The Tutor
After a party gone wrong and in desperate need of money for the fall semester of college, twenty-year-old Nora Robertson needs to escape her hometown. She accepts a summer long live-in tutoring job for a handsome man and his little sister at a secluded home deep in the mountains.There is no running water.No electricity.No internet or cell service.When her tutoring job ends she's hit with a brutal turn of events ... she's not permitted to leave. After months in captivity, she makes a harrowing escape with her student that ends in a car accident on a desolate road. When Nora comes to, her student is missing. In a desperate attempt to find the girl, Nora will have to recount her time held captive. The good and the bad. Can Nora and the authorities work together to find the man who took her? Will they rescue the girl Nora tried to save?Author’s Note: This is a dark romantic suspense. Trigger warning: all of them. This will not elicit warm fuzzy feelings

The Tutor Details

TitleThe Tutor
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
ISBN1546307702
ISBN-139781546307709
Rating
GenreDark, Suspense, Romance, Mystery

The Tutor Review

  • Jennifer Kyle
    June 8, 2017
    3.75 - 4 Stars This is a decent dark story it does however take a bit to get into as to the who is who in the storyline. My big issue was that I was waiting for a twist or two and sadly there wasn't one. Still I enjoyed the delivery and I absolutely adored this quote: "He was busy finding faults in me, while I was busy overlooking his."
    more
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    May 25, 2017
    Fabulous cover on this one. Great representation of the story and heroine. Great compostition and great title work.Vague is the name of the game for this review. I don't want to give too much away because this is a book best gone into without any spoilers. I will say that it was fantastically well written and paced. It had twists and turns. It had well developed and interesting characters. It was full of multiple POVs that I usually would find jarring but worked well in this instance as they all Fabulous cover on this one. Great representation of the story and heroine. Great compostition and great title work.Vague is the name of the game for this review. I don't want to give too much away because this is a book best gone into without any spoilers. I will say that it was fantastically well written and paced. It had twists and turns. It had well developed and interesting characters. It was full of multiple POVs that I usually would find jarring but worked well in this instance as they all added a unique perspective to the overall plot. My only complaint is that I thought the ending was a little anti-climatic.Overall though this was a fantastic read and I cannot wait to read the sequel (?) Two HUGE thumbs up from yours truly.
    more
  •  Sonya ♕Chatterbooks book blog♕
    May 27, 2017
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 4 “Only Ever You” Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐ “You’re story no longer belongs to you. It’s my story now.” When I first read the Synopsis of this book I knew without a shadow of a doubt, this story was going to be different and I was about to be sucked into a crazy ride. These characters were broken, perplexed, fiercely driven, but they were also searching for something that so many of us take for granted. I’ve never read a story like this and for that alone, these characters will be unforgettable for a wh ⭐⭐⭐⭐ 4 “Only Ever You” Stars ⭐⭐⭐⭐ “You’re story no longer belongs to you. It’s my story now.” When I first read the Synopsis of this book I knew without a shadow of a doubt, this story was going to be different and I was about to be sucked into a crazy ride. These characters were broken, perplexed, fiercely driven, but they were also searching for something that so many of us take for granted. I’ve never read a story like this and for that alone, these characters will be unforgettable for a while. Upon graduating high school and knowing she has to save up money for College, Nora responds to an Ad accepting a job as a Tutor. For three months she’s going to be at a cabin where there’s no running water or electricity, but she’s strong and she’s going to manage just fine. When she finally reaches the end of her stay and is prepared to go back home, that’s when everything changes and Nora is introduced to a new kind of terror. “We all consume lies when our souls are starved. And I consumed the most- willingly. This story was extremely layered and because of that, this review is going to be vague as hell. Everyone played a major part in Nora’s story including her mental and physical health and while I didn’t agree with certain situations, I understood why it was done that way. In the beginning, I really had a hard time with the multiple pov’s and that made me lose the connection for a while because just as I was getting comfortable with a characters voice, it changed and then we were introduced to someone else. But with that being said, if it wasn’t for those pov’s, we would’ve never known what was going on inside the minds of these characters and whether we liked it or not, it was very important so I get what the author was trying to do. As I’ve said before, I’ve never read anything like this and I really do have to applaud this author for creating such a unique and well thought out storyline. Nora’s journey was filled with so much pain and heartache that I honestly didn’t know how she was going to get through the next hour, much less a day. There were villains in this story that broke my heart repeatedly and I couldn’t for the life of me figure out why I was feeling this way. The proper etiquette is to be completely disgusted by the monsters but what we seem to forget is that sometimes, monsters are made. They were someone completely different before and seeing how they got to that point, was not only a wake up call, but a tragedy all at once. “Sometimes the greatest acts of love are the hardest acts to commit and sometimes they don’t pan out. If you’re ready to be taken out of your comfort zone, this is the perfect read for you. You will be uncomfortable. You will be saddened. But throughout all of that, you will be forever changed.
    more
  •  KAT ⚛ Kitty Kat's Crazy About Books ⚛
    May 26, 2017
    THE TUTOR: Is a standalone dark novel by K. Larsen and is a new to me author but definitely won’t be the last. This swiftly goes from present to past in top gear so you need to really be stuck in the book to watch out for that otherwise it can become confusing, it’s also spoken in ‘Multiple POV’s’ HIM (Holden Douglas):HER (Nora Robertson):THE GIRL (Lotte, connected to Eve)AUBREY (Best Friend of Nora’s)AGENT BROWN: (Detective in charge of the case)EVE (Her story plays a huge impact on her a THE TUTOR: Is a standalone dark novel by K. Larsen and is a new to me author but definitely won’t be the last. This swiftly goes from present to past in top gear so you need to really be stuck in the book to watch out for that otherwise it can become confusing, it’s also spoken in ‘Multiple POV’s’ HIM (Holden Douglas):HER (Nora Robertson):THE GIRL (Lotte, connected to Eve)AUBREY (Best Friend of Nora’s)AGENT BROWN: (Detective in charge of the case)EVE (Her story plays a huge impact on her abduction)DR. RICHARDSON (physiologist) A man on the hunt for a woman to tutor his sister, a simple classified, a few interviews, no older than twenty, no family that will come seeking. Not just any woman will do. She has to be the right kind and I am a master at finding them. Twenty-one year old Nora Robertson answers the ad of a lifetime in the local times about a man seeking a tutor for an eleven year old girl in a remote part of the country for three whole months, room and board covered, for three thousand dollars.Who wouldn't jump at that chance? Arriving at the place it’s secluded, no neighbours, no power, phone, live off the land, surrounded by native bush, cut off from the world, gates onto the property are all locked as they drive through. I'm overwhelmed by the area, the remoteness of it. I'm nervous about doing my job well and about the domineering presence He exudes. Him: He said his girlfriend Eve had just left him recently and she was homeschooling his little sister, Charlotte aka Lottie which is where Nora comes into the story. Everything was going so well, until it wasn't. Held captive for nine monthsMY THOUGHTS: This review was one of the freaking hardest ones I've ever had to write up, you have to go in blind, you have to keep your wits about you. This is one book that I've come away having never fallen in love with the hero. Did I feel compassion for him? Not really even that was pulled from me for him. I'm usually not a fan of multiple POV's but this author did an amazing job of bringing it all together. I think it had more of an impact on the story.
    more
  • Loyda
    May 26, 2017
    4★★★★Stars                                                                               Genre: Dark Suspense  Type: StandalonePOV: First Person – Multiple   "This one was special. This was the woman. We were meant to be…I don't want a new one. I want her…"Only ever you." Nora Robertson grew up as a happy child.  However; life wasn't always fair when her parents died in an accident she was forced to take care of herself at only twelve years of age.  Even when she found a wonderful support 4★★★★Stars                                                                               Genre: Dark Suspense  Type: StandalonePOV: First Person – Multiple   "This one was special. This was the woman. We were meant to be…I don't want a new one. I want her…"Only ever you." Nora Robertson grew up as a happy child.  However; life wasn't always fair when her parents died in an accident she was forced to take care of herself at only twelve years of age.  Even when she found a wonderful support family which she found with Angela and daughter Aubry she found that her shy personality and inability to speak her mind got the worst of her.  "Fear is a funny thing. It changes the way you think. It alters your being. I've learned the heart is a wild beast, that's why it is caged inside our ribs, that monsters are real and they look like humans and that love is a fickle beast." Traumatized by an awful evening she decided to move away for the summer to a job she found tutoring an eleven year old girl.  The job sounded too good to be true but she was bound to leave no matter what.  What she found there in that isolated cabin was something she never expected; something that will have all readers in the edge of their seats. The fight to survive was strong but can survival means becoming someone you can't recognize?! Nora found herself in this situation after terrible events her mind started playing tricks on her and she started giving into her darkness. I really enjoyed this fast past story. The author did a great job giving us a suspenseful read that will you keep wanting to know how this will all end.  I was literally nervous as hell; I found myself trying to find the answers to this crazy case.  This book was told by multiple points of views which I found it very interesting and necessary.  Even though the book was told mainly from Nora's point of view I feel the other views were needed to solve this case.  We get to see the minds of the Agent investigating Nora's case.  When Nora was finally able to get free from her nightmare she was confronted with a new reality which wasn't easy for her.  I enjoyed reading the doctor's point of view as well she was an interesting character; I liked how she was able to help Nora exactly when she needed it. Then we have the best friend Aubry, Eve one of the victims that escaped and Eve little sister and of course we have to have HIS point of view as well which made me connect much more in the story.  "We all have demons. I simply chose to feed mine in order to survive." I found myself conflicted between wrong and right.  In one way I understood Nora's circumstances as well as the bad guy.  I actually wanted it to end a little different (don't ask me why) I just did.  Perhaps I have a soft spot for damage people and I just wanted to be their hero haha.  Overall, I enjoyed this book it was well written, the story was excellent and readers who enjoy murder mystery detective books will find themselves attracted to this story. https://youtu.be/7Xafqt4Q24k RELEASE DATE JUNE 5th 2017Pre-Order: B&N ➜ https://goo.gl/86VFlOiBooks ➜ https://goo.gl/86le7TKobo ➜ https://goo.gl/GsYqmBFor more reviews/reveals/giveaways visit:
    more
  • Olga therebelreader
    May 26, 2017
    If you want to read something dark and a bit twisted then The Tutor is for you. It is an exciting and suspenseful story that just makes you keep turning the pages to see what is going to happen next. The author provides a really good drama with a romantic twist. All in all, it is a fine recipe for a really good read. Nora is an awesome protagonist, with a strong will and a compassionate heart. She loves Charlotte a lot, and would do anything to save her. Charlotte is smart and brave, and her c If you want to read something dark and a bit twisted then The Tutor is for you. It is an exciting and suspenseful story that just makes you keep turning the pages to see what is going to happen next. The author provides a really good drama with a romantic twist. All in all, it is a fine recipe for a really good read. Nora is an awesome protagonist, with a strong will and a compassionate heart. She loves Charlotte a lot, and would do anything to save her. Charlotte is smart and brave, and her courage is really admirable. Holden has a dark past; he’s a devil in disguise! He invades Nora’s mind, he wants her. Nora opens her mind to help Charlotte escape. The story, told by multiple POV characters, comes together via thoughts, memories, letters, real action…I found it to be a compelling story that held my attention all the way through. The only downside: Readers don’t really get a look inside of Holden’s head. We have his POV but I needed more. More of his thoughts, what made him tick, what made him choose such a dark path to travel upon. The Tutor provides the reader with drama and conflict right from the start. The reader needs that sort of suspense and build in order to fully understand the complexity of all characters, how they relate to each other and how they relate to the supporting characters. It has everything a crime lover would want from a mystery story: a strong main character, twist and turns and detective elements. I heartily recommend this book to readers of the dark, suspense genre and psychological drama/thrillers.In short:Hero 4/5 | Heroine 5/5 | Plot (Point, Originality) 5/5 | Writing Style 4/5 | Steam 3/5 | Romance 2/5 | Angst-Suspense 4/5 | Darkness 4/5 | Humor 0/5 | Secondary Characters 4/5 | Drama-Conflict 4/5 | Mystery 4/5 | Twists 4/5 | Pacing Steady | Action 3/5
    more
  • Jen
    June 11, 2017
    **** 4.5 stars****Oh wow! This book has kind of left me speechless, and I battled between a four star and a five. I docked a half a point because I wanted to have a different ending!! LOL I'm super happy to hear there is going to be another book!!! This made me super excited, and not so critical of the ending. I just felt like there was way more that could have happened but it didn't! I know that is clear as mud, but...trust me; you want to go into this read blind!This is a thriller, it is myste **** 4.5 stars****Oh wow! This book has kind of left me speechless, and I battled between a four star and a five. I docked a half a point because I wanted to have a different ending!! LOL I'm super happy to hear there is going to be another book!!! This made me super excited, and not so critical of the ending. I just felt like there was way more that could have happened but it didn't! I know that is clear as mud, but...trust me; you want to go into this read blind!This is a thriller, it is mysterious, and at times quite disturbing....I have read darker...but it is still at times stomach clenching awful...you get the idea! This story is written with several POV's, and in past and present; but it totally works! The chapters are clearly labeled about whose POV we are getting, as well as the past and present is labelled. It is all necessary to written this way, and although it took me a few chapters to get the idea....I liked how it was done by the author!I spent ALL of the book with questions, and curiosities! When I read a thriller/mystery, I expect that...and K. Larsen gives that to us in spades!I am so glad that I gave this read a chance. I definitely recommend this to readers who like their reads on the darker side, and like being kept on their toes the whole time!Now I have to wait for the next read...and I will be first in line to get it!!!!
    more
  • Paige
    June 1, 2017
    4.5 "Only Ever You" StarsK. Larsen, the evil genius, did it again. You will literally never get the same story from this author and you won't get a traditional story either. She thinks out of the box. She's a bit dark. She always make you think. And she always, always gives the best *most shocking* twists. The Tutor is no different. With multiple points of view, the story unfolds complicated layer by complicated layer. Just when you think you've got it all figured out, you're smacked with new in 4.5 "Only Ever You" StarsK. Larsen, the evil genius, did it again. You will literally never get the same story from this author and you won't get a traditional story either. She thinks out of the box. She's a bit dark. She always make you think. And she always, always gives the best *most shocking* twists. The Tutor is no different. With multiple points of view, the story unfolds complicated layer by complicated layer. Just when you think you've got it all figured out, you're smacked with new information and left reeling. While I wouldn't say this is heavy on romance, it is there. Yet the suspense and the creeping sensation that things are not what they seem took over and this romance lover was spell bound. If you've not yet wondered into the world of K. Larsen, this is the perfect starting point. And if you're a fan already, run, don't walk because you'll get exactly what you can't expect. ARC provided for honest review.
    more
  • Grey
    April 19, 2017
    You all might remember an absolutely amazing little book entitled Jezebel. I may or may not, okay I totally did, lose my damn mind over that book. Ms. Larsen is the acclaimed author of Jezebel and let me tell you something, she totally made me do it again. My book buddy, Maryse, got to screen a super advanced copy of this book and wrote up a review about it; making me positively green-eyed with jealousy. Somehow, the fates smiled upon me... and I was gifted a copy to screen too!Anyway I'm digres You all might remember an absolutely amazing little book entitled Jezebel. I may or may not, okay I totally did, lose my damn mind over that book. Ms. Larsen is the acclaimed author of Jezebel and let me tell you something, she totally made me do it again. My book buddy, Maryse, got to screen a super advanced copy of this book and wrote up a review about it; making me positively green-eyed with jealousy. Somehow, the fates smiled upon me... and I was gifted a copy to screen too!Anyway I'm digressing in a big way- blah, blah, blah... if you follow my reviews, you know that I don't do spoilers. However, if you read the goodreads blurb on the top of this post, you already know what the tidbits that I will scatter in this review say. This dark, psychological mind-hump of a story is told in differing points of view after the female main character, Nora, wakes up in a hospital bed. Nora had taken a summer job as 'The Tutor', but when the summer was over, she wasn't allowed to leave...The words, you guys know how I love the words! The writing style is a bit different, staccato-ish in nature to me at first, but then the methodology behind it sunk in and it totally made sense and vibed with the story. The author's trigger warning right off the bat though - "All of them. This is not a romance. It will not elicit warm and fuzzy feelings." *Pretzel tummy was in full effect, squee!* (Although, I do disagree a little... there was a teensy bit of warm and fuzzy.)"In the midst of my own personal chaos - she created a calm." Gah, this line... <3I could ramble for awhile, but I won't... because you all need to go and pick up a copy of this book. I mean, seriously... look at the cover! 4.25 'Only Ever You' Stars! Thank you to Ms. Larsen for sending me an advanced copy of The Tutor in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Betul
    January 10, 2017
    **ARC provided in exchange for an honest review**"Not just any woman will do. She has to be the right kind and I am a master at finding them."I love dark romance and suspense, so the combination of the two sounded like the perfect book for me. I was glad to see that The Tutor didn't disappoint! There were so many things that I loved about this book. First of all if you read other reviews, you may have seen that the story is told from 7 different POVs, however the main POV, that of the main chara **ARC provided in exchange for an honest review**"Not just any woman will do. She has to be the right kind and I am a master at finding them."I love dark romance and suspense, so the combination of the two sounded like the perfect book for me. I was glad to see that The Tutor didn't disappoint! There were so many things that I loved about this book. First of all if you read other reviews, you may have seen that the story is told from 7 different POVs, however the main POV, that of the main character Nora, tells the story. Please don't let this discourage you of reading this book, because the POVs are very short and it didn't bother me at all. I think it even added to the story because you get a look from so many different angles, which elevated the story in my opinion."We all consume lies when our souls are starved."The way the story is told, isn't what I usually read, but it really worked well for this story. It starts in present time, when Nora escaped captivity, and to save her student she needs to recount her time held captive. It gave a great view into what Nora was dealing with and how she was handling such mixed emotions. Nora has been through some stuff in her past, and goes through some very traumatic events in this book as well. I could totally understand why she fell under HIS spell. I loved the contrast of her fighting and eventually giving up, and just doing what she was told. However, the old Nora was still hidden somewhere inside of her."Nora is different. I want to please her, as much as I desire to hurt her."As for the bad guy, who is named 'The Tutor' by the media, I had some mixed feelings in the beginning. However things became more clear the further I got into the book. He definitely didn't have an easy past, but that doesn't excuse the things he did. I did feel somewhat bad for him, but never really fell for him. I think that is the main reason why I didn't rate this book higher than four stars. For me a Dark Romantic Suspense needs to be about a very twisted and wrong relationship between the main characters, however I also need to fall for the villain. (I usually LOVE villains!) So I had some different expectations in regards to that. BUT I have to say that I loved that it was unpredictable, and that the author dared to take a different direction with this story. The ending was very fitting and I can't wait to see what happens next. I am very intrigued to see which direction K. Larsen will take us next. "All this time, I treated him like the cure, when he was the poison."
    more
  • Dani
    May 25, 2017
    WTF Did I just read?! This was OMG I have no words! Okay, I've finally found words. I think. This was one of those books that I went into completely blind. Yes, I'd seen teasers, but that was it. I thought I knew what was going to happen, I thought I had it all figured out, but K completely threw me for a loop. This is one of those mind f*ck books that will leave you reeling from the words that have been intricately woven in such a way that you feel as if you're right there beside the characters WTF Did I just read?! This was OMG I have no words! Okay, I've finally found words. I think. This was one of those books that I went into completely blind. Yes, I'd seen teasers, but that was it. I thought I knew what was going to happen, I thought I had it all figured out, but K completely threw me for a loop. This is one of those mind f*ck books that will leave you reeling from the words that have been intricately woven in such a way that you feel as if you're right there beside the characters. Screaming at them, loving them, hating them, wanting to possibly punch them. Emotional roller coaster, but damn what an amazing ride. This was my first K. Larson book and it will definitely not be my last. She has a way with words that will leave you needing and wanting more. All I can say is.... Holden... Sigh. "Only ever you."
    more
  • Jenny - TotallybookedBlog
    June 5, 2017
    **Spoiler Free Review‘He stole my magic. He decimated my innocence swiftly and succinctly. And let me tell you something, innocence is like hope – a necessary element for survival. ‘Wow! What a gripping unputdownable read! We couldn’t move until we finished The Tutor, after becoming instantly seduced by K Larsen’s menacing, taunting and deliciously tempting opening pages. From the sinister feel of the first page, we knew this one was going to be one riveting, thrilling and unsettling read, and o **Spoiler Free Review‘He stole my magic. He decimated my innocence swiftly and succinctly. And let me tell you something, innocence is like hope – a necessary element for survival. ‘Wow! What a gripping unputdownable read! We couldn’t move until we finished The Tutor, after becoming instantly seduced by K Larsen’s menacing, taunting and deliciously tempting opening pages. From the sinister feel of the first page, we knew this one was going to be one riveting, thrilling and unsettling read, and one in which we found ourselves easily trusting our hearts and minds to this incredibly talented author. This was our favourite K Larsen read. This story was really something! “It was all a game. He was the only one who knew who was playing but it was still a game. “ First off, we absolutely urge you to go into this book spoiler free, and our review will be just that. So much of this read could be easily spoilt and it’s truly one where you simply have to trust in the author, because every page ensured our Kindles never left our hands as we constantly tried to second guess how this story would play out.K Larsen has done a tremendous job of intricately weaving a number of players POV’s into the story as well as a back and forth, past/present composition which she carried out with a seamless flair. We never faltered or got lost along the way as this authors brilliant prose flowed spectacularly.The story centres on 20 year old bookworm Nora Robertson. Sweet Nora prefers to have her nose in a book rather than out partying every night and whilst book smart, Nora isn’t especially life smart, unlike her best friend Aubry who is the fun to Nora’s seriousness. “I think my greatest error was believing that if I cast a lovely net, I would only catch lovely things.” At the insistence of Aubry, Nora attends a party, the fallout of which, would have life changing consequences for Nora resulting in her need to escape and accept a position as a live-in Tutor at a remote cabin in Mount Art working for the ruggedly handsome Holden Douglas, teaching his younger sister. It would turn out to deliver more than she could have ever imagined.‘I will become his masterpiece, my scars his legacy. He will carve his way through my soul to my heart.’We learn Nora’s terrifying story as she recounts it to various parties. Nothing is spared as we hear of the pleasure, the pain, the tender, the heartbreak, the brutal, the bravery, the fear…in fact, everything Nora felt, we felt deep within us, as Nora’s memories, conflictions and emotions are constantly laid bare on each page.‘Fear is a funny thing. It changes the way you think. It alters your being. I’ve learned the heart is a wild beast, that’s why it’s caged inside our ribs… that monsters are real and they look like humans and that love is a fickle beast. All my life, people promised that dreams could come true…but they forgot to mention that nightmares are dreams, too.’Despite this being a dark romance, we experienced moments of moving tenderness which were intensified among the dark, unnerving moments, eliciting moments of hope and love in places we didn’t think possible, and in turn causing us to question our every increasing conflicted feelings. “There are chapters in my life I’d rather not read out loud.”“Tell me every horrible thing you did and let me love you anyway.” K Larsen masterfully delivered a brilliantly written story that came to life as she captured the nuances of each character, leaving us teetering on a knife-edge with each twisting turn of the page. By allowing us into the mind of each player, K Larsen ensured we witnessed first-hand the judgements and thoughts of each character throughout this complex story that still keeps playing out in our minds long after finishing. The Tutor was an absolute 5 star read for sure. You need to bump this book up to the ‘must read’ list, now! “Your story no longer belongs to you. It’s my story now.” THE TUTOR is available to purchase belowAmazon USAmazon UKCome visit and follow us at:✲ TotallybookedBlog✲ TB on Facebook✲ TB on Twitter✲ TB on Pinterest
    more
  • Grace
    May 26, 2017
    4.5 starsThis is an intense and harrowing tale of survival, healing, and twisted love. With a knack for building suspense and breaking my heart, the author manages to do both with this release.If you read the synopsis, you know you are about to embark on a wild ride. And from the first page, the author does not disappoint on delivering a story that will draw your sympathy and make your skin crawl all at once.Poor Nora.Looking at her background, she is the perfect victim.Parentless.Vulnerable giv 4.5 starsThis is an intense and harrowing tale of survival, healing, and twisted love. With a knack for building suspense and breaking my heart, the author manages to do both with this release.If you read the synopsis, you know you are about to embark on a wild ride. And from the first page, the author does not disappoint on delivering a story that will draw your sympathy and make your skin crawl all at once.Poor Nora.Looking at her background, she is the perfect victim.Parentless.Vulnerable given the events with her neighbor that proceeded her arrival.Naive and trusting.And desperate for a real physical connection."Your story no longer belongs to you. It's my story now."The story alternates between Past and Present and multiple POVs. Usually, this constant switching impacts the flow of the story, but not here. I personally thought it added an interesting layer of suspense, as the author slowly feeds the reader pieces of the puzzle. How did Nora fall for her captor?How did she get away?Will Holden truly let her go?The biggest bombshells in the story came from Eve, who had direct knowledge of Holden and provided assistance with Nora's recovery, while also helping the police in their search for him. Throughout the story, Nora struggles with what happened with Holden. Did she love him or hate him? Would she go back if even the chance? Could she move on without him? And the most important thing, at least in her mind, was she truly as special as he made her think?"Only ever you."It was hard to see how much Holden took advantage of Nora's vulnerability, making her an easy Stockholm Syndrome victim. Yes, at times I sympathized with Holden, who obviously had a traumatic childhood that shaped him, but his actions toward the girls were ultimately unforgiveable."We all have demons. I simply chose to feed mine in order to survive."While the ending of the story almost seemed inevitable, the author does a great job of bringing us to that point. And in her typical style, she makes you gasp with the last sentence.If you are looking for a dark and suspenseful read, with some romantic elements, this is one I'd highly recommend.*An ARC was received for an honest review.For more reviews, visit
    more
  • Isabella
    February 1, 2017
    "I Swear to tell the truth, the Whole Truth, and nothing but the Truth, So Help Me God" I've met with K.Larsen through her Killing the Sun: Part 1 series. (Which is an extraordinary, out of the box erotic suspence where nothing is as it seems. Those who are interested in the genre, I would highly recommend.) Therefore I know for a fact that she has a great pen. Eventhough this book is on the longer side of the equation, the words flow quite easily, driving you to crave for more.Having said that, "I Swear to tell the truth, the Whole Truth, and nothing but the Truth, So Help Me God" I've met with K.Larsen through her Killing the Sun: Part 1 series. (Which is an extraordinary, out of the box erotic suspence where nothing is as it seems. Those who are interested in the genre, I would highly recommend.) Therefore I know for a fact that she has a great pen. Eventhough this book is on the longer side of the equation, the words flow quite easily, driving you to crave for more.Having said that, IMO this is not an OTT dark read and definitely NOT romance, rather a dark psychological thriller. The potential triggers (rape, physical abuse, knife play, kidnapping) are not described in detail. The author is very smooth about it. The scenes fade to black and we're left with the emotional impacts of the situations on the characters. Yes characters bc we have more than 2 MC and let me confess that I wasn't fond Nora one bit. She lost my respect with her half assed madness and victimized attitudes. I did not even pity her. Eve and Lotte saved this book for me. (BTW, another trigger for those who are sensitive: Lotte is only 12 years old and kidnapped by the H, as well. She's with him longest. She doesn't get sexually abused but she's always in the picture.)Hero: well he's simply put a psychopath, a murderer who has mumy issues without a strong character development. I didn't feel much for him either. He stole my magic. He decimated my innocence swiftly and succinctly. And let me tell you something, innocence is like hope—a necessary element for survival. Without hope, I couldn’t be me, if I wanted to survive. But sometimes, when you have to change, the metamorphosis is so profound, that the old you can’t look the new you in the eyes.This is a solid 4 stars book for me. But not more because I simply did not love or even enjoy the book per se. There I said it!By the time I've finished with it, it had almost drained me, sucked out my energy. Not bc it was dark but it was depressing. I've got tired of Nora's mental health or lack thereof. The story was predictable, but the next book was not: "The Brother"! I'll be checking that out ;)If you enjoy psychological thrillers, you'll enjoy this book. For those who have read, at times this book reminded me of Take Me with You ;))
    more
  • Di - Twisted Book Reviews
    April 13, 2017
    “Captivity is a mentality.  A thing you carry with you. It is hard to let go even when you have your freedom returned.” This one is Stockholm Syndrome gold! A psychological, thrilling read from start to finish. "I will become his masterpiece, my scars his legacy. He will carve his way through my soul to my heart." Meet the tutor and let him show you the ways of his twisted star loving deliciousness.  WOAH! Let me tell you, I had no idea what would happen. This was a slow release of pent up agg “Captivity is a mentality.  A thing you carry with you. It is hard to let go even when you have your freedom returned.” This one is Stockholm Syndrome gold! A psychological, thrilling read from start to finish. "I will become his masterpiece, my scars his legacy. He will carve his way through my soul to my heart." Meet the tutor and let him show you the ways of his twisted star loving deliciousness.  WOAH! Let me tell you, I had no idea what would happen. This was a slow release of pent up aggression, I wanted, needed to know how this would end. My very first book by Larsen, I'm like, why have I waited so long? Where have you been all my life? If you like the older, darker reads, this one is for you. It's dark romance, but different. It's a journey of wrongs that feel so right. The battle between self defense and free falling. God. So hard to explain. I loved that the darkness wasn't glamorized. A trip into self perseverance, a thin line of love versus survival. Lines cross at the cost of realization. This one will make you question yourself, right along with every character.  
    more
  • Livros A Go-Go ~Joyci ~
    June 3, 2017
    4,5 NóooFazia um tempo que não lia um suspense e esse daqui veio para me prender a atenção por uns bons dias! Como foi o primeiro livro da autora que li, fiquei bem surpresa pela proposta do livro e a forma como a história e os acontecimentos foram mostrados. Por isso gostei bastante!Na história conhecemos Nora, uma estudante no período de férias que aceita um trabalho temporário no meio das montanhas em uma casa sem água e sem energia elétrica. Ela será a tutora de Lotte uma garota de onze anos 4,5 NóooFazia um tempo que não lia um suspense e esse daqui veio para me prender a atenção por uns bons dias! Como foi o primeiro livro da autora que li, fiquei bem surpresa pela proposta do livro e a forma como a história e os acontecimentos foram mostrados. Por isso gostei bastante!Na história conhecemos Nora, uma estudante no período de férias que aceita um trabalho temporário no meio das montanhas em uma casa sem água e sem energia elétrica. Ela será a tutora de Lotte uma garota de onze anos que vive com seu irmão mais velho, Holden. O que era seria um trabalho durante três meses irá fazer com que o percurso da vida dela mude completamente, deixando marcas e lembranças difíceis de esquecer.O início do livro já foi impactante, despertou meu desejo de seguir adiante com a história e o problema apresentado. Em seguida apareceram mais pontos de vista e de início isso fez com que eu me desconectasse, mas lá pelos 30% eu estava completamente submersa no pensamento de todos os personagens e no desenrolar do conflito e suas consequências.Todos os personagens apresentados possuem características interessantes em suas personalidades. A ambientação é perfeita, me senti no meio do nada junto deles e até detalhes como a valorização de sabores dos alimentos, cheiros e ar puro foram bons artifícios para construir essa ambientação na nossa cabeça."Eu irei me tornar sua obra-prima, minhas cicatrizes o seu legado. Ele irá esculpir seu caminho através da minha alma para o meu coração."O livro mistura passado e presente, por isso entendemos muitos comportamentos de Nora e Holden.Para mim a autora só derrapou um pouquinho nos pensamentos da Lotte, algumas vezes achei ela madura e esperta demais para a idade e para a situação em que estava, mas como não lembro como funciona uma cabeça antes dos 13 anos, deixei passar, rs.Não dá para falar mais mas The Tutor é uma história imprevisível. Em muitos trechos você fica chocada, seja pelo que acontece ou pelos sentimentos e pensamentos dos envolvidos e até os capítulos finais você ainda fica em dúvida se tudo vai dar certo!Arc gentilmente decido pela autora. Obrigada.
    more
  • Gitte TotallyBookedBlog
    June 6, 2017
    **Spoiler Free Review‘He stole my magic. He decimated my innocence swiftly and succinctly. And let me tell you something, innocence is like hope – a necessary element for survival. ‘Wow! What a gripping unputdownable read! We couldn’t move until we finished The Tutor, after becoming instantly seduced by K Larsen’s menacing, taunting and deliciously tempting opening pages. From the sinister feel of the first page, we knew this one was going to be one riveting, thrilling and unsettling read, and o **Spoiler Free Review‘He stole my magic. He decimated my innocence swiftly and succinctly. And let me tell you something, innocence is like hope – a necessary element for survival. ‘Wow! What a gripping unputdownable read! We couldn’t move until we finished The Tutor, after becoming instantly seduced by K Larsen’s menacing, taunting and deliciously tempting opening pages. From the sinister feel of the first page, we knew this one was going to be one riveting, thrilling and unsettling read, and one in which we found ourselves easily trusting our hearts and minds to this incredibly talented author. This was our favourite K Larsen read. This story was really something! “It was all a game. He was the only one who knew who was playing but it was still a game. “ K Larsen has done a tremendous job of intricately weaving a number of players POV’s into the story as well as a back and forth, past/present composition which she carried out with a seamless flair. We never faltered or got lost along the way as this authors brilliant prose flowed spectacularly.We learn Nora’s terrifying story as she recounts it to various parties. Nothing is spared as we hear of the pleasure, the pain, the tender, the heartbreak, the brutal, the bravery, the fear…in fact, everything Nora felt, we felt deep within us, as Nora’s memories, conflictions and emotions are constantly laid bare on each page.‘Fear is a funny thing. It changes the way you think. It alters your being. I’ve learned the heart is a wild beast, that’s why it’s caged inside our ribs… that monsters are real and they look like humans and that love is a fickle beast. All my life, people promised that dreams could come true…but they forgot to mention that nightmares are dreams, too.’Despite this being a dark romance, we experienced moments of moving tenderness which were intensified among the dark, unnerving moments, eliciting moments of hope and love in places we didn’t think possible, and in turn causing us to question our every increasing conflicted feelings. “There are chapters in my life I’d rather not read out loud.”“Tell me every horrible thing you did and let me love you anyway.” K Larsen masterfully delivered a brilliantly written story that came to life as she captured the nuances of each character, leaving us teetering on a knife-edge with each twisting turn of the page. By allowing us into the mind of each player, K Larsen ensured we witnessed first-hand the judgements and thoughts of each character throughout this complex story that still keeps playing out in our minds long after finishing.........See here for full review THE TUTOR is available to purchase belowAmazon USAmazon UKCome visit and follow us at:✲ TotallybookedBlog✲ TB on Facebook✲ TB on Twitter✲ TB on Pinterest
    more
  • Shabby- BookBistroBlog
    May 28, 2017
    Lives are a collection of choices.The choice Nora makes by applying for the job The choice she made to keep quiet about AntonThe choice she made to not rebelThe choice she made of accepting her fateThe choice she made to adapt to her new environment to surviveEACH choice scarred her . Physically and emotionally. And now she lives in an Altered State Of Mind. Stuck between What she is and what she wants to be.I think, too often, young women are lured into emotionally unstable relationships that a Lives are a collection of choices.The choice Nora makes by applying for the job The choice she made to keep quiet about AntonThe choice she made to not rebelThe choice she made of accepting her fateThe choice she made to adapt to her new environment to surviveEACH choice scarred her . Physically and emotionally. And now she lives in an Altered State Of Mind. Stuck between What she is and what she wants to be.I think, too often, young women are lured into emotionally unstable relationships that are toxic. It is very easy to justify behaviors that are wrong when you care for someone.”But like Carrie Bradshaw once asked, "when two people love each other so completely and they break up. Where does the Love go?So while Holden is wrong kind of love, it IS still love....at least on Nora's part. Her feelings are real and tangible. So how does she recover from that ?I understand. I get it. I know that in real life, Holden is bad. That our love is wrong. That I adapted to cope. But my feelings . . . my emotions are not so rational.The story is very complex, very captivating.I had some questions though which needed answers, but weren't. But that does not take away from the darkness of the underlying emotion.Still it will effect you very powerfully. Katie is a master of mindfuck stories, this one is no different. Be prepared for a ride into insane world of Nora and Holden...aka The Tutor !4 Freckled Stars #BookBistroBlogApproved Follow us onFB - https://www.facebook.com/groups/BookB...Blog -https://bookbistroblogcom.wordpress.comBlog -https://bookbistroblogger.blogspot.comTwitter - https://www.twitter.com/BookBistroInstagram - https://www.instagram.com/BookBistroBlog
    more
  • Beneath The Covers Blog
    June 4, 2017
    Nora has taken a tutoring job for the summer to help pay for college little did she know that job will change her life forever.I don't want to give too much away because I feel this is one of those stories you have to go into not knowing much.Nora has endured so much in her short life. How could one take so much? I did enjoy her corks. She was a different kind of character and I liked that.I must admit that this book was told in multi POVs and at first I wasn't a fan, but did seem to realize it Nora has taken a tutoring job for the summer to help pay for college little did she know that job will change her life forever.I don't want to give too much away because I feel this is one of those stories you have to go into not knowing much.Nora has endured so much in her short life. How could one take so much? I did enjoy her corks. She was a different kind of character and I liked that.I must admit that this book was told in multi POVs and at first I wasn't a fan, but did seem to realize it was necessary.Holden was sick and needed help, but when is one too far gone? All in all I thought this was an interesting story about fear, love (all aspects of love) and survival. I actually can't wait for the next book.*An ARC was provided in exchange for an honest review* ~Alison
    more
  • Bethany Lopez
    May 25, 2017
    YOU GUYS... I was able to read an advanced copy of this one and YOU MUST GET IT! You will not be disappointed. It will hit all of your emotions and squeeze them. Your brain will be scrambling to figure out the end, which is really only the beginning! Grab It Now, and get ready for the ride of your life!
    more
  • Allison ❤️Will Never Conquer Her TBR❤️
    June 6, 2017
    5 Crazytown Stars!***SPOILER-FREE REVIEW*** "Your story no longer belongs to you. I belongs to me now." I really ventured out of my typical reading comfort zone when I picked up The Tutor. I'd never read a book by K. Larsen- I was simply quite captivated by the book blurb and was looking for something a bit more exciting than my typical romance trope. I totally got that with this page-turner- The Tutor. I need to read more dark suspense!The Tutor is trickle-fed to us from both past and presen 5 Crazytown Stars!***SPOILER-FREE REVIEW*** "Your story no longer belongs to you. I belongs to me now." I really ventured out of my typical reading comfort zone when I picked up The Tutor. I'd never read a book by K. Larsen- I was simply quite captivated by the book blurb and was looking for something a bit more exciting than my typical romance trope. I totally got that with this page-turner- The Tutor. I need to read more dark suspense!The Tutor is trickle-fed to us from both past and present chapters. It's also narrated in multiple, I mean MULTIPLE points of view. Basically every character in the book gets their voice heard and usually that distracts me from connecting well but here it worked out perfectly. I prefer this over third person point of view and within a suspenseful novel, it just built the anticipation that much more. I'm not going to go into plot as I think the book blurb is plenty to pique interest without spoiling the ride. I was wholly invested and could not wait to see how this story plays out. It's truly a story about Stockholm Syndrome yet so much more. Can we truly love and hate someone at the same time? After reading this, I do believe we can... Only ever you... A new to me author, I look forward to more from K. Larsen, especially the upcoming spinoff of this book, The Brother. Advanced copy received by author in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Lua
    June 25, 2017
    3.5Despite being one of the many captive stories I've already read, I thought at the beginning this would be an interesting variation. Many different POVs to make you see the situation from alternative perspectives. A good pace to keep anticipation alive. A less romanticized captor. But then the story dragged on and on, and I don't know why, I developed a kind of intolerance for h and started liking the H better, no matter how insane he was. The second part was defenetly too long and depressing 3.5Despite being one of the many captive stories I've already read, I thought at the beginning this would be an interesting variation. Many different POVs to make you see the situation from alternative perspectives. A good pace to keep anticipation alive. A less romanticized captor. But then the story dragged on and on, and I don't know why, I developed a kind of intolerance for h and started liking the H better, no matter how insane he was. The second part was defenetly too long and depressing and the five stars I thought I would give at the beginning became just 3.5.
    more
  • Carina Adams
    May 29, 2017
    This book. Omg. THIS book!Gah! Put down whatever you are reading and pick this up. Now! Five "only ever you" stars. I could NOT put it down. I don't know what to say without giving anything away. When my friend Katie said, "Would you like to read..." I didn't even finish reading the sentence. Anything K. Larsen writes is an automatic yes. I went on somewhat blind. Which you all should do. It's a mind f#€K. A total mind f#€K. I didn't know what I wanted to happen. I didn't know if I loved Holden This book. Omg. THIS book!Gah! Put down whatever you are reading and pick this up. Now! Five "only ever you" stars. I could NOT put it down. I don't know what to say without giving anything away. When my friend Katie said, "Would you like to read..." I didn't even finish reading the sentence. Anything K. Larsen writes is an automatic yes. I went on somewhat blind. Which you all should do. It's a mind f#€K. A total mind f#€K. I didn't know what I wanted to happen. I didn't know if I loved Holden or if I hated him. I was lost with Nora, felt what she felt. "He was busy finding faults in me, while I was busy overlooking his."If you read only one book this summer, read The Tutor!!
    more
  • Sammy ⭐️
    June 10, 2017
    I don't have words!!!This is probably one of the most WTF books I have ever read. I still don't know my feelings, my head is in pieces and my kindle is luck to have survived.
  • Laura- BookBistroBlog
    June 2, 2017
    The TutorBy: K. Larsen4 StarsNora has been through a lot in her young life! Living on her own since 16, she has finally graduated from high school and is preparing to head off to college. When she heads to a party to celebrate graduating, something horrible happens to her. Not telling anyone what happened, she feels like she needs to escape from the real life.Now trying to get away from her hometown, to clear her head and get ready for starting the fall semester of college, she answers an ad in The TutorBy: K. Larsen4 StarsNora has been through a lot in her young life! Living on her own since 16, she has finally graduated from high school and is preparing to head off to college. When she heads to a party to celebrate graduating, something horrible happens to her. Not telling anyone what happened, she feels like she needs to escape from the real life.Now trying to get away from her hometown, to clear her head and get ready for starting the fall semester of college, she answers an ad in the local newspaper to take on a tutoring job for the entire summer.Holden-The Tutor is ready to play. His last tutor has escaped and he needs a new one. Placing an ad in the local newspaper, he finds his next ‘victim’. Having grown up in a dysfunctional house, Holden has kept the circle spinning with his insane tactics. But when Nora comes for the summer, he develops strong feelings for her. At the end of the summer, he faces the fact that Nora desires to leave and carry on with going to college. Holden comes up with a plan to keep her there. The story is a great page turner! Although some parts of the story I am finding myself with questions that were not answered. I felt as though there were some POV’s that were unnecessary in the story. I liked Nora’s character but felt like I couldn’t connect with The Tutor-Holden. But I will always remember…. “Only ever you” Bring on The Brother-coming soon from K. Larsen.Follow us on---FB – https://www.facebook.com/groups/BookB...Blog -https://bookbistroblogcom.wordpress.comBlog -https://bookbistroblogger.blogspot.comTwitter - https://www.twitter.com/BookBistroInstagram - https://www.instagram.com/BookBistroBlog
    more
  •  Charlie ✰ WLTB Blog ✰
    May 26, 2017
    If I could give it more than 5 stars I would.It was Brilliant.This book will keep you on the edge of your seat wondering how it all going to turn out.I really don't want to say much about the book.. so I will keep my review vague.When I started I couldn’t put it down and I had to keep turning the pages to find out what would happen next. I loved the different POV’s so we got an insight into the characters.Nora accepts a tutoring job which is only supposed to last a few months but when she gets If I could give it more than 5 stars I would.It was Brilliant.This book will keep you on the edge of your seat wondering how it all going to turn out.I really don't want to say much about the book.. so I will keep my review vague.When I started I couldn’t put it down and I had to keep turning the pages to find out what would happen next. I loved the different POV’s so we got an insight into the characters.Nora accepts a tutoring job which is only supposed to last a few months but when she gets to the place there is no internet no running water No electricity. When her time is up and she is ready to go home, he will not let her leave.There is so much more to these characters and as the story goes on you start to get more into why they do what they do and why they are like what they are like…This book will keep you guessing how will it all end? is it the end?The characters are all well-developed they are so brought to life. I really liked Nora, the story just draws you in and it is a twisted tail. You will feel so many emotions while reading. I can’t wait to see what is next from K Larsen.
    more
  • Hiba
    June 8, 2017
    it's dark and twisted but it's about survival and bad experiences it's the first time I read this kind of books and I liked it
  • Moriah
    June 5, 2017
    Okay. I was excited to get my hands on this book. I'm all for a dark/twisted story. But, this book was extremely fast paced, and kind of boring. I skimmed through a good portion of it, unfortunately. The writing style was weak, and the chapters weren't developed well in my opinion. The chapters were set in past/present, multiple P.O.V, and flashbacks within the present chapters, which made the story a little confusing. Not worth the hype. Great plot, weak delivery.
    more
  • Debbie
    June 5, 2017
    I'm in love with the Creeptastic Brilliance that is this book! It gave me the chills, creeped me out, tugged on my heart strings but most of all it made me think.This is one of those rare books where the journey is maybe more important than the destination. I love that Katie doesn't lay it all out. She makes the reader think and deduce for themselves. No passive readers allowed. It's such a different experience from most things I've read that I really had to just let go and let the words lead me I'm in love with the Creeptastic Brilliance that is this book! It gave me the chills, creeped me out, tugged on my heart strings but most of all it made me think.This is one of those rare books where the​ journey is maybe more important than the destination. I love that Katie doesn't lay it all out. She makes the reader think and deduce for themselves. No passive readers allowed. It's such a different experience from most things I've read that I really had to just let go and let the words lead me and not expect the answers to be spoon fed to me. This story put thoughts in my head that took root twisting what I thought I believed. Can evil love? Can evil be loved? Just because a love is twisted or unusual, does that mean it's not love. We all know that love is not always rainbows, hearts and good intentions. But can it exist when it hurts, when it's taken, when it's manipulated and just plain wrong? Is this love or just twisted imaginings of a broken mind? Hmmmmm?This book, these characters, this author.........are complex, twisted and delicious!
    more
  • Irma
    June 18, 2017
    “Your story no longer belongs to you. It’s my story now.” So many POV's but that has not bothered me. It actually felt good. I love a good suspence, if it messes with my mind - even more so. This was a solid story but a mind [email protected]?!? Far from it.
    more
Write a review