Friend Zone (Just Friends, #2)
Alice Brown fell in love with Jack the day she moved into her freshman dorm. Problem is, she’s been stuck in the friend zone ever since. After another meaningless breakup, she’s ready to confess her feelings to Jack.Jack Sullivan has mistaken friendship for love once before and has vowed never to do it again. A varsity sports player, he’s determined to enjoy college with no strings attached.Peter Wells is Jack’s best wingman. He enjoys his popularity as team captain and when he meets Alice, he’s ready to steal her heart.When Jack sees Alice and Peter together, jealousy hits him hard. But will he break his vow to never date a friend?Meet new characters and catch up with old ones in the second book in the Just Friends series.Friend Zone is part of the Just Friends new adult college romance series. Reading order:Book 1 Let’s Be Just FriendsBook 2 Friend Zone

Friend Zone (Just Friends, #2) Details

TitleFriend Zone (Just Friends, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 9th, 2017
PublisherPink Bloom Press
Number of pages204 pages
Rating
GenreNew Adult, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Romance, Contemporary, Fiction

Friend Zone (Just Friends, #2) Review

  • Amy
    February 8, 2017
    All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comActual rating 3.5/5I loved the first Camilla Isley book I read, Love Connection so when I saw she was releasing a new book that was slightly different I was intrigued. LC focused on adult relationships whereas Friend Zone was about a group of college aged young men and women trying to navigate dating as well as friendships and school. I don’t read a ton of NA books but I have to say that I really liked this one! There are several narrators her All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comActual rating 3.5/5I loved the first Camilla Isley book I read, Love Connection so when I saw she was releasing a new book that was slightly different I was intrigued. LC focused on adult relationships whereas Friend Zone was about a group of college aged young men and women trying to navigate dating as well as friendships and school. I don’t read a ton of NA books but I have to say that I really liked this one! There are several narrators here, but the chapters are clearly labeled and it didn’t take me long to work out who was dating who and who lived with who. The two main protagonists are Alice and Jack. Alice has been in love with Jack since they met, but Jack is a player and he pushed Alice firmly into the friend zone straightaway. When Alice decides to try and forget about her feelings for Jack she starts dating his close friend and teammate, Peter. Of course Jack being a typical, clueless guy gets jealous and starts wondering if he should’ve dated Alice when had a chance. All of the characters here are attending Harvard and there’s a good mix of personalities and backgrounds. You have Alice and Jack who are both majoring in chemistry, Madison and Haley are Alice’s roommates and do computer coding and literature, respectively. Jack’s friends are mainly athletes, then there are a few chapters from Alice’s ex boyfriend Ethan and his new girlfriend Rose. It sounds like too much, but I promise it wasn’t confusing especially as they all interact with each frequently making it easy to establish their connections. I think that’s actually what set this apart from a typical story where friends turn to lovers for me. There were many side stories and relationships to follow and it kept me engaged. This was a really lighthearted and fun read, I’m all for some drama and they way they were hooking up and breaking up constantly made for some juicy scenes. Alice and Jack exchanged cute and playful banter that made me go awww, out loud a few times and I couldn’t help but root for them to figure it out and date each other already! Overall it was a cute and entertaining book that I read in a few hours.
    more
  • Isabella
    April 4, 2017
    I loved this book even more than the first one in the series and I'm glad this time (view spoiler)[ the two friends ended up together at the end (hide spoiler)] even if the author had me sweat about it a couple of times... it kept me on my toes until the end... can't wait for the next book to come out!
    more
  • Emma
    March 21, 2017
    I loved the second installment in the series even more than book 1. Maybe because this time (view spoiler)[the friends to lovers romance had its HEA (hide spoiler)]. Anyway, the way the two stories intersected and became one towards the end was pure genius! I also loved the sportish theme with the male leads all being part of a Basketball team.
    more
  • Amanda
    January 21, 2017
    2.5 *Somewhat long review* First, let me say that I got a free pre-order copy of this book by going to Camilla Isley website and entering her newsletter for upcoming books she has coming out. That being said I did feel this book was a improvement over 'Let's Be Just Friends', which if anyone were to check I gave a negative review for so I wasn't entirely sure that I would like any of the characters in this book. Which was one of many of my pet peeves of that book but before I get into what I did 2.5 *Somewhat long review* First, let me say that I got a free pre-order copy of this book by going to Camilla Isley website and entering her newsletter for upcoming books she has coming out. That being said I did feel this book was a improvement over 'Let's Be Just Friends', which if anyone were to check I gave a negative review for so I wasn't entirely sure that I would like any of the characters in this book. Which was one of many of my pet peeves of that book but before I get into what I didn't like about this book and why I gave the book the rating I did let me first say what I like about this book. Unlike in 'Let's Be Just Friends' I like the main characters Alice slightly better than Rose and Jack way better than Tyler, the friendship between Alice and Jack was more interesting and you really believe that these two were friends. *SPOILERS AHEAD*The story unfolds when Alice makes a not so good attempt at letting Jack know her real feeling for him by kissing him which understanding he rebuffs, thinking that the only reason she was trying to make a pass at him was do to her a breakup that happened earlier that night. Alice takes his rebuff to mean that he doesn't want a relationship with her when it was really that he didn't want to take advantage of their friendship, she then decides that she's tired of waiting for him to notice her and comes up with a plan to make him jealous. Enter Paul Jack's friend and captain of his basketball team, Alice starts a relationship with Paul and doesn't see her plan to make Jack jealous is working. Her new relationship causes trouble and a rift between the 2 year friendship she has with Jack, I gotta say out of both journeys I prefer Jack's journey of if the feelings he has for Alice is pure friendship or more to Alice 'I'll make Jack jealous by dating his friend' journey. Her friends even tried to warn her that her plan would backfire and it did, Jack was jealous and did try to once to break them up at the start of the relationship but decided that if she really wanted to date Paul that he wouldn't interfere. NEVER date the friend of the person you really want to be with it cause unnecessary drama and makes it seem like you really didn't have deeper feelings for them. Even though I like this book better than the first one, there were still problems I had with this story biggest one is LACK OF COMMUNICATION, Alice spends a great deal of the book dismissing Jack's blatant obvious affects her relationship is having on him and that his feelings for her aren't platonic. Considering how she was once the one who was feeling jealous about the girls Jack would go out with she should have been able to pick up that that's how Jack was reacting to her relationship with Paul. There are other problems but I don't want to give away the entire book let's just say that if something happens before a friendship occurred shouldn't be made into such a big deal once the person finds out. I also wish that none of the characters from the first book made appearance in this book if it weren't for that and the problems I had with the story the rating would be higher.
    more
  • Camilla Isley
    February 10, 2017
    Friend Zone is out everywhere!AmazoniBooksGooglePlayB&NKoboYou can get it at all retailers or read it free when you join my Readers' Group...join here -> www.camillaisley.com/freebieHappy reading ;)
  • Amy Johnson
    January 22, 2017
    I really enjoyed "Friend Zone" by Camilla Isley. I was given an advance copy to read in exchange for an honest review. The book is the second in a new series based on the premise of best friends falling in love or not in some cases. I've loved everything Camilla has written to date and even though I thought this wasn't her best work - it was still very enjoyable to read. It was well written, I just had a harder time connecting with the characters in this book for some reason. Give it a chance th I really enjoyed "Friend Zone" by Camilla Isley. I was given an advance copy to read in exchange for an honest review. The book is the second in a new series based on the premise of best friends falling in love or not in some cases. I've loved everything Camilla has written to date and even though I thought this wasn't her best work - it was still very enjoyable to read. It was well written, I just had a harder time connecting with the characters in this book for some reason. Give it a chance though, it might have been my frame of mind this weekend. Overall, still worth the money.Happy Reading...enjoy!
    more
  • Khrystena
    January 27, 2017
    I received an advanced copy for an honest review I read a lot of books in a year. I don't usually get advanced copies from authors, but I found Sudden Crush by Camilla Isley not long ago and she quickly became a favourite and must read author of mine. Alice, Jack and Peter have their whole lives in front of them, but it is nice that they have their heads on their shoulders and aren't just in University (College) for the party. Still making decisions like a college student would make. Can't fault I received an advanced copy for an honest review I read a lot of books in a year. I don't usually get advanced copies from authors, but I found Sudden Crush by Camilla Isley not long ago and she quickly became a favourite and must read author of mine. Alice, Jack and Peter have their whole lives in front of them, but it is nice that they have their heads on their shoulders and aren't just in University (College) for the party. Still making decisions like a college student would make. Can't fault the characters and any of their flaws. I might not be that age, but I can understand that everything isn't clear cut when you're living in that moment of time. I enjoyed it very much and was able to read it in a day. Makes for a nice read. Not overly emotional and not wanting to get mad at the characters for horrible attributes marks this as a 4* read for me!
    more
  • Fiona Bauer
    March 13, 2017
    A great sequel and the perfect friends to lovers romance. I loved how the book was in a series but also felt like a completely new one, the stories from the first book and this one overlapped beautifully. And Jack! AWWWW.
  • Sally Eastwood
    January 25, 2017
    I am glad I got to finish the series of this book set. it was all wrapped up quite nicely for me. really enjoyed getting to know the characters. would definitely read more if there happens to be more in the future.
  • Natasha Chowdory
    March 8, 2017
    I need to stop buying these books.
  • Me
    February 6, 2017
    I got the book as an advance reading copy in exchange for a review. I had just read the previous one - Let's just be friends - so I was curious to see what this new story would be like. It was a quick read and I quite enjoyed the story. It was also nice seeing a different part of the story of the characters of the previous book and how they relate to the ones in this one. I'd recommend it especially if you want to read something light and sweet, and I'll be reading more of Camilla's books for su I got the book as an advance reading copy in exchange for a review. I had just read the previous one - Let's just be friends - so I was curious to see what this new story would be like. It was a quick read and I quite enjoyed the story. It was also nice seeing a different part of the story of the characters of the previous book and how they relate to the ones in this one. I'd recommend it especially if you want to read something light and sweet, and I'll be reading more of Camilla's books for sure.
    more
  • Adele
    February 12, 2017
    Friend Zone – sees us continuing on from the story from Let’s Just Be Friends with a startling discovery. We are then transported back to 7 months previously when we are introduced to new friends struggling with their feelings for each other. This story focuses on Alice and Jack. Alice and Jack are studying the same course in college and as soon as Alice met Jack she felt strong feelings for him. However, Alice didn’t reveal her true feelings to Jack for a long time but after making a pass at hi Friend Zone – sees us continuing on from the story from Let’s Just Be Friends with a startling discovery. We are then transported back to 7 months previously when we are introduced to new friends struggling with their feelings for each other. This story focuses on Alice and Jack. Alice and Jack are studying the same course in college and as soon as Alice met Jack she felt strong feelings for him. However, Alice didn’t reveal her true feelings to Jack for a long time but after making a pass at him and being rebuked by him she is embarrassed and angry with herself. She vows to make him jealous and starts dating his ‘wingman’ and super popular captain of the basketball team Peter. Peter is a player but when he meets Alice he sees more in her than his previous one night stands and a serious relationship develops between Alice and Peter. This brings outrage to Jack and his jealousy spirals out of control. Once again we are treated to chapters from different character perspectives with the young adults battling their confused emotions with each other. Has Jack left it too late?Another great fun love story from Camilla Isley that concludes the story in Let’s Just Be Friends and introduces us to more friends with heart breaking turmoil.
    more
Write a review