Out of the Ashes (Maji, #1)
For Nova, a twenty-three-year-old survivalist, wandering a barren wasteland was a lonely existence. But her day-to-day life was about to drastically change forever. Gone were the days when her only worries were rabid animals, augmented humans, the unforgiving scorching sun, and rogue watchmen. Now, Nova found herself faced with a new threat, and he was tall, grey, and horribly stubborn. For Kol, a two-hundred-year-old daredevil, sailing the never-ending waves of deep space was a vast and thrilling life to lead. He had one objective on Earth—rescue as many human females as possible and return them to his home planet. It was supposed to be simple, but no one told Kol that a human female’s tongue could slice a male like a blade. His charge was short, strikingly attractive, and she talked way too much. Nova wasn’t going to be kidnapped without putting up a fight, but Kol was more than ready to go toe to toe with her. These two species set out on a collision course that would redefine the phrase "The Big Bang" forever.

Out of the Ashes (Maji, #1) Details

TitleOut of the Ashes (Maji, #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherL.A. Casey
Rating
GenreRomance, Science Fiction, Aliens, Fantasy, Paranormal

Out of the Ashes (Maji, #1) Review

  • L.A. Casey
    January 17, 2017
    NOW LIVE!Title: Out of the AshesSeries: MajiStandalone: Yes (Note: All books in the Maji series can be read as standalone novels)Genre: Science Fiction RomanceRelease Date: July 11th, 2017AVAILABLE NOW:AmazonAmazon UKAmazon CAAmazon AUIS AVAILABLE ON KINDLE UNLIMITED FOR THOSE WHO ARE SUBSCRIBED ;)
    more
  • Kate's Corner
    July 8, 2017
    4 It’s the Maji Way Stars.The Earth is dying. For the first time in existence humans are the endangered species. Our heroine Nova is totally kickarse she knows when she is in the wrong she has strong self-preservation which I loved and the author managed to balance her out well with dealing with what was going on being a strong and independent female and appealing to me as a reader. Nova’s sarcastic comments are placed well and infuse humour throughout the book. Nova had a hard life on earth liv 4 It’s the Maji Way Stars.The Earth is dying. For the first time in existence humans are the endangered species. Our heroine Nova is totally kickarse she knows when she is in the wrong she has strong self-preservation which I loved and the author managed to balance her out well with dealing with what was going on being a strong and independent female and appealing to me as a reader. Nova’s sarcastic comments are placed well and infuse humour throughout the book. Nova had a hard life on earth living in barren lands, being by herself and never being able to trust anyone for fear of being killed or worse sold into slavery.The shipmaster Kol meet the tiny human female while out scouting no one knew why the Maji came only that they did. From the first moment, he sees the tiny human he feels a connection. But they also need her.“Are you sure we’re compatible?” he asked Surkah without looking away from me. “She is very small.” What the fuck does that mean?Kol lied by omission a lot of by omission But I also got why he did it there is also such a lack of communication which was really funny in places. “Kol,” Mikoh said firmly, ignoring me completely. “Remember what we said? Offspring steps for the human females so we don’t scare them with their transition the Maji way.”Trust is broken but it is also a learning curve for everyone. Nova thought that the one person she could trust was Surkah and turns out she couldn’t. But she was only following orders.For all the technology that they have they still seem to be quite barbaric they love to fight with one another. The oldest brother Ezah is a little big shit stirrer. Although I would really like him to find his fated mate. He deserves it and I understood where he was coming from.In the end, the world that has been created by the author of augmented humans, of original humans and of aliens is bloody brilliant. That we in the end with our greed and thirst for power killed our own planet is no surprise. Where another World War augmented against originals.I really enjoyed this book it was tough going to begin with as I personally had to push past the first 12 % of the book. The narration of the world and how it had changed felt somewhat tedious. For all of you who are screaming world building at me believe me I get it. But if you are like me then tough it out because it is worth it.There are a lot of books out there with the same premise, an alien race is mainly male populated and need females to continue their race. Human females are compatible and they are taken with their consent to live. Two thousand seven hundred females were saved. Looking for their intended. Don’t think that there will be that many books though. What most don’t know the world that they inhabit is about to explode. This book has a strong emphasis on the survival of the fittest. Now with some sci-fi romances the Heroes are quite human looking but here that isn’t the case and let me tell you something they are hawt. Fated mates so no cheating. Didn’t expect it to be any other way. No other woman drama. Praise the Lord Ms. Casey didn’t overuse the word snicker in this book which she did in her other books. So, I am one happy bunny.
    more
  • Julia's Book Haven
    July 12, 2017
    So I love L.A. Casey and I think like most readers when an author you love branches into a completely new genre it can be a little scary. So anyone who is also a fan and is unsure about reading this book, I just want to say, DO IT. All the awesome that is Casey's writing with the added awesome of hot aliens that are completely devoted to their females? Yes please! If you like scifi romances I highly recommend this one. I'm really looking forward to more in the series and more from this author! A So I love L.A. Casey and I think like most readers when an author you love branches into a completely new genre it can be a little scary. So anyone who is also a fan and is unsure about reading this book, I just want to say, DO IT. All the awesome that is Casey's writing with the added awesome of hot aliens that are completely devoted to their females? Yes please! If you like scifi romances I highly recommend this one. I'm really looking forward to more in the series and more from this author! Also pretty sure L.A. Casey has some serious hot brother fantasies lol but I love it <3
    more
  • CerysAnne
    January 18, 2017
    A NEW L.A. CASEY BOOK? *screams* AND A PARANORMAL ONE? *screams some more*
  • ✿kawehi.reviews
    July 13, 2017
    ☆ I received an ARC via the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!! ☆This book was enjoyable but not anything I haven't come across in a sci-fi/post-apocalyptic and romance novels. One thing I noticed like all of the other LA Casey reads was that the females were still all hellraisers and the males just have to take their bat sh*# craziness. I don't know about anyone else but oh hell naw I would not put up any one being mouthy or scrappy with me. I felt a little sorry to the males i ☆ I received an ARC via the author in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!! ☆This book was enjoyable but not anything I haven't come across in a sci-fi/post-apocalyptic and romance novels. One thing I noticed like all of the other LA Casey reads was that the females were still all hellraisers and the males just have to take their bat sh*# craziness. I don't know about anyone else but oh hell naw I would not put up any one being mouthy or scrappy with me. I felt a little sorry to the males in this read! lolThat all aside, I did find this novel a likable read with potential. I always do wonder if there is life outside of our solar system and what would happen if our planet became a wasteland and this was one take on it. Granted, it's a bit dramatic but hey it's a story and I did like it.Anyway, I am curious for the next book in this series so I will be bookmarking this series as one to keep watch on.
    more
  • BookSmacked
    July 8, 2017
    This was my first ever venture into the world of Sci Fi romance and you can be certain it won't be my last especially if there are more books to come in this series for sure. Nova is a young woman who has had to fend for herself in what I would maybe call apocalyptic Earth. She's rescued or kidnapped depending on whose perspective you look at by an Alien culture called Maji not sure if that is even the right term. Remember sci fi newbie here. Anyway the Maji have their alphas in fact all of them This was my first ever venture into the world of Sci Fi romance and you can be certain it won't be my last especially if there are more books to come in this series for sure. Nova is a young woman who has had to fend for herself in what I would maybe call apocalyptic Earth. She's rescued or kidnapped depending on whose perspective you look at by an Alien culture called Maji not sure if that is even the right term. Remember sci fi newbie here. Anyway the Maji have their alphas in fact all of them are alphas but their unwavering need to protect and treasure woman is swoon worthy. Nova has to come to terms not only with the impending destruction of Earth but the fact that she is now in the hands of strangers who are different in her in many ways but at the same time have some similarities. Nova she was a tough gal and definitely wasn't afraid to tell Kol at times where to go and how to get there. Kol was commanding and definitely showed why he is one of the leaders of his species. Together these two have almost a battle of wits that was completely entertaining. I definitely couldn't turn the pages fast enough to see if they would end up together and how the hell they would navigate the differences they had as well as the way they lived their lives which was so different. I was definitely pleasantly surprised that I enjoyed this book considering that it is my first sci fi read. Let me tell you though these characters definitely left an impression. I found myself laughing, smiling, and at times saying OH SHIT as I giggled to myself. There were also elements of angst in this book as Kol and Nova find themselves connected to each other. LA Casey also has some supporting characters in this that stand out as well. I am dying to get their stories, Sukrah and Mikoh especially.If you are fan of romance it really doesn't matter the sub genre this book is a definite recommend for me and if you haven't read a Sci Fi romance before then seriously this is a great book to start with.
    more
  • Briana
    July 12, 2017
    4 Stars~~Parts of the story are so ridiculous it's funny, and other things seem like something a guy would come up with. For example: (view spoiler)[If a female Maji, after turning 40 and becoming an adult, doesn't get some, it hurts. Really..?.. The males are happy to help, you know, so the females won't suffer. Poor horny females... So the males have a very active sex drive to keep the females satisfied and comfortable. How sweet of them... Of course, sharing furs, as they say, doesn't mean th 4 Stars~~Parts of the story are so ridiculous it's funny, and other things seem like something a guy would come up with. For example: (view spoiler)[If a female Maji, after turning 40 and becoming an adult, doesn't get some, it hurts. Really..?.. The males are happy to help, you know, so the females won't suffer. Poor horny females... So the males have a very active sex drive to keep the females satisfied and comfortable. How sweet of them... Of course, sharing furs, as they say, doesn't mean they are mated. He has to bite her neck and put his essence in her, or his love juice accidentally knocks her up so they then become mates. No single moms allowed... and when the female does get it on, the pain will ease, but doesn't go away unless she gets a bun in the oven. No bun, and she basically has something like a period. Hahaha, OK, sure... (hide spoiler)]Nova- Judgy, understandably so, but still rude at times. If you care to know more, here is more, with slightly spoiler-ish bits. Ditto for Kol's spoiler. (view spoiler)[She's like a little firecracker, the "little" part of that comment would piss her off. She is all about surviving, it's how life shaped her, and being taken care of by Kol takes getting used to. But the "what if" game she plays always gets on my nerves in any story. Overthinking and getting mad is unfair, so she isn't my favorite type of heroine. That and the fainting, puking, crying, temper tantrums, and flip-flopping. (hide spoiler)]Kol- Growls. A lot. (view spoiler)[Brawling is normal for their kind, so he fights with other males quite often. He tries to do right by Nova, but lies on top of lies has her running from him. He, like all Maji, is slightly sexist. Yet they are fiercely protective of females in general, and treasure their mates, whom they mate for life. So it's like a trade-off, the human way, or the Maji way, neither perfect, but clearly the Maji are the better option in this scenario. No fear of rape or murder. (hide spoiler)]Cheating? (view spoiler)[No. Of course not. Kol only has eyes for Nova, and once they are mated it's like sealing the deal with a no cheating guarantee. (hide spoiler)]HEA? (view spoiler)[Yes. Nova is pregnant with twins, a boy and a girl. (hide spoiler)]I've been waiting for the last brother in the Slater series, and when I saw a new series would come out by L.A. Casey, even though it's sci-fi, I figured why not? I had a good feeling that she would write some colorful characters, and of course, there would be the charming, occasionally infuriating, alpha males. Now I have another series from this author that I will patiently wait for. I don't know who will all get a story, Kol's brothers, cousin, and friends all seem like good choices. If all the stories focus on Human x Maji couples, I have my eyes set on two guys in particular.Thane, friend of Kol, says, "That is why I won't ever take a mate," And Nero, Kol's cousin, says, "I have no interest in a mate. My duty is to the Guard."Oh please let one of their stories be next, I love it when the stubborn ones end up eating their words when they find the one. There are just so many possible mates to be made. So, L.A. Casey has many options. Write each a story in this series, and I'll snag a copy every time~~
    more
  • MillsyLovesBooks
    July 11, 2017
    L.A. Casey took a leap into Sci-Fi Romance and what a leap she took. Out of the Ashes is book 1 in the Maji series and is a great start to kick us off into this new world.We are no longer alone in the universe and the human race is now an endangered species. Earth is on the brink of imploding and Nova our heroine is fighting for survival. She's alone and doesn't trust anyone. When she stumbles upon a space craft she panics and does what she always does she runs. But in doing so her path crosses L.A. Casey took a leap into Sci-Fi Romance and what a leap she took. Out of the Ashes is book 1 in the Maji series and is a great start to kick us off into this new world.We are no longer alone in the universe and the human race is now an endangered species. Earth is on the brink of imploding and Nova our heroine is fighting for survival. She's alone and doesn't trust anyone. When she stumbles upon a space craft she panics and does what she always does she runs. But in doing so her path crosses with the Maji!!The Maji have come to Earth on a scouting mission they wish to make a deal. They are also under threat and need help from the human race. Kol our hero he is the ships master but he's also of royal blood. When he first encounters this little human he can't help but feel drawn to her. When she is hurt from there encounter he decides to take her aboard his ship. But there is more to the reason of just being drawn to her. There are secrets and lies that Kol is scared to tell Nova.Right of the bat there is so much chemistry between Kol and Nova. Nova she was a tough cookie and was definitely not afraid to tell Kol where to go and how to get there. Kol was very much an Alpha male but he loved that his little human was brave and strong and stood her ground even if at times she infuriated him. All the characters within this read pulled me into this new world and left me more intrigued as to what was going to happen and whats to come. Nova's and Surkah's relationship was wonderful it melted my heart how these to became such close friends. I absolutely adored how the Maji treated women very swoon worthy. The story was intriguing on how the two world were so different but also so alike. I loved that even though this is a Sci-fi read L.A. Casey managed to incorporate humour into the read. And it worked so well with the angst that it left me thoroughly enjoying this book. And i can't wait to read more of L.A. Casey Sci-Fi world"Earth might have been no more, but out of the ashes, a new generation of Maji and humans would be born."
    more
  • Erin
    July 12, 2017
    While I had some issues with this story line, overall I couldn't put this book down!! I read late into the night when it release and even after I left the gym and should have been showing so I could get to work on time! If you like alien books then I would recommend this book. Nova is from Earth and has always had a rough life. Since pollution has destroyed the Earth and somehow caused the sun to die, humans have a limited time left. When Nova goes to the world base near her, she finds it aband While I had some issues with this story line, overall I couldn't put this book down!! I read late into the night when it release and even after I left the gym and should have been showing so I could get to work on time! If you like alien books then I would recommend this book. Nova is from Earth and has always had a rough life. Since pollution has destroyed the Earth and somehow caused the sun to die, humans have a limited time left. When Nova goes to the world base near her, she finds it abandoned except for the alien craft beside it and augmented humans (which are much like terminators and greatly feared). When she lays her eyes on the Maji, they literally take her breath away and she faints (could also be because she was injured in a fight with an aug). Next thing she knows she is waking up on a foreign ship surrounded by aliens. She fights/resist the aliens for about 40% of the book until it finally sinks in that Earth won't be a planet much longer and unless she wants to die, her only other option to live is to go with the Maji. Between the humans and Maji, culturally the gap is expansive so at times they misunderstand one another and some drama stems from that. I think some of the dominance could have been toned down and still conveyed the same point (sometimes bogged down the story but it's how Lee writes). I'm interested to see where Lee takes this story next and who will get the next book. Now that the story line has been set up she has a LOT of room to expand on it. Much like her sister told her after reading it I think she should make a Maji book her next top priority! ;) Greatly looking forward to more from this series!
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    July 11, 2017
    Out Of The Ashes was a great introduction to the amazing new Maji (sci-fi romance) series by L.A. Casey. It was filled with such a perfect combination of heat, sass and heart. I really loved Kol and Nova and could not get enough of their chemistry and passion!Picture this: Earth is a barren wasteland and humans are borderline extinct. Threats are everywhere and predators and foes are one and the same. It's kill or be killed and Nova, a survivalist, is used to fighting her battles and day to day Out Of The Ashes was a great introduction to the amazing new Maji (sci-fi romance) series by L.A. Casey. It was filled with such a perfect combination of heat, sass and heart. I really loved Kol and Nova and could not get enough of their chemistry and passion!Picture this: Earth is a barren wasteland and humans are borderline extinct. Threats are everywhere and predators and foes are one and the same. It's kill or be killed and Nova, a survivalist, is used to fighting her battles and day to day living. She is strong, brave and sassy af and gives no effs about fighting for her survival. But what happens when a whole new form of predator comes knocking on her door? Enter the Maji: Aliens from another planet who are rescuing Earthly females for their planet's personal gain. But is it beneficial to Nova and what does the shipmaster, Kol, really want with her? Can she ignore his intensity and their smoldering passion when her very existence may be in danger?I really loved this story! I thought it was a wonderful introduction to the story and the world building was great. I enjoyed Kol's devotion to Nova, the introduction to the other Maji on the ship and his royal family and friends. I look forward to reading more books in this series! Bravo! 4 stars! Ratula
    more
  • Fabienne
    July 14, 2017
    Likely the most annoying book I've ever read. Nova was just some whinny little girl who was constantly crying or running away without reason. The poor guy tried everything to help her adjust and feel loved. But she didn't get any of it.
  • Kendall {Book Crazy}
    July 10, 2017
    I've only read one other book from this author, and it was a contemporary book, so this book obviously being paranormal was going to be completely different and have a different feel to it! I was really excited when I first heard about this book because I love paranormal books and I knew that this book sort of focused on aliens, so it made me even more excited for it! I started my ARC as soon as I received it and I honestly couldn't put this book down until I had finished it! I read the first ha I've only read one other book from this author, and it was a contemporary book, so this book obviously being paranormal was going to be completely different and have a different feel to it! I was really excited when I first heard about this book because I love paranormal books and I knew that this book sort of focused on aliens, so it made me even more excited for it! I started my ARC as soon as I received it and I honestly couldn't put this book down until I had finished it! I read the first half in one sitting and then I wanted to keep reading, but I would have been up all night if I had lol! The plot developed at the perfect pace and I loved the paranormal, dystopian feel to it! It also had plenty of romance and some action and suspense in it, which I loved! There were some really, really hot scenes in the plot too and the sexual tension between the main character and her love interest leaked off the pages! I just loved the plot and it got better and better as it progressed! The characters were also amazing and made this book even better! Nova was the main character, and in this book she had been through a lot! My heart completely went out to her because she had lived through so much in her life and lost everyone she knew, but yet she kept going and she worked her backside off to survive the best she could! Nova's environment also completely changed in this book and I could understand why she was sometimes snarky or very defensive! Nova came a long way in this book though and she grew a lot as a character! I also loved how Nova stood up to her love interest and she didn't take any crap from him! Kol was the love interest of Nova! I loved Kol a lot in this book! There was something about him that intrigued me as soon as he was introduced and he never failed to impress me as the book progressed, even though he did say the wrong thing a few times! Kol was also seriously hot and very protective of Nova! I could completely understand why he was, as his kind adored their mates and cherished them! I also respected Kol a lot in this book as he didn't let people treat him like a prince and he wanted to be treated like everyone else! This book was only written from Nova's point of view, which surprised me a little because the synopsis made it sound like it was going to be written from dual point of view! It would have been amazing if it had been written from Kol's point of view too, so that I could get inside his head, but I did love this book only being written from Nova's point of view though! I also can't wait to read the next book in this series! I'm not sure if it's going to be about different characters, which is a big possibility lol, or continue Nova and Kol's story! I'll be reading it regardless and can't wait for it to release! I'm also going to check out this author's other books that I haven't read yet too! The cover for this book is amazing! It definitely drew me to the book and it made me want to read the story behind it! It suits the book perfectly too! Big thank you to L.A. Casey for an ARC of Out of the Ashes and to Love Affair With Fiction for having me on the Blog Tour!
    more
  • Kerry Fletcher
    July 11, 2017
    "I'll declare my dominance and force his submission by putting my foot up his ass!" - NovaBahahahahah now that's a sassy human!!! Glad to see that doesn't die in the future! Nova is all alone on earth. Losing all her family she walks alone. She is a survivor though and has learned to look after herself. She hears word that something is going on with aliens landing on earth. She goes to investigate and gets caught by watchmen who are judge jury and executioner in the future. She fears she is abou "I'll declare my dominance and force his submission by putting my foot up his ass!" - NovaBahahahahah now that's a sassy human!!! Glad to see that doesn't die in the future! Nova is all alone on earth. Losing all her family she walks alone. She is a survivor though and has learned to look after herself. She hears word that something is going on with aliens landing on earth. She goes to investigate and gets caught by watchmen who are judge jury and executioner in the future. She fears she is about the die when the aliens she's heard about intercept and kidnap her.Kol is the Shipmaster of the alien craft sent to earth on a mission. He admires the fight he see's in Nova when she is caught and decides to take her back to his planet to save her.Nova is determined to escape the aliens not knowing what they want. She knows they are hiding things from her but what she does not know. Meeting Kol he infuriates her but she is also intrigued by him. His odd appearance surprisingly draws her in and she doesn't know why when all she wants is her freedom.Well i have to say I'm highly disturbed and a little angry that LA has made me get all dreamy over a fuckin alien! I feel freaky! I mean come on purple eyes!!! Who the hell gets turned on my that? Feckin me apparently! lolI really really enjoyed this book. I mean i felt really smiley and stuff and well I'm a grumpy bag so it really shouldn't have! But i did. I found myself daydreaming of this future except i was Kol's mate! lmao WTF?? Bossy Alpha aliens who would do anything for their mate are now my thing! Nova is just a brilliant example of us human gals and i loved how her temper often spiked in some quite funny consequences. She didn't give a shit that they could kill her she wasn't going down without a fight and a cutting comment lol The scenes where she's learning about the Maji way also got a few chuckles from me, the running from the monster scene had me proper tittering.The chemistry between Kol and Nova was tangible and there were some pretty steamy love scenes which obviously brought on my daydreams! Yum?!?!?! (I'm so confused :/) lolThe supporting characters also drew me in. Kol's sister Surkah is just adorable and i loved the friendship that came from her and Nova. Kol also has many friends and family and i seriously want every single one of them to get a book. It's not often i read sci-fi tbh and I'm really glad i read this one. Superbly written and kept me gripped. Bring on more aliens!!! #MajiLover #PurpleGlowingEyesTurnMeOn5 "I'm dumping Earth for Ealra" StarsA is for Alpha B is for Books
    more
  • ThatTransylvanianChick
    July 9, 2017
    I can't remember ever reading a sci-fi romance novel, but since I like this author's style, I thought I'd give it a try. I'm not sorry at all.Imagine a future where every bad thing we're trying to prevent happens on Earth, with our planet. Think post-apocalyptic scenarios, where the human species is dying out, the Earth is about to die out for good and the aliens are no longer part of the unknown.The Maji are an alien race similar to the human one, and they want to save the humans. Better said, I can't remember ever reading a sci-fi romance novel, but since I like this author's style, I thought I'd give it a try. I'm not sorry at all.Imagine a future where every bad thing we're trying to prevent happens on Earth, with our planet. Think post-apocalyptic scenarios, where the human species is dying out, the Earth is about to die out for good and the aliens are no longer part of the unknown.The Maji are an alien race similar to the human one, and they want to save the humans. Better said, the women. Nova has been on her own ever since she's lost her family, so stumbling upon the Maji and being taken by them is a shock to her. I totally understand her behavior and her actions. I don't condemn her at all. I would do the same, react the same way. I'm pretty sure some will call her spoiled or irrational but just put yourself in her place, walk in her shoes. Especially when you know there's more to the story than you were told.I'm not going to say more, just that it was surprisingly good; it had a lot of feels, intense scenes, funny ones. Guess typical L.A. Casey things.I recommend this one and am going to read the others from the series. I voluntarily agreed to review an early copy of this book and am rating it 4.5 stars.
    more
  • Chandris
    July 10, 2017
    4.5 StarsNova has been on her own for a very long time. Living in the wasteland that the Earth has become, she has always done what she can to just simply survive. Hearing of some visitors whom she plans to see for herself, her curiosity ends up landing her in a tough position…Kol is the commander of a ship and crew whose mission to rescue human females just turned extremely interesting. Upon meeting Nova, she may be scared and confused, but she also refuses to be intimidated by Kol and his alph 4.5 StarsNova has been on her own for a very long time. Living in the wasteland that the Earth has become, she has always done what she can to just simply survive. Hearing of some visitors whom she plans to see for herself, her curiosity ends up landing her in a tough position…Kol is the commander of a ship and crew whose mission to rescue human females just turned extremely interesting. Upon meeting Nova, she may be scared and confused, but she also refuses to be intimidated by Kol and his alpha attitude… and he likes that… a lot.I really enjoyed this book! Nova is a strong, yet vulnerable character. I liked that she just didn’t accept what she was told, and she fought for what she thought was right. Kol was alpha-hot, sweet and so enthralled with Nova. In fact, I loved the entire Maji approach to females and their relationships… adorable.I am not a huge Sci-Fi reader, but the blurb and the fact that this book was written by L.A. Casey had me taking a chance with it. The imagery and attention to detail that we see with the different planets, technology and what has become of Earth is completely captivating.As the first book in a planned series, I am looking forward to what comes next for the Maji and their humans. This book was well written, interesting and a great read for any romance fans… don’t let the Sci-Fi label pigeonhole you… it is fantastic.I received a complimentary copy of this book for my honest and unbiased review.Check out the Blog!https://nightbirdnovels.wordpress.com...
    more
  • Kelly
    July 12, 2017
    Good start to a new series I love reading Sci Fi Romance, so when L.A. Casey announced her new release would be in this genre, I marked the date and impatiently waited for the book to become available. Like a lot of first books in a series within the Sci Fi category, the beginning starts with world building and background information so that the reader knows what's going on, the physical and language differences between the inhabitants from the different planets ( in this instance Humans and Maj Good start to a new series I love reading Sci Fi Romance, so when L.A. Casey announced her new release would be in this genre, I marked the date and impatiently waited for the book to become available. Like a lot of first books in a series within the Sci Fi category, the beginning starts with world building and background information so that the reader knows what's going on, the physical and language differences between the inhabitants from the different planets ( in this instance Humans and Maji ), pretty much what sets them apart from each other. Nova is self-reliant and strong in personality, having lost all of her family and having no-one to depend on. She survived by always being on the look-out, and running away when the situation was a threat to her. She meets Kol when the Maji land on earth to save females, as earth is dying and won't be in existence for much longer. Kol knows from the start that there is something special about Nova, he just has to convince her to trust him.This was a great start to a new series, especially with Sci Fi being a new direction in writing from this author.
    more
  • Ria - Reading Is Our Satisfaction
    July 12, 2017
    Brilliant and SciFi is not a fav of mine This is my first outing with L.A. Casey and it most certainly will not be my last. OUT OF THE ASHES is the first story in her MAJI Series, as with all the books that will follow, it can be read as a stand alsone. SciFi is not my favourite genre, but this would have to be one of the best that I have read. The author kept me interested with her wonderful characters, brilliant descriptions and a completely plausible and exceptional storyline.Nova and Kol ar Brilliant and SciFi is not a fav of mine This is my first outing with L.A. Casey and it most certainly will not be my last. OUT OF THE ASHES is the first story in her MAJI Series, as with all the books that will follow, it can be read as a stand alsone. SciFi is not my favourite genre, but this would have to be one of the best that I have read. The author kept me interested with her wonderful characters, brilliant descriptions and a completely plausible and exceptional storyline.Nova and Kol are simply scorching together. Nova is a wonderful female character, there is no fragility about her, and her fierce independant streak, just make me like her so much more. She has learnt that, in order to survive she must be prepared to look after herself, only. When she meets Kol, an alien, all this changes - she cannot run away from him. Kol is completely transfixed by Nova, but he cannot understand why she doesn't like him. He also doesn't understand why he feels the way he does about Nova - this is all new to him.This story was magnificent, and if the others in this series are just as good, I say to L.A. Casey - BRING 'EM ON!!!!!Read and Reviewed voluntarily for Reading Is Our SatisfactionFIVE STARS
    more
  • Book Loving Fairy-Blog
    July 10, 2017
    Star Rating: 5 starsHoly hell..I have never ever read science fiction for one but science fiction romance, I am sold!I was intrigued to read this book because well its LA Casey for one and two if she can get me to read a science fiction romance then I am game!Kol and Nova are fire!Nova is a strong and independent female and only knows to run when things get tough and scary, to survive she must run. Except she cant when her eyes land on a being not from earth.Kol is enamored by the female that he Star Rating: 5 starsHoly hell..I have never ever read science fiction for one but science fiction romance, I am sold!I was intrigued to read this book because well its LA Casey for one and two if she can get me to read a science fiction romance then I am game!Kol and Nova are fire!Nova is a strong and independent female and only knows to run when things get tough and scary, to survive she must run. Except she cant when her eyes land on a being not from earth.Kol is enamored by the female that he saved from earth except she doesn't like being in Maji presence and it irks him. Why is different? It feels different when she is near but he can never figure out why. What happens when two different species come together and could possibly save a race, epic things thats what! I can't wait for more in this series and I need to know more on certain characters that I met in this book. I have questions but I will patiently wait for the next books.Until the next one...
    more
  • Mariana
    July 14, 2017
    I usually like L.A. Casey's writing, but in this case: wtf? The number of times she repeated the words, "hummed" and "hmmmm" is ridiculous. Even the sex scenes were underwhelming. The amount of sexism excused as "but this makes me feel safe" or "but it is better then the Earth I knew" is too damn high. No, no, no missy!I just can't with this book. I really don't know how I finished reading this.The last great hurdle was so annoying". The "excuse" for it to happen was so idiotic I wanted to throw I usually like L.A. Casey's writing, but in this case: wtf? The number of times she repeated the words, "hummed" and "hmmmm" is ridiculous. Even the sex scenes were underwhelming. The amount of sexism excused as "but this makes me feel safe" or "but it is better then the Earth I knew" is too damn high. No, no, no missy!I just can't with this book. I really don't know how I finished reading this.The last great hurdle was so annoying". The "excuse" for it to happen was so idiotic I wanted to throw my Kindle out the window. The execution of said final problem was even worse. A two year old wouldn't fall for that crap. And the resolution of the problem.... aaaaargh. The entire book was bad, but the last third of it was a special case of bad. I'll will give another change for the next in the series, just because this is (supposedly) a scifi romance novel series. But if the second one doesn't blow my mind, that's it. I'll be done with this series, ffs.
    more
  • Renee Entress from Renee Entress's Blog
    July 16, 2017
    5 starI was pulled right into this story. Not the usual book I read but glad I tried it. Some alien books are hit or miss and this one was definingly a hit! The story has laughs, secrets, twists & turns, suspense, and heartbreak. Nova and Kol’s story. Nova is living a lonely life. But one day that is going to change. Kol is on a mission to rescue as many females from earth and take them to his planet. But his mission this time is a little feistier then he is used to. Both are stubborn and on 5 starI was pulled right into this story. Not the usual book I read but glad I tried it. Some alien books are hit or miss and this one was definingly a hit! The story has laughs, secrets, twists & turns, suspense, and heartbreak. Nova and Kol’s story. Nova is living a lonely life. But one day that is going to change. Kol is on a mission to rescue as many females from earth and take them to his planet. But his mission this time is a little feistier then he is used to. Both are stubborn and one is determined that no matter what she will not go willingly with him. Can he convince her without becoming involved? Or are they about to head into a head on collision that could change the views that they both have? I felt I could connect with the characters and the story was a great read. I highly recommend this book.
    more
  • Karina Pugh
    July 11, 2017
    WOW. I really enjoyed reading this. I loved the characters. Kol and Nova brought out the best in each other after a slightly bumpy start, but they compliment each other so well. Nova is fierce and somewhat innocent/naive with a protective wall around her heart, she has been alone for so long in a world that is dying that she never believed that a happy bright future could be possible, finding her soul mate in Kol slowly breaks down her walls to where she feel love that she hasn't felt since her WOW. I really enjoyed reading this. I loved the characters. Kol and Nova brought out the best in each other after a slightly bumpy start, but they compliment each other so well. Nova is fierce and somewhat innocent/naive with a protective wall around her heart, she has been alone for so long in a world that is dying that she never believed that a happy bright future could be possible, finding her soul mate in Kol slowly breaks down her walls to where she feel love that she hasn't felt since her father died. Kol is a strong alpha male who is so protective and sweet of Nova. I love how females are adored making the men soooo whipped, you can't help but fall a little in love with all the men and their caring and protective ways. I really enjoyed reading about their journey to happiness and can not wait for the next book in the series.
    more
  • Vera
    July 9, 2017
    Loved Out of the Ashes!Out of the Ashes is the first book in the Maji series by L.A. Casey.The Earth is dying and Nova, a twenty-three-year-old survivalist, walks it alone. She does everything she can to survive. But what she didn't expect was being kidnapped by the aliens that want to save the human race.Kol is a two hundred year old Maji, an alien. He's come to Earth to help save the human race and the Maji. What he didn't expect was meeting the fierce human female.Although Nova fights her c Loved Out of the Ashes!Out of the Ashes is the first book in the Maji series by L.A. Casey.The Earth is dying and Nova, a twenty-three-year-old survivalist, walks it alone. She does everything she can to survive. But what she didn't expect was being kidnapped by the aliens that want to save the human race.Kol is a two hundred year old Maji, an alien. He's come to Earth to help save the human race and the Maji. What he didn't expect was meeting the fierce human female.Although Nova fights her captures at every turn, she knows the Maji are her only salvation. And even though she's always clashing with Kol, she can't deny the attraction between them. But will she accept the Maji and their way?I was a little bit afraid of reading Out of the Ashes. I usually don't read books with aliens, but Out of the Ashes hooked me from the first page and I couldn't stop reading. The story is captivating and full of surprises. I laughed a lot with the banter between the characters and the suspense of what was going to happen and the secrets the Maji were keeping kept me on the edge. And the chemistry between Nova and Kol? Off the charts!I loved getting to know what happened to Earth and learning about the Maji, their ways, and their planet.Nova is a survivor and a fighter. She's been through a lot. She lost all her family and now wanders the dying Earth alone. Although she's very feisty and stubborn, she can also be very sweet and kind. At first, she doesn't accept being taken by the Maji, but soon realizes that if she stays on Earth, she'll die. At first, Nova fights her feelings and her attraction for Kol, but soon she decides to put her prejudices aside and try a relationship with him. I loved how she always stood up for herself.Kol is a warrior and the Shipmaster of the spacecraft that brings the Maji to Earth. His mission is to help save the human race by rescuing women and taking them to his planet. He's a total alpha. He's hot, protective, possessive, and stubborn. But the way he treats Nova? He made me swoon a lot. He's so sweet and gentle with her. He knows what he wants and he's not afraid to fight for it. L.A. Casey it the jackpot with Out of the Ashes! Her writing is flawless and her style makes it very easy to connect with the story and the characters. I believe this is the perfect beginning for an amazing series. I can't wait to read more about the Maji and the human females they saved.
    more
  • Amanda Koziczkowski
    July 10, 2017
    4☆Out of the Ashes is not something I would consider in my comfort zone. I really enjoy LA Casey so I was excited to give it a shot. I really enjoyed reading about Maji society and how much they look at things differently, especially relationships. I liked the first half more than the second. I loved the build up and the tension between Nova and Kol. It was a fun and sexy read and I enjoyed dipping my toe in the sci-fi romance pool!*I received an arc in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Nikki
    July 11, 2017
    Omg !! You have out done yourself with this book . It's simply amazing and I can't help feel that it should be on movie screens in the future . As soon as it's out on paperback I will be buying to put to my collection . I have been in a book funk for quite a while now but you have just given me the biggest boost with this book . Thank thank you thank you ❤ Omg !! You have out done yourself with this book . It's simply amazing and I can't help feel that it should be on movie screens in the future . As soon as it's out on paperback I will be buying to put to my collection . I have been in a book funk for quite a while now but you have just given me the biggest boost with this book . Thank thank you thank you ❤️
    more
  • Hayley
    July 11, 2017
    Just when you think LA couldn't get anymore awesome! She goes and writes this! I fucking loved it! I downloaded and devoured this beauty in a matter of hours I was that hooked! Loved Kol & Nova!! Can't wait for more! Awesome LA! fucking awesome!!
  • Zoe Beat
    July 11, 2017
    I have come to one conclusion and on conclusion only; Lee Casey is a bloody magician!! I have read every single one of her books to date and have loved every single one of them.I fell in love with her writing when i read Dominic and knew she was something else entirely when I read Until Harry but this is an amazing story that I just need more of! Cannot wait for Ezah's story which is next and honestly Casey has reached the status with me where I will read anything and everything that she writes! I have come to one conclusion and on conclusion only; Lee Casey is a bloody magician!! I have read every single one of her books to date and have loved every single one of them.I fell in love with her writing when i read Dominic and knew she was something else entirely when I read Until Harry but this is an amazing story that I just need more of! Cannot wait for Ezah's story which is next and honestly Casey has reached the status with me where I will read anything and everything that she writes! Until the next one -- Zoe
    more
  • Janine
    July 11, 2017
    Amazing This book was everything that I could have hoped for and more. Kol is the perfect alpha male. I cannot wait for more of this series and more from LA Casey. She is an amazing author and I cannot wait for future books.
  • Ariella
    July 18, 2017
    I loved this book. I need more Maji book. Nova is from earth but its dying. Maji people are at earth to save human women. Kol the prince and Nova are soul mates. I will read all L.A. Casey books.
  • Stacy Mcaskill
    July 12, 2017
    An amazing start to new serie I enjoyed all the characters we were introduced to.
  • Kristi
    July 12, 2017
    Nicely done aliens need mates romance! I put this one on my "would read again" list!
Write a review