The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
A diverse fantasy reimagining of Les Misérables and The Jungle Book.In the dark days following a failed French Revolution, in the violent jungle of an alternate 1828 Paris, young cat-burglar Eponine (Nina) Thenardier goes head to head with merciless royalty, and the lords of the city's criminal underworld to save the life of her adopted sister Cosette (Ettie).Her vow will take her from the city’s dark underbelly, through a dawning revolution, to the very heart of the glittering court of Louis XVII, where she must make an impossible choice between guild, blood, betrayal and war.For fans of the gritty criminal underworlds of Six Of Crows, The Lies Of Locke Lamora, fierce alternate histories like The Gilded Wolves, And I Darken …and anyone who knows that Eponine deserved so much more.

The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1) Details

TitleThe Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 2nd, 2020
PublisherKnopf Children's
ISBN-139781524772857
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Retellings, Historical, Historical Fiction

The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1) Review

  • Faith M ✨
    January 1, 1970
    "A diverse fantasy reimagining of Les Misérables and The Jungle Book.""A Court of Miracles"...is it a Hunchback retelling also?And based on the synopsis...where exactly does the Jungle Book come in?
  • ☙ percy ❧
    January 1, 1970
    1828??? louis xii???? is this a typo and did they mean louis xvii? and if they did, THEN THIS IS AN ALTERNATE HISTORY IN WHICH LOUIS-CHARLES A.K.A. MY FAVE IS ALIVE?????????? AND THE KING????????????tho if it IS my child louis-charles then he'd BETTER be presented as GOOD and not some sort of EVIL KING ok. it's a les mis adaptation so........ D: BUT I DON'T WANT HIM TO BE BAD!!! OH FUCK, WHAT IF HE'S KILLED ALL OVER AGAIN??? CANNAE DEAL WI THIS LIKEholy fuck tho... alternate history in which 1828??? louis xii???? is this a typo and did they mean louis xvii? and if they did, THEN THIS IS AN ALTERNATE HISTORY IN WHICH LOUIS-CHARLES A.K.A. MY FAVE IS ALIVE?????????? AND THE KING????????????tho if it IS my child louis-charles then he'd BETTER be presented as GOOD and not some sort of EVIL KING ok. it's a les mis adaptation so........ D: BUT I DON'T WANT HIM TO BE BAD!!! OH FUCK, WHAT IF HE'S KILLED ALL OVER AGAIN??? CANNAE DEAL WI THIS LIKEholy fuck tho... alternate history in which louis xvii (cuz hopefully that's not a typo and not some terrible inaccuracy) is king?? literally my entire aesthetic. this is all i'm about, bruh. this is my SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i'm fucking dead, everyone. please help. (and please do my darling charles justice, he is the sweetest person in the world. don't give him the marie antoinette treatment. please. i beg of you.) (why am i continuing to ramble? MAYBE BECAUSE THIS IS MY FAVOURITE HISTORICAL FIGURE, BITCHES!!!!!!! literally am i dreaming)i told myself i wouldn't hype up books anymore after being mildly disappointed 253582 times but i just.... can't help myself. it's louis. FUCKING. charles. edit: just corrected louis xii to louis xvii in the blurb (after seeing the author's review mention louis XVII). because yeah. doing the Lord's work on earth my friends ;Dalso not to be Dramatique but as i'm a huge fan of Les Mis and the World's Biggest Fan of Louis XVII and also a person of colour i'm JUST SAYING i'd be the perfect recipient of an ARC
    more
  • Anka “Viva La Papaya”
    January 1, 1970
    *sees book that looks interesting**sees it's compared to Lies of Locke Lamora and Six of Crows**sees it's compared to Throne of Glass*
  • ♠ Tabi ♠
    January 1, 1970
    LES MIS and THE JUNGLE BOOK???Oh, I got to wait until 2020, do I?HELLO YOU BEAUTIFUL COVER
  • anna (readingpeaches)
    January 1, 1970
    a diverse fantasy retelling of LES MIS and the jungle book with EPONINE as the main character and NO ONE??? told me abt this???? Y'ALL ARE ALL CANCELLED, NOW KESTER GRANT IS MY ONLY FRIEND
  • Brittany (Brittany's Book Rambles)
    January 1, 1970
    I read an early draft of this book last year and from the first page, I was in love.I have been dying for this deal to come out and now I can't wait to see the finished book!
  • Hiba
    January 1, 1970
    'For fans of something something and Leigh Bardugo's Six of Crows?I'M READY
  • Zainab
    January 1, 1970
    It says Six Of Crows and The Gilded Wolves so I kind of have to read it.
  • Lia
    January 1, 1970
    I don't even know where to begin explaining how much I need this book in my life
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    LES MIZ AND THE JUNGLE BOOKlike?? i'm ready even though I have no fucking clue what that even means
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    January 1, 1970
    11/28/19This cover is very pretty <3--- A diverse fantasy reimagining of Les Misérables and The Jungle Book. Seems like a strange combination, but I'm open to it.
  • Kester Grant
    January 1, 1970
    5,000 adds! 4,500 adds! Here's a shiny quote to celebrate. 28/06/19Updated USA release date : JUNE 202026/06/19Ich höre, dass die deutsche Ausgabe im DEZEMBER 2019 veröffentlicht wird. Hurra!!Fancy reading before everyone else? sign up here and the Guild of Letters will be in touch with further instructions..PRE-ORDER TCOM from your preferred retailer hereFAQ:Triggering content: contains mature themes including human trafficking, sexual slavery and violence towards women and children. Do you 5,000 adds! 4,500 adds! Here's a shiny quote to celebrate. 28/06/19Updated USA release date : JUNE 202026/06/19Ich höre, dass die deutsche Ausgabe im DEZEMBER 2019 veröffentlicht wird. Hurra!!Fancy reading before everyone else? sign up here and the Guild of Letters will be in touch with further instructions..PRE-ORDER TCOM from your preferred retailer hereFAQ:Triggering content: contains mature themes including human trafficking, sexual slavery and violence towards women and children. Do you have to have read Jungle Book and / or Les Miserables to enjoy A Court of Miracles?no, you can enjoy it even if you're unfamiliar with the works it's based on.Is A Court of Miracles a retelling of both Jungle Book and Les Miserables?ACOM is a direct reimagining of both the Mowgli arc of tales from the First and Second Jungle Book, and the entire cast of Les Miserables. (well.. almost the entire cast)If this is a Jungle Book reimagining, are there animals in A Court of Miracles?ACOM is a retelling of JB in the same way as Neil Gaiman's Graveyard Book was a JB retelling. The animal characters all have human counterpartsHow diverse is A Court of Miracles?As a writer of color, representation is very important to me. I tried my best to introduce a diverse cast to the all-white narrative of Les Miserables, the main character of ACOM, Nina, is a POC and so are many of her compatriots. I also drew on my own personal experiences with prejudice surrounding religion, class and race to illustrate the contrasting societies of the diversity-rich Miracle Court, and the all-white nobility/royal court. What are your thoughts on Rudyard Kipling's imperialistic world-view and Disney's problematic versions of the Jungle Book?As a Mauritian Indian-Creole whose ancestors were brought from India as slaves and indentured labourers, representation is very important to me. ACOM is NOT based on Disney's Jungle Book rather it is based on Kipling's original Jungle Book stories, subverting Kipling's narrative to free it from its sometimes problematic roots.is there a / the usual / love triangle in ACOM?ACOM's ladies are far too busy fighting, scheming & adventuring to have time for love triangles.
    more
  • Mikaela
    January 1, 1970
    A diverse fantasy reimagining of Les Misérables and The Jungle BookI have absolutely zero clue what that means but I think I've been preparing for this ever since I was born.
  • ash | emeraldbookowl
    January 1, 1970
    Holy GIVE ME NOW.This.Sounds.AMAZING.Yet another 2019 2020 release that can be etched onto my tombstone.A fantasy reimagining of Les Misérables and The Jungle Book. AND the court of Louis XVII.*GASP*
  • - ̗̀ jess ̖́-
    January 1, 1970
    "retelling of les miserables"I LOVE LES MISERABLES"... for fans of six of crows"brain machien broke, too excited
  • ♡ Dakota ♡ (Sarcasm is my middle name)
    January 1, 1970
    A diverse fantasy reimagining of Les Misérables and the Jungle Book? Sign me up!
  • Lex
    January 1, 1970
    *I received this book from a publisher in exchange for a review.*I wasn't the perfect audience for this book because I couldn't read 'Les Misérables' and I couldn't finish 'The Jungle Book' either. I love the story of 'Les Misérables' but the novel is too slow and boring to me, and I found 'The Jungle Book' pretty tedious too. But I was really interested in their mix, so I started reading 'A Court of Miracles' with good feelings. Sadly it was a big dissapointment to me.Should I complain about *I received this book from a publisher in exchange for a review.*I wasn't the perfect audience for this book because I couldn't read 'Les Misérables' and I couldn't finish 'The Jungle Book' either. I love the story of 'Les Misérables' but the novel is too slow and boring to me, and I found 'The Jungle Book' pretty tedious too. But I was really interested in their mix, so I started reading 'A Court of Miracles' with good feelings. Sadly it was a big dissapointment to me.Should I complain about its slowness when both of the novels which it is based on are slow books? Should I complain that the plot is so flat when Mowgli's story is simple too? I think if you liked those books you'll like this one too because you'll be able to tolerate its slowness and simpleness and you'll enjoy what it can offer: a whole new perspective of two well known stories.I liked how the author changed Victor Hugo's Paris into Kipling's jungle. I think the idea was brilliant and the hierarchy was well-thought-out. I just found it really weird that she used the characters from 'Les Misérables'. I mean, it's Victor Hugo's work and his characters. I know that's the whole point of a retelling but I just don't know. I tolerated this well enough in Cinder by Marissa Meyer, but maybe just because the series is based on children tales and not on a literary masterpiece.As I mentioned above, I found the plot very flat. It's mostly about protecting Ettie (Cosette) from people. From Thénardier, from the Tiger, from Valjean, from who knows whom. We went round and round, out of the frying pan into the fire, and it made this story really boring. Building the whole plot on just one thing is a really bad idea. And there was the revolution, of course, which didn't get that much attention because "we have to save Ettie". -.- And I hated those stories about Paris's history before the chapters. I didn't care and they slowed the book down even more.I read that Kester Grant wrote this story in 15 days! I was totally dumbfounded at first but than, you know... It shows. If she worked on it more, maybe there would have been more of a plot. (And I have to say that I'm really not glad that her mentor is Rosalyn Eves in Pitch Wars. The same Rosalyn Eves who wrote Blood Rose Rebellion. Mon dieu...)I give it 2 stars because the idea wasn't bad. The novel was good only for one thing, though: I got into the mood to rewatch 'Les Misérables'. Now I just have to decide which version. :)
    more
  • Fanna
    January 1, 1970
    A retelling of Les Mis and The Jungle Book??? Uhhhm, yes, please! Also, 1800s in Paris? Perfect setting ever! Especially after reading The Gilded Wolves
  • Frank-Intergalactic Bookdragon
    January 1, 1970
    Why have a retelling of one classic when you can have a retelling of TWO classics???????
  • Samm | Sassenach the Book Wizard
    January 1, 1970
    anyone know if this is still happening?
  • Rena
    January 1, 1970
    I need time to gather my thoughts and just...come back from the high this book threw me into. It was different from what I expected, and so much better for it. I...I just can't stop smiling, I loved every second of this ride, and I can't wait to talk more about it. And I need the second book now!Review (Full Version on my blog):Disclaimer: I received an E-ARC from the author in exchange for an honest reviewThere are certain stories, where Im going to read every retelling. Les Miserables is one I need time to gather my thoughts and just...come back from the high this book threw me into. It was different from what I expected, and so much better for it. I...I just can't stop smiling, I loved every second of this ride, and I can't wait to talk more about it. And I need the second book now!😉Review (Full Version on my blog):Disclaimer: I received an E-ARC from the author in exchange for an honest reviewThere are certain stories, where I´m going to read every retelling. Les Miserables is one of those stories, so when I heard about this book, which centres Eponine as the heroine, with the main focus on the relationship between sisters, I knew I had to read it. So thank you so much to Kester Grant for giving me an ARC!And this book was so different from what I expected, and so much better! The official synopsis above points out that this is a cross with the Jungle Book, and you better head those words, because the style and worldbuilding are definitely born out of Kiplings classic, and not Les Mis. It makes for a fantastic read, but it took me a bit to get into the book, because it was so unexpected. So be prepared for that and you will find a treasure drove of a diverse cast, in a fantastic world, full of darkness but where the characters and especially Nina, our heroine, keep the light alive and set it blazing.Sisterhood, the connection between sisters and the lengths they go to protect each other is the main focus of the book. The synopsis talks about Nina protecting Ettie, her adopted sister, but the fate of her own older sister Azelma is equally important in this book. Azelma trying to protect Nina sets everything in motion and everything Nina does throughout the book is based in trying to save Azelma from the fate she resigned herself to. Ettie comes later, and represents a shift for Nina, the point where she draws the line in the sand about how far she is willing to go and descend to reach that goal. Her goals then extend to both sisters she loves, to save one and protect the other and watching her do everything in her power, make alliances, learning to play her world is amazing.But her sisters are not her only family, and I loved to see how Nina’s world expanded over the course of the book. She makes a lot of alliances to reach her goal, as mentioned before and the titular court of mircales is both the main world in which her struggles take place and her family. I loved how the guild were set up, how much focus on loyalty and family were placed on them, Because they banded together to survived and they can only survive if the guilds look out for their members. To quote Kipling and the Jungle book: “For the strength of the Pack is the Wolf, and the strength of the Wolf is the Pack.”But the court also made mistakes, out of fear, for this very principle of protecting themselves, and one of those mistakes birthed the Tiger, Lord Kaplan, the villain of the book, and Nina’s enemy. He is the Lord of the Flesh guild, and if you´ve read the first two trigger warnings, you know exactly what his guild deals in. And the next two, for how he controls his girls. The guilds failed him out of fear and when he returned as a monster they now fear him so much that they are in danger of failing others. Nina is the only one willing to fight him, to make alliances to deal with him, and it´s amazing. “I will sing the hunting song in his name.”Alliances, found family, friendships form the core of this book, it´s beating heart, so romance isn´t really important, but I want to talk about it for a second, because I still can´t believe that this book is finally giving me my favourite Les Mis shipping, which I never thought I would every see outside of fanfiction! More on that later, but I love how this book deals with romance, a bit tongue in cheek, with poor Nina just wanting to save her sister, and everybody noticing if she has romantic tension with someone (Ettie is the most guilty, she loves to ship her sister! It´s really cute.) But in the end it really gets threated seriously and I loved how it turned out.I´m really happy to see a certain pairing, because as said before, I never thought I´d get to see this pairing outside of fanfiction, and even these small hints are making me so happy, but I´ve got to admit, I was a bit sad that Javerts gender had to change for that to happen. Don´t get me wrong, a female Javert is amazing, and the more female characters we get, the better, but there´s a bit of a strange after taste if it only happened to make this ship possible. Because ideally it should be possible without the gender change. And it´s not only that pairing, we hear a lot about how the court accepts members of all races and genders, that discrimination doesn´t happen there, because they are all one family, and that is shown to be true, but there isn´t a single mention about LGBT+ and if the courts tolerance would hold true with that to. We have a chance to see this with Enjolras St. Just and Grantaire, but at most there are a few hints and nothing more, since some people in story seem to think there´s something between Nina and St. Just. I really hope it doesn´t get swept under the carpet, or ignored, because let´s be honest, Grantaire being in love with Enjolras is canon for Les Mis, and I would love to see that finally happening somewhere. But that´s about the only strong critic I had a bout this book.Les Miserables is one of my favourite books of all time. I´ve read it three times, I own multiple versions of the musical on DVD and normally when I finish the story I´m smiling through a flood of tears. This book just left me smiling, so wide it almost hurt and I left the world happy. That alone is the best recommendation and the highest compliment I can give a Les Mis retelling. It made me happy. I don´t know if that will hold true for the next two books in the trilogy too, but I can´t wait to find out.
    more
  • Love, Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    “And for anyone who knows Eponine deserved so much more”I will give you my firstborn child to have this book right now
  • Monique V
    January 1, 1970
    OMG!! *GRABBY HANDS* I want it now OMG!! *GRABBY HANDS* I want it now😣😣😣
  • ayanami
    January 1, 1970
    Eponine-centered retelling of Les Mis after a failed French revolution
  • Jamie Pacton
    January 1, 1970
    YA Les Mis meets Jungle Book? Yes, please. I've been intrigued by Kit's idea since she first mentioned it pre-Pitch Wars. I had the pleasure of reading the first chapter of this book during the mentor round of Pitch Wars. Loved it so much! I'm eagerly awaiting the full book. The world is richly drawn and the characters are fascinating.
    more
  • noah
    January 1, 1970
    HOLY SHIT I LITERALLY DREAMT OF A RETELLING OF LES MIS AND NOW ITS ACTUALLY HERE WHAT THE FUCK OMG I NEED THIS THANKS
  • Cierra
    January 1, 1970
    Obviously, I get that it's a retelling of Les Mis (squeals and delight from me).... but how does the Jungle Book part factor in?!?! I don't know whether to be excited or concerned.
  • Sasha Nanua
    January 1, 1970
    I read a draft of this novel post-Pitch Wars and it was a delight. I would keep my laptop open in class (History of the French language, which was fitting) just so I could keep reading it, and finished it in two days. I can't wait to see what the future has in store for this book, and this (amazing) author. Cannot WAIT to have a finished copy in my hands!
    more
  • Alyssa Grace
    January 1, 1970
    Eponine? Sold.
  • anna grace
    January 1, 1970
    historical fantasy!!! and the jungle book and les mis mixed together somehow?? idk how this could sound any better
Write a review