The Saboteur
February, 1943. Both the Allies and the Nazis are closing in on attempts to construct the decisive weapon of the war.Kurt Nordstrum, an engineer in Oslo, puts his life aside to take up arms against the Germans as part of the Norwegian resistance. After the loss of his fiancée, his outfit whittled to shreds, he commandeers a coastal steamer and escapes to England to transmit secret evidence of the Nazis’s progress towards an atomic bomb at an isolated factory in Norway. There, he joins a team of dedicated Norwegians in training in the Scottish Highlands for a mission to disrupt the Nazis’ plans before they advance any further.Parachuted onto the most unforgiving terrain in Europe, braving the fiercest of mountain storms, Nordstrum and his team attempt the most daring raid of the war, targeting the heavily-guarded factory built on a shelf of rock thought to be impregnable, a mission even they know they likely will not survive. Months later, Nordstrum is called upon again to do the impossible, opposed by both elite Nazi soldiers and a long-standing enemy who is now a local collaborator—one man against overwhelming odds, with the fate of the war in the balance, but the choice to act means putting the one person he has a chance to love in peril.Based on the stirring true story, The Saboteur is Andrew Gross’s follow-up to the riveting historical thriller, The One Man. A richly-woven story probing the limits of heroism, sacrifice and determination, The Saboteur portrays a hero who must weigh duty against his heart in order to singlehandedly end the one threat that could alter the course of the war.

The Saboteur Details

TitleThe Saboteur
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseAug 22nd, 2017
PublisherMinotaur Books
ISBN1250079519
ISBN-139781250079510
Number of pages416 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical, Fiction, Thriller, War, World War II

The Saboteur Review

  • Tina Panik
    June 23, 2017
    Gripping and intense, this WWII tale is based on real missions from the era. Nordstrum is a charming and confident protagonist, who you'll root for as his successes and sacrifices mount in proportion to the danger within his mission. This would make a fantastic movie!This was an ARC.
    more
  • Ms. Just One More Book (Kris Miller)
    June 24, 2017
    “A true man goes on until he can go no further, and then he goes twice as far." ~ Andrew Gross (Excerpt from THE SABOTEUR)Were it not for the act of a few brave souls on a top secret mission, Germany might have won the war. A closely guarded secret at the time, was that in the years leading up to 1943, the German's were closer than anyone realized to making the atomic bomb. In England, a secret committee called the SOE (Special Operations Executive) was formed to deal with that threat. What stoo “A true man goes on until he can go no further, and then he goes twice as far." ~ Andrew Gross (Excerpt from THE SABOTEUR)Were it not for the act of a few brave souls on a top secret mission, Germany might have won the war. A closely guarded secret at the time, was that in the years leading up to 1943, the German's were closer than anyone realized to making the atomic bomb. In England, a secret committee called the SOE (Special Operations Executive) was formed to deal with that threat. What stood in the way of Germany's atomic bomb was but a few brave men. It is March of 1942 and Kurt Nordstrum has given up everything to join the British in their fight against the Nazi's. Given secret evidence of the German's progress at the Norsk Hydro Plant in Norway, Nordstrum commandeers a steamer, bringing the information to a top scientist in England. There he is recruited by the Free Norwegian Army to become a SOE operative to infiltrate the impregnable, heavily guarded plant. Parachuted into an unforgiving terrain, battling against the harshest weather conditions imaginable, in a battle against time, the men know there's little chance of surviving. Based on a true story, THE SABOTEUR is an incredibly awe-inspiring novel of complete sacrifice and raw heroism. Written with intense, action-packed scenes, and a heart-stopping climax, this historical war time story is absolutely captivating. A must read for lovers of historical fiction/non-fiction and for those who enjoy a masterfully written action book alike.~ Kris Miller, certified TopShelf Reviewer. TopShelf Magazine does not offer 'paid review services’ and TopShelf Reviewers are not compensated for their reviews.
    more
  • Mike
    July 16, 2017
    To prevent the Nazis from developing an Atomic bomb, a small team of Norwegians embark on a daring secret mission.An action-packed World War II thriller.
  • Joan
    July 26, 2017
    I love to read historical fiction that makes me feel I am actually learning what really happened in the past. This is how I felt while reading The Saboteur by Andrew Gross. Before reading I didn't read the back or any plugs telling me what the book was about, rather I went completely on the fact that it was written by Andrew Gross. Of course I knew from the cover it would be WWII historical fiction or even historical thriller. I was surprised when I started reading to find it was set in Norway. I love to read historical fiction that makes me feel I am actually learning what really happened in the past. This is how I felt while reading The Saboteur by Andrew Gross. Before reading I didn't read the back or any plugs telling me what the book was about, rather I went completely on the fact that it was written by Andrew Gross. Of course I knew from the cover it would be WWII historical fiction or even historical thriller. I was surprised when I started reading to find it was set in Norway. I had a hunch that The Saboteur was based on real people and events but was not sure and I like to wait until the end to look it up so as not to give away the rest of the story. This was a part of WWII that I had NEVER heard of; the very important part that the Norwegians played. These characters were based on some extremely brave and loyal men, some would say they even changed the outcome of the war. I have to admit, I am a huge fan of Andrew Gross as I flew through The One Man and literally could not put it down. With The Saboteur it was a different reading experience. For the first half of the book I had a hard time keeping the names and places straight, the Norwegian names threw me for a loop. But the second half of the book made up for that. While reading I felt I was watching the story unfold in a movie, that was how well Andrew Gross wrote and told the story. Upon finishing this book, Gross tells how he came to write this story and tells us a little about the real life people upon whom his characters are based. Despite the fact that it took me a little while to "get into" this book, I really liked it and learned about the Norwegians part in the war, something I had not known about. Andrew Gross has earned his place on my Favorite Authors List and I would recommend The Saboteur to historical fiction or historical thriller fans or anyone that enjoys reading about WWII. Well done. Mr. Gross.
    more
  • Lisa Cleveland
    July 22, 2017
    I fully expected this book to put me to sleep, audio books often do. Not this one! Excellent story, and I loved the readers voice.
  • DP Lyle
    June 13, 2017
    Deuterium. D2O. Heavy water. The key to making the atomic bomb. It’s WWII and the race to create a fission bomb is on. Who will win? The US? Germany? This is the background for Andrew Gross’s wonderful new novel, The Saboteur. Drawn from actual events, events that changed to course of the war, the story follows Kurt Nordstrum (based on the real-life hero Kurt Haukelid) and his team of saboteurs who are charged with destroying the NAZI’s heavy water plant on the coast of Norway. A building that i Deuterium. D2O. Heavy water. The key to making the atomic bomb. It’s WWII and the race to create a fission bomb is on. Who will win? The US? Germany? This is the background for Andrew Gross’s wonderful new novel, The Saboteur. Drawn from actual events, events that changed to course of the war, the story follows Kurt Nordstrum (based on the real-life hero Kurt Haukelid) and his team of saboteurs who are charged with destroying the NAZI’s heavy water plant on the coast of Norway. A building that is well guarded and settled in a deep cliff-side crevice, making simply bombing it to rubble impossible. Getting inside the compound and destroying the concentrators and the supplies of heavy water the Nazi have already produced. is no easy task. One attempt has already met with disaster so the mission falls to Kurt and his cadre of “northmen.” Fast-paced, populated with wonderful characters, and filled with historical facts, this story will keep you reading long after everyone else is asleep. Highly recommend. DP Lyle, award-winning author of the Jake Longly, Samantha Cody, and Dub Walker thriller series
    more
  • Carol
    July 26, 2017
    The Saboteur by Andrew Gross is a extremely well done historical fiction story based on true events. The Nazis are racing to develop an atomic bomb and they are producing heavy water for it in a remote area of Noway. The main character is Kurt Nordstrum. Andrew Gross had me very proud of my Norwegian roots by the end of disc #1. Persistence, endurance and bravery were emphasized as being Norwegian attributes in this story. Kurt Nordstrom and his team were received rigorous training so that they The Saboteur by Andrew Gross is a extremely well done historical fiction story based on true events. The Nazis are racing to develop an atomic bomb and they are producing heavy water for it in a remote area of Noway. The main character is Kurt Nordstrum. Andrew Gross had me very proud of my Norwegian roots by the end of disc #1. Persistence, endurance and bravery were emphasized as being Norwegian attributes in this story. Kurt Nordstrom and his team were received rigorous training so that they could ski to the site and then climb the cliff to crevasse where the Nazi plant that produced heavy water was located. There was no way to take the plant out by bombing because of its location. There is background history about the Nazis taking over Norway and the traitors in the country or quislings. Also we learn of Kurt's personal life which is filled with many tragedies.The narrator was Edoardo Ballerini and I don't think anyone else could have done a better job, his voices were convincing. Each CD of this story is thrilling and exciting. The different mission were all dangerous and make you think of the bravery of the team that prevented the Nazis from creating the atomic bomb. I received this advanced listening copy from the publishers as a win from FirstReads but that did not have an effect on my thoughts or feelings of this review.
    more
  • Diane Saul
    July 17, 2017
    This is a great historical thriller that is based on actual events during WWII. The Nazis are coming very close to developing the atomic bomb. They are producing heavy water at a plant in Norway. The plant is well protected in a valley that is too narrow to be successfully bombed. The only way to stop them is to send a team in to destroy the plant and any heavy water that has been produced. A group of courageous Norwegian men end up tackling the mission, knowing it is likely a suicide mission. T This is a great historical thriller that is based on actual events during WWII. The Nazis are coming very close to developing the atomic bomb. They are producing heavy water at a plant in Norway. The plant is well protected in a valley that is too narrow to be successfully bombed. The only way to stop them is to send a team in to destroy the plant and any heavy water that has been produced. A group of courageous Norwegian men end up tackling the mission, knowing it is likely a suicide mission. This is a great read and it stays true to historical events. This is a story of courage and heroism. It will appeal to anyone who likes historical thrillers, or even thrillers in general. I couldn't put it down. The scenes are action packed. The descriptions of the scenery and the conditions the characters experience make you feel like you are there. Thank you to net galley for an advanced readers copy.
    more
  • Nissa
    July 15, 2017
    This book was phenomenal. I disappeared into this book like I would have in a good movie. In fact I could see the movie play as I listened to the book. I was sad when it ended. It was one of those books that makes you savor each word. After having listened to the audiobook version, I definitely want to read the printed version. A gripping plot that keeps the reader involved all the way. Great stuff. If you like Gross and you enjoy WWII set novels this is definitely worth the read. I won an advan This book was phenomenal. I disappeared into this book like I would have in a good movie. In fact I could see the movie play as I listened to the book. I was sad when it ended. It was one of those books that makes you savor each word. After having listened to the audiobook version, I definitely want to read the printed version. A gripping plot that keeps the reader involved all the way. Great stuff. If you like Gross and you enjoy WWII set novels this is definitely worth the read. I won an advanced audio copy of this book from Publishers Weekly and Macmillan Audio. Thanks so much, I truly enjoyed!
    more
  • Madame
    July 19, 2017
    It was a pleasure enjoying the cd version of this novel. It felt like I was immersed in an action-packed war film. A story filled with exhilarating tense moments.An endearing protagonist that performs a soldier’s duty, while experiencing gut wrenching raw emotions barely held in check during intervals of extreme conflict. There are copious gripping dilemmas. Narrated masterfully, engrossing the audience thoroughly into this historic piece of literature. A page turning adventure that keeps you ri It was a pleasure enjoying the cd version of this novel. It felt like I was immersed in an action-packed war film. A story filled with exhilarating tense moments.An endearing protagonist that performs a soldier’s duty, while experiencing gut wrenching raw emotions barely held in check during intervals of extreme conflict. There are copious gripping dilemmas. Narrated masterfully, engrossing the audience thoroughly into this historic piece of literature. A page turning adventure that keeps you riveted from beginning to the very end.
    more
  • Tom Rogan
    July 14, 2017
    Goodreads giveaway winner...Thank you!
  • Patrick Ewing
    May 19, 2017
    Very good.
  • BOOKLOVER10
    July 30, 2017
    Andrew Gross's "The Saboteur" is a work of historical fiction based on events that occurred during the Second World War. As early as 1939, German scientists were engaged in atomic research and several years later, Niels Bohr, the Danish physicist and Nobel laureate, warned the British that "the Nazis were on the verge of obtaining a devastating weapon." A committee in England known as the SOE, or Special Operations Executive, dispatched teams of highly trained and courageous men to Vemork, Norwa Andrew Gross's "The Saboteur" is a work of historical fiction based on events that occurred during the Second World War. As early as 1939, German scientists were engaged in atomic research and several years later, Niels Bohr, the Danish physicist and Nobel laureate, warned the British that "the Nazis were on the verge of obtaining a devastating weapon." A committee in England known as the SOE, or Special Operations Executive, dispatched teams of highly trained and courageous men to Vemork, Norway, where scientists were using the Norsk Hydro plant to manufacture deuterium oxide--or heavy water--an essential step in the process of creating fissionable material.Gross keeps us engaged with this action-packed account of how in 1943, a brave band of "Northmen," as the Norwegians called themselves, had to parachute into forbidding terrain and endure frigid temperatures, punishing winds, and terrifying snowstorms. Their ultimate objective was to enter the hydroelectric plant with enough stealth to set explosive charges. There are many characters in this story, but the central figure is the daring Kurt Nordstrum, who is strongly motivated to risk his life in order to defeat the German war machine."The Saboteur" draws us in with its vivid depiction of the obstacles that confronted Nordstrum, his close friend, Jens Strollman, and their comrades, all of whom volunteered to undertake a possible suicide mission. Gross describes Norway's unpredictable wintry weather so well that just reading about the horrendous conditions the soldiers encountered makes us shiver. This book has its share of clichés, stilted dialogue, and poorly phrased metaphors ("his blood burned with envy"); the British leaders are "stiff-upper-lip" types who order their subordinates to do the impossible, and the Nazis and Norwegian collaborators are universally slimy, cruel, and self-serving.On the plus side, there are exciting escapes, scenes of incredible heroism, a bit of romance (fortunately, not overdone), and a gripping finale. What makes this novel succeed, in spite of its flaws, is the atmosphere of authenticity that Gross creates, and the ways in which he humanizes his heroes. We empathize not just with Nordstrum and his intrepid fellow soldiers, but also with those ordinary individuals who were not naturally courageous. In spite of their fears, they stepped up when needed, resisted their occupiers, and supported the Allied effort to foil Hitler.Comment Comment | Permalink
    more
  • Sharon May
    July 31, 2017
    Thanks to NetGalley, Minotaur Books, and Andrew Gross for the opportunity to read his latest thriller - will not disappoint!In my mind, no one can write a WWII thriller like Andrew Gross. Following up on The One Man, which was excellent, his latest book is based on a true story of a Norwegian resistance fighter during WWII. He is picked to lead a team to destroy the threat of the development of the atomic bomb by the Germans in an old factory in Norway. This is a non-stop, hold your breath, kind Thanks to NetGalley, Minotaur Books, and Andrew Gross for the opportunity to read his latest thriller - will not disappoint!In my mind, no one can write a WWII thriller like Andrew Gross. Following up on The One Man, which was excellent, his latest book is based on a true story of a Norwegian resistance fighter during WWII. He is picked to lead a team to destroy the threat of the development of the atomic bomb by the Germans in an old factory in Norway. This is a non-stop, hold your breath, kind of book as Kurt disregards his own personal safety and those of all he cares about to fight for his country and the world at large.Amazing!
    more
  • kathyrn
    June 17, 2017
    Thanks to netgalley and St. Martin's Press Minotaur Books for an ARC of this book “Tension permeates the pages even for readers who know the historical outcome. A terrific story filled with tension and surprises right to the end. That's two World War II winners in a row for Gross.”--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
    more
  • Beth
    August 4, 2017
    Andrew Gross writes one heck of a book. I first encountered his writing with James Patterson and have followed his solo career with glee. The Saboteur is a sequel to The One Man, about one man and the holocaust. This books remains set in WWII, and the fight is again against nazis, who are building a bomb in Norway. A race against time, a battle against true villains, and a cast of characters so well written you can climb inside their skin. What more could you want?
    more
  • Ben Ostrander
    August 2, 2017
    I received a copy of this story and enjoyed it very much. Narrator Edoardo Ballerini did an amazing job of accents, inflections and voices for this character dense book. A better than satisfying war story that is both gripping and realistic in its portrayal of World War II as it happened in Scandinavia. Excellent story and performance.
    more
  • Ashley
    July 28, 2017
    I won this book as a Goodreads giveaway . Ballerini's performance reading The Saboteur is truly equal to Gross's writing. A perfect pairing!
  • Ann Theis
    July 28, 2017
    Kirkus
Write a review