Changing Lines (Harrisburg Railers, #1)
Can Tennant show Jared that age is just a number, and that love is all that matters? The Rowe Brothers are famous hockey hotshots, but as the youngest of the trio, Tennant has always had to play against his brothers’ reputations. To get out of their shadows, and against their advice, he accepts a trade to the Harrisburg Railers, where he runs into Jared Madsen. Mads is an old family friend and his brother’s one-time teammate. Mads is Tennant’s new coach. And Mads is the sexiest thing he’s ever laid eyes on.Jared Madsen’s hockey career was cut short by a fault in his heart, but coaching keeps him close to the game. When Ten is traded to the team, his carefully organized world is thrown into chaos. Nine years his junior and his best friend’s brother, he knows Ten is strictly off-limits, but as soon as he sees Ten’s moves, on and off the ice, he knows that his heart could get him into trouble again.

Changing Lines (Harrisburg Railers, #1) Details

TitleChanging Lines (Harrisburg Railers, #1)
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJul 12th, 2017
PublisherLove Lane Books Limited
Number of pages233 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, M M Romance, Sports and Games, Sports, Hockey, Contemporary

Readers also enjoyed


Changing Lines (Harrisburg Railers, #1) Review

  • BWT (Belen)
    June 25, 2017
    2.5 StarsI'm not going to lie, with the majority of Ten and Jared's relationship being off page, and with quite a bit of the little on page development being not-so-interesting sex, and then the ending it all left me a bit...disappointed.I am surprised that, even with the dual POV, I don't really feel like I got to know the characters very well, and at 200+ pages I don't really understand why.The hockey sequences were cool, but it would have been nice to get to know the players a bit better. Lik 2.5 StarsI'm not going to lie, with the majority of Ten and Jared's relationship being off page, and with quite a bit of the little on page development being not-so-interesting sex, and then the ending it all left me a bit...disappointed.I am surprised that, even with the dual POV, I don't really feel like I got to know the characters very well, and at 200+ pages I don't really understand why.The hockey sequences were cool, but it would have been nice to get to know the players a bit better. Like, Stan, the enormous goalie...we never find out why he talks completely in tv and commercial catchphrases, but it seemed like he understood what was being said to him...did he? Was that the only English he knew? Where did he learn it? What was his deal?I wanted to know more about everything and it just wasn't there.There were really only four scenes in the entire book that "stood out" for me - when Ten came out to his parents, then to his brothers, when Mads stands up to his son's Grandfather and has a heart to heart with his son, Ryker, and when Ten and Mads are "outed" as a couple to the team. I loved how when Ten told his parents about being gay, their reaction had me tearing up. That scene got me in the feels. Then, after he came out to his brothers, Brady and Jamie, I really thought the story had reached a turning point. Alas, no.I'll probably check out the second book in the series, but it will be more out of curiosity to see if this writing pair gel more than being drawn in by the next set of main characters, particularly as I didn't feel like there was any development of those characters here either.Advanced Review Galley copy of Changing Lines (Harrisburg Railers Ice Hockey #1) provided by Love Lane Books in exchange of an honest review.This review has been cross-posted at Gay Book Reviews.
    more
  • Karen
    July 17, 2017
    ‘Changing Lines’ is the first book in a new series by R.J. Scott and V.L. Locey. While I’m a long time fan of R.J. Scott this is my first time reading anything by Ms. Scott’s co-author V.L. Locey and from the looks of things I’m about to become a fan of this author as well…I’m definitely a fan of this series already. It’s hockey and I am after all Canadian and a Bruins fan, I’ll explain this shortly. Tennant ‘Ten’ Rowe is one of the 3 brothers who are making a name for themselves on the ice. The ‘Changing Lines’ is the first book in a new series by R.J. Scott and V.L. Locey. While I’m a long time fan of R.J. Scott this is my first time reading anything by Ms. Scott’s co-author V.L. Locey and from the looks of things I’m about to become a fan of this author as well…I’m definitely a fan of this series already. It’s hockey and I am after all Canadian and a Bruins fan, I’ll explain this shortly. Tennant ‘Ten’ Rowe is one of the 3 brothers who are making a name for themselves on the ice. There’s Ryan his oldest brother captain of the amazing Boston Bruins. Unfortunately, while he loves his little brother Ten, Ryan tends to be a bit obnoxious at times but hey, that’s what big brothers are for…I should know I have four of them. Then there’s Jamie (James to their mom) he’s the peace keeper the negotiator of the family and Ten well he’s the baby and needless to say he’s tired of living in everyone’s shadow. He’s got talent of his own and then some but between his two older brothers and playing in the shadow of Tate Collins his teammate and the shining star of Texas hockey Ten’s thinking that getting traded to the Railers might not be such a bad thing and maybe it’ll be his chance to shine. Jared ‘Mads’ Madsen is the defensive coach for the Railers. Having his NHL career cut short wasn’t his plan but at least coaching allows him to continue with the game he loves and spend time with his son, Ryker. Jared’s not a stranger to the Rowe brothers but what he suddenly realizes is that Ten’s may be 9 years his junior but he’s not a little kid anymore and keeping his hands off may not be something Mads really wants to do.I’m not sure where to start here so let’s start with the obvious I enjoyed the hell outta’ this story…I loved it. For me it was well balanced between the romance and the hockey. I liked the amount of hockey that was there in terms of the detail…like I said “I am Canadian”. I loved Mads and how he refused to rush things between him and Ten. He wanted to take it slow for him and Ten to really get to know one other. I loved that it wasn’t just a case of ‘Hi, how you been? and then falling into bed. That took time and drove Ten crazy as he discovered that Mads may have wanted him but he wasn’t going to lose control or think with his little head…nope Mads was a man with the maturity to know that ‘good things come to he, who waits’ or has strawberries… I will never view strawberries quite the same again. These two men are sweet, funny, sexy and just really good together both in and out of the bedroom. Their communication is strong and then there’s all the other fun stuff. Things like Mads son Ryker. He was a typical 17 year old wanting to rush his life but a the still time silently crying out for help and guidance from his parents. His grandfather not so much…the guy was an idiot…but you’ll have to read the story for the scoop on him. I would also seriously like to spend a holiday at the Rowe house this family is awesome…don’t get me wrong, they’re not perfect. They fight, they argue and then they talk and make up or go to the treehouse…again you’ll need to read the story to find out about this but the treehouse is awesome. ‘Changing Lines’ is by no means a comedy but it is a good start to what I think is going to be an enjoyable hockey themed series. There were hot men both on and off the ice, humorous moments…also on and off the ice, there’s Pokemon and Pokemon tattoos, there’s Sven, one of the best Russian goalies EVER!…I love Sven and a coming out that is epic from start to finish. If book 2 is anything like this one…well all I can say is…‘Hockey Night in Canada’ just got a whole lot more interesting.*********************A copy of ‘Changing Lines’ was graciously provided by the authors in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jay
    July 4, 2017
    (Originally posted 4 July 2017):2.5 stars -- Since the blog I review for is participating in the blog tour for this book, I am withholding my non-glowy review until after the book's release, but suffice it to say that I think this book is only okay at best.---(Edits posted on 21 July 2017):Now that it has been more than a week since release, here's the quick-and-dirty:Changing Lines is my first exposure to either author, RJ Scott and V.L. Locey, and while I didn't have issues with the writing st (Originally posted 4 July 2017):2.5 stars -- Since the blog I review for is participating in the blog tour for this book, I am withholding my non-glowy review until after the book's release, but suffice it to say that I think this book is only okay at best.---(Edits posted on 21 July 2017):Now that it has been more than a week since release, here's the quick-and-dirty:Changing Lines is my first exposure to either author, RJ Scott and V.L. Locey, and while I didn't have issues with the writing style they used, the focus of the story overemphasized an overused component in the gay-professional-athlete trope to such an extent that it made me lose interest in the romance.The Good:- I really loved the fact that the voices of the thirty-something coach (Jared "Mads" Madsen) and the barely-in-his-twenties player (Tennant "Ten" Rowe) were not only very distinct from one another but also used language differences appropriate to ages. This made the characters feel realistic and made it obvious which character's point of view was being used at any point in the novel. Whether or not this means one author wrote one character and the other wrote the other doesn't matter, because the distinction was among the best I have read.- This is related to the previous point a little, but it was refreshing (and honestly fun to see) that even though Ten, like most anyone that age, was all about sex sex sex, Mads made him wait for it, taking things slow to make it be more than sex.The Bad:- I had a difficult time connecting to the characters emotionally and, perhaps somewhat as a result of that, failed to get any sort of big feels from the relationship itself.- Instead of clearly being focused on the relationship first and on Ten's process of stepping out from his older brothers' shadows and other individual things after that, my expectations were let down by the fact that the book's focus was apparently on the process of Ten coming out. Obviously, I have no problems with this concept; it's downright expected to be a plot device in books that involve gay professional sports players in this day and age. But this device is overused, mainly because there are only so many possible outcomes, so after you've read more than a handful, they start to get repetitive and predictable unless the authors weave it into their story in such a way to make it different. Unfortunately, that didn't happen here.The Ugly:- While there is a good slow-build romance taking place in the story, something I appreciate typically, once the characters make it clear that they're interested in seeing where a relationship could go in spite of the forbidden nature of the coach/player dynamic, the story seems to skim over that development process, giving only a few highlights between the other, more common scene prevalent in the book, which I'll get to in the next point. This certainly hurt my ability to connect to them as a couple, and since that's one of romance's main goals, it hurt my overall enjoyment of the book.- The book contains no fewer than SIX complete scenes of Ten coming out to various people in the book. (I actually think the number is eight, but I'm giving a couple of them the benefit of the doubt.) I'm all for coming-out scenes when they're vital to the plot, doing more than just causing some short-lived tension, advancing the conflict for one or both of the members of the relationship. For the most part, these scenes failed miserably to advance the plot of the book much at all. And since the coming-out scenes outnumbered the scenes that advanced the romance between Ten and Mads, I couldn't help but scratch my head about the focus of the novel. One or two fully developed coming-out scenes, followed by the set-up and allusion to more times when the character comes out, is plenty to show how that story arc develops. Even three can work if there's good reason for it. But six to eight? Overkill. That's the only word for it. And more than anything else, that focus was what disappointed me about the book.As far as whether I'll read more books by these authors, individually or collaboratively, probably. But this book was not the right place for me to be introduced to them.The authors and/or publisher generously provided me a complimentary copy of Changing Lines in exchange for this fair and honest review.Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • BR11
    July 18, 2017
    3.5 stars. It was sweet and I enjoyed Ten and Mads' story. My only complaint is the oversimplification of every challenge these two have to face. This book is 100% drama free, everybody accepts Ten's coming out, everyone is ok with him being with his coach... everything is rainbows and puppies and unicorns and glitter.
    more
  • Kim
    July 21, 2017
    2.5/3 starsI have mixed feelings about this one. I love M/M hockey romance even though I am not a fan of sports in real life. I liked the set up for this story and thought the story line was a good one. A young gay hockey player trying to come out of the shadows and make his own way who ends up with his coach who is also an old family friend. I liked the main characters and the side characters fine and I got annoyed with the antagonists appropriately. The writing styles of these two new authors 2.5/3 starsI have mixed feelings about this one. I love M/M hockey romance even though I am not a fan of sports in real life. I liked the set up for this story and thought the story line was a good one. A young gay hockey player trying to come out of the shadows and make his own way who ends up with his coach who is also an old family friend. I liked the main characters and the side characters fine and I got annoyed with the antagonists appropriately. The writing styles of these two new authors to me flowed well.But for some reason that I cannot put my finger on, I just did not emotionally connect to them as a couple. This surprised me especially since it was told in dual points of view and they had enough challenges between them that I should have been invested in them. I liked Mads and Ten. Mads hockey career was cut short by a medical condition so he is now a coach and is also a single Dad. He is bisexual, smart, serious, responsible, and patient. Ten is nine years younger and more impulsive and impatient. But he also knows what he wants and is not afraid to go after it.I appreciated their struggles due to their differing ages, family ties, and professional relationship. But I felt the story broke down during the relationship building portion of it. A lot of it was off page especially in the beginning. And there were quick transitions that seemed to come out of nowhere from not-going-to-do-this to taking-it-slow to exploring sexually to love. They seemed to progress quickly through stages, but I never felt anything. There was not much self doubt, relationship angst, drama, or fall-out over decisions. It just seemed too easy and like I was missing something. I wanted to know more about them and how they were feeling.There were some emotional scenes interspersed as Ten began to share more about his life. His scenes with his parents and Mads with his son Ryker were stand outs. But much of the time I felt like I was being told what happened versus actually feeling it along with the characters and being emotionally involved. I just did not feel their passion, love, devotion, and real need between them as a couple. I was told it was there and that they were in love. But it all felt really one-dimensional to me. But I will admit that it could just be me as I have been in a book hangover from a really emotionally charged book so it made this one pale more in comparison.It worked its way towards an expected outcome, but did not quite finish it off fully. So I assume there will be more about it moving forward in book two of the series that was set up a bit in the end. There were things I like about it and things that I felt needed to be fleshed out more. So I am still left with mixed feelings. I did not hate it. I did not love it. Just somewhere in between like and okay.I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • JustJen
    July 13, 2017
    This was a fun start to a new series, and what’s not to love about hot hockey players finding love?Tennant (or Ten, as he is called) is a talented player, but has always lived in the shadows of others, be it his older (pro hockey playing) brothers, or the star player on his current team. His family doesn’t hesitate to chime in about his life, playing, choices, etc., and when he is traded to new franchise team, instead of a successful NHL team, they have plenty to say. But Ten is just happy to be This was a fun start to a new series, and what’s not to love about hot hockey players finding love?Tennant (or Ten, as he is called) is a talented player, but has always lived in the shadows of others, be it his older (pro hockey playing) brothers, or the star player on his current team. His family doesn’t hesitate to chime in about his life, playing, choices, etc., and when he is traded to new franchise team, instead of a successful NHL team, they have plenty to say. But Ten is just happy to be getting out on his own and making his own way. As that gets underway, he finds that one of his new coaches is an old family friend and ex-player, Jared Madsen (Mads).Mads is a little bit older than Ten, closer to Ten’s brothers’ ages. He had to quit playing pro hockey due to an on-ice injury that led to heart problems. He is now happy coaching the new up and coming Railers. When these guys see each other again, there is an instant connection. Tens has had a crush on Mads since he was young, and now that he is around him again, knowing he is bisexual, it doesn’t take him long to go after what he wants. He is confident like that. He pretty much takes whatever is thrown at him and runs with it. There is some reluctance on Mads’ part due to the age gap and family connection, but he cannot resist for long.The two carry on a secret relationship that is tested when Ten is outed on the team and then it steamrolled from there. His oldest brother finds out and Ten takes the rest of the matters in his own hand by coming out to the rest of his family, the team heads and players, etc. Poor Mads has to deal with some things on his side as well, with regards to his son, his grandfather and that whole situation.I really liked Mads and loved his confident, wanting to make his own mistakes and fix them attitude. I got a bit teary at his coming out to his parents, and loved him and Mads together. They made a great couple, and each were just with the other needed. I really enjoyed this series opener and am looking forward to seeing it continue in the next installment.P.S. It was fun reading about this made up team from the area where I live! I wanted to go right out and cheer them on. 🙂Review written for Love Bytes Reviews.
    more
  • Helena Stone
    July 4, 2017
    Before I get into the review proper, I have to be honest and admit that I’m not into ice hockey and know little to nothing about it. While the book is by no means filled with endless amounts of hockey detail, even the bits that were there went straight over my head. They didn’t bore me as such, nor did they pull me out of the story, but I doubt that I would have missed them if they hadn’t been there. But, that’s on me. I guess you’ll have to look at other reviews if you want to know more about h Before I get into the review proper, I have to be honest and admit that I’m not into ice hockey and know little to nothing about it. While the book is by no means filled with endless amounts of hockey detail, even the bits that were there went straight over my head. They didn’t bore me as such, nor did they pull me out of the story, but I doubt that I would have missed them if they hadn’t been there. But, that’s on me. I guess you’ll have to look at other reviews if you want to know more about how well the authors dealt with that aspect of the story. I’ll limit myself to things I’m more familiar with, such as the romance.I wouldn’t go so far as to say Tennant and Jared fall victim to a case of insta-love, but there is a clear instance of insta-attraction for both of them as soon as they lay eyes on each other for the first time in years. Of course, nothing is ever as simple as that. Professional sportsmen aren’t supposed to be gay. And, if they are, they’re expected to keep the fact well hidden. Coming out just isn’t an option if you want to succeed in that particular world. Which means Tennant faces a dilemma. He can’t deny is attraction to Jared and he’s sick and tired of hiding who he really is not just from the world at large but also from his family. All of this means that once his secret starts to unravel he can’t quite see it as a bad thing. Sure, coming out is scary and the possible consequences could be devastating but Tennant is ready to face them head on.The situation for Jared is somewhat easier. He’s a trainer and no longer finds himself in the limelight a professional hockey player can’t escape. Besides the fact that he’s bi rather than gay seems to make his situation more acceptable in some weird way. His issues stem from different sources. While he is definitely attracted to Tennant, he’s all too aware that he’s older than him. Add to that the fact that he’s been a family friend of the Rowe family for a long time, and he has enough reasons to fight the pull towards Tennant he experiences.But, when the two men do give in to the attraction between them it is almost immediately clear they’re playing for keeps, which means that they have to deal with potentially bad reactions from Tennant’s family, the management of the Harrisburg Railers, not to mention the world at large.This was a sweet romance, especially since any of the minimal angst in the story wasn’t caused by conflicts between Tennant and Jared but rather by the tension their having to come out created. I refuse to give away how all of that plays out, but will mention that I was very, very happy with the direction of the story. The story made me smile quite often. The banter between our two protagonists was wonderful. I loved all the Pokemon references and was charmed by both the Russian goalie and Jared’s son.Overall this was a charming and comfy read. And despite the fact that it hasn’t triggered any interest in hockey in me, I’m still eager to read the next book in this series.
    more
  • ButtonsMom2003
    July 12, 2017
    A great beginning to a new series!I've read a lot of books by RJ Scott but this is the first one for me by V.L. Locey. Just what I need, another great author to follow – lol.Age gap stories are not something I look for, but if a favorite author writes one I will certainly read it. Actually, Tennant (Ten) and Jared (Mads) are only 9 years apart; to me this isn't really much of an age gap given that both MCs are over 21. One of the tropes I do love though, is falling for a sibling's best friend; s A great beginning to a new series!I've read a lot of books by RJ Scott but this is the first one for me by V.L. Locey. Just what I need, another great author to follow – lol.Age gap stories are not something I look for, but if a favorite author writes one I will certainly read it. Actually, Tennant (Ten) and Jared (Mads) are only 9 years apart; to me this isn't really much of an age gap given that both MCs are over 21. One of the tropes I do love though, is falling for a sibling's best friend; so, even if I didn't already love RJ Scott's work, this is a story I would totally go for. Jared is the best friend of Tennant's oldest brother.Tennant is the youngest of three brothers – all of them professional hockey players. He loves his brothers but he also has felt a bit stifled because of always being compared to them. He accepts a trade to an expansion team and his oldest brother thinks it's a mistake.Jared's a coach on Tennant's new team and he hasn't seen Ten in years. The two of them quickly realize their attraction for each other but Ten isn't out and their relationship could jeopardize his career.This story is told from alternating points of view by Jared and Tennant; it was full of feels for me. Jared has a 17-year-old son and seeing him do all he can to protect him touched my heart. Ten has to deal with coming out to his team and his family and how all of that went down moved me to tears. I won't tell you if they were happy or sad tears, you'll have to read the story to find out for yourself.Changing Lines is also full of hockey jargon and it was kind of a weird thing for me…. I'm not a fan of any sports but hockey would definitely be a one that I know next to nothing about. But, none of that meant a thing to me when I read this story. To me the jargon was secondary to the story and the fact that I didn't totally understand all of it didn't make a bit of difference. I'm sure I'll learn and understand a lot more about hockey before this series ends.I loved the epilogue for Jared and Ten's story and the teaser for book 2 that followed. I just know that Railers Hockey is going to be a great series.An advanced copy of this book was provided to me but my review was voluntary and not influenced by the author.***Reviewed for Xtreme-Delusions***
    more
  • Natalie
    July 13, 2017
    I’ve been reading RJ Scott’s books for years, but V.L. Locey is a new to me author and I was intrigued to see what they’d do with a hockey romance. There was a fair amount of hockey action and I can’t say I understood all of it but it didn’t make too much difference to the story. The first several chapters, with alternate POV’s, did not flow very well and felt somewhat disjointed. Tenant/Ten’s character was given lots of background including his family and their dynamics. Jared/Mads was fleshed I’ve been reading RJ Scott’s books for years, but V.L. Locey is a new to me author and I was intrigued to see what they’d do with a hockey romance. There was a fair amount of hockey action and I can’t say I understood all of it but it didn’t make too much difference to the story. The first several chapters, with alternate POV’s, did not flow very well and felt somewhat disjointed. Tenant/Ten’s character was given lots of background including his family and their dynamics. Jared/Mads was fleshed out more as the book continued. However, I never gelled with the characters until later in the book. The initial interactions between Ten and Mads was too much telling and not enough showing. The start of their relationship was abrupt, seeming to go from a kiss to okay, let’s have a relationship, with little in-between. The month long frottage rule was just...weird.It did improve in the last third with added depth to more secondary characters, like Tennant’s older brother, Mad’s son Ryker, and the grandfather. It also developed the relationship more, and there was an attempt to spice up sex scenes. But Stan, the Russian goalie, remained a caricature, occasionally used as some kind of comedic relief. The entirety of the story just never meshed well for me. Both Mads and Tennant’s characters were not always consistent within the narrative either. It was a pleasant read but just never reached more than an “okay” level for me.*An ARC was provided to me me via Jessie G Books Review Blog for the purpose of an honest review*
    more
  • Robin Powers
    July 9, 2017
    I love hockey romances so I was pretty excited for a new M/M one. Tennant is a closeted hockey player that is attracted to the defense coach, Mads, his brother's friend. While I got the reasons to keep this hush hush, the taking it at a snail's pace drove me almost as crazy as Ten! I found the relationship between Mads and Ryker to be sweet and heartbreaking at times. Ev...omg! Ev stands for evil. Mads and Ten could almost send me on a sugar overload with how cute their interactions were as they I love hockey romances so I was pretty excited for a new M/M one. Tennant is a closeted hockey player that is attracted to the defense coach, Mads, his brother's friend. While I got the reasons to keep this hush hush, the taking it at a snail's pace drove me almost as crazy as Ten! I found the relationship between Mads and Ryker to be sweet and heartbreaking at times. Ev...omg! Ev stands for evil. Mads and Ten could almost send me on a sugar overload with how cute their interactions were as they grew closer. I enjoyed this new series and can't wait to read more. Full review coming on The Smut-Brarians.
    more
  • Lauren
    June 26, 2017
    4.5 stars rounded up - I am a little sad right now, and that's because I finished this book today (and yes, I realise I also started it today and spent my entire afternoon binge-reading it, so yeah...), and now it's finished and I really want more of this series, but I have to wait for book two!I enjoyed Ten and Mads' story a lot, but then I knew I would because one of the authors is RJ Scott, and she's a favourite of mine. VL Locey is a new author to me, but one I will certainly be looked out f 4.5 stars rounded up - I am a little sad right now, and that's because I finished this book today (and yes, I realise I also started it today and spent my entire afternoon binge-reading it, so yeah...), and now it's finished and I really want more of this series, but I have to wait for book two!I enjoyed Ten and Mads' story a lot, but then I knew I would because one of the authors is RJ Scott, and she's a favourite of mine. VL Locey is a new author to me, but one I will certainly be looked out for in future. The story was entertaining and just plain lovely, I adored Ten way more than I thought possible, and I particularly liked the way we got to see the relationship from both perspectives.I'm going to be honest here - I know absolutely zilch about hockey. Nada. Not a single bloody thing. That in no way hindered my enjoyment of the story. Yes, there were a lot of hockey terms used. Yes, there were lots of hockey related scenes. But it was incredibly easy to understand and written in a way that was accessible to anyone, like me, who doesn't know anything about the sport. I actually really enjoyed the hockey scenes, too. I'm sure those who do know about hockey would probably get even more enjoyment out of them, but honestly you don't need to have that knowledge to read this one.The actual romance was lovely. I liked that Mads wanted to take things slow, which made it all the more romantic and moving when they finally moved their relationship forward and took that next step. Especially in the context of the story, it was so right and wonderful... and yes, also bloody HOT ;)Something I really enjoyed reading about was Ten's family. I loved his parents, and Jamie was awesome. Brady was a bit of an arsehat, but hey ho you can't win them all. He did try, at least, but he was still a pain in the butt most of the time. I do wish that we had learned more about Mads, about his childhood and his family - his parents? Any siblings? I'm not sure they were ever mentioned, although having said that maybe I missed it? - but then we did meet Ryker, his son, who was an interesting character and I really felt sorry for him and how he was being pulled in all kinds of directions and the shitty controlling way he was treated by his Grandfather. I would have liked to see more of the Harrisburg Railers team, but then I realise that this will likely come over time, and as the series develops. There were some really interesting characters, and although I know already who will be the focus of the next book in the series, there are a few other characters I'd like to learn more about and hope to see in later books.My only minor gripe was that a lot of the relationship happened off the page. A lot of time was skimmed over and certain things seemed rushed. I would have LOVED to have seen it all on the page. I guess you can't write every tiny little detail or run the risk of making it the longest story in the history of ever, but I would still have liked to see certain aspects of their developing romance, particularly in the early stages, in more detail. Maybe I'm just greedy though, as I loved the romance and I love seeing relationships as they develop and wanted to see so much!The ending was HEA, but sort of a cliffhanger on other things, if that makes any sense? (I'm trying not to be too spoilery here!) Usually even the smallest hint of cliffhanger bugs the heck out of me but I'm not too bothered by that here because I know we'll likely be seeing plenty more of Ten and Mads during the course of this series, and we get their HEA in terms of the relationship, which is what I always need to see!All in all, this was a nice romance with interesting and likeable main characters, and a sweet and easy read for an afternoon or evening in :) I would recommend for anyone and not just hockey fans (which I am not), as just a sweet and enjoyable romance.***I was provided with an ARC of Changing Lines from Signal Boost Promotions in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Joyfully Jay
    July 12, 2017
    A Joyfully Jay review. 4.25 starsChanging Lines was a lovely, sweet romance between two protagonists that are impossible to dislike. The writing is smooth and relaxed. It finds an easy rhythm early on and, as a result, the pacing is generally very strong. There is a great deal of hockey talk and while I know nothing about that particular sport, I didn’t have any trouble following along. I give the authors credit for making technical information so accessible. Mads and Ten are wonderful together. A Joyfully Jay review. 4.25 starsChanging Lines was a lovely, sweet romance between two protagonists that are impossible to dislike. The writing is smooth and relaxed. It finds an easy rhythm early on and, as a result, the pacing is generally very strong. There is a great deal of hockey talk and while I know nothing about that particular sport, I didn’t have any trouble following along. I give the authors credit for making technical information so accessible. Mads and Ten are wonderful together. They offer just enough depth to give readers a real connection and their relationship is believable in both its passion and scope. Their attempts to maintain a connection while juggling professional responsibilities and personal issues read as relatable, especially in the context of their age difference. The wider Rowe family and Mads’ teenage son offer a strong secondary cast and while they aren’t given the depth they deserve, nor are they flat or without purpose to the story.My only frustration with Changing Lines was it’s hurried ending. I felt like over the last two or three chapters the easy, natural pacing was replaced with a more hurried and jarring need to wrap things up. But in doing we don’t get real resolution with the story’s antagonist and the steady evolution of Mads and Tens relationship just evaporates. It doesn’t exactly detract from my enjoyment, but it does come off as awkward and somewhat forced. This is the first in a new series and while Mads and Ten don’t appear to be the focus of the second book, perhaps we’ll get further development of their relationship.Changing Lines was a thoroughly enjoyable start to a new series. Mads and Ten make a wonderful couple and their evolution was truly a delight to read. The book falters thanks to a rushed ending, but this doesn’t take away from Changing Lines as a whole. Even if you aren’t a sports fan there is plenty to enjoy here.Read Sue’s review in its entirety here.
    more
  • Anu
    July 12, 2017
    So so so much love for this book! Tennant Rowe at 23 is the youngest of three hockey brothers, his older siblings each more famous than the other and Ten is feeling unsettled in their shadow. He feels the need to make a name for himself, prove that he's more than his name. So he chooses a trade to a smaller, up-and-coming team - the Harrisburg Railers. Jared 'Mads' Madsen is 32 and a coach for the Railers. His own player career was cut short but he seems to thrive as a coach. But with an ex-wife So so so much love for this book! Tennant Rowe at 23 is the youngest of three hockey brothers, his older siblings each more famous than the other and Ten is feeling unsettled in their shadow. He feels the need to make a name for himself, prove that he's more than his name. So he chooses a trade to a smaller, up-and-coming team - the Harrisburg Railers. Jared 'Mads' Madsen is 32 and a coach for the Railers. His own player career was cut short but he seems to thrive as a coach. But with an ex-wife, a teenage son and a meddling father-in-law, he has more than enough on his plate to deal with a stupid crush from his friend's little brother. Cause that's all it is, right? A crush, a form of hero worship - no way would Ten want anything else and not like Mads is looking for love or anything...right? But despite the odds, the two start a relationship. Ten is young and very eager to expand his experiences but Mads insists on taking it slow - if they are gonna do this then they will do it right. I mean, gods. I loved this book so much. So sweet and wonderfully low in angst. Tennant and Mads are so very well matched, despite the outward obstacles (coach/player, 9 years age difference, the whole best-friends-little-brother thing). The relationship was so wonderfully different from the usual fare - they took things slowly and spent actual time getting to know one another outside the bedroom too. Also Mads' son Ryker, who at seventeen is close to Ten's age, such a delightful addition to the story. I loved how easily acceptance of Tennant's relationship with his dad came to Ryker - as really did everyone else's. The hockey part of the story was well done, but I would not have expected anything else from these two authors anyway, they are both mistresses of this particular genre on their own too. This collaboration just highlighted the best of both of their writing, cannot praise it enough. This is just the first instalment in the series, am very much looking forward to the future books!
    more
  • Kaje Harper
    July 20, 2017
    This is a fun start to a new series, by two authors whose hockey players are among my favorite MCs. Tennant (Ten) is a young player with a ton of talent, sent from a second spot on a top team to fight for first line on an expansion team. His hockey-player brothers add a touch of humor and emotion in their sibling-attempts to both make sure little bro's career is on track and to keep their older sib influence on his life.Madsen (Mads) coaches the defensemen on the team where Ten winds up. Mads tu This is a fun start to a new series, by two authors whose hockey players are among my favorite MCs. Tennant (Ten) is a young player with a ton of talent, sent from a second spot on a top team to fight for first line on an expansion team. His hockey-player brothers add a touch of humor and emotion in their sibling-attempts to both make sure little bro's career is on track and to keep their older sib influence on his life.Madsen (Mads) coaches the defensemen on the team where Ten winds up. Mads turned to coaching after an injury revealed an underlying health issue, and he was forced to retire from a promising career. He's pretty much reconciled with a new role as a coach, and he's even out now in a limited way as bisexual. But he is far from prepared for his attraction to one of his players, especially when he discovers Ten is gay (and perforce closeted.)Although Ten is a forward, and thus not really Mads' responsibility as a coach, there is an element of impropriety in getting together. Add that to the risk of Ten being outed while actively playing, and the stakes are high. But sometimes when a relationship is right, it's too hard to fight. They want each other for more than one fast round of hot sex, but it's going to be a rocky road.I loved the characters here, and the build of the relationship. The hockey content hit the just-right spot for me. There are some great secondary characters. The ending is a bit frustrating, (despite a solid HFN) with where it stops. This is not unusual with gay-in-sports books, but I really hope that the next in the series continues to follow these guys as MCs, and doesn't drift off to a new couple on the team. What comes next will be the emotional and plot-related density of their story for Mads and especially for Ten, and failing to show it, or showing it only from the outside, will feel to me like a loss of what I'm looking for most. We shall see.
    more
  • Jess A Jaye
    July 8, 2017
    In real life I do not like sport. I don't participate in it and I don't enjoy watching it but for some reason in MM romance I love a good sports read. I particularly like when it's an American sport like American football, baseball or ice hockey. I think those sports that we're less familiar with in the UK seem more mysterious and had another level of romance. I think the angst and conflict are immediately heightened in sports romance with the fear of being outed in the often homophobic industri In real life I do not like sport. I don't participate in it and I don't enjoy watching it but for some reason in MM romance I love a good sports read. I particularly like when it's an American sport like American football, baseball or ice hockey. I think those sports that we're less familiar with in the UK seem more mysterious and had another level of romance. I think the angst and conflict are immediately heightened in sports romance with the fear of being outed in the often homophobic industries. The fit men and uniforms certainly don't hurt lol! Changing Lines the first in the new Harrisburg Railers Ice Hockey series certainly did not disappoint.Tennant Rowe is in his early 20s. His hockey career is about to take off but first he needs to get out of the shadows of his hockey playing older brothers. He takes a risk and transfer to a team on the rise. There he discovers one the team coaches is Jared "Mads" Madsen. Mads is the best friend of Ten's brother and he's still coming to terms with the fact that his career came to an abrupt fault because of the discovery of a heart complaint. I adored Ten. He's sweet and adorable but he's tough and know his own mind. When Mads claims they shouldn't be together because of their age gap, his brother and the fact they are coach and player Ten isn't having any of it. I love his way with words. Oh and Mads. He needed someone like Ten. He is struggling with how his career ended, raising his son and his pretty evil ex father in law. Loving and being loved by Ten is good for him.And Ryker Mads' son damn he needs his own book.This was a thoroughly enjoyable read. Looking forward to the rest of the series and seeing more from the team.
    more
  • Laurie
    July 1, 2017
    Set in the world of hockey, this story is about a younger sibling growing out from under his older brother’s shadows. All his life Tennant has heard “oh, you’re Brady or Jamie’s younger brother”. And that was bad enough, but now said brothers are trying to run his life. Including his hockey career. With all the comparisons, he’s never felt like he could be true to himself or tell his family or the world that he’s gay. To get out from under them, Tennant agrees to a contract with the Harrisburg R Set in the world of hockey, this story is about a younger sibling growing out from under his older brother’s shadows. All his life Tennant has heard “oh, you’re Brady or Jamie’s younger brother”. And that was bad enough, but now said brothers are trying to run his life. Including his hockey career. With all the comparisons, he’s never felt like he could be true to himself or tell his family or the world that he’s gay. To get out from under them, Tennant agrees to a contract with the Harrisburg Railers, an expansion team. There he runs into Brady’s best friend Mads, or Jared Madsen. Mads is now the defensive line coach with the team. When Jared’s hockey career came to an unexpected end due to a medical problem, coaching was the next logical step to stay in hockey. Oh, and he’s gay too. But Tennant is his best friend’s little brother, a member of his team and young, so he’s way off limits. But Tennant wants him and who is he to say no. This story pulled me back into the hockey world. The authors did a great job with their description of the game, practices and all-around hockey world. Even if you know nothing about hockey, you understand enough of the game from what the authors tell you. And I loved how they dealt with being gay and coming out in the world of professional sports. I enjoyed this story on many levels. The excitement of the game, the great characters and the story line all worked for me. Can’t wait for the next in this new series.
    more
  • Rachel
    July 1, 2017
    I love RJ Scott books, I love V.L Locey books so what a treat to read a book written by them both :) and...it's about hockey...I LOVE books about hockey!! (lots of love going on here) This is the first book in the Harrisburg Railers series and honestly, I can't wait for more. Ten and Mads are lush, they had me swooning and I really enjoyed watching them fall in love <3 There's some fantastic supporting characters and some I'm desperate for RJ and VL to write a story for (Ryker & Stan). Th I love RJ Scott books, I love V.L Locey books so what a treat to read a book written by them both :) and...it's about hockey...I LOVE books about hockey!! (lots of love going on here) This is the first book in the Harrisburg Railers series and honestly, I can't wait for more. Ten and Mads are lush, they had me swooning and I really enjoyed watching them fall in love <3 There's some fantastic supporting characters and some I'm desperate for RJ and VL to write a story for (Ryker & Stan). There's just enough hockey in there for the hockey enthusiasts but not too much to confuse those who know nothing *raises hand* (I might love reading about the players but know little to nothing about the actual game). All in all a fabulous read and the great start to a new series :)
    more
  • Vinga
    July 7, 2017
    This book is a great start to a new series.Loved the characters and the story.Can't wait to read the next book in this series.
  • Elayne
    July 1, 2017
    I hold my hand up, I know nothing about sport any sport except maybe Olympic swimming and Diving! However I love reading about them, I think I could become a fan of Ice Hockey, Ten and Mads are a really engaging and enjoyable couple finding each other in a climate where their experience is how it should be received, possibly not from reading social media How it would actually be received. The secondary characters and the relevant family members are delightful. This is the start of a new series a I hold my hand up, I know nothing about sport any sport except maybe Olympic swimming and Diving! However I love reading about them, I think I could become a fan of Ice Hockey, Ten and Mads are a really engaging and enjoyable couple finding each other in a climate where their experience is how it should be received, possibly not from reading social media How it would actually be received. The secondary characters and the relevant family members are delightful. This is the start of a new series and I'm looking forward to the rest. This ARC was received from the authors, and its my pleasure to offer my humble review.
    more
  • Annie
    July 22, 2017
    Some yay, some nay Changing Lanes is the first book in a new collaborative series about NHL expansion team, the Harrisburg Railers. I hadn’t read either of these author’s individual books before, so I went in fairly blind. There was a lot I really enjoyed about the book and I’m interested in reading more from this series. Armed with a brother’s friend angle, a coach/player element, a closeted professional player, and a 9 year age difference, I thought Tennant and Madsen’s romance had a lot of po Some yay, some nay Changing Lanes is the first book in a new collaborative series about NHL expansion team, the Harrisburg Railers. I hadn’t read either of these author’s individual books before, so I went in fairly blind. There was a lot I really enjoyed about the book and I’m interested in reading more from this series. Armed with a brother’s friend angle, a coach/player element, a closeted professional player, and a 9 year age difference, I thought Tennant and Madsen’s romance had a lot of potential. I liked both characters and thought they had a good amount of depth to carry the story. One of my favorite aspects was how the individuality of the characters and the age/experience distinctions came through in their mannerisms, thoughts, and especially the dialogue. It developed the characters and made for some fun exchanges that brought the story to life. While I’d always expect these challenges with May-December romances to some degree, few I’ve read took advantage of the possibilities as well as these authors did. The romance between Ten and Mads was mostly sweet and very supportive. I liked that it progressed somewhat slowly, and enjoyed the tension that speed created between the characters. However, I constantly felt like something was lacking. I wished I’d seen more of the emotions and feelings develop on page, and I think that prevented me from really immersing myself in this romance. I also found the way Mads’s bisexuality was dismissed almost insulting in its simplicity. While I understood coming out wasn’t as challenging for this particular character, the way it was handled definitely wasn’t my favorite. So much of the concentration remained on Ten’s coming out, that I think there were some missed opportunities which would have furthered my connection to this couple and their story.As a fan of hockey, I always have some nerves trying out new-to-me hockey romance authors. This was another area, Changing Lines excelled. There were plenty of finer details to satisfy fans of the sport, including the feelings surrounding games, teams, and hockey careers; yet there was enough explanation of the major elements and terms so as not to confuse readers who don’t avidly watch hockey.Overall, I enjoyed multiple elements of Changing Lines. Though there were some conflicts, because they resolved rather smoothly, I’d consider this a low angst romance with likable characters. While I had some issues with parts of it and didn’t find the romance as well developed as I’d like, the secondary characters introduced in this book and the team dynamics peaked my interest. I’ll definitely see what the next book offers before deciding if The Harrisburg Railers series gets a yay or nay from me. Reviewed by Annie from Alpha Book Club
    more
  • Tanja
    July 6, 2017
    Tennant (Ten) is the youngest of three hockey brothers and has just been traded to the Harrisburg Liners, one of the lesser known NHL teams. According to his brothers this is a step down but Ten is determined to make the best of it. He is happy to be here especially when he locks eyes with the defense coach, Jared Madsen (Mads), an old friend of his brother Brady. Their attraction is immediate and I could feel the sparks flying. The problem is that Mads is out as bi but Ten never told anyone he Tennant (Ten) is the youngest of three hockey brothers and has just been traded to the Harrisburg Liners, one of the lesser known NHL teams. According to his brothers this is a step down but Ten is determined to make the best of it. He is happy to be here especially when he locks eyes with the defense coach, Jared Madsen (Mads), an old friend of his brother Brady. Their attraction is immediate and I could feel the sparks flying. The problem is that Mads is out as bi but Ten never told anyone he is gay, not even his family. And there is the matter that Mads is nearly ten years older than Ten. I loved this story. I just kept turning the pages right from the start. I was totally engrossed in the book. Ten and Mads are great characters who I really felt belong together. Ten is a young puppy but with a fierce determination in being the best on the ice. They walk a fine line between coach and player and being lovers. I loved that Mads is taking it slow. It really suits his character. Mads is a great father and I liked how his son Ryker plays an important role in the story. Their interactions are well described. The family dynamics are both stressful and a delight. Ten and his mother making music together is a wonderful find. I don’t know much about hockey but for the basics and I enjoyed learning more about the sport. For me it was a perfect balance between the love interests and hockey. And yes goalies are weird. There were some emotional moments like when Ten came out to his family but there were a lot of fun times too. I really loved this story that I will reread for sure. There is one thing I missed and that is some more background on Stan but I hope that will come in the next book(s). I am looking forward to the second book in the series.
    more
  • The Smutbrarians
    July 9, 2017
    Storyline: 5Angst: 4Tissue: 1Value: 5Panty Scorching: 5Over All Rating: 4.25 StarsKindle eArc provided by AuthorReviewed by RobinTennant is the youngest of the Rowe Brothers hockey stars, but he’s tired of playing in their shadow. He decides to make a move to the Harrisburg Railers, a young team with his brother’s friend Jared Madsen as a defense coach. Dealing with culture shock with the move from Texas to Pennsylvania is one thing. But never did he realize as a closeted hockey player he’d be a Storyline: 5Angst: 4Tissue: 1Value: 5Panty Scorching: 5Over All Rating: 4.25 StarsKindle eArc provided by AuthorReviewed by RobinTennant is the youngest of the Rowe Brothers hockey stars, but he’s tired of playing in their shadow. He decides to make a move to the Harrisburg Railers, a young team with his brother’s friend Jared Madsen as a defense coach. Dealing with culture shock with the move from Texas to Pennsylvania is one thing. But never did he realize as a closeted hockey player he’d be attracted to a coach, let alone Mads. Mads knows that the players are off-limit and there’s also the decade long age difference. Will either one be able to resist the temptation?“The kiss had been hotter than the kinkiest sex I’d ever had. It had been nothing more than the heat of our bodies and the taste of his mouth and, f*ck, I’d been close to rutting up against him and coming in my pants like a teenager.”I love hockey romances so I was pretty excited for a new M/M one. Tennant is a closeted hockey player that is attracted to the defense coach, Mads, his brother's friend. While I got the reasons to keep this hush hush, the taking it at a snail's pace drove me almost as crazy as Ten! I found the relationship between Mads and Ryker to be sweet and heartbreaking at times. Ev...omg! Ev stands for evil. Mads and Ten could almost send me on a sugar overload with how cute their interactions were as they grew closer. I enjoyed this new series and can't wait to read more.If you like cute hockey stories with all of that testosterone flying, you will love this sports romance. Ten and Mads were made for each other and I can’t wait to read about how the other players find their “one”.
    more
  • Morgan Skye
    July 27, 2017
    This drew my attention since I’m currently jonsing for some hockey! I was also curious about these two authors as a writing duo. I’ve not really been a Vocey fan, and some of RJ Scott’s latest works haven’t really impressed me – but I love her earlier books.I think – overall – that they’re a good team. I think the new subgenre is good for Scott and gives a new direction – away from ranching and crime fighting – for her considerable writing talents.The premise of this story and it’s start are ver This drew my attention since I’m currently jonsing for some hockey! I was also curious about these two authors as a writing duo. I’ve not really been a Vocey fan, and some of RJ Scott’s latest works haven’t really impressed me – but I love her earlier books.I think – overall – that they’re a good team. I think the new subgenre is good for Scott and gives a new direction – away from ranching and crime fighting – for her considerable writing talents.The premise of this story and it’s start are very promising. May/December, Coach/player, family friend, closeted professional athlete, single father… you name it – lots of sexual tension and the need to keep things on the DL. I think, however, that the end result of all these reasons to keep things quiet were too many for our MCs to overcome in a short story.There were just so many hurdles and not enough time for them to be really overcome in a way that made sense.I appreciated that they didn’t just jump into bed, but the “slow” was too slow and Jared came across way too “father figure” and not enough “lover”. He was bossy and I never felt his emotions other than lust.Ten seemed- sometimes - ridiculously immature and I thought his family was both ridiculous ( his oldest brother) and wonderful (his sweet mother). I wasn’t sure why he was there, but the Russian goalie – Stan – was my favorite and I hope we get to see more of him!The book kept my interest and I’ll definitely pick up more in this series, but this wasn’t my favorite hockey book of all time.3 of 5 stars
    more
  • LeeAnn
    July 12, 2017
    Brilliant!Where to begin? Everything about this book was wonderful. The humor was off the charts! The scenes with the brothers and how they interact with each other, with my experiences with my own brothers, was spot on. Name calling etc. The connection between the MCs , Mads and Ten, was adorable and hot and all kinds of feels, all over the place! Mom and Dad? Oh my goodness I loved them too! There is one bad apple in this but He is nothing but a pesky fly, soon squashed I hope. There is one pa Brilliant!Where to begin? Everything about this book was wonderful. The humor was off the charts! The scenes with the brothers and how they interact with each other, with my experiences with my own brothers, was spot on. Name calling etc. The connection between the MCs , Mads and Ten, was adorable and hot and all kinds of feels, all over the place! Mom and Dad? Oh my goodness I loved them too! There is one bad apple in this but He is nothing but a pesky fly, soon squashed I hope. There is one paragraph in particular that had me laughing so hard and loud, my cat came running in the room to see what was up. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this story.These two authors are perfectly matched and I have already preordered the next book in this series!Do yourself a huge favor and buy this...now! You will not regret it!
    more
  • Lora
    June 23, 2017
    4 out of 5 starsThis is the first book in a new series and I know that I will want to continue with the next book since finishing this one so quickly. Jared “Mads” Madsen and Tennett “Ten” Rowe have known each other a long time and both have a deep love for hockey. Mads was forced to quit playing and is now coaching for the team that recently recruited Ten to play for them. I thought both main characters were well developed and had a lot going for them. The book flowed well and had good pacing w 4 out of 5 starsThis is the first book in a new series and I know that I will want to continue with the next book since finishing this one so quickly. Jared “Mads” Madsen and Tennett “Ten” Rowe have known each other a long time and both have a deep love for hockey. Mads was forced to quit playing and is now coaching for the team that recently recruited Ten to play for them. I thought both main characters were well developed and had a lot going for them. The book flowed well and had good pacing with some really great emotional and heartwarming interactions between lots of “extras” and our main guys. This book brought out many emotions in me - I laughed out loud a couple of times and shed a few tears along with the boys. It would have been a five star read, but I felt like there was definitely some things that weren’t wrapped up in the story. Though it’s not a cliff-hanger, I didn't feel like the story was complete. *** I voluntarily read an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review ***
    more
  • Laurel Looney
    July 6, 2017
    This is an amazing start to what's going to be an awesome series. Changing Lines is definitely a one clicker, you won't be disappointed in it. Once you start reading Mads and Ten you can't put it down. I can't wait until the next book is released in this series. Thank you RJ Scott and V.L. Locey for sharing this wonderful story with us.
    more
  • Emily Seelye
    July 26, 2017
    I really liked this. It was a great story, with great flow. Could not tell it was written by 2 different authors.
  • Amanda
    July 23, 2017
    I really liked Ten and Mads. They complimented each other well and made a work/home relationship seem easy. No angst and quick read.
  • Chris
    July 22, 2017
    4 out of 5 starsDescription ~Can Tennant show Jared that age is just a number, and that love is all that matters? The Rowe Brothers are famous hockey hotshots, but as the youngest of the trio, Tennant has always had to play against his brothers’ reputations. To get out of their shadows, and against their advice, he accepts a trade to the Harrisburg Railers, where he runs into Jared Madsen. Mads is an old family friend and his brother’s one-time teammate. Mads is Tennant’s new coach. And Mads is 4 out of 5 starsDescription ~Can Tennant show Jared that age is just a number, and that love is all that matters? The Rowe Brothers are famous hockey hotshots, but as the youngest of the trio, Tennant has always had to play against his brothers’ reputations. To get out of their shadows, and against their advice, he accepts a trade to the Harrisburg Railers, where he runs into Jared Madsen. Mads is an old family friend and his brother’s one-time teammate. Mads is Tennant’s new coach. And Mads is the sexiest thing he’s ever laid eyes on.Jared Madsen’s hockey career was cut short by a fault in his heart, but coaching keeps him close to the game. When Ten is traded to the team, his carefully organized world is thrown into chaos. Nine years his junior and his best friend’s brother, he knows Ten is strictly off-limits, but as soon as he sees Ten’s moves, on and off the ice, he knows that his heart could get him into trouble again. My Review ~Changing Lines is the first in a new contemporary m/m sports romance series. If you're a hockey fan like I am, you'll enjoy this first book quite a bit. In a stunning move, Tennant is traded by Dallas to a relatively new expansion team, the Harrisburg Railers. While he's not overly upset over the move, his oldest brother is freaking out over his trade. In the end this makes it easier for Tennant to be okay with the trade because he wants to prove to his brother that this team is going to be Cup finalists. Once Tennant sees who else is part of the Railers, he's even more thrilled with the move.. all because Jared Madsen aka "Mads" is there. Jared Madsen was Ten's oldest brother's best friend and teammate until his health stopped his hockey career in it's tracks. Now he's the Defense Coach on the Railers, and he wants this team to succeed and win the Cup. He knew Tennant was coming to play on their team but he didn't expect his world to grind to a halt the first time he saw him after all these years of growing up. But he knows that Ten can't be for him because a) Brady would kill him, b) he's part of Ten's coaching staff, and c) Ten's not gay. Or wait.. he is? but he's not out and coming out in a major sports team is still hard on a player. Changing Lines is a well-paced, well-written hockey romance, and yes it has quite a bit of hockey interspersed through the book. Which, since I'm a huge hockey fan, I absolutely loved. Now that's not to say that those who aren't hockey fans won't enjoy the story, because you will. The hockey, while a good part of the book, is still secondary to the relationship story line. There is also a lot of one on one moments with Ten and his mom, or his brother, and even some of the other players that make up another layer to this story. So definitely don't pass this one up if you're not a hockey fan because this is a good, solid story with completely engaging characters. I cheered on our two man characters, even when there were times I wanted to thump them both on the back of the head. I would have liked to see a little more of the relationship develop outside of their homes, or the arena. But that would have changed the dynamic for them so I do get that part, I just wish there had been a way to incorporate more little moments between Mads and Ten to give that deepening aspect to the relationship. Over all though this is a good story and a solid start to a new series by these two authors. I definitely recommend picking this one up to read and enjoy. I look forward to the next book in the series, coming in early-mid December 2017.
    more
  • Mollien Fote Osterman
    July 22, 2017
    Title: Changing LinesAuthor: RJ Scott and V.L. LoceySeries: Harrisburg Railers Hockey Book 1Publisher: Love Lane Books LtdReviewer: MollienRelease Date: July 12, 2017Genre(s): Male/Male Hockey RomancePage Count: 229 pagesHeat Level: 3 flames out of 5Rating: 4 stars out of 5Blurb: The Rowe Brothers are famous hockey hotshots, but as the youngest of the trio, Tennant has always had to play against his brothers’ reputations. To get out of their shadows, and against their advice, he accepts a trade Title: Changing LinesAuthor: RJ Scott and V.L. LoceySeries: Harrisburg Railers Hockey Book 1Publisher: Love Lane Books LtdReviewer: MollienRelease Date: July 12, 2017Genre(s): Male/Male Hockey RomancePage Count: 229 pagesHeat Level: 3 flames out of 5Rating: 4 stars out of 5Blurb: The Rowe Brothers are famous hockey hotshots, but as the youngest of the trio, Tennant has always had to play against his brothers’ reputations. To get out of their shadows, and against their advice, he accepts a trade to the Harrisburg Railers, where he runs into Jared Madsen. Mads is an old family friend and his brother’s one-time teammate. Mads is Tennant’s new coach. And Mads is the sexiest thing he’s ever laid eyes on.Jared Madsen’s hockey career was cut short by a fault in his heart, but coaching keeps him close to the game. When Ten is traded to the team, his carefully organized world is thrown into chaos. Nine years his junior and his best friend’s brother, he knows Ten is strictly off-limits, but as soon as he sees Ten’s moves, on and off the ice, he knows that his heart could get him into trouble again.Word Count: 57,000Review:This is the first book in the Harrisburg Railers Hockey series. I love a good hockey story and this one didn’t disappoint. Tennant is the youngest of the Rowe brothers. The brother that his brothers want to take care of. The brother that will alway be the baby of the family that is until he falls in love with his coach, Jarred Mads Madsen. Not only is Mads Ten’s coach, but he is his oldest brother, Brady’s best friend. Being gay is hard. Being gay and on a professional hockey team is really hard. Having your coach be the man that you are in love with is almost impossible. The chemistry between Mads and Ten is as exciting as a hat trick. Mads is older with a son not much younger than Ten, but they make it work. Mads' character is bisexual and since he never hid that fact, it puts the focus on Ten's coming out. The pacing of this story is pretty fast, but I loved how the characters were able to ease into the relationship. Mads being the calming factor in Ten’s sometimes rash behavior. I think the ending, however, was a little abrupt. Since this is a series, I hope that we will learn more about the outcome of Mads’ and Ten’s relationship. The story had very strong character development. There was strong detail was given to both main characters making them relatable. I can’t wait for the next book of this series to come out in the end of September. PLOT: 5 StarsCHEMISTRY: 5 StarsPACING: 4 StarsENDING: 4 StarsCHARACTER DEVELOPMENT: 5 Stars Review Copy of Changing Lines provided by the Love Lane Books Ltd I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book. Reviewed by Mollien from Alpha Book Club
    more
Write a review