The Changeling's Journey
Ailsa is dead. Leaving Morven the last surviving changeling in the village. Everyone knows it is only a matter of time before she too is dead. Desperate to find out why the fairies steal human babies, and to save her own life, she leaves her family behind, travelling north into the fairy kingdoms with her best friend.They soon find that making their way through vast magical forests, across kelpie-ridden lochs and over seemingly endless mountain ranges is more than they were prepared for. Despite the countless evenings spent listening to stories about adventures, fairies and magic, they find themselves out of their depth. Fighting to stay alive.Meanwhile in the fairy kingdoms, Princess Freya of Culhuinn struggles to cope with life now that her love has been taken from her. Whilst Queen Euna of Norbroch spends more time lost in her memories than she does ruling her kingdom.One changeling’s journey to save her life will alter their world forever.

The Changeling's Journey Details

TitleThe Changeling's Journey
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 31st, 2017
PublisherChristine Spoors
ISBN199975350X
ISBN-139781999753504
Number of pages420 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Young Adult Fantasy

The Changeling's Journey Review

  • Mia
    February 1, 2017
    Inspired by Scottish folklore and set in an enchanting world of fairy and human kingdoms, The Changeling's Journey was an adventure of a read that I couldn't get enough of! I loved the world building and it was so refreshing to see the deep (and adorable!) friendship between main characters Morven and Glen as they navigate the mysterious northern lands, packed with magic and creatures, managing to get themselves into trouble more than once! A gorgeous standalone, you're going to wish this book w Inspired by Scottish folklore and set in an enchanting world of fairy and human kingdoms, The Changeling's Journey was an adventure of a read that I couldn't get enough of! I loved the world building and it was so refreshing to see the deep (and adorable!) friendship between main characters Morven and Glen as they navigate the mysterious northern lands, packed with magic and creatures, managing to get themselves into trouble more than once! A gorgeous standalone, you're going to wish this book was a million times longer!
    more
  • Dannii Elle
    February 1, 2017
    Everything about this screams, 'YOU HAVE TO READ ME'!
  • Nazima
    January 31, 2017
    Even though I read a somewhat early draft, I think I can pretty much say with honesty that I loved reading this adventure. It's a little different, with a focus on Scotland and inspired by folklore. The world building is just amazing and I kept devouring chapter after chapter. I'll write a more detailed review when it's actually out but yep, I need more. NIEVE IS MY FAVE, JUST SAYING.
    more
  • Morgan (flickofapage)
    April 15, 2017
    The Changelings Journey has made me cry, burst into laughter, open my mouth in shock and feel all the feels. Inspired by Sottish culture and folklore, you can’t help but emerge yourself in this captivating world filled with magic, faeries, mysterious creatures that lurk beneath the water and not least the wisps you can’t help but follow through the forest. The world building is exceptional and on top of the magical elements it all fits together SO well that you cant help but want to go ahead and The Changelings Journey has made me cry, burst into laughter, open my mouth in shock and feel all the feels. Inspired by Sottish culture and folklore, you can’t help but emerge yourself in this captivating world filled with magic, faeries, mysterious creatures that lurk beneath the water and not least the wisps you can’t help but follow through the forest. The world building is exceptional and on top of the magical elements it all fits together SO well that you cant help but want to go ahead and read the next chapter to find where you are off to next or what you might discover. The sense of family bonds and friendship shine through so well and are so pure and heart-warming to see. I truly loved reading this book and couldn't help but feel I was following both Morven and Glen on this amazing adventure. I’m truly going to miss being in this world and I cannot wait to see what else Christine has in store for us. I MISS MY OTP SO MUCH OMG. ( more detailed and major fan-girling review to come when the book is released )
    more
  • Lauren (FictionTea)
    May 1, 2017
    I should probably mention that my best friend wrote this book. The day we met in person was the day she bought a notebook to plan this book. So, I may be a bit biased, but that doesn't change the fact that I believe this is a fantastic book.•R E V I E WThis book is inspired by Scottish folklore of Changeling's which is when babies are taken from their cribs by fairies and replaced by a fairy child. This happened to our protagonist, Morven. She's the longest living Changeling in her village and e I should probably mention that my best friend wrote this book. The day we met in person was the day she bought a notebook to plan this book. So, I may be a bit biased, but that doesn't change the fact that I believe this is a fantastic book.•R E V I E WThis book is inspired by Scottish folklore of Changeling's which is when babies are taken from their cribs by fairies and replaced by a fairy child. This happened to our protagonist, Morven. She's the longest living Changeling in her village and eager to discover where these babies have been taken.This immediately sparks adventure from the beginning, and it's very gripping because we want to know what happens to these babies too.With the help of her quirky friend Glen, Morven begins her journey get answers.This book has multiple POV's, we also have Princess Freya of Culhuinn and Queen Euna of Norbroch. The switch between POV's was a little confusing at first, but as the story progressed it was clear that this was to keep us in the dark about the unexpected twists later in the book. Looking back, this was done rather cleverly!The multiple POV's intertwine in the most unexpected ways and this truly kept the book intriguing till the last page.The world building was also brilliant, Christine has clearly outdone herself when it came to researching folklore and locations that could inspire aspects of her book.The environments and landscapes were described in great, vivid details, and creatures from other Scottish folklore mentioned made this fictional land come together perfectly. Other creatures that appeared were; kelpies, wee folk and of course, faeries. Wulver's and selkies are also briefly mentioned.The characterisation in this book was a definite favourite. It was so unique to anything else out there, and it wasn't hard to notice the small similarities between Christine and Morven. There was fantastic character development and it was truly hilarious seeing how bad Morven was at travelling.I loved this book so much, it was a pleasure and so fun to read.
    more
  • Lissa {rabid.reads}
    May 5, 2017
    The best part of The Changeling's Journey for me was that it's a good old adventure story. Unlike most YA novels these days that prioritize the female protagonist falling in love The Changeling's Journey focuses on friendship and family with just a smidgen of romance tossed in for good measure.It was such a pleasure to read The Changeling's Journey before it's officially released. I loved all the Scottish folklore that was included, and you can tell all the different types of fairies were very w The best part of The Changeling's Journey for me was that it's a good old adventure story. Unlike most YA novels these days that prioritize the female protagonist falling in love The Changeling's Journey focuses on friendship and family with just a smidgen of romance tossed in for good measure.It was such a pleasure to read The Changeling's Journey before it's officially released. I loved all the Scottish folklore that was included, and you can tell all the different types of fairies were very well researched. I'm so proud of Christine for writing an entire book and I can't wait for it to be released!Disclaimer: I was sent an e-ARC for a Beta read, my opinions are my own and are no way influenced by the author in any way.
    more
  • Shazina
    April 11, 2017
    The Changeling's Journey is one heck of a journey. Magic and fairies, love and friendship, kingdoms and hardship, deceit and lies. This book has it all, following Scottish heritage and folklore, fall in love with the valleys, waterfalls and mountains. Follow the journey of finding truth and adventure in this epic standalone. (full review to come closer to release day)
    more
  • Vicky (hunguponbooks)
    May 26, 2017
    A longer and fuller review to come upon this books release! Eeeeek, I was lucky enough to snag a copy of this before its release and I'm so darn proud of Christine for writing such a wonderful book. I'm not just giving it 5 stars because she is my bestie but because it is genuinely an amazing book that I fully recommend you all read!
    more
  • The.bookish.photog
    May 22, 2017
    I cant wait to read this book!! Love that Christine wanted a book about Scottish folklore so she wrote it!
  • Laurent (asoiabooks)
    April 19, 2017
    I'M SO INSANELY EXCITED FOR THIS OMG
  • Anna
    May 20, 2017
    I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of The Changeling's Journey from the author but this in no way affected my review.Simply put, this book was brilliant. It was a little slow at the start but it picked up very quickly and I couldn't put it down.It is a well researched, traditional adventure story using Scottish folklore as the backbone of the story.It is told from three POVs, with the main focus being on Morven.There is very little romance in this book, the priority being exploring f I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of The Changeling's Journey from the author but this in no way affected my review.Simply put, this book was brilliant. It was a little slow at the start but it picked up very quickly and I couldn't put it down.It is a well researched, traditional adventure story using Scottish folklore as the backbone of the story.It is told from three POVs, with the main focus being on Morven.There is very little romance in this book, the priority being exploring friendship and family, and it's importance to each of the characters. It was so refreshing to read a book where the priority of the main character is not to find the man of her dreams.I especially loved how LGBT+ was represented in this book. It was completely accepted to be LGBT+ in this world. I thought this was such a wonderful thing because it's very important for LGBT+ readers to see themselves represented in books, and in a positive light, and they definitely are in The Changeling's Journey.The world building is excellent, I loved how Christine created a world that is recognisable yet different to our own, through using the folklore of her country.This is an excellent book from a debut author and I cannot recommend it enough.
    more
  • Amy
    April 24, 2017
    Mini review (Full one will be up on the blog)My God, everyone keep your eye out for this book when it is released. This book was filled with twists and turns that I never saw coming. I loved the fact that there wasn't any main romance throughout the entire story AND all 3 main characters had NO LOVE TRIANGLES! No insta-love and no triangles, I'm so happy with that. This book doesn't follow normal twists and turns that are in YA books today. I loved how all of the characters go through different Mini review (Full one will be up on the blog)My God, everyone keep your eye out for this book when it is released. This book was filled with twists and turns that I never saw coming. I loved the fact that there wasn't any main romance throughout the entire story AND all 3 main characters had NO LOVE TRIANGLES! No insta-love and no triangles, I'm so happy with that. This book doesn't follow normal twists and turns that are in YA books today. I loved how all of the characters go through different traumatic events and they get over it like a normal person. I loved the feel of the Scotland that Christine made and made the folklore of changelings come to life. I really loved how this book steps away from other YA novels, by all of the characters having their own faults and not classed as perfect. I'm just so happy this book doesn't follow the tropes that go with the whole YA genre. Definitely highly recommend this to any one interested in Scottish folklore and just Scotland in general. Full review to come.....
    more
  • Shannon
    May 7, 2017
    Okay, I really don't know how to express how much I loved this book. Based on Scottish folklore, I was already excited to read this when it officially came out but then Christine sent me over an early copy and I was ecstatic. There is something very exciting about being Scottish and finding books that aren't all "Aye, gonnae no dae that wee lass"...It's not often that I find myself constantly needing to read another chapter. It didn't matter where I was; the bus, walking, in a shop, while exerci Okay, I really don't know how to express how much I loved this book. Based on Scottish folklore, I was already excited to read this when it officially came out but then Christine sent me over an early copy and I was ecstatic. There is something very exciting about being Scottish and finding books that aren't all "Aye, gonnae no dae that wee lass"...It's not often that I find myself constantly needing to read another chapter. It didn't matter where I was; the bus, walking, in a shop, while exercising, I just had to keep reading when I could. My favourite thing about this book was it didn't fall into any of the typical storylines that we see a lot. It felt different and fresh, and I adore that Christine added so much diversity. It was also refreshing that the main relationship was actually the friendship between the main characters. You know, not every friendship needs to end with them falling in love! I would definitely recommend this book to anyone. I can't wait to read more from Christine as well.
    more
  • Becky
    June 2, 2017
    The Changeling's Journey by Christine Spoors is an amazing story that totally grabs the reader's attention from the first chapter. The story's elements and plot line are very fluid and one can totally feel like they are a part of the character's lives. I felt like the story was very reminiscent of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings trilogy in that you are totally swept up in these character's lives and what their fate holds. The idea behind the main character's background is very inventive and o The Changeling's Journey by Christine Spoors is an amazing story that totally grabs the reader's attention from the first chapter. The story's elements and plot line are very fluid and one can totally feel like they are a part of the character's lives. I felt like the story was very reminiscent of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings trilogy in that you are totally swept up in these character's lives and what their fate holds. The idea behind the main character's background is very inventive and original. The author truly has an amazing gift and I, for one, cannot wait to see what other stories will be coming! Add it to the top of your "want to read" list - you will not be disappointed, I promise you! And congratulations to Christine on her first book! You truly have a long and wonderful career ahead of you!
    more
  • Josephine Boyce
    May 2, 2017
    I received an advance copy of The Changeling's Journey and from the outset I totally adored Morven and Glen's relationship. It was so lovely to see a friendship as the central relationship to a book and their dialogue was really funny in moments. I ship their friendship.The book starts off really strong -- I love meeting Morven's family and I adore the way they all joke about her impending death and then we're taken to Freya and Euna's chapters which give us insight into a fairy kingdom and a fa I received an advance copy of The Changeling's Journey and from the outset I totally adored Morven and Glen's relationship. It was so lovely to see a friendship as the central relationship to a book and their dialogue was really funny in moments. I ship their friendship.The book starts off really strong -- I love meeting Morven's family and I adore the way they all joke about her impending death and then we're taken to Freya and Euna's chapters which give us insight into a fairy kingdom and a fairy queendom (love that there's a queendom ruled by two queens).I loved how it all came to a head and then resolved itself. It's such a wonderful concept having a changeling as the central character, I really liked that she was weak but she had such a sense of purpose and really drove her own story, taking complete charge. She's one of the most interesting heroines I've read because she doesn't allow her disability to hold her back.
    more
  • Amy Garvie
    April 25, 2017
    Based on Scottish Folklore, The Changeling's Journey follows Morven on her mission to find the information she so desperately seeks. Filled with love, friendship, magic and fairies you can't help but be drawn into this world, which is written so well, and the adventure within. Thoroughly enjoyed reading this and really felt like I was on an adventure with Morven and Glen!
    more
  • Kitt
    July 31, 2017
    Actual rating: 4.5 🌟
Write a review