Retribution Rails
REDEMPTION IS NEVER FREEWhen Reece Murphy is forcibly dragged into the Rose Riders gang because of a mysterious gold coin in his possession, he vows to find the man who gave him the piece and turn him over to the gang in exchange for freedom. Never does he expect a lead to come from an aspiring female journalist. But when Reece's path crosses with Charlotte Vaughn after a botched train robbery and she mentions a promising rumor about a gunslinger from Prescott, it becomes apparent that she will be his ticket to freedom—or a noose. As the two manipulate each other for their own ends, past secrets are unearthed, reviving a decade-old quest for revenge that may be impossible to settle.In this thrilling companion to Vengeance Road, dangerous alliances are formed, old friends meet new enemies, and the West is wilder than ever.

Retribution Rails Details

TitleRetribution Rails
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 7th, 2017
PublisherHMH Books for Young Readers
ISBN0544918886
ISBN-139780544918887
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical Fiction, Young Adult, Western, Historical

Retribution Rails Review

  • Erin Bowman
    February 4, 2016
    UPDATE 2/16: You can now request an ARC.UPDATE 1/30: The cover and first two chapters have been revealed on EW.Yeehaw, I'm writing another western! Let me get a few frequently asked questions out of the way:Is this a sequel to Vengeance Road?Nope, it's a companion novel—same world, but a completely separate story, with a new plot and new characters. RR is again set in Arizona (roughly ten years after the events of VR), but you can read RR without reading VR, and it will absolutely make sense.But UPDATE 2/16: You can now request an ARC.UPDATE 1/30: The cover and first two chapters have been revealed on EW.Yeehaw, I'm writing another western! Let me get a few frequently asked questions out of the way:Is this a sequel to Vengeance Road?Nope, it's a companion novel—same world, but a completely separate story, with a new plot and new characters. RR is again set in Arizona (roughly ten years after the events of VR), but you can read RR without reading VR, and it will absolutely make sense.But will there be a Kate cameo? Maybe.Will there be a Jesse cameo? Maybe.Will characters I love die? Maybe.Are you just saying ‘maybe’ to everything at this point? Yes. But only because I don’t want to spoil things for you.So when’s it coming out? Right now, we’re thinking fall of 2017, which means I really need to get back to finishing the first draft!Will the cover match VR? No clue! It’s still very early in the game, and I haven’t had any conversations with my editor yet regarding cover direction. But after my experience with VR, I know I’m in good hands and that it will be a collaborative process. You’ll know more when I know more.YES! Teagan White, the insanely talented illustrator who did VR's cover, is on board to do the art for RR as well. I have seen preliminary sketches and they. are. beautiful. The pitch mentions a boy and a girl. Does this mean two main characters? YES! Reese Murphy is your “train-robber in possession of a mysterious coin” and Charlotte Vaughn is your “aspiring journalist.” They’re both teens navigating unexpected obstacles in 1887 Arizona, one of which is each other. I am not kind to these kids, but then again, I was never very kind to anyone in VR, either. Ooh, tell me more. What else can I expect?Train heists, mystery, betrayal, desert winter, nooses, vicious outlaws, unexpected allies, and of course, lots of railroad tracks. This is vague, I know, but it’s all I feel comfortable saying right now. In the meantime, I need to get back to drafting, but I promise to share more news if/when I have it. Feel free to stalk the RR pinterest board until then!Wait, don’t go! You haven’t answer my question. Leave a comment, and I’ll do my best to answer it.I’ll also continue to answer questions/share news via my monthly newsletter, so be sure to subscribe if that sounds like your thing!
    more
  • Cindy ✩☽ Savage Queen ♔
    May 14, 2016
    November 7th is so far away!!! Ugh! -----Finally a cover and rough release date! Cover is very reminiscent of Vengeance Road =)-----Okay so I only just read Vengeance Road like last month (yes I was late to get on the train, haha no pun intended), but I absolutely adored it and thought to myself "Man I really wished this author would write more western because I've never read a western before but I really like this." And now BOOM! My wish has been granted! Thank you Ms. Bowman! I read Vengeanc November 7th is so far away!!! Ugh! -----Finally a cover and rough release date! Cover is very reminiscent of Vengeance Road =)-----Okay so I only just read Vengeance Road like last month (yes I was late to get on the train, haha no pun intended), but I absolutely adored it and thought to myself "Man I really wished this author would write more western because I've never read a western before but I really like this." And now BOOM! My wish has been granted! Thank you Ms. Bowman! I read Vengeance Road on ePub but now I'm considering buying it Hardcover so I have physical copies of both companion novels. I hope this book is just as good, if not better than the last one =D
    more
  • Sam Willows
    February 20, 2017
    I DIDN'T EVEN KNOW THEY RELEASED THE COVER???? I NEED THIS NOW
  • Marina
    February 8, 2016
    OMG OMG OMG I AM EXCITE
  • Ashley Owens
    March 20, 2017
    ARE YOU KIDDING ME. LITERALLY JUST SAW THIS ON NETGALLEY AND MY JAW ACTUALLY DROPPED.
  • Mackenzi
    December 28, 2016
    It has been AGES since I had this much fun with a book. It was exactly what I wanted: tropey wild west shenanigans--gunfights, robberies, train jobs, blackmail, stagecoach chases, outlaws, Nellie Bly references--but infused with SO MUCH heart. Helmed by two vivacious narrators you can't help but root for/want to hug for different reasons, Erin Bowman has staged a truly transportive adventure tale with a deft and effortless hand. Twisting, thrilling, and a wild ride from start to finish. Prepare It has been AGES since I had this much fun with a book. It was exactly what I wanted: tropey wild west shenanigans--gunfights, robberies, train jobs, blackmail, stagecoach chases, outlaws, Nellie Bly references--but infused with SO MUCH heart. Helmed by two vivacious narrators you can't help but root for/want to hug for different reasons, Erin Bowman has staged a truly transportive adventure tale with a deft and effortless hand. Twisting, thrilling, and a wild ride from start to finish. Prepare to be hooked.And did I mention NELLIE BLY REFERENCES!? I swoon.
    more
  • Courts
    February 8, 2016
    I'm super excited for this one!
  • KAE
    January 30, 2017
    This cover is beautiful. *I seem calm but inside I'm screaming. OMG!!!*(I still have to read Vengeance Road but I can't wait for Retribution Rails.)
  • Jess
    March 14, 2017
    15/03/2017This series probably has my most favourite covers ever
  • Iara Ofamen
    February 25, 2017
    Considering how much I love Vengeance Road...Holy shit.Apparently this is set roughly 10 years after VR? And there's a "maybe" for some character cameos?(view spoiler)[i'd love to see what happened to lil. i love her. and kate. and jesse. and 'most everyone in vr. mostly lil and kate though. ngl i was shipping them at one point, but i'll settle for that heartwrenching goodbye and kate/jesse. still want that cameo though. i don't care if it's literally just one mention of a squinty-eyed cowboy or Considering how much I love Vengeance Road...Holy shit.Apparently this is set roughly 10 years after VR? And there's a "maybe" for some character cameos?(view spoiler)[i'd love to see what happened to lil. i love her. and kate. and jesse. and 'most everyone in vr. mostly lil and kate though. ngl i was shipping them at one point, but i'll settle for that heartwrenching goodbye and kate/jesse. still want that cameo though. i don't care if it's literally just one mention of a squinty-eyed cowboy or a dark-haired girl who can kill a man if she wants to or an apache girl. I DON'T CARE. CAMEO PLEASE I LOVE THESE CHARACTERS. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Rebecca
    March 16, 2016
    I'll take this now, please and thank you.
Write a review