Trickery (Curse of the Gods #1)
Willa Knight: Dweller. Slave. Non-magical being. In Minatsol, being a dweller means that you are literally no better than dirt. In fact, dirt might actually be more useful than Willa. Her life will be one of servitude to the sols, the magic-blessed beings who could one day be chosen to become gods. At least her outer village is far removed from the cities of the sols, and she won’t ever be forced to present herself to them... Until one small mistake changes everything, and Willa is awarded a position to serve at Blesswood, the top sol academy in the world—a position that she definitely did not earn. Under the sudden, watchful eye of the gods, she will be tasked to serve the Abcurse brothers, five sols built of arrogance, perfection and power. They are almost gods themselves, and under their service she is either going to end up sentenced to death, or else they are going to ruin her so badly that she will wish for it. Either way, she is in trouble. This is a full novel, 90,000 words. Book 1 of 5 in the Curse of the Gods Series

Trickery (Curse of the Gods #1) Details

TitleTrickery (Curse of the Gods #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 28th, 2017
Number of pages298 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Magic

Trickery (Curse of the Gods #1) Review

  • Jilly
    March 11, 2017
    This book is hilarious. At first I almost DNFed because it seemed like the main girl was so stupid that I didn't think I could take it. But, I have seen how much everyone loved it and decided to give it a chance. I'm so glad I did.Yes, the heroine is clumsy. She's a walking disaster area who is a danger to herself and anyone around her. Actually, "walking disaster" is inaccurate because she never makes it more than a few feet without tripping, running into something, or falling down stairs. "How This book is hilarious. At first I almost DNFed because it seemed like the main girl was so stupid that I didn't think I could take it. But, I have seen how much everyone loved it and decided to give it a chance. I'm so glad I did.Yes, the heroine is clumsy. She's a walking disaster area who is a danger to herself and anyone around her. Actually, "walking disaster" is inaccurate because she never makes it more than a few feet without tripping, running into something, or falling down stairs. "How the hell have you stayed alive this long?" he asked.I shrugged, trying to catch my breath. "No idea, it's been a rough road." Willa gets chosen to serve the gods-in-training at some special god-school. These semi-gods have powers and are hoping to be chosen to live in their own version of Mount Olympus someday. Willa is such a nightmare - everyone around her has a tendency to get hurt or bald - that her town actually celebrates when she leaves.Upon her arrival at the school, she draws the attention of five brother not-gods who are known for 'breaking' their servants. They start a bet over who can get her a death sentence the fastest. Luckily, Willa DOES have a brain in her body because she enters this bet and because of this, her and the brothers end up friends. Cuz, who doesn't like someone who is willing to take a death sentence on a bet? Personally, I can understand this a little. My family is willing to take jokes too far. I think that there have been plenty of times when we would have been sentenced to death for offending rooms full of people if that was a thing. I'm remembering a certain 9/11 joke I told that didn't go over too well. That was an uncomfortable Christmas.And muttering, "too soon?" afterwards never seems to help..Anyway. The brothers are awesome! They have no respect, are super hilarious, and dangerous in every way. Willa ends up becoming their little pet. And, all I could say was, "Way to go, Willa!" If I had to be someone's pet, these brothers would be my top pick as owners. I really want her to end up with all five of these guys. Is that wrong?Well, maybe not such a great idea after allI would highly recommend this book if you need to be cheered up and want some silly fun. There were fights, blood, and other serious elements, but the best part was the humor.
    more
  • Elise ✘ a.k.a Ryder's Pet ✘
    March 7, 2017
    Wow, I actually liked this book. A lot. Willa Knight (18) and the Abcurses; Coen, Rome, Siret, Yael and Aros were awesome. The book actually reminded me of Demons at Deadnight by A.E. Kirk with Aurora and the Hex boys, just a bit more...mature? I adore the lightness, the funniness and hilariousness, the jokes and the mystery the book got going on. Some things in life were a given. It was a given that the sols were the bridge between the dwellers and the gods. I love all the Abcurses equally, Wow, I actually liked this book. A lot. Willa Knight (18) and the Abcurses; Coen, Rome, Siret, Yael and Aros were awesome. The book actually reminded me of Demons at Deadnight by A.E. Kirk with Aurora and the Hex boys, just a bit more...mature? I adore the lightness, the funniness and hilariousness, the jokes and the mystery the book got going on. Some things in life were a given. It was a given that the sols were the bridge between the dwellers and the gods. I love all the Abcurses equally, which is a shock because I always, always choose just one that I love more than the others, but not here. They were all great. I did like Willa, a lot, though sometimes her clumsiness became a bit too much, but in the end it all worked. I'm extremely excited to see where this series is going, so I hope we get book two soon, and fast! Dwellers would always be worthless to the world, and I would always be worthless to the worthless. WHAT I LIKED:✓ → The boys.✓ → The funniness.✓ → The lightness.✓ → The story.✓ → The friendships.✓ → The easiness.✓ → Did I mention the boys? WHAT I DIDN'T LIKED:✗ → The clumsiness; became a bit too much.✗ → The idiocy.✗ → Willa acting dumb at times.Quick basic facts:Genre: - (YA? NA?) Paranormal Romance (Mythology?)Series: - Series, Book OneLove triangle? - (view spoiler)[No, not yet at least. The boys made a pact. (hide spoiler)]Cheating? - (view spoiler)[No. (hide spoiler)]HEA? - (view spoiler)[Yes, for now (hide spoiler)]Favorite character? - Aros, I think - no Rome. No, I mean, Coen. Shit, I don't know. All of the Abcurses?Would I read more by this author/or of series? - Yes.Would I recommend this book/series? - Yes.Will I read this again in the future? - Yes.Rating - 4 stars.
    more
  • Cheski Rose
    January 12, 2017
    Oh my Gods. (And yes I mean Gods, not God) ;) The Basics: Genre: High Fantasy Reverse-HaremStandalone/series: Series. Book #1 Rating: 4.75 stars. Okay, so this books about Willa, who I've totally decided, is basically my spirit animal. (The amount she falls over and makes an ass of herself really leaves no question.) Willa is hilarious. I laughed out loud, pretty much most of the time I was reading the book. (My boyfriend now thinks I'm nuts.) The book is set in this really cool fantasy set up, Oh my Gods. (And yes I mean Gods, not God) ;) The Basics: Genre: High Fantasy Reverse-HaremStandalone/series: Series. Book #1 Rating: 4.75 stars. Okay, so this books about Willa, who I've totally decided, is basically my spirit animal. (The amount she falls over and makes an ass of herself really leaves no question.) Willa is hilarious. I laughed out loud, pretty much most of the time I was reading the book. (My boyfriend now thinks I'm nuts.) The book is set in this really cool fantasy set up, I don't really want to explain it too much and give it all away, but I really enjoyed the world building. I'm totally calling the five guys for my book-boyfriend-Harem. (Current capacity, too high to count. book slut ) What I liked about this book - Willa- The Guys- The world building - The humour and tone of the book. - The way Jaymin and Jane write flawlessly together. I couldn't tell who'd written what. - The freaking Jefferys. Quotes: "Dwellers would always be worthless to the world, and I would always be worthless to the worthless""Don't sleep with a knife in the bed for safety?" Can I have the next one now please?
    more
  • Tink Magoo is bad at reviews
    March 4, 2017
    I loved absolutely everything about this book.The world building, the dweller/sol/gods set up, all 5 brothers, clumsy sassy Willa, the flirting, the group dynamic, the humor - just everything. And I cannot wait for the next one (especially if that 'pact' they have going on crumbles).
    more
  • Talltree
    March 15, 2017
    A fantasy RH with great worldbuilding. It seemed a mish-mash of other fantasy books including Spearwood Academy and even Hogwarts. The h and her friend along with other good students are simple village dwellers and are all chosen to serve the "sol" class in Blesswood Academy who compete to entertain and become Gods. For in this land the Gods are active and visit. Its a dream come true for the dwellers, only when they actually come to "Hogwarts" aka Blesswood Academy turns out they're the house-e A fantasy RH with great worldbuilding. It seemed a mish-mash of other fantasy books including Spearwood Academy and even Hogwarts. The h and her friend along with other good students are simple village dwellers and are all chosen to serve the "sol" class in Blesswood Academy who compete to entertain and become Gods. For in this land the Gods are active and visit. Its a dream come true for the dwellers, only when they actually come to "Hogwarts" aka Blesswood Academy turns out they're the house-elves and all the "sols" are like wizards only they're all from Slytherin house:/ The H's are cruel and thoughtless and treat the dwellers like dirt, until they find a use for the h. When she doesn't die performing their task(she could easily have!) they keep her around and slowly they all get attached.I'm not a fan of such worldbuilding where one class of people are slaves to be used and abused by the other. The H's (and others) were thoughtless and physically hurt the h and she was self-deprecating and took it in a "just my luck" way. She was all bark and no bite. However she was fun, incorrigible and she was a bit Charlie Chaplin-esque in her clumsiness. Her friendship with Em was lovely to see and in general she was unpredictable and it was interesting being in her head. The Gods reminded me of Olympians - bored, cruel and far from admirable. I'm interested to see where the plot goes next and if the h were the next Chaos Beta, it would be really apt! 4.25 stars!
    more
  • Rhea_sways
    March 19, 2017
    FIRST OF ALL: I WANT THE NEXT BOOK!! Second of all: I am a hypocrite!!1. Let me explain, I am always going off about the MC's needing to be well rounded. But I forgave the MC's for their assholeness.. 2. I always complaining that there is no strength in the plot points. But I forgave the book for no substantial visible plot line 3. I just LOVED each and every one of those boys!! I am just in LOVE. 4. I hoped to god that less clothing of the male population would be involved and more action FIRST OF ALL: I WANT THE NEXT BOOK!! Second of all: I am a hypocrite!!1. Let me explain, I am always going off about the MC's needing to be well rounded. But I forgave the MC's for their assholeness.. 2. I always complaining that there is no strength in the plot points. But I forgave the book for no substantial visible plot line 3. I just LOVED each and every one of those boys!! I am just in LOVE. 4. I hoped to god that less clothing of the male population would be involved and more action in the bed would be involved!4. I always rant about needing a strong female character who can hold her own against the men. BUT that's a giant BUT I forgave the h for being a over the top bumbling and falling idiot. 5. I forgave EVERYTHING! I just hope I am forgiven for I want more and withstanding all its faults I have given this book 5 stars OH lord above forgive me for I have fallen victim to my ovaries. For never have I not had a favourite, for I have always loved one more than the others.
    more
  • Melissa (Ever So Mela)
    March 27, 2017
    Reverse Harems... That moment when my good taste (at least in my opinion) in books takes a nose dive for worst.You can't take my word for this. I mean, honestly, I have no rating criteria other than raging fangirliness. That's it. That's as far as my intellectual (HA!) brain will take it.
    more
  • Saya ☽ Queen Of The Night
    January 12, 2017
    OH MY GODSSSSSS, THIS BOOK WAS GLORIOUS! I mean I loved every single thing about this book, especially the Abcurse brothers *swoons*I honestly can't pick between these godly brothers, and ihopetheyallenduptogether yus, i definitely did say that, because they all are individually amaze-balls but together, holy hell, it's like...... a dream turned reality Now, lemme talk about Willa-the clumsy af-badass dweller-who's tethered to these brothers. This girl had me laughing 24/7. I mean she was absolu OH MY GODSSSSSS, THIS BOOK WAS GLORIOUS! I mean I loved every single thing about this book, especially the Abcurse brothers *swoons*I honestly can't pick between these godly brothers, and ihopetheyallenduptogether yus, i definitely did say that, because they all are individually amaze-balls but together, holy hell, it's like...... a dream turned reality Now, lemme talk about Willa-the clumsy af-badass dweller-who's tethered to these brothers. This girl had me laughing 24/7. I mean she was absolutely refreshing, and I enjoyed all her crazy af antics. “What the hell are you?” I hissed, before I could think of a more sensitive way to ask the question.“I am a server,” the thing replied. My name is Jeffrey.” I blinked, my eyes moving to Jeffrey’s strange covering. “No offence, Jeffrey, but I’m pretty sure you’re a chick.”“A chick?” Jeffrey cocked her head to the side, blinking that waxy gaze. “I am sorry, Sacred One, I do not understand.”She was lighthearted, funny as hell, clumsy to the point of death, believe it or not considerate and thoughtful, badass in her own way, and she truly cares for the Abcurses.I loved the dialogue between Willa and the Abcurse brothers, it literally had me eating up the pages. They all literally said the craziest shit. “We’re here to kill her,” Siret reminded me, his voice a frustrated groan.“Don’t see why we can’t kill her politely,” I muttered back. “And … I mean … don’t really see why we have to kill her at all.”The Abcurses are fascinated by Willa, and they all genuinely enjoy each others company. I admired how Willa stood up for herself and others at times. She never backed down and always was challenging the fine lines. Even when those fine lines, had her nudity on the line, lmao!I wish this book had more pages because I couldn't get enough, and I'm dying to see how things play out in the next book. Hopefully we can get more than 90,000 words for the next one? please?
    more
  • Alexus
    February 9, 2017
    I won an ARC for this story through the live event a couple weeks ago. It wasn’t required for me to give a review, but I just finished it (after binge-reading for hours), and I just… I have to review it. You guys don’t wanna miss out on this one, I promise.The story starts off right in the midst of things. We’re in the mind of a girl named Willa who’s got a knack for a lot of things, namely being clumsy and wreaking havoc. Willa is a dweller, which means she’s pretty much worthless, destined to I won an ARC for this story through the live event a couple weeks ago. It wasn’t required for me to give a review, but I just finished it (after binge-reading for hours), and I just… I have to review it. You guys don’t wanna miss out on this one, I promise.The story starts off right in the midst of things. We’re in the mind of a girl named Willa who’s got a knack for a lot of things, namely being clumsy and wreaking havoc. Willa is a dweller, which means she’s pretty much worthless, destined to live an unexciting life in her village. Since she’s so accident-prone, she’s considered worthless to the other dwellers in her village, too, other than her bestie who is more like a sister to her. You’d think this would affect our MC, but it doesn’t. She’s not changing, no matter what others think of her, and I think that’s what really drew me in.The story kicks in at chapter two, when she arrives at Blesswood Academy, but I wasn’t bored for a single second before it. It’s just that kind of story. It sucks you right in. Good luck getting things done while reading this; it’s going to constantly be in your head, eating at you until you can return and read more.The guys were great, never a dull moment. They’re as full of life as our lovable MC, and they constantly kept me on the edge of my seat. I think my favorites, though it is incredibly hard to pick, are Siret, Yael, and Aros. Of course, I do love Rome and Coen, too—boy, do I—but… something about those three had me blushing constantly. Yes, please. Jaymin Eve and Jane Washington collaborated brilliantly, and I was blown away by the greatness of not only the guys, but by the world-building, the plot, the clever wording and overall writing style, and even those cute little heart images at the start of each chapter.Trickery rocketed sky high into my favorites list within the first chapter, but settled at the top spot by the end of it. Seriously, give it a go. It’s a book I’ll be coming back to reread in the future, for sure.TL;DR: Do you like strong female leads? Do you like hot brothers? Do you like reverse-harem? If you answered yes to all three, you will love it. Honestly, even if your answers weren’t all yes (why they wouldn’t be is beyond me), you’ll probably still love it.
    more
  • Wanheda (Commander of Death)
    March 2, 2017
    “His eyes sucked. He had sucky eyes, and so did his brother.”Possiamo tutti inciderci nella testa la regola base che il troppo storpia? In tutti i sensi? Perché se nelle prime 50 pagine il fatto che Willa non riesca a restare in piedi per più di due secondi è anche divertente alla lunga il fatto che questa non riesce neppure ad alzarsi dal letto senza sfracellarsi al suolo è solo irritante e una continua fonte di roteamento di occhi.La protagonista continuava a non riuscire a fare due passi di s “His eyes sucked. He had sucky eyes, and so did his brother.”Possiamo tutti inciderci nella testa la regola base che il troppo storpia? In tutti i sensi? Perché se nelle prime 50 pagine il fatto che Willa non riesca a restare in piedi per più di due secondi è anche divertente alla lunga il fatto che questa non riesce neppure ad alzarsi dal letto senza sfracellarsi al suolo è solo irritante e una continua fonte di roteamento di occhi.La protagonista continuava a non riuscire a fare due passi di seguito ed ioPossiamo anche essere tutti d’accordo che non è normale per una persona schiantarsi a terra ogni tre per due e inciampare continuamente nei suoi stessi piedi? Sopratutto perché questa sua totale incapacità motoria è solo una scusa stupida per farla sballottare di qua e di là da quei 5 energumeni. Esatto, la protagonista passa il 70% di questo libro tra le braccia di uno dei fratelli, a turno. E questi 5 passano il 70% del loro tempo a lanciarsela tra loro, letteralmente, neanche fossero ad una partita di dodgeball e lei fosse la palla, o alternativamente, a rimetterla in piedi “prendendola da sotto le ascelle”. Il 90% delle loro interazioni si svolge con lei che sviene, perché quello è l’unico motivo logico per cui una persona normale cade a peso morto come lei, uno dei 5 che la rimette in piedi, o la prende in braccio o se la carica in spalla, o le mette una mano alternativamente sulla schiena, su una spalla, al collo.Lei poi si avvinghia a loro come un koala però a lei mica fanno sangue, eh!Quei 5 sono un altro paio di maniche visto che non c’è alcun momento in cui noi capiamo perché questi la trovino così interessante. Il primo incontro tra lei e due dei fratelli è quando lei arriva alla scuola ed uno di loro le scaglia una freccia con una balestra, punto. Si rivolgono a malapena la parola e loro non sanno che lei verrà assegnata a pulire le loro stanze, ma all’incontro successivo loro già la placcano e si comportano con lei in modo diverso. Senza contare il fatto che questi le stanno letteralmente appiccicati da subito, non solo dopo l’incidente a Topia, da subito. E quando dico appiccicati non è un eufemismo per dire che le stanno molto vicini, no, le stanno letteralmente appiccicati, la toccano in continuazione, la baciano, poi la strattonano, poi la ritoccano, poi la rimettono in piedi perché lei è un impedita e cade in continuazione, poi invadono il suo spazio personale, il tutto senza, di nuovo, che ci sia stato quel momento scatenante per cui loro hanno iniziato a trovarla interessante. Vogliamo parlare della citazione scelta? Non c’è molto da dire se non che il restante 30% del suo tempo Willa lo passa a sbavare dietro quei 5, A TUTTI E 5, con un continuo descrivere i loro corpi, enormi, ma proprio enormi eh, tipo… enormi, i loro occhi, i loro capelli, tutto. Poi, ovviamente, c'è il momento di extra-realismo dove questa svantaggiata confessa di essere penetrata di nascosto, da sola, di notte, negli uffici della scuola ed essersi alzata i voti scolastici così da diventare la seconda migliore studentessa della scuola. Lei. Lei che non riesce neppure a respirare senza crollare a terra incimpando nell'aria. Lei che non ha la minima cordinazione visivo-motoria. Lei che non sa che esiste un legame tra un comando del cervello e susseguente movimento di un arto. Lei.Ciò, poi, mi collega al momento WTF che è ormai un must have delle mie recensioni ed è esattamente il momento in cui vengono annunciati i nomi dei due MIGLIORI studenti della scuola che verranno mandati a Blesswood per fare da schiavi ai sol. Capito? E la cosa che fà dire WTF è il fatto che lei si sorprende, che rimane scioccata da questa cosa, come se un paragrafo prima non avesse dichiarato di essere stata proprio lei ad alzare i suoi voti. Cosa pensavi che sarebbe successo quando ti sei alzata i voti? Perché non ti sei limitata ad essere la terza? Che poi lo sapevi che la cerimonia avrebbe scelto i primi due studenti, quindi? Momento WTF. Perché lei è proprio una cogliona.Niente è riuscito a salvare questo libro, niente. Non l'humor, che se all'inizio era anche apprezzabile poi probabilmente Willa le è caduta sopra seppellendolo definitivamente, ne la storia che, lo avrete capito, non c'è. La storia di questo libro non inizia mai.
    more
  • Jemimah Zafoune
    February 28, 2017
    Trickery was absolutely amazing! I loved it and right from the very first sentence it drew me in. I'm mahoosive fans of both Jaymin Eve and Jane Washington so when I heard they were writing a book together, and in the reverse harem genre which is one of my new favourites, well I was jumping for joy and just could not wait to read it. As soon as I could get my grabby little hands on this book, well I devoured it in one sitting and I'm about to read it all over again once I've written this review. Trickery was absolutely amazing! I loved it and right from the very first sentence it drew me in. I'm mahoosive fans of both Jaymin Eve and Jane Washington so when I heard they were writing a book together, and in the reverse harem genre which is one of my new favourites, well I was jumping for joy and just could not wait to read it. As soon as I could get my grabby little hands on this book, well I devoured it in one sitting and I'm about to read it all over again once I've written this review. Willa, our main female character is a dweller, which means she is of the lowest class in her world and is there to serve the Sols, those who are so close to the God's, they may one day actually become a God. Willa is an accident prone and some may say cursed dweller, and she had some laugh out loud moments. At some points Jane & Jaymin had me clutching my belly from laughing so hard that it actually hurt! Willa has a great friend that she's grown up with, Emmy. I loved her as a character and she brings something extra to the story which is needed. One thing about both Jaymin Eve and Jane Washington's writing is that all their characters have a reason for being in their books, they're never one dimensional, so bringing both of them together to wrote a book, well it doesn't disappoint and all the characters in this book make a big impression. Well now I need to talk about the five Sol brothers, a pair of twins and triplets. From our very first introduction of them we're shown they are arrogant, difficult and, well incredibly good looking. Poor Willa gets assigned the rather difficult job of looking after them, after a rather funny mis understanding. I love that Willa doesn't exactly stand up to them, but does not obediently follow them either like the rest of the dwellers do with any Sols. I also love that she is scared of them and is not afraid to show that but she doesn't let that fear control her. Of the five Abcurse brothers, Yael, Rome, Coen, Siret and Aros, well I started off not really liking them. But by the end of the book I'd fallen so in love with all five of them that I don't have a favourite. They're all different and I like them for different reasons. I can't wait to see what happens next with all five of them and Willa and the adventures, and mishaps they'll get into next. This book gets the full five stars from me, it was funny, exciting has a great, female lead that I felt I could relate too and not just one super hot male lead but five super hot, burn your fingers off yummy men. I can't wait to read what Jane & Jaymin will bring us next.
    more
  • Me_LissaH
    March 26, 2017
    I did not want this story to end this book just drew me in form the beginning and I did not want to put it down. Willa was an amazing character, she was loveable, funny and I love her clumsiness. Coen, Rome, Siret, Yael and Aros were amazing. I loved the friendship the guys have with Willa but I hope Willa ends up with all of them. Overall this was a great read can’t wait for book two.
    more
  • Cecilia Richards
    February 10, 2017
    Willa Knight is a dweller, a slave. A non-magic being. In Minatsol, deweller means that are no better then dirt, actually dirt might be more useful than a dweller. Two people from her village are to be chosen to serve the sols, the magic beings who could be chosen to become gods. Willa makes ones tiny mistake which changes everything. Awarded a position to serve at Blesswood, top sol academy in the world - which also happens to be a position she did not deserve. Her task at Blesswood? to serve t Willa Knight is a dweller, a slave. A non-magic being. In Minatsol, deweller means that are no better then dirt, actually dirt might be more useful than a dweller. Two people from her village are to be chosen to serve the sols, the magic beings who could be chosen to become gods. Willa makes ones tiny mistake which changes everything. Awarded a position to serve at Blesswood, top sol academy in the world - which also happens to be a position she did not deserve. Her task at Blesswood? to serve the Abcurse bothers, five sols built of arrogance, perfection and power. They could be gods themselves. Willa is going to end up sentenced to death, or they are going to ruin her so badly that she will wish for it serving them. No matter what, clumsy, cursed Willa is in trouble.Okay, okay first I have to talk about that dedication! It really is the essence of Jane and Jaymin. I spent a good couple of minutes chuckling over that one - no joke! It was pure awesome sauce! I could not stop laugh at the antic Willa got up to despite Emmy trying her best. And nothing really needs to be said about the Abcurse brothers, they speak for themselves really. But guys, there are FIVE OF THEM!!! Five irritating, arrogant, powerful and perfect sols. And when I tell you this just believe me and listen, get the fan ready! Jane and Jaymin did and absolutely wonder and amazing job on Trickery and I really couldn't leave it, staying up late reading until my kindle died.'"What are you laughing at?" Siret slowed until he was beside me, that mixture of curiosity and annoyance back in his eyes.'Nothing Five," I replied on another panting laugh. I almost tripped again. Talking, running, and laughing was even less advisable."Five?" Yael called over his shoulder. "What the hell is she talking about?"Nothing, Four!" I yelled-panted.This time, I did trip, but I swung out a hand in natural reaction, catching a fist-full of Siret's shirt. He started to go down with me, but then he managed to catch us both, his arm quickly wrapping around my back."She's ranking us?"
    more
  • Raven_Blake
    March 3, 2017
    Same Review Also Posted In My Blog: Dreamy AddictionsREVERSE HAREM ALERT!Firstly, I loved the beautiful cover of this book and violet is one of my favorite colors. secondly, it’s a reverse harem genre so I knew nothing’s going to keep me away from this book. I was so excited when I first read the premise of this book and If you don’t know I’m total sucker for reverse harem genre. It’s very rare to find a good book with reverse harem and while reading Trickery I really felt like I was reading a R Same Review Also Posted In My Blog: Dreamy AddictionsREVERSE HAREM ALERT!Firstly, I loved the beautiful cover of this book and violet is one of my favorite colors. secondly, it’s a reverse harem genre so I knew nothing’s going to keep me away from this book. I was so excited when I first read the premise of this book and If you don’t know I’m total sucker for reverse harem genre. It’s very rare to find a good book with reverse harem and while reading Trickery I really felt like I was reading a RH manga. This book is so much fun to read especially with a hilariously clumsy character as a female protagonist. Although I loved this book, I have to be honest that the story lacked a bit. Nonetheless, it was entertaining through out and I liked the whole setting, interesting characters and the unique concept.The story is set in a fictional place called Minatsol, a world of dwellers and sols. The dwellers are a non magical race that are treated as slaves. The Sols are the dominant race with magical powers where some of them are trained to become gods. Each year, two dwellers from each village are selected to serve the sols at the blesswood academy, the top sol academy in the world. Eighteen year old Willa is a cursed child and embarrassment of her village because of her clumsy curse that causes disaster wherever she goes. Because of her mistake, Willa and her best friend Emma is selected to serve the sols in blesswood academy. Willa gets pretty shocked when she hears her name because she never thought that she would get selected. When Willa and her friend finally arrives at the academy she gets the attention of the Abcurse brothers, five arrogant sols who loves to tease Willa and treats her like their new personal plaything. After she was officially tasked with serving the abcurse brothers, she needs to survive them without getting herself killed.Willa Knight is a funny female character that I’ve never read before. She’s hilarious, ultra clumsy, awkward and a little bit weird. Her clumsiness might seem ridiculous and annoying sometimes but her silly antics never failed to put a smile on my face and I slowly grew to like her. The only thing that bothered me though was how fast she’s changed from hating the brothers to liking them. Coming to the abcurse brothers, I loved every one of them. All the brothers possess unique personalities individually that make them differ from each other. Aros aka Golden Aros is a sweet, handsome and flirty sol whose power is seduction. Rome also known as strength looks like a giant crusher and has a strong protective streak towards Willa. Siret is gifted with power of trickery and he always loves to tease Willa about her clumsiness and he calls her Rocks. Yael is persuasion gifted who has a huge competitive streak and he helped Willa a few times to get her out of trouble. Last but not the least, we have Coen, the pain gifted sol who can cause pain easily on anybody. He’s pretty interesting character among all the brothers and I would love to know more about him. All in all, the Abcurse brothers are kind of arrogant and rebellious sols who don’t give a f*ck about the Gods and their rules. I also enjoyed the friendship between Willa and Emma and I wish the author has focused more on their relationship too.The plot is pretty good but honestly, I felt it was little bit lacking in some parts. However, I found myself enjoying this a lot and eventually I ended up loving it. There are some surprising twists in the second half that I didn’t see coming. The pacing is good and I was hooked to the story right from the very start and devoured it in two sittings. The whole story was told from Willa’s POV and I loved the witty writing style of this book. I’m already familiar with Jamin Eve’s books but haven’t read any books from Jane Washington so I really need to check out her books. They’ve both done a great job in writing this story because despite the flaws, I can’t help but enjoy it. The world was simply amazing! I really liked the world of Minatsol and also the magical system that resembled greek mythology. There’s also a glimpse of Topia, the world of gods and I would love to explore more of this world.Overall, it was a great read filled with lots of humor! Though the book finally concluded with no cliffhangers, I’m quite excited for the next book.
    more
  • Lili
    March 11, 2017
    Almost DNF because the h is an idiot but kept with it & was pleasantly surprised. Interested to see how the author is going to resolve the "pact"...
  • Secretly Adorkable Readers
    February 14, 2017
    This is a five star NO Spoiler Review by Secretly Adorkable Readers of Trickery (Curse of the Gods) by Jane Washington & Jaymin Eve!The saying always goes that laughing is and will always be the best form of therapy. I just fell in love with all the characters and I want the next book now! The chosen dwellers Emmy & Willa were called to go on a journey to Blesswood for school of elite sols. They will become servants for the sol gods who live there. Emma is a very smart and sophisticated This is a five star NO Spoiler Review by Secretly Adorkable Readers of Trickery (Curse of the Gods) by Jane Washington & Jaymin Eve!The saying always goes that laughing is and will always be the best form of therapy. I just fell in love with all the characters and I want the next book now! The chosen dwellers Emmy & Willa were called to go on a journey to Blesswood for school of elite sols. They will become servants for the sol gods who live there. Emma is a very smart and sophisticated type person while Willa is an extremely awkward and let's say a very uncoordinated person. The best part is meeting the hot delectable Abcurse brothers, Coen, Rome, Aros, Yael, and Silet. Bring on the Pain, Strength, Seduction, Persuasion, & Trickery!I don't want to give much away but I know you will not be disappointed and if you a like a humorous type romance with a hot supernatural harem twist, this will be the book for you!
    more
  • Kimberly Johnson
    February 9, 2017
    Oh. My. LANTA!!I just can't even right now!! I literally don't have words only sound effects!! This is such a cool concept and I love the mythos of this world. I shouldn't be surprised as all of Jaymin's books are so incredible especially when she partners up with my favorite authors. Jane and Jaymin knock this out of the park. I love how seamless this book is between their two writing styles. I've read two of Jaymin's collaborations now with two different authors. I can definitely separate her Oh. My. LANTA!!I just can't even right now!! I literally don't have words only sound effects!! This is such a cool concept and I love the mythos of this world. I shouldn't be surprised as all of Jaymin's books are so incredible especially when she partners up with my favorite authors. Jane and Jaymin knock this out of the park. I love how seamless this book is between their two writing styles. I've read two of Jaymin's collaborations now with two different authors. I can definitely separate her flavor of writing from others. I've also read all the books of the authors she's collaborated with. I have to say this one seems so I don't know seamless. I love this character set and dynamic! I laughed so hard at Willa so many times. It reminds me about the first time I read First World and fell in love with Abby's humor. It was so reminiscent of the writing she had in that series it made me so happy. I love how this book writes the character building and world creation as it's so much but doesn't seem like that the way it's portrayed. I also love the reverse harem nature and the natural way they (Jane and Jaymin) create the bond between each boy as that's so important. Here's where I feel Jane as I am a huge Seraph fan. Her character dynamics are beyond human and sometimes I think she's a magical creature created to bring me happiness in the form of books. Let's say a unicorn
    more
  • Anna
    February 28, 2017
    I started smiling from the first page and didn't stop till the very last.In this world there a Gods, who everyone are trying to please.Then there are Sols, who are basically like 'gifted' humans with special abilities and have a chance at one day becoming gods. And then there are dwellers, who's sole purpose in life (and after it, it seems ) is to serve sols. They are just ordinary humans with no powers and everyone treats them as slaves or dogs. Willa is a dweller, with her own personal 'curse' I started smiling from the first page and didn't stop till the very last.In this world there a Gods, who everyone are trying to please.Then there are Sols, who are basically like 'gifted' humans with special abilities and have a chance at one day becoming gods. And then there are dwellers, who's sole purpose in life (and after it, it seems ) is to serve sols. They are just ordinary humans with no powers and everyone treats them as slaves or dogs. Willa is a dweller, with her own personal 'curse'. If there is even a chance of something bad happening, it will happen to Willa. She's a trouble magnet. In order to be allowed to graduate school, Willa broke into the records office and made herself a star pupil. Only she didn't expect it to result In her being chosen as one of two dwellers from the village that will go to Blesswood to serve the sols there. And of course there was a mix up and she was registered as Will - a boy and assigned to a boys dorm. And naturally the first day there she drew the attention of five most annoying and arrogant sols - the Abcurses brothers, who are feared by the whole school. What could possibly go wrong? It was such a light and easy read. I loved the characters and the plot. The dialogue was great and I really enjoyed the dynamic between Willa and the Abcurses. Everything that Willa did and said and gotten herself into was hilarious. I liked the way she looked at things, it was really refreshing. And she didn't annoy me once, which is a huge plus. I only wish it didn't end so soon and so abruptly.Can't wait for the second book.
    more
  • Cindy Woodruff
    February 10, 2017
    By Gods, this book was ah-mazing (can you imagine that in some weird gospel sing song voice? Because that's how I say it in my head)!!Jaymin and Jane are Author Soul Mates, matched in Author Heaven, and this is their resulting Book Baby offspring of amazing-ness. The writing, the build, everything was on point and flawless. You just couldn't tell who wrote what, it wasn't obvious and flowed seamlessly. This book is hands down the funniest book I have ever read. Go ahead, I will bet you money rig By Gods, this book was ah-mazing (can you imagine that in some weird gospel sing song voice? Because that's how I say it in my head)!!Jaymin and Jane are Author Soul Mates, matched in Author Heaven, and this is their resulting Book Baby offspring of amazing-ness. The writing, the build, everything was on point and flawless. You just couldn't tell who wrote what, it wasn't obvious and flowed seamlessly. This book is hands down the funniest book I have ever read. Go ahead, I will bet you money right now you cannot read this book without busting out laughing it least once. Willa is just like the most perfect leading lady with a wit and sense of humor matching my own. And being clumsy? Forget it, my sister makes fun of me all the time for tripping on air.So apart from extremely witty, Willa is also strong, brave, and although she doesn't love many she loves fiercely. The guys for our story our brothers, one set of twins and one set of triplets. They each have a 'God' gift. Together they are Seduction, Pain, Strength (although I think they call him both Strength and Crusher), Persuasion and Trickery. I'm trying to rack my brain as to why this book was titled Trickery, so I wonder, are there going to be 5 books with each one being titled with one of the guys gifts? Don't ask me why this is bothering me so much, it just is, I really gotta know. So our girl Willa is what we call a 'Dweller'. Because of some b.s., Dwellers are considered less than, living in the dirt, mockery of living beings, closer to cattle than anything else. They are slaves to the higher beings, the 'Sols'. The Sols have special talents or gifts, like the above listed but also elemental gifts like fire etc. . The Dwellers live to serve the Sols, and if you are a lucky chosen Dweller you get to go to the center of the Rings, to the academy and serve all the self righteous higher than though Sols. This is how Willa meets our boys! I don't want to spoil the story, so I will leave it at that, but just know this book is a MUST read! I'm so excited to read the next one! Can it come out yet?!
    more
  • Truc Pham
    March 13, 2017
    I kept drawing comparisons to Jane Washington's other series ''Seraph Black''. Am I the only one who found the pact scene in this book eerily reminiscent to the one in the other series?
  • Amaal
    March 9, 2017
    Okay this book botherred me.First of all, why is she always naked? Like its so continuous and Willa will act as if she is totally not always naked...but she is. And I don't understand how they all find it so normal.Second, why does it feel like Willa is headed towards being in a polygamous relationship with all the brothers? She has some weird connection with each one of them so its confusing as to who she is gonna end up with or even if she is going to end up with anyone.Third, I know she isn't Okay this book botherred me.First of all, why is she always naked? Like its so continuous and Willa will act as if she is totally not always naked...but she is. And I don't understand how they all find it so normal.Second, why does it feel like Willa is headed towards being in a polygamous relationship with all the brothers? She has some weird connection with each one of them so its confusing as to who she is gonna end up with or even if she is going to end up with anyone.Third, I know she isn't handicapped. She knows it and the boys know it, yet they all still continuously pick her up like she is five and its annoying. Willa seems to be all confident and all about independence and stuff but she just lets the Abcurses treat her like a pet, and I'm done with it.I told everyone I liked this book but I think I had randomly felt it was a good day to lie.
    more
  • Alexia
    February 28, 2017
    Wow...just..wow!I have just finished reading Trickery a few hours ago and I am already trying to find something similar to read in the meantime until the next book is published to prevent going crazy waiting. But that's just mission impossible! This was one of the fastest reading that I've done and I am so sorry for that now! I should have slowed down...savor it more, but I just couldn't stop! And now it's ended :((Jaymin, if you reading this please know that every time I finish one of your book Wow...just..wow!I have just finished reading Trickery a few hours ago and I am already trying to find something similar to read in the meantime until the next book is published to prevent going crazy waiting. But that's just mission impossible! This was one of the fastest reading that I've done and I am so sorry for that now! I should have slowed down...savor it more, but I just couldn't stop! And now it's ended :((Jaymin, if you reading this please know that every time I finish one of your books I thank the stars (or in this case the Gods :)) that you were born! You have a really amazing gift in creating stories that captivate me and just plain brighten my life, helping me evade the stress work (and sometimes life in general) creates. I pray every day for you to be blessed with even more writing speed, just so you don't have to have me on your conscience when I go crazy waiting for the next book! :P Thaking in consideration that I am NOT a religious person, this is saying a lot.For those of you that are undecided if you should read this book: It is so worth it! Worst case scenario? You will start tearing your hair out when you finish it because you don't have the next one to start on imediatly!Thank you Jaymin and Jane for your amazing work!
    more
  • Kbrazell
    March 6, 2017
    Judge me but I really enjoyed this book. It was funny, our heroine had the sarcastic wit I love, and there were cute boys. Basically what Elise ✘ a.k.a Ryder's Pet ✘t said is how I feel about this book. Vey excited to read the next installment! (view spoiler)[ By the way, is it just me or is Willa totallllyyyy the sol of Chaos?? (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Ceri English
    February 21, 2017
    I was given an ARC of this book, in exchange for a fair and honest review. First and foremost I would like to start with the dweller Willa the main protagonist. The poor girl has a clumsy curse, with bad luck. She has had it her whole life. She somehow always manages to trip,slip,stumble,tumble,flop, fall down, fall in, fall up and fall under, pretty much in any capacity. She causes disasters where ever she goes, very accident prone not just to herself but to others also (queue comedic moments.) I was given an ARC of this book, in exchange for a fair and honest review. First and foremost I would like to start with the dweller Willa the main protagonist. The poor girl has a clumsy curse, with bad luck. She has had it her whole life. She somehow always manages to trip,slip,stumble,tumble,flop, fall down, fall in, fall up and fall under, pretty much in any capacity. She causes disasters where ever she goes, very accident prone not just to herself but to others also (queue comedic moments.) If something bad was to happen, it will no doubt happen to dear old Willa however this does not stop her living her life as she can adapt fast to any situation. She is a very unique character and unlike many I have read before. Down on her luck she meets the five handsome, arrogant and charming Sol Abcurse brothers who equally intrigue and frustrate her. This is where her story truly begins.The world in which the author's have created is imaginative and interesting, colourful but dark, It makes the reader feel like they are in this world, that they are in fact segregated into 2 class off people (Sols and Dwellers.) Where the powers given from the gods is the most important thing to have and if you do not have it you are nothing but a slave or worse dirt to those who do. If you want to read a book that is clever, brilliant, descriptive and so hilarious that will have you laughing at every chapter and yet has serious components which leave you on the edge of your seat, then this is the book for you. I can not rate this enough, roll on book 2!
    more
  • Kai
    March 3, 2017
    Quick reviewThe 5 brothers were awesome. You'd think think with so many that it would be hard to keep them straight but the character development for these guys was wonderful. I'd hang out with them any day of the week.This storyline was relatively unique and kept me interested. What kept me from making 4 stars twinkle:Willa's quirkiness and clumsiness alternated from entertaining to slightly annoying quite a bit. Some of the incidents were overkill. The world building felt lacking. I got the ge Quick reviewThe 5 brothers were awesome. You'd think think with so many that it would be hard to keep them straight but the character development for these guys was wonderful. I'd hang out with them any day of the week.This storyline was relatively unique and kept me interested. What kept me from making 4 stars twinkle:Willa's quirkiness and clumsiness alternated from entertaining to slightly annoying quite a bit. Some of the incidents were overkill. The world building felt lacking. I got the general idea and feel for the places but a lot was left to the imagination. I do look forward to reading the next book
    more
  • Jennifer G
    February 10, 2017
    "I voluntarily reviewed an advance copy of this book. All opinions expressed are my own."Set in a world where everyone's role is set at birth; God, Sol, Dweller; Willa is an original. She may be classified as the lowest of dwellers, but they can't contain her. She's a pure mess, stumbling through life, wreaking havoc during every waking hour. The book begins with her village preparing to select two of their best to represent the village at Blesswood Academy where dwellers are sent annually to se "I voluntarily reviewed an advance copy of this book. All opinions expressed are my own."Set in a world where everyone's role is set at birth; God, Sol, Dweller; Willa is an original. She may be classified as the lowest of dwellers, but they can't contain her. She's a pure mess, stumbling through life, wreaking havoc during every waking hour. The book begins with her village preparing to select two of their best to represent the village at Blesswood Academy where dwellers are sent annually to serve the Sol. Willa and her best friend/sister are chosen and their lives are now on a new course. Of course, Willa's life doesn't magically change. She's still a mess, only now she's around powerful people. She quickly catches the attention of the Abcurse brothers, Siret, Yael, Aros, Rome, and Coen or Trickery, Persuasion, Seduction, Strength, and Pain. The brothers have secrets of their own, but quickly they become the most important people in the world to Willa. Jane is one of my favorite writers in the world. I'm openly obsessed with her books. She creates fantastic worlds and compelling stories filled with exceptional, stalk-worthy characters. I'm now embarrassed to say that this is the first book I have read of Jaymin's, although that will change. I wasn't sure how the collaboration would work, but the writing was seamless. These two meshed their styles together cleverly. I couldn't tell who wrote what. They did an excellent job creating fully developed characters. Each brother has a distinct way with Willa and with each other. Great dynamics. The side characters are all nicely developed and add additional layers. This story was entertaining, well-written, laugh out loud funny, and full of sexual tension. Any book with a lead female who has a "penchant for nudity", falls on her ass or face as many times as Willa does, and carries on hysterical conversations in her head constantly even though her thoughts can be read is truly brilliant! Willa's rambling, her thought process (the Jeffrey's), and overall originality makes her one of the best female leads ever. Throw in 5 hot brothers to surround her and a bit of mystery, and now I have a new obsession. J & J, how soon can I get the next book??
    more
  • Suzana Thompson
    February 17, 2017
    You wouldn't know by the description how fun this book is. It sounds so menacing and ominous, but Willa makes it funny and harebrained. It's like putting a young Goldie Hawn into the role of a clumsy servant girl to the gods. I wasn't sure about Willa at first. I thought that she might be too over the top clumsy and silly to be relatable, but she quickly grew on me. I also discovered that there is a method to the madness. I won't reveal what I suspect is the reason Willa is always stumbling into You wouldn't know by the description how fun this book is. It sounds so menacing and ominous, but Willa makes it funny and harebrained. It's like putting a young Goldie Hawn into the role of a clumsy servant girl to the gods. I wasn't sure about Willa at first. I thought that she might be too over the top clumsy and silly to be relatable, but she quickly grew on me. I also discovered that there is a method to the madness. I won't reveal what I suspect is the reason Willa is always stumbling into trouble, because it would be a spoiler if I'm right about it.At first, I was able to immediately tell which chapter Jane Washington had written, but I lost track as the story continued. The authors were able to seamlessly meld their styles into one engaging story. The pacing was consistent throughout, and so were the personalities of the characters. Willa made me laugh, but she also turned out to be an unexpectedly strong character. I loved how she rescued herself by using her wits and her tenacity.The Abcurse brothers have an interesting mix of supernatural abilities. They seem to be equals, and I don't yet have a favorite. It's just really fun to read about Willa interacting with them and becoming part of their group. Another thing I love is that plain English is spoken in this story. There are a few words sprinkled in that are different than the ones we use, but not enough to make it confusing. Still, the authors created their own unique world. I am ready to delve further into it and follow these characters on their next adventure.
    more
  • Sarah
    February 26, 2017
    Trickery was another great story from the mastermind of Jaymin Eve and this time Jane Washington. The main character, Willa, along with her best friend, Emmy are starting off at Blesswood Academy. Willa is a clumsy, but not afraid to speak her mind, "dweller". I think what I liked best about her character is that she truly does not care what others think about her. She understands that she's a little different, but she's ok with that. At Blesswood, the dwellers for a lack of a better phrase are Trickery was another great story from the mastermind of Jaymin Eve and this time Jane Washington. The main character, Willa, along with her best friend, Emmy are starting off at Blesswood Academy. Willa is a clumsy, but not afraid to speak her mind, "dweller". I think what I liked best about her character is that she truly does not care what others think about her. She understands that she's a little different, but she's ok with that. At Blesswood, the dwellers for a lack of a better phrase are 2nd class citizens. The 1st class are the sols. There are 5 sol brothers, the Abcurses, that are the "alphas" of Blesswood, with their own secret agenda. Willa is quickly taken under the Abcurses' wings. One of my favorite passage in this book is "They were my kindred souls. The rebels. The rule-breakers. The guys who gave the middle finger to the gods, the same way I had, my whole life. They were the friends I had been born to find, and I wasn't going to let my annoying feelings push them away". Oh and did I mention there are gods too!?! Just couldn't get enough of this book and I can't want to see what Jaymin and Jane cook up next.
    more
  • Taylor
    February 27, 2017
    Holy mother of gods! I feel like I awaited forever for the release of trickery, and last night it finally was downloaded to my kindle. I do not regret that I was reading until 5am to finish this book. So starting at the plot; holy shit it was amazing. The story starts out with introducing us to dwellers and their place in society, specifically the two chosen Dwellers who will serve the Sol. Willa (the main female main character) gets chosen by accident to serve, alongside best friend Emmy. Willa Holy mother of gods! I feel like I awaited forever for the release of trickery, and last night it finally was downloaded to my kindle. I do not regret that I was reading until 5am to finish this book. So starting at the plot; holy shit it was amazing. The story starts out with introducing us to dwellers and their place in society, specifically the two chosen Dwellers who will serve the Sol. Willa (the main female main character) gets chosen by accident to serve, alongside best friend Emmy. Willa's life is surrounded by a series of unfortunate and badly times accidents, which is how she catches the eyes of 5 brothers who like to make trouble. Life only becomes more interesting for Willa, the more time she spends with the Abcurse brothers, the more it becomes obvious that she is not like every other dweller. Between interference by Gods, finding out the mystery of the brothers, and finding out where she belongs, the plot is amazing. As the first book in the series, it sets it up beautifully for the rest of the series. Willa as the main character was so likeable. She was hilarious, kind hearted, had inner strength and was a great person to read about. I loved her relationship with the Abcurse brothers, and I loved that Jane and Jaymin had no problems adding in a romantic feelings with all the brothers. Her close relationship with Emmy was beautiful, and strong no matter the circumstances.My theory for who Willa is (view spoiler)[ That Willa is Chaos's beta or something similar to that effect. I think this because she has been followed by chaotic events her whole life, she's not anything like the other dwellers and she wasn't killed by the curse. (hide spoiler)] I'm so excited to see what her character develops into. The Abcurse brothers are amazing, both individually and as a unit. Aros was so sweet, his connection with Willa was really nice, it was also probably one of the more romantic relationships. I can't wait to see more of his powers because he didn't show much of his powers. Rome was the stoic brother, he did have a strong protective streak which reared its head when Willa needed him or when one of the brothers was getting more handsy with Willa. Siren seemed to be the more level headed brother, but the way he cared for Willa was so sweet and genuine at some points, I'd love to see more of his gifts and see what he can really do. Coen seemed to be the more tortured of the siblings at times, and he was quite intense, but I loved every single scene with him in it. Yael was interesting, he had a really interesting gift that came in handy a lot during this book. Not unsurprising due to Willa's bad luck, but it was so interesting to see it at work. He was another brother that I can't wait to see develop. The writing was flawless and I couldn't even tell the difference between Jane and Jaymins chapters. I loved every second of this book, I cannot wait for Persuasian and to see where all this goes.
    more
  • Jasmine
    February 10, 2017
    Okay can I just start out by saying that I fricking love this book? I've been reading a lot of boring or below-average books and then here comes Trickery, and suddenly, my faith in books has been restored. I stayed up until 2am reading it, then woke up at 9am the next morning just so I could read it again. So it goes without saying that this book is amazing.So we have our MC Willa who is clumsy to the point where it's not even slightly believable, but all too amusing at the same time. Her whole Okay can I just start out by saying that I fricking love this book? I've been reading a lot of boring or below-average books and then here comes Trickery, and suddenly, my faith in books has been restored. I stayed up until 2am reading it, then woke up at 9am the next morning just so I could read it again. So it goes without saying that this book is amazing.So we have our MC Willa who is clumsy to the point where it's not even slightly believable, but all too amusing at the same time. Her whole character revolves around her chaotic, clumsy antics (view spoiler)[ I'm thinking that she's actually Rau's Chaos Beta? I mean, it makes sense (hide spoiler)]. Willa is pretty ridiculous but she had me laughing out loud more than a few times. So yeah, she's great and all...but I kinda want to talk about Aros instead. I mean the Abcurse brothers. The collection of five extremely hot guys in this book.I mean these guys... *fans self*Hot damn they're perfect. (Especially Aros.) They all have their own set of abilities and are literally otherworldly hot. I loved how their relationships with Willa developed throughout the book. I mean, the book revolves around one girl and five hot guys, why wouldn't I love it?But anyway.I'm kind of all over the place here. I know it would probably be nice if I could talk about the plot of the book, but I only really wanna talk about the Abcurse brothers. I mean, can you blame me? If the authors didn't want me babbling about them, they wouldn't have written them to be so amazing.But I suppose it wouldn't hurt to actually say something worthwhile.I love that the book isn't just centered around the hotness of the male characters to the point where its plot and world-building falls flat. Because that's all too familiar in a lot of YA books. This book does mostly center around introducing the characters and building up their relationships and watching them evolve, but it also has enough conflict and excitement to keep you interested. I'm a fan of the world-building as well-- it's not confusing or rushed. It's straightforward and easy to understand without being too simplistic. They don't have to explicitly express everything (like minutes, hours, days, and months being called clicks, rotations, sun-cycles and moon-cycles), yet it's easy enough to figure out. It's also pretty obvious that Jane Washington had her hand in writing this-- there are a lot of similarities between this book and the Seraph Black series.(view spoiler)[ - Willa is bonded to 5 hot guys who happen to be brothers; Seraph is bonded to 4 brothers.-Willa can't be far away from her guys without feeling pain; Seraph would strain if she was separated from her guys for too long.-Willa feels some sort of physical attraction to her guys, as did Seraph.- The Abcurse brothers make a pact in which no one tries anything romantic with Willa; The guys in the Seraph Black series did the same (hide spoiler)]So the relationship between the guys and Willa is extremely similar to Seraph's relationship with her Pairs. I mean I'm not complaining-- I love the Seraph Black series as well as the guys in it (mostly Silas-- don't get me started on him, I will swoon for days). But the similarities are a bit surprising to me.So if you loved the Seraph Black series, you'll probably like this. Hell, if you didn't like the Seraph Black series (what's wrong with you, have you no soul) you'll still probably like this, so there's no harm done. Just more guys to swoon over, and when is that ever a bad thing?But anyway, I really enjoyed this book and pretty much everything about it (mostly Aros.) There were a couple things that I didn't like so much (Willa's relationship with her mom is extremely underdeveloped, as is her friendship with Emmy because while we know they're best friends, we don't see much interaction) but those issues are very miniscule compared to everything I liked about it. Aros being a big part, and upon my rereading, Coen also became my favorite. But Aros was my first love so he comes first. Not that anyone really cares. I should probably end my review here.But I think it would be great if I could have the next book now. Just saying.
    more
Write a review