Mrs. Fletcher
From the New York Times bestselling author of The Leftovers and Little Children comes a penetrating and hilarious new novel about sex, love, and identity on the frontlines of America’s culture wars.Eve Fletcher is trying to figure out what comes next. A forty-six-year-old divorcee whose beloved only child has just left for college, Eve is struggling to adjust to her empty nest when one night her phone lights up with a text message. Sent from an anonymous number, the mysterious sender tells Eve, “U R my MILF!” Over the months that follow, that message comes to obsess Eve. While leading her all-too-placid life—serving as Executive Director of the local senior center by day and taking a community college course on Gender and Society at night—Eve can’t curtail her own interest in a porn website called MILFateria.com, which features the erotic exploits of ordinary, middle-aged women like herself. Before long, Eve’s online fixations begin to spill over into real life, revealing new romantic possibilities that threaten to upend her quiet suburban existence.Meanwhile, miles away at the state college, Eve’s son Brendan—a jock and aspiring frat boy—discovers that his new campus isn’t nearly as welcoming to his hard-partying lifestyle as he had imagined. Only a few weeks into his freshman year, Brendan is floundering in a college environment that challenges his white-dude privilege and shames him for his outmoded, chauvinistic ideas of sex. As the New England autumn turns cold, both mother and son find themselves enmeshed in morally fraught situations that come to a head on one fateful November night.Sharp, witty, and provocative, Mrs. Fletcher is a timeless examination of sexuality, identity, parenthood, and the big clarifying mistakes people can make when they’re no longer sure of who they are or where they belong.

Mrs. Fletcher Details

TitleMrs. Fletcher
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 1st, 2017
PublisherScribner
ISBN1501144022
ISBN-139781501144028
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Contemporary, Literature, Novels, Audiobook, Adult

Mrs. Fletcher Review

  • Elyse
    April 19, 2017
    I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT......for 'mature audiences'! - REGARDLESS of RATINGS!!!!Between the Blurb, and Larry Hoffer's review- (Goodreads member) - all the important information is at a readers fingertips. Larry's review is EXCELLENT -- covers more than anyone needs to know in order to choose to read this book or not. His rating may be lower than mine -- but if you read his review-- he expresses enjoying this book-- and like me, feels it's always great to read *Tom Perrotta's* work!!!!My review I DEFINITELY RECOMMEND IT......for 'mature audiences'! - REGARDLESS of RATINGS!!!!Between the Blurb, and Larry Hoffer's review- (Goodreads member) - all the important information is at a readers fingertips. Larry's review is EXCELLENT -- covers more than anyone needs to know in order to choose to read this book or not. His rating may be lower than mine -- but if you read his review-- he expresses enjoying this book-- and like me, feels it's always great to read *Tom Perrotta's* work!!!!My review -is only going to contain random Thoughts - Memories - and Memorable stand-out moments....( trying not to repeat what has already been written)...... FOR STARTERS.... I'm giving this book the FULL 5 stars. It's at LEAST a 4 star book in my opinion ( but I can understand the FULL RANGE of RATINGS that we might see from this novel).... It gets 5 stars from me for 2 main reasons:1. I read it in one sitting -- did not want to put it down ---was reacting with feelings and thoughts the entire time - it held my interest!!!!2. Another reason for the 5 stars: Great book-club discussion pick!!!!I loved how incredibly contemporary this novel is. The taboo topics press against our our morals, judgements, prejudices, thoughts about being privileged and entitled, righteousness, arrogance, anger, erotic thoughts, integrity, ethics, flexible and/or rigid points of view, profanity and crude language, empty sex, and frivolous fantasy vs. conciliatory responsible choices. Major and minor themes are all worthy of discussions with interesting characters: .....The Milf.....DIRECTOR of the SENIOR CENTER, DIVORCED, a PORN HABIT, attends night classes twice a week taking a "Gender and Society" class: Eve Fletcher......There is the college JOCK - Brendan Fletcher. --- Lacrosse player ...a lifetime jock since a child... party guy! .....A High School petite cheerleader -Becca Dilulio. .....A model employee at the Senior Center, works for Mrs. Fletcher: Amanda Olney:.....Amanda is covered with tattoos. She has a cobra wrapped around her leg, a grenade on her breast, the anarchist bomb on her thigh, and the meat cleaver---"the only one she truly regretted -- dripping blood on her upper arm". .....A feminist who was attracted to jocks: Amber: who was involved with an organization for Austism Awareness. .....A FUNNY SCENE.....( I won't give it away) >> is when Amanda takes a Bikram Yoga class. I was laughing sooooo HARD. Anybody who has taken years of Bikram Yoga is in for a treat. TOM PERROTTA impressed the hell out of me - from the class - to the ladies locker room. He not only knows ...'details' - of details - about the 26 postures -the chatter and looks in the ladies locker room, about the front row yoga goddesses ( hey-- I was a front-row Bikram girl... does that make me a goddess, too...haha), .... but he knew precisely about the sweaty-speedo-men...."dripping like faucets" throughout the 90 minute class. I was in hysterics..... wondering if Tom Perrotta was one of these men? He could NOT have known 'women' any better - if he 'were' a woman!!! ......OH MY GOSH.... THIS BOOK IS A RIOT OF FUN... the more I think about it. My husband was getting a little 'too' turned on with me describing a few of the naughty scenes.... ALL IN FUN.....but a SERIOUS UNDERSCORE worth talking about!!?.....A transgender Professor, .....A girl in a wheelchair, .....A handsome black man.....A brilliant Indian College Student, .....A Bro' college roommate, .....Duct-tape and a Port-A-Potty........Way too many Vodka shots...pizza and beer......A Fat guy, thin college white girls in bikinis with long straight silky hair.....Julian Spitzer.... an 18 year old skateboarding guy who lusts after Mrs. Fletcher.....Ted..... Mrs. Fletcher's ex husband ..... ( he has a wife and little boy Jon Jon with autism) .....More themes ... politics... feminism....racism....rapist...people with disabilities....the LGBT Community, diversity of all types. Amber .... for example ....was "a passionate opponent for capitalism, patriarchy, racism, homophobia, transphobia, rape culture, bullying, and micro aggression in all forms"!!!! AMEN AMBER!!! .....In one scene -- I started singing Katy Perry's song..."I KISSED A GIRL".... then could not stop singing.... so I put on the music for a little sing&dance break!I LIKED IT!!! Disarmingly brave.....tackles serious topics and is totally engaging!!Thank You Scribner, Netgalley, and Tom Perrotta
    more
  • Larry H
    April 9, 2017
    I'd rate this 3.5 stars.With books like Election, The Abstinence Teacher, The Leftovers , and Little Children , Tom Perrotta has proven to be a master commentator on the foibles of society, on people's attitudes toward love, sex, relationships, religion, parenthood, and morality. He has a wry wit and isn't afraid to expose his characters' flaws, and he does so again in his newest novel, Mrs. Fletcher .A divorcee in her mid-40s, Eve Fletcher is at a bit of a crossroads. Her only son has left f I'd rate this 3.5 stars.With books like Election, The Abstinence Teacher, The Leftovers , and Little Children , Tom Perrotta has proven to be a master commentator on the foibles of society, on people's attitudes toward love, sex, relationships, religion, parenthood, and morality. He has a wry wit and isn't afraid to expose his characters' flaws, and he does so again in his newest novel, Mrs. Fletcher .A divorcee in her mid-40s, Eve Fletcher is at a bit of a crossroads. Her only son has left for college, leaving her completely alone for the first time. As she starts trying to figure out how to fill that loneliness, she gets a random text one night from a number she doesn't recognize, which tells her, "U R my MILF!" The text throws her for quite a loop, and as she tries to figure out who might have sent it to her, she suddenly finds herself on the internet, following an interesting chain which leads her to milfateria.com, a porn website she can't seem to tear herself away from."What that meant, Eve realized, was that you couldn't really say, I'm not a MILF, because a MILF was in the eye of the beholder. The other thing she'd learned was that you shouldn't google the term if you didn't want to find yourself swimming in an ocean of porn."As Eve tries to fight her growing porn habit (or is it an addiction?), the videos she watches every day sends her mind into territory she had never thought about before, territory which has the potential to make things difficult in her job as executive director of a local senior center, as well as make her look at people and situations with a very different eye. She isn't sure which end is up, or with whom she wants to end up.Meanwhile, Eve's son Brendan, a jock and, quite simply, a bit of a douchebag, is having a tough time adjusting to college. He's the type of guy who has multiple shirtless pictures of himself on his Facebook page, because if you look good shirtless, shouldn't you show your body off? Brendan had thought college would be an endless parade of parties, drinking, drugs, and, perhaps most importantly, sex with a wide assortment of women. But with his roommate mostly AWOL, and most of his friends into their own things, it turns out girls don't like it when you call them things like "slut" and "bitch," and college doesn't go so well when you barely concentrate on your classes.Eve and Brendan both find themselves confronting the after-effects of mistakes they make, mistakes which cause both of them to despair in very different ways. Can Eve overcome her porn habit and find her way to a "real" relationship? Is college the right path for Brendan, and if so, will he find people who think the way he does, or will he need to be the one who changes? Mrs. Fletcher is a fascinating, fairly explicit look at how our attitudes toward sex, sexuality, relationships, and morality are formed, and how they change. It shows that when sex is all you think about, and you think with your libido instead of your brain or your heart, the direction you move in is probably going to get you in trouble. It's also a book about finding happiness with yourself before you can find someone else.I love the way Perrotta combines humor with social commentary. While his books have dealt with sexuality before, this was a pretty frank book, and it touched on some very interesting territory, territory which may make some uncomfortable. It's definitely very thought-provoking.These characters, particularly Brendan, aren't particularly sympathetic—they make a lot of stupid mistakes and sometimes don't even realize they're doing so. I found myself amazed at what Eve got herself into, and how she thought, but at the same time, she wasn't willing to speak up to her son about the way he was behaving.I enjoyed this book, but I don't think this ranks up there among Perrotta's best. Still, he writes like very few other authors out there, and it's always great to read his work. NetGalley and Scribner provided me an advance copy of the book in exchange for an unbiased review. Thanks for making this available! See all of my reviews at http://itseithersadnessoreuphoria.blo....
    more
  • Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
    April 11, 2017
    I have no clue how to rate this book. I'm just gonna go straight down the line with a three.It's one of those that have characters that you really don't like..but you cannot look away. I wanted all the juicy dirt on them.Eva is sending off her son Brendan to college. She is facing a empty nest since she was recently divorced and is unsure of what to do with herself. She gets a text one night that says "U R my MILF!"..so she googles. And ends up on a porn site called MILFateria.com, that she prom I have no clue how to rate this book. I'm just gonna go straight down the line with a three.It's one of those that have characters that you really don't like..but you cannot look away. I wanted all the juicy dirt on them.Eva is sending off her son Brendan to college. She is facing a empty nest since she was recently divorced and is unsure of what to do with herself. She gets a text one night that says "U R my MILF!"..so she googles. And ends up on a porn site called MILFateria.com, that she promptly becomes addicted to watching every night. You also get viewpoints of her son Brendan. Who is a total little turdhead. He has so much white privilege going that I just wanted to jump in this book and smack the snit out of him. For example, his teenage girl friend (that he recently broke up with) shows up the morning he leaves to go to college for a surprise blowy. His mom over hears him saying "suck it bitch"..among other things.Now if that triggers your feminist rant..just stay away from this book. You ain't gonna be happy. This book takes on all kinds of hot topics, including one story-line of a trans-gendered professor. She has became a woman after many years of denying who she really was. (She was one of the few characters in this book that I actually liked)She is very open about her transition and is open to talking about her experiences. AND she faces some small minded flack because of it. See that's something I see as real world. I think that talking about this sort of thing makes it more acceptable. I'll get bashed for that I'm sure, because a few years ago there was someone who was undergoing changes on frigging GR and if someone asked a question they got their internet hand smacked? I kept wondering why????! That's how people learn! You can't ask questions..it's all just supposed to be accepted from the get go even though the whole thing gets twisted and confusing. They can talk about it but no questions can be asked? I wonder about the world sometimes. There probably needs to be a stamp that you get... This book breaks some of those barriers about several subjects. AND it does a good job of making you question your preconceived notions. Even when some of them are sorta dumb (and yes, dumb happens in this book also.)Throw that shit to the wind and dive into this book. Some of the stuff in it will make you cringe and some of it will make you think. AND thinking ain't bad. This was my first Tom Perrotta book and if this is how the guy writes line me up for some more.Booksource: Netgalley in exchange for review.
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    April 17, 2017
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/I started this book with my morning coffee on Saturday and quickly confirmed (once again) this about Perrotta . . . . This is the story of Eve Fletcher, a woman who has just become an empty nester after dropping her son Brock Turner Brendan off at college. After raising Brock Brendan as a single mother for a good portion of his life, Mrs. Fletcher worries that she won’t know how to cope with being alone. But maybe all of her concern wa Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/I started this book with my morning coffee on Saturday and quickly confirmed (once again) this about Perrotta . . . . This is the story of Eve Fletcher, a woman who has just become an empty nester after dropping her son Brock Turner Brendan off at college. After raising Brock Brendan as a single mother for a good portion of his life, Mrs. Fletcher worries that she won’t know how to cope with being alone. But maybe all of her concern was for naught . . . . “It wasn’t even true that there was nothing new in her life. For one thing, she was taking a class in Gender Studies and actually learning something. And, oh yeah, she’d also gone and gotten herself addicted to internet porn, not that that was anything to brag about.” It also turns out Mrs. Fletcher is quite the . . . . . And over the course of the book has a sort of sexual reawakening where she not only logs on to the intertubes every night in order to search out the latest offerings on milfateria.com, but also dips her toe in the lady pond, is courted by local meatheads and also becomes a modernized version of . . . . . “You’ve given this some thought,” she muttered. Julian looked at her. His face was serious, full of adult longing. It was like she could see right through the college boy to the man he would one day become. “It’s all I fucking think about.” If you can’t tell from the above, this isn’t a book for everyone. Perrotta definitely is a polarizing author and if your M.O. is to bitch about him and all of the offenses he commits in any given novel, I have this to say to you . . . . Perrotta owns his shit. He doesn’t write anything that’s warm and fuzzy. He doesn’t even bother attempting to provide an “unreliable” narrator in order to pull his punches– he flat out gives you the worst of the worst. And this time he (a man *gasp*) comes face to face with the subject of sexuality and gender and dares to write about it from both a male MC’s perspective, as well as a female’s. I have a feeling that simple fact alone will be what “triggers” various readers. However, that’s the exact thing that put him on my “favorite authors” list. He’s not for everyone, but he writes characters that feel genuine . . . even with their many flaws. If he’s not for you, then he’s not for you. Just don’t ruin everyone else’s reading experience with your tunnel-vision point of view.^^^The above paragraph was brought to you by . . . . ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you, NetGalley!
    more
  • Sam Quixote
    May 12, 2017
    I was halfway through the novel when I realised a story wasn’t on the cards. Not that that bothered me too much (though it did a bit) – Mrs Fletcher is all about the characters, reflecting contemporary middle-class American culture, all of which is written pretty well – but, like the only other Tom Perrotta novel I’ve read, Election, I was left wondering what the author was trying to say; what’s the point of this book?Eve Fletcher is a 46 year-old divorcee dealing with life after her only son, s I was halfway through the novel when I realised a story wasn’t on the cards. Not that that bothered me too much (though it did a bit) – Mrs Fletcher is all about the characters, reflecting contemporary middle-class American culture, all of which is written pretty well – but, like the only other Tom Perrotta novel I’ve read, Election, I was left wondering what the author was trying to say; what’s the point of this book?Eve Fletcher is a 46 year-old divorcee dealing with life after her only son, stereotypical meathead jock Brendan, leaves home for college. She discovers porn and starts taking a class on sexuality at the local community college taught by a transgender woman, only to be pursued via text from an anonymous horndog who thinks she’s a total MILF. Meanwhile Brendan discovers college politics to be quite different from what he thought. Perrotta’s book follows these characters as they live their lives until a certain quota of pages is met and then the book just sorta peters out.Perrotta is clearly a talented writer with a knack for skilfully touching on complex social issues like autism and transgenderism and portraying them empathetically and fairly. The characters, while not especially distinctive, are convincing for the most part but I did wonder where Eve’s attraction to women came from. She watches some girl-on-girl porn and suddenly she’s gay? Then towards the end she’s back to being straight. Er…It’s because Perrotta’s such a capable writer that I wouldn’t say I was ever truly bored with the book but it’s such an aimless, meandering novel that I also found it easy to put down. The only point I could suss out was Perrotta’s observation that young men these days have a warped view of sex having grown up with online porn – Brendan and Julian, both 19, view women as objects and sex as scripted scenarios where they have to say things they’ve heard men in porn say. Other than that… eh. Nowt much happens, the characters go through some gentle, unremarkable changes and the novel ends. It's just weirdly banal - why write about these very specific things then?Mrs. Fletcher is well-written, mildly entertaining in parts and it does feel very “now” in terms of the myriad sexuality issues occupying (too many) people’s attention today. But because it doesn’t have much of a story or anything unique or insightful to say about its subjects, ultimately it’s an unimpressive, forgettable read.
    more
  • Rebecca Foster
    June 21, 2017
    (2.5) I enjoy Tom Perrotta’s novels: they’re funny, snappy, current and relatable; it’s no wonder they make great movies. (I’ve somehow read seven of his nine books now, without even realizing it.) Mrs. Fletcher is more of the same satire on suburban angst, but with an extra layer of raunchiness that struck me as unnecessary. It seemed something like a sexual box-ticking exercise: “okay, let’s throw in some lesbian flirtation here, a transgender character there, blow jobs and porn everywhere, so (2.5) I enjoy Tom Perrotta’s novels: they’re funny, snappy, current and relatable; it’s no wonder they make great movies. (I’ve somehow read seven of his nine books now, without even realizing it.) Mrs. Fletcher is more of the same satire on suburban angst, but with an extra layer of raunchiness that struck me as unnecessary. It seemed something like a sexual box-ticking exercise: “okay, let’s throw in some lesbian flirtation here, a transgender character there, blow jobs and porn everywhere, some teens hooking up, and then...Surprise! (view spoiler)[A threesome! (hide spoiler)]” But for all that deliberately edgy content, this book isn’t doing anything very groundbreaking; it’s the same old story of temptations and bad decisions, but with everything basically going back to a state of normality by the end.I raced through this as I have with all of Perrotta’s books, but felt a little dirty in the process. The shifts between close third-person perspectives are pretty seamless here; giving Eve’s son Brendan the only first-person voice is a canny attempt to make him less odious, but doesn’t totally succeed at creating sympathy for him. I truly liked Eve as a character and wished we could have spent more downtime with her: not while she’s watching porn or crushing on her female assistant, but while she’s just doing her job at the senior center, worrying about how her son is getting along in college, or interacting with friends.If you haven’t read any Perrotta before and are interested in giving his work a try, let me steer you towards Little Children. That’s his best book by far.(Here’s a funny thing: in terms of the writing, I was almost getting Douglas Coupland vibes this time around, particularly thinking of The Gum Thief.)
    more
  • Holly B
    May 16, 2017
    This is not my typical genre, but I thought it would be like a modern day "Mrs. Robinson" type character from the movie The Graduate (which I loved!). It wasn't at all. Mrs. Fletcher is a middle aged divorced mom of a teenager. She ends up hooking up with a guy the same age as her son. Her son just left for college and is out of the house. The author is very "witty" and it has some good laughs, but definitely "R" rated. In the end, it wasn't really for me.
    more
  • Bianca
    June 1, 2017
    This was the first Tom Perrotta novel that I've read.I should have loved it, but I only liked it. Don't get me wrong, it was readable and very contemporary. Indeed, as stated in the long blurb, this novel explores lots of themes: parenthood, being divorced, hooking up, gender issues, exploring one's sexuality, pornography, loneliness, Autism, being a young man (bleah, how I dislike these stupid frat jock types).Let me get this straight - I had no moral objections or qualms about anything that wa This was the first Tom Perrotta novel that I've read.I should have loved it, but I only liked it. Don't get me wrong, it was readable and very contemporary. Indeed, as stated in the long blurb, this novel explores lots of themes: parenthood, being divorced, hooking up, gender issues, exploring one's sexuality, pornography, loneliness, Autism, being a young man (bleah, how I dislike these stupid frat jock types).Let me get this straight - I had no moral objections or qualms about anything that was in this novel. I see some say it's graphic; it never occurred to me that it was that explicit - I don't know what that says about me. I am puzzled I didn't go gaga over it. While I sympathised and identified with a few situations and/or characters, I still didn't feel fully engaged. It could be my funky reading mood. I was hoping this novel was going to be fun - but I felt deflated. I've received this novel via Netgalley. Many thanks to the publishers for the opportunity to read and review Mrs. Fletcher.
    more
  • Delphine Lurin
    July 18, 2017
    I received an ARC copy of Mrs. Fletcher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks goes to NetGalley as well as Simon & Schuster for this advanced copy which is to be released August 1, 2017.Tom Penrotta’s seductive, evocative, over the top humorous new novel, Mrs. Fletcher, is an exploration of gender, sexuality and self discovery – three extremely relevant topics of the day. This novel is recommended for mature and open-minded audience members who seek an adventurous twist, sure to shake the I received an ARC copy of Mrs. Fletcher in exchange for an honest review. Thanks goes to NetGalley as well as Simon & Schuster for this advanced copy which is to be released August 1, 2017.Tom Penrotta’s seductive, evocative, over the top humorous new novel, Mrs. Fletcher, is an exploration of gender, sexuality and self discovery – three extremely relevant topics of the day. This novel is recommended for mature and open-minded audience members who seek an adventurous twist, sure to shake their reading experience. Well, at least that’s how the story went for me. More than a pleasurable read, I took away new perceptions and therefore opinions towards several of today’s controversial topics circulating around identity and relationships with oneself as well as with others. Mrs. Fletcher alternates between the lives of two protagonists, Eve Fletcher and her son Brendan. Each seem to be suffering separate struggles that they do not want the other to know about. Eve is a middle-aged divorced, but still attractive woman working as Executive for a senior center. She faces an extraordinary crisis when Branden packs up and leaves for college. The subject of sex is immediately introduced into the novel in the beginning when Eve overhears Brendan’s musky and inappropriate slurs as his ex, Becca, gives him a blowjob in his room. An uncomfortable car ride to drop her son off to college marks the beginning of a new beginning to Eve’s dismal life.That very night she receives a mysteriously intriguing text which has pornographic connotations. From this point on Eve’s perceptions of reality, her sex and her identity all become called into question. Eve tumbles into lonely nights – just she, her laptop, and the explicit sites she visits online to witness others’ wild nights. Aroused by a number of lesbian pornographic videos, Eve decides to enroll in class on gender and sexuality at her local community college. There, she meets a host of characters from a wide variety of age ranges, cultural backgrounds, and sexual orientations including a transgender teacher and a horny young college dork. Eve’s new personal habits even begin to threaten her career as she becomes increasingly attracted to her young assistant, Amanda.Meanwhile, Brendan struggles to adapt to the new, fast-paced adult world which, in the course of the novel, he never really seems to achieve. In Brendan’s ideal world, he is still the best football player, he still has the hottest girlfriend who gives him the most amazing blow jobs. In Brendan’s ideal world he is still the best looking jock and his definition of being a college student consists of minimal studying and endless frat parties that last into the wee hours of the morning with an infinite river of 30% alcohol vodka waiting to touch his puckered lips. In short, Brendan’s expects the Earth to continue to turn in his favor to the disadvantage of the rest of the world. Brendan’s narrow-minded selfishness and slanderous treatment towards the opposite sex ultimately leads to his emotional and psychological breakdown towards the end of the novel and right back to the place he started his “journey”, his mom’s house.Eve and Brendan’s fates inevitably coincide in which they each are obliged to respond to unpredictably new situatons that cause them to question who they are to themselves as well as the environment in which they find themselves. These protagonists make detrimental decisions that affect their fates in striking ways that stretch beyond the norm.The relationship between Eve and her son, although it is most definitely often alluded throughout the novel, is not the main focus and they each never truly seem to understand one another. Instead, Mrs. Fletcher is a deeply personal reflection on morality and to what extent one’s personal choices are influenced by their interaction with their immediate environment. Perotta’s writing style is at the same time humorous and satirical. He aims to draw attention to our evolving society with a lighthearted language that renders Mrs. Fletcher both enjoyable and mind boggling. This book truly does make you think twice about the rawness of who you are, or, better yet, who you think you are.However, I’m left to give Mrs. Fletcher only 3 stars because of the overly emphasized “dirt.” In my opinion, there is just too much sex going on here and not enough story. There are multiple instances throughout where the plot is paused to reiterate Eve’s fascination with her body, her sexual fantasies, and her promiscuous thoughts. In essence, there is not really all that much that happens. Eve and Brendan never really change by the end of the novel, but remain static characters who witness and observe a confusing world around them that changes and has affects on how to look upon themselves.
    more
  • Cynthia
    June 21, 2017
    Mrs. Fletcher who is the director of an elders center appears outwardly to be a conventional matron of a certain age but when her only hold leaves for college Mrs. F. begins to re-build her life. She wants to meet new people and usual experiences and some of her explorations are akin to reliving an adolesence she missed out on. Thankfully her sense of humor is intact...mostly. She acts out in unexpected ways something she'd never considered doing in her broken marriage to her sons father.Mrs. F' Mrs. Fletcher who is the director of an elders center appears outwardly to be a conventional matron of a certain age but when her only hold leaves for college Mrs. F. begins to re-build her life. She wants to meet new people and usual experiences and some of her explorations are akin to reliving an adolesence she missed out on. Thankfully her sense of humor is intact...mostly. She acts out in unexpected ways something she'd never considered doing in her broken marriage to her sons father.Mrs. F's point of view alternates with her wildly immature son's perspective though I suppose the way junior thinks and acts isn't so vey far from,the norm. Sadly her hurts himself an others in his floundering. Just as Mrs. P. gets her sea legs things in her life take another drastic change but ever adaptive she flows with it.Perrotta's story benefits from his humor. And really the happenings don't seem unbelievable. I liked his stories of the elderly center and the characters who live there or visit. Some of the action is sad bordering on pathetic but amusingly close to reality.Thank you to the publisher for providing an e-copy.
    more
  • Lolly K Dandeneau
    June 5, 2017
    via my blog: https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/“Birthdays, holidays, weddings, graduations, funerals – they were all too loaded with expectations, and the important people in her life rarely acted the way they were supposed to.”The above quote could be true for any of us and the people in our lives. Things never seem to go just as we expect them to. The story begins with Eve and the last day with her son before he leaves for college. 46, divorcee and her only child is flying the coop leaving via my blog: https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/“Birthdays, holidays, weddings, graduations, funerals – they were all too loaded with expectations, and the important people in her life rarely acted the way they were supposed to.”The above quote could be true for any of us and the people in our lives. Things never seem to go just as we expect them to. The story begins with Eve and the last day with her son before he leaves for college. 46, divorcee and her only child is flying the coop leaving her to herself and just what the heck is she going to do with that ‘self’? Who is that self when she isn’t mother? Apparently, she is a total MILF, according to a text message. Her life feels stagnant, what is more dusty and depressing than working as an Executive Director for a senior center, how is someone her age to feel taking college classes surrounded by fresh young students? But not everyone finds her crusty and old, not by far. That the class she is taking is taught by a transgender professor takes this novel to even stranger territory but it works! How does Eve become addicted to MILFateria.com, a porn site dedicated to the erotic side of middle aged women? Well you have to read, because before long these ‘fantasies’ become more reality. Eve is going to explore and re-discover she is still a sexual being. Some of these moments are downright embarrassing, as she seems to read signals wrong and later feels shame for letting her freak flag fly. Some people will be terribly embarrassed by her sexuality, it has something to do with how we see mothers, I think. Old women (which at 41 and a mother of college aged young adults I suppose I now am) aren’t supposed to be sexual creatures, right? Something to question there, I think.Brendan is waking up to the real world while at college, discovering it’s not going to be all wild times, the days of partying hard, discarding girls and acting like a general pig isn’t going to work anymore. Times they are changing and this isn’t the college experience he hungered for. He is the sort of guy we warn our daughters about, the ones we regret ever being attracted to. The reader is privy to his attitude early on when Eve overhears a sexual encounter between him and his current (maybe ex) girlfriend.With a full of cast characters, as his novels always are, no one exposes all the things we don’t want others to know about ourselves quite like Perrotta. My favorite novel by him is still Little Children because damn if everyone isn’t a wreck. It’s strangely comforting to realize that inside, the majority are sloppy and disturbed. I personally loved Eve’s thoughts when her ex and his new woman have a child with Autism, because her initial feeling is so ugly, petty… human. It’s such a small moment in the novel but yes, I imagine that is exactly the sort of reaction many burned women would have.This porn site is really confusing her, and to make things more complicated a 19 year old boy, a kid her own son went to school with is hot for her. For a lonely woman, the temptation is such a taboo (forget that men have been hooking up just in this very way since the dawn of time) and yet… “His desire- the simple fact of it- exerted a kind of gravity on her that she hadn’t anticipated, and found surprisingly difficult to resist.” Will she or won’t she? Hmmmmm…… Some people are going to stop reading once they touch on the sexuality. It just makes some people incredibly uncomfortable and hey, that’s okay. I can’t fathom being remotely attracted to ‘boys’ my children’s age, yeah they’re adults at 18 but that’s a flimsy argument. But that’s me. She explores an attraction to a woman too. Yet it’s a provocative subject and that a man has taken a woman and written from her ‘sexual’ perspective makes the novel that much more interesting. More so with her being middle aged, not such an easy character for a man to possess. We women are complicated, darn it we are! So how did he get into the female psyche? I do not relate to her mess, per say but I could easily get into her head and understand why she is doing everything she is. I think this book is more an exploration on sexuality than some big moving metamorphosis. I didn’t love it, but I wanted to see where Eve would end up. Brendan is a bit of a depressing character, because if he represents all young men of this current generation, then lock up your daughters.I couldn’t help but laugh at Eve’s desire/repulsion for Julian- because it’s so ridiculous and yet, how come it’s not seen as such when the sexes are reversed? There were parts of the novel that pulled me in and yet, I felt equally disinterested in others. It was always humorous, but I didn’t particularly like anyone. He writes the hell out of characters, that cannot be denied. I think I wanted more story, and it sometimes felt more about being taboo with too much thrown in. It’s still good just not quite what I like to read. Eve isn’t so shocking, which is hard to believe for some. The world is full of all sorts of sexual proclivities that would disturb others, she is just a woman who is suddenly alone and ill defined in herself. In fact, her son is more of a shock than anything she can get up to. What people decide to do behind closed doors… well, I am far more offended by his disgusting behavior towards women.With the subject of the transgender character… I wonder how differently people will read this book say… 15 years from now. I won’t reveal much more about this novel, there are deeper reviews on goodreads and with this book not out until August, I don’t want to spoil anything. This book is one for the adults.Publication Date: August 1, 2017Scribner
    more
  • Angus McKeogh
    July 24, 2017
    Perrotta. His books has just some understated and underlying brilliance. They always seem to deal with the mundane things in life but then revolve around fairly extraordinary occurrences that most of us might overlook. Simple relationships placed in less than simple situations. Just add one more book to his list of really great novels.
    more
  • Petra
    April 7, 2017
    Mrs. Fletcher, a divorcée in her mid-forties, is experiencing empty nest syndrome. Her son Brendan is off to college expecting to have the time of his life. Parties, sex, drinks, drugs, as long as there's no actual work involved. In the meantime, Mrs. Fletcher needs to rediscover who she really is as an individual, as a single woman. Somebody who sends her a text one night thinks she's a MILF. As you would do, Mrs. Fletcher immediately does some internet research on this phenomenon, and in the p Mrs. Fletcher, a divorcée in her mid-forties, is experiencing empty nest syndrome. Her son Brendan is off to college expecting to have the time of his life. Parties, sex, drinks, drugs, as long as there's no actual work involved. In the meantime, Mrs. Fletcher needs to rediscover who she really is as an individual, as a single woman. Somebody who sends her a text one night thinks she's a MILF. As you would do, Mrs. Fletcher immediately does some internet research on this phenomenon, and in the process becomes obsessed with internet porn. This opens up completely new avenues to be explored. Enrolling in an evening course on gender and society at her local college, she meets an eclectic cast of fellow students led by a transgender professor. Meanwhile, Brendan finds college life isn't quite what he had hoped for. Brendan's perspective is written in the first-person while the rest is in third. For the majority of the book, he is a completely obnoxious douchebag, but there were brief moments when I felt a tiny bit of sympathy even for him. This was my first experience of reading anything by Tom Perrotta. Up to now, I had only been familiar with his work through watching the books that had been adapted as films. I really enjoyed this. The writing was simply brilliant and I really need to read the author's previous works. This held my interest throughout. In fact, the first 75%, I didn't want to put it down. It was witty, engaging, brave and provided a plethora of topics worthy of discussion and contemplation. However, due to its frankness of tackling some of these themes I think it will only appeal to a limited audience. Towards the end, I felt it ran out of steam and I would have been happier had the ending not been quite so neat and proper but a bit more courageous like the rest of the novel. I received an ARC via NetGalley.
    more
  • Jessica Woodbury
    April 27, 2017
    Rounding up from 3.5 stars. It is very possible we will see a lot of pearl-clutching when this book releases. It features a middle-aged divorced white woman with a normal job in a normal town who wants to do something more with her life after her only child goes to college but finds herself obsessively scrolling through MILF porn. If this pearl-clutching happens, and if anyone claims that they couldn't have expected any such thing from Perrotta, I would recommend you read literally anything he's Rounding up from 3.5 stars. It is very possible we will see a lot of pearl-clutching when this book releases. It features a middle-aged divorced white woman with a normal job in a normal town who wants to do something more with her life after her only child goes to college but finds herself obsessively scrolling through MILF porn. If this pearl-clutching happens, and if anyone claims that they couldn't have expected any such thing from Perrotta, I would recommend you read literally anything he's ever written. Sex in the suburbs is Perrotta's bread and butter, and while he may usually approach his writing about sex in a more general way that doesn't specifically call out categories of porn, it's really only a side-step of difference from what he's done before. Now, on to the book itself. I have many opinions because, it's probably worth mentioning, I am also a divorced woman with children living in a suburb. I also have a nontraditional sex life that would probably horrify Eve Fletcher and her friends. They would probably insist such things do not happen and are completely fictional. I can happily insist that they are wrong and Eve Fletcher's journey out of prudish sexual norms is not at all uncommon. And having seen first hand the way social expectations can clash with this kind of journey, I think there is a lot of truth in Eve's story. That said, Eve is not a sexually liberated person. She is not radical. She is a simple person without a lot of passions or hobbies. This journey is full of fits and starts for her as she gets bold and then cautious, and that certainly rings true. Ultimately the ending, which I will not spoil, will leave readers either relieved or frustrated depending on how much they want those social norms to stick and how much they want to throw them out.But this is not just Eve's story, of course. There are possibly too many narratives here, but the other large one is for Eve's son Brendan. It is clear from the beginning that Brendan is the worst. Brendan is also the only character to get a first-person narrative, which was probably essential to keep readers connected to him and his worst-ness. Brendan is the kind of CHWM who has prospered through much of history and is finally not getting everything he wants exactly when he wants it as society becomes more progressive. Brendan's journey to college where he expects to kick back and enjoy frat parties does not go as expected. As always, Perrotta feels like he has pinpointed what things are like right now. As always, Perrotta is addictive to read and I sped through this in less than 2 days. As always, there is much that is funny and sly and subversive. And yet, while I liked Eve's story and Brendan's story separately, having them both in one book almost feels a little bit like What's Happening Right Now Bingo. Ultimately I wanted this book to push even farther than it did (even though I suspect many readers will feel it has already gone well beyond the pale). I must note that there is one thing I have been thinking about over and over again. MRS. FLETCHER features a trans woman who is a real delight of a character. She will certainly be a favorite of many readers. And, of course, she is often mistreated and judged by small-minded characters around her. What's difficult for me as a reader is that even though this woman has the opportunity to do some Trans-101 style education, there are many other times in the book where her gender is discussed using transphobic language without commentary. I get that transphobic characters will have these thoughts and I think Perrotta is trying to give the trans character the opportunity to correct them, and yet it was still difficult for me to read those sections, especially since a lot of the Trans-101 stuff comes later in the book. So I guess this is both a bit of a content warning for Transphobia as well as a note that I don't think we're far enough along as a society that readers will know transphobia when they see it and I'm not sure there's enough here to correct that.
    more
  • Robin
    June 12, 2017
    Not Perrotta's best but it was intriguing with characters that while not totally likable, kept my interest. Certainly not for the easily offended, but there was much to be learned. And I would be interested in the author's Internet search history--but on second thought, maybe not. Read this if you like Perrotta and authors like Jonathan Tropper and maybe even Chuck Paliahnik's odd fiction.
    more
  • Denise
    April 14, 2017
    I loved Mrs. Fletcher in the same way I loved The Abstinence Teacher and Little Children: lots. Tom Perrotta has such uncanny insight into human nature. His characters are always quirky, fun and interesting. His plots and stories are usually off-beat, like the characters, and unpredictable. I always look forward to his books.Mrs. Fletcher, or Eve, is the divorced mother of a teenaged son, Brendan, who is entering his freshman year of college when the novel begins. Eve is the successful director I loved Mrs. Fletcher in the same way I loved The Abstinence Teacher and Little Children: lots. Tom Perrotta has such uncanny insight into human nature. His characters are always quirky, fun and interesting. His plots and stories are usually off-beat, like the characters, and unpredictable. I always look forward to his books.Mrs. Fletcher, or Eve, is the divorced mother of a teenaged son, Brendan, who is entering his freshman year of college when the novel begins. Eve is the successful director of a senior center who determines to make a new life for herself now that her son is away at school. After one of her son's friends refer to her as a MILF, she begins a period of self-examination and sexual exploration. She makes new friends and tries to figure out who she is and what she wants. Meanwhile, Brendan is not as happy as he thought he would be away at college. He is no longer the popular jock he had been in high school. He isn't as successful with the ladies as he had once been and doesn't quite understand why he is failing. He gets depressed and no longer cares about his studies.I loved this book and highly recommend it. I thank NetGalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read the advanced ebook.
    more
  • Anne Foster
    May 23, 2017
    I've always loved Perrotta's novels and this one is no exception! Divorced mother, Eve has just dropped her son, Brendan off at college and has no idea what to do with her life. But a new world opens up as she enrolls in a Gender and Society class at the local community college and sees many sides of culture she has never seen before. Secretly visiting a digital porn site at night, unspoken possibilities open up to her and she begins to explore friendship and relationships foreign to her. Perrot I've always loved Perrotta's novels and this one is no exception! Divorced mother, Eve has just dropped her son, Brendan off at college and has no idea what to do with her life. But a new world opens up as she enrolls in a Gender and Society class at the local community college and sees many sides of culture she has never seen before. Secretly visiting a digital porn site at night, unspoken possibilities open up to her and she begins to explore friendship and relationships foreign to her. Perrotta's often understated prose and humor speaks to marriage and family, newly-recognized gender roles, and as always, the ways our daily lives can come into conflict with societal mores.
    more
  • Elese
    June 20, 2017
    I'm a sucker for Tom Perrotta's books. None of his novels has disappointed me yet, and this is no exception.
  • Cheryl M-M
    July 9, 2017
    I have to be honest it didn’t quite hit the mark for me. I could easily pontificate about Perrotta’s skill when it comes to social commentary and his ability to make readers squirm, because he hits the realism button far too often. However I do believe this is over-hyped and doesn’t live up to expectations.It doesn’t take a master of social interactions to create this type of scenario. In fact I think a lot of it is gratuitous sexual gratification, perhaps for the shock factor. Shall we say, the I have to be honest it didn’t quite hit the mark for me. I could easily pontificate about Perrotta’s skill when it comes to social commentary and his ability to make readers squirm, because he hits the realism button far too often. However I do believe this is over-hyped and doesn’t live up to expectations.It doesn’t take a master of social interactions to create this type of scenario. In fact I think a lot of it is gratuitous sexual gratification, perhaps for the shock factor. Shall we say, the ticking of en vogue boxes.Even though the words sexual harassment were thrown in as a kind of jokey afterthought, and not taken seriously at all, Mrs Fletcher was definitely guilty of crossing the line. She was guilty of crossing quite a few of those. There seemed to be a really big focus on the son and his dubious actions, especially his very particular brand of misogyny, and yet none on the mother. There shouldn’t be distinction made between the two just because one of them is a middle-aged woman.One could argue that her son knows no better because he wasn’t taught to treat women with respect. What is her excuse? Does she believe women aren’t held up to the same standards when it comes to crossing boundaries?There was also a contradiction when it came to Mrs Fletcher being an over-protective mother, and yet that same person becomes so involved in her sexual fantasies that the plight of her son goes completely unnoticed.Taking a step back I can see the intent or the point the author was striving to make, a tongue-in-cheek scathing eye-opener on the life a suburban housewife, but it wasn’t executed very well.*I received an ARC courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley.*
    more
  • Dino-Jess ✮ The Book Eating Dinosaur ✮
    April 20, 2017
    looking forward to reading this wrong
  • Jen
    April 6, 2017
    I'll keep it simple. I enjoyed this book a lot, as I have Perrota's other works. If I Am Charlotte Simmons was written by Perotta, was more topical and conscientious in terms of gender and sexuality, and was funnier, you'd probably end up with this.I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Rebecca
    April 3, 2017
    I love everything that Tom Perrotta has written, and Mrs. Fletcher doesn't disappoint! Perrotta has a strong understanding of human psychology (and a penchant for the dirty), and both are provided in spades in this book. Mrs. Fletcher follows Eve as she undergoes a sexual awakening and her college-age son as he realizes life isn't all he thought it would be. The examinations of gender, sex, and sexuality are very relevant to today. A must read for Perrotta fans!
    more
  • Natalie (Natflix&Books)
    March 31, 2017
    Election by Perrotta is one of my all-time favorite novels. I love it so much. While I enjoyed this one, all of the characters are wrapped in a film of sadness that was sometimes hard to swallow. It was similar to Little Children, another of his works that I enjoyed, but didn't love. That said, this is very much worth reading. The characters are very real, and I loved how it focused on both the mother and the son as they embark on their own new chapters. I also really liked how it delved into a Election by Perrotta is one of my all-time favorite novels. I love it so much. While I enjoyed this one, all of the characters are wrapped in a film of sadness that was sometimes hard to swallow. It was similar to Little Children, another of his works that I enjoyed, but didn't love. That said, this is very much worth reading. The characters are very real, and I loved how it focused on both the mother and the son as they embark on their own new chapters. I also really liked how it delved into a lot of the secondary characters' lives. Full review to come closer to its release date.
    more
  • Geneviève
    June 5, 2017
    Mrs Fletcher by Tom Perrotta is a modern, funny and provocative story. Eve Fletcher is a single mother in her mid-forties whose son, Brendan, is leaving for college. Eve seems to lead an ordinary life, caring for her son, seeing her family from time to time and being the executive director of a senior center. However, when she is left alone in her home, she seems to transform into a liberated woman in need of excitement. One night, she receives a text saying “U R my MILF” and at first, it seems Mrs Fletcher by Tom Perrotta is a modern, funny and provocative story. Eve Fletcher is a single mother in her mid-forties whose son, Brendan, is leaving for college. Eve seems to lead an ordinary life, caring for her son, seeing her family from time to time and being the executive director of a senior center. However, when she is left alone in her home, she seems to transform into a liberated woman in need of excitement. One night, she receives a text saying “U R my MILF” and at first, it seems to bother her but then, she goes on the Internet and ends up on Milfateria.com, a porn website full of videos of the sexual exploits of women just like her. She then develops a habit of porn consumption and begins to imagine all sorts of sexual fantasies in her mind. In the meantime, Brendan is having a blast discovering college life: getting drunk, partying, flirting with girls: mostly anything but studying. Nonetheless, when he is starting to date Amber, a girl he likes and they engage in sexual activities, he treats her with anything but respect and realizes that real-life is not like what you see on the web. Even his roommate is fed up of the way he talks about girls, which leaves Brendan really lonely. He then enters in a questioning phase about his present and his future. I liked the story and how open it was about sexuality, orientation and gender. It was a shocking novel that explored social convictions and morality. Eve is a nice character who just seems to be lost and want to rediscover herself before finding love again. Brendan is not really likeable since he is a young jerk –pardon my French – but at last he seems to understand the mistakes he made and to want to turn his life around.I would recommend this novel because it depicts well themes that are current and the novel is funny at times, rough and uncomfortable at other times. The story is well written and I am glad I discovered this author; I will surely read his other books. I’d like to thank Simon & Schuster Canada for the ARC of this book as it is much appreciated.G-
    more
  • karen
    April 7, 2017
    While this book was pretty much as described as far as plot goes, I've got to say I wasn't really expecting it to be a graphic as it was. I was impressed with the author's ability to communicate character growth and development, and did get to appreciate many of his protagonists, since this book was portrayed through the voices of many. And since I knew that sexuality and gender would be a theme throughout, I suppose I shouldn't have been put off by some of the more lurid details, but I wish Mr. While this book was pretty much as described as far as plot goes, I've got to say I wasn't really expecting it to be a graphic as it was. I was impressed with the author's ability to communicate character growth and development, and did get to appreciate many of his protagonists, since this book was portrayed through the voices of many. And since I knew that sexuality and gender would be a theme throughout, I suppose I shouldn't have been put off by some of the more lurid details, but I wish Mr. Perotta could have found a way to convey some of these concepts without hitting me so hard over the head with the porn and vulgarity. I'm really not a prude, honest, but found myself almost embarrassed to be reading so many specific details pertaining to masturbation and porn sites. Some parts of this book made me long to take a cleansing shower, cuddle kittens or at least wash my hands thoroughly.I received this as an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Laurel-Rain
    July 23, 2017
    Eve Fletcher is trying to figure out what comes next. A forty-six-year-old divorcee whose beloved only child has just left for college, Eve is struggling to adjust to her empty nest when one night her phone lights up with a text message. Sent from an anonymous number, the mysterious sender tells Eve, “U R my MILF!” Over the months that follow, that message comes to obsess Eve. While leading her all-too-placid life—serving as Executive Director of the local senior center by day and taking a commu Eve Fletcher is trying to figure out what comes next. A forty-six-year-old divorcee whose beloved only child has just left for college, Eve is struggling to adjust to her empty nest when one night her phone lights up with a text message. Sent from an anonymous number, the mysterious sender tells Eve, “U R my MILF!” Over the months that follow, that message comes to obsess Eve. While leading her all-too-placid life—serving as Executive Director of the local senior center by day and taking a community college course on Gender and Society at night—Eve can’t curtail her own interest in a porn website called MILFateria.com, which features the erotic exploits of ordinary, middle-aged women like herself. Before long, Eve’s online fixations begin to spill over into real life, revealing new romantic possibilities that threaten to upend her quiet suburban existence.Meanwhile, miles away at the state college, Eve’s son Brendan—a jock and aspiring frat boy—discovers that his new campus isn’t nearly as welcoming to his hard-partying lifestyle as he had imagined. Only a few weeks into his freshman year, Brendan is floundering in a college environment that challenges his white-dude privilege and shames him for his outmoded, chauvinistic ideas of sex. As the New England autumn turns cold, both mother and son find themselves enmeshed in morally fraught situations that come to a head on one fateful November night.My Thoughts: Mrs. Fletcher is a story that delves into the lives of ordinary people, situations that could happen to anyone, and I love how the author often takes us to places that we don’t expect to go.At first I wasn’t that interested in what was happening to Brendan, the college son, who was kind of a jerk, IMO. But then I started to see his perspective, probably because he was the only first person narrator throughout the novel. Could some of his actions stem from inexperience? Was he really as crude as he seemed, or had he simply had poor role models?Then there was Eve, the attractive mother who was still struggling after her divorce, and now had an empty nest to ponder. As she starts spreading her wings, finding new people and situations to explore, I just knew that where she was going might end up being regrettable. Could her new addiction to porn lead her down questionable pathways? I also enjoyed how a middle-aged woman like Eve was navigating dating life for the first time after her divorce via social networking.Supporting characters like Margo, the transgender professor; Amanda, the young woman who worked for Eve at the Senior Center; and Julian Spitzer, the young guy who had been bullied by Brendan in high school…all kept my interest as I followed along with their adventures and how their lives connected with Eve. A 5 star read.***An e-ARC came to me from the publisher via NetGalley.
    more
  • Liz
    June 29, 2017
    Mrs. Fletcher, Tom Perrotta's new novel, highlights a contemporary drama we call the culture wars. The title, as well as the narrative mirrors Virginia Woolf's famous novel about class and culture, Mrs. Dalloway. While we like to think a class structure doesn't exist in the USA, we have to acknowledge that there is certainly a struggle at this point in our history. Mrs. Fletcher, Eve, is a middle age woman who is educated with an M.A. in Social Work and works as an executive director at a senior Mrs. Fletcher, Tom Perrotta's new novel, highlights a contemporary drama we call the culture wars. The title, as well as the narrative mirrors Virginia Woolf's famous novel about class and culture, Mrs. Dalloway. While we like to think a class structure doesn't exist in the USA, we have to acknowledge that there is certainly a struggle at this point in our history. Mrs. Fletcher, Eve, is a middle age woman who is educated with an M.A. in Social Work and works as an executive director at a senior center in her New England town. Eve's son, Brendan, is off to college. He was a popular athlete in high school and could have gone to many private schools but instead, chose a state school because he wanted to go to a 'party school.' Party is what college means to Brendan along with a major like economics which would fulfill his obligation to graduate with something with which he can get a good job and continue in the tradition of his family's values of success.Eve and Brendan both struggle with the new chapters in their lives and the characters who enter their narrative represent each disparate group of Americans that call out for recognition and acceptance. Eve's event coordinator is a lovely young woman with tattoos in unhidden places that sends some of the elders up the wall. Brendan's roommate seems to be his people but after a while, he disappears only to reappear at a party with someone Brendan wouldn't have expected, in a million years.Eve takes a writing seminar class at the local community college in Gender and Society which is taught by a transgender woman named Margo. The small group of students represent quite disparate types and Eve is thrilled that she has a new group of people to socialize with, even in class. She hopes there will be an opportunity to meet with them outside of class and you know what happens when you wish for something! Zap, you wish you didn't.The entire novel goes from one amusing situation for Eve and Brendan to another and on the whole, I'd say we have a delightful update on the kind of novel Virginia Woolf thought her readers needed in 1925. Mrs. Fletcher is exactly what we need in 2017!ARC courtesy of NetGalley and Scribner (Expected publication: August 1st 2017).You can read more of my reviews at:http://cavebookreviews.blogspot.com
    more
  • Lorraine
    June 20, 2017
    This was a fun and fast read. Mrs. Fletcher is a 46 year old divorced mother. Her son Brendan has just left to go to college and she's alone for the first time. When she gets a lewd text on her phone, she starts checking out porn on a daily basis. By day she's the Director of a seniors center, and takes a course at the local community college. Here she meets some new people who figure in her life for the next few months.Brandon is excited to get away to college and intends to party to the fulles This was a fun and fast read. Mrs. Fletcher is a 46 year old divorced mother. Her son Brendan has just left to go to college and she's alone for the first time. When she gets a lewd text on her phone, she starts checking out porn on a daily basis. By day she's the Director of a seniors center, and takes a course at the local community college. Here she meets some new people who figure in her life for the next few months.Brandon is excited to get away to college and intends to party to the fullest. He and his roommate are ideally matched, drinking and smoking dope and playing video games and rarely attending classes. But when he meets a pretty girl named Angela, he starts to become disillusioned with the party lifestyle.Thanks to NetGalley for an advance copy.
    more
Write a review