Wendy of the Wallops (The Wallops, #2)
In the second cosy romance from The Wallops, there are worrying times ahead for community police officer Wendy Goodall. She is seconded by sexy Detective Inspector Diya Patel to work on a witness protection plan in the Wallops. Flushed with her new gayness, Wendy also has a mad crush on the adorable, yet reclusive Dr. Lea James. And could wily Girl Guide leader, Kiera Minsk be connected with the human traffickers working along the south coast?As if life wasn’t crazy enough, her twin brother Will announces that their birth mother wants to make contact!

Wendy of the Wallops (The Wallops, #2) Details

TitleWendy of the Wallops (The Wallops, #2)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 1st, 2017
PublisherYlva Publishing
Rating
GenreGlbt, Lesbian, Romance, Humor, Comedy, Mystery, Crime, European Literature, British Literature

Wendy of the Wallops (The Wallops, #2) Review

  • Lex Kent
    May 23, 2017
    3 1/2 Stars. This was a quick, funny read, that was better than Welcome to the Wallops, for me. Wendy, was a better main character, and Jane and Renata, better as supporting characters. I'm not totally keen on this series, but I will happily read anything McKnight writes.The book is about Wendy, who is a community police support officer. She is asked by another agency, to go undercover and keep an eye on a child, who may become a kidnapping target. Wendy must work with Kiera, without letting her 3 1/2 Stars. This was a quick, funny read, that was better than Welcome to the Wallops, for me. Wendy, was a better main character, and Jane and Renata, better as supporting characters. I'm not totally keen on this series, but I will happily read anything McKnight writes.The book is about Wendy, who is a community police support officer. She is asked by another agency, to go undercover and keep an eye on a child, who may become a kidnapping target. Wendy must work with Kiera, without letting her know what is going on. While there is an attraction, something about Kiera, does not add up. Can a relationship with Wendy and Kiera work out, or could Kiera not be what she seems?I found Wendy very endearing, and I was happy to dig into her more as a main character. I liked her work as PC Wendy in the community. I love cops in lesfic, and even though Wendy is not a full fledged police officer, she worked harder at her job than the other coppers. While this book is comedic, I was not always happy with how people treated Wendy. It's like they were always taking the piss out of her, or were even a little mean. It caused me to get my back up with some of the supporting characters, and I think I missed some of the comedy moments, because of that.My other complaint, I just did not care for Kiera. I found myself hoping someone else might show up as a romantic interest for Wendy. For me, Kiera was like on of those 6 year old's that pull on a girl's hair, because they like them. And besides a few make out scenes that were well written, I just did not feel any chemistry between them. I found myself reading this book for Wendy's undercover and PC assignments, not for the romance.I'm glad Wendy got her own book, and a HEA. Even with my complaints, this was absolutely better than book 1. You do not have to read book 1 first, but it does give you a good feel for who Wendy is. I think this is probably the end of the series. I didn't really see any other characters McKnight could expand the story on. Personally, I'm keep my fingers crossed McKnight goes with paranormal again. I need another book with the magic of Ambereye.An ARC was given to me by YLVA, for a honest review.
    more
  • Tiff
    May 14, 2017
    Wendy of the Wallops is the second edition to The Wallops series by the amazing Gill McKnight. I was absolutely delighted to find out the ever so klutzy Wendy was going to be the main focus of the book. I can absolutely tell you that Wendy of the Wallops did not disappoint.If you remember from the last book, Wendy had just come to terms with her sexuality. If you don’t it will be okay this one can easily be read as a standalone, but why on Earth would you want to do that. Wendy is an interesting Wendy of the Wallops is the second edition to The Wallops series by the amazing Gill McKnight. I was absolutely delighted to find out the ever so klutzy Wendy was going to be the main focus of the book. I can absolutely tell you that Wendy of the Wallops did not disappoint.If you remember from the last book, Wendy had just come to terms with her sexuality. If you don’t it will be okay this one can easily be read as a standalone, but why on Earth would you want to do that. Wendy is an interesting character. She is serious rule follower that is chock-full of insecurities but a good friend and steward to her community. She also tends to get herself tangled in wacky crazy predicaments. All of this makes for a dang good read full of laughs and zaniness. When we meet Wendy she has just been assigned to a new case. An informant who has turned on a nasty gang has just gone on the lamb. The London police think that he may be headed to see his daughter who has just moved to the Wallops. Wendy is in charge of keeping an eye on things in town and making a connection with his young daughter. To do so she must begin volunteering a leader for the Girl Guides. This runs in smack dab into the mischievous and sexy Kiera Minsk. Oh, let the chemistry just boil over. Kiera pushes all of Wendy’s buttons but she cannot keep her eyes off her. McKnight has given us one damn good book. I was thoroughly wrapped up in its awesomeness. A loved every minute and I truly hope to see these characters again. 4.5 stars.
    more
  • Agirlcandream
    May 24, 2017
    The brief moments Wendy appeared on page in Welcome to the Wallops were sweet, clumsy and endearing. Her interactions with Jane and Renata and her dogged determination to protect the Wallopians from themselves made this book a must-read for me. I was curious to see how she would handle her newly discovered attraction to lesbians. I had my doubts during the first half of this novel. PC Wendy bounced back and forth from wide-eyed innocence and infatuation with every woman who came into view to a s The brief moments Wendy appeared on page in Welcome to the Wallops were sweet, clumsy and endearing. Her interactions with Jane and Renata and her dogged determination to protect the Wallopians from themselves made this book a must-read for me. I was curious to see how she would handle her newly discovered attraction to lesbians. I had my doubts during the first half of this novel. PC Wendy bounced back and forth from wide-eyed innocence and infatuation with every woman who came into view to a sullen, frustrated and judgemental Debbie Downer. I recognize the new lesbian released-into-the-wild side of Wendy was inserted purely for gags and comic relief but it felt over done and fed into the depressed and lonely Wendy who never seemed to understand she was the butt of everyone’s jokes. This level of naivete didn’t jibe with the efficient police officer who was respected or at least tolerated by her coworkers. That said it was nice to see the old gang get together again for Quiz nights and not so gentle digs at one another. The scenes including Jane and Renata were highlights for me and kept me reading. The story improves when Wendy interacts with her young charges and Kiera in her capacity as Girl Guide leader. She continues to force her narrow by-the-book judgement on Kiera but softens around Chloe, Lexi and the girls she works with on their camping and badge earning adventure. We get to see the real Wendy at last, a woman who cares deeply about those she feels responsible for and a woman who wants to protect the innocent. The novel ends on a high note along with a madcap action scene. I may never fully understand (view spoiler)[ Wendy’s attraction to the distraction that is Kiera (hide spoiler)] but I’m all for a HEA for Wendy Goodall. 3.5 starsARC received with thanks from publisher for review.
    more
  • Cheyenne Blue
    May 5, 2017
    I had been looking forward to this release for months, and it didn't disappoint. Wendy Goodall is the klutzy naive community police officer for the Wallops valley. She's also a newly minted lesbian. Wendy wants to be a fully-fledged member of the police, and so she's delighted when she's picked out by a high ranking officer from the Met for a secret undercover role. The story romps through Wendy's chaotic life: the warm and wacky community of the Wallops, Wendy's misogynistic workmates, her atte I had been looking forward to this release for months, and it didn't disappoint. Wendy Goodall is the klutzy naive community police officer for the Wallops valley. She's also a newly minted lesbian. Wendy wants to be a fully-fledged member of the police, and so she's delighted when she's picked out by a high ranking officer from the Met for a secret undercover role. The story romps through Wendy's chaotic life: the warm and wacky community of the Wallops, Wendy's misogynistic workmates, her attempts to find a woman to date, her good circle of friends, and two new women in town who catch Wendy's interest. Diya Patel is the met police officer, and Kiera Minsk, new to town, is already deep into community life, including forming a Girl Guide troop. As with the previous book, the romance story takes a back seat to the ensemble that is village life.What I loved:- the ensemble cast from the village and the madcap portrayal of the community;- it was great to see Wendy come into her own and become an effective member of the police;- Jane and Renata (from book 1) feature, and I liked Renata a lot better in this book;- Gill McKnight's writing is fabulous. The undercurrent of wry humour runs throughout, and in places it simply sparkles with wit;What I didn't love:- (view spoiler)[Diya Patel was too obviously a distraction, and I didn't enjoy her page time much at all (hide spoiler)]. That is no biggie. Apart from that, there was nothing I didn't love.Although this is the second in the series, it isn't necessary to have read the first book first, although you'll probably get more out of "Wendy" if you have.I very much hope there will be a third in this lovely series. (view spoiler)[Maybe with Dr Lea? (hide spoiler)].
    more
  • Aj Smith
    May 18, 2017
    Short version, really good but not quite as awesome as Welcome to the Wallops. However, you should totally buy it if only for the scenes with Renata & Jane; the dynamic of their developing relationship is both hilarious and quite hot!Regarding the main storyline, while it's good and realistic and up to date, it was all a bit obvious. The red-herrings were positively scarlet a could be spotted a mile off and personally, I find Wendy just a touch annoying. Perhaps I'm not giving Ms McKnigh eno Short version, really good but not quite as awesome as Welcome to the Wallops. However, you should totally buy it if only for the scenes with Renata & Jane; the dynamic of their developing relationship is both hilarious and quite hot!Regarding the main storyline, while it's good and realistic and up to date, it was all a bit obvious. The red-herrings were positively scarlet a could be spotted a mile off and personally, I find Wendy just a touch annoying. Perhaps I'm not giving Ms McKnigh enough credit; if all the characters were likeable then it would be a case of the bland leading the bland! As usual the writing is very good and the characters are very well drawn. Despite my complaints I will be reading more books by Gill McKnight and I'm eagerly awaiting the next book in this series.
    more
  • Jane Shambler
    May 15, 2017
    I am a fan of McKnight's work, especially the Garoul series, and I thought this would be another series I would love. I didn't read the first book and fortunately you don't have too. You can read it as a stand alone. I read some reviews on this book and I could see all arguments. Reviews ranging from 3 to 5 stars. I settled on 4 stars. Now I have good reason for it. Wendy, the lead character annoyed and frustrated me. Her obvious naivety and her negative attitude really wound me up and I admit I I am a fan of McKnight's work, especially the Garoul series, and I thought this would be another series I would love. I didn't read the first book and fortunately you don't have too. You can read it as a stand alone. I read some reviews on this book and I could see all arguments. Reviews ranging from 3 to 5 stars. I settled on 4 stars. Now I have good reason for it. Wendy, the lead character annoyed and frustrated me. Her obvious naivety and her negative attitude really wound me up and I admit I was ready to forget about it. But my inner stubbornness kicked in. I got to 58% and my whole attitude towards the book changed.Literally a swipe of my kindle and I started to laugh. A LOT. Maybe it was the goat? I'm not sure but my attitude towards the book done a complete 360 and I found I was loving it and cheering the residents of sleepy wallops on. I saw all the characters in a new light. I especially liked Chloe and Kiera and did not like Patel one bit. The Kids in the book add a really good back drop on the story and worked really well in the book.It turned into a fun light hearted read in the end and I've actually talked myself out of four stars and I'm going to give it 4.5. Purely because Gill managed to change my mind.If you're looking for some light hearted fun and the worst kiss in the universe then give this ago. Enjoy!!*ARC provided by publisher via Ylva Publishing*
    more
  • Jasmine
    May 25, 2017
    Newly out lesbian Wendy is a Police Constable in The Wallops. She goes undercover as a Girl Guide leader to keep an eye on the child of a Gang member who is a key interest in a case. She is working side by side with an undeniably sexy detective Diya Patel and Keira Misnk, the Girl Guide Troop leader who is oddly attractive to young Wendy. The story follows the day to day life in a small town as well as the in's and out's of Wendy's undercover work. She longs to prove herself and become a fully f Newly out lesbian Wendy is a Police Constable in The Wallops. She goes undercover as a Girl Guide leader to keep an eye on the child of a Gang member who is a key interest in a case. She is working side by side with an undeniably sexy detective Diya Patel and Keira Misnk, the Girl Guide Troop leader who is oddly attractive to young Wendy. The story follows the day to day life in a small town as well as the in's and out's of Wendy's undercover work. She longs to prove herself and become a fully fledged officer on the force and longs also for a beautiful woman to date. I have not read the first book in the series and I had no trouble following along. It must be nice to see some familiar faces if you've read the first book. To be honest, this book was a struggle to get through. I found Wendy's voice very juvenile and her character rather annoyed me. I couldn't connect with the story because of this, try as I might. The writing is excellent however - witty, quirky and fun. I will definitely add Welcome to the Wallops to my reading list because the writing was lovely and my struggle with this book was likely due to my dislike of the main character. I really enjoyed the cast of characters in The Wallops - their antics made me smile. The crime aspect was well done as well - just the right balance of details and action. I loved the little world the author created in The Wallops- really beautiful! I received an ARC from YLVA in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jade
    May 4, 2017
    *ARC provided by the Publisher for an honest review*I really enjoyed Wendy's character in Welcome to the Wallops and I was expecting this book to just be a light hearted and humorous read but it wasn't. Surprisingly enough the author managed to add on a rather serious side to Wendy and where we got to see, what on the outside, looked like a person who was just clumsy and naive in the last book; in this book we get to see things from Wendy's perspective and it would appear that things aren't alwa *ARC provided by the Publisher for an honest review*I really enjoyed Wendy's character in Welcome to the Wallops and I was expecting this book to just be a light hearted and humorous read but it wasn't. Surprisingly enough the author managed to add on a rather serious side to Wendy and where we got to see, what on the outside, looked like a person who was just clumsy and naive in the last book; in this book we get to see things from Wendy's perspective and it would appear that things aren't always as they seem.In this book we get to see just how insecure Wendy is in her own skin and we get to see her come into her own and instead of always taking herself so seriously she meets someone who teaches her how to let loose a little.I definitely enjoyed reading this book and enjoyed getting to catch up with Jane and Renata a bit more but Wendy is still my favourite character in this series.
    more
  • Andrea
    May 28, 2017
    *I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for a honest review*It is a funny and enjoyable story and Wendy appears to be a bit clumsy and lost and a bit annoying but sweet. The parts with Renata and Jane and their developing relationship is hilarious and I have to admit that I liked Jane better as a character. The crime part of the book was a somewhat predicable but still made for a good story. It was a nice balance between romance and crime in the story.
    more
  • Ted
    May 21, 2017
    I liked it. Little crime drama, little comedy, some action, and a overzealous goat fill the pages. I think this book stands alone, but it's probably more enjoyable to have read book 1, as Jane and Renata are in quite a few scenes.
  • Colleen Corgel
    May 9, 2017
    Wendy of the Wallops is a fun, breakneck of a ride that had me wanting to go to The Wallops, a township in the English countryside that has its fair share of interesting people. We're introduced to Wendy Goodall, who's just come to grips with her sexuality. She's got a massive crush on no less than two women in her life, and a really confusing attraction with the newest member of the Wallops, Kiera Minsk, the town's Girl Guide troop leader. All is not as it seems, however, when the sexy detectiv Wendy of the Wallops is a fun, breakneck of a ride that had me wanting to go to The Wallops, a township in the English countryside that has its fair share of interesting people. We're introduced to Wendy Goodall, who's just come to grips with her sexuality. She's got a massive crush on no less than two women in her life, and a really confusing attraction with the newest member of the Wallops, Kiera Minsk, the town's Girl Guide troop leader. All is not as it seems, however, when the sexy detective from London, Diya Patel, enlists her help when a witness in the protection program goes on the run. One of the best parts of this book is that it isn't about Wendy's potential love interests, nor the mellow drama that can occur in these types of situations. It really is Wendy handling her crushes, and navigating that new part of herself. Wendy is admittedly not very good at handling her crushes, and the light comedy that comes from her friends teasing her about them feels right at home.While she is muddling through her interactions with all three women, she must also keep an eye on a young girl whose father ran away from witness protection. This is actually the main plot of the book, and there are times where it feels like there's a bit of added mystery to what would be a typical romance novel. Wendy also gets to show off her investigative skills, and her latent Girl Guide abilities when she has to go undercover as a volunteer with the group.Overall, this is a funny, light, and at times, pretty touching read from McKnight. I will say that I did not read the first book of the series, and there isn't much exposition to help new readers understand The Wallops. This isn't that big of an issue, as Wendy's is the focus of the story, and locations are explained over time. I'll definitely have to check out book one.*This is an ARC of the book provided by the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Linda Carroll
    May 26, 2017
    Book 2 of the Wallops series. Often you can read books in a series independently of their publication order. I wouldn't recommend that with this one. I was probably a quarter of the way into this one before I accepted that I would understand and enjoy it better if I had read book 1 (Welcome to Wallops) first. Book 1 sets a lot of the who's who and their relation to each other that isn't done in book 2. Fun, light hearted book. A look into a quirky rural village and the people who live there. The Book 2 of the Wallops series. Often you can read books in a series independently of their publication order. I wouldn't recommend that with this one. I was probably a quarter of the way into this one before I accepted that I would understand and enjoy it better if I had read book 1 (Welcome to Wallops) first. Book 1 sets a lot of the who's who and their relation to each other that isn't done in book 2. Fun, light hearted book. A look into a quirky rural village and the people who live there. The main character is Wendy an innocent, intelligent young woman trying to find her place. Unlike many books there is a whole cast of supporting characters that are really well developed. Some you love and some you hate but the all make for a great story.
    more
  • Liz
    May 22, 2017
    I read this book as a standalone story. Its down to personal taste but this sadly was not the book for me. The main character is 26, but felt immature at times and I found her very irritating and judgemental. Sadly not being able to connect or like the main character did put a damper on it for me. I felt the romance was lacking something. I did like her colleague Pete and their interactions, and how they dealt with their lazy colleagues.It is well written and funny in parts. Arc received from Yl I read this book as a standalone story. Its down to personal taste but this sadly was not the book for me. The main character is 26, but felt immature at times and I found her very irritating and judgemental. Sadly not being able to connect or like the main character did put a damper on it for me. I felt the romance was lacking something. I did like her colleague Pete and their interactions, and how they dealt with their lazy colleagues.It is well written and funny in parts. Arc received from Ylva for an honest review.
    more
  • Amisha Patel
    May 24, 2017
    I read this novel as a stand alone novel and loved it. The mystery, action, romance and comedy had me enthralled throughout the entire reading. Gill McKnight introduces a problem found usually in big cities to a small town and the ensuing mayhem is comedic and entertaining. I will be reading Welcome to Wallops because Jane and Renata's relationship has piqued my interest.
    more
  • Donna Montague
    May 20, 2017
    Wendy of the Wallops continues the story of small town life. This one follows Wendy the auxiliary Police Constable as she discovers herself and defines her role in police work. Wendy discovers that the marijuana industry introduced in all its comedic glory in the prequel is still thriving in the Wallops. As Wendy works the case, she begins to actually enjoy the chase, the intrigue and solving the game. Wendy of the Wallops is a good stand-alone novel. While it alludes to episodes in the prequel Wendy of the Wallops continues the story of small town life. This one follows Wendy the auxiliary Police Constable as she discovers herself and defines her role in police work. Wendy discovers that the marijuana industry introduced in all its comedic glory in the prequel is still thriving in the Wallops. As Wendy works the case, she begins to actually enjoy the chase, the intrigue and solving the game. Wendy of the Wallops is a good stand-alone novel. While it alludes to episodes in the prequel you don't feel left out. Gill McKnight produces great, believable, compassionate characters. I want to move to Wallops and be part of the fun! Enjoy!
    more
  • Dipali Vallabh
    May 23, 2017
    ARC review. Much anticipated second book of the Wallops series. An enjoyable humorous light read with plenty of laugh out loud moments. The girl guides were hilarious and the plot had me guessing right up until the end. Wendy was clueless, the goat was hilarious and I would love to visit the wallops again!
    more
  • Ana Leamaro
    May 17, 2017
    *ARC provided by publisher via Ylva Publishing*This is a light hearted very funny book ideal for a afternoon in the sun. I read the first book before this one so I already new Wendy as a character, her naivete but also her intelligence and kindness. The book can be a little boring in the beginning because it's slow to develop and takes a while to show other facets of Wendy than her insecurity and negativity and the rest of the supporting characters almost don't show. It's when the author put all *ARC provided by publisher via Ylva Publishing*This is a light hearted very funny book ideal for a afternoon in the sun. I read the first book before this one so I already new Wendy as a character, her naivete but also her intelligence and kindness. The book can be a little boring in the beginning because it's slow to develop and takes a while to show other facets of Wendy than her insecurity and negativity and the rest of the supporting characters almost don't show. It's when the author put all of them together that the book starts to be very good and very funny.Filled with typical Irish humour and witty dialogs, I loved the book and laughed a lot. I think it's better than the first one, maybe because I empathized more with Wendy and Kiera. The description of the worst kiss in the world is hilarious. Enjoy!
    more
  • Cheryl
    May 27, 2017
    My first Gill McKnight read and it was light and enjoyable with plenty of entertainment. At times I struggled with what was happening with different bits evolving along the way but Wendy was delightful and the humour between her character and her friends was a happy mixture of realistic and supportive.
    more
  • Dr E
    May 29, 2017
    Fresh as Spring. A charming story that captures rural England with beautifully observed and engaging characters. The dialogue is great and the whole book is well written. An enjoyable read.
  • Ann
    May 12, 2017
    I loved the first Wallops book and eagerly awaited the second. It does not disappoint. The characters are so much fun. The situations are hilarious. Add in a little bit of mystery and you have a well rounded, funny, touching book. I love the way the kids are worked into this book, they add a very funny backdrop. The community is so engaging, I want to go play at quiz night. The book makes for an entertaining day of reading and will keep you laughing and wanting to move to The Wallops.I received I loved the first Wallops book and eagerly awaited the second. It does not disappoint. The characters are so much fun. The situations are hilarious. Add in a little bit of mystery and you have a well rounded, funny, touching book. I love the way the kids are worked into this book, they add a very funny backdrop. The community is so engaging, I want to go play at quiz night. The book makes for an entertaining day of reading and will keep you laughing and wanting to move to The Wallops.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jane Clements
    May 12, 2017
    This is the second book in the Wallops series. In spite of my bias against superstitious claptrap, (and, yes, I include religion in that definition) I enjoyed the first book in the series and was only irritated in a few places by the arrant nonsense presented as ‘fact’. Perhaps Trump and his team are steadily desensitising me to ‘alternative facts’.Fortunately, this book focuses on Wendy, the clumsy, tactless PCSO who played a minor role in the first book. This time, Jane and Renata are the mino This is the second book in the Wallops series. In spite of my bias against superstitious claptrap, (and, yes, I include religion in that definition) I enjoyed the first book in the series and was only irritated in a few places by the arrant nonsense presented as ‘fact’. Perhaps Trump and his team are steadily desensitising me to ‘alternative facts’.Fortunately, this book focuses on Wendy, the clumsy, tactless PCSO who played a minor role in the first book. This time, Jane and Renata are the minor characters.There are two stories interweaving throughout the book. The first deals with Wendy’s private life in which she is having to deal with two challenges to her self-identity: coming to terms with her recently acknowledged sexuality; and discovering that her twin wants to find their birth mother. The second story revolves around Wendy’s professional life. She has to decide what and where she wants to be within the police service as she takes on a challenge that has the potential to prove her worth to her superiors.I think McKnight does a better job with Wendy’s professional life than with her love life. I wasn’t really feeling the romance in this one. That’s OK though, because the book has other qualities to redeem it.I like the gently humorous tone to McKnight’s writing and I laughed out loud in a couple of places. Wendy is an endearing character and it’s nice to read about a protagonist who is not the smartest person in the book. Wendy’s flaws – her lack of tact and discretion and her less-than-stellar brainpower – are all too human and real, but they are compensated for by her integrity, honesty and willingness to work extra hard. I enjoyed seeing Wendy develop a spine once she found a colleague who would give her the support and encouragement she needed. It was satisfying to view her growth as a person as well.McKnight has created a charming little community in the Wallops and I look forward to reading more about it. I wonder how many more lesbians such a small village can sustain, however? Probably a lot. After all, the small English village of Midsomer must the murder capital of the world, so maybe Lesser Wallop could be the lesbian capital!Note: I received a free advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Karen
    May 8, 2017
    I enjoyed this next installment in the Wallops series. I liked getting to know Wendy better as well as revisiting familiar characters. This is a romance but it’s also a bit of a cop story as well. Wendy came out as a lesbian at the end of the previous book and in this novel, she’s struggling with the dating scene in the Wallops. It is a small village area after all, so how many lesbians can there be other than Jane and Renata? There are a few possible love interests. Wendy tries to ask one out b I enjoyed this next installment in the Wallops series. I liked getting to know Wendy better as well as revisiting familiar characters. This is a romance but it’s also a bit of a cop story as well. Wendy came out as a lesbian at the end of the previous book and in this novel, she’s struggling with the dating scene in the Wallops. It is a small village area after all, so how many lesbians can there be other than Jane and Renata? There are a few possible love interests. Wendy tries to ask one out but perseveres despite everything to find her own romance. There are plenty of amusing moments throughout the book as well as intrigue. The toilet scene was funny. There is some kind of trafficking scheme in the UK and one of the traffickers turns himself in, is placed in witness protection and then disappears from it. Wendy is pulled in to protect his ex and their daughter who just relocated to the Wallops. I was a bit confused because everyone Wendy met with seemed to know this guy. I thought they had just moved there so that threw me off a bit. Some of the relationships are explained later. Anyway, aside from that confusion this was a good read and I’m looking forward to McKnight’s next installment of the Wallops – after I read the next Garoul book which is my favorite McKnight series.I received an ARC from Ylva for an honest review.
    more
  • Adrian
    May 31, 2017
    I completed "Wendy of the Wallops" following a thoroughly immersive experience the day before with the latest publication by Lyn Dowland, "The Winder Path," which delightfully discussed the minutiae of small town life from a purely romantic perspective, without any mysterious facets included in the plot. With that context for comparison, I found Ms. McKnight's work to have returned to her previous high standard-Wendy was a character of some complexity, whose dedication to her job and community, I completed "Wendy of the Wallops" following a thoroughly immersive experience the day before with the latest publication by Lyn Dowland, "The Winder Path," which delightfully discussed the minutiae of small town life from a purely romantic perspective, without any mysterious facets included in the plot. With that context for comparison, I found Ms. McKnight's work to have returned to her previous high standard-Wendy was a character of some complexity, whose dedication to her job and community, as well as difficulty grappling with an unsought sexual preference, were empathy inducing. The first entrant in the series, "Welcome to the Wallops," with its uninspiring leads, was an aberration. While I found Kiera to be more than mildly grating, the dynamic that she and Wendy shared far outstripped that of Jane and Renata, who need to remain consigned to secondary positions. I await, with eagerness, the author's return to the paranormal realm, this newest volume will suffice for now.ARC graciously provided by the author and publisher.
    more
  • S B
    May 31, 2017
    I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.I will read anything Gill McKnight writes, I just like her style and humour.Wendy of the Wallops follows on from Welcome to the Wallops but could easily be read separately.Wendy is a clumsy, community police worker who has recently discovered her sexuality. This book has Wendy going undercover as a (clueless) Girl Guide troop leader to protect a girl who may be a kidnap target. The crime plot is a good foil to Wendy's personal and professional d I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.I will read anything Gill McKnight writes, I just like her style and humour.Wendy of the Wallops follows on from Welcome to the Wallops but could easily be read separately.Wendy is a clumsy, community police worker who has recently discovered her sexuality. This book has Wendy going undercover as a (clueless) Girl Guide troop leader to protect a girl who may be a kidnap target. The crime plot is a good foil to Wendy's personal and professional development.Wendy is also coming to turns with her attraction to women; the doctor, the DI and the other Girl Guide troop leader, it is obvious who she will end up with but the storyline is sweet.It was nice to see Renata and Jane, from Welcome to the Walllops, as supporting characters. I hope there is more from The Wallops and Gill McKnight.
    more
  • Devin
    May 7, 2017
    Wow second installment of the Wallops and this one doesn't miss a beat. Funny, good plot, great characters (still) and you still wonder how the heck this one will end. Wendy's insecurities and tendencies to stick to the letter of the law lend for so many hilarious things that you can't stop laughing or feeling sorry for her. Gil McKnight knows how to wend her way through many plot twists and turns and great characterization. I can not wait for the next book in this series (and hopefully there wi Wow second installment of the Wallops and this one doesn't miss a beat. Funny, good plot, great characters (still) and you still wonder how the heck this one will end. Wendy's insecurities and tendencies to stick to the letter of the law lend for so many hilarious things that you can't stop laughing or feeling sorry for her. Gil McKnight knows how to wend her way through many plot twists and turns and great characterization. I can not wait for the next book in this series (and hopefully there will be one hint hint!!) If you haven't read the first one: Welcome to the Wallops, do yourself the favor of doing so and then read this one because the first one will make you yearn for more and this one will give it to you!!! Great read and highly recommend it!
    more
  • Emmy
    May 7, 2017
    I received an ARC from Ylva Publishing, Inc. in exchange for an honest review. I loved this book. I am a fan of McKnight's work, especially the Garoul series, and I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series, Welcome to the Wallops. This book could be read standalone, but it will be even better if Welcome to the Wallops is read first. PC Wendy's story is hilarious and sweet. I also enjoyed the expansion of insight into the lives of some other Wallops community members in addition to glimps I received an ARC from Ylva Publishing, Inc. in exchange for an honest review. I loved this book. I am a fan of McKnight's work, especially the Garoul series, and I thoroughly enjoyed the first book in this series, Welcome to the Wallops. This book could be read standalone, but it will be even better if Welcome to the Wallops is read first. PC Wendy's story is hilarious and sweet. I also enjoyed the expansion of insight into the lives of some other Wallops community members in addition to glimpses back into the lives of dear Jane and Renata from the first book in the series. If you enjoy a sweet romance brimming with clever wit and an engaging plot, then this story is for you. I hope Gill McKnight continues this series for many books to come!
    more
  • Shelley
    May 31, 2017
    I love Gill McKnight books. She is a very funny writer and I like humor in my books. Wendy is a great character. She gets into some very funny situations as she tries to navigate her life and make decisions for her future. Should she stay or should she go? Will she ever get a girlfriend? She is absolutely clueless as a new lesbian but it leads to very funny interactions. I love the village and the characters. Great book and well worth reading. I am looking forward to many more books in this seri I love Gill McKnight books. She is a very funny writer and I like humor in my books. Wendy is a great character. She gets into some very funny situations as she tries to navigate her life and make decisions for her future. Should she stay or should she go? Will she ever get a girlfriend? She is absolutely clueless as a new lesbian but it leads to very funny interactions. I love the village and the characters. Great book and well worth reading. I am looking forward to many more books in this series. Good Job!I received a free copy for an unbiased review.
    more
  • Della
    May 9, 2017
    Wendy of the Wallops is an exceptionally entertaining read! I have read and thoroughly enjoyed Ms. McKnight's series and stand alone novels. Wendy of the Wallops,in my opinion, is her best work yet. The plot is solid and keeps you guessing. The characters are fully formed and the writing exceptional. The humour running throughout the novel will have me re reading the story in a few months time to see what I missed. This is a must read novel for any and all readers.
    more
  • Lisa Beavan
    May 14, 2017
    This is the second comedy romance to come from the Wallops valley. I have not read the first in the series and did not find myself at a disadvantage at all for missing the first book, as can very often happen when you don't start a series at the beginning. It is funny, has wonderful characters and a hint of mystery. I'm now looking forward to book three.I was given an advance review copy by Ylva in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • AJ Sneed
    May 31, 2017
    ok so the second in the series was as good as the first! I love the style of the story and how everyone interacts and the background that comes to life so you feel like you are there with the characters. My only complaint on this one is that it felt almost rushed. Like the author was trying to hurry the story along and get it done rather than let it flow more naturally. I hope there are more in the making and am waiting impatiently.
    more
Write a review