North to You (Journey to the Heart #1)
In this warmhearted and charming debut from Tif Marcelo, a food truck chef and her long lost Army love clash when they cross paths in San Francisco.Camille Marino has got a full plate. As the sole guardian of her eighteen-year-old sister and the head chef and owner of a food truck, she’s used to life being a juggling act. With food to cook, social media accounts to manage, and a little sister to look after, she doesn’t have time for much else.That is, until Drew Bautista walks back into her life.Drew is Camille’s former high school crush and he returns to San Francisco to repair his relationship with his father before he ships out for deployment. By helping his father renovate his failing Filipino restaurant, he hopes to win back his respect. But when sparks fly between Drew and Camille—his father’s major competition and sworn enemy—Drew is conflicted. Should he join his father in the war against her food truck? Or surrender to the woman who’s given him a second chance at love?

North to You (Journey to the Heart #1) Details

TitleNorth to You (Journey to the Heart #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 5th, 2017
PublisherPocket Star
Number of pages315 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, New Adult

North to You (Journey to the Heart #1) Review

  • Nissa | Of Pens and Pages Book Blog
    June 6, 2017
    4.5 stars!Review, Excerpt, Author Interview, and Giveaway at Of Pens and Pages.North to You is a sweet story of food, love, family, and second chances that will touch your heart and make your mouth water.Ten years after she moved out of town with her sister, Camille Marino is back in the Bay Area with a food truck that is slowly building their reputation and gaining loyal customers. While she and her best friend, Jaz, are scoping out the competition at the local food festival, Camille bumps into 4.5 stars!Review, Excerpt, Author Interview, and Giveaway at Of Pens and Pages.North to You is a sweet story of food, love, family, and second chances that will touch your heart and make your mouth water.Ten years after she moved out of town with her sister, Camille Marino is back in the Bay Area with a food truck that is slowly building their reputation and gaining loyal customers. While she and her best friend, Jaz, are scoping out the competition at the local food festival, Camille bumps into her childhood crush, Andrew Bautista.Andrew Bautista is in town for a month to mend things with his father before he leaves for his deployment in Iraq. Instead of a month to relax and catch up with his family, he is dragged in to help renovate the family restaurant and be there for the grand reopening. Things are still testy between father and son, and when a food truck parks in front of their restaurant, Drew has no choice but to help his father crush the competition.It’s a pleasant surprise when he finds Camille in his arms, but he sees it as an opportunity to catch up with his high school sweetheart and spend time with her again. When he finds out that the competition is none other than Camille, he’s going to have to choose between her or his family.This book made me giggle like a schoolgirl. Seriously, you guys. Drew and Camille’s romance is so sweet! These two have history and a connection that never really went away. I had so much kilig while reading each interaction between them. Drew was persistent in his pursuit, but he was always the perfect gentleman, and ugh honestly, it made me gush and swoon.All of the characters were likable, Drew and Camille especially. They both have crosses to bear, but they’re strong and determined to succeed in their endeavors.Camille is kind, mature, and reliable, but Jaz and her sister both agree she needs to let go. After their parents died and their nonna a few years later, Camille took the role of parent/guardian to Ally. With responsibilities all around her, she never really had time or energy to “let go”. It was nice and sweet to see her finally relax with Drew.I have so much love for Drew. I related so much to him, with his relationship with his family and his reasons for leaving the nest. He’s also sweet, funny, and affectionate. Plus he’s such a gentleman!Ms. Marcelo was able to portray such a genuine depiction of a Filipino family—strict and overbearing but well-meaning and caring parents, and close ties with immediate and extended family. Despite the close relationship between family members, sometimes feelings and emotions aren’t the easiest of subjects. It’s why the scene between Drew and his father made me tear up. Those emotional confrontations don’t usually happen, so when they do, it opens up the flood gates.Food, family, and love. Those three always go hand in hand in a typical Filipino family dynamic. You can’t have one without the other.My high rating did not come from my bias towards the Filipino aspect of the story, although it’s what peaked my interest. North to You had the perfect mix of the light and fluffy, and the heavy and steamy. The food—Italian and Filipino—made my stomach rumble. And the ending left me happy and satisfied.North to You is the first standalone in the Journey to the Heart series and is told in alternating POVs. Foodies and romance lovers will definitely enjoy this fresh, light, and heartwarming story.Just an FYI: the rough translation of kilig is *feels*.*ARC received in exchange for an honest review. Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Ari (The Daydreaming Bookworm)
    May 23, 2017
    Original review: The Daydreaming Bookworm*I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review.* *4.5 Stars!* While scoping out the food truck competition at a local festival, Camille Marino finds her way back into the arms of her high school love, Andrew Bautista. It’s been ten years since these two last saw each other and so much has changed. Camille is now an ambitious food truck owner who dreams of making it big and Andrew is a soldier who has returned h Original review: The Daydreaming Bookworm*I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review.* *4.5 Stars!* While scoping out the food truck competition at a local festival, Camille Marino finds her way back into the arms of her high school love, Andrew Bautista. It’s been ten years since these two last saw each other and so much has changed. Camille is now an ambitious food truck owner who dreams of making it big and Andrew is a soldier who has returned home to mend fences with his father before leaving for deployment. Andrew hopes that by helping his father renovate his restaurant, it will help to bring them closer and ease the tension between them. A roadblock emerges when a new food truck decides to park in front of his father’s restaurant, creating competition and stealing away their business. But when Andrew finds out that his new competition is none other than Camille, he will have to choose between family and the girl who owns his heart.SAY HELLO TO THE CUTEST FOODIE ROMANCE YOU’LL EVER READ!I had no idea what to expect when I first started Tif Marcelo’s debut novel, North to You. I requested the book on a whim after seeing a food truck on the cover because you can never go wrong when it comes to foodie romance and I’m actually happy I went into this book blind because it ended up surprising me in more ways than one. North to You is a second-chance romance about family, friendship, and falling in love while chasing after your dreams. I kid you not, I fell in love with this book after I realized it was a second-chance romance because I can’t resist my favorite trope. But the second-chance romance was only one of the many things I loved about this book. Marcelo’s writing is entertaining and full of culture and I couldn’t put it down. Andrew is Filipino and I really enjoyed learning more about Filipino culture, ESPECIALLY THE FOOD BECAUSE IT ALL SOUNDED SO YUMMY! Camille is a girl after my own heart. She’s faced many losses in life, but she doesn’t let it hold her back. She is determined to make it in the food truck industry even after being knocked down a few times. I admire her go-getter work ethics and I wanted her to succeed in dominating the food truck industry. Then we have Andrew, a charming soldier who instantly stole my heart the moment he first landed on the page! Seriously y’all, Andrew is one of the most sweetest heroes I’ve ever read about and is totally book boyfriend material. Andrew also has his own dreams and it doesn’t involve running his father’s restaurant the rest of his life. He struggles throughout this book between trying to do what’s right for him and trying to please his father and it’s not an easy decision to make, but he comes to the realization that he has to do what’s best for him in the end.THE ROMANCE IN THIS BOOK IS GOALS!I WAS SCREAMING WHILE READING ALL THE SWEET MOMENTS BETWEEN CAMILLE AND ANDREW BECAUSE I SIMPLY COULD NOT DEAL! I loved the flashback moments and getting to see how these two met and fell in love. I loved the slow-burn, the banter, seeing these two cook together…PRETTY MUCH EVERY SCENE INVOLVING THESE TWO HAD ME DEAD! North to You is a second-chance foodie romance that gave me all the feels and I HIGHLY recommend this book to all my fellow romance readers out there! Tif Marcelo is definitely an author to keep an eye out for and I eagerly await her sophomore novel releasing later this year.
    more
  • Kate (GirlReading)
    June 12, 2017
    I LOVED this!!North to You is a foodie, romantic, second chance novel that had me hooked from the first page. With quotes from Paul Hollywood, a main character who watches Heart of Dixie (which one of my favourite shows but painfully underrated, so this was hugely appreciated!) and so.much.food. It was almost impossible for me not to fall for this book. There were romantic, platonic, business and family relationships present and I loved reading about each of them and their different dynamics. I I LOVED this!!North to You is a foodie, romantic, second chance novel that had me hooked from the first page. With quotes from Paul Hollywood, a main character who watches Heart of Dixie (which one of my favourite shows but painfully underrated, so this was hugely appreciated!) and so.much.food. It was almost impossible for me not to fall for this book. There were romantic, platonic, business and family relationships present and I loved reading about each of them and their different dynamics. I loved that North to You wasn't purely focused the physical relationships, there was a genuine plot and a fantastic one at that. For some reason it somewhat reminded me of Jane the Virgin (and this may very well be because I've been majorly binge watching the series lately...) but it gave me a familiar vibe. There was a similar female friendship, the main character was greatly inspired in life by her grandmother and like Jane and her writing, Camille was also taking risks in her career, following something creative by pursuing her culinary passion. Okay, so that's very much where the familiarities stop and I'm aware this probably sounds ridiculous but there was just something about it that gave me the same comfortable, happy feeling I get whilst watching Jane The Virgin... Something I absolutely LOVED, was the food aspect. I'm a foodie and always drawn to books with cooking as a main plot point (which needs to happen more please?!) so this instantly appealed to me but the thing I enjoyed so much about this, was how unique it was. Drew's family own a Filipino restaurant, so the introduction to different foods, dishes and ways of cooking was so refreshing and interesting! I also hadn't quite anticipated this making me want to run away to San Fransisco and run a food truck!! Overall, this was fantastic. It had everything you could want in a book, plus cake pops. It had romance, depth, family, second chances and so much more, whilst also delving into the culinary business and Filipino culture. Simple put, I loved it. I'm ecstatic that this is the first in a series and one that I absolutely can't want to continue with!
    more
  • Ian
    April 17, 2017
    In the cut-throat world of street food, it's not just about serving great food, it's also about having a great spot, loyal customers and impressing the food critics. Camille owns Luciana's, a popular but not famous food truck in the Bay Area of San Francisco. She has loyal customers, a good spot and it's only a matter of time before the critics start to pay attention. Then she refuses to serve a rowdy customer who just so happens to be a local sporting hero and overnight she finds herself no lon In the cut-throat world of street food, it's not just about serving great food, it's also about having a great spot, loyal customers and impressing the food critics. Camille owns Luciana's, a popular but not famous food truck in the Bay Area of San Francisco. She has loyal customers, a good spot and it's only a matter of time before the critics start to pay attention. Then she refuses to serve a rowdy customer who just so happens to be a local sporting hero and overnight she finds herself no longer welcome in her prime location and on the receiving end of a social media backlash. With little choice she moves out of the Bay Area and into the suburbs and sets up on the Great Highway overlooking Ocean Beach. But she finds a whole new set of problems. A local restaurant doesn't appreciate her presence and is making life difficult for her. With a month off before he deploys to Iraq, Drew has returned home to patch up his relationship with his dad. When he runs into Camille his high school crush at the Bay to Breakers he jumps at the chance to rekindle the old spark. But his father owns the restaurant that is causing Camille problems and he finds himself having to choose between his family and Camille. North to You is just great. It's original and buzzes along with an electricity I don't often come across. It's not perfect, I think the whole Lois not knowing Clark Kent is Superman was a little overplayed but what the hell! It's a debut and honestly it's so much fun that I don't really care. This is a book I will be thinking about for weeks and maybe even months.Many thanks to Pocket Books and Netgalley for providing me with this ARC
    more
  • Mandi Schreiner
    June 5, 2017
    Favorite Quote: "I don't think I can be a gentleman for much longer." I suck in a breath as her hands come forward to the buckle of my belt."I don't think I asked you to be one." She jerks me closer. Debut author? Check. A heroine who owns a food truck? Check. A hero who is a super good guy and gets a second chance at wooing his girl? CHECK.Drew is in the army but home on leave for a few weeks in his home town of San Francisco. His parents, from the Philippines, own a Filipino restaurant called Favorite Quote: "I don't think I can be a gentleman for much longer." I suck in a breath as her hands come forward to the buckle of my belt."I don't think I asked you to be one." She jerks me closer. Debut author? Check. A heroine who owns a food truck? Check. A hero who is a super good guy and gets a second chance at wooing his girl? CHECK.Drew is in the army but home on leave for a few weeks in his home town of San Francisco. His parents, from the Philippines, own a Filipino restaurant called True North that needs some updates and a new image. His family is very close-knit, and Drew's father really wants Drew to abandon the army and come back home and run the restaurant - but this is not what Drew wants. He doesn't mind helping out while he is home on leave, but managing a restaurant is not something he sees for his future.Out one night with his buddies, he runs into his former crush from high school, Camille and he can't believe it. Camille owns a food truck called Lucianna, and she specializes in homemade breads, meatballs and paninis. She does well for herself as her food is amazing and she utilizes social media well. The food truck business in San Francisco is very competitive though, so it's always stressful making sure you have a good spot and trying to out do your competitors. Camille is dedicated to this and is very passionate about this industry. She too is shocked to see Drew. Having dated briefly but intensely in high school, only to have Camille move away very suddenly, their reunion is a bit awkward. But Drew wants to rekindle their romance, badly. Camille is definitely interested but also a bit wary as she knows Drew only has a limited amount of time before he has to go back to the middle east.This man and I know nothing about each other as adults except for what we revealed in the last hour. He knows nothing of my dreams and hopes. I don't understand the life he's chosen. And yet I'm bound to him with leftover feelings that are so innocent and pure, feelings I'm not sure where to place now that they've been pulled from memories packed away.One thing is sure. Right now is perfect.I approach him, place my hands on his chest.He rests his fingers lightly on my waist. "Camille - "I stop him with a kiss.They start a sexy romance but they each keep a secret - Camille doesn't tell Drew she owns Lucianna and Drew doesn't tell Cam his family owns True North - and when she starts parking outside of True North, this causes some competitive drama between the two.This author does such a nice job not only in letting the readers really get to know Camille and Drew well but also immersing us in the food truck business. If you are a foodie, you will enjoy this book. I could see Camille preparing and selling all her food - the sights and sounds of it all. It made me damn hungry. Camille really wants to prove to herself and to the memory of her late grandmother that she can be successful at this. She puts a ton of pressure on herself, and you can feel that it really weighs her down. She also wants to be able to send her sister to an exclusive art school - more pressure to make things work. Drew is there as a great support system, even if he doesn't know at first exactly what she does. He finds out about her food truck first, and then keeps it a secret that his family owns True North - as there is a little social media war between the two. But Drew is such a good guy. Trying to help his family out with the restaurant, and trying not to let the guilt of not following in his father's footsteps overcome him. His parents put pressure on him and he learns to stand up for himself and draw up some solid boundaries. I liked his back story a lot.Their romance builds at a steady pace throughout the book and made me smile a lot. The author allows Drew to court Camille and it's so romantic. They do silly tourist stuff, and just hang out and get to know one another.I'm hoping book two features two supporting characters in this book who have a secretive romance of their own.Definitely give this one a try.Grade: B+
    more
  • Liv (Olivia Chanel's Galaxy of Books)
    June 13, 2017
    I'm pretty sure this is one of the best romance novels I've ever read. I'm so in love with Drew and Cami and North to You took my breath away. I'll write a review but to summarize, just wow if you want a really amazing romance then you need to read this one. TRUST ME ON THIS, NORTH TO YOU WILL NOT DISAPPOINT IN ANYWAY. IT IS AMAZING.
    more
  • Tracie Runge
    April 14, 2017
    North to You is a lovely debut for author Tif Marcelo. I really enjoyed reading this story, the characters were great and the storyline sweet and endearing. I look forward to reading more by this author.
  • Silvana [The Book Voyagers]
    May 30, 2017
    Definitely check out North to You if you are a lover of foodie romances, because the heroine owns a food truck and the hero's family owns a Filipino restaurant. They both are at odds, his family and the heroine, because her food truck is in front of their restaurant so the clients gravitate towards her food instead of his family's restaurant, so his dad declares she is enemy numero uno.It's also a second chance romance book because Camille and Drew knew each other in high school and had this cut Definitely check out North to You if you are a lover of foodie romances, because the heroine owns a food truck and the hero's family owns a Filipino restaurant. They both are at odds, his family and the heroine, because her food truck is in front of their restaurant so the clients gravitate towards her food instead of his family's restaurant, so his dad declares she is enemy numero uno.It's also a second chance romance book because Camille and Drew knew each other in high school and had this cute and sweet relationship that lasted not many months but they both still hold each other dear. When they meet again it's like coming home for each of them. They feel like the only thing missing in their lives right now is each other. It's so adorable and cute to see their relationship grow since the first meeting (which in fact holds A KISS because Camille needed help so she told Drew to kiss her). Drew is the definition of a Soft hero who is content with being by the heroine's side in any way possible. He wants to support her and her business and wants everything for her. He's so amazing and you can see how much love he has for Camille and he lit wants to spend the rest of his life with her. I adore. I am 10/10 on board for the next book, give me fake dating and reality show. This is my calling.
    more
  • The Book Junkie Reads . . .
    June 5, 2017
    My heart was warmed and lightened by this beautiful romance that held my emotions. This romance was a second chance to make all their dreams come true except on things stood in their way. Family. Sometimes family has a way of making your life more complicated than it ought to be. I found a unique spin on the romance of chef (food truck) and a soldier soon to be deployed. I loved their chemistry. I loved how hey interacted with each other. I found that this was more than I initially bargained for My heart was warmed and lightened by this beautiful romance that held my emotions. This romance was a second chance to make all their dreams come true except on things stood in their way. Family. Sometimes family has a way of making your life more complicated than it ought to be. I found a unique spin on the romance of chef (food truck) and a soldier soon to be deployed. I loved their chemistry. I loved how hey interacted with each other. I found that this was more than I initially bargained for. I got me a good read that had a nice pace, some minor flaws, some annoying people, some good food, some delicious banter, and a warm second chance romance. North to You open a new door to romance in this time frame. Not every romance have to have a millionaire, billionaire, bad boy attached to it. This was average America with family issues both inside the family and out. A romance that was on a timeline due to deployment and much more. Camille had her work cut out for her to win a standing, make a stand and claim what was hers. Drew was working hard to create a new relationship, mend an old relationship and still stay true to himself. Its that second time around that makes it all worth it.
    more
  • ♥ BRITTNI *BLISSFULLY-READ* ♥
    June 10, 2017
    Review to come!!
  • Gaele
    June 9, 2017
    4.5 stars – Rounded A wonderfully rich second chance romance with a foodie theme, Tif Marcelo brings us the story of Camille and Drew, some years after their first romance soured. Having had a restaurant that was on the edge of being the next big thing, refusing to serve one rowdy but well-known favorite sport hero left Camille with few options and a need to leave. Picking up her life with a busy and well-regarded food truck, she’s managing her work and her younger sister that she cares for, and 4.5 stars – Rounded A wonderfully rich second chance romance with a foodie theme, Tif Marcelo brings us the story of Camille and Drew, some years after their first romance soured. Having had a restaurant that was on the edge of being the next big thing, refusing to serve one rowdy but well-known favorite sport hero left Camille with few options and a need to leave. Picking up her life with a busy and well-regarded food truck, she’s managing her work and her younger sister that she cares for, and little room is left for other things. But a chance encounter with her high school ex, back in town to help with his father’s Filipino restaurant: the two come face to face for the first time in ages. As direct competition to Drew’s family restaurant, there are choices: work on his relationship with family and shun and battle Camille and her truck, or take a chance at love with Camille once again. I was so pleasantly surprised with this debut: Marcelo obviously knows her characters well, and she’s added scenery, smells and food to enliven and deepen the story’s impact. With both Camille and Andrew having a wonderful sense of family loyalty, determination and a never-say-die attitude toward achieving their dreams, they are perfectly suited, even as I felt that Camille would have known that the restaurant she is parking in front of (and taking business from) was also the family business of her newly reacquainted love interest. Their early story is provided in flashback, and when you combine those sweet and innocent moments with the actual sparks that flash between them now, the cuteness overload on this one was high. While not without a few repeat issues and one thread that just got old quickly, the story was engaging, adorable and clever: clever enough that I’m curious to see what the next in the series will bring. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. Review first appeared at I am, Indeed
    more
  • Stephanie
    June 11, 2017
    North to You is everything I love in a romance! I adored this book. From the San Francisco setting, the food truck and delicious descriptions, to the Filippino Army hottie on leave, I ate up every word. The story takes the 'reunited lovers' trope (they knew each other in high school) and takes it so many fresh directions. Several times, the story made great choices that felt natural to the characters rather than an expected or assumed trope. The writing here is excellent. I enjoyed the supportin North to You is everything I love in a romance! I adored this book. From the San Francisco setting, the food truck and delicious descriptions, to the Filippino Army hottie on leave, I ate up every word. The story takes the 'reunited lovers' trope (they knew each other in high school) and takes it so many fresh directions. Several times, the story made great choices that felt natural to the characters rather than an expected or assumed trope. The writing here is excellent. I enjoyed the supporting cast--Drew's family, Camille's sister and Jaz who helps her run the food truck. I can't wait to read the next book in this new series. Highly recommended!
    more
  • JG
    June 4, 2017
    North To You is a sweet second chance romance which happens to have my second most favorite thing in the world as plot device, food! This is also happens to be a debut novel from Tif Marcelo and it was really good one, well written, smooth plot and very likable characters. Camille and Drew's romance is feel good with a lot of the usual romantic tropes in play but still makes it all a little bit fresh. *ARC provided thru NetGalley*
    more
  • Dawn Poss
    June 13, 2017
    This debut novel is amazing! I could not put it down! I needed to know what was next with Camille and Drew. I especially loved the alternating voices and perspectives. Drew's chapters read like a male wrote them, not a female trying to sound male. Good balance of romance and steam! Bravo! Looking forward to the next installment (and trying out the recipe!)
    more
  • Danielle from Short and Sassy
    June 19, 2017
    This book was cute but very slow. I was excited to read a book about San Francisco because we lived there for a few years. I wanted to love it, but it was meh...It was a little too sweet for my taste.
  • Sheryl
    April 18, 2017
    One of the BEST debuts I have read in a long time!!! Such a sweet AND sexy read!!!*ARC courtesy of Netgalley and Pocket Books*
  • Lovely Loveday
    April 21, 2017
    North to You by Tif Marcelo will be released on June 5, 2017 by Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books. This book is about a street food vendor named Camille. She owns Luciana’s, a popular but not famous food truck in the Bay Area of San Francisco. While at work in her food truck, she must learn what it takes to make it and get the food critics attention. One day while at a food festival see runs into her high school crush, Drew. He is on leave and before he is deployed back to Iraq he wants to patch North to You by Tif Marcelo will be released on June 5, 2017 by Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books. This book is about a street food vendor named Camille. She owns Luciana’s, a popular but not famous food truck in the Bay Area of San Francisco. While at work in her food truck, she must learn what it takes to make it and get the food critics attention. One day while at a food festival see runs into her high school crush, Drew. He is on leave and before he is deployed back to Iraq he wants to patch things up with his dad. But his father owns the restaurant that is causing Camille problems with her food truck. Soon Drew finds himself having to choose between his family and Camille. Marcelo creates a very unique plot line that is perfect for romance. The characters he created have a deep back story that adds to the overall story. I found the ending to be a surprise that I did not see coming. I highly recommend this book and look forward to more from this author. **I received an Advanced Readers Copy of this book in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.**
    more
  • Bec
    June 8, 2017
    Camille Marino and Drew Bautista were very close back in High School. Yet, they lost touch, but now find themselves living in the same city again. However, Camille already has too many responsibilities taking up too much of her time without adding a relationship with her high school crush to her plate. But the more time she spends with Drew, the more she finds herself falling for him all over again. Will they get a second shot at forever love, or will Drew's secret ruin any chance they have at h Camille Marino and Drew Bautista were very close back in High School. Yet, they lost touch, but now find themselves living in the same city again. However, Camille already has too many responsibilities taking up too much of her time without adding a relationship with her high school crush to her plate. But the more time she spends with Drew, the more she finds herself falling for him all over again. Will they get a second shot at forever love, or will Drew's secret ruin any chance they have at happy ever after?What an astounding and completely spell-binding read Ms. Marcelo has penned in this first book of her Journey to the Heart series, which encompasses the second chance romance trope, wonderful characters that have some tough obstacles to overcome and dialogue that had me hooked due to the restaurant wars type storyline that sees the heroine's feisty temper come to the forefront. Seriously, that saying of the customer is always right isn't always true, especially when they can't show a lick of respect for the person serving them. The way this story started had me liking the heroine immediately, as she needs to let her hair down -- so to speak -- and have a good time. But it's hard for her to do when she's the guardian of her sister and the owner of a food truck that has to compete for the right location. Will she find the perfect spot? What competition will she have if she does? How much grief will she cop from businesses where she parks her food truck? The dialogue was well-written and in the first person, which usually bothers me, but I found myself liking it. Because the words flowed really well and the storyline was more than enough to keep me entertained. So much so that I found myself not caring that it was in the first person. The dialogue was also a nice mix of intense moments and playful banter and I loved every moment Drew and Camille interacted, as she did her best to keep from getting too involved with the hero. How long will she be able to resist him for? Both the hero and heroine were riveting characters and had me hooked due to their back stories, especially that of the hero. He went completely against what his parents wanted him to do for his future, and it's hard for him to be around his father because it seems the man is disappointed in him. However, in saying that, I liked that Drew was willing to help his family out the way he does, because he knows he needs to try and repair the relationship between them. But what I liked most of all about the hero is how far he was willing to go to protect Camille when it came to her business. No way could he lose her after having her back in his life again. While the heroine, she goes through a lot in this story and has a few tough obstacles to overcome such as the possibility of losing her food truck, whether she can scrap together the money to pay for her sister's tuition, and what happens towards the end that tears apart her and Drew's relationship. Will Camille be able to forgive him? Moreover, she's strong, brave and I liked her fiery side when she's determined to stand up for what's right when it comes to people acting like jerks.Finally, this story was a delightful read where the strong chemistry between Drew and Camille makes for entertaining reading and a story that I could not put down. The way this story ended was perfect, as Camille is determined to make things right with Drew. Especially since there's no way she can let him put so much distance between them without resolving what went wrong in their relationship and making him realize that she wants a future with him. However, it was the epilogue that wrapped this story up nicely, because of what's happened with Camille's business, the surprise Drew has for the heroine and how someone is determined to make things up to Camille after what they did. I would highly recommend North to You by Tif Marcelo, if you enjoy second chance romances.
    more
  • Kathy (My Nook Books and More)
    June 17, 2017
    North to You is a sweet and heartwarming second chance romance. I loved everything about this book!I was drawn to this book for the following reasons:• It is set in San Francisco (I’m a Bay Area native)• There are food trucks (just mention food and I’m there)• A soldier (I love and respect the men and women who have sacrificed for our country)• A Filipino main character (I’m Filipina-American and we need more books with diversity!)North to You touched my heart. Camille and Drew’s romance began i North to You is a sweet and heartwarming second chance romance. I loved everything about this book!I was drawn to this book for the following reasons:• It is set in San Francisco (I’m a Bay Area native)• There are food trucks (just mention food and I’m there)• A soldier (I love and respect the men and women who have sacrificed for our country)• A Filipino main character (I’m Filipina-American and we need more books with diversity!)North to You touched my heart. Camille and Drew’s romance began in high school and they are reunited as adults. High school romances are cute and sweet but now as adults their relationship is built on love and respect. They’ve both been dealing with challenges in their lives: Camille starting her food truck business and supporting her younger sister, while Drew had made a tough choice to pursue his dreams which resulted in him being a disappointment to his father. When they stumble across each other it is fate and they become each other’s chance of happiness in their stressful lives. I loved how they reconnected and their touristy dates around San Francisco brought back great memories of my own dates with my husband. Their story reminded me of my favorite movie You Got Mail in which Camille and Drew gave each other advice not knowing their businesses are in competition with each other. It has been a long time since I’ve come across a story that moved me to tears. North to You is not just a second chance romance, but it is also about family. Camille is working hard so her sister Ally can attend a prestigious art college. When Camille’s plans hit some major roadblocks she is devastated and I cried a long with her. Camille had lost her parents and grandmother so she has taken on the roles as mother and sister for Ally. She had taken on the difficult responsibility so it was heartbreaking to see Camille’s dreams get shattered. Drew returned to San Francisco in the hopes of repairing his relationship with his father. Author Tif Marcelo brought to light the closeness and support that Filipino families are built on. Our families immigrated to the U.S. for a better future for their children. Because of their sacrifice a high expectation is put upon us to succeed and sometimes fulfill our parent’s dreams. I felt a strong connection with Drew because I understood the tough choices he had to make. The touching moments with his family and the Filipino comfort food brought back warm memories of my own time with my family.North to You is an impressive debut from author Tif Marcelo. The writing was perfect and the characters were well developed and people I would love to be friends with. I loved the romance, the family unity and the food! I can’t wait to read more from this author. I highly recommend this book to all romance fans!I received this book as a member of the XOXperts, XOXO After Dark’s official street team, in exchange for an honest review. Visit XOXOAfterDark.com for the best in romance, urban fantasy and women’s fiction.
    more
  • Janelle
    June 14, 2017
    Summary: Camille Marino owns an up-and-coming food truck in San Francisco. While the truck does well, she’s barely holding her head above water. Coupled with the challenges of being the guardian of her younger sister, Camille is in desperate need of a night out. She gets a little more than she bargained for when that night out leads to reconnecting with her first love, Drew Bautista.Drew is thrilled to see Camille again, though the timing could definitely be better. His Army unit will be shippin Summary: Camille Marino owns an up-and-coming food truck in San Francisco. While the truck does well, she’s barely holding her head above water. Coupled with the challenges of being the guardian of her younger sister, Camille is in desperate need of a night out. She gets a little more than she bargained for when that night out leads to reconnecting with her first love, Drew Bautista.Drew is thrilled to see Camille again, though the timing could definitely be better. His Army unit will be shipping out to Iraq in 30 days, and he’s home just long enough to try to patch things up with his dad.When it turns out that Camille’s food truck is the same truck that’s interfering with his father’s restaurant, Drew has to figure out how to juggle both his dad and Camille without letting either of them down.I’m not going to lie: you’re going to pick it up for the romance, but you’re going to stay for the food. I need more of the Bautista family Filipino dish recipes, please and thank you.The book gets points for the Asian American hero. It’s relatively chaste; I was almost convinced I was reading an inspirational romance when it took the couple a while to move beyond petting. (They do have premarital sex, so if that’s not your speed, this is not your book.)Drew and Camille are both adults who behave like it; there’s not a lot of miscommunication drama. There’s a bit which is baked into the plot to make it more palatable. Because Drew is leaving in a month, and because Camille just needs to relax a bit, she institutes a “no srs bsns talk” rule which predictably blows up.Overall, the book is a pleasant, if forgettable, read. Camille and Dan are earnest, but you aren't going to fall in love with either of them. Dan is a Nice Guy Who Respects Boundaries. Camille is a Hard Worker Who Does Too Much. If second chance romance is your thing, you might enjoy this one.I was a little dissatisfied with the ending because I felt it was a fairly clear case of HFN, which is an interesting way to kick off a series. Camille is set on staying in San Francisco, but Drew’s military career will take him to duty stations all over. There’s a bit of hand-waving over this looming conflict in the epilogue. I have no idea if it'll come back in subsequent books, but I'm almost curious.There are a couple of plot threads that seem like they’re setting up future books: Blake, Drew’s alcoholic buddy, Bryn, Drew’s cousin who plans to open her own restaurant, maybe a book for Jaz, Camille’s best friend and part-time employee. But none of the set-ups are compelling enough to make me want to read the next book.
    more
  • Brain Tabs
    June 13, 2017
    North to You is a story about second chances, family, love, and food that will tug at your heartstrings. I liked how this book is set in the US, but it's brimming with tidbits about the Filipino culture. I was able to relate to the Bautistas, how Drew sees food as an expression of love. I consider myself a foodie more than I am a reader, and this is because of how I was raised by my family. We eat to celebrate, but we also eat to lift our spirits when we're sad. Camille, on the other hand, is no North to You is a story about second chances, family, love, and food that will tug at your heartstrings. I liked how this book is set in the US, but it's brimming with tidbits about the Filipino culture. I was able to relate to the Bautistas, how Drew sees food as an expression of love. I consider myself a foodie more than I am a reader, and this is because of how I was raised by my family. We eat to celebrate, but we also eat to lift our spirits when we're sad. Camille, on the other hand, is not a Filipino in the story, but because she sacrifices for her sister Ally to be able to attend art school, I found her close to my heart too. Working hard to be able to provide for and help one's family is very Filipino. I rarely see that in US-set stories because Americans are more independent, in a sense.I also found Drew adorable. In many stories I've read, Army guys are usually portrayed with so much machismo, while Drew here is such a soft boy, It made me cry when he said that his worst thought is not being able to make things right with his Pop. He didn't pressure Camille into doing things she was not comfortable to do.Tif Marcelo is an author who has so much potential and I would love to read another book by her in the future.
    more
  • Brandy Thornton
    June 7, 2017
    This was Tif Marcelo's debut book. And it was awesome. It actually made me feel like I was reading about someone reals lives. It was fun and sexy and the story just flowed. It's also happens to be one of my favorite tropes, second chance love.Drew epitomizes what the perfect gentle should be like. Now I will admit I go more for the bad boy myself but there are so few men like Drew that he is just a breath of fresh air. He totally persues Cami with everything he has despite the obstacles that are This was Tif Marcelo's debut book. And it was awesome. It actually made me feel like I was reading about someone reals lives. It was fun and sexy and the story just flowed. It's also happens to be one of my favorite tropes, second chance love.Drew epitomizes what the perfect gentle should be like. Now I will admit I go more for the bad boy myself but there are so few men like Drew that he is just a breath of fresh air. He totally persues Cami with everything he has despite the obstacles that are waiting them. His actions made me falling in love with him immediately. I was actually jealous of Camille. And Camille is a strong and determined young woman that even though life has thrown so much at her she finds a way to come out on the bright end of the tunnel. You can tell right off that she is family oriented and also has a great head for business and how to market her business. Plus she is a kick ass chef too. Her reluctance to get serious with Drew was completely understandable too. I would have been reluctant too if I knew we only had a month together before he shipped out. Over all I just loved this story and can't wait for whats next. I can say without a doubt that I will be reading more by Tif Mearcelo. Kudos
    more
  • Valeen Robertson
    June 5, 2017
    North to You is an excellent debut novel for Tif Marcelo. Camille and Drew have a sweet chemistry and the concept is an interesting, unique one.Camille owns a popular panini food truck in the Bay Area. She's working on getting the word out about her truck, so she can pay off her debts and help send her younger sister to college, but it's not easy going considering that a local Filipino restaurant is making things really difficult for her truck. When she runs into her high school crush, Drew, at North to You is an excellent debut novel for Tif Marcelo. Camille and Drew have a sweet chemistry and the concept is an interesting, unique one.Camille owns a popular panini food truck in the Bay Area. She's working on getting the word out about her truck, so she can pay off her debts and help send her younger sister to college, but it's not easy going considering that a local Filipino restaurant is making things really difficult for her truck. When she runs into her high school crush, Drew, at Bay to Breakers, she isn't thrilled to see him. Well, she is, but she isn't. They soon find that they can't keep away from each other, though, and their chemistry is even more intense than it was in high school. But when Camille finds out the secret that Drew has been keeping from her, it has the power to destroy their burgeoning relationship.I really like North to You, it's well written with engaging, interesting characters. I love the fact that Drew is Filipino, as I don't often find characters of my own ethnicity in romances, and the premise of North to You is an out of the box, unique one. Kudos to Tif on her debut novel!I received an ARC through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Nicole
    June 14, 2017
    NORTH TO YOU is an amazing reading. It is so light and cute that it has been one of the best reading I have had during the last time. The romance is everywhere. Plus, this is an incredible second chance romance that deserves to be read by you all. And its plot is so good.You can easily feel Cam and Drew's chemistry along the story. Cam is disposed to do anything to see her little's sister's dreams come true --even if it means to sacrifice what she wants more. However, life can surprise you in ma NORTH TO YOU is an amazing reading. It is so light and cute that it has been one of the best reading I have had during the last time. The romance is everywhere. Plus, this is an incredible second chance romance that deserves to be read by you all. And its plot is so good.You can easily feel Cam and Drew's chemistry along the story. Cam is disposed to do anything to see her little's sister's dreams come true --even if it means to sacrifice what she wants more. However, life can surprise you in many ways. Drew knows what he has to do to "amend" his relationship with his dad. Yet, he is between a rock and a hard place when he has to make a decision regarding who is in future. Anyway, when Cam and Drew are together, it is like there is nothing else. I simply love it!!Of course, you get a lot more by reading their story. You may get hungry while reading... if it affects you to talk about food --delicious food. Plus, there are a couple of characters towards you may or may not develop a feeling, good or bad. But do not draw conclusions before you get to the best part. Wait for it!I completely recommend it if you like a cute, beautiful, and hot second chance romance with deserved HEA for its characters. +4 find-your-north stars
    more
  • Pau (Winter Aragon)
    June 12, 2017
    First and foremost, congratulations Tif Marcelo for your lovely and heartwarming debut novel! Andrew and Cami's story is so close to my heart. The fact that Andrew Bautista is a Filipino, his family owned a Filipino restaurant and the values and practices are much seen on him, I super love Drew! He is respectful, patient and understanding not only because he is in the army but it is because of his admirable personality. He knows his duty and responsibility and I salute him to the fullest. Camill First and foremost, congratulations Tif Marcelo for your lovely and heartwarming debut novel! Andrew and Cami's story is so close to my heart. The fact that Andrew Bautista is a Filipino, his family owned a Filipino restaurant and the values and practices are much seen on him, I super love Drew! He is respectful, patient and understanding not only because he is in the army but it is because of his admirable personality. He knows his duty and responsibility and I salute him to the fullest. Camille is a brave and determined protagonist. She is a reflection of a modern woman who would do every time for the family and achieving her dreams. She is a big sister that do not easily gives up. Reading this novel makes me hungry with the delicious Italian and Filipino dishes and reminisce the times that I was in San Francisco. Yes, I could relate to it and it was like going back to memory lane.I can't wait for the Journey to the Heart #2! I hope Cami and Drew are still in it because they are adorable and wonderful couple. Thank you for the ARC, Net Galley and Gallery, Threshold, Pocket Books!
    more
  • Amber
    June 11, 2017
    Cami has a lot on her plate right now. Her new food truck business is finally gaining speed and her 17 year old sister is graduating high school. Since their grandmother died, Cami is all the family that her sister has, and Cami is determined to make her sister's college dreams come true. She is stressed, but happy, and determined to make it all work. Drew was Cami's high school sweetheart until Cami's family abruptly moved away. He graduated high school and joined the army, where he has spent t Cami has a lot on her plate right now. Her new food truck business is finally gaining speed and her 17 year old sister is graduating high school. Since their grandmother died, Cami is all the family that her sister has, and Cami is determined to make her sister's college dreams come true. She is stressed, but happy, and determined to make it all work. Drew was Cami's high school sweetheart until Cami's family abruptly moved away. He graduated high school and joined the army, where he has spent the last decade. He comes home for a month before being deployed expecting to reconnect with his parents, but when he runs into Cami at a local festival he wants to catch up. Soon, they are spending as much time as they can together. There is one catch, though. Drew's restaurant owner dad considers Cami's food truck to be the enemy. In the meantime, time is ticking down until deployment. Cami and Drew try to enjoy the present, but they both know their time is limited. This was a cute book. I would give it 3.5 stars. I was asked by the author for an honest review.
    more
  • Mommaleena
    June 2, 2017
    North To You (Journey to the Heart Book 1) by Tiff Marcelo• “That family is everything.” What a GREAT story! And am AWESOME start for this debut author, I cannot wait to read more from her. This story had me smiling as well a bawling at times but it is SOOOOO worth the read is you enjoy reading love stories, I just can't say enough..... What a journey and a half, GREAT STORY! I cannot wait to read East In Paradise (Journey to the Heart Book 2) due Sept 2017. Due to sexual situations, this book i North To You (Journey to the Heart Book 1) by Tiff Marcelo• “That family is everything.” What a GREAT story! And am AWESOME start for this debut author, I cannot wait to read more from her. This story had me smiling as well a bawling at times but it is SOOOOO worth the read is you enjoy reading love stories, I just can't say enough..... What a journey and a half, GREAT STORY! I cannot wait to read East In Paradise (Journey to the Heart Book 2) due Sept 2017. Due to sexual situations, this book is recommended for readers 16 and older. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC copy of this book via Tasty Book Tours via NetGalley for an honest blog tour review. Favorite Passages ~• “Forget the tourist traps. I’m coming home for you. My true north.”• Perfectly imperfect, and exactly how it should be.• Let your food do the convincing.
    more
  • Christine Mize
    June 15, 2017
    What a fantastic debut! As a huge foodie, the peak into the world of food trucks and challenges that existing restaurants face was a blast! It was easy to fall in love with both the hero (Drew Bautista) and heroine (Camille Marino) each facing incredible challenges enough to bring most to their knees. To see them both get their happily ever after truly warms the heart. I do wish that some of the details in the middle of the book made the story drag just a bit and wish that the ending had been dr What a fantastic debut! As a huge foodie, the peak into the world of food trucks and challenges that existing restaurants face was a blast! It was easy to fall in love with both the hero (Drew Bautista) and heroine (Camille Marino) each facing incredible challenges enough to bring most to their knees. To see them both get their happily ever after truly warms the heart. I do wish that some of the details in the middle of the book made the story drag just a bit and wish that the ending had been drawn out a little more. But all-in-all, this was a wonderful warm read and I am really looking forward to Ms. Marcelo's next release!
    more
  • Kate
    June 14, 2017
    I have to admit that I thought this was way too cheesy. Our couple knew each other for three months as HS freshman, haven't spoken in about ten years, and then fall back into each other and act like they are each the only one the other has ever loved? IDK. I wanted to love this. I love the food trucks and the setting and the army/Filipino hero. But...too sweet for me. And I have to say that I HATED Drew's friend Blake the harasser and was flabbergasted when our heroines BFF turned out to be secr I have to admit that I thought this was way too cheesy. Our couple knew each other for three months as HS freshman, haven't spoken in about ten years, and then fall back into each other and act like they are each the only one the other has ever loved? IDK. I wanted to love this. I love the food trucks and the setting and the army/Filipino hero. But...too sweet for me. And I have to say that I HATED Drew's friend Blake the harasser and was flabbergasted when our heroines BFF turned out to be secretly seeing him.
    more
  • M
    June 13, 2017
    Found myself smiling and hungry!I normally don't care for any type of romance novels. But I decided to give this one a try. I'm so glad I did! North to You was both realistic and heartwarming. I actually found myself smiling and looking forward to the next chapter. I can't remember the last time I felt that way about a romance novel I loved the way everything was tied together....the recipes, cultural references, the location....it was great! Looking forward to trying the recipes ....and the nex Found myself smiling and hungry!I normally don't care for any type of romance novels. But I decided to give this one a try. I'm so glad I did! North to You was both realistic and heartwarming. I actually found myself smiling and looking forward to the next chapter. I can't remember the last time I felt that way about a romance novel I loved the way everything was tied together....the recipes, cultural references, the location....it was great! Looking forward to trying the recipes ....and the next book!
    more
Write a review