Afterlife
Soon to be a major motion picture from Imagine Entertainment and producers Ron Howard and Brian Grazer.Between life and death lies an epic war, a relentless manhunt through two worlds… and an unforgettable love story.The last thing FBI agent Will Brody remembers is the explosion — a thousand shards of glass surfing a lethal shock wave.He wakes without a scratch.The building is in ruins. His team is gone. Outside, Chicago is dark. Cars lie abandoned. No planes cross the sky. He’s relieved to spot other people — until he sees they’re carrying machetes.Welcome to the afterlife.Claire McCoy stands over the body of Will Brody. As head of an FBI task force, she hasn’t had a decent night’s sleep in weeks. A terrorist has claimed eighteen lives and thrown the nation into panic.Against this horror, something reckless and beautiful happened. She fell in love… with Will Brody.But the line between life and death is narrower than any of us suspect — and all that matters to Will and Claire is getting back to each other.From the author of the million-copy bestselling Brilliance Trilogy comes a mind-bending thriller that explores our most haunting and fundamental question: What if death is just the beginning?

Afterlife Details

TitleAfterlife
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherThomas & Mercer
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Fantasy, Fiction, Thriller, Mystery, Suspense, Mystery Thriller, Romance, Adult, Paranormal

Afterlife Review

  • Bibliophile Book Club
    June 8, 2017
    STUNNING! Review to follow!
  • Lilyn G. (Scifi and Scary)
    June 13, 2017
    I've previously read some of Marcus Sakey's work, and while I enjoyed some of it, I wouldn't have willingly picked up Afterlife had the publicist not specifically asked me to. My expectations going into Afterlife were not high, but I figured I'd slog through it if necessary. It wasn't.Afterlife raises the bar on what I expect from Marcus Sakey a whole lot higher than it previously was. I had no idea the man was capable of pulling off something like this. This is one of those books that immediate I've previously read some of Marcus Sakey's work, and while I enjoyed some of it, I wouldn't have willingly picked up Afterlife had the publicist not specifically asked me to. My expectations going into Afterlife were not high, but I figured I'd slog through it if necessary. It wasn't.Afterlife raises the bar on what I expect from Marcus Sakey a whole lot higher than it previously was. I had no idea the man was capable of pulling off something like this. This is one of those books that immediately put me in my happy spot. The hint of romance, the parallel world (for lack of a better term), the new take on life after death. The battle of good versus evil. Afterlife is wonderfully imaginative, deliciously dark, and almost perfectly written.Claire and Will are a great pair of characters. Too good to be true, of course, but sometimes we need perfect heroes in a story like this. I liked that the author had no problem making Claire the smarter one of the two of them. I loved reading the easy acceptance that Will had of her mental superiority. He loved her and never resented her abilities. And while she had no problem pointing out the flaws in his thinking, she never set out to make him feel like an idiot. (Like I said: too good to be true.) And even though they're both strong separately, together they're so much more. And that's how it should be.The dialogue was believable. The action was perfectly paced. The way Sakey describes the other world is simple, yet effective. It feels like it really would translate very, very well to screen. Which means, naturally, that I can't watch it in a theater. Because I'll be yelling at the screen for them not getting it right. Pretty much the only critiques I have of Afterlife are little things. Like every time the villain appeared on screen, he was introduced by his 'razor sharp cheekbones'. By halfway through, I was beginning to imagine if the man was made flesh, he could get a job being a real life Fruit Ninja with the power of his cheekbones alone. Overall, Afterlife was a solid, entertaining read that I would definitely recommend!Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher for review consideration.
    more
  • Paul
    June 23, 2017
    Actual rating: 3.5 stars.I was offered a free download for a review.I'm surprised to see Goodreads listing "Afterlife" as science fiction. From the blurb sent me by the publicist, it was clear to me I was being asked to read & review a fantasy book. Fantasy is not my thing. Books about afterlives and the supernatural leave me cold. I almost said no, and then I had a thought: afterlives=fantasy/supernatural; alternate worlds=science fiction. Something in the blurb told me this book would appl Actual rating: 3.5 stars.I was offered a free download for a review.I'm surprised to see Goodreads listing "Afterlife" as science fiction. From the blurb sent me by the publicist, it was clear to me I was being asked to read & review a fantasy book. Fantasy is not my thing. Books about afterlives and the supernatural leave me cold. I almost said no, and then I had a thought: afterlives=fantasy/supernatural; alternate worlds=science fiction. Something in the blurb told me this book would apply a science fiction interpretation to the afterlife, and I said okay, hit me.Marcus Sakey's "Afterlife" is equal parts thriller, alternate world-building exercise, and what-happens-after-we-die speculation. It has good old-fashioned heroes and villains, romance, and (at least when it comes to the two protagonists, Will and Claire) good character development. Sakey succeeds in making the supernatural palatable to to readers like me.That's not to say there isn't an abundance of woo, particularly when it comes to the super-predators of the afterlife. I could handle the eaters when they were individuals gone over to the dark side of what is already the dark side (read and you will see), but the real monsters, explain them as hard as Sakey tries to do, remain incomprehensibly evil, and in the final chapters fantasy overwhelms science fiction. By then, though, I was hooked.I probably shouldn't say this, but the afterlives of "Afterlife" are my idea of the levels of hell. I don't say that to put off potential readers. "Afterlife" is a gripping, interesting book, and I'm sure most readers will like it and want to read more. And all but the most hard-hearted readers will love the sweet place Sakey puts Will and Claire at the end. I know I did.
    more
  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    July 13, 2017
    To be reviewed!
  • Greg Zimmerman
    June 27, 2017
    Get this awesome novel on your radar (out 7/18). It's like if David Mitchell wrote a cross between Inception and American Gods, but in the gritty, sarcastic style of Nelson DeMille's best cop thrillers. Wild read! Really had fun with this!
  • Gloria Feit
    June 16, 2017
    From the publisher: “The last thing FBI Agent Will Brody remembers is the explosion - - a thousand shards of glass surfing a lethal shockwave. He wakes without a scratch. The building is in ruins. His team is gone. Outside, Chicago is dark. Cars lie abandoned. No plans cross the sky. He’s relieved to spot other people - - until he sees they’re carrying machetes. Welcome to the afterlife.“. . . a mind-bending new thriller about life, death . . . and what happens after. A terrorist has paralyzed C From the publisher: “The last thing FBI Agent Will Brody remembers is the explosion - - a thousand shards of glass surfing a lethal shockwave. He wakes without a scratch. The building is in ruins. His team is gone. Outside, Chicago is dark. Cars lie abandoned. No plans cross the sky. He’s relieved to spot other people - - until he sees they’re carrying machetes. Welcome to the afterlife.“. . . a mind-bending new thriller about life, death . . . and what happens after. A terrorist has paralyzed Chicago, targeting civilians with brutal swiftness and precision. FBI agent Will Brody would do anything to catch him - - but this time he’s the hunted, not the hunter. Lured into a trap, Brody is caught in a furious explosion that claims his life. But in “Afterlife,” death is only the beginning. Brody finds himself wandering a different Chicago. A city real in every detail, but seemingly empty. It turns out the afterlife is a dangerous place. This echo of Chicago is populated only by those who died abruptly, violently, with an abundance of life force remaining. For some, it’s a new life in death. For others, it’s a war. Now Brody must fight to survive the afterlife and protect other innocents - - all while desperate to reunite with the woman he loves and left behind. That woman is his boss, fellow FBI agent Claire McCoy. Their love affair was illicit, breathtaking, and brief, cut short by the bomb blast. For Claire, finding Brody’s killer is personal. And when she confronts him head-on, she does so knowing that her own life is on the line - - but not what waits on the other side.”This novel is an unexpected combination of love story, a thriller, and a sci-fi tale, all memorably written and engaging – who could ask for anything more? I should add it is all unexpected, and, to be candid, something not usually within my reading preferences. What sets this one apart is, primarily, the abovementioned quality of the writing. I already knew what a wonderful this author is, but this was an entirely new and unexpected experience.Brody, 37 years old, is not entirely unprepared for what ultimately is expected of him in the afterlife: He was a Marine, having enlisted right after 9/11. Brody’s new world is what is referred to by its residents as an echo of the world he had known, literally, “an overlap” of that world.“Afterlife” is a novel unlike any I, personally, have ever read. Like the characters in the book, I was totally unprepared for what lays within its pages. And I must admit that it stayed with me long after the last page was turned. And, clearly, it is recommended.
    more
  • Toni Laliberte
    June 24, 2017
    This is one of the best books that I've read, in a really long time. Such a unique and wonderful story, rich in characters and perfect writing. Marcus Sakey is my new hero. He spun a tale about the power of love and what shared love is capable of. Love does conquer all. Read this book, people!
    more
  • Annie
    June 19, 2017
    There are hundreds of novels (probably more) that speculate about what happens after death, but I doubt that few authors have the gumption to reimagine eschatology the way Marcus Sakey has in Afterlife. In this fantastical thriller, protagonists Will Brody and Claire McCoy have to chase a mass murder across the boundary between life and death. For these two, an FBI badge doesn’t expire after they die...Read the rest of my review at A Bookish Type. I received a free copy of this book from NetGall There are hundreds of novels (probably more) that speculate about what happens after death, but I doubt that few authors have the gumption to reimagine eschatology the way Marcus Sakey has in Afterlife. In this fantastical thriller, protagonists Will Brody and Claire McCoy have to chase a mass murder across the boundary between life and death. For these two, an FBI badge doesn’t expire after they die...Read the rest of my review at A Bookish Type. I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for review consideration.
    more
  • Sierra the Nerdgirl
    July 16, 2017
    Disclaimer: I was provided a free copy in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Little Bird Publicity for this opportunity to give an honest review. You guys, this book was a complete surprise to me. I did not expect to like it nearly as much as I did. The first chapter was real rough, and I mean real rough, almost enough to make me DNF the book. But, I kept pushing onwards, and I'm so glad I did because the book was such an interesting, mentally, and intellectually compelling book that drew Disclaimer: I was provided a free copy in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Little Bird Publicity for this opportunity to give an honest review. You guys, this book was a complete surprise to me. I did not expect to like it nearly as much as I did. The first chapter was real rough, and I mean real rough, almost enough to make me DNF the book. But, I kept pushing onwards, and I'm so glad I did because the book was such an interesting, mentally, and intellectually compelling book that drew me in. I powered through this book in 6 hours, only taking a break two times, once to get McDonald's and another time to take a bath. I don't want to give away anything about the plot because the plot is so damn interesting that you should go into it blind. I will tell you that it focuses on what happens after you die and the possibilities death has. It is very much a mental mindf*** and something I have often thought about. If you don't like the idea of thinking about what happens after we die, then this is not the book for you. However, if you are ready for a mindf***, this is for you. The book also analyzes the evil in the world and looks at how bad people turn out the way they are, and it's a really interesting concept. Because there are those people who just crack and do bad shit without a visible explanation, but it's interesting because maybe there is a reason that just is more than what we can conceptually conceive. Nothing about this plot is predictable, save for the the very beginning. There are so many twists and turns that just mess with your head and just make you think. That's what I really liked about this book. It made you think. I also like how it was a combination of paranormal, fantasy, romance, thriller, mystery, and sci-fi all combined into one book. The characters were also great in this book. Seeing how they think and handle this situation is just so interesting because it makes you think about how you would handle it. I mean, honestly, if I died and woke up in another level of existence, I have no idea how I would handle it, and that freaks me out. And I love the romance that our main charachters Brody and Claire have. They take their love to the extreme. Like honestly, I would be lucky to ever find someone who I loved as much as these two loved each other. And I really liked Claire because she was a strong, independent, gives no shits women, who puts everyone in their place. She is also an intellectual and handles the situation so gracefully in a way I wouldn't think is possible. Overall, this book just makes you feel... woke, yeah that's the word I'll use, woke. It puts into perspective every little aspect of our life and the overall politics of living coupled against death and what really matters. It also really makes you look at the science of living and death and how that interplays with the perceived impossible and fictitious. Here are some quotes that give you an idea of what I'm talking about: "Is it really so hard to imagine there's energy to life we don't know how to measure? Some vital, quantifiable connection between ourselves and the universe that doesn't appear under a microscope" "It's all energy. The universe began in an explosion. Every element is forged in the heart of a star. There is nothing but energy. With enough energy, existence bends around you like the sea around a sailboat." As a scientist, these quotes really resonated with me, and there are others like this that container spoilers that just made me think. This book has already been optioned for a movie, and I'm so excited to see how it translates to movie form. I really do think this is something everyone should experience because although it will probably make you uncomfortable and mess with your mind, sometimes it's good to be uncomfortable and to think beyond the possible.
    more
  • Dave
    July 13, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley for providing an ARC in exchange for honest review. As a huge advocate of the Brilliance series, I was very much tuned into reading this knowing, of course the premise and characters were entirely different. I typically enjoy Sakey's writing style and the way he attacks a compelling story line as much as any contemporary author out there, especially on the local front. What followed was a story about two FBI agents that traverse the dimensional divide between living and de Thank you to NetGalley for providing an ARC in exchange for honest review. As a huge advocate of the Brilliance series, I was very much tuned into reading this knowing, of course the premise and characters were entirely different. I typically enjoy Sakey's writing style and the way he attacks a compelling story line as much as any contemporary author out there, especially on the local front. What followed was a story about two FBI agents that traverse the dimensional divide between living and dead, a space we have no real proof exists, holy scriptures and people brought back to life after being dead for 8 minutes notwithstanding. So while the topic isn't exactly unmined, it is open to interpretation. And for a while, I was with Sakey in thinking, "You know, this (semi-spoiler alert) echo world is as plausible as anything else. I wonder if..." And then he lost me. There were some action sequences, a tight romance that drove the classic good vs evil foundation cliché in the book, and an über-dystopian society with rules in the echo with peripheral characters, some nuanced some not. Then Brody and Claire, the two main characters started jumping around to "other" echoes in a tiered and fading fashion, some of it by design, some of it by fate, in order to complete their mission of ridding the echoes, and thus the world of what, evil? Which Claire insists happens based on a logical pattern while Brody doesn't care, he just wants to kill the m'fer. Too much thunderclapping, hopping around in a time tube with a baseball bat or a sledgehammer for my taste. If it had just explored more of the echo and how to get back from it, perhaps it would have been in better shape, but what do I know?
    more
  • Jeremy Baker
    June 26, 2017
    I first encountered Marcus Sakey’s work via his Brilliance Trilogy, which is for lack of a better term, brilliant. In those books, he tackled the mutants-might-be-our-future trope in a way that was completely and distinctly UN-trope-y, totally fresh, compulsively readable, and layered with realism that pulls you right into the story. Sakey struck me as a guy with big-L literary fiction chops who was writing kickass big-G genre fiction. And since I absolutely hate the willful mainstream categoriz I first encountered Marcus Sakey’s work via his Brilliance Trilogy, which is for lack of a better term, brilliant. In those books, he tackled the mutants-might-be-our-future trope in a way that was completely and distinctly UN-trope-y, totally fresh, compulsively readable, and layered with realism that pulls you right into the story. Sakey struck me as a guy with big-L literary fiction chops who was writing kickass big-G genre fiction. And since I absolutely hate the willful mainstream categorization of L vs G, and the way that genre fiction can be marginalized by the so-called literati, I truly appreciated the voice of a guy who was clearly interested only in one thing: writing a damn good story. And that’s what Sakey does. He writes books that you just can’t shake. They drive pell-mell from set piece and cliffhanger to confrontation and resolution, with constantly ratcheting tension leavened by carefully distributed humor. The guy’s a master plotter and a thorough, meticulous world-builder. But what sets his work apart from other excellent plotters and world-builders for me is the way he writes his characters. They’re eminently believable, totally relatable, and they interact in realistic ways that still drive the plot. This balance between characterization and plot is delicate, almost impossible to achieve perfectly. But take your pick from any of his books, any scenes of characters conversing, and you’ll see it. It’s so realistic to daily life that you can see yourself immediately as a player in the interaction. This has the effect of pulling you right into the book, rooting for the characters—well, some of them, anyway. But even his villains are richly-textured; everyone has a motivation that is believable and well-constructed, whether simple survival or a more deeply-rooted desire to watch the world burn.So it should come as no surprise that I was thrilled to receive an ARC of Sakey’s latest soon-to-be best-seller, AFTERLIFE. Given that the book hasn’t even been released yet, this will be a spoiler-free review. We’ll leave it at this: AFTERLIFE is the story of a transcendent, everlasting, and yet completely believable love; a taut, tense, and thrilling police procedural that feels painfully timely in light of today’s events; a post-death conceptual realization that puts everything else I’ve ever read on the topic to shame (although Richard Matheson had some ideas that were maybe in the general neighborhood—without being as entertaining); and a nearly-theological exploration of good and evil and, more importantly at its base level: power and weakness. There are strong flavors of post-apocalyptic-but-not-quite adventure in places (think "Dies the Fire" series by SM Stirling), and even a well-done nod to the zombie trope (which feels neither tired nor hackneyed).And everywhere runs a thread I have come to expect from his work: perfectly-infused, brilliant moments of humor at just the right time, and interactions between characters that make me feel like I’m sitting right in the room with them. I tore through this book—it’s compulsively readable, incredibly enjoyable, and it left me absolutely gutted in the best possible way. It’s as close to perfect a book I’ve read in the last ten years.
    more
  • Suzanne
    July 15, 2017
    This is a hard book to summarize but an easy one to completely lose yourself in. I thought I'd just read the first few chapters and then get some chores done. Well, that didn't work out. Next time I noticed, the day had flown by and the book was nearly over. Hard to believe but I just couldn't stop reading it. Two FBI agents, recently involved with each other and in pursuit of a serial killer/sniper, are separately killed in Chicago. They are reunited in death in a place called the Echo and the This is a hard book to summarize but an easy one to completely lose yourself in. I thought I'd just read the first few chapters and then get some chores done. Well, that didn't work out. Next time I noticed, the day had flown by and the book was nearly over. Hard to believe but I just couldn't stop reading it. Two FBI agents, recently involved with each other and in pursuit of a serial killer/sniper, are separately killed in Chicago. They are reunited in death in a place called the Echo and the sniper is also there. They take their law enforcement roles seriously. That's the set-up and telling any more ruins the story unnecessarily. The author is very creative with his world building and it's a joy to encounter a master at work. There are a few places that drag a little; they seem a bit rough for an otherwise polished tale. Overall this is a gem that delights on many levels. I received my copy from the publisher through NetGalley.
    more
  • Teri
    June 18, 2017
    After finishing this book, I had to sit with it for a few days.  I'm a fan of Sakey's Brilliance Trilogy - but Afterlife is a cut above and unlike anything I've ever read.Whatever ideas you've entertained about the afterlife - I promise, you've never thought of it in this way.  Highly creative and thoroughly engaging, Afterlife is a phenomenal blend of thriller, fantasy, and love story set in a dark, dangerous world.I really liked Will and Claire and their likability is crucial to this story.  B After finishing this book, I had to sit with it for a few days.  I'm a fan of Sakey's Brilliance Trilogy - but Afterlife is a cut above and unlike anything I've ever read.Whatever ideas you've entertained about the afterlife - I promise, you've never thought of it in this way.  Highly creative and thoroughly engaging, Afterlife is a phenomenal blend of thriller, fantasy, and love story set in a dark, dangerous world.I really liked Will and Claire and their likability is crucial to this story.  Both are what you hope to see in law enforcement - unwavering honor, incredible bravery, and keen intelligence, although Claire is usually a couple of steps ahead of Will.  What they're willing to sacrifice for mankind and each other is completely selfless.Although I felt the strength of their bond later in the story, the initial connection between them wasn't quite believable for me.  Maybe I'm just not an almost 'love at first sight' kind of person.Afterlife is an epic battle between good and evil with an original, wondrous story that will stay with you long after finishing the last page.Thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for a digital ARC. 
    more
  • Colin Hardy
    June 14, 2017
    This was an interesting read with echoes of The Great and Secret Show and RIPD (without the humour) but with its own philosophy and world building. Life, death and what goes on beyond are all grist for the mill in this story of two FBI agents and a love that not only endures but flourishes as a result of all that is thrown at it. Underlying it all is the apparent belief that to gain power is a selfish and ultimately destructive act and that the more you get the more isolated you become. As a res This was an interesting read with echoes of The Great and Secret Show and RIPD (without the humour) but with its own philosophy and world building. Life, death and what goes on beyond are all grist for the mill in this story of two FBI agents and a love that not only endures but flourishes as a result of all that is thrown at it. Underlying it all is the apparent belief that to gain power is a selfish and ultimately destructive act and that the more you get the more isolated you become. As a result such power is fragile and can be destroyed by selfless acts. Remember that this is a story first and foremost and so thankfully falls short of polemic. Nevertheless, the characterisation is affected by this morality tale, with all key figures appearing as archetypes and secondary characters therefore suffer in their lack of development.Despite all of the above it was a story that held my attention and was sufficiently rich and unique that I looked forward to each step in the tale. Recommended.
    more
  • Cathy Ryan
    July 18, 2017
    The story opens in 1532 as Edmund killed an apprentice and took his place aboard the Persephone, sailing to the new world. Two weeks into the return voyage a violent storm lashed the ship. The cargo and all provisions were lost and the men who survived on the battered ship resorted to desperate measures to stay alive, until only Edmund was left. He died just shy of a mile from land.Ex Marine, Will Brody, now a Special Agent with the FBI, was at the scene of the seventeenth murder from a sniper’s The story opens in 1532 as Edmund killed an apprentice and took his place aboard the Persephone, sailing to the new world. Two weeks into the return voyage a violent storm lashed the ship. The cargo and all provisions were lost and the men who survived on the battered ship resorted to desperate measures to stay alive, until only Edmund was left. He died just shy of a mile from land.Ex Marine, Will Brody, now a Special Agent with the FBI, was at the scene of the seventeenth murder from a sniper’s bullet. The terrorist has all but shut down Chicago, his targets random and deadly. Claire McCoy is head of the FBI task force and Will’s boss. The two are in the throes of a new relationship despite the fact they work together and that alone could cause difficulties. But they both felt an underlying pull, almost as if they already knew each other.Claire had set up a tip line when it became obvious what they were dealing with. Will volunteered to follow up on one of the many phone calls from the public which leads him and his team to an abandoned church in a run down area........Will’s team were gone and the church was reduced to a pile of rubble. The city looked desolate and deserted. Then he spotted some people….carrying machetes.Having listened to Marcus Sakey’s Brilliance saga and loved it I jumped at the chance to read Afterlife when it was offered. It’s a fast moving, well written and masterful plot, which explores a very different take on the afterlife. The concept is incredible, as is the convincing world building and the battle between good and evil, the strong and the weak in such a novel setting. Running through it all is a believable bond between two people that transcends death. Will and Claire are well developed and engaging protagonists, both with a keen sense of morality. Will is mostly half a step behind Claire in the smarts department, which is a nice touch, especially since it doesn’t trouble him in the slightest. The characters drive the plot, they’re convincing and their interactions and dialogue are realistic in relation to the bizarre situations they find themselves in.Descriptions of ‘the echo’ have a definite post apocalyptic feel which adds to the atmosphere and the combination of genres, which include supernatural, romance and thriller with a touch of science fiction. Teeming with tension, drama and suspense, I didn’t want the story to end although an excellent conclusion rounds it all out nicely.I chose to read and review Afterlife based on an advance reader copy of the book supplied by the author/publisher and NetGalley. My thanks also to Claire at LittleBird Publicity.
    more
  • Mike
    July 4, 2017
    I've been a fan of this Chicago-based author for years and was honored to meet him earlier in his career at a library in Naperville IL. I thought the Brilliance Trilogy was his best creative writing to-date. I know he is friends with the amazing Blake Crouch so I sense some competition to outdo each other. My focused reads are mysteries and thrillers but AFTERLIFE extends beyond that genre. The idea, the concept, the thought process for this book was huge as I never expected to go where the book I've been a fan of this Chicago-based author for years and was honored to meet him earlier in his career at a library in Naperville IL. I thought the Brilliance Trilogy was his best creative writing to-date. I know he is friends with the amazing Blake Crouch so I sense some competition to outdo each other. My focused reads are mysteries and thrillers but AFTERLIFE extends beyond that genre. The idea, the concept, the thought process for this book was huge as I never expected to go where the book took me. Great array of characters for the dimensions touched. The book made me think about what it was about and this talented author really took me to the place(s) he intended the reader to go. I read some info on a movie coming and that will be very interesting to see. An amazing book that I was so glad to get an advance copy to read and review. Definitely one of my best reads of the year and highly recommended if you are ready to go to..........
    more
  • Sarah
    June 25, 2017
    3.5 StarsThanks to Netgalley for an ARC of this book which I jumped all over being a HUGE fan of Sakey's Brilliance trilogy. This one just didn't do it for me in the same way though. It was a quick read and I thought the premise was interesting. Perhaps it will work better on the screen as the film it's already been sold as? Something about it just felt thin. Maybe it was the relationship between Claire and Will that I felt like was not fully developed or perhaps it was the ever changing rules o 3.5 StarsThanks to Netgalley for an ARC of this book which I jumped all over being a HUGE fan of Sakey's Brilliance trilogy. This one just didn't do it for me in the same way though. It was a quick read and I thought the premise was interesting. Perhaps it will work better on the screen as the film it's already been sold as? Something about it just felt thin. Maybe it was the relationship between Claire and Will that I felt like was not fully developed or perhaps it was the ever changing rules of the afterlife. That and all of the absolute gore and darkness were a turn off for me. I'll continue to keep up with Sakey though since I've liked most of his works.
    more
  • Jo
    July 16, 2017
    Marcus Sakey always delivers the unexpected, and Afterlife is no exception. That said, the Brilliance trilogy was a tough act to follow, and using that measuring stick (to mix metaphors, LOL) I didn't love this quite as much..Still, I did love the main characters, Claire and Will, and it's especially gratifying to see a strong, commanding female main character shown in a realistic way. This will make you want to believe that your own love story can last even 'beyond' and whether there's somethin Marcus Sakey always delivers the unexpected, and Afterlife is no exception. That said, the Brilliance trilogy was a tough act to follow, and using that measuring stick (to mix metaphors, LOL) I didn't love this quite as much..Still, I did love the main characters, Claire and Will, and it's especially gratifying to see a strong, commanding female main character shown in a realistic way. This will make you want to believe that your own love story can last even 'beyond' and whether there's something more for us out there. It's a novel about what comes after that will make you think, and I can't wait to see it on the big screen!*ARC via netgalley*
    more
  • Mrs Mommy Booknerd http://mrsmommybooknerd.blogspot.com
    July 14, 2017
    FirstLine ~ He was born into cramped alleys and foul air, fish-stink and garbage and the Bellman's call -- Remember the clocks, look well to your locksThis book is a mind blow, nearly literally. I have never read anything like it. It was one of those reads that leaves you a bit off kilter in the best possible way. I cannot wait to see how this translates to the big screen. I am so excited to see. I thought this was such an original and engaging story with so many elements blended together to mak FirstLine ~ He was born into cramped alleys and foul air, fish-stink and garbage and the Bellman's call -- Remember the clocks, look well to your locksThis book is a mind blow, nearly literally. I have never read anything like it. It was one of those reads that leaves you a bit off kilter in the best possible way. I cannot wait to see how this translates to the big screen. I am so excited to see. I thought this was such an original and engaging story with so many elements blended together to make it an engrossing and engaging read. I promise you that there is something for everyone in this book. I also warn you that once you start reading you will find it very hard to stop!
    more
  • Sarai Henderson
    July 15, 2017
    A unique story and twist on what happens after death. The story started off a little slow to me, but I understand that some setup was necessary to build a connection with the characters. After Will Brody dies, that's when things started to get interesting. The author has created a whole new world and rules that Will must learn. I really enjoyed this read and if you like paranormal thrillers, you will too. Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.
    more
  • Sarah Canfield
    July 3, 2017
    Page turning from the start, i deeply enjoyed the story and the pace of this fun read.
  • Brandie
    July 9, 2017
    This is a very different book.
  • Sara
    May 14, 2017
    review to follow on Boundless Book reviews
Write a review