sass of Mean Girls in this follow-up to the #1 New York Times bestseller How to Hang a Witch, in which a contemporary teen finds herself a passenger on the famous “ship of dreams”—a story made all the more fascinating because the author’s own relatives survived the doomed voyage.Samantha Mather knew her family’s connection to the infamous Salem Witch Trials might pose obstacles to an active social life. But having survived one curse, she never thought she’d find herself at the center of a new one. This time, Sam is having recurring dreams about the Titanic . . . where she’s been walking the deck with first-class passengers, like her aunt and uncle. Meanwhile, in Sam’s waking life, strange missives from the Titanic have been finding their way to her, along with haunting visions of people who went down with the ship. Ultimately, Sam and the Descendants, along with some help from heartthrob Elijah, must unravel who is behind the spell that is drawing her ever further into the dream ship . . . and closer to sharing the same grim fate as its ghostly passengers.

Haunting the Deep (How to Hang a Witch, #2) Details

TitleHaunting the Deep (How to Hang a Witch, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 3rd, 2017
PublisherKnopf Books for Young Readers
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult

Haunting the Deep (How to Hang a Witch, #2) Review

  • Jeff Zentner
    March 31, 2017
    Adriana Mather returns to Salem in HAUNTING THE DEEP, with yet another propulsive, intricate mystery. Fans of HOW TO HANG A WITCH will be glad to see that everything Mather did so skillfully in HOW TO HANG A WITCH is even more fully on display here—the pace; the chemistry; the twists; the living, breathing characters. If you're looking for a book that will grab you and keep you turning pages right up until the end, look no further!
    more
  • Florie Katherine
    April 25, 2017
    I am always concerned when an author writes a sequel to a well loved book (in this case, "How To Hang A Witch"). Often I find second attempts disappointing at best. However, I was more than thrilled with Ms. Mather's second novel. The blend from one storyline/book to another was seamless, and anyone that's tried to write even short stories knows how difficult that can be. I was thrilled to see a dynamic similar to "The Craft," at least in the beginning, and I spent much of the book imagining one I am always concerned when an author writes a sequel to a well loved book (in this case, "How To Hang A Witch"). Often I find second attempts disappointing at best. However, I was more than thrilled with Ms. Mather's second novel. The blend from one storyline/book to another was seamless, and anyone that's tried to write even short stories knows how difficult that can be. I was thrilled to see a dynamic similar to "The Craft," at least in the beginning, and I spent much of the book imagining one of the characters as Fairuza Balk, which amused me to no end. As I don't want to spoil the book, I won't go into further detail regarding the story. I will say it is an easy read with a nice flow and good character development. I cannot wait for the next installment!
    more
  • Kali Wallace
    April 9, 2017
    A gloriously creepy and fun return to the witchy, haunted world of HOW TO HANG A WITCH--now with more ghosts, more spooky-as-hell magic, more kickass teen girls fighting evil with flair, and terrifying visits to the grandmother of all ghost ships.Oh, and my ghost boyfriend, obviously. YOU STILL CAN'T HAVE HIM. HE'S MINE. Seriously, this is such a fun sequel. Perfect continuation of the first book, with more of everything that made that one so fantastic, and the spooks and story and history are w A gloriously creepy and fun return to the witchy, haunted world of HOW TO HANG A WITCH--now with more ghosts, more spooky-as-hell magic, more kickass teen girls fighting evil with flair, and terrifying visits to the grandmother of all ghost ships.Oh, and my ghost boyfriend, obviously. YOU STILL CAN'T HAVE HIM. HE'S MINE. Seriously, this is such a fun sequel. Perfect continuation of the first book, with more of everything that made that one so fantastic, and the spooks and story and history are wound together so well!
    more
  • Christie Brochey
    April 22, 2017
    Haunting the deep Was one of the best books I've ever read it has amazing history in it you get to read a amazing book and learn about the past Adriana Mather is by far the best author I couldn't get enough of the book
  • Alyssa
    February 6, 2017
    OH MY GOSH IM SO EXCITED THE COVER IS BEAUTIFUL FJDKSLFOSLANGJDPAOTBTKFOSLS DUDE I CANT HANDLE THIS IM SO HAPPY
  • TJ
    April 16, 2017
    Spectacular! I enjoyed this one even more than HOW TO HANG A WITCH. Deliciously creepy, and I genuinely had no idea how the conflict would resolve.
  • Marena Kelley
    April 25, 2017
    This was such an amazing book. I could not put it down. Each and every part of the book just drew me in. From the history of Sam'a family to the real life feeling of the titanic. Her relationship with Jaxon failing as he choose to be with someone else and leave her in the dust to Elijah coming back. This book was so amazing. After reading it I want to learn more about the titanic. The worst part of all was reading about all those passenger falling into the water drowning, I cried. The words were This was such an amazing book. I could not put it down. Each and every part of the book just drew me in. From the history of Sam'a family to the real life feeling of the titanic. Her relationship with Jaxon failing as he choose to be with someone else and leave her in the dust to Elijah coming back. This book was so amazing. After reading it I want to learn more about the titanic. The worst part of all was reading about all those passenger falling into the water drowning, I cried. The words were so powerful. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants a good mystery but also loves a good love story.
    more
  • Sandra Mather
    April 16, 2017
    I was deliriously happy to see my 'friends' from HTHAW again! Well, one friend in particular, my favorite 'book boyfriend.' At any rate, I found this book captivating and thoroughly enjoyable.
  • Kerry
    March 31, 2017
    Scored an ARC of this--yay me!- and I do not know what it is about Adriana Mather's books but I swear to GOD they are like crack to me! This one is just as entertaining and page-turning and unputdownable as How to Hang a Witch, if not even more so and I loved the hell out of that book. Total blissful escapism. Highly rec!
    more
  • Jilly Blake
    May 2, 2017
    Haunting the Deep is an excellent follow up to How to Hang a Witch. The book transports you to Salem and the spirits that live there. What I love about this series is the history, unique characters and the supernatural elements. If you are looking for the perfect 'fall' book, this series is for you! Haunting the Deep has everything you could want, witches, spirits from the Titanic and it all takes place in Salem! This is a book I will reread! Read it, I promise you will love it!
    more
Write a review