Take to the Limit (Unbroken Heroes #4)
They are part of an elite unit. On task. Off grid. These are the men of the Shadow Ops task force. Be seduced and thrilled by Take to the Limit, the next Unbroken Heroes novel by Dawn Ryder. Holding out for a heroA hardened military machine, Bram Magnus is a tough, combat-ready, all-American hero who never surrenders. But the one thing he can't fight? His smoldering, intense attraction to his girlfriend's younger sister. He's always kept his feelings locked deeply down. But when his girlfriend betrays him the night before he ships off to Afghanistan, Bram has one chance to show the woman he's resisted for years that he wants her as fiercely as the first day he saw her.Ever since her older sister first brought home the soldier with steely hard muscles and piercing eyes, Jaelyn has wanted Bram, and when her sister casts him aside the night before he leaves, Jaelyn can't resist one steamy hot kiss with him. But danger is not far behind, and even as a deadly enemy hunts them, their relationship only grows more explosive. It's all Bram can do to keep Jaelyn safe, but with a threat this powerful, will they pay the ultimate price for their passion?

Take to the Limit (Unbroken Heroes #4) Details

TitleTake to the Limit (Unbroken Heroes #4)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 29th, 2017
PublisherSt. Martin's Press
ISBN-139781250132703
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Suspense, War, Military, Romantic Suspense, Mystery, Thriller, Adult

Take to the Limit (Unbroken Heroes #4) Review

  • Claire Robinson
    January 1, 1970
    4 - "Honor..." Stars!The fourth book in Dawn Ryder Unbroken Heroes series; Take to the Limit finally gives us Bram Magnus’s story. This is a series I have read from the beginning ,and you 100% have to have done so to understand even a small percentage of what happens in this book, to be honest I struggled in parts because the space between releases is making it a bit difficult to remember everything that has already gone on. That said a few villains finally get their just desserts in this one, a 4 - "Honor..." Stars!The fourth book in Dawn Ryder Unbroken Heroes series; Take to the Limit finally gives us Bram Magnus’s story. This is a series I have read from the beginning ,and you 100% have to have done so to understand even a small percentage of what happens in this book, to be honest I struggled in parts because the space between releases is making it a bit difficult to remember everything that has already gone on. That said a few villains finally get their just desserts in this one, and Bram finally gets his girl. She was everything pure, everything his hands were too dirty to touch. I won’t lie I get a bit of an uncomfortable cringe on my face when I read a romance where one or both of the characters have previously been involved with their current lovers sibling(s) on the same basis in the past. Bram on this occasion has boffed both of the Sondors sisters, starting with in-your-face professional Cheerleader LeAnn, before deciding her more homely sister Jaelyn is the one he actually wants. "I’m not a good guy…"If you have read the previous books in the series you will know that there is so much going on with multiple POV's telling the story, and because of that the whole sleeping with sisters pretty much one after the other wasn’t given much gravitas or page time to be honest which in equal parts I was glad and frustrated with. LeAnn was a tad miffed to begin with and then it all kicked off with the bad guys, and she suddenly changed character completely and decided to stop being all about herself and become more ‘family’ orientated. "You don’t scare me… that’s the problem. You make me want to throw a gauntlet down just to make sure you know how much I refuse to be scared by you."Didn’t really ring true to me if I am honest, I also thought the whole handling of the withholding Bram’s Letters to JaeLyn while he was overseas, was left to slide. Me personally, sister or not I would have knocked her out for doing such a thing. I also would have liked the author to have included some of the letter into the story, it would have helped deepen a somewhat weak connection between our H/h."I came back for you."What I really liked was getting to see all of the previous couples and how their relationships have progressed since the beginning of the series, I have a huge soft spot for the Hale brothers so seeing them happy and settled made up for what I felt was a luke-warm main couple in this installment of the series."You don’t know me… Not really."That said this was still an enjoyable read. I do believe this series is on its last legs though, presidential hopeful Carl Davis is very much due his just desserts now, and I hope that the author doesn’t drag it out over more than a couple more books. As previously mentioned the space between releases means that the bigger picture in the story arc has been playing out since the first book which was released back in March 2016, and some of those earlier bits of information are becoming a little ‘foggy’ in the memory banks now. The fifth book, Close to the Edge which gives us Dare Servant’s story is due for release in February 2017 and I will be interested to see which direction the author takes the plot next.ARC generously provided via Netgalley, in exchange for the above honest review.
    more
  • Beth
    January 1, 1970
    Take to the Limit was a smooth flowing romantic suspense immersing us back into the Unbroken Heroes' world created by Dawn Ryder.Bram is a special ops hero who has always had a connection to his girlfriend’s little sister. When his girlfriend has a one-night stand, their relationship ends and his biggest regret is losing Jaelyn, the younger sister. As he deploys, Bram and Jaelyn share one hot and heavy kiss.While apart he can’t get Jaelyn out of his head. Not for nothing... but the feeling is co Take to the Limit was a smooth flowing romantic suspense immersing us back into the Unbroken Heroes' world created by Dawn Ryder.Bram is a special ops hero who has always had a connection to his girlfriend’s little sister. When his girlfriend has a one-night stand, their relationship ends and his biggest regret is losing Jaelyn, the younger sister. As he deploys, Bram and Jaelyn share one hot and heavy kiss.While apart he can’t get Jaelyn out of his head. Not for nothing... but the feeling is completely mutual. The cards are stacked against them, work, location, family, its a lot to overcome...but Ryder can’t leave it to the unbelievable sexual tension, she adds in a riveting tale of two enemies joining forces to tear their worlds apart.Sensual, hot and good amount of humor, Ryder tells a tale with heart pounding suspense, a swoon worthy romance and a cast of primary and secondary characters that back it all up.I received this ARC copy of Take to the Limit from St. Martin's Press. This is my honest and voluntary review. Take to the Limit is set for publication Aug. 29, 2017.My Rating: 4 starsWritten by: Dawn RyderSeries: Unbroken Heroes (Book 4)Mass Market Paperback: 320 pagesPublisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks Publication Date: August 29, 2017ISBN-10: 1250132703ISBN-13: 978-1250132703Genre: Military Romantic SuspenseItunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/take...Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Take-Limit-Unb...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/take...Reviewed for:http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Mindy Lou's Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    This was an enjoyable read for a romantic suspense with a bit of taboo. The fact that Bram was dating one sister but really wanted the other is the reason I wanted to read this. It really wasn't a big issue in the book as I was expecting. Bram and LeAnn were never really serious and he catches her cheating on him the night before he deploys to Afghanistan which ended their relationship. LeAnn does cause a bit of drama in the beginning between Bram and Jaelyn, but she has a change of heart and at This was an enjoyable read for a romantic suspense with a bit of taboo. The fact that Bram was dating one sister but really wanted the other is the reason I wanted to read this. It really wasn't a big issue in the book as I was expecting. Bram and LeAnn were never really serious and he catches her cheating on him the night before he deploys to Afghanistan which ended their relationship. LeAnn does cause a bit of drama in the beginning between Bram and Jaelyn, but she has a change of heart and attitude when Jaelyn is kidnapped by a psycho Bram worked with in Afghanistan. There is more action than there is romance, but that's not unusual in a suspense novel. It looks like each book focuses on one couple while continuing with an overall plot throughout the series. No cliffhanger but a happily for now ending. ARC provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • Carvanz
    January 1, 1970
    Going in to this read, I was unaware it was several episodes into a series. There was a lot of background and characters that it referenced and I felt a little lost and disconnected for a while. However, I was able to quickly catch up and began to enjoy the bones of this story.Bram has been having a thing with Jaelyn’s older sister until the night that LeeAnn leaves him for another man. Jaelyn cuts loose on him regarding his blasé behavior regarding her sister and his attitude toward life in gen Going in to this read, I was unaware it was several episodes into a series. There was a lot of background and characters that it referenced and I felt a little lost and disconnected for a while. However, I was able to quickly catch up and began to enjoy the bones of this story.Bram has been having a thing with Jaelyn’s older sister until the night that LeeAnn leaves him for another man. Jaelyn cuts loose on him regarding his blasé behavior regarding her sister and his attitude toward life in general. This was just the thing to capture Bram’s attention and turn it toward her.After his service in Afghanistan, he returns home to make Jaelyn his. However, there is someone who is watching him, looking for a weak spot and they find it in Jaelyn. When her life and that of her family are in danger and uprooted, Bram decides to do that right thing and cut Jaelyn loose. Too bad she’s not in agreement with that decision.This was a nice read with lots of suspense and evil machinations. I wished I had read the previous books so I could’ve enjoyed it more. ARC provided by NetGalleyMultiple POVSafety – H does not have sex with anyone after he kisses the h. No real awkwardness between sisters and H once he returns and pursues the h.Possible triggers (view spoiler)[Jaelyn is kidnapped and chained to a bed where her kidnapper is planning to turn her into his pet. He never touches her or rapes her but there is a discussion between him and another about having sex with her. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Debbie Oliphant
    January 1, 1970
    This is the 4th installment of the Unbroken Heroes series. I appreciate the opportunity to read and review. I will have to admit that it is essential to read the prior installments as there are a lot of characters.Bram is an Alpha Male in the military who is leaving on a tour to Afganistan. Prior to leaving, he discovers his attraction to his girlfriend's sister and thinks there is something there. He is gone for awhile and sends her letters, but receives nothing in return, but he can't stop thi This is the 4th installment of the Unbroken Heroes series. I appreciate the opportunity to read and review. I will have to admit that it is essential to read the prior installments as there are a lot of characters.Bram is an Alpha Male in the military who is leaving on a tour to Afganistan. Prior to leaving, he discovers his attraction to his girlfriend's sister and thinks there is something there. He is gone for awhile and sends her letters, but receives nothing in return, but he can't stop thinking about her and is determined to reconnect when he returns.Jaelyn can't stop thinking about Bram either, but without any communication, believes their kiss meant more to her than him. Little does she know that her sister has retrieved the letters that Bram has sent to her.Bram comes home and wants to connect with Jaelyn who is a little reserved to do so as she believes he still has feelings for her sister. He clears the air with her to let her know that he wants to be with her and she can no longer deny the attraction. They get to know one another and grow their relationship and they become very important to one another.Unfortunately, Bram's feelings for Jaelyn is exposed to his enemies and they want revenge. Jaelyn is suddenly in danger and Bram and his Ops Team have to help her. Throughout the book there were added characters which seemed to tie or add more layers to the overall series. I had not read the other three stories so I felt lost with part of the storyline, but I did appreciate the pace of the story as it flowed pretty quickly. This was a good story for those who like adventure with intensity.
    more
  • Dawn
    January 1, 1970
    Okay, I really like this series. This book, while not my favorite in the series, is very important. There are lots of beginnings and endings in this book that are pivotal to the next books coming out. This is Bram and Jaelyn's story and I LOVE her! Don't get me wrong I like Bram but she is badass. Her grandfather is too. We learn a lot in this book, where people come from, where their loyalties lie and what kind of role each of them plays. I cannot wait to read what's coming next! I received thi Okay, I really like this series. This book, while not my favorite in the series, is very important. There are lots of beginnings and endings in this book that are pivotal to the next books coming out. This is Bram and Jaelyn's story and I LOVE her! Don't get me wrong I like Bram but she is badass. Her grandfather is too. We learn a lot in this book, where people come from, where their loyalties lie and what kind of role each of them plays. I cannot wait to read what's coming next! I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kristy
    January 1, 1970
    Arc by netgalley in exchange for an honest review I always hate giving these types of reviews, and to be honest it rarely happens, but I really couldn't connect with anything in this book. I put it down and picked it back up several times, but alas some books just don't click and this was the case for me. Sorry!
    more
  • Sandy S
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 starsABOUT THE BOOK: Release Date August 29, 2017They are part of an elite unit. On task. Off grid. These are the men of the Shadow Ops task force. Holding out for a heroA hardened military machine, Bram Magnus is a tough, combat-ready, all-American hero who never surrenders. But the one thing he can't fight? His smoldering, intense attraction to his girlfriend's younger sister. He's always kept his feelings locked deeply down. But when his girlfriend betrays him the night before he ships of 4.5 starsABOUT THE BOOK: Release Date August 29, 2017They are part of an elite unit. On task. Off grid. These are the men of the Shadow Ops task force. Holding out for a heroA hardened military machine, Bram Magnus is a tough, combat-ready, all-American hero who never surrenders. But the one thing he can't fight? His smoldering, intense attraction to his girlfriend's younger sister. He's always kept his feelings locked deeply down. But when his girlfriend betrays him the night before he ships off to Afghanistan, Bram has one chance to show the woman he's resisted for years that he wants her as fiercely as the first day he saw her.Ever since her older sister first brought home the soldier with steely hard muscles and piercing eyes, Jaelyn has wanted Bram, and when her sister casts him aside the night before he leaves, Jaelyn can't resist one steamy hot kiss with him. But danger is not far behind, and even as a deadly enemy hunts them, their relationship only grows more explosive. It's all Bram can do to keep Jaelyn safe, but with a threat this powerful, will they pay the ultimate price for their passion?•••••••••••REVIEW: 4.5 stars-- TAKE TO THE LIMIT is the fourth installment in Dawn Ryder’s contemporary, adult UNBROKEN HEROES romantic, suspense series focusing on an elite Shadow Ops team. This is US soldier Bram Magnus, and accountant Jaelyn Sondor’s story line. DEEP INTO TROUBLE can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any important information from previous story lines is revealed where necessary although some of premise continues and is interconnected to earlier reads. Bram is brother to Zoe Magnus (Dangerous to Know #1).Told from numerous third person perspectives including Jaelyn and Bram TAKE TO THE LIMIT is a romantic suspense story line that focuses on the building relationship between Bram and Jaelyn, and the threats against our hero, when the woman with whom he is falling in love, is targeted by someone from his past. Bram Magnus was about to be deployed for another tour in Afghanistan when the woman he was seeing was caught with another man. Bram wasn’t too worried as he had his eye on someone else-Jaelyn Sonder’s-his ex-lover’s little sister. Six months would pass before Bram would come face to face with the woman who starred in all of his dreams. But return to civilian life came with a number of complications including a vendetta from the past; a psychotic former soldier; and threats to the woman with whom he was falling in love. What ensues is the building romance between Bram and Jaelyn, and the fall out when Jaelyn becomes prey in a game of power, vengeance and betrayal.The relationship between Bram and Jaelyn is one of immediate attraction but the attraction is tempered by Bram’s involvement with Jaelyn’s older sister LeAnn. For six months Bram will ‘write’ to our heroine in the hopes of building something special upon his return but Jaelyn will never receive the letters, and is completely unaware of Bram’s feelings and love. The $ex scenes are intimate and intense, without the over the top, sexually graphic language and text.There is a large ensemble cast of secondary and supporting characters including brothers Saxon (Ginger Boyce) and Vitus Hale (Damascus Ryland), Shadow Ops section leader Kagan , Agent Dare Servant, Bram’s father Colonel Bryan Magnus , Jaelyn’s sister LeAnn Sonders, and their grandfather Milton Sonders who is not without some surprises of his own. The requisite evil has several faces and connections to our hero and Shadow Ops Teams. Dare Servant’s story line is next in CLOSE TO THE EDGE (February 2018).TAKE TO THE LIMIT is a fast paced story of political intrigue; the power struggle on Capitol Hill, and the betrayal of the men who served their country. The premise is entertaining, engaging and gripping; the characters are dangerous, dynamic, colorful and passionate; the romance is intimate and intense. The back and forth between points of view is manic; the whip-lash affect may be too frantic for some readers as the story line relentlessly jumps between characters without so much as a break or introduction. TAKE TO THE LIMIT is an exciting, story of romance and suspense where danger follows on the path to power and control.Copy supplied by the publisher through Netgalleywww.thereadingcafe.com
    more
  • Marsha Spohn
    January 1, 1970
    Reviewed at Keeper BookshelfTake To The Limit brings us back into the Special Ops world of some very fine men, their ladies and their enemies. Brian and Jaelyn will have a lot to face together between family and enemies. This story is intense, yet I expect nothing less for these heroes.LeAnn and Brian weren’t all that serous, yet cheating the night before he was to leave to face his next tour was definitely a seriously crappy move. While Brian had always been attracted to her younger sister, Ja Reviewed at Keeper BookshelfTake To The Limit brings us back into the Special Ops world of some very fine men, their ladies and their enemies. Brian and Jaelyn will have a lot to face together between family and enemies. This story is intense, yet I expect nothing less for these heroes.LeAnn and Brian weren’t all that serous, yet cheating the night before he was to leave to face his next tour was definitely a seriously crappy move. While Brian had always been attracted to her younger sister, Jaelyn, he’d held back for obvious reasons. But Jaelyn took that control away when she showed him exactly what her feelings were with one steaming, serious kiss. Now everything has changed, two people who actually want to seriously be together get that chance… until enemies unite to make sure that no one has a happy ending.Take To The Limit is an intense journey of new love and the actions of men out for their own versions of revenge. Of course, one family member causes trouble as well but that is nothing compared to kidnapping… or worse if their plans are successful.I enjoyed this romantic suspense story on several levels. It’s always good to be back with the ‘crew’ of an ongoing series. And while the relationship between Brian and Jaelyn may have seemed taboo it truly wasn’t at all. He originally picked the wrong sister, life happens and we learn from mistakes. The real tensions come from old enemies pairing up to make life hell. The danger is off-set by the growing love between our couple. All they have to do for that happy ending is survive.Once again, I enjoyed my time in this world and would recommend Take To The Limit, and the entire series to any reader who enjoys tightly woven plots, vile bad guys and one likable couple who will work their way through drama to their own happy ending.*I received an e-ARC of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley. That does not change what I think of this story. It is my choice to leave a review giving my personal opinion about this book.*
    more
  • Cathy Geha
    January 1, 1970
    Take to the Limit by Dawn RyderUnbroken Heroes #4“They are part of an elite unit. On task. Off grid. These are the men of the Shadow Ops task force. Be seduced and thrilled by Take to the Limit, the next Unbroken Heroes novel by Dawn Ryder.”Bram Magnus has been dating LeAnn when home on leave from military service BUT he has also had his eye on her younger sister, Jaelyn. The night before he leaves for Afghanistan LeAnn is with another man and a kiss takes place between Bram and Jaelyn – a kiss Take to the Limit by Dawn RyderUnbroken Heroes #4“They are part of an elite unit. On task. Off grid. These are the men of the Shadow Ops task force. Be seduced and thrilled by Take to the Limit, the next Unbroken Heroes novel by Dawn Ryder.”Bram Magnus has been dating LeAnn when home on leave from military service BUT he has also had his eye on her younger sister, Jaelyn. The night before he leaves for Afghanistan LeAnn is with another man and a kiss takes place between Bram and Jaelyn – a kiss they both think about while he is gone. When Bram returns home his first stop is to see Jaelyn BUT her sister is there, too so…Will LeAnn realize he is done with her? Will Jaelyn want him still? Will he be able to keep Jaelyn safe when a predator decides he wants her? And, what about Ricky - the man who starts out the story put in jail in Mexico by another bad guy working for an enemy of the Shadow Ops team? How it all ties together is intriguing. The story is fast paced and the action plentiful. The characters are well crafted and interesting. The relationships fun to observe…and…I finished the book wanting to know what happens next.I had read the third book in the series and loved it. I did start this book then go back to see what the blurbs were on the previous books to get a bit of background before beginning to read the book again. I do feel this book, though able to stand alone, would benefit from having read the previous books first. That said – it was a great story and I liked Bram and Jaelyn a lot. I really REALLY liked the grandfather ;) I am interested in finding out if/when Thais and Dare are willing to engage as more than military partners and wonder if LeAnn will find someone to love in the Shadow Ops team. I also want the bad guy at the top of the heap to get his comeuppance so I am eager to read the next book in the series when it comes out. Thank you to NetGalley and St. Martin’s Press for the ARC – This is my honest review.4 Stars
    more
  • Misty (Red's Romance Review's)
    January 1, 1970
    The moment Bram Magnus lays eyes on Jaelyn he knows he has to have her, problem is she comes with complications, ones that involve his ex, and her sister. But when things with her sister go sour, he decides to finally make his move for Jaelyn, since she is the one he wanted all along, and he begins to write her letters while he is deployed. But his little secret attraction draws the attention of a fellow soldier and things start to get dangerous from there... now the woman he has wanted to be hi The moment Bram Magnus lays eyes on Jaelyn he knows he has to have her, problem is she comes with complications, ones that involve his ex, and her sister. But when things with her sister go sour, he decides to finally make his move for Jaelyn, since she is the one he wanted all along, and he begins to write her letters while he is deployed. But his little secret attraction draws the attention of a fellow soldier and things start to get dangerous from there... now the woman he has wanted to be his for so long might never know how much she means to him and it's up to him to keep her safe from the danger that he brought to her door!Watching the man she wants spend quality time with her sister nearly kills her, Bram is everything she wants.... and everything she can't have! Jaelyn has it bad for Bram, but making her feelings for him known would be wrong on so many levels, he after all loves her sister, or does he? But while she is busy swooning over her sexy soldier she catches the eye of a stalker and someone from Bram's past, and soon finds herself in grave danger... good thing her sexy soldier is hot on her trail!This was my first time settling down with a book by this author and I absolutely loved it, so much so, it inspired me to purchase the other three books in the series. It was a very suspenseful, action packed, steamy, and intriguing story that kept me enthralled the whole way through. I enjoyed watching the relationship play out between Bram and Jaelyn, their chemistry was amazing and they were very well drawn characters. Overall I would have to say that Take To The Limit is a very satisfying and entertaining read, one that I highly recommend you get your hands on... you will not be disappointed with what you find!!I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Danielle Urban
    January 1, 1970
    Take to the Limit by Dawn Ryder is a sexy tale featuring alpha males. Males who think only about their work and nothing else. Or so they thought...Enter a beautiful woman and a Bram can't let go. He's leaving on a mission. Told to leave her alone. But his heart can't. So, he does what he can. Writes letters to her. Not one, not two, but dozens of letters. Letting her know she's all he's thinking about while away. Hot sex. Instant chemistry. And fear. Jaelyn loves Bram. He is a sexy tall man who Take to the Limit by Dawn Ryder is a sexy tale featuring alpha males. Males who think only about their work and nothing else. Or so they thought...Enter a beautiful woman and a Bram can't let go. He's leaving on a mission. Told to leave her alone. But his heart can't. So, he does what he can. Writes letters to her. Not one, not two, but dozens of letters. Letting her know she's all he's thinking about while away. Hot sex. Instant chemistry. And fear. Jaelyn loves Bram. He is a sexy tall man who has her toes curling in the hot sand. Her dreams are filled with nothin glut him. She kissed him hard before he left. Her heart aches for him. Thinking she won't ever see him again, she hardens her heart against him. When he arrives back to her, all hell breaks loose. His letters he wrote were never given to her....someone stole them. Jealousy. Jaelyn pushes Bram away. But he's not giving up without a hell of a fight. Hell, she's worth everything to him. Then, danger comes and knocks their world into a crazy space. No one knows where it will lead. But Bram is going to fight until he has Jaelyn safe again in his arms...and in his bed. Dawn Ryder knows how to heat up the pages. I blushed every time. The heat was scorching. The sex soon turned to love making. The characters each had their own fears and struggles. But somehow they keep moving forward and work through them. Friends who tease but also have their backs. Family that will always support them no matter what. I loved the granddaughter and grandfather relationships in this book. It was sweet, charming, and hilarious. Overall, I enjoyed reading Take to the Limit. It's a perfect title for the scenes inside...a super solider and his strong yet bold woman.
    more
  • Book Him Danno
    January 1, 1970
    I have read a few of the the books in this series and each one can be read as a stand alone novel. Take to the Limit is book 4 of the Unbroken Hero series where readers are introduced to Shadow Ops task force. I found it interesting that author are able to take a series which as a reader would think you need to start at book one to understand what is going on in book 4. Readers do not worry. Each of her stories are all individual stories with tie into what happened in the previous books without I have read a few of the the books in this series and each one can be read as a stand alone novel. Take to the Limit is book 4 of the Unbroken Hero series where readers are introduced to Shadow Ops task force. I found it interesting that author are able to take a series which as a reader would think you need to start at book one to understand what is going on in book 4. Readers do not worry. Each of her stories are all individual stories with tie into what happened in the previous books without slowing down the main story.Dawn Ryder is one of those rear authors who are able to create stand alone novels where readers can start at any story 1 or 4 and still know what is going on and what has happened without getting lost in the current Novel.The story is a fast pace romance with suspense that is predictable. However the author as the ability to bring reader in hooking them with feisty dialogue, strong will female leads who gives all well as they get. The characters grow, change and develop from the beginning to the end of the story.Dawn Ryder knows how to tease readers with romance and than give them the spice they expect from her writing. Thank you to Publisher for the advance copy I received from netgalley. I can't wait to read the next in this feisty female lead series.
    more
  • Ashley Westphall-carr
    January 1, 1970
    Have you ever fallen for your girlfriends younger sister? That's just what Bram Magnus did. Combat-harden and military trained, Bram is always ready for any situation with only one exception, his intense attraction to his on again off again girlfriend's younger sister. When his girlfriend betrays him on the eve of shipping off to Afghanistan he finds comfort in her younger sister's kiss. When LeAnn brings Bram home for the first time Jaelyn is infatuated with him, but she doesn't poach her sis Have you ever fallen for your girlfriends younger sister? That's just what Bram Magnus did. Combat-harden and military trained, Bram is always ready for any situation with only one exception, his intense attraction to his on again off again girlfriend's younger sister. When his girlfriend betrays him on the eve of shipping off to Afghanistan he finds comfort in her younger sister's kiss. When LeAnn brings Bram home for the first time Jaelyn is infatuated with him, but she doesn't poach her sister's boyfriends. But when they catch LeAnn going off in the woods with another guy on the eve of Bram being shipped overseas, Bram knows that they are over and that there is no salvaging the relationship. After he gets back from his tour the first stop he makes is to see Jaelyn, but of course LeAnn is there and she monopolizes all of Bram's time. But there is danger stalking Bram and he leads it right to Jaelyn's and her family's door. The danger just doesn't come on one front, enemies combine forces and come after Bram. Will he be able to keep everybody he loves safe?** I voluntarily read an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review **
    more
  • Minx -The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    I will admit that when I considered reading Take to the Limit from the Unbroken Heroes series I was a little apprehensive. The idea of a guy sleeping with two sisters and having a relationship with one of the sounded like the type of drama that I steer away from. I was beyond relieved that the Author handled that situation well and there were essentially no love triangles. Still not a fan of the idea of the main character sleeping with both sisters though.Bram Magnus had been having an on-again I will admit that when I considered reading Take to the Limit from the Unbroken Heroes series I was a little apprehensive. The idea of a guy sleeping with two sisters and having a relationship with one of the sounded like the type of drama that I steer away from. I was beyond relieved that the Author handled that situation well and there were essentially no love triangles. Still not a fan of the idea of the main character sleeping with both sisters though.Bram Magnus had been having an on-again off-again relationship with LeAnn. Their relationship was little more than sex but Bram kept going back because of what LeAnn represented. Stability, family, and a simpler way of life. Before he was scheduled to go on his latest deployment, it was made clear to Bram that LeAnn really had no interest in pursuing a committed relationship with him. Although he didn’t like feeling like he didn’t matter, it was fine with Bram because honestly, he didn’t really like LeAnn that much.What Bram really liked about LeAnn was her family. Her sister and Grandfather were good people and being around them made Bram feel connected to something. Although Bram had always found Jaelyn attractive he had never acted on his attraction. When Jaelyn called Bram out on his attitude about her sister, it became clear that there was intense attraction from both sides. With nothing left to lose they engage in a steamy kiss that makes the sparks fly between these characters.While on deployment Bram gets the kick in the rear that he needs and he figures out what it is that he truly wants, and that is Jaelyn. He wants to become worthy of her and to woo her. So, he sets a plan in motion and sets about making his intentions known to Jaelyn. Little did Bram know that Jaelyn has no idea that he has been reaching out to her. When Bram completes his tour, he goes back to determine where things stand with Jaelyn and to see if there is a future between them.Bram had been straddling the line between military and black ops. He had done some time with a black ops team but had not been given the badge that he desired. He had been involved enough though that he was a link to the team. Bram’s relationship with Jaelyn was not exactly a secret and there just happened to be a person with interests in destroying the members of the black ops team that kept an eye on Bram’s movements. This person decided that the easiest way to flush them out into the open was to get Bram involved by targeting his girl. Take to the Limit is a game of high stakes and it will take the effort of Bram and his black ops teammates to keep everyone who is targeted by a deadly enemy safe.There were some points in this story that I really adored! I liked the family aspect and how the sisters overcame the difficulties that came with having dated the same guy. I really appreciated that Bram had his head on straight when it came to Jaelyn and that there was no ridiculous drama there. I definitely found the crime and mystery portion of this story to be well written and it kept my attention. There were also parts that I felt jumped around a bit too much and I really was not connected to the characters. Overall though, I thought that this was an entertaining read that will resonate with romantic suspense readers everywhere.This review is based on a complimentary book I received from NetGalley. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no way affected my review or rating.Find this review and more at The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    more
  • Pennie Morgan
    January 1, 1970
    Bram is a soldier who on the night before he deploys realizes he has been dating the wrong sister and finally shares a hot, and I mean, H-O-T, kiss with Jaelyn. This could have caused all sorts of complications if Jaelyn's sister had wanted Bram but she didn't. When Bram comes home he also brought back danger and trying to keep everything straight made me slightly dizzy. It was overall a good story just too busy. Great suspense and great heat. **Received this ARC for review from the publisher vi Bram is a soldier who on the night before he deploys realizes he has been dating the wrong sister and finally shares a hot, and I mean, H-O-T, kiss with Jaelyn. This could have caused all sorts of complications if Jaelyn's sister had wanted Bram but she didn't. When Bram comes home he also brought back danger and trying to keep everything straight made me slightly dizzy. It was overall a good story just too busy. Great suspense and great heat. **Received this ARC for review from the publisher via NetGalley**
    more
  • Debra Taylor
    January 1, 1970
    This book is a super suspenseful page turner that had me captivated from the very first page. Where have I been that I had missed this series until now ? Bram and Jaelyn had me hooked from the first moment of this steamy, suspenseful and action packed romance. For reasons that became obvious this couple tried to fight a powerful attraction that refused to be denied. When Bram's secret connections put Jaelyn in danger he rushed to the rescue and changed her life forever. This book is wonderfully This book is a super suspenseful page turner that had me captivated from the very first page. Where have I been that I had missed this series until now ? Bram and Jaelyn had me hooked from the first moment of this steamy, suspenseful and action packed romance. For reasons that became obvious this couple tried to fight a powerful attraction that refused to be denied. When Bram's secret connections put Jaelyn in danger he rushed to the rescue and changed her life forever. This book is wonderfully written romantic suspense at it's best. The plot is gripping and sexy as sin, and with amazing characters. It's a passionate romance where the good guys always get their girl and karma catches up with the bad guys in the end. Take To The Limit is book four in the Unbroken Heroes Series by Dawn Ryder. I absolutely loved it ! I'm already craving the next book in this amazing series. So who will be the next Unbroken Hero to take the fall in the game of love ? My money is on Dare ..... I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary Netgalley copy of this super awesome book.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    I won this as a Goodreads Giveaway and started reading it when I was in the mood for a quick, steamy romance. I struggled until about half way through and stopped reading. The writing is disjointed and cuts from one character to another. I couldn't keep track of the characters in the story, and the triangle storyline between the main character and two sisters was just silly. In the author's defense, I have not read any of the earlier books in this series. Perhaps the story and characters would h I won this as a Goodreads Giveaway and started reading it when I was in the mood for a quick, steamy romance. I struggled until about half way through and stopped reading. The writing is disjointed and cuts from one character to another. I couldn't keep track of the characters in the story, and the triangle storyline between the main character and two sisters was just silly. In the author's defense, I have not read any of the earlier books in this series. Perhaps the story and characters would have made more sense if I had some background information.
    more
  • Barbara Miller
    January 1, 1970
    wtg. love it & want more
  • Gigi staub
    January 1, 1970
    They are part of an elite unit. On task. Off grid. These are the men of the Shadow Ops task force. Be seduced and thrilled by Take to the Limit, the next Unbroken Heroes novel by Dawn Ryder. Holding out for a heroA hardened military machine, Bram Magnus is a tough, combat-ready, all-American hero who never surrenders. But the one thing he can't fight? His smoldering, intense attraction to his girlfriend's younger sister. He's always kept his feelings locked deeply down. But when his girlfriend b They are part of an elite unit. On task. Off grid. These are the men of the Shadow Ops task force. Be seduced and thrilled by Take to the Limit, the next Unbroken Heroes novel by Dawn Ryder. Holding out for a heroA hardened military machine, Bram Magnus is a tough, combat-ready, all-American hero who never surrenders. But the one thing he can't fight? His smoldering, intense attraction to his girlfriend's younger sister. He's always kept his feelings locked deeply down. But when his girlfriend betrays him the night before he ships off to Afghanistan, Bram has one chance to show the woman he's resisted for years that he wants her as fiercely as the first day he saw her.Ever since her older sister first brought home the soldier with steely hard muscles and piercing eyes, Jaelyn has wanted Bram, and when her sister casts him aside the night before he leaves, Jaelyn can't resist one steamy hot kiss with him. But danger is not far behind, and even as a deadly enemy hunts them, their relationship only grows more explosive. It's all Bram can do to keep Jaelyn safe, but with a threat this powerful, will they pay the ultimate price for their passion?Review:This is my first time reading any of Ms. Ryder's works. I have been wanting to read them for awhile but the opportunity had not come up until now.I will start off by saying this is book number 4 in the series, but it can totally be read as a stand alone with little difficulty. Like I said I had not read anything by her and I was not confused at coming in at book 4. I really liked the story and the characters and now I want to go back and read the others when I can get a chance.In this book the main couple is Bram and Jaelyn. When they first act on their attraction, Bram is actually Jaelyn's sisters boyfriend. Which is kind of crappy but Bram and LeAnn have a very, weird relationship. Jaelyn is who Bram wants and he makes sure he comes back to claim her. Unfortunately because of his military and spy like past, he brings some trouble back with him. What ensues is Bram and Jaelyn fighting for their lives and to be together.This book is very suspenseful and action packed. It is also very sensual and sexy, Bram & Jaelyn have great chemistry. I loved that both of them fight together and are both strong characters. It does have some light-hearted moments, especially where Jaelyn's grandfather is involved. It is told from multiple points of view. The only thing that bothered me was LeAnn, her character was not very likable through part of the book and then did an about face after that, maybe it was just me.Very enjoyable romantic suspense.4Stars*I voluntarily read an advance reader copy of this book provided by the publisher.*
    more
  • Dolly Sickles
    January 1, 1970
    Sometimes in life, we don’t get it right the first time around. Neil Armstrong would’ve never walked on the moon if Pioneer 4 hadn’t made it past Earth’s orbit. The world would’ve never experienced the pleasure of ice cream if refrigeration hadn’t been invented. And Bram Magnus would never have fallen in love with Jaelyn if he hadn’t snuck a kiss.TAKEN TO THE LIMIT is a dichotomy. On the one hand, it’s a story of retribution for Rick Sullivan, left to die in a filthy prison with a hatred burning Sometimes in life, we don’t get it right the first time around. Neil Armstrong would’ve never walked on the moon if Pioneer 4 hadn’t made it past Earth’s orbit. The world would’ve never experienced the pleasure of ice cream if refrigeration hadn’t been invented. And Bram Magnus would never have fallen in love with Jaelyn if he hadn’t snuck a kiss.TAKEN TO THE LIMIT is a dichotomy. On the one hand, it’s a story of retribution for Rick Sullivan, left to die in a filthy prison with a hatred burning in his gut for “members of the Shadow ops team that had taken down the Raven.” It’s also a creepy stalker story, centering on a guy named Gideon who worked with Bram’s team at Cobra Fire Base, Afghanistan.When Bram shipped out for duty, he brought with him a photo of Jaelyn and her sister, LeAnn. He and LeAnn had been hooking up casually for a while, though it was Jaelyn he really wanted. The night before shipping out to Afghanistan, he discovered LeAnn cheating on him and finally gave into temptation with Jaelyn … their kiss rocked his world. But Bram wasn’t the only person affected by this new attraction.Creepy. Creepy and crazy often go hand-in-hand, and these guys have it in spades. Rick Sullivan is shrewd and determined to destroy the men who imprisoned him, and thrilled to help Gideon grab the object of his obsession: Jaelyn. It’s like a partnership made in hell. After all, why waste all his payback energy chasing after Bram when grabbing Jaelyn would bring the fight directly to him? So they grabbed Jaelyn and bolted.Peppered in with the retribution and stalking is the practical problem of Bram falling for the sister of his ex-side piece. You just know that’s not going to be an easy transition. Most people have a come-to-Jesus moment at some point in their life, I think, and LeAnn’s was after Jaelyn was kidnapped. She finally comes clean about trying to sabotage the relationship by hiding the love letters Bram sent to her sister while he was deployed. Because, while LeAnn wasn’t necessarily interested in waiting around for him to become the love of her life, neither did she intend for her sister to be the focus of Bram’s love and affection.Love is a powerful force. From the immortal words of Sting, “Love can mend your life, but love can break your heart.” For Bram, just the promise of love gave him hope. Life is hard. Love shouldn’t have to be.This is more of a 3.75 stars kind of book for me.*This review was originally published at Heroes & Heartbreakers: https://www.heroesandheartbreakers.co...
    more
  • Zita
    January 1, 1970
    Danger followed him home…This is the fourth book in the Unbroken Heroes series that can be read as a stand-alone, though many references to prior characters and events are best understood if you’ve read the previous books.Prior to deployment to Afghanistan Bram Magnus was betrayed by his girlfriend, a woman who was in reality emotionally just a booty call for him, her younger sister was the one who really attracted him. They shared a memorable kiss that last night and he knew he’d be back for he Danger followed him home…This is the fourth book in the Unbroken Heroes series that can be read as a stand-alone, though many references to prior characters and events are best understood if you’ve read the previous books.Prior to deployment to Afghanistan Bram Magnus was betrayed by his girlfriend, a woman who was in reality emotionally just a booty call for him, her younger sister was the one who really attracted him. They shared a memorable kiss that last night and he knew he’d be back for her even if he shouldn’t. Tempted by the Shadow Ops teams and currently being recruited by them, having a connection out in the open is dangerous but he can’t resist the pull to Jaelyn. Men like him are at risk for retribution if they can be found and what followed him home is personal and decidedly perilous.Always the responsible sister Jaelyn Sondors felt guilt about longing for the man her sister had. When her sister threw him away she couldn’t resist the temptation of a heated kiss she hasn’t been able to forget but he did leave and there’d been no word from him since. Now he’s returned and looks her way. But can she follow her true feelings with her sister wanting to instill herself in his life again? She has no idea how far her sister had already gone to undermine their relationship which is just beginning. Her sister is the least of her worries for she’s become a target by association and will need all her wits to survive what followed Bram home.Strong steamy palpable chemistry between the protagonists drew them to each other like magnetism though many things (family, career, external forces) sought to pull them apart yet what was meant to be stood true but they had to fight for it and in that battle there was much character growth. Remnants of previous events came back to haunt the Shadow Ops team of which Bram was aligned to, a man seeking vengeance against them joined a man with an obsession for a woman in a picture. Can Bram and his friends save Jaelyn in time?This book didn’t have the level of intricate plot or depth of conspiracies the others had and therefore was not as powerful a read for me as the first three books where the intensity of action and suspense was thoroughly engaging. The man being with both sisters is a trope that doesn’t sit well with me but I liked how it was done here. The numerous breaks between character voices and changes of scenes that were not clearly designated was at times confusing. I didn’t always know who was speaking and had to backtrack to see where the focus had changed. Regardless, I enjoyed the read and absolutely loved the grandfather and his secrets.An advanced reading copy was obtained from the publisher via NetGalley.
    more
  • Brigitte
    January 1, 1970
    This author is new to me, and as this is part of a series, I was a little apprehensive, but not disappointed. I soon became involved even though, I would have benefited from the background of some of the other characters. This can be read as a standalone. Bram is in the military and is also part of the Shadow Ops special force. Honour is what's more important to him. He is in a no string attached relationship. Jaelyn is the sister of Bram's girlfriend. Totally her opposite. She is family orienta This author is new to me, and as this is part of a series, I was a little apprehensive, but not disappointed. I soon became involved even though, I would have benefited from the background of some of the other characters. This can be read as a standalone. Bram is in the military and is also part of the Shadow Ops special force. Honour is what's more important to him. He is in a no string attached relationship. Jaelyn is the sister of Bram's girlfriend. Totally her opposite. She is family orientated and would do anything for her grandfather. He is adorable! Just before Bram ships off to Afghanistan, he pays a surprise visit to his girlfriend, only to discover that she is cheating on him. He is not in the least bit upset! He has his eyes set on Jaelyn and has been secretly pining for her ever since they first met. She is besotted by him too. He acts on impulse and gives Jaelyn a smouldering kiss. To his surprise, she doesn't resist. Quite the contrary. He has never thought of settling down in the past but, his time in Afghanistan gives him a change of heart. He craves to see Jaelyn. She doesn't think that she will see him again and can't forget "the kiss". He returns with the single focus of winning her over. The flames are ignited! Then, he finds that he has been followed and she is a target. He is prepared to protect her at any cost. As soon as one danger is out the way, he uncovers that there are others who want to get to him and the team. He takes the right measures but the oppositions are nothing, if not persistent and the heat is on. He has to make the best decision to keep her safe! This is an action packed and fast paced thriller romance. There is betrayal with revenge and power as the main drivers. It's full of angst and suspense. I was completely captivated with the whole concept. Absolutely rivetting! I received a complimentary eARC from the publisher via NetGalley and the views expressed are my personal opinion.
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 1, 1970
    I have loved everything by Ms. Ryder and this book is no different. I read one of the first books of this series, and I have to say I liked this one far more than the other that I had read. Bram is dating Jaelyns sister.... until he isn't anymore. When he was cheated on he just wrote it off. Until his attraction to Jaelyn becomes more than just a trickle and transforms into a full on inferno. Too bad he is not suppose to leave a trace because he is hoping to join a covert team of men who work to I have loved everything by Ms. Ryder and this book is no different. I read one of the first books of this series, and I have to say I liked this one far more than the other that I had read. Bram is dating Jaelyns sister.... until he isn't anymore. When he was cheated on he just wrote it off. Until his attraction to Jaelyn becomes more than just a trickle and transforms into a full on inferno. Too bad he is not suppose to leave a trace because he is hoping to join a covert team of men who work together to save the world all while being absolute ghosts. But when he cant get Jaelyn off his mind while he is deployed to Afghanistan he makes a mistake. He writes her all the time and one of his fellow men steals the photo of his ex and Jaelyn. Now Bram will do anything in order to save the women who has managed to become so much to him in such a short amount of time, even if it means giving up his future as part of the special op team. Jaelyn is tired of always giving up what she wants so when a chance to be with Bram presents itself in the way of a cheating sister she kisses him. She knows its wrong and that it can only be that once but she couldn't give up the opportunity. But now that he is back from deployment she knows he came back for her sister. So even though it kills her to see them together she will let him go and do her duty as the "perfect" sister and continue to care for her familial unit. That is until strange things occur and her whole life is uprooted. This is a suspenseful romance that you will not want to put down. Although it got a little confusing as who was talking at times it was still a great book. And yet another masterpiece by Ms. Ryder. I can not wait to see what comes next in this great series. Especially since I think I know who will be the next main characters and I can not wait for the explosions that will ensue. I would highly recommend this book. ~A Book Obsessed Chicks Review Team Selection.
    more
  • Carmella Siciliano
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy of this e-book and am voluntarily leaving an honest opinion.Bram is a tough, no-nonsense man. He works in "Shadow Ops" and is often traveling for missions. The night before he is due to ship out, at a party,he realizes the woman he has been seeing when he is home is not going to sit around and wait for him. She is definitely self centered but he didn't make any promises either.He chances upon her sister Jaelyn and it changes the way he has thought about her. She is quite feisty I received a copy of this e-book and am voluntarily leaving an honest opinion.Bram is a tough, no-nonsense man. He works in "Shadow Ops" and is often traveling for missions. The night before he is due to ship out, at a party,he realizes the woman he has been seeing when he is home is not going to sit around and wait for him. She is definitely self centered but he didn't make any promises either.He chances upon her sister Jaelyn and it changes the way he has thought about her. She is quite feisty, not as quiet as he'd thought. They share quite the kiss and when he goes away, he writes her.Jaelyn thinks of him all the time also. When he returns home, he goes to see her.The problem is someone else is watching too and when they see his interest in her, it makes her a target to get to him.Bram is determined to get Jaelyn back safely no matter what he has to do. He enlists a few of his "team" to help him which will probably cause a big problem but he will do what he must to save Jaelyn.Can he save Jaelyn?Bram was pretty much an "unfinished piece of work" in the beginning of this book. He wanted to officially be on the Ops team by his own merit. He is is trying to become his own man, not the man dictated by his father. He matures quite a bit between his "work" and his falling for Jaelyn.When Bram returns, Jaelyn sees a more mature Bram. Now she must depend on him to save her. The person whom took her is quite unstable but there is even another person pulling strings to get to the team also.The life of Jaelyn, her sister and beloved Grandfather will change due to aspects of her rescue. Will it bring them together or break them?I loved the Grandfather in this book, he was an awesome man who loved his granddaughters. He may have been 80 but he isn't frail and the girls really get to know the man their grandfather is!This was a good story!
    more
  • Sandy Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first book I have read by Dawn Ryder. This book is part of a series called Unbroken Heroes. It can be fully read alone and understood but I also went back and got the previous books so I could read about some of the side characters in this one. This one is about Bram Magnus and Jaelyn. Jaelyn is the younger sister of his "girlfriend". Bram is on his way to be deployed again and goes to see LeAnn, only to find her going off with another man. Jaelyn sees him outside watching and makes This is the first book I have read by Dawn Ryder. This book is part of a series called Unbroken Heroes. It can be fully read alone and understood but I also went back and got the previous books so I could read about some of the side characters in this one. This one is about Bram Magnus and Jaelyn. Jaelyn is the younger sister of his "girlfriend". Bram is on his way to be deployed again and goes to see LeAnn, only to find her going off with another man. Jaelyn sees him outside watching and makes a few comments that push him to do something that he can't regret. They both have feelings for each other that they have never spoken about or looked to closely at because of her sister. While Bram is deployed he decides he wants to see where a real relationship with Jaelyn could go. Little does he know that she will be targeted because of this decision. This book had quite a few twists and turns. From the connection with her family and sister to the things that happen with a colleague. There are things that happen that I never could have predicted. But then you see how strong the characters truly are. There were things that I truly loved about this book but then there were a couple of things I didn't like as well. It ran a little for me at times. And I didn't like Bram at first. I thought he was wishy washy. Who truly wants a man that was with your sister? But says he always felt a pull towards you? And Jaelyn seemed like a pushover to me. I thought her family walked all over her, and in some ways they do. But then you find out how truly strong she is. How she won't put up with a bunch of bull when it's something truly important. Overall, this book was really good. I liked the characters once I got farther into it and I was better able to relate to them. Definitely worth the read!
    more
  • Carolyn's
    January 1, 1970
    Bram Magnum is a super sexy military man on the verge of going shadow ops. The night prior to shipping off to Afghanistan he finds that his "hook-up girlfriend" is with another guy which he finds really doesn't bother him. Why? Well because he really has it bad for her sister. Yeap- and Jaelyn has it hot for him as well. Jaelyn is a strong and fierce woman, loving and taking care of her grandfather while her extremely flirtatious and outgoing sister seemingly and is completely surprised to find Bram Magnum is a super sexy military man on the verge of going shadow ops. The night prior to shipping off to Afghanistan he finds that his "hook-up girlfriend" is with another guy which he finds really doesn't bother him. Why? Well because he really has it bad for her sister. Yeap- and Jaelyn has it hot for him as well. Jaelyn is a strong and fierce woman, loving and taking care of her grandfather while her extremely flirtatious and outgoing sister seemingly and is completely surprised to find Bram attracted to her- proof of that is their hot and steamy kiss they share right before he leaves! UGH!Bram cannot get Jaelyn out of his thoughts and writes to her constantly. His contractor friend takes notice to the time Bram puts into writing these letters and takes a fascination with the woman Bram has at home. Heading straight to Jaelyn when he gets out he unknowingly is bringing danger to her doorstep. Not only is the crazy guy from Afghanistan on their trail but a shadow from the past joins in on the mission to rip what Bram holds most dear- Jaelyn- from him. The story takes off and is one interesting, tantalizing and fierce ride. Jaelyn is stronger than anyone could have imagined and perhaps her grandfather raised her that way for reasons I would love to know more about!!The entire gang is brought back into the drama when again Bram unknowingly brings it to their backyard. I love their friendships, the way they take of each other and have each other's back. Love these strong, alpha men being brought to their knees by the women they love. Ginger is a hoot with Saxon!Enjoyed this book and it leaves you with many questions that you long to see answered in the next book.
    more
  • P.e. lolo
    January 1, 1970
    This is the fourth book in the series and really this one I felt was a little better than the last one that I read. Bram Magnus is being deployed again and before he goes he arrives at his girlfriend’s house seeing her kissing another guy. Her younger sister says I don’t know what you expected and before he walks away they end up kissing twice. The kisses knock the socks off and Jaelyn she now knows he is the man for her. While he gone all of the letters he writes to her are stolen by her sister This is the fourth book in the series and really this one I felt was a little better than the last one that I read. Bram Magnus is being deployed again and before he goes he arrives at his girlfriend’s house seeing her kissing another guy. Her younger sister says I don’t know what you expected and before he walks away they end up kissing twice. The kisses knock the socks off and Jaelyn she now knows he is the man for her. While he gone all of the letters he writes to her are stolen by her sister so when he comes back they are off just a little. While he was gone also something else was stolen from him and that was a picture of the two sisters. I still don’t know how he never figured out it was gone. Anyway things start happening to the family and it is throwing up red flags to Bram to the point where he is having to prove his love for Jaelyn. That is until she is kidnapped. Here her part of the story the author makes her strong and she makes her defend herself. When she is rescued by the special ops team, the whole family has two move. For Bram he feels it is his fault but Jaelyn says B.S. don’t she knows what she is getting into. There at the compound you meet all of the characters from the other books their wife’s and their children and how it works for everyone. Also they come up with a plan to take out there nemesis Tyler. You also find out about Jaclyn's grandfather, and his story was good and kept the whole story going. With all of the characters it really added to this story but the main character of Jaelyn and her strength and seeing how strong she became after each trial. This is a very good story. I got this book from Netgalley.com I gave it 4 stars. Follow us at www.1rad-readerreviews.com
    more
  • Alexis
    January 1, 1970
    Take To The Limit was my first Dawn Ryder book. I would have liked to start at the beginning of the Unbroken Heroes series but I received an ARC from a Goodreads giveaway. (Many thanks) I'll try not to give away too many details. Hang on, it's action-packed and the story moves swiftly. It took a while for me to catch up with the story line. There is not a lot of recapping from the continuity of the series. Just enough historical details are interspersed to keep you involved but probably not enou Take To The Limit was my first Dawn Ryder book. I would have liked to start at the beginning of the Unbroken Heroes series but I received an ARC from a Goodreads giveaway. (Many thanks) I'll try not to give away too many details. Hang on, it's action-packed and the story moves swiftly. It took a while for me to catch up with the story line. There is not a lot of recapping from the continuity of the series. Just enough historical details are interspersed to keep you involved but probably not enough to make you bored if you already read preceding books. This book focuses mostly on Bram Magnus and how he fits in with the group. There is an enemy, presumably from previous books, that returns and a new villainous interaction for Jaelyn, Bram's love interest. It didn't seem to be written to evoke an emotional connection to their relationship, so it ranked low on my angst meter.Ryder includes interesting, likeable characters and it is easy to envision the camaraderie and strength that links this team. She also has developed some despicable and vile characters. Kudos to the proofreaders as I found only about a half dozen errors, in the advanced reader paperback, that I will assume were caught before final release ("His cock sprang free, egger [sic] for space"). I have read worse.There are some personality changes and tactical actions that seem unrealistically quick but that's why it's called fiction. This is not your typical light-reading romance nor standard smut novel. The cover is subtly sexy and there are growly alpha males galore but there is more action than just the frictional kind. This book drifts over to the thriller genre but includes some lighter moments along with graphic sex and violence. Now I need to go back and get the first three books of the Unbroken Heroes, learn more about those characters and their earlier adventures before continuing on to see how the ongoing conflict plays out. Take To The Limit is enjoyable on its own but if you truly want to know what is behind the heart of these events, I recommend starting at the beginning.
    more
  • Lillian Cummings
    January 1, 1970
    What will keep you going? Bram is about to be deployed overseas and all he wants to do is see his girl LeAnn but things haven't turned out so well. She is with someone else and her sister Jaelyn is the one that has gotten him interested. He knows better than this but just one kiss won't hurt will it? He has to leave her now and she knows that she could never ever have Bram anyways.The time that Bram is away he writes to her but he never gets a reply so on his leave he goes to see her but he has What will keep you going? Bram is about to be deployed overseas and all he wants to do is see his girl LeAnn but things haven't turned out so well. She is with someone else and her sister Jaelyn is the one that has gotten him interested. He knows better than this but just one kiss won't hurt will it? He has to leave her now and she knows that she could never ever have Bram anyways.The time that Bram is away he writes to her but he never gets a reply so on his leave he goes to see her but he has no idea why she is so different towards him. Little does he knows that someone wants to have what he wants and this person will take it no matter Bram does to stop it.Jaelyn is taken and her life becomes a nightmare as she knows that whatever dreams she had of being with Bram are all gone as this madman is about to make her his slave and there is nothing is can do to stop it.Bram calls his friends and they come to help as they have all been there and they will do whatever they can to stop the madman from destroying Bram and his life. Unfortunately old enemies are back and they will stop at nothing to kill the team. So how do they find Jaelyn, kill the threat and try on move on forward? Can Bram find her before it is too late and will she ever be the same again after what has happened to her?A great read full of intense feelings, laughter, friendship and love. Another good book in the series. I was lucky enough to receive a copy in exchange for an honest review via netgalley & the publishing house.
    more
Write a review