A Fiendish Arrangement (The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding #1)
"I would say it's a pleasure to meet thee, Prosperity Oceanus Redding, but truly, I only anticipate the delights of destroying thy happiness."Prosper is the only unexceptional Redding in his old and storied family history — that is, until he discovers the demon living inside him. Turns out Prosper's great-great-great-great-great-something grandfather made — and then broke — a contract with a malefactor, a demon who exchanges fortune for eternal servitude. And, weirdly enough, four-thousand-year-old Alastor isn't exactly the forgiving type. The fiend has reawakened with one purpose — to destroy the family whose success he ensured and who then betrayed him. With only days to break the curse and banish Alastor back to the demon realm, Prosper is playing unwilling host to the fiend, who delights in tormenting him with nasty insults and constant attempts trick him into a contract. Yeah, Prosper will take his future without a side of eternal servitude, thanks.Little does Prosper know, the malefactor's control over his body grows stronger with each passing night, and there's a lot Alastor isn't telling his dim-witted (but admittedly strong-willed) human host. From #1 New York Times best-selling author Alexandra Bracken comes a tale of betrayal and revenge, of old hurts passed down from generation to generation. Can you ever fully right a wrong, ever truly escape your history? Or will Prosper and Alastor be doomed to repeat it?

A Fiendish Arrangement (The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding #1) Details

TitleA Fiendish Arrangement (The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseSep 5th, 2017
PublisherDisney-Hyperion
ISBN1484778170
ISBN-139781484778173
Number of pages272 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Fantasy

A Fiendish Arrangement (The Dreadful Tale of Prosper Redding #1) Review

  • Madison (The Chronic Re-Reader)
    April 11, 2016
    Hold up! Alexandra Bracken has a new book?Middle grade?But urban fantasy? *Sigh*... Okay.But really, who am I trying to kid? Anything Alexandra Bracken writes, I will read!
  • Max {Windrunner of Adarlan's Reviews}
    February 5, 2016
  • Gabby
    March 7, 2017
    07/03/2017 — A new book from Alexandra Bracken??? Hell yes I'm there! Interested to see how her writing differs — since this is middle grade, not YA.
  • Iara Ofamen
    March 3, 2017
    "From #1 New York Times best-selling author Alexandra Bracken comes a tale of betrayal and revenge, of old hurts passed down from generation to generation. Can you ever fully right a wrong, ever truly escape your history?"Well, then.
  • Veronica
    April 20, 2017
    It was very different than her Passenger series. I really like how it was written. The characters relationships were really well planned out; how Prosper's relationship with his twin sister was simultaniously happy and painful for him (he loves her but they never hang out anymore and she hangs out with kids who tease him). It was very much a realistic story based on how Prosper's school goes, kids get teased, kids get hurt, everyone has their bad days, there are bad teachers, and bad students. I It was very different than her Passenger series. I really like how it was written. The characters relationships were really well planned out; how Prosper's relationship with his twin sister was simultaniously happy and painful for him (he loves her but they never hang out anymore and she hangs out with kids who tease him). It was very much a realistic story based on how Prosper's school goes, kids get teased, kids get hurt, everyone has their bad days, there are bad teachers, and bad students. I thought it was really cool that we were able to see into Alastor's mind.Like, you go into the book expecting the whole story to be told from Prosper's POV and then all of a sudden Alastor is taking control of Prosper and going and eating pumpkins and spiders. We don't often see the story from the "villain's" point of view so I thought that was a really neat aspect of the story. I think that overall, this is a story about family. We see Prosper and Prue, Alastor and Pyre, and even Nell and Uncle Barnabas. And it was a good choice. As a middle grade novel, it is a bit young for romance to be the main theme. We see Prosper, who thinks that nothing is going right in his life, still doing whatever he can to protect his sister and parent, even after they have let him down. And I think that is an really important message especially for middle grade aged kids, that no matter what that family love is very important.Overall I thought it was amazing, especially seeing as how this is Alexandra's first middle grade novel.
    more
  • Tamara (Tamaraniac)
    November 3, 2015
    3/11/15: This sounds fantastic! Middle Grade urban fantasy with curses and demons, plus of course it's by Alexandra Bracken! If you want to know more about the story, Bracken gave more details than were in the announcement's summary in this series of tweets: https://twitter.com/alexbracken/statu...
    more
  • Kenneth Mandap
    January 12, 2017
    The book cover is gorgeous.
  • Selin Alpdoğan
    December 13, 2015
    ımm... What is that? New Alexandra Brackens books? Oh gosh. When publishing date?
  • Lover of Literature
    January 14, 2016
    great, this sounds like a episode of supernatural, Plagiarism much
  • Alexandra Bracken
    April 13, 2017
  • Kaylie
    February 22, 2017
    OMG I NEEEEEDDD
Write a review