Motor Crush, Vol. 1
The team behind the critically-acclaimed revamp of Batgirl returns with an exciting sci-fi action-adventure series!By day, Domino Swift competes for fame & fortune in a worldwide motorcycle racing league. By night, she cracks heads of rival gangs in brutal bike wars to gain possession of a rare, valuable contraband: an engine-boosting "machine narcotic" known as Crush.Collecting: Motor Crush 1-5

Motor Crush, Vol. 1 Details

TitleMotor Crush, Vol. 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherImage Comics
ISBN1534301895
ISBN-139781534301894
Number of pages136 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Graphic Novels, Graphic Novels Comics, Glbt, Science Fiction

Motor Crush, Vol. 1 Review

  • Maria (Big City Bookworm)
    May 22, 2017
    I think I may have found a new favourite comic series! I liked it so much that I’m thinking that I may have to subscribe to the upcoming new monthly issues on Comixology! This was fast paced and exciting and it left off with a great cliffhanger that makes me NEED to continue reading as soon as the new issues are released!--What I LikedThe kick-ass female lead. I mean, this is always a great feature am I right? Domino Swift not only has a kick ass name, but also a kick ass personality. I loved he I think I may have found a new favourite comic series! I liked it so much that I’m thinking that I may have to subscribe to the upcoming new monthly issues on Comixology! This was fast paced and exciting and it left off with a great cliffhanger that makes me NEED to continue reading as soon as the new issues are released!--What I LikedThe kick-ass female lead. I mean, this is always a great feature am I right? Domino Swift not only has a kick ass name, but also a kick ass personality. I loved her right from the start. She is definitely one of my favourite characters since Marcus in Deadly Class and Marko in Saga. I can’t wait to read more about her!The concept. I love racing-themed things. I love the Fast & The Furious franchise, I love Motorcross and Monster Jam and movies like Gone In 60 Seconds. If I could have participated in any sport, I would choose car racing which is hilarious considering I don’t even have a drivers licence. Anyway, the second I read the synopsis and realized this series features motorcycle racing, I knew I would love it right away. Not only are they racing, but they’re racing for a prize. Love it. I need more now please.The surprises. These first couple of issues were filled with constant twists and turns that I definitely was not expecting! Each issue left with a bit of a cliffhanger or with a few unanswered questions which was a key factor in what made me want to continue on to the next issue as soon as possible.The pace. The writing was perfectly paced. The twists and cliffhangers were done so well. They flow in the story was amazing. The pace was amazing and I absolutely blew through these first five issues!--What I Didn’t LikeLoved it all. Clearly, I loved everything about the introduction to this series! The only thing I’m not liking is waiting for the next issue to be released!--As you can tell, I absolutely love this series so far! It was a great introduction to a new story and I can’t wait to read more! Motor Crush is definitely another win for Image Comics!--Initial Post Reading Thoughts: I just finished reading the first 5 single issues that will make up this first volume and oh my god I am in love with this series. It's amazing. So fast paced intriguing! It left me with just the right amount of mystery and cliffhanger. I can't wait to continue reading this series!
    more
  • Rory Wilding
    May 31, 2017
    During DC’s New 52, the monthly Batgirl title underwent a soft reboot following a successful run from Gail Simone, and thus under the creatorship of Brenden Fletcher, Cameron Stewart, and Babs Tarr made a highly energetic comic that is fun for the YA readership. What seems initially born out of a single issue from that run in which Barbara Gordon is battling villainous motorcycling-riding twins under the stylish influence of anime/manga, Motor Crush seems to be a creator-owned love letter to tha During DC’s New 52, the monthly Batgirl title underwent a soft reboot following a successful run from Gail Simone, and thus under the creatorship of Brenden Fletcher, Cameron Stewart, and Babs Tarr made a highly energetic comic that is fun for the YA readership. What seems initially born out of a single issue from that run in which Barbara Gordon is battling villainous motorcycling-riding twins under the stylish influence of anime/manga, Motor Crush seems to be a creator-owned love letter to that particular Japanese medium.Please click here for my full review.
    more
  • Chad
    June 21, 2017
    If you liked the recent Batgirl series by the same creative team, you'll enjoy this. Motor Crush is the story of Domino Swift, a motorcycle racer with secrets. By day she races in the pros, at night, she races for a drug called crush in a Mad Max style race. This is where things get confusing. Everyone wants this drug, but when it's force fed to someone their head explodes. The writers establish that Crush is poison so why does everyone want it? But then Domino needs it to live, because she's ac If you liked the recent Batgirl series by the same creative team, you'll enjoy this. Motor Crush is the story of Domino Swift, a motorcycle racer with secrets. By day she races in the pros, at night, she races for a drug called crush in a Mad Max style race. This is where things get confusing. Everyone wants this drug, but when it's force fed to someone their head explodes. The writers establish that Crush is poison so why does everyone want it? But then Domino needs it to live, because she's actually adopted and their's an alien spaceship looking for her. This story is ridiculously complicated and contradictory and we are given no answers. The characters are likable and the characters are unique but there is way too much going on to provide a coherent story.Received an advance copy from Image and Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Ashley Brooks
    July 1, 2017
    So this was really good and beautiful and I'm pretty sure Babs Tarr draws some of the hottest babes in comics so that's also good.
  • Cat (cat-thecatlady)
    June 17, 2017
    I love team Fletcher, Stewart and Tarr so much 😭I enjoyed this comic a lot. I never thought I was into motorcycle races but here we are. this comic is so much more than that too, and it's going places I wasn't expecting but are definitely into. I want more now!!full review here: https://catshelf.wordpress.com/2017/0...
    more
  • Juan Carlos
    June 23, 2017
    Velocidad, motos, luces de neón, competición, carreras, estética futurista, una prota molona como Domino Swift, aunque Lola no se queda atrás, secretos del pasado y toque de scifi. Metes éstos elementos en la coctelera y sale Motor Crush.Ganas del vol 2
    more
  • Liz
    June 19, 2017
    Motor Crush is completely unique and standalone in the comic book world. It’s about a girl named Domino Swift (love the name) that races motorcycles for a living. These races can be legit or more illicit, Swift isn’t terribly picky. Sounds pretty standard right? Well not really, as the prizes are a chemical called Crush – it’s used to give motorcycles a boost. The races themselves a roller derby violent and allow all kinds of weapons on the course. (view spoiler)[ I really liked Motor Crush – a Motor Crush is completely unique and standalone in the comic book world. It’s about a girl named Domino Swift (love the name) that races motorcycles for a living. These races can be legit or more illicit, Swift isn’t terribly picky. Sounds pretty standard right? Well not really, as the prizes are a chemical called Crush – it’s used to give motorcycles a boost. The races themselves a roller derby violent and allow all kinds of weapons on the course. (view spoiler)[ I really liked Motor Crush – a little bit to my surprise if I’m being honest. It’s fast paced, intense, and full of intrigue. What looked like a fairly simple and straight forward racing comic actually ended up being so much more, so don’t underestimate the series based on the premise (like I almost did). I’ll admit one of the first things I thought of when I saw the alternate cover (see below) was Bubblegum Crisis. I was sold on the spot! The cover art (both the standard and the alternate) is absolutely stunning, and I’m a total sucker for things like that. Domino Swift is not like all the other racers, and I’m not just saying that to be cliché. On top of all the other plots going on (racing, mobs/gangs, family issues, etc), we have our own little mystery about who and what Swift is. It adds an additional element to the series, as well as becoming a main focus towards the end of the first volume. I’m curious to see where it leads. I thought the concept of a drug being used on motorcycles to speed them up was pretty interesting (kind of like a spin on doping horses?). The fact that it’s allowed (I think? Maybe it’s just an accepted thing, while still being against the rules?) but is too expensive for most riders to afford adds a unique twist. I’m curious to see where Motor Crush leads us; between the mysterious figure and the cliffhanger at the end, I’m not really sure what to expect next. I’m looking forward to the release of volume two!(hide spoiler)]For more reviews, check out Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks
    more
  • Christy
    June 27, 2017
    Come for the creative team and stay for the flawless story, art, and FEELS that you'll have after Motor Crush Vol. 1.I am a big time fan of this creative team, having read Batgirl start to finish (and not continuing after they left...It is NOT the same). This team is known for stretching the boundaries within the traditional comic world, something those of us who are not male or not white (or, heaven forbid, both - yay for a WOC lead who likes girls!) desperately yearn for. Motor Crush is set in Come for the creative team and stay for the flawless story, art, and FEELS that you'll have after Motor Crush Vol. 1.I am a big time fan of this creative team, having read Batgirl start to finish (and not continuing after they left...It is NOT the same). This team is known for stretching the boundaries within the traditional comic world, something those of us who are not male or not white (or, heaven forbid, both - yay for a WOC lead who likes girls!) desperately yearn for. Motor Crush is set in a sci-fi futuristic world where technology is a regular part of your life...and by regular I mean in your face. Little video balls follow the racers around, capturing their lives off the track. Kind of creepy-annoying - a feeling our main character makes well known.Speaking of main character, Domino is on her way to being the world's greatest. She is kicking ass and taking names - and will constantly have you on the edge of your seat. She has a bit of a chip on her shoulder, which is easily eroded as you see her interact with the people she cares for. She also has a couple of bad habits that keep readers on the edge of their seat. See, there's Crush, the highly valued (but mysterious) substance that helps boost riders past the finish line. Domino is on a mission to collect it...For more than what's on the surface. This book can be dark and twisty, which is portrayed through Babs Tarr's choice of colors. This race to find Crush becomes a central plot point, where fast cars, cute girls (helllooo Lola), and Domino's recently uncovered past play a role. We are left with a huge cliffhanger at the end of issue 5 - and a long wait till issue 6!
    more
  • Emma
    June 21, 2017
    Babs, you've done it again! Didn't think this team up of Fletcher, Stewart, & Tarr could get much better than their Batgirl of Burnside reboot but I was wrong. This first volume absolutely crushed it (ha!). Firstly, the story was amazing. Really fast-paced, solid world-building, suspenseful points to the plot, and some great characterisation. I was plunged into this weird and beautiful neon sci-fi world and felt like I was really in the story. That's how invested I was in the characters from Babs, you've done it again! Didn't think this team up of Fletcher, Stewart, & Tarr could get much better than their Batgirl of Burnside reboot but I was wrong. This first volume absolutely crushed it (ha!). Firstly, the story was amazing. Really fast-paced, solid world-building, suspenseful points to the plot, and some great characterisation. I was plunged into this weird and beautiful neon sci-fi world and felt like I was really in the story. That's how invested I was in the characters from the get go. And now onto the art; my favourite! I'm such a huge fan of Babs and she has truly out done herself. From the beautiful water colour scenery, to the almost pop art design of some character close-ups, each panel was so intricate and detailed that it had a crazy 3D, holographic quality to the art. Some panels had that whole fuzzy, "not wearing your 3D glasses when you should be" look, which really added to the unsettling tone of those particular panels. The colours were gorgeous too. Electric neons with a glow-stick type feel, soft pastels for the lighter, more romance based scenes, and dark, punky hues contrasted with neons for the more intense scenes. Everything about this art was absolutely perfect and fit the emotions of each panel so well. Definitely one of my favourite comic volumes ever. This team is just incomparably perfect.
    more
  • Chris Thompson
    May 11, 2017
    Definitely original, combining a mix of fantasy, science fiction, realism, and a little bit of Fast and the Furious. Motor Crush is brightly colored, drawn with feeling, and it looks great. This is a series that has lots of promise and plenty of mystery - just who is Domino Swift?This would be an excellent book if it weren't for the fact that the story unfolds unevenly. After an excellent opening issue, the story sputters for the next two chapters before returning to the promise of its debut. Bu Definitely original, combining a mix of fantasy, science fiction, realism, and a little bit of Fast and the Furious. Motor Crush is brightly colored, drawn with feeling, and it looks great. This is a series that has lots of promise and plenty of mystery - just who is Domino Swift?This would be an excellent book if it weren't for the fact that the story unfolds unevenly. After an excellent opening issue, the story sputters for the next two chapters before returning to the promise of its debut. But even in its lesser moments it is entertaining to look at as you make note of the invention of Brenden Fletcher, Cameron Stewart, and Babs Tarr, who pull the reader in by emulating interactive features, giving the appearance that one can touch the page and unlock new features. And as the story moves on, they surprise us with new additions, new characters, and new directions. This should be fun.
    more
  • Marisa Carpico
    June 11, 2017
    This didn't really grab me when I read the first issue months ago, but this worked very well as a whole. I'd like to say that's not just because Lola wasn't in the first issue, but I can't be sure. What a goddess. Domino is strong but flawed, which makes her a good protagonist, but also makes her a little difficult to root for.I still have some problems with the world. The cliffhanger is strong, but the decision leading up to it doesn't quite work. Her previous times taking a lot of crush are to This didn't really grab me when I read the first issue months ago, but this worked very well as a whole. I'd like to say that's not just because Lola wasn't in the first issue, but I can't be sure. What a goddess. Domino is strong but flawed, which makes her a good protagonist, but also makes her a little difficult to root for.I still have some problems with the world. The cliffhanger is strong, but the decision leading up to it doesn't quite work. Her previous times taking a lot of crush are too uncontrolled to justify her taking so much even in that tense moment. Liked the idea of this being about addiction and dependency, but the more it seems like this is all about conspiracy or some sort of messiah thing, the less interested I am.All this said, I will put up with just about anything narratively to keep seeing Babs Tarr's art. Goodness is it stunning. The sense of fashion and the visual style of this world are 90% of what makes this compelling. And the colors!
    more
  • Paul Allard
    June 29, 2017
    Motorcycle racing drama comic collectionThis comic collection deals with a girl motorcycle racer who also takes part in illegal street races, the prize of which is Crush, an illegal accelerant, which she consumes. There is a lot of drama, a lot of motorcycle racing as you can imagine and plenty of action.The illustrations are anime-inspired in my opinion and quite colourful and the series is quite engaging and novel. A bit derivative of the Flash comics at times. Worth a look but not really my “ Motorcycle racing drama comic collectionThis comic collection deals with a girl motorcycle racer who also takes part in illegal street races, the prize of which is Crush, an illegal accelerant, which she consumes. There is a lot of drama, a lot of motorcycle racing as you can imagine and plenty of action.The illustrations are anime-inspired in my opinion and quite colourful and the series is quite engaging and novel. A bit derivative of the Flash comics at times. Worth a look but not really my “thing”. This is only Volume 1 and there is definitely more to come.
    more
  • Loki
    June 16, 2017
    A weird hybrid of illegal street racing with science fictional conspiracies and, of course, the titular drug - a drug for motorcycles, not for people... or is it? Fletcher's writing isn't especially nuanced, but with such a propulsive story that's not a huge problem. And Cameron Stewart's art is cartoony, but expressive - the racing scenes in particular have a real sense of motion, and his faces are each unique and unmistakable. Can't wait to see what happens in the next volume.
    more
  • Mindy Rose
    June 30, 2017
    think the fast and the furious but with a woc lesbian protag, motorcycles instead of cars, and instead of nos it's a mysterious glowing substance called crush which our protag also relies on to survive. THIS IS AMAZING!!! EVERYTHING ABOUT THIS WAS THE GODDAMN BEST SHIT!!! i cannot wait for volume 2..truly i am so impressed, get your hands on a copy of this asap. 6/5.
    more
  • Megan
    June 16, 2017
    Super loved this!!! The plot was even deeper than I originally thought and went places dark enough to keep my attention throughout the whole volume. Definitely recommend!
  • Cia
    June 15, 2017
    Fantastic new series from Team Batgirl, with some great writing that really lets Tarr's artwork shine. Intrigued to see where they go with this!
  • Heather
    July 1, 2017
    Interesting enough that I want to see where volume 2 takes us.
  • Rachiie
    June 27, 2017
    I love it! picked this up on a whim when I saw the beautiful black girl on the cover. Great concept, beautiful art work, interesting story. Also one of the characters looks like Rose from SU.
  • Rebecca Jo
    May 22, 2017
    Team batgirl does it again with a new series! Tarr's art is so amazing! I love this series so much and craving more!
  • Sarah
    June 29, 2017
    LOVE LOVE LOVE!Great cast of characters! Fantastic art! I love it all!
  • Claire Macomson
    June 30, 2017
    Beautiful art and color! The story is interesting but left on quite a cliffhanger. Might be better read together with vol 2.
  • Courtney
    June 30, 2017
    I'm in.
  • Monika
    June 20, 2017
    So cool and original. Can't wait for the next volume!
  • Yissel
    July 1, 2017
    If you know someone who thinks they're "too cool" to read comics, give them this comic.
  • Cassie
    June 25, 2017
    Loved the story, characters, style, colors, and art. Can't wait for more.
  • Secret Stacks
    March 7, 2017
    This comic was discussed in The Secret Stacks Episode 25.
Write a review