A Poison Dark and Drowning (Kingdom on Fire, #2)
“Devastatingly magical and monstrously romantic. I can’t decide if this book stole my heart or ripped it out of my chest.” —Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval  The magicians want her to lead.The sorcerers want her to lie.The demons want her blood.Henrietta wants to save the one she loves.But will his dark magic be her undoing?   In this seductive and explosive second book in the Kingdom on Fire series, Jessica Cluess delivers her signature mix of magic, passion, and teen warriors fighting for survival. Hand to fans of Victoria Aveyard, Sarah J. Maas, and Kiersten White.   Henrietta doesn’t need a prophecy to know that she’s in danger. She came to London to be named the chosen one, the first female sorcerer in centuries, the one who would defeat the Ancients. Instead, she discovered a city ruled by secrets. And the biggest secret of all: Henrietta is not the chosen one.   Still, she must play the role in order to keep herself and Rook, her best friend and childhood love, safe. But can she truly save him? The poison in Rook’s system is transforming him into something monstrous as he begins to master dark powers of his own. So when Henrietta finds a clue to the Ancients’ past that could turn the tide of the war, she persuades Blackwood, the mysterious Earl of Sorrow-Fell, to travel up the coast to seek out strange new weapons. And Magnus, the brave, reckless flirt who wants to win back her favor, is assigned to their mission. Together, they will face monsters, meet powerful new allies, and uncover the most devastating weapon of all: the truth.  Praise for A Shadow Bright and Burning:   “Is it clear that Cluess adores the Harry Potter series and Jane Eyre? Yes. So do you. So does everyone. What matters is that her voice is her own. . . . A Shadow Bright and Burning delivers on the promise of its title. This is a novel that gives off light and heat.” — The New York Times   “The magic! The intrigue! The guys! We were sucked into this monster-ridden alternative England from page one. Henrietta is literally a ‘girl on fire’ and this team of sorcerers training for battle had a pinch of Potter blended with a drop of [Cassandra Clare’s] Infernal Devices.” — Justine   “Unputdownable. I loved the monsters, the magic, and the teen warriors who are their world’s best hope! Jessica Cluess is an awesome storyteller!” —Tamora Pierce, #1 New York Times bestselling author

A Poison Dark and Drowning (Kingdom on Fire, #2) Details

TitleA Poison Dark and Drowning (Kingdom on Fire, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 19th, 2017
PublisherRandom House Books for Young Readers
Number of pages432 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Magic, Historical

A Poison Dark and Drowning (Kingdom on Fire, #2) Review

  • Stephanie Garber
    January 11, 2017
    Devastatingly magical and monstrously romantic. I can't decide if this book stole my heart or ripped it out of my chest. I loved it! If you read the first book definitely pick up this sequel! And if you haven't read the first book, you really should.
    more
  • Allison
    February 10, 2017
    This book WIPED ME TF OUT. Think the movie sequel rule of BIGGER BADDER AWESOMER BLOODIER CRYINGER. I need to formulate an actual review in my brain but it's mushy and I'm like ????? I guess?????? This one made me love Henrietta more but not necessarily anyone else *stares directly into the souls of all men in this book*
    more
  • Jaime (Two Chicks on Books)
    February 10, 2017
    Omg I didn't think that this series could get better but Jessica has outdone herself! She upped the magic, romance, and secrets and oh my gosh there's some big reveals in this book! And now I'm really dying to read book 3!
  • Alyssa
    January 11, 2017
    OHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH IT'S SO PRETTTTTTTTYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!
  • Claire
    February 14, 2017
    I was lucky enough to receive a beautiful signed ARC of this masterpiece. Thank you, Jessica Cluess, for sending me a copy of this book! My opinions are entirely my own. I looooooooved A Shadow Bright and Burning, but A Poison Dark and Drowning blew me away. The stakes were raised, the characters grew, the twists were endless and the action was gripping! Cluess knocked it out of the park as far as sequels go. It's very rare for me to enjoy a sequel as much, let alone MORE than the original, but I was lucky enough to receive a beautiful signed ARC of this masterpiece. Thank you, Jessica Cluess, for sending me a copy of this book! My opinions are entirely my own. I looooooooved A Shadow Bright and Burning, but A Poison Dark and Drowning blew me away. The stakes were raised, the characters grew, the twists were endless and the action was gripping! Cluess knocked it out of the park as far as sequels go. It's very rare for me to enjoy a sequel as much, let alone MORE than the original, but Cluess managed with grace and verve. Under Cluess's able pen, the magical cast of characters grew and unfurled, each with their own arcs. I love Henrietta's growth, and I especially love that Henrietta is able to maintain her agency throughout the book, despite many swoony overtures thrown her way and more than a handful of heartbreaking twists. The old characters will continue to surprise and adore you, the new will enthrall you! I especially love the addition of a certain spunky witch and the friendship that blossoms between her and Henrietta. I'm a sucker for books with positive, healthy friendships, and this book sure didn't disappoint.Overall, this book is twisty and action-packed, swoon-worthy and romantic. I definitely recommend this beauty to fans of the historical fantasy in The Dark Days Club, the swoony romance of Caraval, and the gripping action and determined heroine of Rebel of the Sands.https://lalionnedeecosse.wordpress.co...
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    February 24, 2017
    1. How was this book not already on my TBR list? Like seriously Cindy get it together2. How did I also miss this fabulous cover reveal!? Like none I saw nothing on my feed about this beauty, which is such a shame really. But perhaps I was just too busy and missed anyone posting about it. 3. Thank you, Amazon and your Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought list because if not I would never have noticed my egregious mistake.
    more
  • Billie
    February 12, 2017
    I gave the first one five stars because it was not the book I expected, but it was exactly the book that I needed it to be. The four stars for this second installment, therefore, are no reflection on the quality of the book itself but, instead, merely a reflection of my expectations—I expected it to be excellent and it was, but it didn't provide that element of unexpectedness that boosted the first to five-star status.
    more
  • Sami
    March 9, 2017
    Cluess continues to turn the "Chosen one" motif on its head in the brilliant sequel to "A Shadow Bright and Burning". Henrietta Howell may not be the female sorcerer foretold to defeat the Ancients, but that won't stop her from trying. Facing demons alongside dark family truths, Henrietta will need help from both the sorcerers and the magicians to survive. Cluess deftly presents several suitors for Henrietta, but without ever losing focus on the battle at hand. A Poison Dark and Drowning is an u Cluess continues to turn the "Chosen one" motif on its head in the brilliant sequel to "A Shadow Bright and Burning". Henrietta Howell may not be the female sorcerer foretold to defeat the Ancients, but that won't stop her from trying. Facing demons alongside dark family truths, Henrietta will need help from both the sorcerers and the magicians to survive. Cluess deftly presents several suitors for Henrietta, but without ever losing focus on the battle at hand. A Poison Dark and Drowning is an utterly satisfying sequel.
    more
  • Ashley Vanderboegh
    March 8, 2017
    I have been waiting for this arc forever since reading the last and was so glad to get it from work. I absolutely loved this book. Being a sequel to Shadow Bright and Burning, it picked up right where it left off and the myriad of ways that the next book can continue is endless. I can't wait to see it on the shelf.
    more
  • Justin Turczak
    February 14, 2017
    Slowish start till middle but then it got good. Thru the book still have that love square going on but for time being my ship is happening!!! And the cliff hanger of what will happen. Thank god I don't get hang overs but kill me the wait for book 3
  • Rebecca
    January 10, 2017
    I don't know if I've ever hit that "pre-order" button so fast.Also: THAT COVER. GORGEOUS.
  • Danielle
    January 11, 2017
    OMG! That Cover <3
  • Jen
    March 21, 2017
    **I received this as an egalley from Edelweiss in return for an honest review.**To start, I just have to say that I have been anticipating this sequel since I first fell in love with the amazingness that is Henrietta Howel back in August when I first read A Shadow Bright and Burning , and as soon as it appeared on Edelweiss I couldn’t even wait to start it. So here I am, writing a review six months before it is set to be published, and to put it shortly: oh my god.The story of Henrietta Howel c **I received this as an egalley from Edelweiss in return for an honest review.**To start, I just have to say that I have been anticipating this sequel since I first fell in love with the amazingness that is Henrietta Howel back in August when I first read A Shadow Bright and Burning , and as soon as it appeared on Edelweiss I couldn’t even wait to start it. So here I am, writing a review six months before it is set to be published, and to put it shortly: oh my god.The story of Henrietta Howel continues from where we left off in A Shadow Bright and Burning a couple of months after the defeat of Korozoth, with more mysteries being uncovered and new questions arising. The story flows just as well as the first one, no second-book-syndrome here thank-you-very-much, with the perfect balance of action and intrigue. There are so many new revelations and twists, some which I had guessed and some which took me completely by surprise, and the story just had me completely captivated from start to finish. Meanwhile, the characters continue to change and grow as they face new challenges and discover new and haunting things, and everything just builds wonderfully to a stunning and twisting end. I will admit the relationships between Henrietta and the boys were a bit more strained in this book – with Magnus’s actions at the end of the first book causing a rift between them, and Blackwood’s friendship with her growing stronger – and I was not entirely pleased with the way things went with all of them. While the progression between Henrietta and Magnus made sense based on what happened, Blackwood’s relationship with her became something I did not feel entirely comfortable with mostly because his character developed into something I was not fully expecting, and did not completely enjoy (view spoiler)[(he went from being a self-pitying, brooding jerk to a power-hungry, possessive, and yet still self-loathing jerk and he honestly creeped me out at times. In fact, I did not enjoy him at all by the end of the book and wanted Henrietta as far away from him as possible.) (hide spoiler)]. And, of course, there was Rook, who Henrietta ‘loves’ but who, to me, felt like nothing more than a plot device in terms of his personality to be honest. This is how I felt about him in the first book, and it is still how I feel about him now, despite everything that occurred. On the other hand, there is a lovely new addition to the cast in the form of Maria, who wields an ax and who becomes wonderful friends with Henrietta and is just a great addition to the story. Overall, though, it was such an amazing sequel despite some relationship developments that had me feeling uncomfortable, and has left me even more eager for the next book. After the events and revelations of this book, I cannot wait to see what happens next to Henrietta Howel. 4.75 stars.
    more
  • Teresa
    February 22, 2017
    WHAT THE HELL DID I JUST READ?!?!?!?This book chewed me up, spit me out and didn't give a single [email protected]#k Honestly, I can't even begin to write a review, I am still reeling from the entire story and don't even get me started on that ending....man alive....I don't even know where to begin, other than to say that this book needs to go on the top of your TBR list as soon as it is out (9/17 if you forget)...you will not regret it.I think I may have to go back and re-read the last 1/3 of the book just to WHAT THE HELL DID I JUST READ?!?!?!?This book chewed me up, spit me out and didn't give a single [email protected]#k Honestly, I can't even begin to write a review, I am still reeling from the entire story and don't even get me started on that ending....man alive....I don't even know where to begin, other than to say that this book needs to go on the top of your TBR list as soon as it is out (9/17 if you forget)...you will not regret it.I think I may have to go back and re-read the last 1/3 of the book just to tide me over until the next one....Well played Jessica Cluess, well played.....(bows down to your genius)Thanks to Random House for the ARC!!
    more
  • Elena Lee
    February 12, 2017
    I don't know what it is about this series that makes me love it so much! I got so tired of the same fantasy series over and over again in young adult and I can't pick out what makes this one stand out to me, though it could be the monsters, or the Shakespearian mythology, or the steampunkish vibe without being steampunk. The plot and characters all feel like the same ones I've read over and over forever, yet I can't stop turning the pages. All I know is I can't wait for the last one!
    more
  • Radia's Book Café
    January 22, 2017
    EVERYONE CAN WE TAKE A MINUTE TO FANTASIZE ABOUT THIS BEAUTIFUL COVER
  • Cody Roecker
    January 6, 2017
    GIVE THIS TO ME NOW. like, omg. the title and that synopsis!!!!
  • Jessica Weida
    March 23, 2017
    Usually the sequel is never as good as the first book, but this blew the first book out of the water. A one sit read continued the tale and was much more satisfying than the first book, which I only mediocrely liked. The continued love triangle, now maybe a square, didn't detract from the storyline. It only made it richer and more evolved, like peeling off layers to get to the ripe middle.
    more
  • Ainsley
    March 12, 2017
    3/12/17:HeylookTHAT COVER
  • Maddie Valentine
    January 23, 2017
    OMG THIS COVER!!! This has made my day, but also hurts me because I still have to wait wayyy to long for it to come out. Also does anyone get Darcy vibes from Blackwood because I was totally feeling it in the first book and am hoping for that to be a thing please. AHH i just loved the first one so much.
    more
  • Esmay
    January 18, 2017
    OMG IT IS SOO BEAUTIFUL! I CAN'T WAIT!
  • Ann Rees
    March 31, 2017
    TBH don't expect great things from this but hopefully it'll be entertaining :'D
  • Lauren
    April 18, 2017
    SO GOOD!!! I didn't think this series could get better, yet it did! No sophomore slump here for Cluess. The drama just continues to unfold! I can't wait for the third installment
Write a review