Kat and Meg Conquer the World
Kat and Meg couldn’t be more different. Kat’s anxiety makes it hard for her to talk to new people. The only place she feels safe is in front of her computer, playing her favorite video game. Meg hates being alone, but her ADHD keeps pushing people away. Friends. Her boyfriend. Even the stepfather who raised her. But when the two girls are thrown together for a year-long science project, they discover they do have one thing in common: their obsession with the online gaming star LumberLegs and his hilarious videos. Meg’s pretty sure this is fate. Kat doesn’t know how to deal with someone who talks faster than she thinks. But if they can stick together and stay out of their heads, they might figure out how to help each other—and build the kind of friendship Kat never knew she wanted and Meg never believed she’d find.

Kat and Meg Conquer the World Details

TitleKat and Meg Conquer the World
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 7th, 2017
PublisherHarperTeen
ISBN0062560808
ISBN-139780062560803
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary

Kat and Meg Conquer the World Review

  • Emily Murphy
    March 13, 2016
    This. book. I want everyone in the world to read this book.Where to even begin?KAT AND MEG wove its way into my heart and then set it on fire. I cannot get over how brilliant this book is, on so many different levels. The dual POV voices of Kat and Meg are so genuine and specific to them. Their dialogue is clever and spot-on. The relationships in this book develop like real-life people's do. The way Kat and Meg come to care about one another--and the way that I came to care about them--felt like This. book. I want everyone in the world to read this book.Where to even begin?KAT AND MEG wove its way into my heart and then set it on fire. I cannot get over how brilliant this book is, on so many different levels. The dual POV voices of Kat and Meg are so genuine and specific to them. Their dialogue is clever and spot-on. The relationships in this book develop like real-life people's do. The way Kat and Meg come to care about one another--and the way that I came to care about them--felt like such a rare treat, in a way that reminded me of Rainbow Rowell's ELEANOR & PARK. These two characters are both so charming, so flawed, so achingly lonely, and they are the most perfect, heartwarming fit for one another. Over the course of the story they grow and change and come to life so fully that I actually felt them walk around making imprints on my heart.The whole book is full of characters to fall in love with--online friends and love interests and family members. The whole time I was reading I sort of just wanted to give the book itself, and everyone inside of it, a massive hug. Because KAT AND MEG bursts with warmth. It's fresh and unique. It's adorable and unabashedly nerdy, and surprisingly hysterical. And, also, sometimes it will shatter your heart. But then it will put it back together again piece by piece, and you'll find that by the end, somehow the whole is bigger than it was before.
    more
  • Chelsea Sedoti
    March 11, 2016
    The thing about this book is, it was written for me. Okay. Not really. But it sure felt that way while I was reading. Because:1. It has everything I want from a book.2. I became ridiculously immersed in the story.3. Kat is basically me. This book is absolutely hilarious. I laughed out loud more times than I can count. But I also cried. I felt every heart-twisting thing the characters were going through like it was happening to me. And to top it off, the writing itself was absolutely beautiful.Bo The thing about this book is, it was written for me. Okay. Not really. But it sure felt that way while I was reading. Because:1. It has everything I want from a book.2. I became ridiculously immersed in the story.3. Kat is basically me. This book is absolutely hilarious. I laughed out loud more times than I can count. But I also cried. I felt every heart-twisting thing the characters were going through like it was happening to me. And to top it off, the writing itself was absolutely beautiful.Both Meg and Kat are wonderful and loveably flawed and real. As Kat herself describes them:Meg is the ideas person. The brainstormer. She is watermelon thrown from roofs and speed runs for science. I am questionnaires and control factors.Kat’s anxieties could have been pulled straight from my own brain. And Meg… Well, Meg is a force of nature. Her frantic energy leapt off the page. I could read her (often hilarious, sometimes heartbreaking) rambling forever. In fact, the only thing I disliked about the book is that it’s only a book. My life would be so much richer if Meg were my best friend. Both Meg and Kat were such vivid characters that I really did feel like they were real. I felt like I was part of their friendship, like by reading the book I’d joined an amazingly special secret club. At a certain part it was as if I stopped observing and became an actual participant in the story. I think there are a lot of Megs and Kats in the world. People who don’t fit in. People who look at the world around them and wonder why they’re different, why they can’t just be normal. But there’s no such thing as “normal”. And being different doesn’t mean being broken. I can’t wait for this book to get into the hands of all the Megs and Kats so they can be reminded that, like the characters, they’re actually awesome.
    more
  • Katelyn Larson
    March 10, 2016
    This book! I LOVE this book. I won't lie, I finished reading it a few weeks ago and I have spent every day since trying to figure out how to encapsulate just how much I love it. It hit absolutely every one of my soft spots. Wonderful friendships. Complex families. Adorable old men. Fun and realistic romance. VIDEO GAMES. And all of it delivered through two amazing, unique girls who simply jump off the page. Kat IS teenage me, and her thoughts and fears and triumphs spoke to me as clearly as if A This book! I LOVE this book. I won't lie, I finished reading it a few weeks ago and I have spent every day since trying to figure out how to encapsulate just how much I love it. It hit absolutely every one of my soft spots. Wonderful friendships. Complex families. Adorable old men. Fun and realistic romance. VIDEO GAMES. And all of it delivered through two amazing, unique girls who simply jump off the page. Kat IS teenage me, and her thoughts and fears and triumphs spoke to me as clearly as if Anna had read my journals while writing. I'd be Kat's best friend in a heartbeat. But thankfully I don't have to be, because she already has Meg--fierce, excitable Meg who I want nothing more than to wrap into the snuggest, warmest hug of my life. These girls feel so real, and their friendship is one that had me rooting for it from the first page they shared together. Another confession: I cried four times while reading. The emotions packed in these pages--happy, sad, and everything between--are rendered so beautifully. The moment I finished reading, I already began flipping back to find my favorite scenes. I'll be returning to them again and again. I'm quite sure that once I have this in hard copy, I'll wear the binding thin with my rereads. If for nothing else, read this book for the writing. Anna captures the most complex emotions in heartbreakingly relatable terms. I can't count the number of times I stopped to read a paragraph aloud and revel in its beauty. This is the book I spent my teen years searching for. It's a book about finding forever friendships. It's a book about being geeky and vulnerable and different and coming out on the other side. Pick up this book. Full stop. No ifs, ands, or buts. You won't regret it.
    more
  • Cale Dietrich
    March 20, 2016
    TO THE RIFT!!!Okay, that reference will only make sense to people who have already read the book, but I wanted to put it there because a) it’s fun to write, and b) I think it shows the cool and **gloriously** nerdy feel of this book. Because seriously, this book is so nerdy and SO GOOD. My geeky heart loved the smart and funny references to all my faves (any book that references Harry Potter is instantly special to me), but this book is WAY more than just a collection of funny lines and geek cul TO THE RIFT!!!Okay, that reference will only make sense to people who have already read the book, but I wanted to put it there because a) it’s fun to write, and b) I think it shows the cool and **gloriously** nerdy feel of this book. Because seriously, this book is so nerdy and SO GOOD. My geeky heart loved the smart and funny references to all my faves (any book that references Harry Potter is instantly special to me), but this book is WAY more than just a collection of funny lines and geek culture references.This is a really great and thoughtful book about friendship, a topic that is hugely important to everyone but doesn’t seem to be explored in media as much as, say, romantic or family relationships are. I just love that this book takes the time to explore the complexities and difficulties of friendship, and really shows how valuable it is to our lives. So yeah, this book gets major points for that. And the characters! Ahh, I just love them all, but especially the two protagonists. Kat and Meg both get their own POV, and I thought this was done really well. Both have distinct voices, and both are so so lovable. And they're just so great as friends, as they just fit together so well. Pizza/candy/streaming parties for life!Basically, I adored this book. It's really smart, super funny, and explores friendship in an amazing and unique way. After I finished reading it, my reaction was this:I feel like I just ate bacon. (seriously, that’s a line from the book. If that doesn’t convince you that this book needs to be on your TBR, I don’t know what will).
    more
  • Aimee Hyndman
    May 27, 2016
    BUT REALLY GUYS THIS IS THE BEST BOOK!So I got to read this as part of our critique group and I've seen this book from early stages but even before editing I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. And it all comes down to the characters.Kat and Meg are two of the most relatable protagonists I've read in young adult fiction. They both have their problems, flaws and crippling self doubts, but they also have their talents and their larger than life personalities. Kat struggles with anxiety and has trouble stepping out BUT REALLY GUYS THIS IS THE BEST BOOK!So I got to read this as part of our critique group and I've seen this book from early stages but even before editing I LOVE LOVE LOVE it. And it all comes down to the characters.Kat and Meg are two of the most relatable protagonists I've read in young adult fiction. They both have their problems, flaws and crippling self doubts, but they also have their talents and their larger than life personalities. Kat struggles with anxiety and has trouble stepping out of her comfort zone. Meg has ADHD and her wandering mind and loud personality often seem to push people away from her. But when the two are paired up on a science fair project and bond over their love of the same youtube gamer, their friendship is what really makes the book.There aren't enough books out there focusing on female friendships. While there is a spot of romance in this one, Kat and Meg are the stars and its their relationship that drives the plot. They're just the perfect compliments to each other, even if they sometimes get on each other's nerves. Its a funny, heart warming, and very real book and definitely contains one of the best portrayals of anxiety I've ever seen. So what I'm saying is YOU SHOULD ADD THIS BOOK TO YOUR TO READ LIST AND BUY IT AS SOON AS YOU CAN!Please and thank you,Aimee
    more
  • Leah Henderson
    June 21, 2016
    KAT AND MEG CONQUER THE WORLD is so much more than you ever think it could possibly be. Upon meeting Kat you might bristle at some of her thoughts, including most that escape her lips. Then you meet Meg, a tidal wave of personality that can't quite be contained. Video games are eased in the mix and you wonder, how, oh how will this all work?That is when you have to tip your hat to Anna Priemaza, who makes this imperfect friendship one of the most perfect that I have read in a long time. These ch KAT AND MEG CONQUER THE WORLD is so much more than you ever think it could possibly be. Upon meeting Kat you might bristle at some of her thoughts, including most that escape her lips. Then you meet Meg, a tidal wave of personality that can't quite be contained. Video games are eased in the mix and you wonder, how, oh how will this all work?That is when you have to tip your hat to Anna Priemaza, who makes this imperfect friendship one of the most perfect that I have read in a long time. These characters (including Grandpa) and the Legend of the Stone video game have stayed with me long after I turned the last page. A page I kept turning back and forth, hoping more would appear to their story. As a reader, I became so invested in their lives that I almost believed I might see them again at their school lockers in Edmonton.This is the kind of book you shout about from the rooftops and hope everyone is lucky enough to read it!
    more
  • Tanaz
    March 16, 2016
    I hate people."Even me?" Meg asks, which could mean she's a mind reader, but probably just means I accidentally said that out loud."You're not people. You're Meg."And something about the way she grins at that makes me feel the tiniest bit better.Kat is a freshman. Quiet and organized, a voracious fan of YouTuber LumberLegs. Kat does not expect to make friends at her new school in Alberta (panic attacks can do that to a person) until she runs into Meg - charming, energetic Meg, who has ADHD and d I hate people."Even me?" Meg asks, which could mean she's a mind reader, but probably just means I accidentally said that out loud."You're not people. You're Meg."And something about the way she grins at that makes me feel the tiniest bit better.Kat is a freshman. Quiet and organized, a voracious fan of YouTuber LumberLegs. Kat does not expect to make friends at her new school in Alberta (panic attacks can do that to a person) until she runs into Meg - charming, energetic Meg, who has ADHD and draws Kat into her life, first for a science project and then just for friendship. As they navigate life and its various ups and downs, including school and illnesses and boyfriends and their own friendship, Kat and Meg ultimately realize that they can do anything - as long as they have each other.This is, by far, one of the BEST young adult books I've read about female friendship. Anna Priemaza truly gets these teens and writes them in a style that feels true and authentic. I laughed out loud, I teared up (mostly with joy), I wanted to give both of these characters hugs. This book is special because it reminded me that no matter what obstacles we face in life, we can get over them. (And having the sort of friend who you can eat cold pizza with, give a purple button, and send SOS texts to makes things a whole lot better.)Highly recommended for fans of uplifting, contemporary YA about friendship and family.
    more
  • Ruth Lauren
    September 18, 2016
    Just finished this dear, sweet, funny, awesome book and am now thinking about how well it does two distinct PoV, how endearing and relatable they both were whilst being completely different and yet the perfect fit for each other, and how cool it is to read about female friendship and neurodiversity and also many, many snacks. I appreciate the hell out of all of these things.
    more
  • Emily
    March 11, 2016
    I couldn't put it down. The characters were so relatable, and I just had to see how it would end. Can't wait to read the print version!
  • Jilly Gagnon
    September 27, 2016
    You know those books where you desperately wish the MC was real because you know--KNOW--s/he should be your IRL best friend?This book had TWO OF THOSE. Kat and Meg are both such full, flawed, rounded, achingly real characters. I loved that this story focused on their friendship more than anything--the intensity and importance of that when you're in high school is immeasurable, and it always seems to get shunted aside by romance.Better yet, Kat's sometimes paralyzing OCD/anxiety and Meg's ADHD ar You know those books where you desperately wish the MC was real because you know--KNOW--s/he should be your IRL best friend?This book had TWO OF THOSE. Kat and Meg are both such full, flawed, rounded, achingly real characters. I loved that this story focused on their friendship more than anything--the intensity and importance of that when you're in high school is immeasurable, and it always seems to get shunted aside by romance.Better yet, Kat's sometimes paralyzing OCD/anxiety and Meg's ADHD are portrayed so well, and so sympathetically, something that's incredibly rare and special (especially when you're talking about two female main characters). They aren't let off the hook--the challenges their conditions pose are things each girl needs to overcome--but they also aren't depicted as lacking, or failing, and that warmed my heart. The world NEEDS more books like this.This is on my "you MUST read it" shelf of 2017 books. Put it on yours!!
    more
  • Jake Burt
    March 24, 2017
    There was, at some point, a transition in the literature we read growing up. I think most of us experience it - an indefinable moment when books stopped being "fun" and started being "poignant." It went from Sideways Stories and Fourth Grade Nothings and Holes to, "They're all dying...WHY ARE ALL THE CHARACTERS DYING?" Now, don't get me wrong; poignant is important, and wonderful, and beautiful. I just wish that, more frequently, it could be fun, too.Enter Kat and Meg. Nothing spoilery is going There was, at some point, a transition in the literature we read growing up. I think most of us experience it - an indefinable moment when books stopped being "fun" and started being "poignant." It went from Sideways Stories and Fourth Grade Nothings and Holes to, "They're all dying...WHY ARE ALL THE CHARACTERS DYING?" Now, don't get me wrong; poignant is important, and wonderful, and beautiful. I just wish that, more frequently, it could be fun, too.Enter Kat and Meg. Nothing spoilery is going to happen in this review (the summary included above is more than adequate for a plot skeleton), but I will say that Kat and Meg experience their fair share of poignancy in Anna Priemaza's debut novel; their lives are as fraught with drama as any YA protagonists', in their own way. But there is a lightness of heart here (lit and carried, at least for this reader, by the charming and celebratory ebullience of Meg, one half of the first-person-present narrating duo) that makes this an easy read. A breath-of-fresh-air read.A fun read.YA needs its poignancy, for sure; teen readers need to know that they can and do matter, and the weight of the world (of worlds, in some fantasy and YA) can hinge upon their choices. I'm just glad we have books like KAT AND MEG CONQUER THE WORLD; after all, someone should tell them that while saving the world, it's okay to smile.
    more
  • KT
    January 26, 2017
    You know how, when people ask agents and editors what they look for in a book, they say "Voice," and it's always kind of this nebulous (and maybe slightly frustrating) thing? This book is what they're talking about.Kat and Meg are both similar, yet distinct. They have their strengths, their weaknesses, and their quirks and idiosyncrasies that make them feel fleshed out and real and like I would totally have been best friends with those delightful nerds in high school.They are such nerds. I say t You know how, when people ask agents and editors what they look for in a book, they say "Voice," and it's always kind of this nebulous (and maybe slightly frustrating) thing? This book is what they're talking about.Kat and Meg are both similar, yet distinct. They have their strengths, their weaknesses, and their quirks and idiosyncrasies that make them feel fleshed out and real and like I would totally have been best friends with those delightful nerds in high school.They are such nerds. I say that with all the love in my nerd-loving heart. It was absolutely delightful to read such unabashed fan girls. The game and gamer world Priemaza created was so fun and hilarious (seriously, so, so funny). It was, in a word, awesome.But part of what made it so awesome was the depth. The struggles of both girls absolutely tugged at my heart. Seeing Kat trying to handle her panic disorder and Meg come to terms with accepting herself--ADHD and all--was endearing and, better yet, empowering. They grew individually and together, and seeing their paths diverge and converge again was just lovely. Their friendship was a reminder that, while high school loves come and go, few things are as powerful as a great best friend. If you like awesomeness, this really is your book.
    more
  • Lianne Oelke
    March 13, 2017
    I was lucky enough to read an ARC of this book, and it definitely had me smiling from start to finish. I can't stress enough how refreshing it is to read a contemporary YA that deals with friendship first, while deftly navigating tough family situations, anxiety and ADHD, first loves, and video games. KAT AND MEG is about the friendship of two very different girls who often mess up, but come through for each other in big ways. Anna Priemaza writes with incredible energy, wit, and heart, and she' I was lucky enough to read an ARC of this book, and it definitely had me smiling from start to finish. I can't stress enough how refreshing it is to read a contemporary YA that deals with friendship first, while deftly navigating tough family situations, anxiety and ADHD, first loves, and video games. KAT AND MEG is about the friendship of two very different girls who often mess up, but come through for each other in big ways. Anna Priemaza writes with incredible energy, wit, and heart, and she'll have you rooting for Kat and Meg from the first page.
    more
  • Sonia
    January 13, 2017
    My bday present to myself was finishing this delightful book, which I've been reading and savoring and enjoying for awhile now. I love Kat and Meg in this - their evolving friendship and their own personal struggles, the way their shared obsession ultimately connects them to each other. This has such warmth and humor and yet also such real emotion about relationships and family. There are not enough books about female friendships, and this is a lovely, sweet, and uplifting one.
    more
  • Carlie Sorosiak
    October 29, 2016
    This book, you all. THIS BOOK. I'm convinced that I've just made two very best friends, and we will skateboard together (even though I'm bad at it) and will drink hot chocolate with mini marshmallows while watching video game walkthroughs and making each other laugh. Reading Kat and Meg Conquer the World is like wrapping yourself up in a warm, fuzzy, cosy blanket. That's really the only way to describe it. This is a book that cloaks you in its warmth, and leaves you extremely content with everyt This book, you all. THIS BOOK. I'm convinced that I've just made two very best friends, and we will skateboard together (even though I'm bad at it) and will drink hot chocolate with mini marshmallows while watching video game walkthroughs and making each other laugh. Reading Kat and Meg Conquer the World is like wrapping yourself up in a warm, fuzzy, cosy blanket. That's really the only way to describe it. This is a book that cloaks you in its warmth, and leaves you extremely content with everything in the world. The heart of this book is ten miles wide.I'm going to make a bold statement: Kat and Meg has the truest, most nuanced portrayal of female friendship that I've ever seen in a YA novel. These are girls who put each other first (even above boys) and have so, so much fun with each other - and the result is an incredibly fun read. It's whip smart and clever, and the humor is ridiculously on point. I laughed out loud on more than one occasion.I love, love, love the granddad. Anyone who knows me is aware of my fondness for elderly people in YA (and in real life), so I must say that Granddad was a personal favorite. First, this line: "Well you're grinnin' like a raccoon on garbage day." Everything he says is pure gold. The juxtaposition between youth and old age adds an extra wonderful dimension to this book that I was not expecting, and that I am very grateful for.Beyond that, Priemaza is a fantastic wordsmith. In the space of a page, she can make you ugly laugh, cry, get angry, and have all the smiles. I mean, it's almost witchcraft.I would recommend Kat and Meg to anyone who has had a great friendship, or for anyone who wants one. Really, it has something in it for everybody.
    more
  • Natasa
    February 10, 2017
    What the hell... is this just coincidence that this is named after the two main book bloggers of Cuddlebuggery?
  • Svenka
    September 3, 2016
    Panic Attacks??ADHD?????This book sounds like it could either be amazing and represent both these problems (of which I suffer from, by the way) in a very true-to-life way, or it could absolutely be 100% incorrect and offensive a la TFioS. Looking forward to this one for sure.
    more
Write a review