Maybe This Summer (Colorado Ice, #2.5)
Always a wingman . . .Owen McConnell is used to being ignored. After all, it's only when he appears as the Colorado Avalanche's team mascot that he gets all the attention. When the costume is off, women tend to gravitate toward his famous hockey player friends. But after he meets lovely, damaged Paige Adams, he knows he can be the star player for her. She's raising funds for the hospital burn unit, and Owen's determined to help her out---and sweep her off her feet.The burn unit has been near and dear to Paige's heart ever since the doctors helped her after a vicious attack. Yet the scars---both emotional and physical---haven't faded as much as she'd hoped. She's closed herself off from relationships, and the thought of opening up is terrifying. But Owen's sexy charm might be just the push Paige needs to start loving again.

Maybe This Summer (Colorado Ice, #2.5) Details

TitleMaybe This Summer (Colorado Ice, #2.5)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherForever Yours
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Novella

Maybe This Summer (Colorado Ice, #2.5) Review

  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    June 25, 2017
    RATING 4.5 STARSMaybe This Summer is book #2.5 in the Colorado Ice series by Jennifer Snow. I believe this little book has such an important message, one of self worth. That outer beauty is not the most important but the inner beauty, strength and grace one possesses is what is really important. Paige Adams had been a successful model, her picture featured in the most well known magazines. But suddenly, through the hate and jealousy of another, it is all taken away from her. Now, five years late RATING 4.5 STARSMaybe This Summer is book #2.5 in the Colorado Ice series by Jennifer Snow. I believe this little book has such an important message, one of self worth. That outer beauty is not the most important but the inner beauty, strength and grace one possesses is what is really important. Paige Adams had been a successful model, her picture featured in the most well known magazines. But suddenly, through the hate and jealousy of another, it is all taken away from her. Now, five years later, Paige is in charge of raising funds for the children’s burn center at the hospital. She helps children and their families make the transition into the proper care when they are still floundering while accepting the circumstances of their children’s injuries. Paige, though, is still struggling with her own scars. She constantly wears turtlenecks and blazers to keep her arms and neck covered. Even after all these years, she still struggles with the changes in her outer appearance. She hasn’t allowed herself any romantic entanglements since her attack. But for the first time in a long time, when Owen McConnell walked in to her office, she got butterflies.Owen is both team promotions manager for the Colorado Avalanche hockey team, he is also the team mascot. He dresses up as a Saint Bernard and brings smiles to everyone’s faces. Once upon a time, Owen was part of the team. But then he enlisted and was severely injured by a road side bomb. He can no longer play on the team now but he can still be a part of it. As soon as he laid eyes on Paige, he felt a connection. But she is dressed in a full turtleneck and it’s the middle of summer. Isn’t she miserably hot?! He has to know if this attraction or chemistry is going both ways so he convinces Paige to have a drink with him. Due to some poor judgment calls, though, the date started out spectacularly, but things most definitely did not end well.Paige thought for a minute there that she could open herself up to this man. But then she was rudely reminded why she couldn’t trust a man with her scars that are both on the outside and on the inside. Owen messed up badly. And that was it. She tried and it didn’t work.But Owen does not give up easily. He will show her that he is sincere. He will get her to give him a second chance. Because the more he knows of this woman, the more he sees the real her, the beautiful woman she is, he falls a little bit more in love with her. Owen has plenty of scars of his own. Who better to understand what she is going through than someone that has experienced it himself.I loved this little story. I love that Jennifer Snow chose to put a spotlight on both the hard road children are faced to travel every day who have suffered. Also, how our hero and heroine who are both victims of hate, have had to find themselves all over again, learn all over again their worth, find their inner self-confidence. And most importantly, to learn to trust, to love, to open their hearts to someone knowing that they love them because they are beautiful, both on the outside and on the inside.
    more
  • Maddie
    June 16, 2017
    🌟🌟🌟🌟This was a fun read, caused major giggles. RTC.ARC received via Netgalley and author for an honest opinion
  • Dianne
    June 15, 2017
    Light, sweet and kind of humorous at times, love can sneak up on people when they least expect it! Paige is model beautiful, but a twisted attacker ruined her career in the most hideous of ways. Now she feels her beauty is gone and has been unable to connect with any man, because he will see her physical flaws. Her life is spent making sure other burn victims will have the best chance to learn to emotionally accept their new bodies, as well as the medical expertise to repair the damage. Too bad Light, sweet and kind of humorous at times, love can sneak up on people when they least expect it! Paige is model beautiful, but a twisted attacker ruined her career in the most hideous of ways. Now she feels her beauty is gone and has been unable to connect with any man, because he will see her physical flaws. Her life is spent making sure other burn victims will have the best chance to learn to emotionally accept their new bodies, as well as the medical expertise to repair the damage. Too bad she cannot follow her own advice of acceptance.Owen has his own scars, earned in battle and now he hides his insecurities under the guise of the Colorado Avalanche’s mascot. Seeing Paige completely unglued the charmer with the sense of humor, but she shoots down every attempt he makes at getting a date. In a romance that becomes a battle of wills, Owen will do all he can to let Paige know he sees more than her physical beauty, just as Paige does all she can to resist the man who got under her skin.Jennifer Snow’s MAYBE THIS SUMMER is a short, but sweet tale of love that may not get too deep or detailed, but certainly makes one almost swoon at Owen’s quirky attempts to get Paige into his life. Owen was almost childlike in his persistence while Paige was a tough nut to crack, far too concerned with the scars she easily covers from the public, not realizing that just maybe Owen was taking a huge leap to even come forward. Still, a fun read to brighten a cloudy day when realizing what both of these characters give to others in need in their own way.I received an ARC edition from Forever Yours in exchange for my honest review.Series: Colorado Ice - Book 2.5Publisher: Forever Yours (July 11, 2017)Publication Date: July 11, 2017Genre: Contemporary RomanceAvailable from: Amazon | Barnes & NobleFor Reviews & More: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Claire Robinson
    July 7, 2017
    4 - Maybe... just maybe, she needed to be braver..." Stars!Book 2.5 in the Colorado Ice series give the reader Paige Adams and Team Mascot Owen McConnell’s story. "You need a warning label on that smile."I haven’t been deemed special enough by the publisher to be provided with ARC’s of the previous two books, but it didn’t detract from the reading experience in that you can absolutely read this novella as a standalone."You are amazingly beautiful… I don’t know how to tell you enough."This was 4 - Maybe... just maybe, she needed to be braver..." Stars!Book 2.5 in the Colorado Ice series give the reader Paige Adams and Team Mascot Owen McConnell’s story. "You need a warning label on that smile."I haven’t been deemed special enough by the publisher to be provided with ARC’s of the previous two books, but it didn’t detract from the reading experience in that you can absolutely read this novella as a standalone."You are amazingly beautiful… I don’t know how to tell you enough."This was quite a heavy story to try and deal with in a story of novella length, and for the most part I think the author did it really well. I loved Owen he was an absolute sweetheart, and although Paige took a little longer to warm to, you understand why she is as closed off as she is as the story-line progresses. That-said, I believe this story did have the potential to be a full length book, but the novella was a great little interlude.No doubt when the next full length book is due for release the publisher will decline my request for an ARC, but I would definitely be happy to read more from Jennifer Snow, as this read highlighted that she offers up the right amount of drama and angst in her romance, that ticks all of this readers boxes.ARC generously provided via Netgalley, in exchange for the above honest review.
    more
  • Michelle
    July 10, 2017
    ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow is a sweet, touching and lovely novella that touches on a subject of insecurities, self-worth and new found love. Owen McConnell is used to being ignored since he is always hiding behind a mask or in this case a costume since he is the Colorado Avalanche’s mascot. So when he meets Paige Adams, the burn center coordinator, there was something about her that intrigued him. He wanted to get to know her and ARC provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow is a sweet, touching and lovely novella that touches on a subject of insecurities, self-worth and new found love. Owen McConnell is used to being ignored since he is always hiding behind a mask or in this case a costume since he is the Colorado Avalanche’s mascot. So when he meets Paige Adams, the burn center coordinator, there was something about her that intrigued him. He wanted to get to know her and so when he breaks through down her walls, he discovers that she has these physical burn scars and these scars have made her fearful of what others see as beauty. But through the help of Owen, Paige soon discovers that her scars are a part of her. It shouldn’t hold her back. So will Owen help Paige see that she is beautiful inside as well as outside?If you are looking for a sweet and fast past paced book, then this book is definitely for you. I would have rated this book much higher if it was a little bit more longer and Paige was more accepting up of her scars and didn’t have to hide behind her clothes. For someone who works and inspires children who has the same issues, I just wished Paige was more confident in her self-worth. Overall, I did enjoy this book. It was light, sweet, lovely, and had a charming hero that made you feel special. Jennifer Snow
    more
  • Stacee
    June 12, 2017
    I always enjoy a sports romance-y book and I loved this premise, so I was pretty eager to get to it. I liked Paige and Owen well enough. They both have a backstory that they don't want to talk about. She wants to hide and he wants to be seen and it was intriguing to see if a balance could be made. Plot wise, it was a lot of push and pull. I struggled with Paige because her actions were so frustrating. The pacing was so quick that I didn't really see their instant connection or any sort of chemis I always enjoy a sports romance-y book and I loved this premise, so I was pretty eager to get to it. I liked Paige and Owen well enough. They both have a backstory that they don't want to talk about. She wants to hide and he wants to be seen and it was intriguing to see if a balance could be made. Plot wise, it was a lot of push and pull. I struggled with Paige because her actions were so frustrating. The pacing was so quick that I didn't really see their instant connection or any sort of chemistry, but there were a few sweet scenes between them. Overall, it was an interesting set up with a lot of promise. I think the story could have been a bit stronger if it would have been a full length instead of a novella. Regardless, I am interested in other books in the series. **Huge thanks to Forever Yours for providing the arc free of charge**
    more
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    June 25, 2017
    Release Date: July 11, 2017 Genre: Contemporary Romance (novella)Jennifer Snow writes the perfect romances. They are down to earth, charming, and filled with wonderful characters. In this one, we meet a heroine that is likely to inspire us all. If only she could take her own advise... The hero is his own inspiration as well, and will make readers swoon and giggle at his attempts for love. Now, while this may be a novella, the characters come to life in the perfect way. Sometimes, this is hard Release Date: July 11, 2017 Genre: Contemporary Romance (novella)Jennifer Snow writes the perfect romances. They are down to earth, charming, and filled with wonderful characters. In this one, we meet a heroine that is likely to inspire us all. If only she could take her own advise... The hero is his own inspiration as well, and will make readers swoon and giggle at his attempts for love. Now, while this may be a novella, the characters come to life in the perfect way. Sometimes, this is hard considering the stories are not very long, but Jennifer Snow was successful in making a shorter story feel like it had everything it needed. Fans of the author, and this series (filled with heartwarming characters to make you swoon for days) I recommend you reading this one. It's truly a lovely story and has everything you will need to keep your romance needs in check. Rating: 4.5 stars
    more
  • Irene
    June 26, 2017
    4 starsMaybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow was a sweet and heartfelt read.I enjoyed the plot and the characters were likable and easily relatable.I loved watching the relationship between Owen and Paige unfold, he was sweet, understanding and just an overall lovely guy who knew what he wanted and went after it.Paige was a little harder to warm to but I did feel for her and totally got her insecurities. It warmed my heart how Owen made her feel and how he saw beyond the scars to see her inner beau 4 starsMaybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow was a sweet and heartfelt read.I enjoyed the plot and the characters were likable and easily relatable.I loved watching the relationship between Owen and Paige unfold, he was sweet, understanding and just an overall lovely guy who knew what he wanted and went after it.Paige was a little harder to warm to but I did feel for her and totally got her insecurities. It warmed my heart how Owen made her feel and how he saw beyond the scars to see her inner beauty.Overall, Maybe This Summer is a quick, sweet and heartwarming read that will bring out the feels. A perfect summer read and I highly recommend it.💖Buy The Book Here💖 Amazon: http://amzn.to/2upqfUU Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/2tLRET3 iBooks: http://apple.co/2tp5qc1 Google Play: http://bit.ly/2tI9Ey1 Kobo: http://bit.ly/2tLTUtD*Thank you to the publisher via Netgalley for the advance copy*
    more
  • Amy
    July 26, 2017
    This is a novel within a series but I did not read the earlier books. This is definitely just fine as a stand alone novel. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I especially liked the fact that both the hero and heroine have physical challenges which isn't something you see a whole lot in romance novels. I love how these two characters helped each other overcome their fears. I really liked the characters (especially Owen) and how they developed over the book. Given that this is more of a novella This is a novel within a series but I did not read the earlier books. This is definitely just fine as a stand alone novel. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I especially liked the fact that both the hero and heroine have physical challenges which isn't something you see a whole lot in romance novels. I love how these two characters helped each other overcome their fears. I really liked the characters (especially Owen) and how they developed over the book. Given that this is more of a novella than a full novel, I do wish there was room for more character development. I think that was not quite as good as it could have been if the book had been a bit longer. There was quite a bit of humor along with the a really well done exploration of overcoming obstacles.
    more
  • Cheryl
    July 3, 2017
    This story was a nice bridge between the second book and the forth coming third book in this series. For a short novel, this book read like a full length one. It had a good storyline with engaging characters and a happy ending. Because, who doesn't love a happy ending. I loved that Owen was the mascot for the Colorado Avalanche and not one of the players. Of times the mascot is overlooked. Mascots need love too. Paige may have scars but so did Owen. Together they showed that scars can be beautif This story was a nice bridge between the second book and the forth coming third book in this series. For a short novel, this book read like a full length one. It had a good storyline with engaging characters and a happy ending. Because, who doesn't love a happy ending. I loved that Owen was the mascot for the Colorado Avalanche and not one of the players. Of times the mascot is overlooked. Mascots need love too. Paige may have scars but so did Owen. Together they showed that scars can be beautiful with love. While, the romance between Paige and Owen was sweet with mostly kisses, I still felt the passion. They made a good couple. After finishing this book, I felt like I missed nothing. I look forward to reading the third book in this series. The men are hot and the women are sexy.
    more
  • Diane Lynch
    June 24, 2017
    Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow is a heartfelt and wonderful read. After a horrible assault, Paige Adams’ life changed. She began a new life working for the Burn Treatment Center at the Colorado Hospital. Colorado Avalanche's team mascot, Owen McConnell, is used to be ignored when he is with his NHL buddies. However, after meeting Paige, he is determined to get her attention. This contemporary romance is suitable for adult audiences.Jennifer Snow does an admirable job with her character devel Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow is a heartfelt and wonderful read. After a horrible assault, Paige Adams’ life changed. She began a new life working for the Burn Treatment Center at the Colorado Hospital. Colorado Avalanche's team mascot, Owen McConnell, is used to be ignored when he is with his NHL buddies. However, after meeting Paige, he is determined to get her attention. This contemporary romance is suitable for adult audiences.Jennifer Snow does an admirable job with her character development. Owen is a noble character. He is a former NHL star. Later, he was injured after serving his country in the Marines. He is no longer able to work in either profession. He is currently the PR manager and mascot for the Colorado Avalanche. He is a good guy, with a big heart. I like that he is persistent and hard working. Paige is an amazing character. She was left scared both physically and mentally after a horrible attack. She began a new life helping burn victims. I know someone who had over 80% of his body burned at the Pentagon on 9-11, so this story captured my attention and felt relevant. I love that Paige decided to help others that have suffered like her. I enjoyed the plot. I appreciate that these two come into each other’s lives. They are both strong and have a lot in common. They both know what it is like to have your life altered after an injury. MAYBE THIS SUMMER is genuine and sweet read. The story is well-written and entertaining. The characters face some interesting challenges that enable them to grow throughout the novel. I like how the story ended. It was a fun and well concluded. I voluntarily reviewed an advance reader copy of this book.
    more
  • Nikki Barrett
    July 5, 2017
    Review to Come
  • ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰Janeane ✰
    July 3, 2017
    Copy received from Forever GCP via Netgalley for an honest reviewI am a sucker for a hockey romance, so reading this novella in the Colorado Ice series was a no brainer.Though this time it is not about the hockey players, but their mascot Owen / Bernie.I adored Owen right from the get go, I could feel his hurt at always seeming to be invisible around his hockey friends.Paige wants to be invisible She hides herself in her office, hides behind clothes.This is more than just a sweet romance, it is Copy received from Forever GCP via Netgalley for an honest reviewI am a sucker for a hockey romance, so reading this novella in the Colorado Ice series was a no brainer.Though this time it is not about the hockey players, but their mascot Owen / Bernie.I adored Owen right from the get go, I could feel his hurt at always seeming to be invisible around his hockey friends.Paige wants to be invisible She hides herself in her office, hides behind clothes.This is more than just a sweet romance, it is about 2 scarred and scared individuals finding that they can be more, that they are more.It is always hard with a novella to get it all in the story. I did struggle to feel the connection between our lovelies - particularly Paige to Owen. However with a bit more time I am sure that this would have developed more.Or maybe I just wanted this to be a full length story so everything could be fleshed out?Maybe This Summer is sweet and sexy and lovely, and a good quick read to tide us over until book 3 in the series
    more
  • Suzi (Obsessive Reading Disorder)
    July 14, 2017
    Just ok for me. I hadn't read any of the other books in the set. This is my first time reading this author as well. Just did not feel the connection with the main characters. I know that novella's move at a different pace, but our heroine went from denying, denying to sleeping with Owen without much more than a kiss and some stilted conversation in between. It's also part of a "hockey" series but it is summer so no sports in this one. Plus, the lead no longer plays. I would read the author again Just ok for me. I hadn't read any of the other books in the set. This is my first time reading this author as well. Just did not feel the connection with the main characters. I know that novella's move at a different pace, but our heroine went from denying, denying to sleeping with Owen without much more than a kiss and some stilted conversation in between. It's also part of a "hockey" series but it is summer so no sports in this one. Plus, the lead no longer plays. I would read the author again. This one just did not do it for me. *Copy provided via Netgalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    July 16, 2017
    Great readAn excellent emotional quick read that will have your heart from the very first page. It's a story that proves that true beauty is in the inside and anyone worth loving will see past the outside to the beauty within.
  • Bridget O'Toole
    July 1, 2017
    After having read the first three books in this series, I jumped at the chance to read Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow! I was particularly intrigued by Owen after having read Ben's story and was happy to see that the mascot was going to get his own HEA. Paige, the heroine, was my favorite character. She's strong, intelligent, and kind while also never taking crap from anyone--including Owen. Owen, he's generally a sweetheart, but there were a few times when I was in his head, and I couldn't h After having read the first three books in this series, I jumped at the chance to read Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow! I was particularly intrigued by Owen after having read Ben's story and was happy to see that the mascot was going to get his own HEA. Paige, the heroine, was my favorite character. She's strong, intelligent, and kind while also never taking crap from anyone--including Owen. Owen, he's generally a sweetheart, but there were a few times when I was in his head, and I couldn't help thinking, "Why are you being so stupid?" And normally I don't hate on insta-love, but it was just too much too fast this time around. I think that's in part due to the fact that this is a novella and not a full-length novel. Regardless, I liked Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow, and I loved reading little snippets about the couples from past books. And I am beyond excited for Asher and Emma's story--especially since it will take place around Christmas!*I received a copy from the publisher*
    more
  • JoAnne
    June 24, 2017
    My review on Romancing-the-Book.com will be posted soon
  • Tracy's Place
    July 1, 2017
    Very cute story but I felt no connection between Paige and Owen.
  • Kim
    May 2, 2017
    3.5 to 4 starsWe met Owen McConnell in Maybe This Love as he is Ben Westmore's best friend and I was glad to see we were getting his story. He is the team mascot, Bennie, and Promotions Manager for the Colorado Avalanche hockey team. He is also a previously injured ex-Marine. He gets a lot of attention in his costume, but often gets overshadowed by his friends when he is out of it. He uses humor and sarcasm as a shield, and is generally blunt and honest. When he meets Paige Adams during a meetin 3.5 to 4 starsWe met Owen McConnell in Maybe This Love as he is Ben Westmore's best friend and I was glad to see we were getting his story. He is the team mascot, Bennie, and Promotions Manager for the Colorado Avalanche hockey team. He is also a previously injured ex-Marine. He gets a lot of attention in his costume, but often gets overshadowed by his friends when he is out of it. He uses humor and sarcasm as a shield, and is generally blunt and honest. When he meets Paige Adams during a meeting at the local Burn center, he wishes she would really see him. He is a man who has lost his confidence, and is used to being in the background. But when he can't stop thinking about her, he goes into pursuit mode and is determined to get a chance with her. Paige works tirelessly at the Burn center, but is hiding her own scars. She's guarded and fearful. She does not feel pretty and worthy. She has not dated in years and does not plan on it. She tries hard to hide her vulnerability and how her past has marked her. But she is still struggling with coming to terms with what she has been through.She never expected Owen to come bursting into her life. And she is determined to avoid attachments and a risk of heartbreak. But he finally finds a way to make an offer she can't refuse. They actually begin to see the other person under the facade they hide under...their heart, passion, and kindness. But their trials at dating are complicated. There is a lot of push and pull and hurt feelings, And they both have to decide how they want to approach their own lives before they can figure out if they could fit together. I liked the premise of this story and the messages it conveyed. I adored Owen and liked Paige although she was harder to warm up to. Due it's short novella length the pacing is fast and the connection develops pretty quickly. I would have liked it to be a bit longer to get more of the relationship building. But it is not just a romance, but also a journey of self discovery for two people who have to learn to become comfortable in their own skin and figure out what they really want out of life. And they have to find the courage to expose themselves, be brave, and go after it. It fits well within this series of sweet and romantic books centered around hockey, and I am looking forward to Maybe This Christmas with the final Westmore brother, Asher.I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Aly
    July 11, 2017
    Jennifer Snow did it again. She made me fall in love with her characters and lose myself in a beautiful story about love(of course) but also about acceptance, the courage to move forward who's a daily battle after a tragedy and that beauty comes from the inside.I'm sorry for whoever I could offend but in real life, mascot kind of get on my nerves. Nothing wrong with them I guess, just my grumpiness at work ;p but at first I was wondering why I was so excited to read this novella about one guy wh Jennifer Snow did it again. She made me fall in love with her characters and lose myself in a beautiful story about love(of course) but also about acceptance, the courage to move forward who's a daily battle after a tragedy and that beauty comes from the inside.I'm sorry for whoever I could offend but in real life, mascot kind of get on my nerves. Nothing wrong with them I guess, just my grumpiness at work ;p but at first I was wondering why I was so excited to read this novella about one guy who do it as a job. Probably because this idea haven't been used a thousand times before and oh yeah, it's Jennifer Snow who wrote it. Every time I read a new book from this series it become my favorite one :pOwen used to be a hockey player, but left for a military career instead. An injury made a stop to both anyway so at thirty-six, he's now Bernie, the Saint-Bernard mascot of the Colorado Avalanche and the team's promotions manager. Other men would probably resent not being in the spotlight anymore and having to work with the men who gets all the glory (and the women). Not Owen. He's not rule by his ego and he choose to not let his scars play with his self-confidence. It's unfortunately not the same thing for the heroine. She hide her emotional scars as well as her physical ones. She's not trusting and have a hard time letting her guard down. But her tough attitude only serve better to made the hero's attitude shine brighter. When Owen met Paige, the first thing he notice is her beauty. Then the fact she's doesn't seem to be in awe of his popular friend and her dedication to the center where she works. Paige noticed him as well, because his attention to her made her nervous. Owen is not the overbearing sort, but he's not the kind of guy who wait and see. When he wants something, he go for it, but he's gonna have to tread on thin ice (no pun intended I swear) to convince Paige that their relationship should be more than a professional one.But he can count on his resourcefulness and lack of subtlety to charm the heroine and the readers. I really felt hard for Owen, his honesty, his determination and his smarty attitude. And that's an other thing this author excel at : creating endearing hero. "Any day this beautiful woman needed him or the mascot, he'd reschedule his own funeral to be there." The idea for Paige's assistant was a really great one.I didn't want this story to end and now I'm sad that I have to wait for the next one. But I'm sure it's gonna be worth the wait :p
    more
  • Diane Lynch
    July 10, 2017
    Maybe This Summer (Colorado Ice, #2.5) by Jennifer Snow Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow is a heartfelt and wonderful read.  After a horrible assault, Paige Adams’ life changed.  She began a new life working for the Burn Treatment Center at the Colorado Hospital.  Colorado Avalanche's team mascot, Owen McConnell, is used to be ignored when he is with his NHL buddies.   However, after meeting Paige, he is determined to get her attention.  This contemporary romance is suitable for adult audience Maybe This Summer (Colorado Ice, #2.5) by Jennifer Snow Maybe This Summer by Jennifer Snow is a heartfelt and wonderful read.  After a horrible assault, Paige Adams’ life changed.  She began a new life working for the Burn Treatment Center at the Colorado Hospital.  Colorado Avalanche's team mascot, Owen McConnell, is used to be ignored when he is with his NHL buddies.   However, after meeting Paige, he is determined to get her attention.  This contemporary romance is suitable for adult audiences. Jennifer Snow does an admirable job with her character development.  Owen is a noble character.  He is a former NHL star.  Later, he was injured after serving his country in the Marines.  He is no longer able to work in either profession.  He is currently the PR manager and mascot for the Colorado Avalanche.  He is a good guy, with a big heart.  I like that he is persistent and hard working.    Paige is an amazing character.  She was left scared both physically and mentally after a horrible attack.  She began a new life helping burn victims.  I know someone who had over 80% of his body burned at the Pentagon on 9-11, so this story captured my attention and felt relevant.  I love that Paige decided to help others that have suffered like her.  I enjoyed the plot.  I appreciate that these two come into each other’s lives.  They are both strong and have a lot in common.  They both know what it is like to have your life altered after an injury.  MAYBE THIS SUMMER is genuine and sweet read.  The story is well-written and entertaining.  The characters face some interesting challenges that enable them to grow throughout the novel.  I like how the story ended.  It was a fun and well concluded. I voluntarily reviewed an advance reader copy of this book.
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    July 7, 2017
    I adored the first two books (Maybe This Kiss and Maybe This Time), but the series sort of stumbled for me with Maybe This Love and so I wasn’t sure what to expect from this novella, but I went in hoping for the best. Lucky for me (and, really, for all of us)? This series got its groove back. I loved it! It was light and funny while also managing to impart a serious, heartfelt message. Actually my biggest complaint is that I would have liked more because I suspect there’s no such thing as too mu I adored the first two books (Maybe This Kiss and Maybe This Time), but the series sort of stumbled for me with Maybe This Love and so I wasn’t sure what to expect from this novella, but I went in hoping for the best. Lucky for me (and, really, for all of us)? This series got its groove back. I loved it! It was light and funny while also managing to impart a serious, heartfelt message. Actually my biggest complaint is that I would have liked more because I suspect there’s no such thing as too much Owen McConnell.I loved that this was a hockey romance about the team mascot. I don’t think even I could have anticipated how much I was going to love that – but it was such a fresh twist on the usual sports romance fare and I could not get enough of it. It helped that it gave the smokin’ hot Owen some layers – on top of being sexy and charming, he had a humble nature and a great sense of humor. I mean – sexy, wounded, tatted man who is also a giant goofball?*ded**flails**splat*Game over.I don’t know, do you think I loved Owen? (hint: I did)I mean, it was nearly impossible not to. And Paige wasn’t so bad herself, though she was a little more difficult to warm to, it was clear her heart was pure gold and I found her evolution over the course of the story very gratifying. Maybe This Summer was a super short read, but it managed to capture my heart all the same. I connected with Owen & Paige’s story and genuinely liked both characters. The premise was interesting and a little heart-wrenching, but the whole package was sweetly satisfying and guaranteed I’ll be back for more! ~ Shelly, 4 Stars
    more
  • Pam
    July 4, 2017
    What a great underlying message & main characters! Owen was well on his way to a great pro NHL career when he went two tours in the military & comeback scarred & without complete sight in one eye. Now he's the promotions manager for the Colorado Avalanche & their mascot, Bernie. He's managed to turn the corner & accept that he was different on the outside but still the same person on the inside. Paige was on the top. She'd just won a major modeled by contract when a competito What a great underlying message & main characters! Owen was well on his way to a great pro NHL career when he went two tours in the military & comeback scarred & without complete sight in one eye. Now he's the promotions manager for the Colorado Avalanche & their mascot, Bernie. He's managed to turn the corner & accept that he was different on the outside but still the same person on the inside. Paige was on the top. She'd just won a major modeled by contract when a competitors boyfriend threw acid on her. Luckily it missed her face but burned & scarred her chest & arms. After numerous surgeries, she still has visible scars & hides them under scarfs & long sleeves. She still sees herself as flawed & hasn't dated since this happened. What's on the inside is what matters most. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Outside beauty is only skin deep. All are cliches but are so for a reason. The mind, heart, spirit & passion are what is important not outside beauty. When Paige realized Owen could see beyond her scars to her true self, she began to trust & grow. I love that her character was drawn to such selfless work & could put herself out there for the patients but she struggled with doing it publicly. Her struggle made this story more meaningful & her character more realistic. Another great book by a terrific writer.
    more
  • Christi Snow
    July 11, 2017
    My Review:This book was a quick book. As a result, this was most definitely an insta-love story...which I'll admit was really my only issue with this book. The "I love you's" came WAY too quick. In all honesty, I'd rather skip the "I love you's" in a novella and get that moment in an epilogue, than have them way, way too early in the relationship just because it's expected in the story. But other than that, this was really an excellent book. I enjoyed the story, especially the aspect that both c My Review:This book was a quick book. As a result, this was most definitely an insta-love story...which I'll admit was really my only issue with this book. The "I love you's" came WAY too quick. In all honesty, I'd rather skip the "I love you's" in a novella and get that moment in an epilogue, than have them way, way too early in the relationship just because it's expected in the story. But other than that, this was really an excellent book. I enjoyed the story, especially the aspect that both characters have had to deal with their injuries and the leftover repercussions from that. I felt like Paige's issues were very believable, and my heart hurt for her. But I loved Owen and how he approached her. He was an awesome character...I loved how he's accepted his recovery and all the different aspects of Bernie that he played with. It was a quick book, but it was extremely readable and fun. I enjoyed the book and most definitely recommend it. Now I need to go back and read the other books in the series. I received a complimentary copy of this book in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Romance Novel Giveaways Lauren Seiberling
    July 11, 2017
    I love this series!What I love the most about Jennifer's books are the smart, realistic characters. What I also love the most is how the story pulls you in from page 1 and ya can't put it down.This story is no exception!I felt for Owen right from the beginning. Injured while in the Marines, he had to give up his hockey career due to the injury.As you can imagine, that dealt his self-esteem a major blow. It seemed he was pulling the short straw, so to speak, and I was really rooting for him!Simil I love this series!What I love the most about Jennifer's books are the smart, realistic characters. What I also love the most is how the story pulls you in from page 1 and ya can't put it down.This story is no exception!I felt for Owen right from the beginning. Injured while in the Marines, he had to give up his hockey career due to the injury.As you can imagine, that dealt his self-esteem a major blow. It seemed he was pulling the short straw, so to speak, and I was really rooting for him!Similarly, Paige had her own story which left her with issues of her own (won't spoil it for ya). She presented a very tough exterior, and I honestly wasn't sure how to feel about her at first, but as the story went on, I was really rooting for her too!All in all, and true to form, this was a perfect ".5" addition to the series, and I can't wait to read the next book in the series!(I received a copy of this book in consideration of an honest review)
    more
  • Heather andrews
    July 2, 2017
    Owen doesn't mind Paige's take charge attitude, “shhh,” she said, placing a finger over his lips. “I’ve been packing my things into boxes for a month now.” A smile curled his lips and he held her closer." This was a quick read and I liked it.
    more
  • books are love
    July 11, 2017
    Loved Owen He was adorable and understanding. Great with kids and so kind. He had some self confidence issues but he didn’t let them get in his way. he was patient with Paige but also persistent.Paige had a lot of growing up to do. She hid behind her past and let this change her life. It should to a point but for her it was a crutch. She let it dictate everything. She felt that she wasn’t one to be with due to what happened. She felt people had motives when like in Owen’s case he just wanted to Loved Owen He was adorable and understanding. Great with kids and so kind. He had some self confidence issues but he didn’t let them get in his way. he was patient with Paige but also persistent.Paige had a lot of growing up to do. She hid behind her past and let this change her life. It should to a point but for her it was a crutch. She let it dictate everything. She felt that she wasn’t one to be with due to what happened. She felt people had motives when like in Owen’s case he just wanted to know her and who she was. She almost let her own fear and anger ruin something so sweet and wonderful.Jennifer Snow in this book in the series took two people who had gone through a lot and had them help one another and fall in love. Owen was hurt in battle and Paige by a terrible twist of fate. For Owen he took ti to be a life lesson but for Paige she let it take over her world. She hid behind it and used it as a excuse. So when Owen came along she was like teflon Don there. Owen was so cute in how he kept trying to get her to talk to him. Even when he would mess up he would work hard to get her attention. I loved how he was there for her even when she didn’t know because he just cared. he was so caring and sweet. I hated to see him hurting and did get mad at Paige for some of her treatment towards Owen. But Paige had a journey to find herself and accept her situation. She needed to learn that people will love her for her and that not everyone has a motive other than just to care. The interactions between Owen and Paige were fun and saucy. I loved Owen’s sweet and fun demeanor. In the end it was Paige who had to see that love is love and that not everyone has motives but will love her for her. Owen was that person. Both characters had inner strength and learned to accept the deck of cards thrown their way. Owen was a little more accepting than Paige and had more patience. Both were loving and caring and hearts of gold. Owen was a genuinely great guy who just wanted someone to love and found it in Paige. A fun sweet book that has you root for Owen and sometimes growl at Paige as she learns to accept love in her life.
    more
  • Romantic Reads and Such
    June 19, 2017
    Not having read anything else in this series, I’m not sure why Owen never gets the girl. He’s sexy, funny, and caring. Sure, it would be easy to get overlooked by the puck bunnies who are only after the players but I would think that there would be some smart woman out there who was looking for something a little different. Lucky for Paige, he hasn’t been found yet. Instead he turns all of that heart, charm and determination on her. And he’s going to need it because she’s a tough nut to crack. H Not having read anything else in this series, I’m not sure why Owen never gets the girl. He’s sexy, funny, and caring. Sure, it would be easy to get overlooked by the puck bunnies who are only after the players but I would think that there would be some smart woman out there who was looking for something a little different. Lucky for Paige, he hasn’t been found yet. Instead he turns all of that heart, charm and determination on her. And he’s going to need it because she’s a tough nut to crack. Having been the victim of a brutal attack she’s not quite gotten her confidence back - years later she is still covering up her scars and hiding from the world, afraid to put herself out there in any form. But when Owen sets his mind on winning a date, she finds it harder and harder to resist him. It takes some doing but eventually he’s able to convince her to give him a chance. (The way that he gets her to agree to go out for drinks is CLASSIC … and so is the crash and burn that comes next :) ). With support from her mom, there may be hope that he can claim her heart. And help her find her belief in herself again while he’s at it. Because the story really focuses on Paige and her issues with getting involved it didn’t matter much that this was the first in the series that I read. It’s going to be emotional for her but it’s definitely time that she let her past go and embrace her future. Not an easy thing to do but with a bit of help she can find a way to embrace the strong, beautiful woman she is today. *** I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book. All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s. ***
    more
  • Debbie
    June 16, 2017
    3.5 starsI loved the previous books in this series so when I received an ARC I was ecstatic! I will admit there was a smidgin of doubt in my mind because, well, the hero dresses up as a giant dog for a living. So I was curious to see how they turned that into something sexy and admirable in a hero and I'll admit Jennifer Snow pulled it off. There were several times when I had to laugh out loud at Owen and times he made me cringe but he was such a sweet hero that he definitely won my heart.Paige' 3.5 starsI loved the previous books in this series so when I received an ARC I was ecstatic! I will admit there was a smidgin of doubt in my mind because, well, the hero dresses up as a giant dog for a living. So I was curious to see how they turned that into something sexy and admirable in a hero and I'll admit Jennifer Snow pulled it off. There were several times when I had to laugh out loud at Owen and times he made me cringe but he was such a sweet hero that he definitely won my heart.Paige's character was a bit more complicated for me to come to terms with. I felt sorry for what she had gone through and thought it was admirable that she turned a tragedy into such a rewarding career. However, it did bother me with how much she still tied her physical appearance to her worthiness. She deals with burn victims all the time in her job and yet she's still ashamed of her own scars and keeps them covered all the time. Yes, we are told that she's still working through her own trauma and how to come to terms with it but it bothered me that it took a guy praising and accepting her scars and all to overcome her insecurities. I would have liked to see her grow some more on her own and come to a realization separately that it's not her physical appearance that mattered.The romance is pretty much insta-love which is a pet peeve of mine but which I've come to accept is the only way you can really get a romance into such a short story. Despite those couple niggling aspects this is a fun read that you can easily finish in one sitting and makes the perfect pool side read.
    more
  • Evelyn
    July 10, 2017
    Originally reviewed for www.buriedunderromance.com MAYBE THIS SUMMER, a delightful novella in the Colorado Ice series by Jennifer Snow, has humor, heartbreak, believable characters and a heartwarming romance. What more can you want in a quick summer read? Owen O’Connell, a former professional hockey player and ex-serviceman, was forced to find a new career due to a life-changing injury. Not wanting to stray far from the sport he loves, he went to work in the front office of the Colorado Avalanch Originally reviewed for www.buriedunderromance.com MAYBE THIS SUMMER, a delightful novella in the Colorado Ice series by Jennifer Snow, has humor, heartbreak, believable characters and a heartwarming romance. What more can you want in a quick summer read? Owen O’Connell, a former professional hockey player and ex-serviceman, was forced to find a new career due to a life-changing injury. Not wanting to stray far from the sport he loves, he went to work in the front office of the Colorado Avalanche hockey team, and for fun, he’s the team mascot, St. Bernard “Bernie”. Paige Adams, a former model, was also forced to reinvent herself after being viciously attacked by a jealous competitor. She found her niche as a fund raiser for a hospital burn unit. Owen is instantly attracted to Paige, but she is so insecure about her scars that she doesn’t want to allow herself to get involved with him. She has no idea, however, how persistent Owen can be. This little novel packs quite a punch. Not only are our hero and heroine needing to learn to love themselves for who they are on the inside, but there are many supporting characters dealing with similar issues. Everyone’s stories are told with love and compassion, and I was left wanting more at the end. Kudos to Ms. Snow for this well-written, 5 star story. I only have one complaint: The Colorado Avalanche and mascot Bernie are all real, but why the Denver TIGERS football team. Sorry, for a die-hard Bronco fan, it just didn’t sound right! I voluntarily read an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
    more
Write a review