Night's Dominion, Vol. 1 (Night's Dominion, #1-6)
A thief, an assassin, a mage and a cleric walk into a tavern in the ancient city of Umber. Awaiting them is a mysterious bard with a dangerous scheme: to break into the dungeon of a powerful death cult in search of treasure. For these five desperate criminals, it's the last chance for hope in a city of corruption and despair. But what they find instead is an undead army preparing to conquer the world. Now, they must fight to protect the city that pushed their backs to the wall, or watch it burn. The acclaimed fantasy epic from New York Times Best-Selling author Ted Naifeh (Courtney Crumrin, Princess Ugg) begins here!

Night's Dominion, Vol. 1 (Night's Dominion, #1-6) Details

TitleNight's Dominion, Vol. 1 (Night's Dominion, #1-6)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherOni Press
ISBN1620104105
ISBN-139781620104101
Number of pages168 pages
Rating
GenreGraphic Novels Comics, Sequential Art, Graphic Novels, Fantasy, Comics

Night's Dominion, Vol. 1 (Night's Dominion, #1-6) Review

  • Paul
    February 16, 2017
    In Night's Dominion Ted Naifeh and co. have crafted a really nice fantasy adventure story that will delight anyone who has ever played Dungeons & Dragons, Warhammer Fantasy or other similar games. The archetypes are instantly familiar yet each has a little twist on them to make them interesting.There's nothing groundbreaking here but it's a solid, fun fantasy book with some really nice artwork that should please fans of the genre. Dust off your +1 mace and get ready to face down an army of t In Night's Dominion Ted Naifeh and co. have crafted a really nice fantasy adventure story that will delight anyone who has ever played Dungeons & Dragons, Warhammer Fantasy or other similar games. The archetypes are instantly familiar yet each has a little twist on them to make them interesting.There's nothing groundbreaking here but it's a solid, fun fantasy book with some really nice artwork that should please fans of the genre. Dust off your +1 mace and get ready to face down an army of the undead. In gaming circles, we call that 'Thursday'.
    more
  • Maia
    July 25, 2017
    This story begins with a classic D&D set up... a thief, an assassin, a mage and a cleric meet in a tavern to hear about a job offer from a mysterious stranger. But what this story actually offers is a D&D flavored superhero team battling for the soul of a city. An army of undead, a corrupt government and a Batman-verses-Catwoman like rivalry unfolds over tiled rooftops, cobbled streets and in caverns deep under the ground.
    more
  • Craig Phillips
    April 17, 2017
    I gave this 5 stars as I had such a great time reading it. I am a big fan of Ted's work and Night's Dominion took me back to my tweens and teens when I was absolutely besotted by fantasy and sword and sorcery. It's dark. It's wonderfully drawn. It has echoes of Frazetta with a superhero flavour thrown in. Very fun series and I look forward to the next arc.
    more
  • Jeremy
    July 15, 2017
    I'd heard this series described as D&D meets Superheroes and it's not far off.I'm a huge Naifeh fan after Courtney Crumrin so I was excited to see his take on this concept. I think it leans a little more toward the D&D side of things but the batman-esque character keeps pulling it back toward superheros.There were aspects of it that gave it a In The Name of the Wind feel to me, particularly with the epics the bard sung about and how they effected the story.There's something about it that I'd heard this series described as D&D meets Superheroes and it's not far off.I'm a huge Naifeh fan after Courtney Crumrin so I was excited to see his take on this concept. I think it leans a little more toward the D&D side of things but the batman-esque character keeps pulling it back toward superheros.There were aspects of it that gave it a In The Name of the Wind feel to me, particularly with the epics the bard sung about and how they effected the story.There's something about it that keeps me from giving it a solid 5 stars but I'm remiss to suss out what it is. As it stands, though, I definitely enjoyed it and would certainly read more about these characters and world Naifeh has created.
    more
  • Nicola Mansfield
    July 12, 2017
    I've read and loved every single Courtney Crumrin book but this new series by Naifeh did nothing for me at all. I actually think I'd go as far as saying I didn't like it. The story is cliched but worse, is very choppy: jumping from scene to scene with no segues making for disorienting reading. And the art, it was good but he can't seem to draw a male face except if it's an ugly, old guy with facial hair. All the young men looked like women. Not for me.
    more
  • Alex Sarll
    February 27, 2017
    I've enjoyed Naifeh's work when I've encountered it before, but couldn't persevere with what felt like an entirely generic fantasy heist. Maybe there's a brilliant twist later on, but none of the characters made me care enough to get there, and the missing pages in the ARC didn't help matters.
    more
  • Chad
    May 3, 2017
    Naifeh has taken his local Friday night D&D party and crafted it into a comic. All of your fantasy archetypes (thief, assassin, mage, cleric, bard) meet up at a tavern to steal some treasure from a cult. When they get to where the treasure should be, they find an undead army and I guess, Samson who they free from his chains. Then Batman shows up after they leave or might as well be. I didn't care enough to pick up his name. Now they all must reluctantly have to defend their city from the und Naifeh has taken his local Friday night D&D party and crafted it into a comic. All of your fantasy archetypes (thief, assassin, mage, cleric, bard) meet up at a tavern to steal some treasure from a cult. When they get to where the treasure should be, they find an undead army and I guess, Samson who they free from his chains. Then Batman shows up after they leave or might as well be. I didn't care enough to pick up his name. Now they all must reluctantly have to defend their city from the undead army.Until the undead army show up, this thing was all over the place. There were lots of subplots and extra characters that were hard to follow. The last half of the book was one big battle.Received an advance copy from Oni and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review