Stud
Large. Hot. With a pump of sexual tension. When the barista next door teams up with a slick ad executive in this sweet standalone novel from USA Today bestselling author Jamie K. Schmidt, they both get a taste of unexpected love. Terri Cooke wishes she could give Mick Wentworth a piece of her mind. The infuriating stud muffin walks into her coffee shop every morning expecting his regular order at 8:57 on the dot, without ever acknowledging Terri’s presence—except for staring at her cleavage. And yet she can’t deny that Mick Wentworth has an animal magnetism that’s stronger and richer than any espresso . . . which explains why Terri says yes when he suddenly, inexplicably asks her out. After the morning coffee run, Mick’s day is all downhill from there. His family’s marketing firm is dysfunctional in more ways than one, so to save the business, Mick desperately needs to impress their newest client. When he learns that Terri’s a fan of their trendy product, he tries to get inside her head. It doesn’t hurt that she’s the barista he’s been lusting after for the past five months. But as things heat up with Terri, Mick finds that a little steam is just the jolt he needs to turn his whole life around.Don’t miss any of Jamie K. Schmidt’s seductive novels:The Sentinels of Babylon seriesNECESSARY EVIL | SENTINEL’S KISS “A turbo-paced, gritty, highly sexual thrill ride.”—Bestselling author Jamie Beck, on Necessary EvilThe Club Inferno seriesHEAT | LONGING | FEVER “A fabulous series that’s hot enough to set your e-reader on fire . . . Club Inferno is one playground you’ll never want to leave!”—USA Today bestselling author Stacey KennedyLIFE’S A BEACH“A fun and sassy romance you’ll want to last forever.”—New York Times bestselling author Claudia ConnorThis standalone novel includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Stud Details

TitleStud
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherLoveswept
Number of pages203 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance

Stud Review

  • Mindy Lou's Book Reviews
    July 21, 2017
    Mick is a prick. I can't believe I'm going to say this, but I loved him anyway. He was an asshole and it just worked for this book. Terri was awesome! I loved her character. She didn't bow down to Mick and she sasses him when he deserved it. I think that's why I ended up liking him. She didn't cater to him and I viewed him differently because of it.I liked that the storyline grew in depth the deeper we got into the story. There are a lot of messed up characters, aka Mick's family, that made this Mick is a prick. I can't believe I'm going to say this, but I loved him anyway. He was an asshole and it just worked for this book. Terri was awesome! I loved her character. She didn't bow down to Mick and she sasses him when he deserved it. I think that's why I ended up liking him. She didn't cater to him and I viewed him differently because of it.I liked that the storyline grew in depth the deeper we got into the story. There are a lot of messed up characters, aka Mick's family, that made this book even more interesting. There is no cheating or abuse between the MC's but Mick is with other women in front of Terri before they get together. I would not say this is a romantic read but it just worked. ARC provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • Sissy's Romance Book Review
    May 7, 2017
    'Stud' by Jamie K. Schmidt is the story of Terri Cooke and Mick Wentworth. Terri is having to take care of her brother who is struggling with a illness/disability. To help pay for his medical bills she has taken on working a few jobs one being a barista at a coffee house. There she meets Mick who doesn't say much and is sort of arrogant to her. They do this dance for a few months when she sees him again at a function she is a waitress at. They start talking an agree to have a 'one night fling' b 'Stud' by Jamie K. Schmidt is the story of Terri Cooke and Mick Wentworth. Terri is having to take care of her brother who is struggling with a illness/disability. To help pay for his medical bills she has taken on working a few jobs one being a barista at a coffee house. There she meets Mick who doesn't say much and is sort of arrogant to her. They do this dance for a few months when she sees him again at a function she is a waitress at. They start talking an agree to have a 'one night fling' but it turns into another night fling. Then she ends up working for him which he feels they shouldn't have a sexual relationship while she is working for him. But how long can that last when they are so attracted to one another?"My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."
    more
  • Chris Carroll
    July 22, 2017
    If you are looking for a HOT and fun story, you have to check this one out! One smart mouth lady who does not put up with BS vs one hot as sin guy with a dry wit. When these two come together you get a humorous, sexy read. I loved this book! I loved the steamy anticipation and hot as hell build up. I loved the cranky guy with the smart ass attitude. I loved the chick that would give it right back to him.Loads of heat, passion, and a great story made this a wonderful, memorable read. Definitely o If you are looking for a HOT and fun story, you have to check this one out! One smart mouth lady who does not put up with BS vs one hot as sin guy with a dry wit. When these two come together you get a humorous, sexy read. I loved this book! I loved the steamy anticipation and hot as hell build up. I loved the cranky guy with the smart ass attitude. I loved the chick that would give it right back to him.Loads of heat, passion, and a great story made this a wonderful, memorable read. Definitely one I would read again! Now I have a new author to follow too!* copy rec'd for review purposes
    more
  • Viollar Nasaba
    May 28, 2017
    4 Unexpected Stars.Not sure what to say:I really enjoyed the hell out of this book. **Arc provided by Netgalley for an honest review
  • A. Cook
    June 23, 2017
    Lets start with the book title definitely suits the hero. The readers first introduction to the finger snapping Mick Wentworth caused a double take. The sheer initial rudeness of the character was a bit shocking but later Mr. Wentworth's character is devilishly delicious. Wentworth is super cocky and larger than life. The up side his character is easily tamed by his heroine (Terri) whose presence adds balance to the hero. Now, Terri's character is smart and funny with the right amount a bad luck Lets start with the book title definitely suits the hero. The readers first introduction to the finger snapping Mick Wentworth caused a double take. The sheer initial rudeness of the character was a bit shocking but later Mr. Wentworth's character is devilishly delicious. Wentworth is super cocky and larger than life. The up side his character is easily tamed by his heroine (Terri) whose presence adds balance to the hero. Now, Terri's character is smart and funny with the right amount a bad luck going on in her life. The heroine trials gives her character strength and helps to propel the story forward. The gamer in me likes the fact that the author added an element of on-line gaming in the story. Stud is just a drool worth and steamy read.Thank you to Netgalley for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carlene(Inspired)
    June 29, 2017
    3.5 StarsARC provided in exchange for an honest review.Terri's life is different than she expected it to be and nothing highlights that more than the rich jerk who comes in for his froufrou drink every morning. She knows his name is Mick, that her boss would do anything for him, and that he won't utter a single word to her. When a chance encounter and a one-night stand bring them together, neither expect her to be working for him next. With a no-relationship rule between them, Terri makes a name 3.5 StarsARC provided in exchange for an honest review.Terri's life is different than she expected it to be and nothing highlights that more than the rich jerk who comes in for his froufrou drink every morning. She knows his name is Mick, that her boss would do anything for him, and that he won't utter a single word to her. When a chance encounter and a one-night stand bring them together, neither expect her to be working for him next. With a no-relationship rule between them, Terri makes a name for herself in his marketing firm, finally able to provide more stability for her ill brother. Neither Mick nor Terri could have expected that working together, and a role playing video game, would make their chemistry so hard to ignore. "'You deserve better,' he called up the stairs to me.'We all deserve better,' I said, hoping I kept the bitterness out of my voice."Stud, by Jamie K. Schmidt, surprised me. I was expecting the cliches, the rich man storyline, and sure it has one, but it also features Schmidt's special brand of storytelling. Terri is a snarky female, she makes you laugh and brings out a side of Mick that one would never expect from the suit-wearing, arrogant man. They're the kind of characters readers will actually enjoy reading about, their dialogue is engaging and their chemistry feels natural. I really enjoyed that each character carried on with their separate lives, only combining together when the relationship demanded it. Terri and her brother, though I wish we had more interactions, make for a really interesting sibling storyline. They care for one another, but also have to rely on one another, as they are the only family they have, their bond even stronger due to her brother's illness. Mick's family is a train wreck, on the verge of a very public crash, and it plays out through out the entire novel. Despite the family issues, the work issues, and the video gaming, Mick and Terri find so much more than just a one night stand."'I'd say we both got what we wanted. But that's all in the past.''It was two weeks ago,' he said, his voice brining with outrage."Though the book is sexual from the start, I mean come on it all started with a one night stand, the relationship between Mick and Terri was originally more about work and their individual family issues. Additionally, Mick is a mix of both a very-alpha, Dominant man and a kind, thoughtful nice guy. It was sort of confusing. Terri is snarky, holds her own, and a big nerd, and though their connection seemed natural by the end it feels based purely on their sexual relationship. The storyline of Stud is interesting, it boasts all the intrigue and drama that get you attached, but it fizzled out at the end. I felt there were a few questions left unanswered, some string of events unfinished, and the meat of the story felt replaced by the very erotic relationship between Mick and Terri. "'Just my spare time?' I quipped. He kissed my forehead and I still shivered.'Don't tempt me.'"Stud is an entertaining read from new-to-me Jamie K. Schmidt. It stands out among the many cliche rich-man, poor-woman new releases. If you're looking for a read that is all drama and romance, this is for you.
    more
  • Judi
    May 21, 2017
    My Disclaimer: The author's rep offered me the opportunity to read and review the book and NetGalley provided me with an eARC. This is my honest review for which I am not being compensated in any way. All opinions are fully my own.~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat ReviewMy Review: I've read and reviewed Ms. Schmidt before and I must say, she does have a way with romance and love scenes. She seems to like the bad boys. Previously, I read her biker boys. This time it's a rich guy who seems to be a lit My Disclaimer: The author's rep offered me the opportunity to read and review the book and NetGalley provided me with an eARC. This is my honest review for which I am not being compensated in any way. All opinions are fully my own.~ Judi E. Easley for Blue Cat ReviewMy Review: I've read and reviewed Ms. Schmidt before and I must say, she does have a way with romance and love scenes. She seems to like the bad boys. Previously, I read her biker boys. This time it's a rich guy who seems to be a little bit of a bad boy down inside. Mick seems to have a sense of humor and a mischievous side to him when he gets going with Terri. Both characters are pretty well written. I did have some trouble understanding Terri's actions around the office sometimes, though. And the family temper tantrum that was playing out in the office was a total nightmare. I've never seen anything like that in an office situation.The relationship between Terri and her brother was well done. She stood by him and took care of him. She made what sacrifices she felt she needed to so that she was able to be there for him through his illness. He was her only family and he was important in her life. She made work and relationships work around him. I respected her for that.Mick was trying to keep the family business going because his grandfather had been important to him in his life and the business had been important to his grandfather. He ruthlessly sacrificed everyone else in his family to keep the business going well. But his family were just using the business. None of them were really trying to do any good for the business. They just wanted money and prestige.These two characters come together and seem to go into their own space and time with just a look. And it happens every time. When they finally touched, my tablet almost melted. But there is humor throughout it as well. Who's got the condoms? Anyone have a condom? At least they both have a sense of humor and inventiveness!Like your romance hot and steamy with a side of laughter? Take a peak in Stud. It's got it all. Jamie K. Schmidt writes a fabulous love scene! And have a cup of coffee with this just for the fun of it...Release date July 25, 2017
    more
  • Maria11
    July 20, 2017
    An ok read.I wasn't thrilled with it. I just could not get into the characters. Neither one of them really appealed to me. The storyline was ok. Kinda unbelievable. Insta-love for sure. The author tried to make Mick out to be this jerk and it just fell flat. Terri who hadn't had sex in a year and lived a pretty boring life before she met Mick turned into some sex kitten. Oh yeah and we had a round of cybersex. So much fun...not. Maybe I am in a mood because my summer vacation is over in two days An ok read.I wasn't thrilled with it. I just could not get into the characters. Neither one of them really appealed to me. The storyline was ok. Kinda unbelievable. Insta-love for sure. The author tried to make Mick out to be this jerk and it just fell flat. Terri who hadn't had sex in a year and lived a pretty boring life before she met Mick turned into some sex kitten. Oh yeah and we had a round of cybersex. So much fun...not. Maybe I am in a mood because my summer vacation is over in two days or that my b-day is coming up on Saturday and I am just disgruntled, that I am being critical ..but I don't think so Received a copy from the publisher through NetGalley.
    more
  • ~Mandi~
    July 5, 2017
    Stud Jamie Schmidt4.5 Stars ✨ My first book by Jamie Schmidt and it was pretty awesome. I enjoyed this from beginning to end. It's also a bit of a gamer romance. So if you are into games this is definitely up your alley. Large. Hot. With a pump of sexual tension.When the barista next door teams up with a slick ad executive in this steamy standalone novel from USA Todaybestselling author Jamie K. Schmidt, they both get a taste of unexpected love.Terri Cooke wishes she could give Mick Wentworth a Stud Jamie Schmidt4.5 Stars ✨ My first book by Jamie Schmidt and it was pretty awesome. I enjoyed this from beginning to end. It's also a bit of a gamer romance. So if you are into games this is definitely up your alley. Large. Hot. With a pump of sexual tension.When the barista next door teams up with a slick ad executive in this steamy standalone novel from USA Todaybestselling author Jamie K. Schmidt, they both get a taste of unexpected love.Terri Cooke wishes she could give Mick Wentworth a piece of her mind. The infuriating stud muffin walks into her coffee shop every morning expecting his regular order at 8:57 on the dot, without ever acknowledging Terri’s presence—except for staring at her cleavage. And yet she can’t deny that Mick Wentworth has an animal magnetism that’s stronger and richer than any espresso . . . which explains why Terri says yes when he suddenly, inexplicably asks her out.After the morning coffee run, Mick’s day is all downhill from there. His family’s marketing firm is dysfunctional in more ways than one, so to save the business, Mick desperately needs to impress their newest client. When he learns that Terri’s a fan of their trendy product, he tries to get inside her head. It doesn’t hurt that she’s the barista he’s been lusting after for the past five months. But as things heat up with Terri, Mick finds that a little steam is just the jolt he needs to turn his whole life around.Thanks NetGalley for the arc in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Emma
    July 26, 2017
    In all honesty, while I enjoyed the story I didn't quite click with the characters in Stud. I found my respect for them diminishing at the start especially when Terri watches Mick get off with someone else at a club :(I admired Terri's dedication to her brother and her devotion to helping take care of him as his illness progresses and robs him of his physical ability to control his body. Having given up her dream career in order to have a more flexible schedule to take her brother to doctors app In all honesty, while I enjoyed the story I didn't quite click with the characters in Stud. I found my respect for them diminishing at the start especially when Terri watches Mick get off with someone else at a club :(I admired Terri's dedication to her brother and her devotion to helping take care of him as his illness progresses and robs him of his physical ability to control his body. Having given up her dream career in order to have a more flexible schedule to take her brother to doctors appointments, Terri is extremely hard working. Crossing paths with Mick when he stops off at the coffee shop she is a barista in to pick up a very frou-frou drink in the mornings.Mick comes across as exceptionally arrogant and entitled, as well as a total player. However, it is soon obvious these are a form of defense mechanism due to his seriously nuffed up family situation. His emotional barriers conceal a level of caring and compassion not exhibited by a lot of the population. Mick is altruistic in his actions, preferring to remain anonymous than take credit for his good deeds. There is a fire burning between Mick and Terri from the start leading to some exceptionally explosive passionate moments between the pair. Although they endeavor to keep their emotions out of the equation. Yep, we all know how that works, but watching Mick battle with his emotions was enlighting in respect to his family circumstances and upbringing. I really liked how Terri stood out in the male dominated marketing world with her ideas and geek-dom bringing Mick along with her for the ride. Stud was a compelling read even without the deep connection to the characters. although I did enjoy the banter and sass as it developed through the narrative and made the characters more accessible. 
    more
  • Carol
    June 12, 2017
    3.5 stars.ARC received in exchange for an honest review.First read by this author and I wasn't expecting to enjoy it as much as I did. I can't really explain other than to say that I really got into the author's style of storytelling and was really entertained by this book.It was sexy, funny and sweet at times with the wicked banter I so love between my hero and heroine.
    more
  • Keep Calm Novel On
    June 4, 2017
    NetGalley provided a copy of the ARC in exchange for an honest review.Stud by Jamie K. Schimdt is a standalone Contemporary Romance. This novel is fun and flirtatious. Terri Cooke has temporarily given up her career in marketing to care for her sick brother. Working as a barista is one of her jobs. She is confident, loyal and a young woman comfortable in her own skin. At 8:57 a.m. daily Mick Wentworth picks up his coffee order without fail. The successful ad executive is cautious and controlled. NetGalley provided a copy of the ARC in exchange for an honest review.Stud by Jamie K. Schimdt is a standalone Contemporary Romance. This novel is fun and flirtatious. Terri Cooke has temporarily given up her career in marketing to care for her sick brother. Working as a barista is one of her jobs. She is confident, loyal and a young woman comfortable in her own skin. At 8:57 a.m. daily Mick Wentworth picks up his coffee order without fail. The successful ad executive is cautious and controlled. The chemistry between Terri and Mick is undeniable. The story is told via alternating points of view. Their honesty, insight and humour add to this entertaining read. The unexpected obstacles along the way certainly impede their relationship. The twists and turns make Stud a page-turner. This read is character driven and does not disappoint.
    more
  • Kimmy
    July 24, 2017
    4 Total Stud Stars!! I totally loved Stud by Jamie K Schmidt. I couldn't put this book down. Terri Cooke had to leave her dream job and all of her friends to help take care of her brother Billy who is suffer from ALS. To make ends meet she has to take a job as a barista at the Beanary along with a part-time job in a customer service call center. This is so that she can transport her brother to and from all of his appointments. Little does Terri know that her life is about to chance one morning w 4 Total Stud Stars!! I totally loved Stud by Jamie K Schmidt. I couldn't put this book down. Terri Cooke had to leave her dream job and all of her friends to help take care of her brother Billy who is suffer from ALS. To make ends meet she has to take a job as a barista at the Beanary along with a part-time job in a customer service call center. This is so that she can transport her brother to and from all of his appointments. Little does Terri know that her life is about to chance one morning while delivering muffins and coffee to Wentworth Agency.Mick Wentworth is currently the CFO of Wentworth Agency and is currently trying to keep the company afloat after having his father arrested and his mother fired. In order to keep the company in business he has to make sure he does everything he can to get Lemmingware games the publicity they deserve during a new game launch. However, there is on little problem.... Mich doesn't know anything about gaming. The chemistry between Terri and Mick is of the charts hot and steamy. This book as a little bit of something for all types of readers. If you're looking for suspense, romance, drama, secrets, drama and gaming then you will LOVE this book.
    more
  • Merranda M.
    July 13, 2017
    This was my first read by Jamie Schmidt and I was absolutely wowed by her story telling. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!!Terri is a barista at a local coffee shop, who takes care of her brother that is struggling with his disability. She works tirelessly at a few different jobs just to make ends meet and give her brother the medical care he needs. Mick is a thorn in Terri’s side, who comes in daily to order his usual coffee and tends to snap his fingers at her if she isn’t quick enough. The sexu This was my first read by Jamie Schmidt and I was absolutely wowed by her story telling. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!!Terri is a barista at a local coffee shop, who takes care of her brother that is struggling with his disability. She works tirelessly at a few different jobs just to make ends meet and give her brother the medical care he needs. Mick is a thorn in Terri’s side, who comes in daily to order his usual coffee and tends to snap his fingers at her if she isn’t quick enough. The sexual tension between Terri and Mick is undeniable, so when Mick asks her out they both agree on one night. However, Terri and Mick can’t stay away from each other and one night leads to many more.The back and forth banter between the two characters had me laughing out loud, while the sexual encounters left me HOT! Excellent job Jamie Schmidt, I am looking forward to reading more of your books.I received an advance reader's copy from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Jan
    July 9, 2017
    My fist book by this author, & I'm so glad I took the plunge. The Cover: Although I like the cover of this book I don't think it represents the character Mick who was not a smoker and seemed younger and more clean cut. Terri & Mick first meet when Terri works in a coffee shop and Mick is a regular. Mick is the typical suit with no manners and Terri is the sort of person who is rubbed the wrong way by his actions especially when he clicks his fingers to get her attention. What starts off My fist book by this author, & I'm so glad I took the plunge. The Cover: Although I like the cover of this book I don't think it represents the character Mick who was not a smoker and seemed younger and more clean cut. Terri & Mick first meet when Terri works in a coffee shop and Mick is a regular. Mick is the typical suit with no manners and Terri is the sort of person who is rubbed the wrong way by his actions especially when he clicks his fingers to get her attention. What starts off as a hate relationship turns into pleasant fantasies, Mick thinks Terri's sassy attitude is hot while Terri just fancies the pants of him. The dancing around each other lasts for 6 months until The coffee shop does catering for Mick's company and they begin to spend time with each other instead of the quick awkward early morning greetings. Stud, although Mick comes across as a playboy in the beginning, a rich and handsome guy who can get any woman he wants you discover as the plot progresses there's more depth to Mick, he's dedicated to his business, has family issues with his deceptive mother and father and a brother who can't keep it in his pants. Terri, I liked Terri, a down to earth woman, unable to work the job she trained for in marketing she's working two jobs that suit her in hours so she can take her older sick brother to appointments, she works to pays bills and for her sick older brothers treatment. A big marketing deal with a gaming company has Mick a little out of his depth until he discovers Terri is a gamer and knows her stuff. This is one of these stories were good things happen to good people and bad ones get their just deserts. Stud is hot in all the right places, has humor and is balanced out perfectly with the drama and other things that take place, so you never reach any dips in the plot and interest is piqued throughout. I have some knowledge of the gaming world but for someone who doesn't some parts in the plot talking about characters, expansions packs and how the game works could lose a readers interest, that I found was the only negative. Stud is an enjoyable hot read with great character's and told in dual pov. Arc gratefully received from netgalley for review purposes http://www.Bbbf-sizzlereads-bestbookb...NOW LIVE! http://amzn.to/2paYr4n
    more
  • Treena
    July 28, 2017
    Somewhere in between 3.5-4 stars.Mick wouldn't be the type of H I would normally go for. In fact, he's a massive douchebag. But somehow, the way this story is written, I ended up liking him. Maybe it's because I just came off a string of DNF's of too many wishy washy, ickly TSTL characters... so his assholish behavior just worked in the story. Of course it also helps that the h is a geeky brainy sort --- she had spine and sass and smarts. I loved Terri. This book got better as I kept reading. 👍🏻 Somewhere in between 3.5-4 stars.Mick wouldn't be the type of H I would normally go for. In fact, he's a massive douchebag. But somehow, the way this story is written, I ended up liking him. Maybe it's because I just came off a string of DNF's of too many wishy washy, ickly TSTL characters... so his assholish behavior just worked in the story. Of course it also helps that the h is a geeky brainy sort --- she had spine and sass and smarts. I loved Terri. This book got better as I kept reading. 👍🏻P.S. I wouldn't have been drawn to this book if I hadn't seen Mindy's review of it here. Thanks Mindy!
    more
  • Beth
    June 5, 2017
    This is a book that needs some attention ... such a great read, for me, I read a ton of books, some books tend to seem very similar (or even familiar to others I have read in the past, they sort of get all jumbled up in my brain, but this read ...this read!!!) Oh my goodness, it will not be forgotten, ... from the moment you begin I was glued to this read, couldn't let it go, I really think some guys (not sure if girls are the same, 'cause I have never met one to be like this??! but guys love it This is a book that needs some attention ... such a great read, for me, I read a ton of books, some books tend to seem very similar (or even familiar to others I have read in the past, they sort of get all jumbled up in my brain, but this read ...this read!!!) Oh my goodness, it will not be forgotten, ... from the moment you begin I was glued to this read, couldn't let it go, I really think some guys (not sure if girls are the same, 'cause I have never met one to be like this??! but guys love it when they get under your skin and they just keep pushing you to your limits and if you are having an okay day no biggie, but there are sometimes where you better watch out, you will see what Terri does, lol!! there are some moments, where I am like YOU GO GIRL!! Mick had it coming! ...hated to put it down but I knew I had to sleep at least a few hours ... 'cause every girl needs some rest. You can not survive on books and coffee alone. I have never read any books from Jamie K. Schmidt before, never even heard her name before, but I tell ya now ...I will be waiting to see what else she does have available and will write in the future?! ... such a fan now. Love these characters, love the constant friction between the 2, Mick & Terri. So many hilarious, but get under your fingernail kind of moments in the coffee shop. I just wanna know why there are so many men out there that have such a pricky side to them? I mean you occasionally meet a lady who has a bit of cocky-ness ... but the guys sure take it to a whole other level!! Mick is no exception to this rule. He takes it to a whole other level and beyond at times. But then the goober goes and buys his secretary (is that politically correct word? or is it Administrative Assistant, i guess that is the proper wording for it.) a coffee to calm her pregnant cravings down a bit and you think well darn it, okay maybe he is not such a prick after all? MAYBE? I sure hope this series takes off and Jamie will write more .. please? either way I will be reading more, can't wait! ( ;
    more
  • Kimberly Cermak
    July 27, 2017
    Cute, fun read that I enjoyed. Great story!
  • Janee
    June 8, 2017
    This is the first book I have read from Jamie. I been tempted in the past to pick up one her books. I couldn't give you a reason why. So I was offered this book and went with it. I wasn't disappointed. I kinda feel stupid from not getting the other books.Terrie and Mick are the couple in this book, and it's a stand a lone. I found Terrie funny with her sassy mouth. She doing her best to help support her ill big brother. She not really struggling, but staying afloat with her life. Mick is a custo This is the first book I have read from Jamie. I been tempted in the past to pick up one her books. I couldn't give you a reason why. So I was offered this book and went with it. I wasn't disappointed. I kinda feel stupid from not getting the other books.Terrie and Mick are the couple in this book, and it's a stand a lone. I found Terrie funny with her sassy mouth. She doing her best to help support her ill big brother. She not really struggling, but staying afloat with her life. Mick is a customer who comes in everyday to get a girly coffee, not for him, she thinks he is a prick. Doesn't stop from either one of them getting together.I won't tell you what happens. I found their story quite interesting and not be able to put it down. Yes I think the ending could of gone into a little bit detail, but it wasn't bad.ARC book given from NetGalley
    more
  • A Book Lover's Emporium Book Blog
    June 7, 2017
    5+ smoking hot, steamy stars!This is a super hot and sexy story with a lot of humour and some double crossing/doubting characters. Just the right amount of intrigue to keep me turning the pages. Phew! I squirmed my way through this book! (I may have even read a bit out to my hubby...) I love Terri's sassy personality and I fell for Mick after a shaky start, He was quite arrogant to start with. The other characters also brought the story to life; Mick's brother, Simon and his parents, they are al 5+ smoking hot, steamy stars!This is a super hot and sexy story with a lot of humour and some double crossing/doubting characters. Just the right amount of intrigue to keep me turning the pages. Phew! I squirmed my way through this book! (I may have even read a bit out to my hubby...) I love Terri's sassy personality and I fell for Mick after a shaky start, He was quite arrogant to start with. The other characters also brought the story to life; Mick's brother, Simon and his parents, they are all pretty sketchy characters! I just love the relationship between Terri and her brother Billy though, they are super sweet.I'm not a big gamer but it was very easy to follow and a very, VERY, enjoyable to read. I smiled a lot, laughed out loud and even had a bit of a damp face a couple of times, not to mention the hotness factor that had me in a bit of a state..This is my first book by Jamie K Schmidt, but I will be looking up more. I would definitely recommend that you buy this book, it WILL keep you warm.
    more
  • Jenny
    July 2, 2017
    ARC provided by the author in exchange for my honest review. Unfortunately, DNF @ 54%.Again, my take on this is my own opinion. This may work for others.It just wasn't working for me. The H is just way too crass for my liking. There's dirty talk but he took it to a much higher, disrespectful level. And the fact that the h actually got turned on by this speaks volumes. There was also so much drama on the H's side and I wasn't willing to go down that road.The h was very feisty, I'll give her that. ARC provided by the author in exchange for my honest review. Unfortunately, DNF @ 54%.Again, my take on this is my own opinion. This may work for others.It just wasn't working for me. The H is just way too crass for my liking. There's dirty talk but he took it to a much higher, disrespectful level. And the fact that the h actually got turned on by this speaks volumes. There was also so much drama on the H's side and I wasn't willing to go down that road.The h was very feisty, I'll give her that. She has a lot of responsibility on her plate but I really couldn't get past how she craved the way the H spoke to her.There was also no connection whatsoever in my opinion. Nothing that gave me hope and want to go move past where I ended.
    more
  • Heather andrews
    May 27, 2017
    Mick is a very blunt man, “I like ***. You’re sexy. What’s the problem?” The promises Mick makes, "pulling back the curtain, she gave me a thorough once-over. “Keep looking at me like that and we’ll join the mile high club,” I told her." This book was okay, I didn't hate it, but wasn't in love with it. Mick could be quite stuck up at times and standoffish, and Terri was feisty and mouthy.
    more
  • Dawn
    June 27, 2017
    This is an in your face, unapologetic, disfunctional family and business, erotic romance with very vivid commentary and sex scenes. It also deals with chronic disease and the struggle it causes. It is also some form of romance not for the weak at heart and who like it dirty. This was not my cup of tea but it was a quick read and if you're a gamer a plus for you. I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sarah Wayne
    May 23, 2017
    Stud by Jamie K. Schmidt was a really surprisingly good story with charming characters and a captivating story line. This was the first book I've read by this author but definitely will not be my last because it really was a cute but gritty erotica novel. Fast paced and good dialog. Thanks to Netgalley and Loveswept for the ARC in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Laurel
    May 19, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for the ARC in exchange for an honest and independent review.Mick is the perfect hero - gorgeous, sexy, rich and a bad boy with a dysfunctional family. Terri is sweet and loving and a real family person. From their initial meeting there is lots of sexual chemistry. This a steamy romance, predictable but an easy read. Perhaps a little bit too much computer gaming references for my liking. 3 ***
    more
  • Danielle
    May 17, 2017
    I didn't think I would like this book as much as I did. It was very different from other books I have read. For one the heroine Terri is a gamer. I mean like a full set up computer gamer and she is good. She works at a coffee shop where she constantly sees Mick. One day while serving coffee at his office she unintentionally finagles herself into a job. One that she previously applied for and was denied. This is not so good for Mick. The company has been going through some things and the last thi I didn't think I would like this book as much as I did. It was very different from other books I have read. For one the heroine Terri is a gamer. I mean like a full set up computer gamer and she is good. She works at a coffee shop where she constantly sees Mick. One day while serving coffee at his office she unintentionally finagles herself into a job. One that she previously applied for and was denied. This is not so good for Mick. The company has been going through some things and the last thing he needs it to be caught lusting after the newest employee. I really loved the push and pull between Terri and Mick. They were determined to keep things professional but late nights gaming and coming up with business strategies turn in to cuddles and kisses. I loved how Terri and Mick both had personal issues. It made them seem so more realistic. Terri needed this job to help with her brothers medical bills. Micks family business is a mess. He has issues with his parents and his brother who cant keep it in his pants. He is trying desperately to keep his business afloat. The steam between these two was off the charts. I'm one of those people where too much sex has me skimming but Jamie K Schmidt wrote some scenes that had me reading them again and again. Check my reviews. I rarely give out 5 stars. It was well deserved for this book and I would definitely recommend it.
    more
  • Jen
    June 16, 2017
    I enjoyed this book quite a bit. Sure, it was predictable, but I liked the nerdy aspects, the hot scenes and of course some of the added drama to give it color.Terri is working as a barista and doing other part time jobs to try and pay for her brother's ongoing medical bills. She left her corporate marketing job to take care of her brother and can't seem to catch a break and find a job that will allow her the flexibility she needs while also providing her with decent pay and health insurance. Ev I enjoyed this book quite a bit. Sure, it was predictable, but I liked the nerdy aspects, the hot scenes and of course some of the added drama to give it color.Terri is working as a barista and doing other part time jobs to try and pay for her brother's ongoing medical bills. She left her corporate marketing job to take care of her brother and can't seem to catch a break and find a job that will allow her the flexibility she needs while also providing her with decent pay and health insurance. Every morning at 8:57 a.m. though, Mick shows up to get a girly coffee drink. Mick's family owns a marketing firm that is having a tough go of things right now. His dad embezzled money from the company, his mother sleeps around with the help and is a lunatic and his brother sleeps around on his wife. Yeah, not exactly your perfect family. On top of all this, Mick is competing with his brother Simon for the CEO position and is trying to get majority shares of the company so that he can finally gain control over all the nonsense. He sees Terri every morning and of course thinks she's hot. But he's pretty arrogant and Terry hates that about him, but it secretly makes her hot. They end up sleeping together a couple times and it's definitely explosive between these two.She's helping setup and serve at a catered breakfast being held at Mick's firm when she chats up his client and impresses him so much that Mick offers her a job. This now means that their hooking up has to end since he refuses to mix business with pleasure.While Terri is working with Mick, they get together a few times to game and discuss marketing strategies related to the gaming company they are working for. There are a lot of gaming references in this book, but I didn't mind them and thought they were cute when their inner geeks showed. They eventually break down and the business/pleasure line gets crossed again, go figure. They get their HEA, but honestly, it was all fixed itself too quickly in the last chapter or two. We went from high drama to it all wrapped up in a nice bow with the snap of (Mick's) fingers. I was expecting more drama and conflict before we got to that point. I don't know if another book is planned, but I feel as though it wasn't all finalized the way I'd like to have a book end. Did they get married? How did things turn out for her brother? What happens to Mick's mom? I hate when there are a lot of unanswered questions, but regardless, the book was still a good read that keep me interested.Disclaimer: I received an ARC in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Mary Mooney
    July 17, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads, so here is my review.Terri Cooke is not living her dream. She was until both her parents died in an accident and now her brother has a disease that is taking his mobility away. So she had to quit her dream job to work part time jobs so she could take him to his appointment. While working at the local coffee shop, she gets the pleasure of waiting on mister high and mighty. He is a snob, doesn't talk and looks like a Greek Go I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads, so here is my review.Terri Cooke is not living her dream. She was until both her parents died in an accident and now her brother has a disease that is taking his mobility away. So she had to quit her dream job to work part time jobs so she could take him to his appointment. While working at the local coffee shop, she gets the pleasure of waiting on mister high and mighty. He is a snob, doesn't talk and looks like a Greek God. Terri doesn't know why her boss falls all over herself just to wait on him. He comes into the shop for his prissy coffee and just walks out.Mick Wentworth isn't thinking about anything except saving his families company. But it's not what you think, it is his own family trying to destroy what he loves. He does notice the barista behind the counter at the coffee shop but he doesn't have time for a relationship with her.When Mick has to get the coffee shop to cater a breakfast meeting for a new client, Terri is the one he has to set it up with. And he wants to impress the client and for Terri to impress him. What happens is that Terri impresses the client because she knows all about the computer game because she and her brother are players. She has some good ideas that the client thinks she is an employee at Wentworth Agency and Mick has to hire her or lose the client, which happens to be his biggest account.Can Mick keep his hands to his self while they finish the ad account? Will Terri be able to make the account happy and keep Mick interested in her?I really liked this story and hope there will be more even though this is a standalone, maybe one from Terri's brother, who knows. This is a first for me from this author and I look forward to reading more from her.
    more
  • Christine
    May 11, 2017
    2.5 uneven stars. This was a great example of when the sample is fantastic but the rest of the book fails to live up to those first pages. A great beginning with barista Terri and businessman Mick locked in a silent war of fierce sexual tension. Every day, Mick picks up his coffee order from Terri and the two engage in wordless eye-banging that escalates with each sighting. Terri and Mick are from two totally different worlds and should never have met: Mick is a high-flying marketing exec from a 2.5 uneven stars. This was a great example of when the sample is fantastic but the rest of the book fails to live up to those first pages. A great beginning with barista Terri and businessman Mick locked in a silent war of fierce sexual tension. Every day, Mick picks up his coffee order from Terri and the two engage in wordless eye-banging that escalates with each sighting. Terri and Mick are from two totally different worlds and should never have met: Mick is a high-flying marketing exec from a wealthy, pedigreed family while Terri is frantically juggling jobs to take care of her sick brother. Somehow, Mick and Terri's worlds collide and suddenly there's office sex, parents in jail, sibling rivalry, cyber sex, blackmail, medical emergencies, and Vegas. This should have been a recipe for an exciting, volatile drama, but I was mostly left cold by Mick. Terri is a firecracker - a sexually confident gamer girl with tremendous loyalty to her older brother Billy. But Mick comes across as a cocky, cold, self-absorbed and whiny - his Poor Rich Boy Who Got No Love from His Family shtick rings hollow. I also didn't buy his purported altruism for Billy, his secretary, or Elaine for a minute. The only thing Mick cares about is besting his parents and brother in order to keep his marketing agency. He treats Terri more like a booty call and his last-minute turn around to committed boyfriend felt fairly insincere. Pet peeve: it drives me a little batty when the cover doesn't match the story. What's with the cigar-smoking dude? 4 stars for Terri + 2 stars for Mick + bonus for Terri's brother Billy = 2.5 starsNote: I received an ARC in exchange for a honest review
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    July 25, 2017
    Stud was a really fun, sexy and surprisingly emotional novel. I loved Terri and Mick's sexual tension, banter and chemistry. The characters were likeable and even when Mick was being an insufferable jerk, I found him to be sexy as heck. I could not get enough of this book!Terri Cooke is at a low period in her life. Forced to put her life on hold to care for her brother with a debilitating disease, she is temporarily a barista at a high end coffee shop. The high (and low) point of her day though? Stud was a really fun, sexy and surprisingly emotional novel. I loved Terri and Mick's sexual tension, banter and chemistry. The characters were likeable and even when Mick was being an insufferable jerk, I found him to be sexy as heck. I could not get enough of this book!Terri Cooke is at a low period in her life. Forced to put her life on hold to care for her brother with a debilitating disease, she is temporarily a barista at a high end coffee shop. The high (and low) point of her day though? When Mick Wentworth, an arrogant and wealthy customer, comes in everyday. Their chemistry is sizzling and the attraction and tension between them sizzles off the page. I love that she doesn't know if she wants to smack or seduce this infuriating man. But will tensions explode when she gets a job at his company and they begin to work together?I really enjoyed this novel. I enjoyed the office romance and loved the high sexual tension. Mick and Terri both were dedicated to their families. All in all, this was fantastic. 4 stars! ~RatulaI would like to thank Netgalley and Random House Publishing - Loveswept for an advanced copy of this book for an honest review.
    more
Write a review