The Jungle Book
Heavily influenced by his childhood in British-ruled India, Rudyard Kipling created some of the most well-read children s stories in Western Culture. Book One of The Jungle Book(s) includes Mowgli s Brothers, the story of Mowgli, the abandoned man-cub who was raised by animals in the Indian jungle, Rikki-Tikki-Tavi the heroic mongoose, and Toomai of the Elephants, the tale of a young elephant-handler, and in The White Seal, we meet Kotick, a rare white-furred northern fur seal as he searches for a home where his family will not be hunted by humans. Originally published as a series of short stories for magazines in the late 1800s, the Nobel Prize-winning Rudyard Kipling would eventually publish the classic The Jungle Book in 1894."

The Jungle Book Details

TitleThe Jungle Book
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseApr 28th, 2017
PublisherUdon Entertainment
ISBN1772940186
ISBN-139781772940183
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Manga, Classics, Action, Young Adult

The Jungle Book Review

  • Nicole
    April 19, 2017
    Manga Classics: The Jungle Book!!! First things first: I received this book through NetGalley. I read the original book two years ago and absolutely loved it, so when I saw on NetGalley that they turned it into a Manga Classic, I just had to have it. I love these Manga Classics, seriously, I read all of them and they are just such a fun and easy way to read those classics. I love that the song parts were included in the manga, cause they were such a fun part in the actual book. Also once again, Manga Classics: The Jungle Book!!! First things first: I received this book through NetGalley. I read the original book two years ago and absolutely loved it, so when I saw on NetGalley that they turned it into a Manga Classic, I just had to have it. I love these Manga Classics, seriously, I read all of them and they are just such a fun and easy way to read those classics. I love that the song parts were included in the manga, cause they were such a fun part in the actual book. Also once again, the story with the white seal was on the top of my favorite stories, even though I truly love all these stories. The artwork was amazing as expected. I can't recommend these Manga Classics highly enough. 
    more
  • Atlas
    March 10, 2017
    * * * *4 / 5I picked up a copy of the The Jungle Book, manga edition on a whim and I was very pleasantly pleased with it. I have read my fair share of manga in my youth and this book follows the traditional format of being read right to left (a handy guide at the back for those that have never read a manga), as well as having loving, classically manga illustrations. As far as I can tell, The Jungle Book follows Rudyard Kipling's original seven stories very closely, even integrating some of the s * * * *4 / 5I picked up a copy of the The Jungle Book, manga edition on a whim and I was very pleasantly pleased with it. I have read my fair share of manga in my youth and this book follows the traditional format of being read right to left (a handy guide at the back for those that have never read a manga), as well as having loving, classically manga illustrations. As far as I can tell, The Jungle Book follows Rudyard Kipling's original seven stories very closely, even integrating some of the shorter poems into the artwork.Whilst I am familiar with the stories that make up the typical Jungle Book films, those of Mowgli, Baloo, Bagheera and Shere Khan, I did not know that the original Jungle Book also included four further stories: The White Seal, Rikki-Tikki-Tavi, Toomai of the Elephants, and Her Majesty's Servants. My favourite of these was Rikki-Tikki-Tavi, a story about a mongoose defending a human family from a pair of snakes. So as well as being visually lovely, I also got culturally exposed to something I wasn't previously aware of. Bonus!The artwork, on the whole, is lovely. Most of the animals, particularly Shere Khan and the seals, looked fantastic. Others, like Bagheera and the wolves looked a little weird and too cartoony compared to others, like the monkeys, which is why I am knocking off a star. The humans are classic manga style - pointy chins and big eyes - which can be a plus or not depending on your personal preference. The book also felt a bit long, but this is the price of faithfully following the original stories! I have no complaints about the pacing or the storylines - as far as I am aware they are good representations of Kipling's writings.On the whole, a good collection for those that have read the original works and want to experience them in a new form, or for those who have no experience of The Jungle Book. I can certainly see children enjoying this profusely. My thanks to Netgalley, the publisher, and the artist for an ARC.Read this review and more on my blog: http://atlasrisingbooks.blogspot.com/...
    more
  • Lör K.
    March 27, 2017
    Free copy provided by Netgalley in return for an honest reviewPublication Date: 03rd April 2017Review Date: 27th March 2017Hard Cover Pricing: $24.99Paper Back Pricing: $17.99I’ve never read Rudyard Kipling’s The Jungle Book, only the Just So Stories, so when I saw this manga classic that had been put online by a publisher I’m auto approved for, I just had to grab the book and give it a read.This was an amazing introduction to the world of Rudyard Kipling, and it’s made me so much more exciting Free copy provided by Netgalley in return for an honest reviewPublication Date: 03rd April 2017Review Date: 27th March 2017Hard Cover Pricing: $24.99Paper Back Pricing: $17.99I’ve never read Rudyard Kipling’s The Jungle Book, only the Just So Stories, so when I saw this manga classic that had been put online by a publisher I’m auto approved for, I just had to grab the book and give it a read.This was an amazing introduction to the world of Rudyard Kipling, and it’s made me so much more exciting to read the actual book behind this; this is a wonderful way of getting children into the world of classics. There were plenty of Rudyard stories in this, and my favourites out of all of them were “The White Seal” and “Rikki-Tikki-Tavi”. Both stories were absolutely beautiful and the artwork in them took my breath away. The artwork throughout the entire book was absolutely stunning and the illustrator has done such a thorough and well done job with it all.I really love this book and very well might buy it later on in the year to add to my manga collection. After this introduction to Manga Classics, I can’t wait to read the rest of what Crystal S. Chan has produced in this series.
    more
  • Elaine Mullane
    March 8, 2017
    If you are used to the style of Manga, this book shouldn't take you too long to get your head around. I studied Japanese in university (as a minor subject) and first became interested in Manga then. Traditionally, they read books from right to left, and therefore from back cover to front cover, in Japan, so this style of reading isn't new to me and didn't cause me any major concern. However, if you are new to Manga this can be a little off-putting, as not only do you read the pages from back cov If you are used to the style of Manga, this book shouldn't take you too long to get your head around. I studied Japanese in university (as a minor subject) and first became interested in Manga then. Traditionally, they read books from right to left, and therefore from back cover to front cover, in Japan, so this style of reading isn't new to me and didn't cause me any major concern. However, if you are new to Manga this can be a little off-putting, as not only do you read the pages from back cover to front cover, but you also read each little strip from right to left. So, essentially, you are reading backwards. But don't let that put you off: Manga is an interesting and entertaining art and you can find some great titles both here and abroad to enjoy.Okay, so I was under the illusion, like many I am sure, that the story of The Jungle Book was exclusively about the life of the boy Mowgli. I now know this to be not the case. Rudyard Kipling's stories for children were actually heavily influenced by his childhood in British-ruled India and encompassed so much more than an account of the abandoned man-cub who was raised by animals in the Indian jungle. Some of the stories in this edition, adapted in the Manga style by Crystal S. Chan, are about Mowgli, but some stories are about different creatures altogether. Here we are presented with a story about a rare white-furred northern seal searching for a peaceful home where his family will not be hunted by humans; a story about a heroic mongoose; one about Toomai of the Elephants and a young elephant-handler; and there's a story about different animals who are ordered to do as humans wish them to. It really is so much broader than just a recounting of the tale of the famous Mowgli.This edition also features some of the original poetry included in Kipling's original series of short stories, used here to separate the different tales. I thought these were incorporated quite well into this book and I enjoyed reading them. I also enjoyed the illustrations, although I have come across much better in some of the other Manga titles I have explored. It was still a very enjoyable way to read The Jungle Book: I loved seeing the story come to life in this way. I enjoyed reading about the animal characters and did become immersed in their stories. It was quite an enchanting read and very unique. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is a fan of graphic novels or Manga specifically, but would pre-empt my recommendation by highlighting that this isn't the Disney story retold: this is the original Kipling work in a new light. Reimagined, if you will.
    more
  • Jane
    March 2, 2017
    I don't think I have actually read the original book by Rudyard Kipling, but I have seen quite a few of the movie and/or cartoon adaptations and therefore I have always thought that The Jungle Book is only about the man-cub Mowgli who was raised by wolves somewhere in India. But it would seem that I have been living a lie, because that's not the case! Some of the short stories are about the famous boy named Mowgli, but some stories are about different creatures altogether. For example, there's a I don't think I have actually read the original book by Rudyard Kipling, but I have seen quite a few of the movie and/or cartoon adaptations and therefore I have always thought that The Jungle Book is only about the man-cub Mowgli who was raised by wolves somewhere in India. But it would seem that I have been living a lie, because that's not the case! Some of the short stories are about the famous boy named Mowgli, but some stories are about different creatures altogether. For example, there's a story about a white seal looking for a peaceful home, there's a story about a mongoose, there's a story about elephants and then there's a story about different animals who are ordered to do as humans wish them to. Every short story ends with a poem about the story itself, some of them are a bit shorter and some of them a bit longer, and as I understand, that these are something kind of directly taken from the original work. Unfortunately for Kipling, the poems were my least favourite parts even though the people working on this adaptation have done a marvelous job of combining the poems with the stories.Although I cannot say that the illustrations are as gorgeous as they have been in the other manga adaptations I've read, they're still really nice and I liked them a lot. It's just it's somehow a lot easier to say gorgeous about pictures about people or subjects that I'm more familiar with (e.g. clothes and buildings) than it is about bears or seals for example. It is very easy to distinguish between the animals and I liked the mix of cartoon and real-life style going on. All of the wolves have different faces and looks and all of the animals have been drawn in a way that it's easy to tell whether they're more of the good, bad or just plain nuts kinds of characters.DISCLAIMER: I received a free copy of an un-edited electronic proof from UDON & Morpheus via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. The following thoughts are my own and have not been affected in any way by this. The Jungle Book's manga adaptation is expected to be published on 1st April, 2017. The Book Challengers blog // The Book Challengers Instagram // The Book Challengers Twitter
    more
  • Tabby Shiflett
    March 19, 2017
    3.75 StarsKudos for following along the general storyline of the original work! I love seeing classics retold in a new way to encourage readers to seek these stories out, especially in such a different way. The illustrations are fun and enchanting and vary from the other artwork in this series. It's all good, but The Jungle Book has more animals and less people as characters. The setting is completely unique too. I was fascinated by the white seal and mongoose stories. Looking forward to the nex 3.75 StarsKudos for following along the general storyline of the original work! I love seeing classics retold in a new way to encourage readers to seek these stories out, especially in such a different way. The illustrations are fun and enchanting and vary from the other artwork in this series. It's all good, but The Jungle Book has more animals and less people as characters. The setting is completely unique too. I was fascinated by the white seal and mongoose stories. Looking forward to the next Manga Classics release.Net Galley Feedback
    more
  • John Duggan
    March 3, 2017
    Took awhile to adjust to the style (I do not usually read Manga) but it was very enjoyable way to read the Jungle Book. I feel they did a solid job creating this, and would remind people this isn't "Disney" it is Kipling
  • Sheena-kay Graham
    April 25, 2017
    This version of the Jungle book is based on the original stories and doesn't just focus on Mowgli. Each story has its own ups and down and ways to draw in the reader. The manga style also adds another level of intrigue once you get used to it. The writing is great and the art is phenomenal. Best for readers in their teens and upwards as small children might not be able to fully grasp the content. Highly recommend. I got a free e-copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Katie Harper
    April 11, 2017
    NetGalley graciusly sent me an ARC for an honest review.While I am extremely tired at this juncture I will say this: this book is so much fun to read. If you grew up with the classics, or even if you just enjoy the movies, you will probably enjoy this collecition of Rudyard Kipling's stories in manga form. The artwork was expressive and clearly defined each scene as the characters remained at the forefront. Sidenote: Rikki Tikki Tavi is my favorite story of this collection, and I promise it will NetGalley graciusly sent me an ARC for an honest review.While I am extremely tired at this juncture I will say this: this book is so much fun to read. If you grew up with the classics, or even if you just enjoy the movies, you will probably enjoy this collecition of Rudyard Kipling's stories in manga form. The artwork was expressive and clearly defined each scene as the characters remained at the forefront. Sidenote: Rikki Tikki Tavi is my favorite story of this collection, and I promise it will make you smile as well.
    more
  • Kimber
    April 4, 2017
    This is a trimmed down version of my review, to view the full review visit The Book Ramble.I received a copy of this book from Udon Entertainment on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This was the weakest Manga Classic thus far. It is a difficult book to adapt as it’s a series of stories, not all of which are directly related, so there’s not a close knit story throughout. That definitely hurts the whole thing overall. On top of that the original book contains a lot of poems, which are le This is a trimmed down version of my review, to view the full review visit The Book Ramble.I received a copy of this book from Udon Entertainment on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This was the weakest Manga Classic thus far. It is a difficult book to adapt as it’s a series of stories, not all of which are directly related, so there’s not a close knit story throughout. That definitely hurts the whole thing overall. On top of that the original book contains a lot of poems, which are left in full in this manga adaptation.The Jungle Book is actually several short stories about various creatures from the jungle. Mowgli, the long beloved main character of Disney’s Jungle Book, is but one character in this book and he’s only in the first couple of stories. After that it gets a little dull. The rest of the stories are mostly about various animals, and they didn’t really catch my attention, I’ve never read the source text but I predict I’ll have the same issue with that.The poems that are left in this are of course nice, it’s great that they tried to maintain this element of the book but I don’t know if it was the right thing to do? These books had been marketed, to me at least, as a way to make classics more accessible, and giant chunks of text throughout the book do not help, they put the brakes on when you’re trying to read what is otherwise a pretty quick read. It seemed to work against the project of the manga-style classic.The biggest issue I had with this book was the art. I really wasn’t a fan. It felt like the art was picked to market this one more toward boys but it turned me off the book so much. There was no definition or depth to the characters and they looked comically bad to me. Another issue was the layouts which were kind of confusing, at times it didn’t seem to follow the proper directions for reading manga and I often times couldn’t tell which dialogue bubble was the next one I was supposed to read.Overall this book just seemed like a major misfire from the Manga Classics team, and was kind of a disappointment. I think it was a brave move to try and adapt this book but I don’t think it worked out.
    more
  • Amy Chadbourne Brown
    April 5, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in return for a fair and honest review. I liked this adaptation of Kipling's The Jungle Book. I haven't read the original work in quite a long time but these stories appeared at first glance to follow the originals fairly well. No complaints there. I think this would be a good way to get a young person interested in reading the original works or for an experienced reader to relive the adventures in a different way. Format: The manga style took s I received a free copy of this book from Netgalley in return for a fair and honest review. I liked this adaptation of Kipling's The Jungle Book. I haven't read the original work in quite a long time but these stories appeared at first glance to follow the originals fairly well. No complaints there. I think this would be a good way to get a young person interested in reading the original works or for an experienced reader to relive the adventures in a different way. Format: The manga style took some getting used to as far as reading back to front and right to left but there was a handy guide included that helped a lot with that. Each chapter, or story, was separated by poetry from the original book. I think I would have preferred a condensed version of the poems. It was a bit jarring to go from the easy, light flow of the manga style to the heavier more intellectual vibe of the poems. Still, it was nice having a more concrete reference back to Kipling's version. Illustrations: I have to say that the manga style of illustration isn't my favorite. The jumps from realistic action to cartoony silliness really bug me. Unfortunately for me, this wasn't the best manga art that I have seen either. The biggest hiccup for me was that the animals in this work vary from more realistic renditions to cartoony versions. I had a difficult time telling what kind of animal Baloo was even supposed to be, but Bagheera and the Seals were very easy to identify. The illustrator mentions at the end of the book that he is more familiar with drawing people than he is animals and I think that shows here. I also wish they had used some color in the illustrations. The cover is lovely and I think that color better defines the characters. Overall, not horrible illustrations by far but not my favorite manga art either. I didn't realize that this was a manga when I requested it. If I had, I most likely would have passed on it. The unfamiliar format and my general dislike for manga illustration put this book at a disadvantage before I even started reading. I would still recommend it to anyone that does enjoy the style and to anyone who has read or is considering reading the original works of Kipling.
    more
Write a review