The Man of Legends
Award-winning science-fiction mastermind Kenneth Johnson blends epic adventure, romance, and evocative drama into an intense supernatural thriller rooted in one of the great untold legends of human history.New York City, New Year’s weekend, 2001. Jillian Guthrie, a troubled young journalist, stumbles onto a tantalizing mystery: the same man, unaged, stands alongside Ulysses S. Grant, Theodore Roosevelt, and Gandhi in three different photographs spanning eighty-five years of history.In another part of town, Will—an enigmatic thirty-three-year-old of immense charm, wit, and intelligence—looks forward to the new year with hope and trepidation. Haunted by his secret past and shadowed by a dangerous stranger, he finds himself the object of an intense manhunt spearheaded by an ambitious Vatican emissary and an elderly former UN envoy named Hanna.During the next forty-eight hours, a catastrophic event unites Will, Jillian, and Hanna—and puts them in the crosshairs of a centuries-old international conspiracy. Together, the three must unravel an ancient curse that stretches back two millennia and beyond, and face a primal evil that threatens their lives and thousands more.

The Man of Legends Details

TitleThe Man of Legends
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 1st, 2017
Publisher47North
ISBN1477819681
ISBN-139781477819685
Number of pages428 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Science Fiction, Mystery, Thriller

The Man of Legends Review

  • Erica
    June 8, 2017
    Loved it!Best book I've read in a while! Very cool premise to weave in history with fantasy. I highly recommend it!
  • Andy Coleman
    June 9, 2017
    A SIMPLE MAN'S REVIEW:A story about a man, living through the centuries, all while being hunted? No, it is not a reboot of Highlander, although that would have been sweet. This, instead, is the story of a cursed man and the lives he shaped.First the good: I really liked the idea for the book. It reminded me of The Man from Earth in its attempt to describe what a person might do if they were basically immortal. What would you do and learn?But, now the bad: The style of the book is written from va A SIMPLE MAN'S REVIEW:A story about a man, living through the centuries, all while being hunted? No, it is not a reboot of Highlander, although that would have been sweet. This, instead, is the story of a cursed man and the lives he shaped.First the good: I really liked the idea for the book. It reminded me of The Man from Earth in its attempt to describe what a person might do if they were basically immortal. What would you do and learn?But, now the bad: The style of the book is written from various perspectives and the author tries to give each character their own "voice" but it does not work. It actually get ridiculous in some parts. Plus the backstory for each person is simplistic and doesn't add anything to the overall tale.The story also goes overboard with the amount of influence Will has throughout his life. It was like Forrest Gump on steroids! He invented blue jeans, the microscope, the steam engine, etc. Really?!So it breaks down like this: the good parts - 4 stars; the bad parts - 2 stars; and the scene in the warehouse is original enough to bump it up one star.This might be a fun summer read (if you skim a few parts towards the end). And if you are into new-age Christianity, you might like the theme - read it! If not, stick with The Man from Earth.
    more
  • Debbie
    June 9, 2017
    Extraordinary concept for an amazing storyFew books touch our souls and cause us to consider our purpose. Mr. Johnson wove magic throughout this tale and yet left us facing reality. The characters are as real as people I know. The emotions build to the final crescendo and leave you breathless. I feel like I've been on a journey through time but with a completely different perspective and the future is very brilliant.
    more
  • Carole
    June 9, 2017
    Interesting read about a 33 year old man, Will, who is immortal because of an action he took as Jesus was struggling with the cross on his way to his crucifixion. It covers Will's ongoing life for 2000+ years as he meets and influences many and helps many along the way. He has an epic encounter with the devil as the 21st century begins.You have to suspend judgement reading this but it is an enjoyable jaunt through time.
    more
  • Azlin Bloor
    June 5, 2017
    A Brilliant Read! I completely lost myself in this book. Fact and fiction, history and legend, all coming together seamlessly into a truly memorable adventure. I shan't go into the plot at all, as to do so runs a huge risk of spoiling the fun for you. If you like the Dan Brown type of story, this will knock your socks off, it's about 10 times deeper and more profound! The author's prose may be a little too flowery for some but to me, it just added to the whole atmosphere and themes of the boom. A Brilliant Read! I completely lost myself in this book. Fact and fiction, history and legend, all coming together seamlessly into a truly memorable adventure. I shan't go into the plot at all, as to do so runs a huge risk of spoiling the fun for you. If you like the Dan Brown type of story, this will knock your socks off, it's about 10 times deeper and more profound! The author's prose may be a little too flowery for some but to me, it just added to the whole atmosphere and themes of the boom. Story telling as it should be, not the cut and dried sentences you get from far too many writers these days.
    more
  • Bob6003
    June 3, 2017
    A provocative literary workMy general rule is to read a book before scanning the reviews. By page 100 I found my self unable to focus on the book. I thought I might've been finished at that time so I stopped and checked out the reviews. After reading the scathing 2star review I realized I was approaching the read in the wrong frame of mind. After another hour of reading I was totally caught up in the story and enjoyed the read immensely.I believe the writing is weak n the beginning but with pers A provocative literary workMy general rule is to read a book before scanning the reviews. By page 100 I found my self unable to focus on the book. I thought I might've been finished at that time so I stopped and checked out the reviews. After reading the scathing 2star review I realized I was approaching the read in the wrong frame of mind. After another hour of reading I was totally caught up in the story and enjoyed the read immensely.I believe the writing is weak n the beginning but with perseverance the reader will be rewarded with a satisfying read.
    more
  • Erica Sadlier
    June 12, 2017
    Too many POV's? Not hardlyI thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was well written and well paced. Most books I read tend to take a fair while to start getting interestinh, but this one had me hooked from the beginning.The first few chapters are slightly disjointed and odd, but the rhythm of the book quickly falls into place.A common complaint about this book is how many characters there are. To you guys: really? there aren't that manyEach time the POV changes it is explicit, you never have to guess Too many POV's? Not hardlyI thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was well written and well paced. Most books I read tend to take a fair while to start getting interestinh, but this one had me hooked from the beginning.The first few chapters are slightly disjointed and odd, but the rhythm of the book quickly falls into place.A common complaint about this book is how many characters there are. To you guys: really? there aren't that manyEach time the POV changes it is explicit, you never have to guess who's talking. The author does a great job weaving the different first hand accounts into a single story, told both from the antagonist's POV as well as the protagonist and that of several bystanders.If you enjoy a supernatural, religious thriller along the lines of Da Vinci Code then this book is a great purchase.
    more
  • Joe Crowe
    March 1, 2017
    I'm still reading at this moment, and I'll come back and revise this review once I'm done. (I got an early, early review copy.) Kenneth Johnson, full disclosure, created two of my favorite TV shows, V and The Incredible Hulk, so this book had good vibes before I even cracked the cover. Man of Legends stars an immortal hero who runs afoul of an international conspiracy (those are the best kind of conspiracies.) It's a fully realized TV series waiting to happen. I have actors from the 70s and 80s I'm still reading at this moment, and I'll come back and revise this review once I'm done. (I got an early, early review copy.) Kenneth Johnson, full disclosure, created two of my favorite TV shows, V and The Incredible Hulk, so this book had good vibes before I even cracked the cover. Man of Legends stars an immortal hero who runs afoul of an international conspiracy (those are the best kind of conspiracies.) It's a fully realized TV series waiting to happen. I have actors from the 70s and 80s in my head playing all the parts. It's fun so far, a spy thriller steeped in world history. About five months from now when the book releases to the public, they're in for some good stuff.
    more
  • Jonas Saul
    June 12, 2017
    Wow! Words cannot describe how good this novel actually was. I haven't read something this well done in quite a long time. I mean, other novels are fabulous reads as well, but this one was a unique literary piece of magic. I absolutely loved the multiple POVs. I loved the unique voice of each and every character, and I loved the subject matter. The author was able to weave the entire masterpiece together into a tight-knit bow. I laughed, I cried, and I sat shocked, at times - literally - on the Wow! Words cannot describe how good this novel actually was. I haven't read something this well done in quite a long time. I mean, other novels are fabulous reads as well, but this one was a unique literary piece of magic. I absolutely loved the multiple POVs. I loved the unique voice of each and every character, and I loved the subject matter. The author was able to weave the entire masterpiece together into a tight-knit bow. I laughed, I cried, and I sat shocked, at times - literally - on the edge of my seat.This is a must-read book. I will place this in hardcover on my shelf and recommend it for years to come. It was a journey, a delight, a wonder, and an eye-opener.
    more
  • Best Paw Forward Inc.
    June 12, 2017
    Thought-provoking, inspirational, a highlight in my reading for the year!It can be easy to get lost in time-hopping plots. This makes it easy, dishing it up in tiny bites of historical inspiration. A current, terrifying chase plays against the seamless background provided by someone who has lived it all for 2,000 years, learning & gently sharing his knowledge with great minds. Add in the timeless questions of what constitutes a good life and a good man, religion and humanism. Could not put i Thought-provoking, inspirational, a highlight in my reading for the year!It can be easy to get lost in time-hopping plots. This makes it easy, dishing it up in tiny bites of historical inspiration. A current, terrifying chase plays against the seamless background provided by someone who has lived it all for 2,000 years, learning & gently sharing his knowledge with great minds. Add in the timeless questions of what constitutes a good life and a good man, religion and humanism. Could not put it down. Thank you, Kenneth Johnston - you bring clarity to our days.
    more
  • Cindy Ehrenreich
    June 12, 2017
    I enjoyed this very much. Will is cursed to travel the world for the past 2000 years. After the first century of self-pity & just surviving, he decides to spend the centuries, gaining & passing along knowledge, influencing the great minds & movements of history, helping the needy and trying to make the world a better place. Throughout his memorable encounters, he his also being hunted by the church & tempted by the "fallen angel"
    more
  • Patrick B ODonnell
    June 5, 2017
    Fascinating bookUnique approach to the concept of good vs evil. Cleverly written and quite entertaining. Although it speaks out against organized religion, it does focus on how sometimes trivial actions or words of kindness can have a profound impact on our own lives and those around us.
    more
  • Sandie Acquistapace
    June 9, 2017
    WOW. Incredible, beautifully written, stunning and moving storyI Love love love this Incredible, beautifully written, stunning and moving story . Truly inspirational and emotionally fulfilling, I hated to stop reading for such mundane things as sleeping or eating. And I know I'll read it again. I almost feel like just reading it again right now.
    more
  • Joyce A. Wendeln
    June 4, 2017
    He Who Struck Our LordHe wanders forever, changing locations every 3 days. No matter what happens to him, he cannot die. He forever looks in his 30's. What does God want of him? Why does the Vatican chase him and want to put in in a modern dungeon? Who will help him? Whom can he trust?
    more
  • Dorothy
    June 12, 2017
    Great storyI got swept up in the story and carried along. Thought provoking look at good and evil. Especially in today's tense, conflicted atmosphere it's interesting to contemplate who's doing good and who may not despite their best efforts. What does God really want from us? Who are his emissaries, who his enemy? Don't we owe it to each other to encourage each other?
    more
  • Sandi
    June 9, 2017
    Quite intriguingI love time travel fiction, even if this one isn't really in that category. The time it spanned was what drew me to it. I like the author's writing style and would recommend this book to anyone interested in religious fiction covering an enormous amount of time. This book has to be one of my favorites to date.
    more
  • Daniel B Nething
    June 7, 2017
    If you like tension and religious overtones, this is a good pickSpoilers...............................................................A well woven setup and great tension throughout, but the ending just falls flat. I liked the characters and the arc of the story, but Deus ex machina just killed it.
    more
  • Paul L. Thwaites
    June 4, 2017
    An unexpectedly delightful readThis is a new take on an old story made so much more interesting by the deft way with which the author shifts between the many different first person perspectives. No spoilers here but I say READ this book. This author has now been placed on my must read list, whether or not the book is on the free book listing.
    more
  • Kevin D Counihan
    June 10, 2017
    Not bad once you figure out the writing styleNot sure their is a plot. The whole book feels like one 400 page chapter. It is like an episode of the TV show 24.. You get flashbacks, flash forwards, all from different points in history, and different points of view. Is it entertaining yes. Will it frustrate the crap out of most people yes.
    more
  • Lori
    June 6, 2017
    One of the best reads!!I have read so many books in my life...but I can say honestly that there are have been very few times that I have been touched like this book. Very well written! Good character development. I am not religious but the simplistic and pure message spoke to me. I do believe in "The Golden Rule"
    more
  • Andy
    June 11, 2017
    A great story and brilliant message!Sublime! An amazingly well written and splendid story. It has instantly jumped into my top 5 favorite books! An excellent book you won't want to put down, and will be sad when you finish because you want more!
  • Marsha Neumann
    June 10, 2017
    Absolutely loved this book.The writing, at times, was masterful. I truly believe there are Wills holding it all together for the world. And there are examples of truly loving and compassionate people all around us. And we ourselves can make a difference. Great book.
    more
  • Sonya Kamell
    June 12, 2017
    Awesome read!!! Fascinating and inspiring. Tremendously entertaining read. Characters are all loveable, spans millennia and universes. Thank you, Amazon Prime, for the suggestion!
  • Nick Laeder
    June 7, 2017
    Blew me awayI got this book through the Amazon Firsts program. It is amazing! The story leaves plenty of room for personal hypotheses, all of which were very wrong. Read as little about it as possible, and get it.
  • Erin Hundtofte
    June 7, 2017
    ExceptionalUnlike any book I've ever read, this plot spans centuries, with vivid characters, subtle sub-plots, and a culmination that wraps up nicely but leaves the reader wanting more...
  • Mike Speer
    June 7, 2017
    An old story, with some different twists. Over all a good read. I got this book for free with Amazon. Story has a good message even if you don't agree with it totally. Well written. Enjoy and spread the word.
  • Colleen Elizabeth Edwards
    June 6, 2017
    Thought provokingWhat a fast action fascinating bookS o well written and beautifully thought outThe characters are wonderfully brought aliveIn the first person. Cleverly written concept wonderfulIs he really amoung us read it you will enjoy
  • Gale Williams
    June 11, 2017
    A Surprising StoryThe author is very well acclaimed and writes well. I was totally surprised by the book and story lines. This book kept my interest all the way through. Spoiler it has a supernatural religious theme, mixed with history and sci-fi. Give it a try.
    more
  • Susan Suggs
    June 11, 2017
    Good readThis was a fantastic book. I would recommend to all! I hope he finds his way home .......... .. .
  • misty j main
    June 3, 2017
    Written very wellI enjoyed reading this book it was a bit hard to remember all the people in it but was written so well that you were reminded subtlety who each person was.
Write a review