The Secrets She Keeps
In the bestselling tradition of The Girl on the Train and In a Dark, Dark Wood, from the internationally bestselling author whom Stephen King called “an absolute master” of the psychological thriller, comes a riveting suspense novel about the unlikely friendship between two pregnant women that asks: how far would you go to create the perfect family?Agatha is pregnant and works part-time stocking shelves at a grocery store in a ritzy London suburb, counting down the days until her baby is due. As the hours of her shifts creep by in increasing discomfort, the one thing she looks forward to at work is catching a glimpse of Meghan, the effortlessly chic customer whose elegant lifestyle dazzles her. Meghan has it all: two perfect children, a handsome husband, a happy marriage, a stylish group of friends, and she writes perfectly droll confessional posts on her popular parenting blog—posts that Agatha reads with devotion each night as she waits for her absent boyfriend, the father of her baby, to maybe return her calls. When Agatha learns that Meghan is pregnant again, and that their due dates fall within the same month, she finally musters up the courage to speak to her, thrilled that they now have the ordeal of childbearing in common. Little does Meghan know that the mundane exchange she has with a grocery store employee during a hurried afternoon shopping trip is about to change the course of her not-so-perfect life forever… With its brilliant rendering of the secrets some women hold close and a shocking act that cannot be undone, The Secrets She Keeps delivers a dark and twisted page-turner that is absolutely impossible to put down.

The Secrets She Keeps Details

TitleThe Secrets She Keeps
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherScribner
ISBN1501170317
ISBN-139781501170317
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Suspense, Fiction, Psychological Thriller

The Secrets She Keeps Review

  • Deanna
    June 25, 2017
    My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...This is my first read from Michael Robotham. I loved it! How far would you go to create the perfect family? How many times have you looked at someone and thought "now there is someone who has it all?" Well I have. Plenty of times.We may assume someone who is beautiful, rich, married with children must be happy. They must have the perfect life. But you know what they say about assuming....The book alternates between Agatha an My reviews can also be seen at: https://deesradreadsandreviews.wordpr...This is my first read from Michael Robotham. I loved it! How far would you go to create the perfect family? How many times have you looked at someone and thought "now there is someone who has it all?" Well I have. Plenty of times.We may assume someone who is beautiful, rich, married with children must be happy. They must have the perfect life. But you know what they say about assuming....The book alternates between Agatha and Meghan's point of view.When Agatha looks at Meghan she sees someone with the perfect life. She has a gorgeous home, two beautiful children, and a loving husband. While Agatha is at home, pregnant and alone, wondering if her baby daddy, Hayden will ever return her calls. Hayden is a sailor who is away for seven months. Agatha tells us the silly boy "thinks" they broke up before he left, but she says he's just overreacting to her going through his phone and reading his emails. Now he's avoiding her.But she'll find a way to make him reply to her.Agatha is pregnant and works at a grocery store in an affluent area in London. Her favorite part of the day is when Meghan comes into the store.Agatha knows A LOT about Meghan's life. She knows her schedule, husband and children's names, as well as what time Meghan picks up her daughter from school. She knows Meghan's mothers' group meets every Friday morning and even what each woman orders to drink. She's gotten a lot of this information by watching Meghan. But she also gotten a lot of additional information from Meghan's detailed posts on her mommy blog. She thinks Meghan makes motherhood and marriage look easy.But Meghan's life is far from perfect. Her marriage has been very bumpy lately. Jack has been acting strangely, and the couple has been fighting more than ever (more than once I wanted to reach into the book and throttle Jack, when he made comments about her weight or belittled her blog). Meghan hopes that once the baby is born things will go back to normal, that they will be happy again.But Meghan has secrets...and she's not the only one.So many secrets.Agatha finds out that Meghan is pregnant with baby number three and that they are both due around the same time. This gives her the push needed to strike up a conversation with Meghan. But Meghan doesn't know that this little conversation has solidified a friendship (in Agatha's mind). If Meghan only knew that a seemingly unimportant conversation with a woman stocking shelves at a grocery store will turn her life upside down in ways she never imagined. "I've spoken to her properly now. We've made a connection. We're going to be friends, Meg and I, and I'll be just like her. I'll make a lovely home and keep my man happy. We'll do yoga classes and swap recipes and meet for coffee every Friday morning with our mothers' group" If only Meghan hadn't gone to that store. If she'd done anything different that day. Maybe that would have changed everything.This book got inside my head. So many twist and turns that literally had my mouth dropping open in surprise. I was so fully engrossed in the story that I didn't see the time passing. I had an early appointment the next morning and wanted to get to sleep early. But I couldn't stop reading!We really have no idea what goes on in someone's life. How things that happened throughout their lives can affect everything. I was trying to put myself into the minds of these characters. All of the horrible things some had been through. Some parts were very difficult to read.How do we know what someone's marriage or relationship is truly like. Just look at how happy everyone is on Facebook and other social media. So often we are just seeing just the parts they want us to see.This was a gripping and powerful story full of thrills, twists, and mind games. And although occasionally things may have seemed implausible, I just went with it and enjoyed the story.THE SECRETS SHE KEEPS is a clever and entertaining psychological suspense novel that I quickly devoured in just a few sittings.I can honestly say this won't be my last read from Michael RobothamThank you NetGalley and Scribner Publishing for providing an advanced copy of this book for me to read in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Paromjit
    June 1, 2017
    This is an outstanding psychological thriller that had me completely unable to stop reading until I had finished. To say it is compelling is an understatement. It is a novel narrated through the perspective of two women expecting babies around the same time from different ends of the social and economic spectrum. Meghan is having her third 'oops' child, is married to the well known, good looking sports commentator, Jack, and runs a popular mums blog detailing her everyday life and personal thoug This is an outstanding psychological thriller that had me completely unable to stop reading until I had finished. To say it is compelling is an understatement. It is a novel narrated through the perspective of two women expecting babies around the same time from different ends of the social and economic spectrum. Meghan is having her third 'oops' child, is married to the well known, good looking sports commentator, Jack, and runs a popular mums blog detailing her everyday life and personal thoughts. She has had a privileged lifestyle, and despite elements of her marriage feeling stale and occasionally fraught, loves her husband. Agatha is expecting her first child, is involved with a younger man, Hayden, who is a sailor in the Navy. She works in a supermarket, sees and relates to Meghan shopping there regularly, and thinks that Meghan has the perfect marriage, husband, and children. The two women become friends at Agatha's persistent instigation. They connect over their coming births, looking forward to the lives they have planned. Only Jack is supremely ambitious and is not so keen on having an unplanned baby. Agatha's background has been traumatic, challenging and there is a dark schism between her and her mother, rooted in her dark history with her parents as committed Jehovah's Witnesses. Agatha is not above being manipulative when it comes to her relationship with Hayden in her efforts to ensure that it is as wonderful as it could be. However, Meghan and Agatha harbour lies and deeply buried secrets. Their lives collide on a path that places such deep strains on their lives that you wonder if they can survive.This is a well plotted and twisted story with a narrative that is tense and gripping. I was particularly impressed with the complex and authentic characterisation of Meghan and Agatha, not to mention other characters such as Hayden and Dr Cyrus Haven. The storyline felt desperately realistic, and there are mentions of real life contemporary events that it echoes. The portrayal of the media really touches a nerve with its amoral drive for any angle for a exclusive story that it can get, without any thought to the people concerned and the lives they ruin. A terrific book that I highly recommend.
    more
  • Elyse
    April 27, 2017
    A baby has been kidnapped ..... Meghan is keeping a significant secret from her husband Jack. They have two small children, Lucy and Lachlan. Meghan is pregnant -again- with their 'oops' pregnancy. Meghan runs a 'mummy' blog. Jack works for a sports TV network. Their marriage has the 'packaging' looks as if "all-is-dandy". - Good looks, money, the right circle of friends! Agatha, single, works in a grocery store stocking shelves. She's keeping a significant secret from her boyfriend Hayden, who A baby has been kidnapped ..... Meghan is keeping a significant secret from her husband Jack. They have two small children, Lucy and Lachlan. Meghan is pregnant -again- with their 'oops' pregnancy. Meghan runs a 'mummy' blog. Jack works for a sports TV network. Their marriage has the 'packaging' looks as if "all-is-dandy". - Good looks, money, the right circle of friends! Agatha, single, works in a grocery store stocking shelves. She's keeping a significant secret from her boyfriend Hayden, who is away at sea with the Royal Navy. This is one of those page-turning psychological-perplexing stories that might have you wavering in thought --but never any hesitancy of eagerness to know how this story is going to conclude. My overall thoughts were this: I WAS HOOKED --I NEVER WANTED TO STOP READING -- and there were definitely 'TROUBLE-IN -PARADISE' type situations .... where I was shaking my head wondering....."ok, how ya goin solve this problem?".... "and this problem"? ..... but when I finished the book.... I was mostly left with very subtle emotions. THERE WAS NOT HUGE TWIST.....WHICH WAS FINE WITH ME..........instead I was left thinking about the scars people live with--suffering and loneliness -- destructive behaviors, trying to make sense of of lies, manipulations, motivations for distortions, the effects from inadequate parenting skills, and the sadness of shocking sudden loss. This next excerpt was very sad to me...as I think there is truth in this quote. To 'some' degree --( even those with no history of mental illness), often people have a very critical inner voice of themselves.....which looks a little like Agatha's inner voice: "The creature is blaming me--listing my mistakes, my stupidity. I'm useless. Pathetic. I have failed again. What did I expect? I am going to lose it all--my baby, my fiancé, my freedom... I have no right to happiness. Like wealth, or beauty, it is given to others, not to someone like me". There are many *secrets* in "The Secrets She Keeps".....and many lies. There is also much 'depth' into the psyche of people. One last thing I thought about: if a person is able to lie easily - accept their own unhealthy behavior--just by reinforcement alone it seems to me that the person would be perpetuating their own suffering. So....I felt a little sad for the characters ( WHICH WERE VERY WELL DEVELOPED) .I don't consider this novel a 'chiller-rush'. I have a little 'more' respect for its psychological 'quest' than others with lightening - bolts and firecrackers! Very well done....'authentic' ! Congrats to the author, Michael Robotham ( my first experience reading him - and not the last I hope)Thank You to Scribner, Netgalley, and Michael Robotham
    more
  • Meredith
    June 3, 2017
    4.5 stars The Secrets She Keeps is a fast-paced, highly entertaining, psychological thriller that I could not put down! Two pregnant women, Meg and Agatha, are harboring deep secrets. On the outside, Meg seems to be living the perfect life: handsome husband, two beautiful children, and a lovely house in a posh neighborhood. But what goes on behind closed doors is far from perfect. On the other hand, struggling Agatha is on the outside looking in. Desperate for love, she would do anything to ha 4.5 stars The Secrets She Keeps is a fast-paced, highly entertaining, psychological thriller that I could not put down! Two pregnant women, Meg and Agatha, are harboring deep secrets. On the outside, Meg seems to be living the perfect life: handsome husband, two beautiful children, and a lovely house in a posh neighborhood. But what goes on behind closed doors is far from perfect. On the other hand, struggling Agatha is on the outside looking in. Desperate for love, she would do anything to have a family like Meg’s. Meg and Agatha are bound together by obsession. When one of their newborns is kidnapped, it’s a fight to the end.This book is jammed packed with tension and plenty of crazy. Told through the alternating POV’s of Agatha and Meg, Agatha’s character is what pulled me in; I loved being inside her mind. I guessed the main premise in the beginning, but I didn’t know how things were going to play out. Although the plot is a bit like a Lifetime movie, it’s very well put together, there’s some depth to the characters, and it’s well written. I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    May 23, 2017
    5+ Masterful Riveting Spellbinding Stars. - Full Review now posted closer to publication date.Have you ever told a lie? One that becomes bigger and bigger the more you tell it? One that makes you keep secrets from those you love? Such that you want to believe your lies more than anything and almost forget what is a lie and what is the truth? I think we’ve all told little white lies but who has told big nasty lies that make you keep secrets from those you love? I think that’s pretty hard to admi 5+ Masterful Riveting Spellbinding Stars. - Full Review now posted closer to publication date.Have you ever told a lie? One that becomes bigger and bigger the more you tell it? One that makes you keep secrets from those you love? Such that you want to believe your lies more than anything and almost forget what is a lie and what is the truth? I think we’ve all told little white lies but who has told big nasty lies that make you keep secrets from those you love? I think that’s pretty hard to admit to. Yet in “The Secrets She Keeps” by the brilliant Michael Robotham, its easier than it seems and Meghan and Agatha, both of the main characters in this book, are guilty of it to some degree.Meghan is a happily married mother of two. She seemingly has it all. She is a successful writer of a mommy blog who once had a great career before having children with her husband Jack. Now, they are pregnant again with their “oops” baby. She couldn’t be more thrilled, though it takes Jack a while to warm up to the idea. Life seems idyllic, though things are never as they seem. Meghan’s family is all that matters to her and she will do whatever it takes to protect it, and herself, even when the house falls down around her. Agatha has struggled all of her life, going through a myriad of trials and tribulations with little or no support from friends or family. She works part-time at a grocery store in a ritzy London suburb, while her on-again, off-again boyfriend Hayden is away at the Royal Army. After years of yearning to have a child, it has finally happened: she is pregnant. While working, she spies Meghan in town and tries to emulate her and then, once Meghan stops into the grocery store, Agatha befriends her, thus altering both of their lives, forever. Meghan is excited to have a normal down-to-earth friend. And Agatha? She finally has everything she wants. And she will go to great lengths to keep her secrets close to the vest or die trying. “The Secrets She Keeps” is a superbly written psychological thriller from Michael Robotham. I was drawn in immediately. The storyline was gripping and the characters development was in depth and masterfully done. The novel is a brilliant character study of how two women, both pregnant, can have completely different psychological and socio-economic backgrounds and how that can affect how they act towards their families and their children and the extremes they will go to, to protect themselves and their needs. I have always been of the mindset that “lies do not become us”, yet in this novel, somehow “lies become them” as both Agatha and Meghan are masterful at it.I would recommend this novel to anyone who is looking for a captivating and compelling mystery/suspense. Michael Robotham is a phenomenal writer. If you haven't read his books, you are seriously missing out. This is a standalone, but his series about Joseph O'Loughlin is perhaps one of the best I have read. Thank you to NetGalley, Scribner and Michael Robotham for the opportunity to read and review this novel. It was my pleasure. Final review published on NetGalley and Goodreads on 6.25.17. * Will be published on Amazon on 7.11.17 Initial Review posted 5/23/17.Robotham's latest packed one heck of a punch and the Secret was a STUNNER!!I can't recommend this one highly enough! Full Review to follow closer to publication date.
    more
  • Kaceey
    June 30, 2017
    Absolutely fantastic! 5 stars all the way!From the first chapter I was hooked. Start to finish!Meg and Jack have it all. Jack is a well-known sports broadcaster. Meg is a stay at home mom with 2 beautiful children, and is pregnant again. This is their 'oops' baby.Agatha, a troubled woman with a sad disturbing past, works stocking shelves at the local market. She covets everything Meg has from her beautiful straight hair, her stylish maternity jeans to her seemingly perfect life. She watches Meg Absolutely fantastic! 5 stars all the way!From the first chapter I was hooked. Start to finish!Meg and Jack have it all. Jack is a well-known sports broadcaster. Meg is a stay at home mom with 2 beautiful children, and is pregnant again. This is their 'oops' baby.Agatha, a troubled woman with a sad disturbing past, works stocking shelves at the local market. She covets everything Meg has from her beautiful straight hair, her stylish maternity jeans to her seemingly perfect life. She watches Meg closely, wanting to be near her...wanting desperately to have what she has. Told from alternating points of view of both Agatha and Meg. Characters were brilliantly authentic. I connected with both of them! Yes, and at times even Agatha (yikes!)So many layers to this book. Nothing is as simple as it seems. Secrets, lies and hidden pasts. Nobody's life is perfect. What you see isn't always what it may appear to be. I don't want to say too much more and give anything away. I went into this one virtually blind and I suggest you do the same.Frightening with just the right amount of creep factor! Was on the edge of my seat throughout. Finished in 1 day! Absolutely loved it!! Brilliant! One of the best psychological thrillers I have read this year! Heading straight onto my favorites shelf. Can't recommend it enough!Thank you to NetGalley, Scribner and Michael Robotham for an ARC to review.
    more
  • Linda
    June 16, 2017
    "You can't always get what you want....." The Rolling Stones would absolutely agree.Pregnancy brings with it tons of uncertainty, highs and lows, and the burden of knowing that you're not always in control. Not even the little details that you've planned and certainly not the big details that you've anguished over.Just ask Meghan and Agatha. Both women are expecting.......expecting exactly what? Days are filled with the tapping sound of the unknown and the soul-searching deep desire for perfecti "You can't always get what you want....." The Rolling Stones would absolutely agree.Pregnancy brings with it tons of uncertainty, highs and lows, and the burden of knowing that you're not always in control. Not even the little details that you've planned and certainly not the big details that you've anguished over.Just ask Meghan and Agatha. Both women are expecting.......expecting exactly what? Days are filled with the tapping sound of the unknown and the soul-searching deep desire for perfection. Elusive perfection.......But one day their paths cross as Meghan rushes into the grocery store where Agatha works. Oh, they have so much in common. Parallel universes in the making. Two women with expanding waist sizes and bulging shadows reflecting on sidewalks. And there seems to be excessive cravings going on here. Yes, you'll be sure to notice.Meghan and her husband Jack have two young children, Lucy and Lachlan. There's plenty of secrets hiding in the cabinets of this household. Neither Meghan nor Jack have been quite honest with one another. Their lives seem to give off a veneer much like the furniture in every room. But that's all about to change.Agatha carries the burden of unfulfilled relationships. She's trying to make a new life with her boyfriend, Hayden, who is a sailor in the Royal Navy. Somehow she keeps waiting for her ship to come in. And there's some monumental waves brewing on the horizon.This was my first book by Michael Robotham. Robotham really knows how to churn up the anxiety and turn up the volume on the eerie factor full blast. Those of us who imbibe in mystery/thrillers and psychological thrillers may sniff out "the secret" from the onset. But what drives this story in a turbo blast is the constant risk taking by one of the characters. You know that the bottom is going to drop out eventually, but you don't exactly know when. The ending may falter a bit, but the ride is fast and furious. A perfect summer read. Gonna check out more Robotham reads for sure.I received a copy of The Secrets She Keeps through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to Simon & Schuster and to Michael Robotham for the opportunity.
    more
  • Carolyn
    June 22, 2017
    Oh Mr Robotham, you had me worried at the beginning of this novel. Michael Robotham writing from the viewpoints of two pregnant women? I thought you had changed genres to write a suburban family drama (maybe in the style of Liane Moriarty?) rather than the psychological thrillers we have come to know and love. But of course I was wrong and the novel very soon evolved into a twisted story of longing and obsession. The two women, Meghan, mother of two and popular mommy blogger married to a TV spor Oh Mr Robotham, you had me worried at the beginning of this novel. Michael Robotham writing from the viewpoints of two pregnant women? I thought you had changed genres to write a suburban family drama (maybe in the style of Liane Moriarty?) rather than the psychological thrillers we have come to know and love. But of course I was wrong and the novel very soon evolved into a twisted story of longing and obsession. The two women, Meghan, mother of two and popular mommy blogger married to a TV sports broadcaster and Agatha, who works in Meghan's local supermarket and is pregnant after a fling with a sailor, are both expecting their babies around the same time. They bond over this and get to know each other. Both of them are keeping secrets and telling lies to themselves and their partners and as the births of their babies approach, their worlds collide and threaten to destroy them and their families.An excellent psychological thriller, written in the alternating voices of the two women, which works really well in giving us insights into their characters and feelings and deceptions. Mr Robotham, you are a first class story teller and writer and in future I will never doubt your ability to spin a good yarn on anything that you choose to write about.With thanks to Netgalley and the publisher Little, Brown Book Group for a copy of the book to read and review
    more
  • Zoeytron
    May 24, 2017
    Copy furnished by Net Galley for the price of a review.Two pregnant ladies - one whose baby is unplanned, the other whose baby is planned down to the tiniest detail. Their paths were bound to cross, the common bond discovered. It's probably happened to all of us at one time or another. You make an offhand comment, pay a compliment, or maybe flash a quick smile to a complete stranger. Could be someone waiting in line at the post office, or perhaps a waitress, or maybe a grocery clerk. It doesn't Copy furnished by Net Galley for the price of a review.Two pregnant ladies - one whose baby is unplanned, the other whose baby is planned down to the tiniest detail. Their paths were bound to cross, the common bond discovered. It's probably happened to all of us at one time or another. You make an offhand comment, pay a compliment, or maybe flash a quick smile to a complete stranger. Could be someone waiting in line at the post office, or perhaps a waitress, or maybe a grocery clerk. It doesn't matter, all of a sudden you are her best friend in the world. She latches onto you, showing too much interest in your life, a life that is everything she wishes hers could be. You have no idea. Everyone has a secret, this novel illustrates perfectly just how far one will go to protect that secret. The blame game is played, who has been damaged the most here? Who has made the biggest sacrifice? I suspect this book will go to town when it is released. The pacing is terrific, the characters well developed. The sequence in the hospital is right up there with some of the best I've read.
    more
  • Maureen
    May 16, 2017
    Hands up if you have an absolutely perfect life? No, thought not. Life is a roller coaster of experiences, it CAN be perfect at times, and truly awful at others. Agatha however, perceives Meghan's life to be absolutely perfect - living in a beautiful house with the handsome TV sports presenter husband, two children - a girl and a boy, no financial worries, and a wide circle of stylish friends. Meghan is expecting her third child. Agatha is expecting too, and she longs to connect with Meghan, but Hands up if you have an absolutely perfect life? No, thought not. Life is a roller coaster of experiences, it CAN be perfect at times, and truly awful at others. Agatha however, perceives Meghan's life to be absolutely perfect - living in a beautiful house with the handsome TV sports presenter husband, two children - a girl and a boy, no financial worries, and a wide circle of stylish friends. Meghan is expecting her third child. Agatha is expecting too, and she longs to connect with Meghan, but they have completely opposing lives, with Agatha working in a local supermarket. It's from there that she watches Meghan when she's buying her groceries. Eventually Agatha manages to engage Meghan in conversation, and they find that their babies are due around the same time. Meghan actually likes Agatha, and they become very friendly. However, little does Meghan know that this friendship will alter the course of her life in a most devastating manner. Though they're unaware of it, the main connection that these two women have is that they can both keep a secret!This is a brilliant phsychological thriller in a marketplace that is flooded with this particular genre. The character development was superb, the plot was gripping, a real page turner, and perfectly paced. You're in for a great read should you choose to pick this one up.*Thank you to Netgalley and Scribner for my ARC for which I have given an honest review*
    more
  • Melisa
    June 13, 2017
    It's been a long time since I've had such a deep, visceral response to a book. This story triggered something within me which gave me some massive anxiety - it took me six long days to finish it because I had to keep putting it down. But really, we're all reading because we want to feel something, right? And boy oh boy, did I ever feel all the emotions with this one. The story is told in alternating chapters from the two main characters, Agatha and Meg. At first, I believed that this was a detri It's been a long time since I've had such a deep, visceral response to a book. This story triggered something within me which gave me some massive anxiety - it took me six long days to finish it because I had to keep putting it down. But really, we're all reading because we want to feel something, right? And boy oh boy, did I ever feel all the emotions with this one. The story is told in alternating chapters from the two main characters, Agatha and Meg. At first, I believed that this was a detriment to the story because there were no hidden secrets due to both character's pov's being portrayed, however the way it unfolded made this format really work. Such a twisted tale, you won't know whether to feel sorry for the characters or fear them. (Personally, I felt a little of both, heavy on the fear.)I very much recommend this to fans of thrillers!Thanks to Netgalley, the author and the publisher for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Brenda
    June 27, 2017
    As Agatha worked at the local supermarket, disliking her boss, wishing she was elsewhere – she admired Meghan Shaughnessy’s life. Meghan was pregnant and the mother’s group get together in the café opposite showed Meg laughing and talking with her friends. Agatha knew Meg had two other children - Lucy and Lachlan – and she was envious of the happiness and lifestyle the family had. Their lives were perfect – Agatha wished hers could be the same. Meg’s husband Jack was a high-flyer in the job he w As Agatha worked at the local supermarket, disliking her boss, wishing she was elsewhere – she admired Meghan Shaughnessy’s life. Meghan was pregnant and the mother’s group get together in the café opposite showed Meg laughing and talking with her friends. Agatha knew Meg had two other children - Lucy and Lachlan – and she was envious of the happiness and lifestyle the family had. Their lives were perfect – Agatha wished hers could be the same. Meg’s husband Jack was a high-flyer in the job he was in – his work kept him busy and often he was stressed. But Meg and Jack loved each other, even though they didn’t talk as often as they used to. They were busy – right? But Meg held a secret deep inside; one she didn’t want anyone to know – especially Jack. Agatha’s pregnancy was progressing in a similar time frame to Meg’s, so when they struck up a conversation at the yoga class they both attended it was a natural progression to head for coffee. Meg liked Agatha’s company – Agatha already knew she liked Meg. It was a lovely friendship, swapping pregnancy and life stories. What could possibly happen to upset the happy progression of pregnancy to new baby? Would secrets bring everything undone?The Secrets She Keeps is another brilliant psychological thriller by the master of the genre, Aussie author Michael Robotham. A gradual build-up of tension to the gripping, heart-stopping and explosive conclusion, The Secrets She Keeps satisfied everything for me as I turned the last page. Highly recommended.With thanks to Hachette AU and NetGalley for my ARC to read and review.
    more
  • Gary
    May 13, 2017
    You know when you start one of those books that you know straight away you are going to like , well this was one of those for me. I really enjoy Michael Robotham books anyway but the instant I started reading this I had a good feeling and read at every opportunity. This stand alone novel is written in a similar style as 'The Girl on the Train' and yes I know we have had a few too many like that but this is written so well. Great characters, well paced and the constant build up of suspense is a l You know when you start one of those books that you know straight away you are going to like , well this was one of those for me. I really enjoy Michael Robotham books anyway but the instant I started reading this I had a good feeling and read at every opportunity. This stand alone novel is written in a similar style as 'The Girl on the Train' and yes I know we have had a few too many like that but this is written so well. Great characters, well paced and the constant build up of suspense is a little too much to take at times but so good.This psychological thriller features on an unlikely friendship between two pregnant women, Agatha is pregnant and works part-time stocking shelves at a grocery store in a London suburb and Meghan a classy woman who appears to have everything and leads an elegant lifestyle that dazzles Agatha.Meghan has two children, a handsome husband, a happy marriage, a stylish group of friends, and writes on her popular parenting blog, posts that Agatha reads with devotion each night as she waits for her absent boyfriend, the father of her baby, to maybe return her calls. Meghan is a customer at the shop Agatha works at and when Meghan comes to the shop, Agatha makes the effort to speak to her, thrilled that they now have the ordeal of childbearing in common. Little does Meghan know that the mundane exchange she has with a grocery store employee during a hurried afternoon shopping trip is about to change the course of her life forever.This is an excellent psychological thriller, a real page turner that will have you reading faster and faster as the suspense builds. Excellent author with a new book that will certainly please.I would like to thank Net Galley and Scribner for supplying a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Holly B
    May 26, 2017
    RIVETING!! SHOCKING!! DEVASTATING!! FANTASTIC PAGE TURNER!! UNFORGETTABLE!!This is a super suspenseful psychological thriller set in London. Two women are pregnant. Two women who have lives that couldn't be more opposite. Pregnant Meghan has perfect hair, perfect teeth, and the perfect marriage! Pregnant Agatha ,on the other hand, has no husband , no children and stocks shelves in a grocery store while dreaming of a life like that of Meghan. Agatha has no wealth or beauty.Lies,lies,lies....they RIVETING!! SHOCKING!! DEVASTATING!! FANTASTIC PAGE TURNER!! UNFORGETTABLE!!This is a super suspenseful psychological thriller set in London. Two women are pregnant. Two women who have lives that couldn't be more opposite. Pregnant Meghan has perfect hair, perfect teeth, and the perfect marriage! Pregnant Agatha ,on the other hand, has no husband , no children and stocks shelves in a grocery store while dreaming of a life like that of Meghan. Agatha has no wealth or beauty.Lies,lies,lies....they have such a way of weaving an intricate web of deceit! The truth is so much easier to remember, but too late for that. One day Meghan's husband Jack ,who is out of town, calls and asks her to retrieve a business card from one of his pockets. While searching through pockets, she comes across a folded sheet of paper. It has a mobile phone number and someone has pressed a lipstick kiss next to it. Agatha wants so very much to be like Meghan. She tells herself "This is a one time operation. I cannot turn back now." Agatha has set her plan into motion.Michael Robotham has written one of the most unforgettable novels I've ever read! My thoughts are what drives us through life? Is it ambition? motivation? jealousy? fate? our past? Yes, our past matters. Thank you to the author, scribner, and netgalley for the arc! PUBLICATION DATE 7/11/2017
    more
  • Lee
    April 27, 2017
    At last another book by Michael Robotham, always an exciting time. This story involves two pregnant women, one that seems to have it all and another that fantasises about the first, one who has many issues which will make this story so engaging. It makes for great reading and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this story. The characters were well developed and the plot kept you turning the pages, very well put together and also has a very satisfying ending. Highly recommended. Thank you to Netga At last another book by Michael Robotham, always an exciting time. This story involves two pregnant women, one that seems to have it all and another that fantasises about the first, one who has many issues which will make this story so engaging. It makes for great reading and I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed this story. The characters were well developed and the plot kept you turning the pages, very well put together and also has a very satisfying ending. Highly recommended. Thank you to Netgalley, the author and publisher for the chance to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Adrian Dooley
    June 26, 2017
    Compelling and gripping,The Secrets She Keeps packs one hell of a punch. It will stay long with me. It tells the story of two women, Meghan and Agatha. Both from different social backgrounds and both pregnant with very similar due dates, the story is told from their perspectives, chapters chopping and changing between characters. Meghan is pregnant with her third child, an unplanned one but she is happy. Her husband less so. A successfull tv sports presenter, Meghan has from the outside an idyll Compelling and gripping,The Secrets She Keeps packs one hell of a punch. It will stay long with me. It tells the story of two women, Meghan and Agatha. Both from different social backgrounds and both pregnant with very similar due dates, the story is told from their perspectives, chapters chopping and changing between characters. Meghan is pregnant with her third child, an unplanned one but she is happy. Her husband less so. A successfull tv sports presenter, Meghan has from the outside an idyllic life. Middle class with a successful husband, two kids a boy and a girl and another one on the way. Agatha meanwhile works in a supermarket and seems socially withdrawn. Pregnant from a relationship with a much younger man, a sailor Hayden, all she has ever wanted was to be a mother. She knows Meghan from her visits into the supermarket she works at and she is determined to meet her and if possible become friends with her. Meghan has the ideal life. The life that Agatha longs for. Agatha has had a troubled past and upbringing and a very strained relationship with her mother. Meghan too, although appearing to have a pretty idyllic life has her secrets too, secrets that could ruin everything for her. To reveal any more of this story would definitely be into spoiler territory. There is so much to this tale but really it can't be talked about in a review as it will spoil the story. What I will say is what we have is a really fantastic story. The two main characters are beautifully written and fleshed out. We feel empathy with them at times when we know we shouldn't and while the story from the outside may seem(and it is I suppose)a case of good mom - bad mom, the lines are blurred occasionally. This gives the characters much more meat on their bones, makes them more real to the reader and just developes them so well. The story is creepy as hell and ramps up and up as we read further into the tale. The switching of perspectives works really well as their lives are intertwined, we get the story from both sides. The minor characters as well are all really well written which all adds to sucking the reader into the story. The tension is raised to unbelieveable levels numerous times throughout the story. You know when all of a sudden your reading speed seems to increase as you get to a really tense part of a story? Well there are plenty of moments like that throughout this book. It's a fantastic read. It really is. Apart from the tension and the great characterisation there's a really well told story here. It's as vivid as can be in my mind after reading it. An easy five stars. If you haven't already, get your hands on a copy of this and put some time aside as you will be drawn in from the start and not let go of until the final words. Thanks to NetGalley, Scribner and Michael Robotham for and ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Abby (Crime by the Book)
    May 25, 2017
    Read my full review here: http://crimebythebook.com/blog/2017/5... This is an absolutely fantastic psychological thriller. It's emotionally-charged and full of genuine shocks. One little thing to be aware of: the opening takes just a bit longer to really get going than I would've preferred. As the story goes on, it becomes clear just why this lengthier character development is necessary - so I really don't consider it a "negative," more like something to be aware of when you dive in. But serious Read my full review here: http://crimebythebook.com/blog/2017/5... This is an absolutely fantastic psychological thriller. It's emotionally-charged and full of genuine shocks. One little thing to be aware of: the opening takes just a bit longer to really get going than I would've preferred. As the story goes on, it becomes clear just why this lengthier character development is necessary - so I really don't consider it a "negative," more like something to be aware of when you dive in. But seriously, this book is completely worth it - an outstanding, tense, immersive, gut-wrenching read!
    more
  • David Staniforth
    April 26, 2017
    At the time of writing, this book has not been published. For that reason, more than usual, I have been careful to not give anything away that would be considered a spoiler.Courtesy of Netgalley and the publisher, I have just experienced an advanced review copy of Michael Robotham’s next book, The Secrets She Keeps. I say experienced, because that is exactly what a Robotham novel gives the reader: an experience.I have so far enjoyed every book by this author, and his latest book has not broken t At the time of writing, this book has not been published. For that reason, more than usual, I have been careful to not give anything away that would be considered a spoiler.Courtesy of Netgalley and the publisher, I have just experienced an advanced review copy of Michael Robotham’s next book, The Secrets She Keeps. I say experienced, because that is exactly what a Robotham novel gives the reader: an experience.I have so far enjoyed every book by this author, and his latest book has not broken that trend. In some ways it is quite different to anything else he has released, which initially had me thinking, no, I prefer your previous titles. This feeling was short lived, however, for Robotham has a way of allowing his characters and plot to unfold like a flower, with each petal revealing more detail and gradually captivating the onlooker. I have long felt that Robotham injects his writing with wonderful turns of phrase that give the narrative glints of sparkle. They are to be found here too, and they are glints that are placed with subtle dexterity, adding to the beauty of the text rather than overwhelming it with a tacky glare. The Secrets She Keeps is written in First person present tense, presenting the perspective of two main characters, which alternate from chapter to chapter. When done well, it is a technique I really enjoy, and Robotham does do it well. It allows the reader a deep insight into the workings of the characters' minds and thought processes. It allows us to see what the two characters think of each other, without any need for the author’s narration getting in the way. As such we become more engaged and get a real sense of that fly-on the-wall feeling. By employing this technique, Robotham allows us to feel empathy for a character that we are given every reason to dislike, and we are drawn into understanding that character’s motives. If you read the book, you will truly know where I’m coming from.I highly recommend this book not only to fans of psychological thrillers, but also to fans of good writing of any genre. To my mind, anyone who has read and enjoyed Robotham’s other books will love this latest from him. To anyone who has not read Robotham, as a stand-alone novel, this is as good a place as any to start. I can almost guarantee one thing, if you enjoy this you will enjoy his other books.The above words are entirely my own and have not been swayed in any way as a result of receiving a free review copy.
    more
  • Bentley ★ Bookbastion.net
    April 18, 2017
    Thank you to the publisher and Edelweiss for a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Full review to come closer to publication date.
  • Tonile {My Cup and Chaucer}
    March 25, 2017
    One of the best books I've read in ages!
  • Milli (MiracleMilliReads)
    April 19, 2017
    O M G ! THRILLING AND SUPER PLOT TWISTSorry, I am super excited writing this review because this is my first book by this author and I was not disappointed at all. Going into this book, I entered the world of these two characters and imagined myself being there with them. The suspense had me going crazy and had me on the edge of the chair the whole. I read this book in less than 4 hours and I can say it was not a waste of time. You have one character, Agatha, who all she has is a growing bely, a O M G ! THRILLING AND SUPER PLOT TWISTSorry, I am super excited writing this review because this is my first book by this author and I was not disappointed at all. Going into this book, I entered the world of these two characters and imagined myself being there with them. The suspense had me going crazy and had me on the edge of the chair the whole. I read this book in less than 4 hours and I can say it was not a waste of time. You have one character, Agatha, who all she has is a growing bely, an absent baby father, and a job. The other character, Meghan, who has the perfect family, a handsome husband, and a perfect group of lavish friends. When these two intertwine, things get not-so-perfect after all and the secrets star to blur out. The kidnapping plot twist and the reasons behind it turn out to be so shocking!! I am looking forward to many more books from this author and I recommend this to all those who love plot twist thrillers.https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCADH...
    more
  • Jennifer
    May 28, 2017
    I received this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.I am a little bit at a loss on how to rate this book, and I think I finally settled on 3 stars. Up until about the last 23% of the book, I thought for sure this was going to be a 4-5 star read, and then the end just fell so completely flat. Let me start off with the first 77% of the book. I was riveted. I was really into it and really enjoying the story. The book is told in alternating POV, and I was equally interested in both I received this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.I am a little bit at a loss on how to rate this book, and I think I finally settled on 3 stars. Up until about the last 23% of the book, I thought for sure this was going to be a 4-5 star read, and then the end just fell so completely flat. Let me start off with the first 77% of the book. I was riveted. I was really into it and really enjoying the story. The book is told in alternating POV, and I was equally interested in both Agatha & Meghan's stories. The suspense builds, the secrets are revealed and the pace was perfect.Then, at 77%, there is one line that made me think that the whole poophouse was about to come down and here was the twist, the big reveal. I was all "OMG" and very excited to keep reading. And then... nothing. The suspense still builds, but there isn't any part of the book that you don't really know already what is going to happen. And quite frankly, it was a huge let down. The end fell flat and in my view, caused this book to lose significant stars and drop to a book that I was ho-hum about vs. being a book I raved about. At the end of the day, I am not entirely sure I would recommend it. Ultimately, I was disappointed. Since I keep all of my reviews spoiler free, if you want to discuss "the turning point" send me a message so we can discuss
    more
  • Judy Collins
    April 28, 2017
    Another winner by Robotham! Review to follow.
  • Lolly K Dandeneau
    April 19, 2017
    sorry I posted the review a few days late, I had to write it with sunglasses on, visual migraine be damned!via my blog: https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/“Jack and I had skirmishes rather than battles. We are like Cold War diplomats who say nice things to each other while secretly stockpiling ammunition. When do couples run out of things to say, I wonder. When does the passion wane?”When do secrets become the norm in a marriage? And how was the dazzling Meghan to know that her secrets will b sorry I posted the review a few days late, I had to write it with sunglasses on, visual migraine be damned!via my blog: https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/“Jack and I had skirmishes rather than battles. We are like Cold War diplomats who say nice things to each other while secretly stockpiling ammunition. When do couples run out of things to say, I wonder. When does the passion wane?”When do secrets become the norm in a marriage? And how was the dazzling Meghan to know that her secrets will become dangerous to her child? What about the secrets we keep in order to lie to ourselves, to build a life we want but don’t truly have? How do delusions overtake reality so viciously that it endangers strangers? When you first decide to deceive, the moment you involve others, you’ve already lost control.Two women are pregnant but their worlds are vastly different. Meghan has a seemingly charmed life, one of wealth, beauty, chic friends, a handsome husband, beautiful children and a popular blog. Agatha is her polar opposite, pregnant and alone, working in a cruddy job stocking goods in a grocery store (a job she desperately needs) barely surviving, uninteresting, unloved, nearly invisible. Her one joy is the chance to witness Meghan’s beautiful life, Meghan is the one fresh breeze that sweeps through the depressing store. Imagine Agatha’s joy when she discovers that Meghan and her are both pregnant, share due dates close together and become friends. Agatha doesn’t know Meghan’s dream life is falling apart, that everything that appears perfect and beautiful from afar may have severe cracks upon closer inspection. Agatha has secrets of her own, some devastating, others horrifying. She spends her free time waiting for her reluctant boyfriend away at sea in the Royal Navy to call,and denying to see the bleak reality of her unpromising future. That is when she isn’t busy spying on Meghan and her perfect world in her secret hiding place. How much does she truly know from all her ‘watching’, what doesn’t she see? Both Meghan and Agatha are liars, but some lies are far more poisonous than others.When a baby goes missing… the reader is privy to a declining mind, as much as a declining marriage, both Agatha and Meghan step in their own mess over and over again. Some mistakes cannot be fixed, some make a mother look downright guilty… where is the baby? No one behaves as you expect, not even when they suspect something untoward is happening. This is any mother’s worst nightmare, and yet the reader feels sorry for the perpetrator. What happens when you’re mind is breaking and no one is there to hear? What do you do when your lies are coming to a head and your life is on the verge of collapsing?Who can guess that a moment of female camaraderie will open someone to danger beyond their wildest dreams? The terror of this novel is in the plausibility. We’ve seen stranger stories ripped right out of the headlines. What is more terrifying than a story that could be a true crime horror? Yet, it also manages to provoke feelings of tenderness and invite questions about the state of mental health. It reminds us when unthinkable things happen to someone, they carry it in their cells, that human beings should be far more involved in the healing and others held accountable for what happens to victims. Sadly, that isn’t the reality. The truth is, so many people are on their own, cast out when they should be heard, supported, and healed. This novel is disturbing, yet all the characters made me feel it’s more than just a thriller/horror. Horror? Yes, because what people do to each other is far more horrible than any imagined monster.I couldn’t put it down, I found myself in both Agatha and Meghan’s shoes. Though living in two separate worlds, they have one vital truth in common- neither woman is what she seems, and their lies are going to change both their lives. Everything will be exposed.Publication Date: July 11, 2017Scribner
    more
  • Roman Clodia
    June 6, 2017
    I'd heard good things about Robotham but this really wasn't a book for me. The two switch-about female narrators have appeared in many similar domestic 'thrillers': the yummy-mummy with the seemingly perfect life, and the disturbed outsider who stalks her, befriends her and wants what she has. The pages are full of baby minutiae, and I could see the entire plot within the first 25% of the book, partly because it's been done before more than once. I skim-read to the unsurprising ending - best for I'd heard good things about Robotham but this really wasn't a book for me. The two switch-about female narrators have appeared in many similar domestic 'thrillers': the yummy-mummy with the seemingly perfect life, and the disturbed outsider who stalks her, befriends her and wants what she has. The pages are full of baby minutiae, and I could see the entire plot within the first 25% of the book, partly because it's been done before more than once. I skim-read to the unsurprising ending - best for readers wanting a page-turner obsessed with motherhood and babies.
    more
  • Nicki
    June 7, 2017
    Twisted tale of secrets,lies,manipulation and the human need for unconditional love.Review to follow closer to publication date
  • Karen
    May 2, 2017
    The Secrets She Keeps by Michael RobothamThis is a hard book to review. In my opinion the book is suspenseful in the beginning and has some realism. I couldn't put the book down until I got to the last third of the book. Then the story became to be far fetched and I did not take it seriously. The book succeeds on some levels. Megan and Jack are expecting their third baby which was an unplanned pregnancy. Meg carries some inner hostility towards Jack because he isn't as thrilled about having anot The Secrets She Keeps by Michael RobothamThis is a hard book to review. In my opinion the book is suspenseful in the beginning and has some realism. I couldn't put the book down until I got to the last third of the book. Then the story became to be far fetched and I did not take it seriously. The book succeeds on some levels. Megan and Jack are expecting their third baby which was an unplanned pregnancy. Meg carries some inner hostility towards Jack because he isn't as thrilled about having another baby and he lets Meg know that. After giving birth the kidnapper wears a disguise as a nurse and tells Jack that she is taking the baby for a blood test. Jack like any other trusting parent hands the baby to the kidnapper and Meg feels resentful and is holding in feelings of resentment towards Jack because she thinks he didn't want the baby to begin with.Megan and Jack do not have the picture perfect marriage that they appear to have on the surface. Yes, they are blessed with a beautiful girl named Lucy and a boy named Lachlan. But they both are deceiving each other in each doing something that could destroy a marriage. They both have secret's that they don't want the other to find out that they keep hidden from each other. Then to have their newborn baby to be ripped from their lives puts a further strain on the marriage.Agatha is disillusioned thinking that Jack and Meg have the perfect marriage. She is a grocery clerk that has been stalking Megan often watching Jack and Megan's family from a tree in their back yard. Agatha wants what she thinks Megan has. They are both pregnant and their due dates are around the same time. Not everything is as it seems with Agatha as she has even bigger secrets to keep. If her secret's are discovered her whole life could unravel and she could lose everything including her freedom.Thank you to Net Galley, Michael Robotham and Scribner Publishing for my digital copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    May 14, 2017
    Brilliant. Simply brilliant. Heart stopping, so emotional - this one caused all the feels. Full review to follow nearer publication in July.
  • Elaine Tomasso
    June 6, 2017
    I would lie to thank Netgalley and Sphere for an advance copy of The Secrets She Keeps, a stand alone psychological thriller set in Barnes, London.The novel is told in alternating chapters by Agatha and Meghan, two pregnant women who meet by chance and strike up a friendship. Both women have secrets so the two points of view put a contrasting spin on events.I am not a big fan of psychological thrillers but having read and liked some of Mr Robotham's earlier work I was tempted to give this a try. I would lie to thank Netgalley and Sphere for an advance copy of The Secrets She Keeps, a stand alone psychological thriller set in Barnes, London.The novel is told in alternating chapters by Agatha and Meghan, two pregnant women who meet by chance and strike up a friendship. Both women have secrets so the two points of view put a contrasting spin on events.I am not a big fan of psychological thrillers but having read and liked some of Mr Robotham's earlier work I was tempted to give this a try. The Secrets She Keeps is a fairly pedestrian novel. I had a good idea of the general thrust of the plot after a few chapters so all that was missing was the fine detail. The subject matter is not edifying and is quite upsetting in parts but it is well done.Part of my problem with the novel is the characters. I didn't particularly like Meghan, a woman of poor judgement with whom I couldn't identify. Her secret is a whopper but it still didn't make me feel sorry for her. Agatha is a different story. Her backstory comes out over the course of the novel and I couldn't help feeling sorry for her, even if her struggles seem a bit stereotypical.I think plenty of readers will enjoy The Secrets She Keeps as it is a well paced novel with some interesting twists.
    more
  • Vilma's Book Blog
    June 26, 2017
    [4.5 stars]Review to come. Loved it!
Write a review