Monster in the Closet (Romantic Suspense, #19; Baltimore, #5)
The Sunday Times bestselling author of Every Dark Corner returns with an exclusive novel celebrating ten years of Karen Rose's thrillers in the UK. MONSTER IN THE CLOSET reunites readers with characters from Karen Rose's bestselling Baltimore series.A mother is dead, and now her killer hunts the child that witnessed the brutal crime...Private Investigator Clay Maynard locates missing children for clients, but has nearly given up hope of finding his own daughter, cruelly stolen from him by his ex-wife twenty-three years ago.Equine therapist Taylor Dawson has chosen to intern at Daphne Montgomery-Carter's stables so that she can observe the program's security director - her father, Clay Maynard. Trying to reconcile the wonderful man she's getting to know with the monster her mother always described, Taylor never expects to become the target of a real monster, the man who murdered the mother of the little girls she works with at the stable. Neither does she expect to fall for Ford Elkhart, Daphne's handsome son, who is dealing with his own demons. As family and friends gather for a wedding, Taylor starts to imagine a permanent life in Baltimore.But not if the real monster gets to her first...

Monster in the Closet (Romantic Suspense, #19; Baltimore, #5) Details

TitleMonster in the Closet (Romantic Suspense, #19; Baltimore, #5)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseAug 29th, 2017
PublisherBerkley Books
ISBN0399586768
ISBN-139780399586767
Rating
GenreRomance, Romantic Suspense, Mystery, Crime, Suspense, Thriller, Contemporary, Fiction, Mystery Thriller, Adult

Monster in the Closet (Romantic Suspense, #19; Baltimore, #5) Review

  • Pauline
    May 14, 2017
    Although I have read Karen Rose books before I have never read any of this Romantic Suspense series and therefor did not know any of the characters from the other books in this series. However The Monster in the Closet can be read as a stand alone novel. I enjoyed reading this book, there were lots of different sub plots that kept me interested. I would like to thank NetGalley for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • ireadnovels.wordpress.com
    May 29, 2017
    Impressive it delivers on a stomach churning of brutalityJazzie Jarvis and her little sister Janie had once been the rich kids. Before their father left, they had a nice house and a nice car. But now Jazzie's Mama drove her to school in a old car with crappy paint work. They now lived in a crappy little two bedroom apartment. Disappointed and upset Jazzie held back the tears as her Mama had forgotten to pick her up and she had forgotten about the art fair, she promised she would be there. Haulin Impressive it delivers on a stomach churning of brutalityJazzie Jarvis and her little sister Janie had once been the rich kids. Before their father left, they had a nice house and a nice car. But now Jazzie's Mama drove her to school in a old car with crappy paint work. They now lived in a crappy little two bedroom apartment. Disappointed and upset Jazzie held back the tears as her Mama had forgotten to pick her up and she had forgotten about the art fair, she promised she would be there. Hauling her rucksack Jazzie walked home. Someone was in the apartment in the coat closet. Quick thinking Jazzie hides under the bed. A mean man was looking for something, when he couldn't find what he was searching for he killed Jazzie's Mama. Jazzie's father Gage Jarvis was a monster who committed domestic violence. At eleven years old Jazzie had not spoken a single word not since finding her mother' broken body in a pool of blood. I highly recommend reading The Monster In The Closet as Karen Rose is no stranger to hard work writing fiction where monsters need a place.
    more
  • Linda Strong
    May 23, 2017
    Jazzie is 11 years old. Coming home from school she finds her mother dead on the floor ... and her killer rooting around in the closet. Jazzie does the only thing she can ... she hides behind a large chair and holds her breath. Weeks later, Jazzie becomes a part of an organization that provides horse therapy for kids who have been victims of serious crimes. She has no spoken a single word since finding her mother's body ... and she's never told what she knows.Taylor Dawson is interning at Healin Jazzie is 11 years old. Coming home from school she finds her mother dead on the floor ... and her killer rooting around in the closet. Jazzie does the only thing she can ... she hides behind a large chair and holds her breath. Weeks later, Jazzie becomes a part of an organization that provides horse therapy for kids who have been victims of serious crimes. She has no spoken a single word since finding her mother's body ... and she's never told what she knows.Taylor Dawson is interning at Healing Hearts with Horses, as part of her becoming a practicing psychologist. And while Taylor makes a small connection to Jazzie, Taylor has her own secrets. She's been asking questions about a man who also works for the organization. She has just come from California, so why would she be asking about a man who resides in Maryland?I have always enjoyed this author's Romantic Suspense stories. This one is about 95% suspense and the rest is romance. The author has written a book full of the characters of some of her previous books. So although a part of a series, this serves extremely well as a stand alone.The reader learns early on who the killer is ... and just how monstrous he is. He decides that Jazzie must be silenced before she tells what she knows, as well as her therapist, Taylor. The book is suspenseful, exciting, and full of characters that have chosen to become a family. All of them have endured and overcome personal tragedies to come out relatively normal on the other side.5 Stars for the book ........... 5 Stars for the series!Many thanks to the author / Berkley Publishing Group / Netgalley for the advance digital copy of this book. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Krissys
    July 12, 2017
    The Monster in the Closet (Romantic Suspense #19; Baltimore #5) by Karen Rose   Author: Karen RoseTitle: The Monster in the ClosetSeries: BaltimoreCover Rating:Book Rating: Buy This Book:    A mother is dead, and now her killer hunts the child that witnessed the brutal crime...Private Investigator Clay Maynard locates missing children for clients, but has nearly given up hope of finding his own daughter, cruelly stolen from him by his ex-wife twenty-three years ago.Equine therapist Taylor Dawson The Monster in the Closet (Romantic Suspense #19; Baltimore #5) by Karen Rose   Author: Karen RoseTitle: The Monster in the ClosetSeries: BaltimoreCover Rating:Book Rating: Buy This Book:    A mother is dead, and now her killer hunts the child that witnessed the brutal crime...Private Investigator Clay Maynard locates missing children for clients, but has nearly given up hope of finding his own daughter, cruelly stolen from him by his ex-wife twenty-three years ago.Equine therapist Taylor Dawson has chosen to intern at Daphne Montgomery-Carter's stables so that she can observe the program's security director - her father, Clay Maynard. Trying to reconcile the wonderful man she's getting to know with the monster her mother always described, Taylor never expects to become the target of a real monster, the man who murdered the mother of the little girls she works with at the stable. Neither does she expect to fall for Ford Elkhart, Daphne's handsome son, who is dealing with his own demons. As family and friends gather for a wedding, Taylor starts to imagine a permanent life in Baltimore.But not if the real monster gets to her first..       Monster in the Closet is a crazy intense book. Rose is amazing, the multiple character story lines and the journey she takes into the mind of Gage and his justification for what he does and who he becomes is seriously disturbing. I have to give Rose mad props for creeping me out the way she did in this book.Poor Jaz was valiant and amazing and despite being broken by what she witnessed she managed to carry the more delicate emotions of the reader. I really liked getting to see the journey the cops took, the one Gage took and the journey of the victims in this book took.There is so much going on and it really sucks you in right from the get go. Monster in the Closet is disturbing, its dark, its emotional and very well done. I have to give Rose credit for the places she must have had to go mentally when writing this book more than just a romantic suspense this book is a serious suspense write but it also pens a journey that tells how dark family relations can go when one of them goes scarily wrong. If you haven't read these books before I highly suggest it!    Until next time book lovers...  Krissys Bookshelf Reviews received a digital copy in exchange for an honest review from Berkley Publishing. All thoughts, comments and ratings are my own.If any of Krissy's Bookshelf Reviews has been helpful please stop by to like my post or leave a comment to let me know what you think. I love hearing from you!Thank you so much for stopping by!  Krissys Bookshelf Reviews          Krissys Bookshelf Reviews has a QR code for your phone!  
    more
  • Sassy Brit
    June 1, 2017
    Do pop by and visit me here! I'm always up for a chat!I am reviewing Monster In The Closet (The Baltimore Series Book 5) by Karen Rose. Here are my thoughts:^^ Would you believe this is Ms Rose's nineteenth romantic suspense book? It's also number five of The Baltimore series. I am sure I've read a few of the previous books that date back to around 2003 (Don't Tell, You Belong to Me, Watch Your Back), so I was kind of pleased to recognise a few of the supporting characters like Detective JD Fitz Do pop by and visit me here! I'm always up for a chat!I am reviewing Monster In The Closet (The Baltimore Series Book 5) by Karen Rose. Here are my thoughts:^^ Would you believe this is Ms Rose's nineteenth romantic suspense book? It's also number five of The Baltimore series. I am sure I've read a few of the previous books that date back to around 2003 (Don't Tell, You Belong to Me, Watch Your Back), so I was kind of pleased to recognise a few of the supporting characters like Detective JD Fitzpatrick and his partner Dr Lucy Trask ME and Clay Maynard and Detective Stevie Mazetti. There are more familiar faces fans will recognise, but I'm well aware I may spoil the book for you if I were to tell, as there are a huge amount of sub-plots throughout, which makes this review quite tricky. ^^ In this fifth book of The Baltimore Series, Private Investigator Clay Maynard is looking for his missing daughter, Taylor, whilst working for clients locating missing children. Taylor turns up and a tough reconciliation ensues. After all, she's heard what a monster he is. Meanwhile, Taylor starts to fall for Ford Elkhart's charms, but it would seem a real monster is out to get her and he won't stop until she's dead. ^^ I really enjoyed the depth of characterisation of both the main and supporting characters, although I did at one point get a little confused to who was who. I'm sure I'd benefit from re-reading the previous books of Karen Rose's romantic suspense series and refreshing my knowledge of their ensemble of characters.^^ There's an enjoyable will-they-won't-they romance, plus the usual murder and mayhem, which kept me racing to the last page. I get the feeling, that with so many characters, there's going to be more books where they return and branch off with their own story. Overall: A fast read with deep characterisation, tense suspense, and an ending to die for! If you've read the previous four books from this series, I can happily recommend this one, as you'll know what to expect, her writing style, and you'll enjoy hearing from old friends and families from earlier stories! I'm definitely going to try and re-read the rest of this series now.
    more
  • Christine
    May 24, 2017
    Monster In The Closet is the latest from Karen Rose. This is her fifth book in the Baltimore Series.This book would be best enjoyed if you have read the previous books in the series. If you have a photographic memory, all the better. I did struggle, with who was who! I think I could do with a detailed diagram to just remind me of the links and who is related to who.The story is all about children and survival. Taylor has graduated with a Psychology degree and is working as an intern with the chi Monster In The Closet is the latest from Karen Rose. This is her fifth book in the Baltimore Series.This book would be best enjoyed if you have read the previous books in the series. If you have a photographic memory, all the better. I did struggle, with who was who! I think I could do with a detailed diagram to just remind me of the links and who is related to who.The story is all about children and survival. Taylor has graduated with a Psychology degree and is working as an intern with the children in an equine therapy centre. She is also desperate to get close to her birth father, a man she was raised to hate. This man is Clay Maynard, who we have previously met. Two children come to her care. They are not speaking and it is clear that they are in a state of shock. Taylor finds that she can relate to eleven year old Jazzie and her experiences of fear. Quickly, we understand the danger the children are under. As witnesses to murder, their lives are threatened. We see the killer and wait for him to act.With Karen Rose, you know what to expect. She is the Queen of Romantic Suspense. You can’t go wrong with a murder, shootings, a desperate killer and a spot of romance thrown in. I do find the whole massive family and friends connections a trifle distracting at times. We see romance slowly blossom between Taylor and Ford, a previous character from early on in the series. Taylor is reunited with her birth father and starts to build a relationship with him. Two fathers is a bit excessive though. That is just greedy. But then the general theme of fathers and daughters is explored here. The good and the bad!Entertaining and fun. Karen Rose fans will not be disappointed. Long may it continue.
    more
  • Áine
    May 17, 2017
    Disappointing and as predictable as the number of Fords hard ons per page
  • Deborah
    June 28, 2017
    The thing I like about Rose’s books is also probably one of their biggest weaknesses – which is the interrelatedness and inclusion of an array of unnecessary characters. But more on that later.This book actually opens with 11yr old Jazzie witnessing her mother’s murder (well the aftermath anyway). We next meet Jazzie and her (5yr old) sister Janie a month later. Both girls are traumatised and Jazzie, in particular, hasn’t said a word since her mother’s death. The girls are in the care of their a The thing I like about Rose’s books is also probably one of their biggest weaknesses – which is the interrelatedness and inclusion of an array of unnecessary characters. But more on that later.This book actually opens with 11yr old Jazzie witnessing her mother’s murder (well the aftermath anyway). We next meet Jazzie and her (5yr old) sister Janie a month later. Both girls are traumatised and Jazzie, in particular, hasn’t said a word since her mother’s death. The girls are in the care of their aunt who’s keeping Jazzie’s presence at her mother’s murder a secret.The girls meet Taylor at the equine therapy (horse) farm and I settled in happily, keen to see how Taylor’s relationship with the girls played out. However… I was thwarted in achieving this contentedness as our focal characters moved.Had I read the backcover blurb (which I must not have) I would have realised this book is as much about Taylor and her long lost father as it is about Jazzie and Janie, but I didn’t realise that when I started reading. Taylor’s backstory really felt like just that… a backstory; but it kinda took over the plot – though there were no mysteries to be solved and readers aren’t perched on the edges of their seats at all.Which brings me back to the more interesting tale of Jazzie and Janie. The mystery around their mother’s murder and what Jazzie might (or might not) have seen continues but there’s a point in the story (a shootout at a restaurant) that Rose kinda moves the plot away from the girls and embroils Taylor, Ford and Clay more in their story, preventing the girls (who I’d found interesting) from playing a bigger role.And then the introduction of a gazillion new characters after that point also threw me a little. I had decided that having only read one or two in this particular series wasn’t problematic, as Rose caught us up quickly on backstory, but then suddenly all of these new people arrive and I had no idea where they fitted in. And I don’t think they all needed to be there. I’m not sure if Rose feels obliged to allow previous characters revisit in some sense of closure or if there was initially some role they needed to play, but – for example – now we’re done with Taylor and Ford I’d be very happy for them to be mere references in future books.And while I’m moaning…. I know Taylor is only 23 and has led a very protected life, but she came across – in the romantic scenes as kinda annoying and immature. And if I had to read one more time how ‘aroused’ Ford got from Taylor’s comments or actions I might have puked. Particularly when Taylor then harped on like a 15yr old…Other than some overly-obviousness (if that makes sense!), I really enjoyed the characters Rose delivers and, on the whole, the plot was interesting… if a little buried under another – less interesting – one. And – again – I have to say, I really enjoyed this book.It’s not meant to be anything other than entertainment, to take us away from the mundane-ness of our lives for a few hours and Rose most certainly does that. I look forward to opening that first page and disappearing for a while. And returning sated and happy.3.5 starsRead the full review on my site: http://www.debbish.com/books-literatu...
    more
  • Leonie Byrne
    May 7, 2017
    I was really excited to receive an ARC of this novel as I love the Romantic Suspense series. Monster in the Closet is the 19th book in the Romantic Suspense series and the 5th in the Baltimore series. The Romantic Suspense series follows a makeshift family made up of a group of friends. There may be some spoilers here for the other books in the series but not this one, only because I can't talk about any of the other characters without spoilers for previous books! We see old favourites in this n I was really excited to receive an ARC of this novel as I love the Romantic Suspense series. Monster in the Closet is the 19th book in the Romantic Suspense series and the 5th in the Baltimore series. The Romantic Suspense series follows a makeshift family made up of a group of friends. There may be some spoilers here for the other books in the series but not this one, only because I can't talk about any of the other characters without spoilers for previous books! We see old favourites in this novel such as Detective JD Fitzpatrick and his partner Lucy a medical examiner, who we were first introduced to in You Belong to Me. Paige Holden & Grayson Smith the private investigators from No One Left to Tell although they don't feature heavily in this one. State attorney Daphne Montgomery & Special Agent Joseph Carter from Did you Miss Me? As well as Daphne's son Ford. Clay Maynard & Detective Stevie Mazetti from Watch Your Back. Faith Corcoran & Special agent Deacon Novak from Cincinnati 1 Closer Than You Think. I love the way that Karen Rose expertly blends all of the characters into a relationship with each other. If you haven't read the Romantic Suspense series before, each book focuses on one couple, how they get together and their romance, but alongside that runs a thriller element with a murder and the couple's attempts to solve the murder and catch the killer. Monster in the Closet sees 2 children Jazzie & Janie in therapy at Daphne's equine therapy centre. Their mother has been violently murdered and Jazzie hasn't spoken since. But she's finally opening up to the new intern therapist Taylor Dawson, but she's got secrets of her own that she's hiding and this is where the romance and suspense comes in. The difference with this one is that we know who the killer is right from the beginning and this creates an immediate frustration as we watch the characters attempt to discover who the killer is and gather evidence. Overall this was a great novel, picking up with the younger generation of the friend/family group. Once again it was fast paced and unputdownable and most importantly thoroughly enjoyable!
    more
  • Anne Szlachcic
    May 5, 2017
    A woman is brutally murdered ....unknown to the killer , her elder daughter has come home early and witnessed the attack .Only selected police officials know that the young girl is a witness , the information is being kept under wraps as they have a leak somewhere in the system ......the hope is that the killer can be found before he realises the police are on his trail .Daphne Montgomery-Carter's stables are renowned for helping traumatised children ....two young girls have been admitted to the A woman is brutally murdered ....unknown to the killer , her elder daughter has come home early and witnessed the attack .Only selected police officials know that the young girl is a witness , the information is being kept under wraps as they have a leak somewhere in the system ......the hope is that the killer can be found before he realises the police are on his trail .Daphne Montgomery-Carter's stables are renowned for helping traumatised children ....two young girls have been admitted to the program , the younger finds riding horses helps but her older sister has not spoken since witnessing the attack on her mother .Equine therapist Taylor Dawson is an intern at the Center and manages to get the girl to speak for the first time - her words are 'Thank You' . The girls Aunt and the police feel that they will soon have a description of the killer BUT someone speaks out of turn and the killer becomes aware of the witness .The Police ask Taylor to work with the girl in the hope that she will reveal information , but Taylor has her own reason for working at the stables ..........She is trying to find her father - her life has been lived in terror of him finding her first and killing her. Because on the death of her mother she finds that everything she thinks she knows is all lies , her mother has lied to everyone including her own husband .Taylor finds that her world as she has known it about to come crashing down- she knew that her father was connected to the Stables , but others around begin to suspect who she really is !With the help and support of Daphne's son Ford , for whom she is beginning to have feelings , she begins to see that she might have a future in Baltimore - IF - she can keep both herself and the young girl out of the clutches of the murderer .Another enjoyable book by this Author .I was given an arc of this book by the Publisher and NetGalley in exchange for an honest review .
    more
  • Susan
    June 2, 2017
    Monster in the closet by Karen Rose.Private Investigator Clay Maynard locates missing children for clients, but has nearly given up hope of finding his own daughter, cruelly stolen from him by his ex-wife twenty-three years ago.Equine therapist Taylor Dawson has chosen to intern at Daphne Montgomery-Carter's stables so that she can observe the program's security director - her father, Clay Maynard. Trying to reconcile the wonderful man she's getting to know with the monster her mother always des Monster in the closet by Karen Rose.Private Investigator Clay Maynard locates missing children for clients, but has nearly given up hope of finding his own daughter, cruelly stolen from him by his ex-wife twenty-three years ago.Equine therapist Taylor Dawson has chosen to intern at Daphne Montgomery-Carter's stables so that she can observe the program's security director - her father, Clay Maynard. Trying to reconcile the wonderful man she's getting to know with the monster her mother always described, Taylor never expects to become the target of a real monster, the man who murdered the mother of the little girls she works with at the stable. Neither does she expect to fall for Ford Elkhart, Daphne's handsome son, who is dealing with his own demons. As family and friends gather for the wedding of Joseph Carter's sister Holly, Taylor starts to imagine a permanent life in Baltimore with her newfound father and Ford.Absolutely fantastic read with brilliant characters. Loved Taylor. I really felt for Jazzie and Janie. I was hooked from page one. Couldn't put it down. 5*. Highly recommended. Netgalley and headline.
    more
  • Lesley Book Lover
    June 16, 2017
    Love Karen Rose books, she never lets me down. This is a great storyline, and it was nice catching up with previous characters too, just great. Can't wait until the next one now.
  • Lesley
    June 20, 2017
    I did find this quite hard to get into, and seriously considered giving up at one point.I'm so glad I didn't.Karen Rose never fails to deliver, and I loved this whole story - well worth a read.
  • Mandy White
    June 30, 2017
    I do enjoy a Karen Rose book. it was like an episode of Dallas... love, murder, family and horses! This book is fast and keeps you hooked right til the end. Thank you to Net Galley, Karen Rose and Hachette Australia for a copy of this book
  • Elaine Tomasso
    May 8, 2017
    I would like to thank Netgalley and Headline for an advance copy of The Monster in the Closet, the fifth romantic suspense novel in Ms Rose's Baltimore series.Jazzie returns home to find her mother dead and the murderer still in the house. Very few people know that she can identify the killer, especially as she has been mute since that day. The stakes are raised when she manages to say thank you to Taylor Williamson, an intern at a therapy centre. In a separate plotline Taylor turns out to be se I would like to thank Netgalley and Headline for an advance copy of The Monster in the Closet, the fifth romantic suspense novel in Ms Rose's Baltimore series.Jazzie returns home to find her mother dead and the murderer still in the house. Very few people know that she can identify the killer, especially as she has been mute since that day. The stakes are raised when she manages to say thank you to Taylor Williamson, an intern at a therapy centre. In a separate plotline Taylor turns out to be series regular Clay Maynard's long list daughter.I have been reading Ms Rose's work for many years and generally look forward to the exciting plots and sizzling romance she serves up but I must admit to being disappointed in The Monster in the Closet. The crime plot is lacklustre and has none of the edge of your seat tension I've come to expect and Taylor's situation, both romantically and with her 2 fathers, lacks credibility and seems a bit repetitious. For me the balance between crime and personal life is wrong with too much emphasis on family and friends and not enough on the crime.This is, by no means, a bad novel as Ms Rose has a knack for drawing the reader in, moving her plot along in a timely manner and creating very likeable characters, it just doesn't concentrate enough on the crime aspects for my taste.
    more
  • Cindy ~ SnS Reviews
    April 23, 2017
    I knew I was going to love this book!! All the gang from the Baltimore series is back and finally after 23 years Clay Maynard is reunited with his daughter. (This book would be best experienced if you've already read Books 1-4 in the Baltimore series which is 12-15 of the main series.)This book defiantly has some suspense but that is built around the reuniting of Taylor with her birth father Clay and the budding romance between her and Ford Eikhart who is Daphine's son who was kidnapped in book I knew I was going to love this book!! All the gang from the Baltimore series is back and finally after 23 years Clay Maynard is reunited with his daughter. (This book would be best experienced if you've already read Books 1-4 in the Baltimore series which is 12-15 of the main series.)This book defiantly has some suspense but that is built around the reuniting of Taylor with her birth father Clay and the budding romance between her and Ford Eikhart who is Daphine's son who was kidnapped in book 3/14. I think this is the first time this author has had young adults be the main characters in one of her book and I really enjoyed it. Both Taylor and Ford have been through traumatic experiences that made them much more mature than their physical ages. I've said it many times in my past reviews of Karen's book that reading them is like going home and visiting family you love but dont get to see often. She has all these threads that connect each character that seamlessly are woven into each story. Having read every book in the series I am very happy to see some threads from many books back finally getting some closure – and happy closure at that.
    more
  • Shauna
    April 22, 2017
    I received this ARC from NetGalley in return for an honest review. I really like the action/suspense part of Karen Rose's books; that's the main reason I keep coming back to them. However, the romantic element in them is starting to bore me. I understand that these events happen in a very short time frame, and people can feel ATTRACTED to another quickly, but being at the point of considering commitment after only a day or two is not realistic. Perhaps introduce characters in previous books and I received this ARC from NetGalley in return for an honest review. I really like the action/suspense part of Karen Rose's books; that's the main reason I keep coming back to them. However, the romantic element in them is starting to bore me. I understand that these events happen in a very short time frame, and people can feel ATTRACTED to another quickly, but being at the point of considering commitment after only a day or two is not realistic. Perhaps introduce characters in previous books and develop them before rushing into relationships would make the books more readable and true-to-life.
    more
  • Scherry at The Novel Lady
    July 2, 2017
    Karen Rose never disappoints me! I loved reading Monster in the Closet. Once again, this book had it all. There was suspense, action, intrigue and romance... the kind of romance that gives you tingles.Jazzie Jarvis is an eleven year old girl who is traumatized after seeing her mother brutally murdered by her father. Her father, Gage Jarvis, doesn't know that little Jazzie was hiding behind a chair. Now before you cringe away and think that you can't read this because it is all so horrific, let m Karen Rose never disappoints me! I loved reading Monster in the Closet. Once again, this book had it all. There was suspense, action, intrigue and romance... the kind of romance that gives you tingles.Jazzie Jarvis is an eleven year old girl who is traumatized after seeing her mother brutally murdered by her father. Her father, Gage Jarvis, doesn't know that little Jazzie was hiding behind a chair. Now before you cringe away and think that you can't read this because it is all so horrific, let me tell you that the way this story comes together will keep you turning those pages, praying for a happy ending... but I'm not giving away too many spoilers here.Along comes Taylor Dawson, recently graduated with a degree in psychology, who has accepted an internship with Healing Hearts with Horses, an equestrian center specifically developed to help trauma victims. But Taylor has a few secrets of her own. Taylor is able to connect with Jazzie in a way no one else has been able to. Will she be able to get Jazzie to talk about what had happened to her? Or will Jazzie just remain quiet and continue to protect and hover over her little sister Janie? And what happens when Gage realizes that there may be a witness to the murder?Add in the boss' hunky son, Ford Elkhart, who is immediately attracted to Taylor, and also add in Clay Maynard, head of security at Healing Hearts who has been looking for his daughter for many years, and you have the basic ingredients for one very fascinating story. But this story is anything but basic! Lots of action and lots of plots that all intertwine. I could not put this book down!There are so many characters that you can't help but love, and also those you love-to-hate. But even those that you hate are so well developed that you are able to see their motivation for what evil things they do... all because of the great writing skills of Karen Rose.I highly recommend this book.Disclosure: A complimentary copy was provided by NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts, opinions and ratings are my own.
    more
  • Gemma McGee
    June 22, 2017
    Monster in the Closet by Karen Rose is book #19 in her Romantic suspense but book 5 in the Baltimore series. This has been released to celebrate 10 year of Karen Rose in the U.K, and me being hooked on her as a writer for 10 years) The last book in the Baltimore series was Watch your Back in 2013-2014, so it nice to want is happening with these characters. As the books follow one/ two characters more it nice when you still get to see their lives continuing in the other stories. This book starts Monster in the Closet by Karen Rose is book #19 in her Romantic suspense but book 5 in the Baltimore series. This has been released to celebrate 10 year of Karen Rose in the U.K, and me being hooked on her as a writer for 10 years) The last book in the Baltimore series was Watch your Back in 2013-2014, so it nice to want is happening with these characters. As the books follow one/ two characters more it nice when you still get to see their lives continuing in the other stories. This book starts with Jazzie an 11-year-old girl who works is turned upside down when she comes home to find her mother dead and her Murderer in the closet. The murder doesn't know she is their and hides. Jazzie doesn't tell anyone what she has seen, she hasn't spoken a work since. Until she speak to Taylor a new therapist at healing hearts. She might be the only person that can help her, before the murder find out she was their. Taylor also has her own story to tell as she come to find out if she been told the truth or lies her whole life.I like Karen Rose writing style as in the book we get to see the story from multiple different sides, giving us a wider view of the story . As well as getting to catch up with character who’s stories we read in the previous 4 books.I really enjoyed the story as this story was more knowing who the bad guy was and getting the evidence than the previous which don't revile to near the end of the book. The story kept me gripped as I ended up staying up late to finished it.Karen Rose doesn't shy away from having character with faults or disability. She also show that when something bad happens in someone life there not going to get over it straight away. She shows that it's ok to be effected but it still ok to be happy and live your life.Karen Rose book are great for people who like their crime stories with a  little romance. I would advise if you haven't read the books yet to read them in order as you get to see more of an evolution of character and relationships this way. 
    more
  • Marta Cox
    May 17, 2017
    If you enjoy romantic suspense then this author is a must read. She's an author with a knack for weaving threads within her stories that tie her characters together. Sometimes the stories can be so dark it's a wonder readers can see as they peak from behind the hands hypothetically shielding their eyes but no matter how disturbing or stomach churning her ideas somehow the good guys get through. This particular book brings together so many characters from previous novels that my poor head was spi If you enjoy romantic suspense then this author is a must read. She's an author with a knack for weaving threads within her stories that tie her characters together. Sometimes the stories can be so dark it's a wonder readers can see as they peak from behind the hands hypothetically shielding their eyes but no matter how disturbing or stomach churning her ideas somehow the good guys get through. This particular book brings together so many characters from previous novels that my poor head was spinning trying to remember everything that had previously happened! If new to the authors work then don't worry as I did think this book worked fine as a standalone but it's obviously a reward of sorts, a celebration that readers can share and possibly the beginning of a whole new chapter.So I'm obviously a huge fan and adore the way the author usually manages to wrap the suspense and crime element around a solid and adult romance. This particular story has two children floundering after the murder of their mother which brings them into contact with Taylor a young woman with a secret that connects her to what as a reader I perceive as a very extended family! I mentioned young and it's almost a new adult romance happening here which if honest didn't really set the pages on fire . However towards the end ( !) the pace gathered momentum and the drama finally had a lot more action. For me personally it seemed to meander a little too much at times and yes I can see that the sub plots and family dynamics helped flesh out the story but I missed the tension and often horror that I normally associate with these books. Not a bad book but not that typical of the usual fare I enjoy from this author although if you find some of her previous stories too dark then this should be a welcome relief.A copy of this was provided for me with no requirement to review. I've voluntarily read it and these thoughts and comments are I believe a fair opinion
    more
  • Marta Cox
    May 17, 2017
    If you enjoy romantic suspense then this author is a must read. She's an author with a knack for weaving threads within her stories that tie her characters together. Sometimes the stories can be so dark it's a wonder readers can see as they peak from behind the hands hypothetically shielding their eyes but no matter how disturbing or stomach churning her ideas somehow the good guys get through. This particular book brings together so many characters from previous novels that my poor head was spi If you enjoy romantic suspense then this author is a must read. She's an author with a knack for weaving threads within her stories that tie her characters together. Sometimes the stories can be so dark it's a wonder readers can see as they peak from behind the hands hypothetically shielding their eyes but no matter how disturbing or stomach churning her ideas somehow the good guys get through. This particular book brings together so many characters from previous novels that my poor head was spinning trying to remember everything that had previously happened! If new to the authors work then don't worry as I did think this book worked fine as a standalone but it's obviously a reward of sorts, a celebration that readers can share and possibly the beginning of a whole new chapter.So I'm obviously a huge fan and adore the way the author usually manages to wrap the suspense and crime element around a solid and adult romance. This particular story has two children floundering after the murder of their mother which brings them into contact with Taylor a young woman with a secret that connects her to what as a reader I perceive as a very extended family! I mentioned young and it's almost a new adult romance happening here which if honest didn't really set the pages on fire . However towards the end ( !) the pace gathered momentum and the drama finally had a lot more action. For me personally it seemed to meander a little too much at times and yes I can see that the sub plots and family dynamics helped flesh out the story but I missed the tension and often horror that I normally associate with these books. Not a bad book but not that typical of the usual fare I enjoy from this author although if you find some of her previous stories too dark then this should be a welcome relief.A copy of this was provided for me with no requirement to review. I've voluntarily read it and these thoughts and comments are I believe a fair opinion
    more
  • Maria
    May 19, 2017
    I received this ARC from NetGalley in return for an honest review. Jazzie Jarvis is only 11 years old, but she has seen who killed her mama... she will try to protect her little sister refusing to say a word... sadly the killer doesn't want to leave any loose ends and will not stop till she is dead... Ready for a cat and a mouse thriller?This is not the book we are used to read from Karen Rose, we know since the beginning who is the killer but this doesn't mean the book is not interesting!I like I received this ARC from NetGalley in return for an honest review. Jazzie Jarvis is only 11 years old, but she has seen who killed her mama... she will try to protect her little sister refusing to say a word... sadly the killer doesn't want to leave any loose ends and will not stop till she is dead... Ready for a cat and a mouse thriller?This is not the book we are used to read from Karen Rose, we know since the beginning who is the killer but this doesn't mean the book is not interesting!I liked how Karen made a book with all the characters from the previous book of this series, it was great to remember all the characters and know how their lives had progressed (and their families grown!)There's a lot of action in this book, a little bit of suspense and of course love! This book is more centred in feelings, emotions and family. I can not say that I didn't like it because like all the Karen Rose books it kept me glued in it since the beginning till the last page, but I was expecting a twist or a surprise that never arrived...This book talks about family, you, as a child, should always know that your parents will protect you from any danger. The problem is, if you can not trust your parents, who is there to help a little child? I really can not imagine the feeling of being alone in the world without anyone to trust! That's why I loved the Healing Hearts project, that provide therapy to traumatized children. I hope this kind of centres really exist and that are there for everyone that needs them, not something just for the rich people!It was sad discovering the true story of Taylor, is quite emotive but it shows us how brave she is! But I will not make any type of spoiler, so you will have to read the book!This is a psychological thriller where the hunter will not hesitate to kill to survive.What your are afraid of?
    more
  • Jeannette
    June 27, 2017
    Book blurb...A mother is dead, and now her killer hunts the child that witnessed the brutal crime...Private Investigator Clay Maynard locates missing children for clients, but has nearly given up hope of finding his own daughter, cruelly stolen from him by his ex-wife twenty-three years ago.Equine therapist Taylor Dawson has chosen to intern at Daphne Montgomery-Carter's stables so that she can observe the program's security director - her father, Clay Maynard. Trying to reconcile the wonderful Book blurb...A mother is dead, and now her killer hunts the child that witnessed the brutal crime...Private Investigator Clay Maynard locates missing children for clients, but has nearly given up hope of finding his own daughter, cruelly stolen from him by his ex-wife twenty-three years ago.Equine therapist Taylor Dawson has chosen to intern at Daphne Montgomery-Carter's stables so that she can observe the program's security director - her father, Clay Maynard. Trying to reconcile the wonderful man she's getting to know with the monster her mother always described, Taylor never expects to become the target of a real monster, the man who murdered the mother of the little girls she works with at the stable. Neither does she expect to fall for Ford Elkhart, Daphne's handsome son, who is dealing with his own demons. As family and friends gather for a wedding, Taylor starts to imagine a permanent life in Baltimore.My thoughts…The writing, in particular the special bond that builds and the reconnection had me a blubbering mess, and not a third of the way into the book! I loved all the characters in this story with one exception! You will have to read the story to know who this is! And Taylor is a character that any reader will love, simply because she is strong, capable, but also vulnerable.The father/daughter relationships tugged at my heartstrings more than once as I read, bumping this novel up into 'page-turner' category.This story is well worth your precious reading time.Review also posted on http://www.readroundoz.wordpress.com
    more
  • Sabrina
    May 8, 2017
    PRE-ORDERAmazon * B&NIt's been way too long since I've read a Karen Rose book and I've missed these characters. There were a lot of new faces that I can't wait to go back and meet in their own books, but there was also a lot of older characters that I loved getting to see again. I definitely won't be getting behind on this series again after this. This book follows Taylor, Clay Maynard's long lost daughter, on her mission to meet and get to know her father. Along the way though she picks up PRE-ORDERAmazon * B&NIt's been way too long since I've read a Karen Rose book and I've missed these characters. There were a lot of new faces that I can't wait to go back and meet in their own books, but there was also a lot of older characters that I loved getting to see again. I definitely won't be getting behind on this series again after this. This book follows Taylor, Clay Maynard's long lost daughter, on her mission to meet and get to know her father. Along the way though she picks up the interest of a killer and will need the help of her new friends to survive. Reading a KR book brings me back to when I first got into reading and her books were actually one of the first that I ever sat down and read in one sitting. This book was no different than the usual Karen Rose flare that I was expecting and I loved all of it. There was the perfect amount of suspense that kept me on the edge of my seat, along with that sweetness of romance between Taylor and Ford. The bottom line is that this is one of my favorite authors and I love her ability to completely captivate me in her stories. I definitely recommend, not only this book, but all of her books if you're a fan of Romance Suspense. ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kaisa
    July 8, 2017
    My oh my. J.D., you dick! Well okay, his behaviour was understandable but still, being an asshole isn't exactly becoming. I was glad to get a peek at his family though, and was glad the had one with Lucy!Stevie was a bit of a bitch, too, but at the same time I was happy to see her standing up for Clay. All in all It was great to meet the whole bunch of Baltimore people again, and Taylor fit in just fine. I loved how strong she was, and despite having a temper, she wasn't throwing tantrums or act My oh my. J.D., you dick! Well okay, his behaviour was understandable but still, being an asshole isn't exactly becoming. I was glad to get a peek at his family though, and was glad the had one with Lucy!Stevie was a bit of a bitch, too, but at the same time I was happy to see her standing up for Clay. All in all It was great to meet the whole bunch of Baltimore people again, and Taylor fit in just fine. I loved how strong she was, and despite having a temper, she wasn't throwing tantrums or acting like a bitch. Also, such a refreshing twist to have a virgin be such sly and powerful character. Despite her childhood and all the lies she had been fed, she wasn't victimised in the story and she didn't act like a victim. That was very important for me! Seeing as half the time we know the bad guy from the beginning with Karen Rose, the actual suspense plot wasn't that suspenseful until at the very end. But it was fine. There were so many other important things going on, that catching the killer actually sort of fell into back burner in a way, at least for me. I wanted to learn more about Fredrick's background in the military, and maybe a bit more about the Jazzie and Janie's mother. But as it was, I'll give Monster in the closet 4.5 stars.
    more
  • Tanya
    June 13, 2017
    Two little girls are traumatised after their mother's murder and they find themselves at Daphne's riding school to help children in their exact position. One hasn't spoken in a month, until she finds it in herself to utter two little words to one of the therapists on site. These two words set in motion a string of events where the killer will stop at nothing to cover up his crime. It's KR at her finest with the nasty bad guy and the innocent individuals caught in his crosshairs. Throw in a littl Two little girls are traumatised after their mother's murder and they find themselves at Daphne's riding school to help children in their exact position. One hasn't spoken in a month, until she finds it in herself to utter two little words to one of the therapists on site. These two words set in motion a string of events where the killer will stop at nothing to cover up his crime. It's KR at her finest with the nasty bad guy and the innocent individuals caught in his crosshairs. Throw in a little romance and it's a match made in heaven.Ok, first things: I absolutely loved this book. I am so glad we've gotten to see Ford again after the events in Daphne's story.And add in Taylor? The pair are just adorable. Seriously, I don't know what I can like any couple more than those two. Except maybe Alec. Now we're gotten Ford's story, surely we're due for Alec's soon??The thing is, I was never much of a Clay/Stevie fan, so I wasn't expecting to love this one as much as I did. Somehow though, I managed to hate them a little less by the end of the book.And many, many old favourites return to say hi. Must read for KR fans. I'm not sure if those who previously haven't read her Baltimore books might struggle a bit playing catch up.
    more
  • Caroline Ward
    July 1, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this novel. The book opens with a graphic and harrowing description of a young girl, Jazzie, returning home to witness her mother's horrific murder. Fast forward and a traumatised Jazzie is refusing to speak and thus identify the killer. Sent to an equine programme for children who have suffered trauma, Jazzie come into contact with Taylor, who will provide the support and reassurance that the girl needs to finally Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for the opportunity to read and review this novel. The book opens with a graphic and harrowing description of a young girl, Jazzie, returning home to witness her mother's horrific murder. Fast forward and a traumatised Jazzie is refusing to speak and thus identify the killer. Sent to an equine programme for children who have suffered trauma, Jazzie come into contact with Taylor, who will provide the support and reassurance that the girl needs to finally speak out about her ordeal. The problem is that the killer is still out there he is desperate to make sure that Jazzie says nothing! I love this book because of the story line alone but it also brings together all out favourite characters from Rose's other novels and it turns out that Taylor is the missing piece of the puzzle for one of our favourite recurring characters. I would highly recommend this book and it could be read as a stand alone novel but to be honest I don't think that the reader would fully appreciate the complexities of the novel and the cleverly woven relationships if they had never read one of two of Rose's other excellent novels.
    more
  • Ashleigh Mordew
    May 24, 2017
    Monster in the closet is the 19th book in the romantic suspense series and 5th in the Baltimore series.Jazzie is eleven years old, coming home from school she finds her mother dead on the floor...... and her killer rooting in the closet. Jazzie does the only thing she can... she hides behind a large chair and holds her breath. I was so excited to read Karen rose's new book monster in the closet, she has been one of my favourite authors since I first found her first book don't tell.You get to to Monster in the closet is the 19th book in the romantic suspense series and 5th in the Baltimore series.Jazzie is eleven years old, coming home from school she finds her mother dead on the floor...... and her killer rooting in the closet. Jazzie does the only thing she can... she hides behind a large chair and holds her breath. I was so excited to read Karen rose's new book monster in the closet, she has been one of my favourite authors since I first found her first book don't tell.You get to to see old favourites in this novel it was great to remember characters from her other books and to see how there lives and how their families progressed. Karen rose expertly blends all the characters into a relationship with each other.The difference with this book is the the killer is known from the very start but the doesn't mean the book is not interesting! Karen rose drags me into to her books from the very first page, she has since I read her very first book and she did it again with this one.I look forward to Karen rose's new books and can't wait to see what other novels on the characters she brings out. I highly recommend this book
    more
  • Pagan
    June 10, 2017
    Rating: Good6.5/10Whilst I quiet enjoyed this book, I felt that it wasn't as strong as some of the others in the series. I wished the killer was more threatening to Taylor after the first attack, he certainly was to the children, but felt with Taylor, Ford and Clay as the main characters the suspense and threat on their lives seemed to deflate immediately, and considering he was still at large and disappeared I think it could have served the story a lot better. I liked the dynamic between Taylor Rating: Good6.5/10Whilst I quiet enjoyed this book, I felt that it wasn't as strong as some of the others in the series. I wished the killer was more threatening to Taylor after the first attack, he certainly was to the children, but felt with Taylor, Ford and Clay as the main characters the suspense and threat on their lives seemed to deflate immediately, and considering he was still at large and disappeared I think it could have served the story a lot better. I liked the dynamic between Taylor and Clay, as well as Taylor and Ford (though I think the relationship may have escalated a little too quickly). If you didn't harbour hatred towards Donna before, you certainly will after this book for the amount of damage to lives and relationships because of her lies.Looking forward to the next book as always.
    more
  • Mags
    June 1, 2017
    I loved this story!! It had me completely hooked from start to finish and it really had everything I love in a Karen Rose novel. So much so I couldn't put it down. Not to mention this story featured all my favourite characters from the Baltimore Series. Plus a brief appearance from Deacon Novak and his fiancè Faith. And of course this story focuses on the long awaited and for me much anticipated reunion between Clay and his daughter Sienna. As well as weaving in a murder investigation that was f I loved this story!! It had me completely hooked from start to finish and it really had everything I love in a Karen Rose novel. So much so I couldn't put it down. Not to mention this story featured all my favourite characters from the Baltimore Series. Plus a brief appearance from Deacon Novak and his fiancè Faith. And of course this story focuses on the long awaited and for me much anticipated reunion between Clay and his daughter Sienna. As well as weaving in a murder investigation that was full of suspense. Even though you know early on who the killer is. There is still that build up of tension as the story progresses and I literally could not turn the pages fast enough. Especially towards the end and I would happily recommend Monster in the Closet to others. Although I would suggest reading the first 4 Baltimore Series books before starting this one.
    more
Write a review