Miss Kopp's Midnight Confessions (Kopp Sisters #3)
The best-selling author of Girl Waits with Gun and Lady Cop Makes Trouble continues her extraordinary journey into the real lives of the forgotten but fabulous Kopp sisters.Deputy sheriff Constance Kopp is outraged to see young women brought into the Hackensack jail over dubious charges of waywardness, incorrigibility, and moral depravity. The strong-willed, patriotic Edna Heustis, who left home to work in a munitions factory, certainly doesn’t belong behind bars. And sixteen-year-old runaway Minnie Davis, with few prospects and fewer friends, shouldn’t be publicly shamed and packed off to a state-run reformatory. But such were the laws—and morals—of 1916. Constance uses her authority as deputy sheriff, and occasionally exceeds it, to investigate and defend these women when no one else will. But it's her sister Fleurette who puts Constance's beliefs to the test and forces her to reckon with her own ideas of how a young woman should and shouldn't behave. Against the backdrop of World War I, and drawn once again from the true story of the Kopp sisters, Miss Kopp’s Midnight Confessions is a spirited, page-turning story that will delight fans of historical fiction and lighthearted detective fiction alike.

Miss Kopp's Midnight Confessions (Kopp Sisters #3) Details

TitleMiss Kopp's Midnight Confessions (Kopp Sisters #3)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 5th, 2017
PublisherHoughton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN054440999X
ISBN-139780544409996
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical, Mystery, Fiction, Historical Mystery

Miss Kopp's Midnight Confessions (Kopp Sisters #3) Review

  • Jackie
    February 22, 2017
    Awesome! I adored book 1, gobbled book 2, but book 3 is quite the standout. I love that the sisters are more developed and Stewart's eye for historical detail. If you've only ever read her nonfiction (if you haven't, you should), you know the author is a wonderful storyteller, fiction gives her an even wider stage. This novel is absolutely delightful.
    more
  • Vicki
    March 2, 2017
    Constance Kopp is not like most women. It is 1916 and she is one of the first female deputy sheriffs in the country. And when she is dealing with her female charges at the Bergen County Jail, Constance questions the conventional thinking of the times. The story focuses on two young women who left home for varying reasons, ended up working in factories, and were brought to the jail on vague “morality” charges that could keep them locked up for years. But Constance is not willing to give up on the Constance Kopp is not like most women. It is 1916 and she is one of the first female deputy sheriffs in the country. And when she is dealing with her female charges at the Bergen County Jail, Constance questions the conventional thinking of the times. The story focuses on two young women who left home for varying reasons, ended up working in factories, and were brought to the jail on vague “morality” charges that could keep them locked up for years. But Constance is not willing to give up on these young women. As she investigates and tries to find a reasonable way to get each one released, a personal drama within her own family becomes intertwined with their cases. Constance and her sisters are independent-minded and richly developed characters in this fascinating fact-based historical series. But it is Constance’s quiet power and perspective on the subject of justice that really shine in this latest novel from the talented Amy Stewart.Many thanks to the publisher for allowing me to be an early reader.
    more
  • Martina
    March 13, 2017
    Yaay! #3 in the Kopp Sister's series by Amy Stewart. I've so enjoyed these books. To be published in September 2017... Watch for it!
  • Tina Panik
    May 30, 2017
    Another delightful addition to the Kopp sister's adventures! This was an ARC.
  • Tracy
    May 28, 2017
    I do love these. They make me smile.
  • Linda
    April 9, 2017
    This is the third entry into a series about the first female deputy sheriff in Hackensack, NJ. Using a real life person, Constance Kopp, Amy Stewart has created a wonderful novel about a woman doing a man's job in the early 20th century. I loved the first book she wrote about Constance and enjoyed the second but this third book seems even better. Perhaps it is because we are more familiar with Constance and her sisters Norma and Fleurette, but the premise of this mystery is quite appealing as we This is the third entry into a series about the first female deputy sheriff in Hackensack, NJ. Using a real life person, Constance Kopp, Amy Stewart has created a wonderful novel about a woman doing a man's job in the early 20th century. I loved the first book she wrote about Constance and enjoyed the second but this third book seems even better. Perhaps it is because we are more familiar with Constance and her sisters Norma and Fleurette, but the premise of this mystery is quite appealing as well. I've always known that women have made great strides in personal freedom but I didn't realize that in WWI era (the time period of this book) that young girls could be sent to the state reformatory if they went out and found a job without their parents permission. Miss Kopp, deputy sheriff, is in charge of the women's section of the jail and she runs it well and humanely. When Edna, a young 18 year old is arrested at her boarding house because her mother has sworn out a warrant on her Constance is insistent that this is a travesty of justice. Constance's boss, Sheriff Heath is sympathetic but tells her that if she wants to change things then she needs to come up with a strategy to convince the judge. If you've read about Constance Kopp before then you know that she will come up with a way to help but Edna is only the first girl that Constance is called upon to help. It also hits close to home because Fleurette, the youngest Kopp sister is also eager to go out into the world and Constance realizes that allowing young girls to realize their dreams is much easier when they aren't related to you. This is an excellent book that makes one look forward to the next in the series.
    more
  • Renee
    April 30, 2017
    If you liked the other two, you'll like this one. (advance reading copy)
  • Dgordon
    April 24, 2017
    The Kopp sisters are great, the third book in this series is great and I want to read about the further adventures of Minnie and Edna in Paris during World War I. Please!
Write a review