Beasts Made of Night
In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts – lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt. Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family. When Taj is called to eat a sin of a royal, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves – and his own life. A gritty Nigerian-influenced fantasy.

Beasts Made of Night Details

TitleBeasts Made of Night
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 31st, 2017
PublisherRazorbill
ISBN-139780448493909
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Beasts Made of Night Review

  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    DNF - 45%. I'm joining the many people who couldn't finish this book, despite trying very hard to love it. Normally, I would give up on a book this hard to get into after a couple of chapters but I persevered because I was so in love with the premise (Nigerian fantasy, sin-eaters, etc.) that I struggled to accept it wasn't working out.I can tell already that many won't finish Beasts Made of Night. It is extremely slow and dense and lacks a strong plot line, drama, humour or something to make it DNF - 45%. I'm joining the many people who couldn't finish this book, despite trying very hard to love it. Normally, I would give up on a book this hard to get into after a couple of chapters but I persevered because I was so in love with the premise (Nigerian fantasy, sin-eaters, etc.) that I struggled to accept it wasn't working out.I can tell already that many won't finish Beasts Made of Night. It is extremely slow and dense and lacks a strong plot line, drama, humour or something to make it compelling. The right kind of reader for this book might call it words like "rich" and "detailed" but I personally think that reader is rare. A quick glance at the advance reviews reveals many struggled as much as I did. So disappointed that I couldn't get into this.
    more
  • Cait • A Page with a View
    January 1, 1970
    I absolutely loved the idea of this story! The Nigerian influences were something I've never seen in another YA fantasy story and helped to create such a wonderfully unique world. The rich pay for people like Taj to eat their sins, which are summoned into inky monsters that need to be killed before they're swallowed and turn into tattoos. Taj is covered in tattoos and clearly one of the best aki/Sin-Eaters. He comes from a world of poverty, corruption, and prejudice against him by the very peopl I absolutely loved the idea of this story! The Nigerian influences were something I've never seen in another YA fantasy story and helped to create such a wonderfully unique world. The rich pay for people like Taj to eat their sins, which are summoned into inky monsters that need to be killed before they're swallowed and turn into tattoos. Taj is covered in tattoos and clearly one of the best aki/Sin-Eaters. He comes from a world of poverty, corruption, and prejudice against him by the very people who rely on his work. The world was amazing and there were so many elements I loved (PLEASE can we get more African inspiration in YA fantasy), but the overall execution of the story made it hard for me to get into. I think it just comes down to the very average writing... it was really hard for me to keep trying to push through it and not zone out. And then the way the plot jumped all over the place could have made it more engaging, but was done so messily that it only threw me out of the book even more. The story just seemed like a shadow of what it could have been.This felt more like a draft than a finished book to me, but I know several others adored it!! So definitely check it out for yourself. I still think the story would make an amazing movie! And I rounded up on my rating because I loved the Nigerian elements and reallllly would like to see publishers get more diverse YA fantasy. Thank you to the publisher for sending me an ARC.
    more
  • Lauren (Shakespeare & Whisky)
    January 1, 1970
    In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts – lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt. Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is In the walled city of Kos, corrupt mages can magically call forth sin from a sinner in the form of sin-beasts – lethal creatures spawned from feelings of guilt. Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. Most aki are driven mad by the process, but 17-year-old Taj is cocky and desperate to provide for his family. When Taj is called to eat a sin of a royal, he’s suddenly thrust into the center of a dark conspiracy to destroy Kos. Now Taj must fight to save the princess that he loves – and his own life.Awesome, original new fantasy with unique and a well thought out magic system? Corruption, conspiracy and adventure?YA that explores complex representations of guilt?Tattoos?OmfgSooo… if anyone gets an arc of this is there any chance they could let me borrow it on the DL? ;)
    more
  • The Bookavid
    January 1, 1970
    i just found out about this and i may or may not be cryingnigerian writers continue to put the african rep into the english-speaking YA market and i am SO THANKFUL i will hype this book so hard
  • Alienor ✘ French Frowner ✘ (of badger and SNAKE)
    January 1, 1970
    *reads blurb*HOW AMAZING DOES THAT SOUND?**Because I'm a lazy teacher (I'm really not), here's the answer : Oh, it sounds fabulous, Anna!You're welcome. Going back to work. Ciao ciao. ~~ subliminal message ~~ Add this book.(What do you mean I suck at subliminal messages?! Did you add the book? So.)
    more
  • Faith
    January 1, 1970
    This book has a really intriguing premise and I was drawn in by the world building. Unfortunately I thought that it was lacking in both plot and character development. The story is told in first person present tense by Taj, a sin eater or aki who's also known as Lightbringer. As the sins in the form of beasts enter the aki he describes his experience. "The sorrow that rakes my skin. The guilt that grips my mind. The cold that pierces my bones and freezes my marrow. And I want to cry out, but my This book has a really intriguing premise and I was drawn in by the world building. Unfortunately I thought that it was lacking in both plot and character development. The story is told in first person present tense by Taj, a sin eater or aki who's also known as Lightbringer. As the sins in the form of beasts enter the aki he describes his experience. "The sorrow that rakes my skin. The guilt that grips my mind. The cold that pierces my bones and freezes my marrow. And I want to cry out, but my throat is full of sin, and the moment stretches out like a piece of rubber being pulled and pulled and pulled until finally it snaps." It's a complicated mythology and everything in this world seems to be menacing to both the aki and the ordinary citizens, including the Mage, the royal family, palace guards, cheating pay masters, Agha Sentry, shadow beasts, catapults sent to destroy the neighborhood (dahia) and arashi who are attracted to places with the most sin. One of my problems with the book is that it has too many words with which I am unfamiliar and I'm not sure that I always understood the meaning through the context. It needs a glossary. Another problem I had is that Taj's status in this world, and his powers, kept shifting for no logical reason other than the author needed them to. And Taj is not very interesting and no other characters are developed at all. Taj instantly falls in love with a princess (of course), but she struck me as a creepy stalker attracted to sin, so I never bought into the romance here.There is really no plot until a third of the way in when it felt like a story was about to develop, but I was wrong because nothing happened again until the last 50 pages. There is a conspiracy introduced at that point, and even though it is very sketchy and doesn't make a lot of sense it should have been introduced much earlier in the book. Before then Taj has no goals and faces no conflicts. So without a compelling plot or characters all you're left with is an interesting premise. The author shows promise but I wanted more of a plot from this book. The ending could possibly be construed as a cliffhanger, but I don't think a sequel is called for.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.
    more
  • Crazy4Books
    January 1, 1970
    I want an egalley of this so bad. I was told Id get a finished copy when they come in so gotta be patient and wait for that.
  • Shenwei
    January 1, 1970
    I'm screaming what was that ending 😱😱😱😭😭😭
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    I received an e-ARC of this novel from Penguin Group via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.When I first heard about this novel, I was instantly intrigued - I had never read a Nigerian-influenced novel before, let alone a fantasy one. However, I came to the decision to DNF at 66%. I didn’t make this decision easily, and I feel as if I have left myself down for not finishing, but I just couldn’t continue.At first, I was really excited and intrigued by the novel an I received an e-ARC of this novel from Penguin Group via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts are my own.When I first heard about this novel, I was instantly intrigued - I had never read a Nigerian-influenced novel before, let alone a fantasy one. However, I came to the decision to DNF at 66%. I didn’t make this decision easily, and I feel as if I have left myself down for not finishing, but I just couldn’t continue.At first, I was really excited and intrigued by the novel and the premise; however, that quickly dissipated as I found myself getting easily distracted and putting the book down, which for me, is not a good sign.I persisted and I started to find some promising points within the novel, the sins were very interesting and the way they manifested etc. The magic of it all was fascinating, and I felt it represented an insight into how in some countries/cultures (and some privileged people) view the under-privileged, and how, if you’re different, you’re seen as something to be avoided. In this case, the aki (sin-eaters) were seen as dirty, as they were marked (tattooed) by the sins they ate to keep the privileged “pure”.The aki were controlled by the mages – people with the ability to draw the sin into “form” – where the aki then killed the “beasts” and fed. I loved the concept of it all. But the novel lost me as soon as it hit “insta love” (instant love). All of a sudden, a princess was on the scene, and she and Taj touched a handful of times, and Taj loved her? It made no sense to me, and was so left-field, it threw me out of the book.While I found the concept interesting, I found that I was unable to connect to a single character, and the “insta love” halfway through the novel nearly killed it for me. I continued in the hope that I would find something that clicked, but there was nothing. The main protagonist, Taj, infuriated me. He was childish in my opinion, even though he was supposed to have matured fast. He was the “Lightbringer”, but he was just so frustrating, and his immaturity as he trained other aki ruined the book for me.To top it off, the plot felt disjointed. One minute Taj was a “dirty aki” on the streets, called to the palace to eat sins – the next minute he was serving as the king’s personal aki, where he fell in love with someone he barely knew. Then, Taj was suddenly asked to lead the aki (sin-eater) training, and had to leave the palace. It felt like he had only been there for all of five minutes in the first place.I will attempt to give this novel another try upon its paperback release in October 2017 – perhaps the ebook format hindered my read – but for now this novel will sit as a DNF.I'm giving it 2 STARS as I will purchase this upon it's release.
    more
  • Aila
    January 1, 1970
    This Nigerian-inspired fantasy was exceptional from beginning to end. I was entranced by the world that Onyebuchi creates: one where monsters of sin are summoned from people and devoured by the aki, or sin-eaters. One where delicious, steaming descriptions of food are as prevalent as the congested and noisy stalls of the Forum, layered with corruption and poverty. One where the main character, Taj, is beginning to discover has hidden secrets that could change the city of Kos.Review to come (and This Nigerian-inspired fantasy was exceptional from beginning to end. I was entranced by the world that Onyebuchi creates: one where monsters of sin are summoned from people and devoured by the aki, or sin-eaters. One where delicious, steaming descriptions of food are as prevalent as the congested and noisy stalls of the Forum, layered with corruption and poverty. One where the main character, Taj, is beginning to discover has hidden secrets that could change the city of Kos.Review to come (and more?!) to come at One Way Or An Author!
    more
  • Sarah Marie
    January 1, 1970
    DNF @ page 65Beasts Made of Night takes place in the city of Kos and follows Taj, an aki. Akis are sin-eaters who feed off the sins of people and gain tattoos when they have conquered or fed upon the beasts made from sin. This novel has a very strong premise enriched and influenced by Nigerian storytelling/mythology. I believe that many readers will greatly enjoy and appreciate the world that Tochi Onyebuchi has woven together.However, I'm not one of those readers. I wanted so badly to love this DNF @ page 65Beasts Made of Night takes place in the city of Kos and follows Taj, an aki. Akis are sin-eaters who feed off the sins of people and gain tattoos when they have conquered or fed upon the beasts made from sin. This novel has a very strong premise enriched and influenced by Nigerian storytelling/mythology. I believe that many readers will greatly enjoy and appreciate the world that Tochi Onyebuchi has woven together.However, I'm not one of those readers. I wanted so badly to love this, but the mythology, while interesting, wasn't grabbing my attention and I found it hard to connect to the city of Kos. The writing is very awkward and lacks a stylistic flow that cohesively connects the story together. This throws the pacing off and makes it hard to stay immersed in the world. It's hard to stay invested in a fantasy world that doesn't grab your attention and hold it. If I can put a fantasy novel down and only find myself questioning its purpose and the point, then that fantasy novel has not captured my attention. This is why Beasts Made of Night didn't win me over as a fantasy story.As a novel (without focusing on the fantasy elements), Beasts Made of Night failed to connect me to the protagonist. I know that the main character is named Taj, but I don't know Taj. I read 65 pages of Taj's story and I feel like I only know his basic Tinder profile. I don't want to read a story where I can't connect to a hero I'm supposed to be rooting for. I need that connection in a story, especially in a fantasy driven novel.While Beasts Made of Night didn't work for me personally, I know that many will love this story and the incorporation of Nigerian culture. However, mythology alone cannot be the one positive thing a story has to offer for me to continue reading. I recommend picking this one if the summary interests you because I think it was just my personal reading tastes that hindered me from enjoying this fantasy novel.Thank you, First to Read and Penguin (Razorbill), for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Minx -The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    January 1, 1970
    I received a digital ARC of this novel courtesy of First to Read in exchange for a honest and voluntary review. Will post full review closer to publication date of October 31, 2017.
  • Lara Kareem
    January 1, 1970
    I heard about Beasts Made of Night on Twitter. A young lady was looking for a Nigerian book blogger to give this book to and I was the lucky person who she eventually sent it to. She said the author is Nigerian and it's a fantasy based in Nigeria, and I was just sold because right at that moment, I had actually been seeing the cover across twitter, but never really paid attention to the book so I did a quick Goodreads look up and I was impressed and excited. The cover is also so beautiful.I didn I heard about Beasts Made of Night on Twitter. A young lady was looking for a Nigerian book blogger to give this book to and I was the lucky person who she eventually sent it to. She said the author is Nigerian and it's a fantasy based in Nigeria, and I was just sold because right at that moment, I had actually been seeing the cover across twitter, but never really paid attention to the book so I did a quick Goodreads look up and I was impressed and excited. The cover is also so beautiful.I didn't even read the blurb, I wanted to be surprised when I finally got my hands on it and surprise I was by how the execution of the story went.This story follows the life Taj who is popularly known as Skyfist or Lightbringer, an Aki people who fight and destroy Inisisa, Sin Beasts, which are brought forth by Mages. The Aki are treated poorly and are high disrespected, which I don't get why? These people are wonderful and what they can do is a blessing, one that the people in Kos should respect if they have common sense, but they don't I guess. So I didn't read the blurb of this book, so I didn't know Mages were meant to be terrible, but I got that vibe quickly from the books. There is a lot of lahala going on in this book that I could have done with out though, but it is there.I didn't fancy the romance aspect you see, because it was like Tochi couldn't make up his mind and left the opening possible for Taj to actually be interested in 3 different ladies, but all I know is I was right about my suspicions along, especially when I got to the end of the book. But I love romance and for me to say I didn't fancy it at all is something.I loved reading Nigerian slangs, like Oga - which means boss, ehn-ehn which is used for emphasis and the other slangs, at least I understood them immediately.I was just confused about the city of Kos. I wondered where it was meant to be and I think it's meant to be like Lagos. Because Kos is home to many people of different ethnic people because we have the names such as Taj, Aliya, Kolade, Ifeoma, Emeka, Karima, Arzu, Izu etc. So from this, I got that Kos is a diverse city and there are other parts of the world Kos is in.I also think Islam is the main religion of Kos because they spoke about fasting, and there was always a call to pray and Masjid, which means mosque. Which also negates my opinion that Kos is in Lagos, but based on Northern Nigeria.There are two main creatures in this story the Sin Beasts or Inisisa and the Arashi, which is meant to be terrifying *cough* By the way I need an explanation to why the Sin-Beasts manifest in the form of animals, there isn't really a back story to the people and how the magic really works. Yes, we a Mage was trying to explain to it a bit, but I still didn't grasp it.I believe there is meant to be a sequel because the story just cuts off, like it just gets interesting and it just stops. I hope it is way better than this book, I would truly love to know what fate awaits Taj and how he manages to overcome the obstacles in his path.We're thrust into the city of Kos, just like that and are left alone to stumble around till we figure out for ourselves how the city works and who the people in it are. I have a problem with this because the way the story is written, it's like Tochi expects us to know the terms he used to describe the people and some of the things in their world immediately.More than 70% into the story, I still couldn't understand the purpose of the story and what was meant to be happening. I knew something was meant to be off but the execution of it was too laid back and was as if in passing it still wasn't making sense to me. Then there's a full 360 turn from the laid back story telling at 80% of the story and are thrust into fast paced with no sort of warning and that's how it goes till the last page.Even the last few chapters felt rushed to me and confusing, even the big twist that was meant to occur, the way it was written, was so flat it had me scrunching my face. I knew it was coming, but the scene was just ugh to me and so cringy. It could be so better.In fact, the story had me confused a lot because there really isn't a sense of time to it, we're just meant to know time is going and so so and so things have occurred. It went from one place to another, which made it hard to follow it well, you have to pay full attention when reading this book. The story although beautiful in my opinion was poorly written, the writing style needs a lot work to make the story shine as bright as it ought to because the concept of this story is wonderful.It should be noted I received and read an ARC of this book, and it is noted in it that this book isn't finished or corrected. So I do hope the finished book is way better and much more impressive.As a Nigerian, I feel sad because I was really really excited and thrilled for this book. larakareem.com
    more
  • Bitchin' Reads
    January 1, 1970
    Update 9/11/2017: So I ended up pushing through to the end yesterday. Still sticking to what I have said, and still sticking to this rating. The only thing I want to add is that the ending is greatly rushed. Plot twists were still coming late into the book and they were wrapped up quickly and in a manner I don't like. Read it yourself when it comes out and let me know what you think. I think a guy might be able to better connect with the MC, because there was a disconnect for me. 9/8/2017: I rec Update 9/11/2017: So I ended up pushing through to the end yesterday. Still sticking to what I have said, and still sticking to this rating. The only thing I want to add is that the ending is greatly rushed. Plot twists were still coming late into the book and they were wrapped up quickly and in a manner I don't like. Read it yourself when it comes out and let me know what you think. I think a guy might be able to better connect with the MC, because there was a disconnect for me. 9/8/2017: I received an ARC from Penguin Firsts and the following is my honest review.I'm sad to report that this book just didn't do it for me. The first third of the book was great: engaging and really interesting, the characters dynamic, the tensions between the different peoples and ideals resonating and concerning. Going beyond that first third, the book lost its greatness in all those aspects. Where it had been revealing relationships and characters that added quality and mystery to the story, the second and third parts of the book lost that substance. The pacing became glacial. The character drives watered down to power plays that weren't enticing and no longer held my interest. I also felt that the book was at times all over the place with the world it wanted to convey; the melding of the magic and the cyber-robotic limbed people just didn't work for me, and they stuck out without much that married them to the rest of the fantastical tale. While the story held a lot of potential, and the its originality in relation to the rest of known and published YA, it was a disappointment for me.On the flip-side, I think it is important that books like this exist--it showcases a culture that are sadly not present in current YA, bringing in more diversity. Diversity is a hot topic in the YA community and there are many, many, many authors and publishing houses and bloggers trying to bring more representation into the community. I appreciated the different culture in this book--I actually really loved that aspect, because I love exposure to new peoples and ways of viewing the world. Unfortunately, other aspects of the book detracted from my overall experience. If you didn't notice in the previous paragraph, I italicized every time I mentioned my personal feelings. I did this to emphasize that this is how I felt about this book, because I didn't want people to mistake my intentions: this is my perspective on what I read. I didn't enjoy it. HOWEVER, you might. This book might speak to you; you might connect with it and see it as something wonderful--I don't want to distract from that possibility. Like I always tell people in person and online, I might not like something but that doesn't mean you will feel the same. Freely read reviews and comments, but please don't let those other opinions determine what you read. I personally like to check out other reviews and comments, but ultimately my decision is made upon whether the blurb or summary describe an world and characters I want to know.Like I said above, I enjoyed the culture and peoples that were introduced. There is a wealth of possibility with African cultures, and the first third of the book captured one in such a way that I was riveted. It is clear to me that the author did a lot of research, and the book benefited from it greatly. I felt like I stepped into the world, and Amharic words used to describe, explain, and direct helped the story along.This is a solid 2 out of 5 bitchin' stars. For those who enjoy fantasy, give this one a shot. I'm not sure of a book for good comparison. Part of me wants to say there was a reading feel (kind of like a mouth feel, but for the brain) similar to when I was reading Aditi Khorana's The Library of Fates, but I'm not sure if that makes much sense. :) Let me know if it does, or if you want me to explain in a different manner--I'll try my best!
    more
  • Christiane (Pages Unfolding)
    January 1, 1970
    I so wanted to like this but I just found it boring and confusing. There are some plot holes that make it incoherent, and concerning the language and the characters there was nothing exciting to be found. It all felt like jumping from one scene to the next, a bit like a movie script. There was just not enough story telling to make a good story. A pity really since the premise was great, but the execution is a hodgepodge of different cultural elements and rather bland characters.
    more
  • Lilly (Lair Of Books)
    January 1, 1970
    Review to come, I have a ton of thoughts but one things is certain.... I FRIGGIN LOVED THIS BOOK!!!! *pre-orders finished copy*
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    A gripping, visceral fantasy set in a cruelly beautiful world where sins are expelled by the rich as shadowed beasts and consumed by the poor. I truly enjoyed this one and loved Taj, who is an instantly likable character. Don't miss this!
  • Leah
    January 1, 1970
    This book is rich in culture and depth, and the characters are heartbreakingly relatable. Check out the full review on my blog!
  • Erika
    January 1, 1970
    This review and more can be found on Living for the BooksWhen I first heard about this book I was immediately interested. I haven't read a Nigerian influenced fantasy before, so I thought that this would be really unique and have some intriguing concepts. I really liked the idea of this book and I was interested enough in the world to enjoy reading this, but there are also a few aspects of this book that I didn't really enjoy.I highly enjoyed the idea of sin beasts and the aki. It's unique and u This review and more can be found on Living for the BooksWhen I first heard about this book I was immediately interested. I haven't read a Nigerian influenced fantasy before, so I thought that this would be really unique and have some intriguing concepts. I really liked the idea of this book and I was interested enough in the world to enjoy reading this, but there are also a few aspects of this book that I didn't really enjoy.I highly enjoyed the idea of sin beasts and the aki. It's unique and unlike anything I've ever read before, so I was really interested in that. I would have liked things to be a little more clear with the world building though, like what math has to do with the Unnamed. It wasn't entirely clear to me why the aki are treated so poorly by the Mages and the rest of their society, other than this is what happens. The ideas were great, I just enjoy a little more clarification when it comes to things I'm not really familiar with and especially in fantasy worlds.The main plot wasn't anything out of the ordinary, which was kind of disappointing, but it wasn't boring. I didn't really understand the reasoning behind Taj getting brought to the palace just to be shipped off to train aki. It seemed like an easy was for Taj and the princess to meet, but it didn't really make a whole lot of sense, especially considering how aki are viewed in this society. There was a lot of build up to the ending and most of it felt a little like filler. I wish that the more exciting stuff at the end of the book had taken up more of the story. It wasn't really a rushed ending, but I would have enjoyed it more if it was more drawn out. I haven't seen anything about a sequel yet, but there must be one coming because the ending was a little bit of a cliffhanger.While the characters weren't bad, they also didn't feel unique. There was nothing that really stood out to me about any of the characters. Taj is super special and it's never really explained why and it doesn't really seem necessary for people to keep saying that. Having a super special main character is something that bothers me because it's essentially saying that this person is important and the hero because they're so special. Taj really cares about his fellow aki, but I didn't really feel a connection to the people he cares about. The romance felt like it came out of nowhere. As soon as Taj and the princess met, it seemed like they were into each other and I didn't really get it. It seemed like Taj liked her just because she was pretty and the princess, which isn't a good reason to like someone.I especially enjoyed the writing during scenes with the sin beasts. I could vividly picture the beasts and the action that was happening. The descriptions of the world were also very easy to picture. Where the writing fell flat was with the character development. Overall, I did like the story though, which is unusual for me because good character development is something that is usually a must.I did have a few issues with the book, but as a whole I liked it, mainly because it was so unique to me. If there is a sequel, then I may pick it up, but I won't be in rush. *I received this from Penguin First to Read in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    I read this through the Penguin First To Read program. 3.5 stars.I was drawn to this book because of the beautiful cover, and the premise sounded intriguing as well. I hadn't quite read anything with this kind of world before, and I enjoyed learning about sin-eating and the magic of Kos. The writing made the story go by quickly, and overall it was a fun read. The romantic relationships were a little confusing for me. It seemed like Taj was falling for Aliya over time, while his feelings for Kari I read this through the Penguin First To Read program. 3.5 stars.I was drawn to this book because of the beautiful cover, and the premise sounded intriguing as well. I hadn't quite read anything with this kind of world before, and I enjoyed learning about sin-eating and the magic of Kos. The writing made the story go by quickly, and overall it was a fun read. The romantic relationships were a little confusing for me. It seemed like Taj was falling for Aliya over time, while his feelings for Karima were definitely insta-love. At other times, it seemed like Taj saw Aliya as just a close friend. At the end of the book when more is revealed about Karima, it made a little more sense why she had such power over Taj. Although I didn't find the romance aspect overbearing, I don't know that romance was even necessary to the plot except for leading Taj to his conflict at the end, which could have been replaced by some other form of manipulation. I found it a little confusing what was happening with Taj's sin spots, since he repeatedly thought he was crossing, and then he didn't. I also wish more was explained about the way his sin spots worked, but maybe we'll get more answers in the next book.
    more
  • Nandini Bharadwaj
    January 1, 1970
    Note: I received a free e-copy of the book via Net Galley in exchange for an honest reviewActual rating: 3.5 out of 5 starsCharacters:I enjoyed the characters in this book. The main character had a distinct perspective and made choices that were selfish at times. He wasn't the average goody-two-shoes kind of hero and I liked seeing that in a fantasy book. His relationships with the other characters were well-developed and they were all memorable and distinct.Plot and Setting:The world-building w Note: I received a free e-copy of the book via Net Galley in exchange for an honest reviewActual rating: 3.5 out of 5 starsCharacters:I enjoyed the characters in this book. The main character had a distinct perspective and made choices that were selfish at times. He wasn't the average goody-two-shoes kind of hero and I liked seeing that in a fantasy book. His relationships with the other characters were well-developed and they were all memorable and distinct.Plot and Setting:The world-building was the part I liked the best. The setting was richly detailed and I loved reading about a society with fantastical elements based on Nigerian culture. The magic system was very different from the run-of-the-mill fantasy that I usually read. I must admit that I honestly did not expect the twist at the climax! However, in this particular case, I felt that the world-building overshadowed the plot. The info-dumping slowed down the plot in several places and I wasn't the biggest fan. I'm not sure if the copy I received was incomplete, but I felt that the ending was abrupt.Writing Style:The writing was a huge let-down for me. It sounded juvenile and almost modern for the time period in which I approximately imagined it was set in. I don't appreciate that in fantasy and expected a better quality. This is the biggest reason the book didn't get a higher rating from me and hope that it is better in the finished copy.Conclusion:I liked the story but the writing failed to impress me. However, if this turns into a series, I would definitely continue on with it. If you're looking for a diverse fantasy series with amazing world-building, I would whole-heartedly recommend this one.
    more
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    I almost DNF'ed it about 70 pages in, but it's such a short book and the premise was so intriguing that I pushed through.... and it was not worth it. This book was a total let down; everything about it had such promise and it never delivers. The beginning is too slow, the middle is too fast, the ending felt out of left field. Most of the relationships are underdeveloped. The main character is obsessed with his family/the past/how he got here and yet he can't identify a massive player in one of t I almost DNF'ed it about 70 pages in, but it's such a short book and the premise was so intriguing that I pushed through.... and it was not worth it. This book was a total let down; everything about it had such promise and it never delivers. The beginning is too slow, the middle is too fast, the ending felt out of left field. Most of the relationships are underdeveloped. The main character is obsessed with his family/the past/how he got here and yet he can't identify a massive player in one of the biggest moments in his life when they're in front of him every day for a baffling length of pages. Plus I hated the way it was written, though that is more a personal opinion than a failing on the book.
    more
  • Sarah Hartman
    January 1, 1970
    I got an ARC of this at ALA and it was delightful! Nigerian fantasy universe with a unique and well-crafted magical/spiritual system. The plot is fast-paced and interesting, and ends with a cliffhanger made even more cliff-y by the fact that even this book won't be officially out until September.The narrator and protagonist is a satisfyingly complex teenage boy, though for some reason his voice reads as female to me for no identifiable reason. I kept having to remind my inner casting department I got an ARC of this at ALA and it was delightful! Nigerian fantasy universe with a unique and well-crafted magical/spiritual system. The plot is fast-paced and interesting, and ends with a cliffhanger made even more cliff-y by the fact that even this book won't be officially out until September.The narrator and protagonist is a satisfyingly complex teenage boy, though for some reason his voice reads as female to me for no identifiable reason. I kept having to remind my inner casting department that he's a guy. It might just be how many Strong Female Protagnist YA novels I've read :-b I could wish he spent a bit less time being attracted to all the female characters, but that's a pet peeve of mine and they're pretty acceptably three-dimensional in their own right.There are places the worldbuilding seems slightly inconsistent, but that may just be things that will be ironed out in the final edition. In particular the characters periodically use modern this-world idioms in a way that feels jarring, and I can't tell if it's inconsistent writing or just a style thing I'm not fond of.This book would make an *awesome* video game. All the sensory details are incredibly vivid.("Gritty", Goodreads? This book really isn't gritty. It's not fluffy nobody-gets-really-hurt land, but it's general strife and grime level is on par with most younger high school aimed fantasy books.)
    more
  • Atlas
    January 1, 1970
    Praying to get this one on Netgalleyhttp://atlasrisingbooks.blogspot.com/...
  • Kelly
    January 1, 1970
    Initial reaction after finishing: I LOVE THIS BOOK!This book is magic.Beasts Made of Night has such an interesting concept and I really think Onyebuchi executed it so well! Basically, the aki can eat people's sins, leaving the mark of the sin on their skin like a tattoo. The government of this city Kos takes advantage of the aki through the use of mages. Our protagonist Taj is this insanely talented aki with confidence for days and so much love for his family.I think it's best to go into this bo Initial reaction after finishing: I LOVE THIS BOOK!This book is magic.Beasts Made of Night has such an interesting concept and I really think Onyebuchi executed it so well! Basically, the aki can eat people's sins, leaving the mark of the sin on their skin like a tattoo. The government of this city Kos takes advantage of the aki through the use of mages. Our protagonist Taj is this insanely talented aki with confidence for days and so much love for his family.I think it's best to go into this book not knowing much beyond the general idea. Onyebuchi managed to pack so much content into this novel, yet it never seemed rushed to me. The pacing was perfect and there was always a new surprise or adventure for Taj around every corner.I thought this book brought so many new, exciting plot details to the table. And that's always so satisfying for me, as someone who reads a lot of YA fantasy. I just felt so transported while I read this book. I feel like fans of stories like The Queen of the Tearling, Throne of Glass, and A Darker Shade of Magic will enjoy this awesome debut novel.I hope that there will be a sequel!I would definitely recommend this fantastic and magical book!Current release date: October 31, 2017***I received a free e-ARC from Penguin's First to Read program in exchange for an honest review***This review is also posted on my blog
    more
  • Dani - Perspective of a Writer
    January 1, 1970
    Check out more reviews @ Perspective of a Writer...RTC ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Premise & World Building ⋆ ⋆⭐⭐⭐ Development & Storycraft⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Writing & Narrative⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Plot & Pacing⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Relationships⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Cover & Title⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ FeelingsBOTTOM LINE: ______________________You can find this review and many others on my book blog @ Perspective of a Writer. See my special perspective at the bottom of my reviews under the typewriter...
    more
  • YA and Wine
    January 1, 1970
    With it's captivating magic system and stunning Nigerian-inspired setting, BEASTS MADE OF NIGHT is original, enchanting, and a truly impressive debut for Tochi Onyebuchi.I found the premise of this story to be absolutely fascinating. Taj is an aki, a sin eater, whose duty is to cleanse the nobility of his society of their sins. Once the sin is successfully removed, the aki must then slay the sin in the animalistic forms it has take on. Once slain, the sin beasts are magically branded as tattoos With it's captivating magic system and stunning Nigerian-inspired setting, BEASTS MADE OF NIGHT is original, enchanting, and a truly impressive debut for Tochi Onyebuchi.I found the premise of this story to be absolutely fascinating. Taj is an aki, a sin eater, whose duty is to cleanse the nobility of his society of their sins. Once the sin is successfully removed, the aki must then slay the sin in the animalistic forms it has take on. Once slain, the sin beasts are magically branded as tattoos on the aki's sin, a physical manifestation of the guilt that they have taken onto themselves and the burden they are forced to carry.The world-building is quite stunning. The descriptions are vibrant and engrossing, and we get to see quite a bit of the world itself in the different sections of this story. There are a lot of social issues explored in the story as well, which was relatable and served to further bring this novel to life.I would certainly describe this novel as a coming-of-age tale. The timeline does seem to move rather quickly. There are three distinct sections of the novel where Taj finds himself in very different situations. While it was fun to have all three in one novel, because we get to see more of the world, it did also make the story feel a bit rushed at times, and I would have liked to have seen each of those timelines fleshed out a little more.The characters in the story are very well done. Taj himself is gifted, intelligent, and just inherently good. There is also an incredible cast of brilliant and strong female characters, who I absolutely loved reading about.Overall, I really enjoyed this story. The prose and descriptions are quite lovely, and I can't wait to see more from Tochi Onyebuchi.
    more
  • Rachel • The NerdHerd Reads
    January 1, 1970
    Loved this one. Full review to come closer to release.
  • Lulu // RoadsideReader
    January 1, 1970
    facebook // twitter // bloglovinFull review to come, BUT such a good book! Great writing, great concept, and so refreshing to see a non-European derived YA fantasy!// I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this title. //
  • ren
    January 1, 1970
    I was expecting a lot of this one (I mean, a Nigerian-influenced fantasy where most characters are black and the mythology is incredible? Sounds amazing) but it sadly fell flat for me.First of all, the world is gorgeous. I loved the concept of sin-beasts and aki and Mages, and all of it was done really well. At some points I got pretty lost because the author doesn’t waste time trying to explain the world or how everything works, but I got used to it and the story started to flow. But then came I was expecting a lot of this one (I mean, a Nigerian-influenced fantasy where most characters are black and the mythology is incredible? Sounds amazing) but it sadly fell flat for me.First of all, the world is gorgeous. I loved the concept of sin-beasts and aki and Mages, and all of it was done really well. At some points I got pretty lost because the author doesn’t waste time trying to explain the world or how everything works, but I got used to it and the story started to flow. But then came in my biggest problem with this book: it is too slow and the villains aren’t interesting enough.Now, I like slow books. I’m a fan of adult fantasy after all, where things are usually less fast paced than in YA, but Beasts Made of Night didn’t draw me in. I didn’t get a sense of cause and consequence in the book, so to speak; things happened almost as if the character had to wait for them to happen and not because the plot advanced or because the characters themselves made it move. At one point, for example, Taj, the main character, is chosen as the royal aki aka the royal sin-beast eater, but…. he never does anything while in the job. He is called zero times to Eat and spends most of his stay in the palace eating, sleeping and talking with the princess. Then he leaves to train the young akis but out of nowhere weeks have passed and he’s already used to training them. Like, what? He left the palace literally in the last chapter.The ending is…. well, it could’ve been great. Have I talked about how wonderful the worldbuilding is? Because it is awesome and in the ending that is made quite clear. But the antagonist ends up being super disappointing. Can’t say who because spoilers, but they were cartoonish, almost childish, and I couldn’t take them seriously. Same for the plot twist re: one of the characters. I didn’t see it coming, but it didn’t feel believable.Honestly, this one feels more like a draft than a polished, published book. Beasts Made of Night has incredible ideas and characters that could’ve been great, but all that is buried in a story that drags and doesn’t seem to go anywhere. The writing, while good, also wasn’t engaging for me, maybe because of Taj’s voice. In the end, I could see how wonderful this book could’ve been, but the execution failed and most of its shine was unfortunately lost.I don’t think I’ll be reading more in this series. Again, I loved the premise and the world, but the writing and pacing did ruin Beasts Made of Night for me. 2.0 stars.
    more
Write a review